Skip to main content

Full text of "A history of the Church of the Brethren in the middle district of Pennsylvania"

See other formats


A History 



of the 



Church of the Brethren 



in the 



Middle District of Pennsylvania 




Prepared and Published 

Under the Supervision of the District 

Conference through its Home 

Mission Board 



DEDICATION 

TO the memory of the faithful mothers who, with 
their husbands, on account of their religion, were 
driven from their homes and country and braved the 
hardships of pioneer life in a wilderness country where 
some of them died as martyrs at the hands of savage 
Indians, 

And to the wives of ministers who unquailingly and 
uncomplainingly bore their part in making it possible for 
their husbands to minister to the wants of a scattered 
people, and thus handed the church in its primitive sim- 
plicity to the generations following, is this volume dedi- 
cated. — James A. Sell. 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 



THE OWNERSHIP OF THIS HISTORY, 
USUALLY COVERED BY COPYRIGHT, 
IS VESTED IN THE CHURCH OF THE 
BRETHREN OF THE MIDDLE DIS- 
TRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA, THROUGH 
ITS DISTRICT MISSION BOARD 



CONTENTS 

PAGE 

Introduction 7 

Preface 11 

Part I. The History of the Congregations 15 

Chapter I. Early Glimpses and Trials 17 

Chapter II. The Kishacoquillas (Lewistown) Group 27 

Chapter III. The Clover Creek Group 71 

Chapter IV. The Early Yellow Creek Group 125 

Chapter V. The Duncansville Group 202 

Chapter VI. The Warriors Mark Group 243 

Chapter VII. Beginnings That Have Ceased 265 

Part II. District Endeavor 275 

Chapter I. The District and Its Conferences 277 



Chapter II. Education in the Middle District 294 

Chapter III. District Missionary Work 325 

Chapter IV. Sunday-schools 331 

Chapter V. Ministerial Meetings 352 

Chapter VI. Sisters' Aid Societies 356 

Chapter VII. The Old Folks' Home 359 

Chapter VIII. Child Rescue Work 366 

Chapter IX. Some Observations 369 

Part III. Biographies 379 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



THE LOVE OF THE SAVIOUR 

"He brought me to the banqueting house and his 
banner over me was love." — Canticles 2 : 4. 

Jesus loved me when a sinner, 

Gave his life to ransom me, 
Paid my debt on Calvary's mountain, 

Where he died to set me free. 
When the night of sin had settled 

And my way was dark and drear, 
Then I felt his loving presence 

As he drew to me so near. 

With his loving smiles he won me, 

And I listened to his call, 
And he offered me full pardon. 

If I gave to him my all. 
And my heart gave speedy answer, 

Longing for that blissful rest, 
Offered to all those so freely, 

Who will lean upon his breast. 

Now I'm his by right of purchase, 

I am his because of love. 
In his arms of peace he holds me 

Till we reach the home above. 
He will strengthen me for duty, 

In his service here below, 
Take my life and make it useful, 

Help me in his service grow. 

— James A. Sell, in Twilight Poems. 



INTRODUCTION 

- 

THE writing of history is a difficult and generally 
unsatisfactory task. So much that one ought to 
know to complete the record is gone. Death has 
closed in and shut out our sources. Only hints, glimmer- 
ings, fragments remain. Therefore the historian must 
collect them as best he can, and weave them into some 
order explanatory of their significance and worthy of 
their purpose. Merely to set down the known facts in 
the case would produce not history but fragmentary 
chronicles. 

The history of the churches of the Middle District of 
Pennsylvania is no exception to this general statement. 
Indeed, here the reporter has an unusually difficult task. 
Even complete records are wanting. The early brethren 
were not concerned in any large way with records. They 
came into a new region, a wilderness, and here carved 
homes and worshiped God. Their energies were wholly 
given to these specific needs — the need to live, the need 
to worship. 

The available data justified the statement that our 
brethren came into Central Pennsylvania soon after the 
close of the Revolutionary War and the agreement be- 
tween the several states as to the governmental control 
over the territory taken over, after the war, from France 
and from the Indians. Our people would not come until 
stable government had been set up, and assured protec- 
tion, both to life and property, was guaranteed. Then 
they came seeking the fertile valleys where they could 
erect homes and engage in the most ancient industry, 
agriculture, to which they were all devoted. 

The records indicate that they came first to the fertile 
valleys of old Mother Bedford County, in or near the 
present town of New Enterprise. These pioneers to the 
central part of Pennsylvania doubtless came about 1750 
or 1760 over the Southern trail, later followed by the 
army of General Forbes and still later by President 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Washington on his way to suppress the Whiskey Insur- 
rection. Then, when the Black Log Trail was established, 
our people came to the " Grosse Thai" in Mifflin County, 
a region famous to this day tor its fine farms. The next 
group found their way into the fertile valley of Clover 
Creek, locally known as Morrison's Cove, at that time a 
part of Huntingdon County, a region of great fertility 
and natural beauty. Doubtless due to favorable reports 
from these groups, by the end of the century others were 
settled and worshiping at Frankstown, and at Warriors 
Mark. Another group, all too little known, went north 
and located in the Blooming Grove region near Wil- 
liamsport. From these parent stems have grown the 
churches of the Middle District. 

Two things caused our brethren to avoid settling in 
the northern half of the District — that part reaching far 
north to the New York State boundary. This region had 
not the fertility that agricultural settlers cared for, and 
this region was settled by immigrants from New Eng- 
land, — a goodly people wholly unfamiliar with the ideals 
and beliefs of the Brethren. Central Pennsylvania, — 
Mifflin, Huntingdon, Blair and Bedford counties were 
originally settled by the adventurous and aggressive 
Scotch-Irish. These people were glad to welcome into 
their communities sterling people skilled in agriculture. 

The struggle of these pioneer Brethren will never be 
fully recorded. They generally met in some house or 
barn on Sunday for holy worship and traveled long dis- 
tances on horseback over mountain trails to sit with 
others in God's communion. The wives of the preachers 
were not by any means least in influence and in good 
works. Often these women went many miles to visit 
the sick and to help the distressed. Usually, too, they 
prepared the Sunday meal for the entire congregation 
and made possible the social hours after dinner, — perhaps 
the only really bright social hour of contact those scat- 
tered and lonely people enjoyed in the cycle of years. 

In the James Creek Church, I know, the wife of my 
grandfather, George Brumbaugh, the preacher, always 
prepared the Sunday meal for the congregation and her 
husband from the pulpit (a long table) announced that 
all were welcome to stay to dinner, stating as a reason, 

8 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



1 the women must have a little glory too," as if cooking 
for an entire congregation was a glorious thing. To 
those pious pioneers it was. Let us hold them in sacred, 
reverent regard. 

This history was undertaken by a great soul, dear elder 
James A. Sell, eloquent for God and gifted in poetic 
power. Alas ! his zeal was greater than his strength and 
the task was turned over to another generous and sym- 
pathetic soul who as a labor of love, has completed what 
was so generously and loyally conceived and carried well 
to its conclusion. The churches owe to these fine souls a 
deep debt of gratitude. 

M. G. Brumbaugh. 
December 8, 1924:. 



■ 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



SONG OF THE NEW YEAR 

The last low dirge o'er the buried year 

Floats off in the starless night; 
The cock-crow heralds the day dawn keen, 

With gem-crusted hills of white; 
The worn-out chorus the fresh air thrills, 

Forgot is their late lament ; 
A dash of life tints their melody, 

A rhythmic of glad hopes blent. 

The windy moors, in a placid mood, 

Consent to the sun's caress ; 
The sheeted brook and the clear blue bay 

Are marked with time's impress ; 
The new year's born ! and along the scale 

Young hearts ring a jubilee 
In tune with winds and their snow-freight pure, 

And kisses of cloud and sea. 

Forget now troubles that had no name. 

And cease from your fret and haste ; 
The runes of nature have one refrain, — 

No hurry, no rest, no waste ; 
Strike chord with harps of sweet-tempered string 

That sound through the sky's blue wall; 
Lay close your ear to the world's great heart, 

And sing as its needs may call. 

— Adaline Hoff Beery, in Poems of a 
Decade. See Chapter entitled " Some 
Observations " for mention of this author. 



10 



PREFACE 

TO James A. Sell, more than to any other is credit 
due in making this history of the congregations of 
the Church of the Brethren in Middle District of 
Pennsylvania possible. As early as the District Meeting 
held at Roaring Spring in 1911 he evidently agitated the 
question for at this meeting " the matter of securing 
some history of the several churches of the Middle Dis- 
trict and of the District itself was discussed and a reso- 
lution passed placing ourselves on record as being in 
sympathy with such a movement and Brethren James A. 
Sell, George S. Myers and William S. Ritchey were given 
the matter in charge." At each District Meeting there- 
after he made a report of progress, even when sometimes 
he said, " not much progress on account of a lack of in- 
terest on the part of the several churches in failing to 
supply matter and means." But lack of interest did not 
discourage him. In going among the churches in the 
loving service he so well rendered and which always 
made him most welcome, he kept gathering material 
from sources available, clipped newspaper reports of per- 
sons and activities and thereby brought together a mass 
of material for the book. 

George S. Myers, the second member of the Historical 
Committee did a valuable work for the editor. He took 
the time and endured the labor necessary to go through 
all the church publications and index elections and simi- 
lar data which related to the history of Middle District. 
This proved very helpful in rounding out the History in 
its closing days. 

Wiliam S. Ritchey always had a large interest in the 
Snake Spring Valley and the church which developed 
there and was familiar with its history back into the 
days when it included much territory beyond the valley. 
His records were helpful in preparing that part of the 
historv. 

Thus these three brethren, the original Historical 

11 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Committee, labored each in his own way towards one 
common end. 

In 1921 the District Meeting decided " that when the 
history was ready for publication, the Mission Board 
could finance its matter and the sale of the book would 
repay the board." George S. Myers, so eager to see the 
book completed, had passed to his reward and at this 
same meeting the committee was enlarged to include 
Jacob Kinsel, Oscar R. Myers, Mahlon J. Weaver, Tobias 
T. Myers and Galen B. Royer. 

At the 1923 District Meeting a report was brought in 
" that slight progress was made during the year, with 
much to be done." At the suggestion of James A. Sell, 
an editor was appointed " to edit the history and arrange 
for publication." * 

The task proved far greater than was anticipated by 
the editor. But it has been a most pleasant and inter- 
esting one. For the most part every one took a hearty 
interest in helping to make it as near complete as the 
following pages set forth. 

The reader may have a degree of assurance of correct- 
ness of the history when he is told that the story of each 
church was submitted to the congregation for public 
reading and correction ; then each biographical sketch 
was submitted either to the person himself, if living, or 
to some near relative, for the same purpose. 

Throughout the book acknowledgment has been given 
for help when it seemed proper. Many, however, have 
helped more or less who do not get special mention. To 
all such the editor, on behalf of the reader, expresses full 
appreciation for such unacknowledged service. The plan 
of the graphs showing the growth of the churches from 
five centres, is the suggestion of Alpheus W. Dupler, 
dean of Juniata College and credit is hereby given. 
" The Record of the Faithful," a pamphlet published by 
Howard Miller in 1881-82 has been quoted in a number 
of instances. In his introduction he says: " In every in- 
stance herein published, the names, figures and dates, 
are those of the resident ministry's own furnishing, and 

* On motion of Oscar R. Myers and seconded by George E. Yoder it was 
decided to have Galen B. Royer edit the history and arrange for publication. — 
Minutes of 1923 District Meeting, p. 5. 

12 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



nothing has been guessed at." This pamphlet with a 
fair degree of accuracy is the earliest record that is found 
in the Brotherhood. 

Somewhere there is a song, one line of which is: 

" Only remembered by what I have done." 

In harmony with that thought the editor has studi- 
ously avoided eulogies of any kind. At the best they are 
but one individual's estimate. Deeds live. They speak 
in more unmistakable language. These the editor has 
sought to record. 

It goes without saying that the editor has human limi- 
tations; hence the book is not without mistakes. These 
have crept in in spite of vigilance against them. 

May the records of the past as herein given be an in- 
spiration to those who read its pages, to press on to 
greater achievements in the future. 

The: Editor. 



Turn to page 16, Map of Pennsylvania, and following 
the instructions below, draw a line for the new eastern 
boundary as made in 1922: Beginning "about the middle 
of Fulton County, thence northward to Huntingdon 
County, so as not to interfere with territory now occu- 
pied by either the Middle or the Southern District in said 
county, thence along the eastern boundary of Huntingdon 
and Mifflin Counties to the northeastern limits, thence 
northward through Centre and Clinton Counties, adjust- 
ing the line so as not to interfere with territory already 
occupied by either district to the Clinton and Lycoming 
County line, thence to the southeastern limit of Potter 
County and along the eastern line of Potter County north 
to the Xew York state line." 



13 



A History of the CJiurcJi of the Brethren 



'' History is the essence of innumerable biographies." 

— Carlyle. 

" Truth is the keystone of the arch of history, based 
on the two supporting pillars of accuracy and veracity. 
Truth is composite : veracity is its ideal, accuracy its real 
element." — William Kay Wallace, in The Trend of 
History. 



14 



PART ONE 

The History of the Qongregations 







16 



CHAPTER I 

Early Glimpses and Trials 

IN GENERAL 

At seven different centres the Church of the Brethren 
was planted in what is now Middle District of Pennsyl- 
vania. These are marked on the map from 1 to 7. Each 
one began well. Five have grown through the years. 
Two have ceased as organizations. The story of these 
seven beginnings is told in the following six chapters. 

It is no easy task to chronicle the growth of a spiritual 
plant. It is made the more difficult when records of its 
earlier existence were not made. Not anything is more 
outstanding in the history of the congregations in this 
district than that prior to 1860, no record of deliberations 
was made and that the earliest account of anything yet 
found is an itemized statement of the cost of a lovefeast 
in Aughwick congregation in 1847. The following tabu- 
lates the beginning of minutes : 






Location 

Lewistown (Country) 
Spring Run House 
Aughwick 
Clover Creek 



Warriors Mark 
Duncan sville 
Early Yellow Creek 
Snake Spring 



First clerk 

Solomon Z. Sharp 

Not signed 

Thomas B. Maddocks 
and Jacob L. Wine- 
land 

Solomon S. Gray 

James A. Sell 

Daniel Snowberger 

John B. Fluck 



Date 

August 9, 1862 

October 13, 1864 

May 25, 1867 



October 23, 1869 

July 26, 1871 

Mav 29, 1875 

May 31, 1879 



In other words, then, for the first sixty years of the 
nineteenth century one must depend upon incidental 
references which slipped into print in the days when the 
church paper was just beginning to be somewhat a 
household necessity. Some things, however, may safely 
be taken for granted. 

First. These early settlers endured hardships and 

17 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



trials unknown to the generation of to-day. Even the 
" breaking in ' of the new lands of the sparsely settled 
western sections of our country, though difficult and try- 
ing in many ways, does not measure up to what these fore- 
fathers of the church in Middle Pennsylvania encount- 
ered. Here the Indian defended his happy hunting 
grounds with tomahawk and gun. Here the heavy 
timber lands made farming a laborious task and fatigu- 
ing years passed before he possessed cleared fields. 
Here the long range of mountains separated groups in 
such a way that co-operation was almost unknown. 

Skcond. These forefathers feared God with a fortitude 
that is none too common to-day. Xo matter how over- 
drawn may be the account, witness the massacre in Mor- 
rison's Cove recorded elsewhere. Somewhere and some- 
time before these people took up lands in this district a 
deep conviction of non-resistance had laid hold on their 
minds and hearts. To-day these splendid lines are sung 
all over this district : 

" Faith of our Fathers, living still 
In spite of dungeon, tire and sword." 

Stome, as they sing think of non-resistance or some cus- 
tom or practice little realizing that the root of all these 
expressions strikes deep in Jesus Christ, the Saviour who 
is conquering the world by love. 

Third. Due to the mountains, of course, yet their 
separation and isolation caused them to hold longer to 
traditions of earlier times than they would have done 
otherwise, and in some instances at least progress was 
retarded. As an example, the reader need but note in- 
stances of opposition to preaching in the English, though 
it brought the church into favor in every case. 

Fourth. Their freedom from creed, and sense of privi- 
lege and duty made them leaders in many things which 
the Brotherhood to-day holds as a priceless legacy from 
their hands. 

IN MORRISON'S COVE 

The early settlers of this beautiful and fertile valley for 
the most part were a deeply religious folk who migrated 

18 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



from sections of Pennsylvania and Maryland lying east 
and southward. " In their new home," James A. Sell 
has written concerning these people who located in the 
vicinity of Clover Creek, " their Bibles were as common 
and necessary as the axe and the plow. They were a re- 
ligious people, and religious services were inseparably 
connected with their daily routine. They called men to 
the ministry from the plow, illiterate though they often 
were, but they were devout and zealous, simple in their 
faith, and self-sacrificing in their labors. They exposed 
themselves to the elements and dangers from wild beasts 
and to the fury of savage Indians. Marshalls of God 
they were, and under the disadvantages of pioneer life 
they wrought and left an organized work to their chil- 
dren that passed from one generation to another until it 
has come to the present. 

" About 1755 a colony of Brethren entered the Cove 
through Loy's Gap and gradually worked their way 
northward and became residents of the territory now em- 
braced in the Clover Creek and Albright congregations. 

" A colony of Scotch-Irish settled here as early as 
1749, but they were considered squatters and were ex- 
pelled as the land belonged to the Indians. The Penns 
made a new purchase in 1754 and when the Brethren 
came they secured a title to lands they purchased, and 
by 1790 all the desirable lands passed into private owner- 
ship. The Brethren secured the greater part of the land. 
Some of them purchased large tracts, as much as 1,500 
acres. They were the pioneer settlers and did the first 
preaching. 

" We do not have the names of all of the original set- 
tlers, neither do we have space to give what we do know. 
But it will be interesting to many now and to the com- 
ing generation to trace their ancestry back to this time. 
Hence we give a few : 

" Albrights, Allenbaughs, Blakes, Burkets, Bowers, 
Brumbaughs, Benners, Bulgers, Cammerons, Cowens, 
Deeters, Dillingers, Emricks, Eversoles, Faulkners, Flen- 
ners, Gensingers, Grabills, Hoovers, Holsingers, Kneess, 
Lowers, Looses, Longeneckers, Martins, Metzkers, 
Meyerses, Moores, Nisewangers, Puderbaughs, Rhodes, 
Strayers, Shonefelts, Stoners, Skyleses, Stouffers, Stoud- 

19 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

enours, Smiths, Shifflers, Stonerocks, Tetwilers, Wine- 
lands, Ullerys, Bridenthalls. 

" During the Indian Wars of 1762 and onward there 
were quite a number of murders committed and captives 
taken. The particulars will never be known. The great- 
est massacre was in 1777. One history says there were 
thirty killed. Our tradition says twenty. The number 
of prisoners taken we cannot conjecture. A Brother 
Houser and family are mentioned among the number." 

John Martin, a pioneer preacher, whose name heads 
the list of ministers of the Clover Creek congregation, 
suffered greatly from these Indian depredations. For 
want of the original, copy is taken from Jones' History 
of Juniata Valley, relating the incident as follows: 

" During the Great Cove massacre, among others car- 
ried into captivity was the family of John Martin. This 
incursion was indeed a most formidable one, led by the 
kings Shingas and Beaver in person. How many were 
killed there is no living witness to tell ; neither can we 
conjecture the number of prisoners taken. The follow- 
ing petition was sent by John Martin to council : 

August 13, 1762. 

" The Humble Petition of Your Most Obedient Serv- 
ant Sheweth, Sir, may it please Your Excellancy, Hear- 
ing me in Your Clemancy a few \\ ords. I, One of the 
Bereaved of my Wife and five Children, by Savage War 
at the Captivity of the Great Cove, after Many & Long 
Journeys, I Lately went to an Indian Town, viz., Tusk- 
aroways, 150 miles Beyond Fort Pitts, & Entrested in 
Co. Bucquits & Co. Croghan's favor, So as to bear their 
Letters to King Beaver & Cap. Shingas, Desiring them 
to Give up One of my Daughters to me, Whiles I have 
Yet two Sons & One Other Daughter, if Alive, Among 
them — and after Seeing my Daughter with Shingas he 
Refused to Give her up, and after some Expostulating 
with him, but all in vain, he promised to Deliver her up 
with the Other Captives to yr Excellency. 

" Sir, yr Excellency's Most Humble Servt Humbly & 
Passionately Beseeches Yr Beningn Compassion to in- 
terpose Yr Excellencies Beneficent influence in favor of 
Yr Excellencies Most Obedient & Dutiful Servt. 

John Martin. 

20 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Brother Sell writes further : 

" The Brethren came into the Great Cove, now Mor- 
rison's Cove, and by taking possession of the valley in the 
vicinity of Roaring Springs, the western portion of the 
Clover Creek congregation, were among its first settlers. 

" They set to work to clear away the forests, till the 
soil, build mills, and labored to promote the peace and 
prosperity of the country. It has been conceded to them, 
even by people who took no interest in their religion, 
that as good farmers, good tax-payers, quiet and inoffen- 
sive people — they were of the best of citizens. 

" But their exclusiveness, opposition to education, 
their lack of interest in political matters, and above all, 
their non-resistant principle brought them into disrepute 
with their neighbors. 

" This made their situation unpleasant and at times 
exposed them to more danger from their common enemy. 
Had they been permitted to treat with the Indian alone 
and manifest their love of peace and fair and honorable 
treatment, there is every reason to believe that not only 
they but their fighting neighbors would have escaped the 
assaults of the savage's tomahawk and scalping knife. 

" The settlers all suffered from the incursions of the 
Indians from the time of their coming into the valley up 
to the time and during the Revolutionary War. 

" By this time by purchase and force the Indians were 
driven west of the Allegheny mountains. But out of 
hatred to their white brothers from real or imaginary 
wrongs, and also for spoils and scalps on which they 
were paid a bounty by the British government they made 
frequent raids into the valleys east of the mountain. 
When invasions were made the news was heralded as 
rapidly as the circumstances of the times permitted and 
the warning was to flee for safety. Some left their 
homes, others did not. All perhaps did not hear the 
alarm. Some could not go, and others preferred not to 
go. The result was that a number of them were mur- 
dered. In 1777 between twenty and thirty were killed. 

" During all these trying experiences of frontier life 
covering a period of nearly a quarter of a century, but 
one breach or violation of the peace principle held by our 
people is recorded." 

21 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

This single instance, which Brother Sell calls the 
" Jacob Neff Episode " occurred within the bounds of 
the Clover Creek congregation. U. J. Jones, after giving 
a copy of a report of "Thomas Smith and George Woods, 
both, we believe, Justice of Peace at the time to Presi- 
dent Wharton/' in which there is no direct reference to 
the Brethren, refers to the Neff incident as follows : 

" The band of Indians, after the Dunkard massacre, 
worked their way toward the Kittaning war path, leav- 
ing behind them some few stragglers of their party 
whose appetite for blood and treasure had not been satis- 
fied. Among others, an old and a young Indian stopped 
at Neff's Mill. Neff was a Dunkard ; but he was a single 
exception so far as resistance was concerned. He had 
constantly in his mill his loaded rifle, and was ready for 
any emergency. He had gone to his mill in the morn- 
ing without any knowledge of Indians being in the neigh- 
borhood, and had just set the water-wheel in motion 
when he discovered two Indians lurking, within a hun- 
dred yards, in a small wood below the mill. Without 
taking much time to deliberate how to act, he aimed 
through the window, and deliberately shot the old 
Indian. In an instant the young Indian came toward the 
mill, and Neff ran out of the back door and up the hill. 
The quick eye of the savage detected him, and fired, but 
missed his aim. Nothing daunted by the mishap, the 
savage followed up the cleared patch, when both, as if by 
instinct, commenced reloading their rifles. They stood 
face to face, not forty yards apart, on open ground where 
there was no possible chance of concealment. The 
chances were equal ; he that loaded first would be victor 
in the strife, the other was doomed to certain death. 
They both rammed home the bullet at the same time — 
with what haste may well be conjectured. This was a 
critical juncture, for, while loading, neither took his eye 
off the other. They both drew their ramrods at the same 
instant, but the intense excitement of the moment caused 
the Indian to balk in drawing his, and the error or mis- 
hap proved fatal, because Neff took advantage of it, and 
succeeded in priming and aiming before the Indian. The 
latter, now finding the muzzle of Neff's rifle bearing upon 
him, commenced a series of very cunning gyrations and 

22 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



contortions to destroy his aim or to confuse him, so that 
he might miss him or enable him to prime. To this end 
he first threw himself upon his face ; then, suddenly ris- 
ing up again, he jumped first to the right, then to the 
left, then fell down again. Neff, not the least put off 
his guard, waited until the Indian arose again, when he 
shot him through the head. 

" Neff, fearing that others might be about, left the mill 
and started to the nearest settlement. A force was raised 
and the mill revisited; but it was found a heap of smoul- 
dering cinders and ashes, and the dead bodies of the 
Indians had been removed. It is altogether likely that 
the rear of the savage party came up shortly after Neff 
had left, fired the mill, and carried away their slain 
companions. 

" For the part Neff took in the matter he was excom- 
municated from the Dunkard society. Nevertheless, he 
rebuilt his mill; but the Dunkards, who were his main 
support previously, refused any longer to patronize 
him, and he was eventually compelled to abandon the 
business. " 

Brother Sell speaks of the same incident as follows : 

" Daniel Ullery was the original owner of Roaring 
Spring. He built the first mill. Jacob Neff was his 
miller. During the Indian massacre of 1777 he shot an 
Indian. He was counseled by the church for his viola- 
tion of her peace principles. He did not plead justifica- 
tion. He admitted that it was wrong to take human life 
but said his deed was done under strong temptation and 
excitement. He was excused, but required not to speak 
of his act in company in a boasting or justifying way. 
This restriction he frequently violated and he was ex- 
pelled from the church. 

" This story has been repeated and exaggerated and 
the church through it misrepresented so that we take 
this opportunity to tell the story as we have it from our 
own traditions. The history of Juniata Valley says that 
when Neff rebuilt his mill the Brethren refused to pa- 
tronize him. This is not correct. The chain, or abstract 
of title shown that Neff never owned the mill, did not 
build it in the first place, did not in the second place. 

23 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Ullery built and rebuilt it. It was a necessity in the 
new settlement/' 

But it is due the reader to have another glimpse of 
trials and sufferings of earlier days. The value of the 
data lies in the fact it was written in 1855, a quarter of a 
century before Howard Miller thought to make his 
" Record of the Faithful." 

The author * declares he writes purely as an historian 
and without prejudice. He says : 

" The Great Cove, Little Cove and Canolloways , are 
mentioned frequently in government papers as far back 
as 1749, Indian traders having penetrated them at a much 
earlier date than that. . . . For fertile limestone land, 
beautiful scenery, and splendid farms, few valleys in the 
State equal — none surpass — the Great Cove now known 
as Morrison's Cove. 

" About 1755, a colony of Dunkards took up the south- 
ern portion of the Cove, and their descendants hold pos- 
session of it to this day. They have unquestionably the 
finest farms as well as the most fertile land in the State, 
and right glad should we be to end their portion of the 
chapter by saying so, or even by adding that for thrift 
and economy they stand unsurpassed ; but a sense of 
candor compels us to speak of them as they are, — ' noth- 
ing extenuate, nor set down aught in malice ! ' 

" In the first place, let it be understood that we are in 
no particle indebted to them for one iota of the blessings 
of government we enjoy. They are strict non-resistants; 
and in the predatory incursions of the French and In- 
dians, in 1756-63, and in fact, during all the savage war- 
fare, they not only refused to take up arms to repel the 
savage marauders and prevent the inhuman slaughter of 
women and children, but they refused in the most posi- 
tive manner to pay a dollar to support those who were 
willing to take up arms to defend their homes and their 
firesides, until wrung from them by the stern mandates 
of the law, from which there was no appeal. 

" They did the same thing when the Revolution broke 
out. There was a scarcity of men. Sixty able-bodied 
ones among them might readily have formed a cordon of 

* U. J. Jones' History af the Early Settlement of the Juniata Valleu, 1855', 
Chapter XVIII. 

24 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

frontier defence, which could have prevented many of 
the Indian massacres which took place between 1777 and 
1780, and more especially among their own people in the 
Cove. But not a man would shoulder his rifle ; they 
were non-resistants ! They might, at least, have fur- 
nished money, for they always had an abundance of that, 
the hoarding of which seemed to be the sole aim and 
object of life with them. But, no; not a dollar! They 
occupied neutral ground, and wished to make no resist- 
ance. Again : they might have furnished supplies. And 
they did furnish supplies to those who were risking their 
lives to repel the invaders, — but it was only when the 
almighty dollar accompanied the demand. 

" After the massacre of thirty of them, in less than 
forty-eight hours Colonel Piper, the lieutenant-colonel of 
Bedford county, made a stirring appeal to them. But it 
was of no avail ; they were non-resistants ; and evidently 
determined to remain such. 

" Of the peculiar religious tenets of these primitive 
people we do not profess to know anything ; hence our 
remarks are unbiased. We are solely recording historical 
facts. 

" As a curious anomaly in the history of the present 
generation, it may be stated that, although they perform 
that part of the compact between government and a good 
citizen which relates to paying taxes, they never vote, 
neither can the most seductive persuasions of politicians 
bring them to the polls. 

" Like their forefathers, they are non-resistants — pro- 
ducers, but non-consumers. 

" During the Indian wars of 1762, quite a number of 
murders were committed in the Cove, and many captives 
taken but the particulars were too vague for history. 

" The first Indian depredators, or at least the greater 
portion of them, were seen at a camp-fire by a party of 
hunters ; and if the proper exertions had been made to 
cut them off, few other outrages would have followed. 
The supposition is that there were two parties of about 
fifteen each, who met at or near Neff's Mill in the Cove. 
On their way thither, the one party killed a man named 
Hammond, who resided along the Juniata, and the other 
party killed a man named Ullery, who was returning 

25 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



from Neff's Mill on horseback. They also took two chil- 
dren with them as prisoners. 

" The alarm was spread among the inhabitants and 
they fled to the nearest forts with all despatch ; and on 
this first expedition they would have had few scalps to 
grace their belts, had the Dunkards taken the advice of 
more sagacious people, and fled too ; this, however, they 
would not do. They would follow but half of Cromwell's 
advice ; — they were willing to put their trust in God, but 
they would not keep their powder dry. In short, it was 
a compound they did not use at all. 

" The savages swept down through the Cove with all 
the ferocity with which a pack of wolves would descend 
from the mountain upon a flock of sheep. Stome few of 
the Dunkards, who evidently had the latent spark of love 
of life, hid themselves away ; but by far the most of them 
stood by and witnessed the butchery of their wives and 
children, merely saying, " Gottes wille sei gethan." * 

One cannot help but admire such devotion to the prin- 
ciple of non-resistance as the foregoing reveals. Yet 
insistent upon the mind is the thought, — what a pity 
these dear forebears were not just as eager to provide 
avenues for the culture of the minds and hearts of their 
young people through the Sunday-school and educational 
institutions as they were to make such splendid sacri- 
fices. In a couple generations thereafter, as this history 
reveals, this training came. 

* " God's will be done." This sentence was so frequently repeated by the 
Dunkards during the massacre, that the Indians must have retained a vivid 
recollection of it. During the late war with Great Britain, some of the older 
Indians on the frontier were anxious to know of the Huntingdon volunteers 
whether the " Gotswiltahns " still resided in the Cove. Of course our people 
could not satisfy them on such a vague point. 



26 



CHAPTER II 



The Kishacoquillas Valley Congrega- 
tion and Its Growth in Mifflin 
and Adjoining Counties 



1780 18C0 1820 1840 1860 1880 1900 1920 



all 



81 Kisracoquillas Valley 



1802 





bl878L 



]92i: ... 



1916 



Dry Valley 



«. Burnhara 



Lewistown 
Spring Run 
Aughwiok 
Ardenheim 



a Later known as Lewistown (country) and Dry Valley, interchangeably. 
b While this point was developed by ministers from Huntingdon the territory 
was part of the Aughwick congregation. 

LEWISTOWN (Country)* 

The territory included all of what is now Spring Run, 
Dry Valley and Lewistown city congregations, but dur- 
ing its history few members lived in the city of Lewis- 
town : hence its name in distinction from the active 
present day city church by the same name. 

Arthur Buchanan became the first settler in Mifflin 
county, when in 1755 he built a cabin where Lewistown 
now stands. Among the settlers that followed there 
were a few families of Brethren. 

From the beginning the Indian name Kishacoquillas 
Valley was applied to the church composed of scattered 
membership in parts of Huntingdon, Center and Mifflin 
Counties, though they were considered for a time a 

* To John C. Swigart, of Mattawana, the reader is indebted for the history of 
this congregation as herein given. 



27 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

branch of the Aughwick congregation. About 1800 the 
members organized themselves into a congregation but 
there is no record who presided over the church in these 
times. Neither is it known when the congregation 
changed its name to Lewistown. 

In an early day Henry Nearhoof of Aughwick and 
Peter Shellenberger of Lost Creek preached for these 
members but it is believed that John Swigart who mi- 
grated from Berks County in 1792 or thereabouts, was 
the first resident minister. He died November 28, 1806, 
in his 49th year and is buried on the farm where he set- 
tled. He is the forebear of the Swigarts and others re- 
lated who are scattered through these parts. About the 
same time Jacob Kinsel also moved from Berks County 
and became a leading spirit among the members. He 
died in March, 1832, aged seventy-four and is buried in 
the family graveyard on the home farm. Another early 
settler is Abram Miller, who came from Dauphin County 
and by some it is claimed that he was the first resident 
minister. He died in 1803 and was buried on his farm 
near Granville, Pa. His daughter, Catherine, married 
John Swigart, son of John Swigart above mentioned, and 
after the birth of two daughters died at the early age of 
twenty-two. Mary, one of these daughters, became the 
wife of Bishop Joseph R. Hanawalt and is the mother of 
George and John S. Hanawalt. The name Steely is men- 
tioned traditionally in this connection, but nothing 
further is known of him. In fact little can be said of the 
labors of these brethren for there is no record. No doubt 
their field included every valley they could reach and 
faithfully, patiently and hopefully they pressed forward 
amidst dangers not even imagined in this day. 

One John Rothrock migrated from Northampton 
County before the Revolutionary War and settled on 
what is now known as the Andrew Spanogle farm. Pie 
had a son Joseph who united with the Brethren, became 
a minister and bishop and served the church for many 
years. He was a man of deep piety and exercised a very 
large influence in and out of the church. Joseph had a 
son called Abraham who succeeded him in the ministry 
and bishopric. On September 27, 1850 John Kline of 
Virginia officiated at the ordination of Abraham Roth- 

28 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



if 



i ■ v^«WM«»l^«l)M^^ 






1®* / 



y£A.. WM§i 




■■&-0J 



<Qf 4 



■■■■■'■■ 



p$j f.?«?4 fir/ ?* 

1 rt/ft iffk en d-% t tfvteiotd • 
j n m&h 'was put r r:'& & 
v/h.0 resided in 

t 4 fa rt at Standi cfxac'k. etkt r ft r 
tibial- *-< y v* >ay ' ^. Ait*- ^£mM- tty*r- 




j nr. | ^i|' I *dft *ra u ft A e r u n f 1 / * / < 

-> # " X *; *< <f £■¥**£/& lit rJ C U S u a7Ut a 

;'vx': : :;:;:;:: ; :^::v;;' '■:■■":■■:">*':■:; ■ -^: : o:-;- ■ 




yi$U-* her Zi'tt- 
?+% * *& ^ m ^ ..4 at* d*> 
•ve# it net M>jfirt<tfe* 




h.t x-rf>f u ere C&'P-t-Tt Au-t&g it-pixA 




The above writing was prepared by George, the grandson of 
Susannah Hanawalt, the first person baptized in the Lewistown 
congregation. Her death occurred in 1854. Photo loaned by 
Daniel R., son of George Hanawalt, Akron, Ohio. 



29 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

rock. About 1857 Abraham moved to Kansas ; later, dur- 
ing the Civil War, he was shot in one of the guerilla 
raids of those times, but recovered and continued to 
preach the Word of Life. 

Among the early settlers in Mifflin County was one 
George Rothrock. To him were born twin daughters, 
Susannah and Mary, who were first cousins of Joseph 
Rothrock before mentioned. The familv came into the 
community when the twins were quite young, perhaps 
in 1786. Later these sisters married two brothers, 
George and John Hanawalt. Susannah, the mother of 
Joseph R. Hanawalt, was baptized in 1794, one of the 
first, if not the first person received into the church by 
baptism in this territory. During her life she was 
familiarly known as " granny ' Hanawalt, was deeply 
mourned by all when she passed away in 1854. Her body 
with her husband lies in the Spring Run cemetery. 

David Eshelman moved in from one of the eastern 
churches, was called to the ministry in 1836, served the 
church well until 1850 when he moved to Berks County. 

John Spanogle came into the congregation about 1845 
and after four years of faithful labor he returned to 
Aughwick congregation. 

Another early preacher that should be mentioned is 
John Hanawalt. He was a colaborer with Joseph Roth- 
rock and from all accounts the first minister in this con- 
gregation who preached in the English language. He 
died in 1827 at the age of sixty-two. 

About 1850 or earlier, the church decided that half 
their public service should be conducted in the English. 
This opened the door to a number of influential families 
that did not understand the German and as a result the 
church grew rapidly. This was particularly true during 
the leadership of Joseph Rothrock Hanawalt. He was 
called to the ministry September 25, 1845 at a lovefeast 
held in a barn on the Kinsel farm. He was an able 
speaker in the English, a man with a large vision and 
constantly striving to extend the bounds of the kingdom. 
He served the church faithfully until he was sixty-seven 
years old, his age at his death. Before his death in 1877, 
he remarked one time that when he came to the church 

30 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

there were thirty-five members and now there were over 
two hundred. 

Adam Young was called to the ministry in 1859 and 
in the spring of 1865 moved to White County, Indiana, 
where he served the church as bishop until his death. 

All through the decades the members had been wor- 
shiping in their homes and later in school houses. Many 
and blessed were the seasons of worship and more cher- 
ished was the fellowship even in their crowded quarters 
when beds on the floor or elsewhere in the barn were so 
common an occurrence as not to be mentioned. But the 
rapid growth of the church beginning about 1850 created 
a demand for a suitable meeting house. Accordingly 
Joseph R. Hanawalt, Peter S. Myers, Reuben Myers, 
Jacob Mohler and William Howe were appointed a com- 
mittee on location. Inasmuch as the membership was 
about equally divided into two groups they were unable 
to agree upon a site and so brought in a report recom- 
mending that one house be built where now is the 
Dry Valley house and the other on the present loca- 
tion of the Spring Run house near McVeytown. This 
report was accepted and in 1858 the two houses, each 
40x60 feet and each costing $2,000.00, were built. 
Samuel Myers, the father of Peter, Samuel and Reuben 
and the grandfather of J. Allen Myers, furnished the lum- 
ber for the Spring Run house which was dedicated on 
Saturday, January 1, 1859. Joseph R. Hanawalt preached 
in the morning, using for his text 2 Chronicles 6 ; in the 
evening George Brumbaugh spoke from Acts 3 : 19. The 
following day, Sunday, messages were given as follows : 
Abram Rohrer, Hebrews 1 ; Peter S. Myers, 1 Peter 1:1.3; 
George Brumbaugh, John 13 :17. 

No record has been handed down concerning the dedi- 
cation of the Dry Valley house. Nevertheless it is a 
good frame building, with basement and well adapted to 
hold lovefeasts and other large gatherings. 

It is safe to say that Lewistown (country) has the 
earliest official records in the District. The opening 
record is illuminating, for in it is found : 



31 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

MINUTES OF THE COUNCILS 

of the 
GERMAN BAPTIST CHURCH 

The first minutes record the meeting held August 9, 
1862 in the Spring Run house. Solomon Z. Sharp, elected 
to the ministry that same year was made secretary. The 
first item of business is : " The minutes of the Annual 
Meeting were read and discussed which consumed the 
principal part of the forenoon." 

Those were Civil War days. " S'ome young brethren 
. . . had gone to war ' and it was " agreed they should 
be considered out of the church according to the Gospel." 
The records of the next meeting (Oct. 11, 1862) states 
that several brethren " attempted to go to war but cir- 
cumstances prevented them." It was decided before they 
could commune they had to make " an open confession 
of their fault before the church." 

At this same meeting two secretaries were appointed 
"to record preceedings ... to state all cases and de- 
cisions . . . but not to read the names of individuals." 
" Using the liberty " before prayer at church services 
was by some thought to be abused for this query 
(April 18, 1863) " Do the brethren observe the instruc- 
tions of the Apostle Paul in 1 Timothy 2 when they ex- 
hort at length before prayer " was answered by the 
council, " By no means." The order of service perplexed 
some for at the same meeting this was sent to Annual 
Meeting: "Should the brethren have prayer before any 
other exercise when they came together for public wor- 
ship?' Members were instructed "to indulge in no 
political spirit " in those very trying times of 1860. The 
Civil War granted the privilege to pay instead of going 
to service. This congregation decided that a drafted 
member " should pay $75.00 and have his assets taxed 
with the rest of the members to make up the balance." 
Evidently the congregation met her financial affairs on 
an equalized taxation basis. 

The church declared herself (Jan. 9, '61) under no 
obligation to help pay the fines of " members . . . vot- 
ing or electioneering and afterwards drafted." At a fall 
meeting (Oct. 8, '6-1) the deacons are ordered " to write 

32 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

out a statement of the business obtained by their visiting 
and present it to the bishop or moderator before opening" 
of the council." 

The congregation's attitude towards the public school 
is seen when it answered (May 20, '65) " Is it wrong to 
enter into such games as parties, plays, etc., quoit pitch- 
ing, etc., etc?' by saying " Considered wrong except for 
school exercises where the teacher is responsible. " 
" New Testament classes conducted according to the 
order of the church in the opening and the closing are 
unanimously encouraged." 

The two groups of members, gathering around their 
respective places of worship, prospered under the loving 
supervision of Joseph R. Hanawalt, the bishop of both 
congregations, but the two centres led pleasantly to the 
next division of territory. It is no surprise, therefore, to 
learn that at a council meeting held in the Spring Run 
house September 23, 1865, a committee consisting of 
Joseph R. Hanawalt, William Howe, Peter Myers, Philip 
Mertz, John Rupert, John Price and George S. Myers, 
was appointed to establish a dividing line. They met 
April 21, 1866 in the home of George S. Myers and 
framed the following satisfactory dividing line : " That 
the point of starting said line be at the foot of Blue 
Ridge, opposite the Three Locks, crossing the river at 
the Three Locks, thence along the public road by Strodes 
Mill and saw mill, then by Hope Furnace and Hugh Mc- 
Kee's to top of Jack's mountain, turning eastward fol- 
lowing top of said mountain until opposite road on east 
side of the farm where Abram Glassmyer now lives on 
the road leading to ' Squire Haffey's, thence direct to 
Stone mountain, the place of termination." 

Thus was the congregation amicably divided Septem- 
ber 23, 1865, the western section taking the name Spring 
Run and the eastern retaining the name Lewistown — 
sometimes called Dry Valley. 

The Lewistown congregation after the division of ter- 
ritory had the following officials : 

Ministers : Jacob Mohler, William Howe, Adam 
Young, John Price and Andrew Spanogle. 

Deacons : Philip Mertz, Isaac Price, John Keever, Ben- 
jamin Howe. 

33 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Jacob Mohler was chosen bishop and Philip Mertz 
treasurer. No secretary was appointed and no records 
kept. Even the treasurer, a fine faithful man whose 
honesty was never questioned, kept no record. He 
simply carried the bag, received what was given him and 
paid such bills as the church ordered him to pay. As far 
as record goes he never made a statement of receipts 
and expenditures. Not until November 2, 1869 were pro- 
visions made for keeping record and then George S. 
Myers and Samuel Reichard were jointly appointed as 
secretaries. 

The Record of the Faith * states that the Dry Valley 
congregation — properly called Lewistown, was organized 
in 1781 with ten members ; that in 1881-1882 it had one 
church house built in 1856 and a membership of 125. 
The bishop of the congregation was William Howe. 
Jacob Mohler w r as also ordained while George S. Myers, 
Samuel J. Swigart, Andrew Spanogle, John M. Mohler 
were in the second and Albert Steinberger was in the 
first degree of the ministry. 

The congregation had a large territory to work, — on 
the north, part of Centre County, on the east, part of 
Snyder County over to Middleburg and on the south to 
Shade mountain. 

In this territory services were held regularly in the 
Price, McKee and Kile school houses in the country, the 
Toll Gate school house in Lewistown borough and two 
school houses in Centre County. This gave the minis- 
ters a busy program over a large area, but nothing 
daunted, they at great sacrifice and with much effort 
preached the Word of Life faithfully at each place. For 
instance, to fill the appointments in Centre County 
usually took three days. 

The congregation showed a commendable, aggressive 
spirit in her inner life. This is seen in the following 
acts : At a council meeting held October 1, 1875, it was 
decided to use unfermented wine at communion and the 
next year they changed from double to single mode of 
feet washing. 

Growth was more marked in the city of Lewistown 
than at the country centres. In fact so large became the 

* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. 

34 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



membership that on January 1, 1896, the congregation 
decided to build the city members a church. They lim- 
ited the building committee, — Andrew Spanogle, Jacob 
U. Howe, Siamuel J. Swigart, — to an expenditure of 
$2,500.00. A good brick house was erected 40 x 60 feet 
at 134 Shaw Avenue and on January 3, 1897, it was dedi- 
cated, James A. Sell preaching and using for his text 
Psalms 122: 1. 

At the time of the dedication there were between 60 
and 70 members living in the city. The new house gave 
an added impetus to the work and it grew. The interests 
of the membership were so unique and their problems so 
different from the country ones that it was thought best 
to have the city members organize themselves into a 
separate congregation. This was accomplished March 
25, 1916, — the city group retaining the name Lewistown 
and the country group taking the name of Dry Valley. 



Ministers elected : 

Abraham Miller 

John Swigart 

Jacob Kinsel 

David Eshelman 1836 

Joseph Rothrock 

Abraham Rothrock 

John 'Rothrock 1835 

Joseph R. Hanawalt 1845 

Reuben Myers 1849 

William Howe 1853 

Peter S. Myers 1857 

Archie Van Dyke 1857 

Adam Young 1859 

Abram Myers 1867 

Solomon Z. Sharp 1862 

Deacons elected : 

Jacob Mohler 

Samuel Yoder 1847 

Benjamin Howe 

D. S. Zook 

Isaac Price 

Samuel Myers 

William Howe 1848 

John Keever 1855 

Peter Mvers 1855 

Archie Van Dyke 1857 

John Rupert 1857 

Adam Young 1857 



Samuel Myers, Jr 1862 

George Hanawalt 1865 

John B. Price 1865 

George S. Myers 1869 

Samuel J. Swigart 1869 

Andrew Spanogle 1870 

John M. Mohler 1874 

Albert Steinberger 1878 

Jacob H. Richard 1891 

William M. Howe 1893 

John Shellenberger 1893 

Harry Spanogle 1894 

Edward M. > Howe 1905 

Samuel Steinberger 1905 



Philip Mertz 1859 

John B. Price 1859 

Henry Hertzler 1869 

John S. Hanawalt 1865 

John Y. Krepps 1865 

George S. Myers 1867 

Moses Price 1867 

Andrew Spanogle 1870 

Henry Snyder 1870 

Jacob U. Howe 1875 

Samuel Reichard 1875 

Albert Steinberger 1875 



35 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Jacob Reichard 1886 Samuel Steinberger 1902 

John S. Mohler 1891 John Brininger 1904 

John Shellenberger 1891 William Hummel 1904 

Jacob W. Richard 1898 John Steinberger 1904 

John Edminston 1898 Oliver Rothrock 1904 

James Fisher 1902 



DRY VALLEY 



* 



Present Membership, 98. 

After the division of territory on March 25, 1916, Dry 
Valley had left a membership of 139. The following 
were officials: Ministers, Samuel J. Swigart, Edward M. 
Howe, Samuel J. Steinberger, Jacob H. Richard and John 
B. Shellenberger. 

Deacons : John Edmiston, John S. Mohler, William 
Hummel, Jacob D. Ellinger, Henry Peters, John Stein- 
berger, William Wagner and James F. Fisher. 

Organization: Samuel J. Swigart, Bishop; Edward M. 
Howe, secretary ; John S. Mohler, treasurer. 

It seemed wise for the parent church to organize the 
Burnham borough separately and this was done on 
March 25, 1921. The account of the rise and progress of 
the cause there will be found under Burnham. 

Bishops presiding : 

Samuel J. Swigart till 1916 

Edward M. Howe began 1920 

Samuel J. Steinberger began 1924 

Ministers elected : 
Joseph Fleming 1923 

Deacons: Date unknown, M. R. Lindsey, Henry Yetter ; 1920, 
Jacob Ellinger, Joseph Fleming; 1923, Harry Hummel, Samuel 
Richard. 

BANNERVILLE 

This is an outlying center of the Dry Valley congrega- 
tion. In the fall of 1876 Enoch and Maggie Shellen- 
berger and five children located in the village of Banner- 
ville and engaged in mercantile business. No religious 
services were held in the village and the conditions were 
such that Mrs. Shellenberger started a Sunday-school. 



* To Edward Howe the reader is indebted for much information found in this 
sketch. 



36 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Two years later ministers from Maitland began to hold 
meetings every eight weeks. The interest justified build- 
ing a church house, for the village had none. Building 










\ *■ 



**** 




■■/. 

o 






Q 

4) 

H 

K 

Is 
o 



be 

fcJD 

C 

O 

o 



13 






c 

■f. 

c 

0) 



c 

as 






- 






committee, Enoch Shellenberger, Daniel Zuck and An- 
drew Spanogle put up a good frame house, 35x50 feet, 
costing $1,500.00. On January 3, 1892 it was dedicated, 



37 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Andrew Bashore and Abram Myers speaking to a large 
gathering. For a time there was an increase of mem- 
bers until some forty lived in the vicinity ; but through 
not having a resident minister the work has not received 
proper care and the membership at the present time is 
about twenty-five. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Dry Valley. Apparently Dry Valley congregation has the dis- 
tinction of having the first Sunday-school in the district. Solomon 
Z. Sharp was baptized at the Spring Run church in October, 1860. 
In that year the young members in the Dry Valley church wanted a 
Sunday-school and secured a Mr. Blymyer from Lewistown to start 
a Sunday-school in the school house near the Dry Valley meeting 
house. In 1862 William Howe insisted that the school be brought 
into the meeting house and it became one of the early Sunday-schools 
conducted by the Brethren.* 

Evidently the school at first was a union effort, organized in the 
schoolhouse near the church. In 1868, it was moved into the 
basement of the Dry Valley church house because at that time it 
was not considered right to hold a Sunday-school in the main 
auditorium. Andrew Blymyer, not a member, was the first 

superintendent^ 

At the James Creek convention, October 21, 1876, J John M. 
Mohler and Albert Steinberger represented the school, and their re- 
port, part of which follows, makes clear when the school came 
under the control of the congregation : " Lewistown school was 
under the Brethren eight years, and conducted at present as fol- 
lows : Opened and closed by singing and prayer, after which the 
teachers took charge of their classes. Time for recitation forty 
minutes. Music on canvass selected from various books, papers, 
etc. Also used the Union Hymn Book. For recitation, use Amer- 
ican Sunday-school lesson papers. Remarks by superintendent and 
others. Use the Young Disciple and with good success. Hope all 
the Sunday-schools will do the same. Infant department conducted 
by Albert Steinberger in the basement. Average between 115 and 
120. John M. Mohler and Albert Steinberger, superintendent." 
That the foregoing refers to Dry Valley school is made clear two 
years later at the convention held in Spring Run when under the 
heading " Dry Valley " is the brief statement, — " Conducted by 
Brethren since 1869. Infant department in basement." 

At the convention of 1896 the school reported average attendance, 
77 ; raised $46.59 of which $26.55 was given to missions and charity ; 
15 conversions; evergreen. In 1904 it reported average attendance, 
59; 11 teachers; $104.97 raised and $49.68 given to missions and 
charity; has teachers' meeting. 

* Extracted from letter written July 18, 1923, by S. Z. Sharp, 
t Information given by Edward Howe, son of William Howe, referred to by 
Solomon Z. Sharp. 

% See Primitive Christian, 1876, p. 702. 

38 




The Bannerville Church and Several of Its Members. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Superintendents : Before 1904, Andrew Blymyer, John M. Mohler. 
Samuel Richard, Jacob Reichard, John S. Mohler, Oliver Rothrock, 

William Richard; 1904, Samuel J. Steinberger ; 1905, ; 

1906, William A. Hummel; 1907-'09, Edward M. Howe; 1910, Jacob 
D. Ellinger; 1911-'14, John E. Steinberger; 1915-'16, John Edmiston ; 
1917-'18, Jacob D. Ellinger; 1919-'23, John H. Steinberger; 1923-'24, 
Jacob D. Ellinger. 

BANNERVILLE SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The earliest record date of a Sunday-school at this point is Jan- 
uary, 1892, at which time Enoch Shellenberger was made superin- 
tendent; Mrs. Henry I. Peters, secretary; Fred Gundrum, treasurer. 
The report for 1904 shows an average attendance, 50; seven teach- 
ers; $24.00 raised; $11.75 given to missions and charity; evergreen; 
ten conversions. 

Superintendents: Before 1904, Isaac W r agner, Charles A. Smith, 

Jay Brandt, John Lash; 1904, John B. Shellenberger; 1905, 

; 1906, Andrew J. Kreps ; 1907, William H. Wagner; 

1908-'10, Henry I. Peters; 1911, William H. Wagner; 1912-'13, 
Henry I. Peters; 1914-'15, William H. Wagner; 1916, Henry I. 

Peters; 1917-'18, William H. Wagner; 1919, F S. Wagner; 

1920, Henry I. Peters; 1921-'24, William H. Wagner. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Ladies' Aid Society of the Dry Valley church was organized 
in the home of Edward M. Howe on December 31, 1919 with the 
following charter members: Minnie Ellinger, Delia Howe, Minnie 
Richard, Mrs. Mary Showers, Margaret Leiter, Mrs. Thomas Fultz, 
Serena Rupert, Jennie Yeater, Sovilla Richard, Mrs. Mary Smith, 
Mrs. Rufus Knepp, Anna Hummel, Mary Howe, Hettie Richard, 
Ellen Goss, Daisey Steinberger, Mrs. William Laub, Mrs. Charles 
Deen, Mrs. Elizabeth Wagner, Mrs. Stephen L. Snook, Mrs. George 
Yeater, Mrs. May Henry, Mrs. Anna Snook, Sadie Goss, Clara 
Steinberger, Bertha Steinberger. Organization: President, Mrs. 
Delia; Howe ; Vice-President, Serena Rupert ; Secretary, Ellen Goss ; 
Treasurer, Minnie Ellinger. 

The Society besides doing work among the needy at home has 
been able to distribute funds as to the Old People's Home at Mar- 
tinsburg and the Missionary Home at Huntingdon. 



SPRING RUN 

Present Membership, 344. 

Before September 23, 1865, the date of the organization 
of the Spring Run congregation, its history is part of the 
-Uewistown (Country) church. About 175 members were 
in the newly organized Spring Run territory. 

40 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Organization : Bishop, Joseph R. Hanawalt ; secretary, 
Solomon W. Bolinger ; treasurer, Henry Hertzler. 

The newly organized body adopted, Sept. 23, '65, rather 
elaborate " regulations for holding council meetings." 
This includes a " preamble and order of business/' They 
started to work systematically and thoroughly. 

In 1862 Samuel Musser from near McAlavey's Fort, 
attended a lovefeast in Spring Run and was so deeply 
impressed that he prevailed on the brethren to come and 
preach in his community. Joseph Hanawalt and Solo- 
mon Z. Sharp responded and held a short series of meet- 
ings at which time a number united with the church, 
among them, Samuel Musser. Solomon Z. Sharp, living 
ten miles nearer than any other minister through having 
charge of Kishacoquillas seminary, was given charge and 
supplied preaching every three weeks for several years. 
During 1865-1867, Archie Van Dyke resided in the com- 
munity and the mission was given close attention. He 
was followed by James A. Sell for two years and through 
their efforts some twenty members were gathered into 
the church. Meetings were held in McAlaveys, Brush 
Ridge, Bear Meadow, Stephens and Sell school houses. 
In 1869 a lovefeast was held in Budd Harshberger's barn. 
From the result of this labor is noted Joshua P. Harsh- 
berger, William Quinn and Samuel Musser all uniting 
with the church and called to the ministry. So the labor 
was not in vain even if the work went down through in- 
ability to follow it properly and finally abandoned about 
1890. 

The Sabbath school had made itself felt in the com- 
munity for (Oct. 5, '66) " complaint is made against them 
for following too much the fashions of the world ' and 
was finally referred to the Annual Meeting. 

In 1867 (May 25) it was decided that members were 
not allowed to have their lives insured ; " the mission 
cause was talked of and encouraged but a warning not 
to make merchandise of the word of God.' 5 Next year 
(May 6) members were advised " not to take part in de- 
bating societies " ; (Aug. 29) the Sunday school officers 
were " to be elected alone by the brethren at quarterly 
council." It was declared " inconsistent for brethren to 
pass our place of meeting to go to camp meeting ' and 

41 




Upper House: Home of George H. Hanawalt, then Abram Myers, and now John C. 
Swigart. Lower House : The Spring Run Church of 1858. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



that they shall heed the Annual Meeting's " Better not " 
and not read " the Revised Version of the New Testa- 
ment in our public meetings." 

The Golden Rule was applied (Oct. 9, '69) for brethren 
were told to " do as you would wish to be done by 3 
when the query came up whether it was " right to hold 
produce for a higher market price than real value." 

It is interesting to note that this congregation fre- 
quently cites the " Brethren Encyclopedia " * in the set- 
tlement of many questions. 

In 1870 this congregation opposed a stenographer at 
Annual Meeting and said it was a " violation of Matthew 
18 to discuss differences through the periodicals." It 
favored the organization of a Church Insurance 
Company. 

" Since there is considerable difference between the 
cuts of our brethren's coats " the question, " Is any plain 
coat out of order?" was answered (Jan. 24, '71) "it is 
considered that any round coat with standing or laying 
collar is a plain one." At this meeting the complaint 
" our meetings are not opened at the appointed time," 
appearing a number of times before on the Minutes was 
again brought up, — while at the mid-year council (Aug. 
5, '71) members using " slang phrases " in speaking of 
others were to be " brought before the church as 
offenders " if they persist in doing thus. 

Members " put back " from the communion for some 
offense were declared (Sept. 23, '73) " members but not 
communicants." A method sometimes used in this 
period by many congregations west and east was re- 
sorted to (Sept. 26, '74) when it was decided "to get a 
constable to insure good order at our lovefeasts." Two 
years later (July 29), it was decided to continue "to line 
the hymns while singing." Brethren attending Temper- 
ance meetings and called upon to speak, were granted 
privilege to do so (Dec. 29, '77) yet the church house 
was denied some one for the use of concerts. The next 
year this congregation petitioned Annual Meeting for the 
privilege to use unfermented wine at the communion. 

* This book, published in 1867, by Kurtz, Columbiana, Ohio, contains the united 
councils and conclusions of the Brethren at their Annual Meetings, carefully col- 
lected and translated from the original German in part, with explanatory notes. 
A copy of this rare book is in the library at Juniata College. 

43 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Evidently Spring Run was conspicuous in the Sunday- 
school world for (July 31, '80) the congregation for 
some reason declined to take the State Sunday-school 
Convention. 

The Record of the Faithful * states that this congrega- 
tion was organized in 185? with a membership of 155; 
that it had one church house built in 1859 and a member- 
ship of 330. Peter S. Myers was bishop ; Abraham Myers, 
George Swigart, Samuel Moser were in the second and 
John Hanawalt in the first degree of the ministry. 

The congregation " resolved to carry out " the request 
that came in on the visit " that there be less fault-finding 
with the young and more love shown them." Three 
years later (Oct. 15, '87) matting was ordered on the 
aisles of the church. May 11, 1889 it was " resolved that 
we as a church do all we can for its success." March 30, 
1895 " to pay ministers sent to conduct series of meet- 
ings $1.00 per day and expenses." Instead of carrying 
the communion bread in the hands, trays were ordered 
(May 31, 1902) to be purchased and used. 

In response to repeated and urgent requests on the 
part of the members living south of the Juniata River, 
two unsuccessful attempts to build them a meeting house 
were made in the years 1874 and 1877. In each instance 
there seemed to be good reason to defer building and not 
until May 21, 1892, when Reuben T. Myers, John Yoder, 
Abraham Myers, Jacob Miller and Michael F. H. Kinsel 
were appointed building committee, did the congregation 
push the building to completion. It is a frame structure. 
40 x 60 feet, costing a little over $2,000.00. On January 
23, 1893, this, the Pine Glen house, was dedicated. Wil- 
liam J. Swigart led in the dedicatory service, using for 
his text 2 Chronicles 2 : 4. The first lovefeast was held 
on Saturday evening, May 26, 1893. 

The Spring Run house, in use for fifty years, was held 
sacred because of the memories associated with it, and 
yet the house needed remodeling. Under the supervision 
of John C. Swigart, Michael F. H. Kinsel, Fred Swigart, 
Lloyd G. Rupert, and Reuben T. Myers the necessary 
changes were made at a cost of about $500.00. On 
August 29, 1909 it was rededicated by a bi-centenial pro- 

* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. 

44 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

gram of considerable length in which many took part, — 
a day to be remembered by all present. 

During the summers of 1921-1923 eight additional 
Sunday-school rooms and other changes costing about 
$1,800.00 were made. 




The Spring Ruv Church as it is Today, 



Bishops presiding : 
Jospeh R. Hanawalt... . 1865-77 

Peter S. Myers 1877-'85 

Abram Myers .... about 1885-'97 
Samuel J. Swigart 1897-'00 



George H. Swigart, 

Mav 30, 1900-Mar. 25, 1910 
Reuben Myers Mar. 26, 1910-'24 
John C. Swigart Mar. 26, 

1910-'24 



Brethren Myers and Swigart are serving the church jointly. 



Ministers elected : 

Abram Myers 1867 

Samuel J. Swigart 1869 

George H. Swigart 1871 

John S. Hanawalt 1873 

William J. Swigart 1876 

Reuben T. Myers 1881 

J. Allen Myers 1883 



John C. Swigart 1887 

Milton C. Swigart 1894 

Lawrence Ruble 1900 

* William D. Kopenhaver. .1912 

William H. Hanawalt 1912 

Wilbur C. Swigart 1920 



Deacons: When organized, 1847, Samuel Yoder ; 1857, John 
Rupert; 1860, Henry Hertzler ; also Samuel Myers and Abraham 
Myers. Elected after organization : 1867, Reuben T. Myers, William 
Miller, Henry Swigart; 1869, Joseph Dunmire, George H. Swigart; 

* Moved into the congregation as a minister. 



45 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

1875, Michael F. H. Kinsel, John Yoder ; 1882, Jacob Miller, Ben- 
jamin Rhodes, John C. Swigart; 1895, Winfield S. Harshberger, 
Lloyd Rupert, Oliver M. Dunmire; 1896, Joseph H. Swigart, John 
H. Miller; 1903, John E. Ranck, George M. Krepps ; 1910, Henry 
W. Hanawalt, Lloyd Swigart; 1913, Albert Manbeck; 1915, Eugene 
O. Kinsel, Thadeus M. Rhodes, Roy Dunmire; 1918, Walter I. 
Knepp, Henry C. Swigart, Lloyd Dunmire. Dates unknown, 
Samuel Musser, Adam Rupert, John S. Hanawalt, Bud Hershberger, 
Andrew J. Krepps, David C. Rupert, Samuel Powell. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Spring Run. This school was opened in the Spring Run Church 
on August 19, 1866 and after that each year on April 1, until it be- 
came " evergreen " in 1906. Organization : Abram Myers, superin- 
tendent; Samuel J. Swigart, and Michael F. H. Kinsel, assistants; 
Elizabeth Swigart, superintendent of female department; "Attend- 
ance first Sunday, 71 and by middle of October 95. Greatest number 
of verses recited in one session by one person, 1900. " * 

Through Solomon W. Bolinger this school made a report f of the 
sixth session saying they had "upwards of 125 pupils. . . . The 
books used were the New Testament by all who could read, and the 
Union Spelling book by the ones unable to do so. . . . No library 
books were used although we have one published by the American 
Baptist Society. . . . The school has done well under the principal- 
ship of our deacon, brother Reuben T. Myers, assisted by John S. 
Hanawalt and Solomon W. Bollinger, all of which were elected by 
ballot by the church at a council meeting held in March previous." 

Michael F. H. Kinsel and Reuben T. Myers were sent as dele- 
gates to the first District Sunday-school convention held at James 
Creek, October 21, 1876 and the following is their report: "School 
opened in 1866. Missed 1870. In operation nine years. Music 
printed on canvass. For recitation, the International Lesson Leaves 
are used. Number enrolled, 125; average, 90.J 

At the 1898 convention this school reported : Average attendance, 
50; raised $14.34 for supplies; continued six months of year. In 
1904 the average attendance, 70; eight teachers; $32.00 raised, of 
which $12.00 went to missions and charity. The school has main- 
tained a frontline standard 1917-'24; during seventeen years has had 
teacher training classes. 

Superintendents: Before 1904 these are among the superintendents 
who served : John Rupert, Ruben T. Myers, John S. Hanawalt, 
Solomon W. Bollinger, Sarah Myers, Elizabeth Swigart, Eve Kinsel, 
David C. Rupert. 1904, Lawrence Rubel ; 1905, Samuel Dunmire; 
1906, Lloyd Swigart; 1907, Howard A. Rush; 1908-'10, Lloward A. 
Dunmire; 1911-'12, Wilbur C. Swigart; 1913-'15, Roy Dunmire; 
1916-'17, Luther J. Dunmire; 1918, J. Allen Rhoes; 1919-'24, Eugene 
O. Kinsel. 

Manor Hill. This school was located about fifteen miles north 

* Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1878, p. 71G. 
t Weekly Pilurim, 1873, p. 398. 
% Primitive Christian, 1876, p. 702. 

46 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

of Huntingdon up Stone Creek Valley, but was under the super- 
vision of the Spring Run Congregation. Archie Van Dyke repre- 
sented the school at the 1876 convention and this much of his re- 
port is preserved : " Manor Hill Class was organized 1866. Com- 
prises from twenty to thirty members, consisting of Brethren's chil- 
dren and friends in general." This point was abandoned in 1890 
and the school ceased as far as the Brethren are concerned. 

Pine Glen. In the 1898 convention this school reported enroll- 
ment, 48; continues six months of year. In 1904, enrollment, 82; 
average, 43 ; six teachers ; raised $32.21 of which $4.78 went to mis- 
sions and charity. " Evergreen " since 1917. Teacher Training, 1923. 

Superintendents: Before 1904, not available; 1904-'06, Joseph H. 
Swigart; 1907-'08, James S. Grassmyer ; 1909-'12, John H. Miller; 
1913-'18, Mrs. Alice L. Swigart; 1919-'23, H. Clair Swigart; 1924, 
Walter Knepp. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The society for Spring Run Church was organized on February 
25, 1905 in the Spring Run church. Officers : President, Mrs. Cath- 
erine E. Swigart; Secretary, Cora Ruble; Treasurer, Bell Rhodes. 

Charter members : Anna Swigart, Catharine E. Swigart, Mable 
Harshberger, Bell Rhodes, Anna French, Serena Ruble, Esther 
Harshberger, Ida Harshberger, Cora Ruble, Libbie Manbeck, Mary 
E. Swigart. 

Presidents and time of service : 

Catherine E. Swigart 1905-1908-1916-1922 

Bell Rhodes 1906-1915-1917-1919-1921-1923 

Anna French 1907-1914 

Serena Ruble 1909-1911-1913 

Libbie Manbeck 1910-1912-1918 

Summary of efforts : 

Pupil in India Boarding School $150.00 

Orphan in India 175.00 

Local efforts 600.00 



LEWISTOWN (City)* 

Present Membership, 469. 

With the church house around which the religious in- 
terest of the Lewistown (Country and City) congrega- 
tion centered for a whole generation only four miles 
from the city, and with a big field that taxed the min- 
istry to work, the ministers made no efifort to preach at 
any point in Lewistown city until about forty members 

* To Harry A. Spanogle the reader is indebted for information found in this 
sketch. 

47 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

resided within its limits. Then preaching was held every 
four weeks in the Toll Gate school house and William 
Howe, Samuel J. Swigart, George S. Myers, Andrew 
Spanogle, John M. Mohler, Albert C. Steinberger, Jacob 
H. Richard and Harry A. Spanogle took turns in declar- 




Tiik Lewistown Church. 





ToLBEKT W. FlLSON AND WIPE. 



John Breininger and wife. 



ing the Word. A Sunday-school was organized in 1892 
and this gave a service to the members and others every 
Lord's day. Interest was good and the school house no 
longer answered their needs. On January 4, 1896 the 
congregation decided to build a church house at 134 



48 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Shaw Avenue. The new house was available for wor- 
ship, January 3, 1897. By this time the membership had 
increased to about 70. 

For some time before the separate organization was 
affected, the group living in the city were acting inde- 
pendent of the mother congregation to the extent that it 
secured William and Minnie Kinsey for pastoral en- 
deavor. They entered upon their work May 1, 1915 and 
served the congregation three years. 

The Lewistown (city) congregation, organized March 
25, 1916, had 217 members and among them the follow- 
ing officials : 

Ministers : Samuel J. Swigart, William Kinsey, Andrew Spanogle, 
Albert C. Steinberger, Harry A. Spanogle. 

Deacons : Jacob U. Howe, James T. Fisher, John Breininger, 
James Harshberger. 

Organization : Samuel J. Swigart, bishop ; William Kinsey, pastor ; 
John Breininger and Isaac Zimmerman, secretaries; John Brein- 
inger, treasurer; Samuel J. Swigart, Andrew Spanogle and Jacob 
U. Howe, trustees. 

One of the first things the newly organized congrega- 
tion did was to push the remodeling of the church house, 
plans and probable costs for the same having been ap- 
proved February 10, 1916 before the organization. The 
building committee, — Samuel J. Swigart, William Kin- 
sey, and Harry A. Sipanogle had been appointed by the 
congregation and these three selected John Breininger 
and James Rothrock, — under the directions of the church, 
made changes and additions costing $6,200.00. On De- 
cember 3, 1916 John H. Cassady preached the dedicatory 
sermon. Special music and other helpful features mark 
the worship. In the evening William J. Swigart spoke. 

For one year after William Kinsey moved from the 
congregation, Samuel J. Swigart and Harry A. Spanogle 
occupied the pulpit. In October, 1919 Herman B. Heisey 
and wife took up the pastorate. The next month the 
new pastor held a revival and some forty were received 
into membership by baptism. Brother Heisey continues 
in the pastorate. 

Beginning with January, 1916, the congregation pub- 
lished a church bulletin which has proved helpful. 

49 




It 

o 



^5 



73 

73 

a 

i— i 

a 



s 

O 

O 
c 

i 

3 



O Sh 

- « 

O a 

a js 

4) •+-> 



_ O 

a 

«! 

o ~ 

73 CI 
73 ^ 
C3 -,_, 

U ° 
a» "3 

m k 

a> 

N 



be 



73 

- 



En 



S 

a/ 



-fe? 
c 
a* 
•/. 



a; 

s 

o 
a: 












in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Bishops presiding: 

Samuel J. Swigart, March 25, 1916 to March, 1920. 

Herman B. Heisey, June, 1920 to date. 

Ministers elected : 

Helen Shellenberger, 1924. 

Deacons: Dec. 10, 1916, Tolbert W. Filson, Lawrence Zook, Banks 
Shotsbarger; Oct., 1920, Charles Hopkins. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school was first organized September 25, 1892 in the 
Toll Gate schoolhouse. Officers : Henry L. Harshbarger and Harry 
A. Spanogle, superintendents; Flo Spanogle, secretary; Christ H. 
Swigart, treasurer. At the 1898 convention the school reported 
average attendance, 78; $88.53 raised, of which $29.01 went for mis- 




Mary, Sarah, Virginia, Myrtle and Adda, all members of the Church of 
the Brethren!, daughters of David A. and Fannie A. Moist, (deceased). 
Photo, 1918. Kindness of of D. Banks Moist. 



sions and charity; 3 conversions. In 1904 average attendance had 
dropped to 59; 11 teachers; $104.97 raised, of which $49.68 given to 
missions and charity; has teachers meetings. The school has been 
" evergreen " from the beginning and has had teacher training 
classes 1905-'24. 

Superintendents : 1892, Henry L. Harshberger, Harry A. Spanogle ; 

, James T. Fisher; 1904-'06, Harry A. Spanogle; 1907, John H. 

Cassady; 1908-'15, James T. Fisher; 1916-'18, Harry A. Spanogle; 
1919, James T. Fisher; 1920, D. Banks Moist; 1921-'—, Charles 
Hopkins till July; July, 1921-'23, Tolbert V. Filson; 1924, Charles 
Hopkins. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The society was first organized in October, 1902, in the home of 
Mrs. Sarah Howe, on Valley Street. Mrs. Annie Mohler Spanogle 
was elected president. The records up till October 20, 1909 have 
been misplaced. 

51 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Presidents : 

Mrs. Annie Spanogle Oct. . . , 1902 

Mrs. Caroline Ruble Oct. 19, 1909 

Mrs. Sarah Breininger Oct. 19, 1910 

Mrs. Ella Rothrock Jan. 8, 1913 

Catherine Spanogle Jan. 7, 1914 

Mrs. Minnie Kinsey Dec. 29, 1915 

Mrs. Eva. Filson Jan. 10, 1917 

Mrs. Annie Spanogle Dec. 31, 1919 

Catherine Spanogle Dec. 30, 1922 

In general totals the society has accomplished the following : 

Foreign Missions $787.95 

Home Missions 178.75 

Juniata College 100.00 

Hospital 29.00 

Young Men's Christian Association 20.00 

Lewistown Church 2,089.24 

$3,204.94 



BURNHAM* 

Present Membership, 100. 

When Burnham borough was still a part of Lewistown 
congregation Maggie Shellenberger, w r ell advanced in 
years, touched by the need for religious instruction 
among the lowly of the place undertook a Sunday-school. 
The first session was held in the fall of 1907 in David 
Goss' home. Six were present. The next Sunday fifteen 
were in attendance and in about two months the school 
was moved to a private two-room house on Pine Top. 
This growth and interest called for preaching service 
and in January and February, 1908, a six weeks' meetings 
(one in the Pine Top house and then the attendance in- 
creased so that the meeting was moved to John A. Fil- 
son's home) with forty-seven accessions were the results 
of John B. Shellenberger's labors, the help of his mother, 
who started the school and her co-laborers Eva Roth- 
rock Filson, Catherine Seal Fleming and others. 

So responsive were the people to the spiritual uplift 
that the question of building a house for the Lord was 
taken before the Dry Valley church and a grant was se- 

* To John B. Shellenberger the reader is indebted for most of the information 
in this sketch. 

52 




The Two Meeting Places Before the Burnham House Was Erected,, the 
Burnham House,, and Some Officials of the Congregation. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

cured to go ahead but with instructions to keep within 
an expenditure of $2,000.00. Building committee: John 
A. Filson, John Breininger and John B. Shellenberger. 
The new building, 35 x 50 feet, basement and first story 
with proper Sunday-school rooms, cost $2,000.00. On 
December 20, 1908 Henry K. Ober led the dedication 
service, using for his text 1 Chronicles 22 : 6-13 and 
1 Corinthians 3: 16-17. 

A steady growth was manifest through the years. It 
was not long, however, until it was apparent to the Dry 
Valley congregation that an organization separate from 
the mother church would be advantageous. Accordingly 
on March 26, 1921, with the assistance of Edward M. 
Howe, Jacob Reichard, John B. Shellenberger and 
Samuel Stienberger, the members of Burnham, 91 in all, 
were organized. Officers: John B. Shellenberger, pastor 
and bishop ; Emma Stuck, church and corresponding sec- 
retary ; Henry Yeatter, treasurer ; Deacon, Mahlon Lind- 
sie; Deacons elected, October 9, 1921, Millard W. Mertz 
and Henry Yeatter. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school was the beginning of interest in this borough 
Its first meeting in the new church was on August 23, 1908, with 
the following officers in charge: John A. Filson, superintendent; 
Emma Stuck, secretary; Joseph Hanawalt, treasurer. The average 
attendance for the full year was thirty-five. During 1923 a teacher 
training class was conducted and five received first vear certificates. 

Superintendents: 1908-'10, John A. Filson; 1911-'14, Thomas 
Arnold; 1915-'24, William A. Hummell. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Society first met in Catherine Geedy's home and was organ- 
ized on April 14, 1910. Officers, Emma Arnold, president; Vina E. 
Shellenberger, secretary; Jennie Reichard, treasurer. Besides the 
three officers Amelia Harshberger and Catherine D. Geedy helped 
to make up the list of charter members. 

In totals the society has accomplished the following : 

Church Building Fund $100.00 

Repairing church 100.00 

Pastor's salary 25.00 

Virginia Mountain Home 50.00 

Communion equipment 25.00 

Sewing for needy at home 25.00 

On interest for special purposes 100.00 

For special purpose 78.00 

54 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

AUGHWICK* 

Present Membership, 150. 

" Samuel Hollinger is said to have been the first 
brother who preached in this country and this was as 
much as sixty years ago." f From other sources it is 
gathered that in about 1802 six members, Christian 
Long and wife, Daniel Secrist and wife and Peter Secrist 
and wife, were organized into the Aughwick church, 
the first congregation of the Church of the Brethren in 
Huntingdon County. " In the organization, brother 
Long was chosen minister, his companion giving her 
voice for him, as she afterwards told her children and her 
friends. J Daniel Secrist was chosen deacon. Two years 
later Jacob Lutz was elected to the ministry. Because 
all these members spoke German, their services were in 
that language ; and being an English community few 
were added to the church. However, a few members 
now and then moved in until the brethren were in the 
majority. Not until after John Hanawalt, who spoke 
English, was called to the ministry in 1806 were there 
accessions by conversion. In 1826 according to available 
records there were about twenty-five members living in 
the congregation. 

At first they worshiped in their own homes, — some of 
them providing a room for this purpose when they built. 
Then the schoolhouse was used for a short period. In 
1836 § the congregation erected, in Germany Valley, a 
large but low stone church 40 x 65 feet, costing about 
$800.00, still standing and in good condition. It is a 
splendid monument to the devotion, courage and sacrifice 
of those earlier days. 

Somewhere within the bounds of this congregation, 
probably in Germany Valley, the Annual Meeting of 1839 
was held. Those were early frontier days with great 
difficulties attending the coming and going, and fellow- 

* To Alexander M. Stout and Charles H. Morrow the reader is indebted for 
information in this sketch. 

f J. Q. in Gospel Visitor, 1869, p. 190. 

t Ibid., p. 190. 

§ In n sketch of the life of Peter Long, Gospel Messenger, May 3, 1887, it is 
stated the house was dedicated in 1838. In Gospel Messenger, 1911, page 357, 
C. H. Morrow states " this house was built in 1838. It was the first church in 
this vicinity." 

55 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

ship was thereby more precious. The records show no 
action at that conference of special interest, but John H. 
Umstead from near Philadelphia attended this meeting 
and afterwards in company with James Ouinter the two 
visited the churches of the valleys of Pennsylvania. It 
was Brother Quinter's first preaching tour/ 1 ' 

As far as known this congregation has records that 
date farther back than those of any congregation in the 
district. From the cash book kept by John G. Glock a 
few items of interest for these times are copied : 

May 16, 1847, 22 lbs. butter @ 12y 2 c (Later item 

has 10c per lb.) $2.75 

June 1, 1847, to Mother Lntz for sweeping the 

meeting house 4 times .50 

( )ct. 23, 1847, 2 bu. wheat 2.00 

Xov. 23, 1847, 4 lbs. coffee 44 

" The amount provided for the lovefeast held on the 
3rd and 4th of September, 1847, was ninety loaves of 
bread, 106 pies, sixty-four pounds of butter, nine pounds 
of coffee, six pounds of sugar, thirteen bushel oats ; also 
two dozen candles and three and one-half quarts wine.'' 

In 1855 the Annual Meeting was held in Germany Val- 
ley, this time on the John B. Garver farm, now owned 
by S. K. McKeehan and Sons. " The meeting was or- 
ganized by appointing a Standing Committee of thirteen 
elders with two clerks, and one hundred and ten were 
representing the churches who were divided into the 
committees to examine and report on the papers sent in.T 

Judging from the custom of these days the local con- 
gregation provided " lodging, boarding and horsefood ' 
for all who came. 

Though no such decision is recorded, it would appear 
that in 1864 this congregation decided to keep a brief 
record of its deliberations. Xo name appears as clerk 
until 1867 when John B. Garver signed as clerk. The 
minutes of this first recorded meeting, October 13, 1864 
are short but full of interest : 

First. Should Brethren be allowed to attend political meetings? 
Considered not proper. 

i 

* The Gospel Visitor, 1849, p. 190. 

t Minutes of Animal Meeting, pp. 147-148. 

56 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Second. How to provide some refreshments for spectators. 
Agreed that refreshments shall be given out just before evening. 

Third. Would it be proper to remove dishes, etc., etc. from the 
tables immediately after supper is over? Considered the best way. 

Fourth. Shall we hold an election for speaker and deacon ? 
Agreed to have an election. 

^ Fifth. Delegates chosen to the district meeting, Christian Myers, 
Samuel Lutz. 

No record appears then until September 28, 1865, when 
" John G. Glock wished to know the opinion of the 
church in regard to advice given to an applicant for bap- 
tism : Is it right to require an applicant for baptism to 
make reconcilliations when there is a known and serious 
difficulty existing between him and others, before being 
admitted? 5 This and " Is the office of assistant revenue 
assessor more tolerable in the church than the office of 
associate judge? ' were referred to the District Council. 

In 1866 the " brethren are admonished and warned 
against going to political meetings " while the same atti- 
tude was taken towards sisters " wearing headnets, 
hoops, garibalda's, etc." 

The record of the meeting held January 1, 1867, re- 
flects well the congregation in the matter of public pray- 
ing: " Considered that it is not only the privilege of all 
the brethren to pray in a public capacity but it is their 
duty, especially when circumstances seem to demand it." 
In this connection some plan for reading" the Scripture in 
course was adopted. 

The question of going to law perplexed some and on 
May 23, 1867, this was decided upon: " Is there any dif- 
ference between using the law ourselves and employing 
others to act for us? Considered no difference with re- 
gard to right." 

The very perplexing question with members in all 
periods of the church, — " Unwilling to commune because 
one communes whom they think is not worthy, and still 
desires to be in full fellowship with the church " is an- 
swered, October 3, 1867, " that they should deny them- 
selves and commune." 

A certain brother "asks the church to release him from 
the ministry on account of mental disability and tem- 
poral inconvenience/' " Considered that the church has 

57 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

no authority to relieve him " and he is " admonished 
. . . to be more active in his calling.' 1 

Just how District Meeting" in those days chose its 
member on Standing Committee is not revealed but a 
query went up from the April 4, 1868 meeting " that each 
District meeting choose its own representative to be a 
member of the Standing Committee of the Yearly 
Meeting/' 

Delegates to District Meeting were instructed, May 13, 
1870, to vote against paying a salary to home mis- 
sionaries." 

Agreement could not be reached, September 2, 1870, on 
the consistency of " members who cannot commune at 
home to go to other branches and commune." At the 
same meeting it was thought " right to bring, i. e. to 
convey preachers of other denominations to our neigh- 
borhood to preach ... in certain cases." 

In 1872 the congregation instructed the members at 
the different houses " to decide according to their judg- 
ment ' about observing double or single mode of feet- 
washing. They decided in favor of mutual fire insurance 
but brethren did wrong who " sign petitions for license 
to sell liquor ; " later it was " considered not right . . . 
to sell intoxicant drinks or liquors to persons who retail 
or sell them again to drunkards," or " to sell grain to 
persons who intend to manufacture it into spirituous 
liquors." The church at the same time did not reach 
a conclusion on holding " social and special prayer- 
meetings." 

Following the erection of the Germany Valley house a 
decided increase in membership was realized. The mem- 
bers spread out into adjoining valleys in spite of the 
hardships encountered, but for the time continued to 
gather at the old stone church for worship. But the 
church was on the eve of a decided advanced step in her 
life. The spirit of improvement took hold of the mem- 
bership. Henry B. Brumbaugh, attending the meeting 
after some improvements were made on the Germany 
Valley " low stone house ' thus writes : " The old stone 
church which has been standing for several ages, has 
recently been remodeled and nicely fitted up with seats 
provided with that very necessary part, ' the back,' well 

58 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

painted and elevated at the one side and the ends. The 
aisles are covered with a plain matting which, though it 
may be considered an innovation upon our time honored 
customs, seem to be quite a necessary improvement. . . . 
We cannot see why a thing of such real benefit is not 
generally adopted." 

The occasion of the gathering was a communion, 
Thursday, October 10, 1872. Samuel R. Zug of Lan- 
caster County preached the opening sermon. " The at- 
tendance was not very good." The editor makes these 
further significant remarks : " This church is noted for 
turning out a large number of ministers, many of whom 
are scattered over the Western States and are doing good 
service for the Master's Kingdom, but like the mother 
of many children, she has felt the pangs and being* neces- 
sitated to rally so often for losses, she became somewhat 
depressed, but we hope her quota is now filled and that 
the present force may feel content to labor at home." 
Then the editor relates that " the present ministerial 
force are as follows : Andrew Spanogle, now superan- 
nuated, who formerly was acting bishop, but now super- 
seded by John G. Glock, who of late is assisted by A. L. 
Funk and John Spanogle, they having been advanced to 
the eldership. Next in office, James R. Lane, Peter L. 
Swayne, John B. Garver, Isaac Book and lately R. M. 
Wakefield/ 11 

Three ministers and a goodly number of members 
lived in Hill Valley. On May 9, 1873, John Spanogle, 
James R. Lane, Henry Rhodes, George Garver and 
Michael Myers were appointed building committee to 
erect a house for the Hill Valley members with " no re- 
strictions except that the cost of the house shall not ex- 
ceed $2,000.00." On Saturday, September 19, 1874, the 
members and visitors gathered at the new house, a splen- 
did brick structure 40 x 50 feet, for worship, for it should 
" be remembered that this was the first preaching in this 
house and was what was generally termed the dedica- 
tion/' Christian Long of Adel, Iowa, formerly of this 
congregation and Robert Badger of Dallas Centre, Iowa 
were unexpected visitors. And being " farthest away ' 
Christian Long " led out " followed by Brother Badger. 

* Weekly Pilgrim, 1872, p. 351. 

59 




Upper: Germany Valley House. Next: Hill Valley 
Hill House. Lower Right: Beach 



Hor.se. Lower 
Ruu House. 



Left: Rock 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



" The afternoon and evening exercises were largely at- 
tended and the new house was filled bey.ond capacity.' 1 
Seven were baptized that evening. On the next day 
(Sunday) Christian Long preached, followed by Joseph 
R. Hanawalt. Other visiting ministers were Jacob 
Mohler, Andrew Spanogle, George Brumbaugh and John 
B. Garver.* 

April 10, 1875 John Spanogle's "proposition to have 
Sunday-school in this house (Sugar Run, now Hill Val- 
ley) the coming summer " was agreed to. At the same 
meeting lay-members as well as officials were made 
eligible to serve as delegates to District meeting. While 
in 1870 delegates were instructed to vote against " pub- 
lishing a full report of the proceedings of the Annual 
Meeting," in 1876 this congregation instructed her dele- 
gates to " favor a report in pamphlet form." 

In 1877 the congregation decided " to adopt an equal- 
izing system to meet current expenses.'' The next year, 
six years before Conference laid the foundation for the 
church's present general missionary organization, " Jere- 
miah Messmore, Samuel Lutz, John Shope, Jane Lane, 
Elizabeth Spanogle and Hattie Dell are appointed a com- 
mittee to solicit missionary funds " to be paid into a 
Missionary Union that was carrying on work in the 
United States. 

Evidently some members wanted " the meal on the 
second day of the Love Feast dispensed with and the 
cost applied to some other purpose;" but April 26, 1877, 
it was " considered not good to make a change at this 



s 
time." 



At the same meeting, the query " What to do with 
sisters who refuse to wear the cap or a covering on the 
head in the time of worship" was disposed of thus: 
" They should be admonished and advised to have their 
heads covered." 

The members scattered farther away, seeking homes in 
promising valleys. A group settled over to the west 
in Hares Valley and the brethren were called in to 
preach. William Spanogle took a special interest in the 
spiritual welfare of this group. Meetings were held in 
the Lincoln schoolhouse and members were added. On 

* Weekly Pilgrim, 1874, p. 308. 

61 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

January 1, 1879, after the council meeting was " closed 
with singing and prayer . . . John Shope was given the 
liberty to ask the concurrence of the church in building 
a meeting house at or near Lincoln schoolhouse in Hares 
Valley. There was no objection. The following summer 
a substantial frame house 32x36, known as the Beach 
Run Church, about three miles from Mapleton Depot 
was erected. Much labor was donated, for the people 
had a heart to work. In September of the same year 
James Quinter dedicated the church. Conditions de- 
veloped soon after through the unfortunate church divis- 
ion that in twenty years reduced the membership to two. 
Benjamin F. Ranck of Altoona ministered to them more 
or less regularly for nearly three years. During the 
school year of 1922-'23 Alexander M. Stout, a theological 
student at Juniata gave the group week-end pastoral care 
and he was followed the next year by Galen Blough. In 
September, 1923 Charles O. Beery held a revival, at 
which time nine confessed Christ and the turn upward 
again appears to be on hand. 

Perhaps no more important step in the right direction 
in handling troubles was taken than the one the congre- 
gation took, October 22, 1879, when it was decided " that 
the deacons take written statements of what is to come 
before the church." At the same meeting the single 
mode of feet-washing was adopted " by the minority be- 
ing willing to bear for the present." At this same meet- 
ing the business work of the church took on a new phase 
when three were appointed " to audit the accounts of the 
church." 

One is surprised to find that social problems perplexed 
the church in the form this query of May 17, 1879 re- 
veals : " Is it right for the brethren to hold dances or 
parties, brother . . . being charged?" And it is more 
surprising, — one cannot imagine what conditions existed 
to delay action, for the record shows no conclusion but 
" continued." 

In 1881 certain brethren who had " withdrawn " from 
the church and desiring to be received back into fellow- 
ship refused to have extended to them the right hand of 
fellowship and the kiss; and the church decided to re- 
ceive them "upon their confession and acknowledgment." 

62 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Sleigh bells continued to give concern in 1891 ; espe- 
cially at funerals for " the church requires . .. . all to take 
their bells off on the way to the graveyard." " Can a 
brother in the ministry act in a township office consis- 
tently with the Gospel?' It was thought "better not." 

The Record of the Faithful * states that the Aughwick 
congregation in Huntingdon County was organized in 
1802 with six members, that in 1882 it had two church 
houses, but no date when the first one was built, that its 
membership was 225. John G. Glock was bishop ; James 
R. Lane, Robert M. Wakefield, Seth F. Myers, John 
Shope, were in the second while Thomas Chilcote was in 
the first degree of the ministry. 

On January 16, 1882 George Eby, a deacon who had 
served this congregation as treasurer for forty years, died 
at the age of eighty-six. 

In 1884 (January 1), a committee of four brethren were 
appointed to " admonish members attending literary so- 
cieties." At the same meeting the church took a square 
stand against members belonging to the Grange. 

One gets a little glimpse at the handling of an Annual 
Meeting when, in 1885 (Mexico, Pa.), this congregation 
agrees to send their dishes, knives and forks to Annual 
Meeting providing they are called for.' 5 A real practical 
interest was taken in Annual Meeting those days as seen 
by the following, answered negatively: 'Will this church 
be willing for the brethren to sell confectionery on Sun- 
day on the Annual Meeting grounds?" Many people 
from a distance attended the Lovefeasts and slept in the 
church on benches or floor beds " up-stairs." Hence it 

was necessary to " appoint brother , with two 

others to stay in the meeting house the night of the love- 
feast and keep order." 

John Shope, a minister, lived in Black Log Valley and 
witnessed for Christ in a very able way. The members 
and friends decided to build a church and on October 19, 
1884, James Quinter dedicated the same. There were 
about sixty members living in the valley at the time.t 
Following the dedication, Brother Shope conducted a re- 
vival continuing six weeks and some ninety confessed 

* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller, 
f Gospel Messenger, 1884, p. 705. 

63 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Christ. After a few years our brother Shope felt con- 
strained to unite with the Brethren (Progressive) and 
the Lord's work at this point through various reasons 
has come to naught as far as the Church of the Brethren 
is concerned. 

According to the records this congregation felt the 
pangs of the Progressive movement, though it did not 
manifest itself openly till about 1890. The minutes show 
that, October 21, 1891, fifteen withdrew from fellowship 
but in time a number of them returned to the mother 
church. Of the number but one was a minister. 

In 1895 Walter S. Long was " relieved from filling the 
distant appointments for the present year in order that 
more attention may be given to Sunday-school work.' 1 
Yet the following year the church is unable to determine 
if " it is right to take up a collection on Sunday. Hill 
Valley and Germany Valley houses are granted permis- 
sion to hold singing schools." Most any position of 
business was questioned at first, for the church asked 
District Meeting, " Is a bishop that is a stockholder, 
vice-president or president of a bank eligible to member- 
ship on Standing Committee of Annual Meeting?' A 
year or so later lifting collections on Sunday was settled 
by a majority vote taken by the deacons on their annual 
visit. Then all the ministers were instructed to lift offer- 
ings at each appointment, half to go to the Old People's 
Home and half to be divided among the ministers of the 
congregation. In the next step the congregation decided 
to use the collection of the first Sunday of each month 
to defray the expenses of the Sunday-school. 

The first indication of a supported ministry appeared 
September, 1897, when " Sunday collections are to be 
continued by the ministers who are favorable to it and 
the same to be distributed amongst themselves and the 
Old Folks Home according to rules of distribution." 
The next year the congregation had to deal with the 
problem of support in a more serious way when two of 
the ministers " would not serve without remuneration 
and if remunerated would give their whole time to the 
work." The problem was too much for the congregation, 
for, a couple of following meetings, the committee ap- 
pointed to confer with the brethren reported that they 

64 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



failed to do this and finally it was decided " to continue 
the committee indefinitely." 

In 1892 the congregation instructed its delegates to 
oppose the establishing of an Old Folks Home. The 
members would not decide if it were right for ministers 
of the Brethren to take part in the services of other de- 
nominations. The next year when the Home was ex- 
plained in council the church not only approved of the 
project but offered a property in Shirley sburg for that 
purpose. Provision was made for a systematic annual 
pastoral visit to be made by the ministers. 

Through the efforts of Thomas Cloyd, Roy X. Wilson 
and John E. Garver conducting Sunday-school for sev- 
eral years in Enyeart's school house at the bridge north 
of Rockhill, an opening was made for preaching and 
James R. Lane, Robert M. Wakefield, John E. Garver, 
Seth and Christian Myers and Samuel A. Norris took 
their turn setting forth the Word. In 1904 a revival con- 
ducted by William F. Spidle added thirty members, 
nearly all heads of families. The next step was a church 
house on the outskirts of Rockhill. Building committee : 
George Renecker, Thomas O. Cloyd, Howard Norris. 
The last named was contractor. On March 11, 1906 
William J. Swigart, using for his text, Revelations 22:9, 
conducted the dedication of a house 35 x 40 feet, cost- 
ing $1,400.00. 

Besides the foregoing the congregation had an interest 
in Cherry Grove and Meadow Green houses, but in 
recent years the brethren have not held meetings at 
either place. 

During the seventies and eighties the congregation 
numbered one hundred and fifty or more. On lovefeast 
occasions the large Germany Valley house was not able 
to hold the people who gathered. But through the years 
that followed the loss of membership by emigration and 
deaths was heavy. The membership was scattered over 
a large territory, the ministers were so few in number 
that all the places of worship could not be supplied regu- 
larly and the congregation lost heart. A few faithful 
ones, however, did not give up. Dewitt H. Miller, at- 
tending Juniata College, took up a week-end pastorate 
with them and spent the summer vacation in their midst. 

65 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



He served them from June, 1921 to June, 1928 and gath- 
ered a number into the fold. In the first week of Sep- 
tember, 1923, Alexander M. Stout took up the pastorate, 
making his home in Rockhill. During his administration 
about fifty members have been added to the fold and the 
church has been much revived. 

Presiding bishops : 

Peter Long 1802 James R. Lane 

Andrew Spanogle 1849 Robert M. Wakefield 

Abram Funk about 1855 John E. Garver 

John S. Gluck Samuel A. Norris 1923 

John Spanogle 

Ministers : 

Christian Long in a printed report (source unknown) says the 
congregation was dubbed in the forties " a preacher factory." Tt is 
to its credit that the congregation was so wide awake to the needs 
of the times as to call so many to the ministry. The list is not con- 
sidered complete : 



Christian Long 1802 

Jacob Lutz 1804 

John Hanawalt 1806 

Peter Long 1826 

Andrew Spanogle 1 827 

John King 1827 

Andrew Spanogle, Tr 1830 

Michael Bollinger 1835 

Graybill Myers 1839 

Christian Long, Jr 1839 

John G. Glock 1842 

John Spanogle 1844 

Abraham L. Funk 1847 

Enoch Eby 1850 

George Myers, Sr 1855 

James R. Lane 1858 

George H. Swayne 1898 

Milton H. Wright 1898 

Samuel A. Norris 1902 

Roy X. Wilson 1902 

Deacons: 1802, Daniel Secrist ; 1871, Robert M. Wakefield, Enoch 
Lutz, Eli Messimore; 1881, John E. Garver, John Shope; 1892, 
Thomas A. Cloyd, John B. Gluck; 1894, Israel N. Querry; 1898. 
Albert J. Rohrer, Samuel A. Norris; 1903, William B. Wilson, 
Cornelius B. Runk ; 1905, Jacob Gabert, William O. Huntsman; 
1910, Matthew Secrist, Chambers H. Morrow; 1915, James G. 
Gabert, Eli G. Wakefield; 1916, Jeremiah Messimore; 1919, J. Mon- 
roe Secrist; 1920, Esco A. Wilson; 1924, Walter Wakefield, Ira 
Hall; October 26, 1924, James Gabert, Norman Booker, David 
Runk. Emanuel Boosley, George W. Smith and Joshua Buchanan, 
dates unknown. 



Peter L. Swayne 1860 

Christian Myers 1861 

Isaac Book 1869 

John B. Garver 1869 

Seth W. Myers! 1874 

William L. Spanogle 1877 

John B. Shope 1879 

Thomas Chilcote 

Robert M. Wakefield 1882 

John E. Garver 1882 

David Shope 1882 

Walter S. Long 1892 

Herbert B. Landis 1894 

Bruce J. Mvers 1895 

William Wakefield 1895 

William F. Spidle 1902 

Jesse C. Rupert 1905 

David L. Little 1910 



66 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Germany Valley. Just when the Sunday-school started record 
fails to reveal. Tradition has it that Peter L. Swayne, as superin- 
tendent, started a Sunday-school as early as 1864 in the Sinking 
Springs schoolhouse. Eli G. Wakefield writes that from, 1868 to 
1870 Peter Swayne was superintendent of a school in Germany 
Valley. At a convention held in Spring Run in 1878, John E. Garver 
and Archibald S. Van Dyke represented and reported the school as 
" Union. Bible questions asked which are very interesting. Use 
Brethren's hymn-book." Evidently the school lapsed seriously, for 
there is no further report until 1910. Superintendents in the 60's, 
Peter L. Swayne; in the 70's, John E. Garver; 1890-'93, Walter S. 
Long; , James Smith; 1910, David L. Little; 1911, Eli G. Wake- 
field; 1912, George Runk ; 1913, Joseph Snare; 1914-'15, Robert 
Morrow; 1916-'22, Eli G. Wakefield; 1923-'24, Ira L. Hall. 

Hill Valley (also called Sugar Run). This school was organized 
in 1875. At the convention, 1878, represented by John Spanogle and 
James R. Lane, this report was made; "Hill Valley school numbers 
from 50 to 70. Open and close in the usual way. Use no lesson 
papers. Sing from Union Hymn books. Not in favor of picnics. 
Has been organized two years." Then, in 1878, William L. Spanogle 
and Harry Smelker represented and reported that the school had 
been opened " under unfavorable circumstancs, but grew in favor 
and interest. Average attendance, 55. Use International Lesson 
leaves." At the 1898 convention it reported enrollment 46; in 1904 
average attendance, 36 ; five teachers ; raised $8.93, of which $6.50 
went to missions and charity work; 12 conversions." Superintend- 
ents: 1904, William C. Huntsman; 1905, ; 1906-'07, 

John A. Rohrer; 1908, Samuel A. Norris; 1909, John A. Rohrer ; 
1910, Jacob Gabert; 1911-'12, David P. Whitsel ; 1913, John G. 
Rohrer; 1914-'15, James L. Gabert; 1916, John A. Rohrer; 1917, 

L P. Garver; 1918-T9, Jacob Gabert; 1920-'21, Samuel A. 

Runk; 1922-'23, James Gabert; 1924, Daniel P. Whitsell. 

Rock Hill. The Church of the Brethren Sunday-school was or- 
ganized in the Enyearts schoolhouse, near the bridge, outside of 
Rock Hill in April, 1904. That year it had an " average attendance 
of 50, eight teachers, raised $24.00, of which $10.00 went to missions 
and charity work, had twenty-five conversions." Superintendents : 
1904-'O9, Howard M. Norris; 1910, Esco A. Wilson; 1911-T2, 
Richard D. Whitsel; 1913, Howard M. Norris; 1914, D. E. Pollick ; 
1915-T9, Howard M. Norris; 1920, Samuel A. Conner; 1921, Easton 
L. Pepple; 1922, Barton Ripple; 1923, Miller Arnold; 1924, Walter 
Wakefield. 

Beech Run. No records of early history available. John Shope 
was prime mover in beginning the work here. Superintendents : 
Early 80's, John Shope, George Dell, W. M. Smith, Jacob Querry, 
James Q. Dell, David Heck; 1904, George Y. Swayne, Scott Beaty, 
David Henneman were among the earlier leaders; 1917, Israel 
Querry; 1918, Darby Miller; 1919, Adam Bagshaw ; 1920, G. M. 
Querry; 1921-'22, James C. Dell; 1923, George Bumgardner ; 1924, 
Albert Dell. 

67 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



ARDENHEIM 



* 



Present Membership, 60. 

" The territory comprising* the Ardenheim Church be- 
longed to Aughwick congregation. The early interests 
centred about the Sugar Grove Schoolhouse in which the 
first services were held and where services have been 
kept up with less or more regularity for upwards of one 
hundred years. The Ruperts, Numers, Bollingers and 
Goodmans from Path Valley, Franklin County, settled 
in what is known as the Lick Ridges, probably before 
the middle of the last century. Some of them were 
members of the Brethren Church. They went to Ger- 





Bisiiop and Mrs. William J. Swigart. 



Mr. and Mrs. Thomas E. Wood. 



many Valley to communion and the brethren from that 
congregation would ride horseback ' to the ridges,' some 
twenty-five miles and preach in the Sugar Grove school 
house, located on Sugar Run, about three miles north- 
east of Mill Creek station. Several different school 
houses on the same ground served for sanctuary pur- 
poses. A saw mill across the road served sometimes for 
a sanctuary when the school house was being rebuilt or 
repaired. Elders Abram Funk, John Glock, James R. 
Lane, the Spanogles and Myerses and others doubtless 
preached there from time to time. At first the Brethren 
came every sixteen weeks. Then every eight weeks. 
The school house would hardly hold the people who came 

* To William J. Swigart the reader is indebted for information given herein. 



68 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



to hear these men preach. Some who came into the 
church were baptized in the Sugar Grove run ; others at 
Germany Valley ; and a few of the descendants probably 
in the James Creek congregation. All applicants in later 
years were baptized at Huntingdon." — William J. 
Swigart. 

After 1875 these Ridge members began to worship 
with the little group forming itself into a church in 
Huntingdon and in this manner became part of James 
Creek congregation and remained identified with Hunt- 
ingdon church, when in 1878 it was organized separately. 

Preaching was supplied by ministers from Hunting- 
don. Though ably assisted by others, from the begin- 
ning William J. Swigart took supervising care. In 1894 
he and John B. Brumbaugh, each preaching alternate 
evenings, held a revival in the Woodville school house 
near Ardenheim station and some half dozen heads of 
families united with the church. 

At once steps were taken to build a house of worship. 
Ardenheim was finally selected. Otis M. Brumbaugh, 
engaged as contractor, erected a brick-veneered house 
38 x 50 feet, costing 
$1,700.00, the amount 
being liberally contrib- 
uted by those living in 
the community and in 
Huntingdon. On April 
28, 1895, the house was 
dedicated, William J. 
Swigart preaching. 
Text, 1 Kings 8:27. 
November 2 following, 
the first lovefeast was 
held. 

Ardenheim congre- 
gation was organized 
April 25, 1896. Of- 
ficers : William J. S'wi- The Ardenheim Church. 

gart, bishop ; Bessie 

Wood, secretary ; Samuel Eby, treasurer. As treasurer, 
Brother Eby not only cared for the funds of the church, 
but was a liberal contributor thereto and a devoted sup- 




69 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



porter of the work from the day of his baptism, on his 
seventieth birthday, till his death, at the age of eighty-six. 
Two things are of peculiar interest to Ardenheim, one 
of which cannot be duplicated in the Brotherhood. 
First, Brother Swigart being identified with Juniata Col- 
lege and having the spiritual care of Ardenheim, invited 
student ministers and others to preach for him and in 
this way through the years some seventy or more dif- 
ferent ministers who have since come to more or less 
prominence, preached one or more times in this place. 
More than one of them can look back to the Sugar Grove 
school house or to " Ardenheim where I preached my 
first sermon." Second, through the long period of service 
William J. Swigart preached over two thousand times 
and had the joy of seeing upwards of two hundred unite 
with the church. 

Deacons: April 25, 1896, Thomas E. Wood, D. Heister Foust, 
Charles Rupert, John Long; May 19, 1923, Charles Cisney, Howard 
Rupert, Lloyd Strausser, John Knders. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Sugar Grove. This was a summer Sunday-school started in the 
Sugar Grove school house in the late seventies. At the 1898 con- 
vention it is reported thus : " enrollment, 44 ; average attendance, 
36; raised $5.00 for supplies." In 1904 it was reported as haying 30 
on roll and raising $4.68 for supplies. Frank Secrist was its first 
superintendent. After him as far as is known were the following : 

, John H. Rupert; , Lewis Corbin ; 1904, D. Heister Foust; 

1905, ; 1906 to 1915 not reported but these served: 

George Rupert, Charles Rupert, Airs. Charles Rupert, Jacob Wood ; 
1916, Howard Rupert; 1917, D. Heister Foust; 1918, Samuel E. 
Gregory; 1919, D. P. Whitself; not reported further. 

Ardenheim. This began in the Woodville school house about 
1880 and when the church was built transferred to it. At the con- 
vention of 1898 it reported thus: ''enrollment, 76; average, 65; 
raised $11.47 for home supplies and $3.14 for missions; conducted 
nine months of the year. By 1904 its average dropped to 30 but it 
raised $12.50 for supplies and $20.00 for missions. 

Superintendents: David Y. Swavne ; , Otis M. Brumbaugh; 

1904, David Y. Swavne; 1905-'08, not reported; 1909- ? 10, William 
P. Harley; 1911-'13, Albert M. Robinson; 1914-T5, H. Earl Foust; 
1916-T7, Mary Wood; 1918, William J. Swigart; 1919, Lionel Cor- 
rigan; 1920-'22, Howard F. Rupert; 1923-'24, John W. Enders. 



70 



CHAPTER III 



The Clover Creek Congregation 

and Its Growth in Blair and 

Huntingdon Counties 



1780 
17! 



1820 



1840 



1860 



1880 



1900 



1920 




Clover Creek 
Roar.Spg.Ctry 

Albright 

Roaring Spg. 

Fairview 

Williamsburg 

Smithfield 

James Creek 

Huntingdon 



CLOVER CREEK 



* 



Present Membership, 505. 

" About 1755 a colony of Brethren entered Morrison's 
Cove through Loy's Gap and gradually working- their 
way northward settled in the northern borders of the 
valley where now Clover Creek and Roaring Spring con- 
gregation are located and in Woodock Valley where 
James Creek Church is to be found. 

" Daniel Ullery, one of these settlers, purchased 169 
acres in 1780 where Roaring Spring now stands. He 
built a mill which doubtless was the first one in this part 
of the country. It was afterwards burnt by the Indians. 

" The same year, Jacob Shonefelt, one of the ministers 
of this church, purchased 640 acres of land on which is 
located the borough of East Sharpsburg. In 1802 he 
built the large stone house that is still standing in that 
town. 



* To John G. Mock the reader is indebted for corrections and information in 
the latter part of this sketch. 



71 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

1 Another one of the Brethren settlers, John Brum- 
baugh, procured a warrant dated March 14, 1765 for 
1,500 acres of land on which Martinsburg is built. He 
however, did not take possession till September 7, 1792, 
when he received a patent or warrantee deed from the 
Penns, the owners of the land. 

"In 1795 Daniel Ullery sold his 169 acres to his son 
John, who the same year purchased 337 additional acres. 
These two tracts remained in his possession till 1821, 
when by sale they went out of the possession of the 
Brethren. 

" In 1799 John Brumbaugh sold 700 acres of his 1,500 
acre tract to his son-in-law, Daniel Cammerer. It was 
his descendants, John and James Cammerer, who built 
the house in 1845 which was first used for religious pur- 
poses. Here services were held until the brick house on 
the opposite side of the street was completed in 1870. 

" The next recorded event was in 1823 when Clover 
Creek entertained the Annual Meeting on the Isaac 
Aletzger farm, half way between Martinsburg and Fred- 
ericksburg. For this and the meeting of 1824, according 
to the compiled minute book published in 1909, there are 
no minutes preserved. 

" The first house built exclusively for religious pur- 
poses was at Brumbaugh's, now Fredericksburg. The 
lot was deeded in 1840 to trustees, Abram Shelly, Henry 
Powell and Joel Graybill. This, the first Clover Creek 
house was a low one story building 40 x 60 feet with 
basement, completed in 1841. 

Daniel Liedy donated a plot of ground at the Diehl 
Cross Roads on May 14, 1855, to trustees Jacob P. Hoover 
and Christian Brumbaugh and the same vear elder 
Daniel M. Holsinger built a one-story house, no base- 
ment, 35 x 45 feet, costing about $1,000.00.* 

" In 1858 it was decided to divide the territory and all 
west of Tussey Mountain, now included in Albright, 
Roaring Spring, Smithfield, Fairview, Williamsburg and 
part of Woodbury was allotted to Clover Creek congre- 
gation. George Brumbaugh, Senior, was bishop of the 

* Prior to the erection of this church services were held in the home of Isaac 
Burget on the farm now owned by Jeremiah B. Hoover, Editor. 

72 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

church from the date of the organization till his death, 
March 26, 1875. 

" The Annual Meeting of 1863 was held on the John 
Brumbaugh premises (Gospel Visitor, page 218, 1863). 
It was largely attended and the congregation bore all the 
expenses. Boarding and lodging were free. The old 
church was utilized as a dining hall and the conference 
was held in a grove back of the church. Preaching serv- 
ices were held in the neighboring barns. 

" Missionary, educational, Sunday-school and other 
meetings of like nature were then unknown. At the close 
of a session the entire congregation, headed by a dozen 
or more long-bearded preachers, marched in a drawn 
out train toward the dining hall. It was a scene that 
made impressions on the minds of the thoughtful that 
were abiding. 

" The spirit of the meeting was most excellent. The 
Civil War was dragging its weary length along and feel- 
ings were tender. Many fervent prayers were offered 
that the war might cease and the slaves be free. Daniel 
P. Saylor, in a public address, gave a very pathetic ac- 
count of the devastation of the battle of Antietam and 
appealed for money to help some of our people who had 
suffered property loss in that fearful conflict. The re- 
sponse to his appeal was liberal. The brethren from the 
start had strong property holdings and being men of 
strong character and sterling worth and the best of 
farmers, the church was firmly established." Thus James 
A. Sell wrote. 

At a council meeting held May 25, 1867, the congrega- 
tion decided to keep a record of its proceedings and ap- 
pointed Thomas B. Maddocks and Jacob L. Wineland 
secretaries.* The record of this meeting carries unusual 
interest. " John W. Brumbaugh elected delegate to 
Annual Meeting." " John P. Hoover asked to have an 
hour's singing before church service. Granted." " John 
P. Hoover asked again to open Sunday-school in the 
Clover Creek house. Granted. Committee, Thomas B. 
Maddocks, John D. Brumbaugh, Jacob L. Wineland, S. 
W. Graybill, John H. Dilling and Christian Oaks." 

* This book of minutes was made available through the kindness of Andrew B. 
Burget. Im seeking to get the true spirit of the churches such a record is of 
incalculable value. 

73 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

The following year the church decided that a brother 
could not serve as school director. Evidently an im- 
portant change was made June 2, 1868, when the church 
decided " that the supper be placed on the table before 
feetwashing." Singing school gave the church some con- 
cern and at the fall council of the same year " the case 
of the singing school was referred to Annual Meeting 
Minutes. They were to teach their term out in the day 
time and after this term is done not to have any more 
singings. " The pressure for a clean temple in which 
the Holy Spirit may dwell was revealed when, on October 
13, 1869, it was decided that " brethren should abstain 
from the use of tobacco during the time of public wor- 
ship and while in the house of God." 

Because the Martinsburg house was too small, at a 
meeting January 29, 1870, Jacob P. Hoover and John 
McGraw were appointed to sell it. The following No- 
vember 5 the church decided to erect a new house, 
"built of brick, dimensions 38x48, 13 feet in the clear, 
four windows on each side, two windows in back end, 
two doors in the front end, to be covered with shaved, 
joint shingles. The funds for the building to be raised 
by taxation to be laid on each member's valuation from 
the regular assessment list. Jacob Wineland and Samuel 
B. Furry were appointed to levy sufficient for building 
the above described house. Jacob P. Hoover, Simon 
Snyder and George W. Brumbaugh were appointed 
building committee and to furnish the material them- 
selves.'' March 4, 1871, the church decided that " a stand 
two steps high " should be put in the house and " the 
table should be enclosed at the front." The house cost 
$1,908.07, the payroll showing the last expenditure made 
September 5, 1873. 

In 1871 the Cross Roads house was remodeled by clos- 
ing the east entrance and making two entrances on the 
north end. 

Evidently the church at this time placed members in 
avoidance, for on April 26, 1873 a query was sent to An- 
nual Meeting through District Meeting, asking " whether 
a member put in avoidance is in or out of the church." 
At this same meeting Conrad Dilling 4 asked permission 
to supply the town of Martinsburg with milk and cream 

74 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

on Sunday mornings. Considered to be quite inconsis- 
tent with the teachings of God, * Remember the Sabbath 
Day to keep it holy.' Consequently not agreed to.' 3 

Missions early received attention by this congrega- 
tion, for at the same meeting as the foregoing " Daniel 
M. Holsinger wished an expression of willingness from 
this congregation to bear her share of the expenses of 
another mission into the state of Maine, provided the 
Eastern and Middle districts of Pennsylvania see proper 
to send another one there. Unanimously agreed to do 
her part of the work." 

The following year the church took another advanced 
step when they appointed two brethren to audit the 
books of the church treasurer. 

March 5, 1874, the congregation responded to a call to 
build a church house in the northern end of the congre- 
gation, just about three miles north of Williamsburg, 
now known as the Fairview church. A frame structure 
was erected, 38 x 42, the floor plan the same as the Mar- 
tinsburg house with the exception of having " some mov- 
able seats for small lovefeast occasions. " The house was 
let to a contractor but the amount expended is not 
known. On Sunday, October 25, 1874, the house was 
dedicated as follows : " The services were opened by 
singing the 326th hymn, read by S. Hildebrand. Prayer 
by H. R. Holsinger. Brother P. S. Myers led in preach- 
ing followed by brother Holsinger. Text : Kings 8 :12-30. 
... In the evening we again repaired to the church for 
worship when it fell to our lot to lead in preaching, fol- 
lowed by Geo. Brumbaugh of James Creek." * 

The problem of crowd at lovefeast occasions con- 
fronted this and other congregations. Clover Creek, in 
1875, decided " to extend general invitation for breakfast 
and dinner at lovefeasts, the object to avoid confusion.'' 
Three years later the church dropped meetings the day 
following the lovefeast altogether. In 1877 this congre- 
gation decided to buy a suit of garments for the admin- 
istrator to officiate in baptism. 

February 16, 187 8 the congregation decided "to build 
a church somewhere near the western mountain in the 



* The Weekly Pilgrim, 1874, editorial on page 340. " We " in the quotation 
is supposed to be Henry B. Brumbaugh, the editor. 

75 




Some Members of the Earlier Clover Cheek Congregation 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

western part of the congregation now known as the Al- 
bright house. John W. Brumbaugh and Jacob L. Wine- 
land were appointed a committee on location." This 
committee selected the " location on Samuel Albright's 
farm/ 5 The brethren of the vicinity were instructed to 
draw plans which were submitted and approved. Size 
of house 40 x 32 ; $700.00 was raised for this purpose by 
levying a per capita tax on the members, — 50 per cent 
on the males and 25 per cent on the females. At meet- 
ing of the church February 12, 1881, it was definitely de- 
cided to rebuild the old Clover Creek house. A. B. 
Burget was made treasurer of the funds ; the contract 
for erecting the house was given to John H. Dilling and 
D. H. Brumbaugh, Isaac B. Burget and George B. Seed- 
enberg were to be the building committee. The old 
house was taken down and a large one, 43 x 63, with 
basement, was erected at a cost of $1,496.98 according 
to the minutes of the auditors, J. Stoudnour and Samuel 
B. Furry. On October 2, 1881, the new church was dedi- 
cated, James Quinter preached on the occasion. * 

The following November 12 the congregation decided 
to have preaching every other Sunday night at the 
church. At this same council this query was disposed of: 
" Is it wrong for the members to engage in playing 
croquet, checkers, figmill, fox and goose, or any other 
amusements that are indulged in for pastime? Thought 
to be wrong/' 

The " Record of the Faithful ' states that this congre- 
gation was organized in 1790 with twenty members ; that 
in 1840 the first house was erected ; that in 1881-'82 it 
had four houses and a membership of 350. John W. 
Brumbaugh was bishop, Daniel M. Holsinger, George 
W. Brumbaugh, Jacob L. Wineland, Thomas B. Mad- 
dock were in the second and Joseph S. Snowberger in 
the first degree of the ministry. f 

May 3, 1884 the church " asks District Meeting to use 
its influence to organize a Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany in the Middle District of Pennsylvania. " At the 
same meeting solicitors were appointed to raise funds for 

* See Primitive Christian, p. 649, October 25, 1881. 

t John G. Mock says Daniel M. Holsinger was elected bishop eight years be- 
fore John W. Brumbaugh and that Joseph Snowberger was in the second degree 
of the ministry. 

77 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

missionary purposes and Andrew B. Burget was ap- 
pointed treasurer for said funds. Two years later the 
church decided to practice single mode of feet-washing. 

Then the Cross Roads house proved inadequate for the 
growing work at this place and the congregation decided 
to rebuild. Building committee: Thomas B. Maddocks, 
Isaac Hoover, Samuel B. Shriver, Andrew B. Miller and 
Daniel B. Teeter. The contract was let to Thomas B. 
Maddocks. On October 2, 1906, a new frame house. 




Henrietta Cross Roads Church. 



40x55 feet, without basement, costing $2,300.00 was 
dedicated, free of debt. William J. Swigart led the people 
in this service. 

Though the house in Martinsburg was substantial and 
in good repair even after nearly a half century of service, 
it was no longer able to meet the increasing demands 
both for church and Sunday-school purposes at this place, 
and the congregation in 1920 took steps to tear down 
and build larger. Building committee : Moses R. Brum- 
baugh, Ira Brumbaugh, Henry Brumbaugh, George B. 
\\ ineland and James Wineland. The new house is a 
splendid edifice of brick, 74.75 x 54 feet, costing 
$36,496.26. It contains about all the appointments of a 
modern church plant, such as Sunday-school rooms, 
basement with kitchen and auditorium, a good gallery, 

78 




Upper : The Martinsburg Church, built in 1872. 
Low Eli: The Memorial Church, in Martinsburg, built in 1922. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

r ■■■■ i ii i ■ 

electric light and vapor-vacuum heat. On February 26, 
1922, it was dedicated, Milton C. Swigart of Germantown 
(Pa.) leading the concourse of eight hundred people in 
their devotions on dedication day. 

Ministers in Clover Creek : 

(It is to be regretted that the list cannot be made more complete.) 

John (Honnas) Martin 

Daniel (Paulus) Paul 

George Brumbaugh 

Christian Hoover 

Jacob Shenefelt 1793 

John Hoover 1820 

George Brumbaugh 1820 

John Clapper. 

George Brumbaugh, Sr....l832 

Isaac B. Brumbaugh 1832 

John Soyster 1832 

Daniel M. Holsinger 1841 

John W. Brumbaugh 1849 

George W. Brumbaugh 1855 

Samuel A. Moore 1865 

Jacob Wineland 1867 

Christian Holsinger 1867 

* Elected, but becar.se of failing health soon after, not installed. 

Deacons : 

(It is much to be regretted that the list of deacons is not more 

complete.) 1841, Abram Shelly; , George Smith, Joseph D. 

Snowberger, John D. Brumbaugh, Christian Brumbaugh, Shem 
Graybill, James Camerer, Andrew B. Burget ; 1872, David B. Burget, 
Samuel B. Furry, David Bechtel ; 1884, John H. Stoudenour, Levi 
Shriver, Samuel Albright, Isaac B. Burget; 1885, William Spidle; 
1887, John B. Burget, William H. Brumbaugh, Andrew Miller; 
1892, Albert O. Dilling; 1901, James Wineland, John G. Mock, 
James A. Crawford ; Levi H. Brumbaugh ; , William C. Hunts- 
man, Herman Sollenberger, Jacob B. Eversole, Frank Russel, Jere- 
miah Hoover, Ira Grubb (elected, but not installed), Eli Smith, 
John H. Dilling, Andrew Bechtel, Joseph Holsinger, Jeremiah 
Klepser, Jonathan Snowberger, Samuel Albright, Joseph Long, 
Jacob Galley, Henry D. Brumbaugh, Archie Brumbaugh, Frank 
Metzger. 



i Joseph D. Snowberger 1868 

1 Thomas B. Maddocks 1868 

Andrew B. Burget 1884 

John R. Stayer 1887 

Josiah B. Brumbaugh 1893 

Alonzo L. Simmons 1898 

Frederic R. Zook 1905 

Moses R. Brumbaugh 1909 

* Joseph C. Frederick 1909 

Levi B. Hoover 1910 

Isaac B. Kensinger 1913 

Emery T. Huntsman 1913 

Jonas Baker 1917 

John H. Bashore 

Orville V. Long 

Seth F. Myers 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Clover Creek, — now Frederic. " On Sunday, May 28, 1865, the 
brethren met at Fredericksburg school house for the purpose of 
organizing a Sabbath-school. . . . After hearing all the testament 
classes, we adjourned to meet at same place on June 4 at 3 o'clock. 
All present well-pleased with the proceedings. . . . June 4, house 
called to order by committee. School opened by singing and prayer 



80 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



by D. M. Holsinger. . . . The exercises were closed with singing 
and prayer by John B. Brumbaugh after which a subscription of 
$35.00 was taken to purchase a library." * In October 31 issue fol- 
lowing, is found Samuel A. Moore's report for the summer as fol- 
lows : " First term, May 28 concluded October 22. Total verses 
recited, 6,464; total verses committed, 2,670. The above only shows 
the report of two male and two female classes j in a word those that 
read the Testament. We have four smaller classes of males and 
females, for which we use McGuffey's speller and First Reader." 
The school did not represent at the 1875 convention and record 
shows that Samuel B. Furry represented the school at the 1877 
convention as opening in 1877. Whether this means the school 
moved into the church in 1877 or another school was started is not 
stated. Another record of the Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 
page 333, is worthy of place here. It is dated May 13, 1879. 

" Dear Brethren, — Our school was organized on the 16th of Sep- 
tember, 1878, and opened on the 29th of the same month. Our 
winter term consisted of 27 sessions. Closed April 27, 1879. — Aver- 
age attendance of scholars and teachers, 86. Number of scripture 
verses committed by the scholars, 5,145. We anticipate a very 
pleasant school this summer, and we much desire the brethren and 
sisters to visit our school and give a word of encouragement. 

A. B. BurgeX Superintendent. 

S. S. Rhodes, Assistant Superintendent. 

Wm. H. Brumbaugh, Secretary. 

At the 1898 convention this school reported enrollment, 72; aver- 
age, 58; raised $25.00 for supplies; "evergreen." In 1904 it re- 
ported average, 40; six teachers; raised $26.00; gave $20.00 to mis- 
sions. The school had had teacher training class during 1911 -'16 
and 1918-'19 with a total enrollment of 52. 

Superintendents: 1865, Thomas B. Maddocks ; till 1904, among 
those serving, Henry R. Holsinger, Andrew B. Burget, Josiah B. 
Brumbaugh, William Spidle, William H. Brumbaugh, William C. 
Huntsman, Albert O. Dilling; 1904, Joseph C. Frederick; 1905, un- 
known; 1906-'08, William C. Huntsman; 1909, Herman Sollen- 
berger; 1910-'ll, William C. Huntsman; 1912-'13, Emory F. Hunts- 
man; 1914-'16, Isaac B. Kensinger; 1917 -'18, Herman E. Sollen- 
berger; 1919-'23, Archibald Brumbaugh; 1924, Jonas D. Baker. 

Cross Roads. This school, union for a number of years, and or- 
ganized in June, 1854, antedates all other Sunday-schools in the 
District. From the original class record this information is gath- 
ered : James Miller was teacher of Class number 5 and Adam Bur- 
get, David Goughnour, Abraham Frederick, Jacob Coffman and 
John Glass appears as the pupils. Isaac Burget joined the class in 
July. Martin and John Hoover, Samuel and Levi Viters were added 
in September. The school closed in November. Evidently John 
Webb took the class next year and the school began in April. Then 
Ephraim Stonerook succeeded as teacher. All this record is well 

* S. A. Moore on page 191, Christian Family Companion, 1865, published by 
H. R. Holsinger, Tyrone, Pa. 

81 




;_ S-. O *0 

S3 & c c 
° c 

tl 02 >** 

M 

_, !^ °02 

Sow 






c^ 



ax 



qj.S 



o 
a 



&jo <£cq* 



•O-Sg, 

fac 

O oo* 

p 

rH 

. O 



„k3 

ill 



03 



cS CO 



•S £ C 



a. 
CO 






02 



c c 

«rirt-S 



0) 

^3 



o 



O es 



rCrtj o: 
O « i/l 

5 9*2^ 



O 

<uPQ 

,£3 

+-> 0) 
GQ 

«4-l Ol 

O a> 



0) 

Oi . 



i—i <L> 

c o 



^tt 



ad 



2c 



o fa *- 

9J 



a> 






^ Si 

Sii-S 

bJC 80 

c c 

fh qi 
OS 



a 



- 



0) 



M W C3 



0> 



c y c m c 

w -ii t^ •« 

02 ^ > t> 

3 C — - r> 

C-rjW 5 

! 9 L* * is 



02 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

kept in a " Pass-Book." In 1855 some unknown teacher was more 
thorough, for he used the American Sunday-school Union's Class 
Record at the beginning of which is found the following: 

Questions for the Self-Examination of a Sunday-school teacher. 

Upon his leaving the school-room. 

1. Have I this day particularly prayed for a blessing- on my 
labors in the school? 2. Have I done my utmost this day to show 
an example of early and punctual attendance? 

3. Have the hours I have been in the school this day been fully 
occupied in my duties as a teacher? 4. Have I this day spoken 
pointedly and individually to one or more of the scholars of my 
class respecting the salvation of their souls? 

5. If I never again enter these walls, am I clear in the sight of 
Him who knoweth all things, from neglect of duty towards any 
child in my class who may perish in sin ? 6. Do I leave the school 
in peace with all my fellow-laborers? 

Following these searching questions are elaborate directions cov- 
ering three pages showing how to use this record. 

The records of individual classes are preserved. The earliest in- 
formation as to officers is Jacob K. Brown, secretary in 1879. Then 
in 1881 John Zook was superintendent. In 1888 the school raised 
$3.78 and paid out $1.20 for supplies. In 1903, gathered from the 
minutes, dated March 2, Moses R. Brumbaugh was elected superin- 
tendent, Samuel S. Rhodes, secretary, Sadie Zuck, treasurer, Frank 
Shuman, chorister. The first report to the District that is recorded 
occurs in 1906; enrollment, 120; average attendance, 60; six teach- 
ers; $33.00 raised and $10.00 given to missions. The school became 
"evergreen" in 1908. 

Superintendents: 1879, John Zook; 1882-4, ; 1885, 

Samuel S. Rhodes; 1885, David S. Burget; 1887, Simon Snyder; 
1888, John B. Miller; 1889, Simon Snyder; 1890, Samuel Rhodes; 
1891, Joseph C. Frederick; 1892, Samuel S. Rhodes; 1893-99, un- 
known, but Samuel Furry and Daniel Diehl served some time in 
this period; 1900, Moses R. Brumbaugh; 1901-2, Samuel S. Rhodes; 
1903-08, Moses R. Brumbaugh; 1909, Alonzo L. Simmons; 1910-12, 
Andrew B. Miller; 1913, Alonzo L. Simmons; 1914-19, Levi B. 
Hoover; 1920-23, Alonzo L. Simmons; 1924, Levi B. Hoover. 

Martinsburg. The Sunday-school was first started in Martins- 
burg in May, 1866, but the first available record is the report made 
by Jesse Emmert for 1901 to the district meeting at New Enter- 
prise, April, 1902. Enrollment, 80; average attendance, 40; six 
teachers ; $432.59 raised ; " evergreen." The school has had a teacher 
training class during 1911-12 and 1917. 

Superintendents: 1886-89, William F. Spidle; part of 1889, Harrv 
O. Dilling; 1890, John G. Mock; 1891, Albert O. Dilling; 1892, 
Moses R. Brumbaugh; 1894, John G. Mock; 1895-8, Albert O. Dill- 
ing; 1898, John H. Brumbaugh; 1899, John A. Brumbaugh; 1900 
John G. Mock; 1901, James Wineland ; 1902, Andrew Brumbaugh 

1903, John G. Mock; 1904, Frederic R. Zook; 1905, 

1906, John G. Mock; 1907-8, Nelson Guyer; 1909, Jacob Galley 
1910-11, John G. Mock; 1912, James W. Hershberger ; 1913, John 
G. Mock; 1914-15, Jacob M. Dilling; 1916-17, James H. Crofford; 

83 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



1918-21, George B. Wineland; 1922, George E. Replogle: 1923-24, 
George B. Wineland. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

Clover Creek. The society in the Clover Creek house was first 
organized May 28, 1912, in the home of Mrs. Isaac B. Kensinger. 
The following are charter members : Mrs. Sarah Baker, Mrs. John 
Burget, Mrs. Thomas Snowberger, Mrs. Calvin B. Burget, Mrs. 
Isaac B. Kensinger, Ida Dilling, Susie B. Baker, Sophia Rascher, 
Susie D. Baker, Mary E. Burget, Susie V. Berget, Mrs. Jacob Eber- 
sole, Mrs. Irvin Dilling, Mrs. Catharine Baker. 

The organization was as follows: Mrs. Sarah Baker, president; 
Susie B. Baker, secretary; Ida Dilling, treasurer. 

Presidents 1912, Mrs. Sarah Baker; 1913, Ida Dilling; 1914-17, 
Mrs. Sarah Baker; 1917-19, Mrs. Calvin B. Burget; 1910-23, Mrs. 
Harvey Frye ; 1923-25, Mrs. Joseph Gates. 

The society's work consisted of piecing and quilting quilts, mak- 
ing comforts, prayer coverings, garments, bonnets, selling vanilla 
and brushes. The records have been carefully kept from the be- 
ginning and the total shows receipts $603.82. Of the amount ex- 
pended, $10.00 went to Child Rescue Work, Martinsburg; $60.00 to 
Foreign Missions; $20.00 to Home Missions; $5.00 to Italian 
Missions. 

Martinsburg Aid Society was first organized in the home of Mrs. 
Sarah Brumbaugh, in 1890. The following members were present: 
Mrs. Catherine Snyder, Mrs. Sarah Metzker, Mrs. Edna Brumbaugh, 
Mrs. Sarah Brumbaugh, Sarah Snyder, Mrs. Nancy Snyder Ware- 
ham, Ruth Brumbaugh, and Susie Brumbaugh. The organization 
was as follows: Mrs. Sarah Metzker, president; Mrs. Edna Brum- 
baugh, secretary; Mrs. Sarah Brumbaugh, treasurer. 

Presidents: 1890-92, Mrs. Sarah Metzker; , Mrs. Jacob Galley; 

, Mrs. Sarah Metzker; , Mrs. Jacob Brown; 1914-15, Mrs. 

Alice Davis; 1916-20, unknown; 1921-22, Mrs. Leonard Holsinger ; 
1923-24, Mrs. John H. Kensinger; 1925, Mrs. Charles B. Smith. 

Since the erection of the Memorial house the sisters have a suit- 
able room in the church for their meetings. In general, the results 
of their endeavors are as follows : 

1922— Carpet, and pupil furniture, $491.00. 

1923— Building Fund, $500.00; Industrial Home in Virginia, $10.00; 
Missionary Home, Huntingdon, $10.00; Sewing machine, $15.00; 
Russian Relief, $4.00. 

1924— Building Fund, $100.00; Electric Sweeper, $55.00; Industrial 
Home, Va., $10.00; Mrs. A. B. Miller, $10.00. 

1925— Building Fund, $100.00. 

ROARING SPRING (Country)* 

From 1898 to 1911 all the territory lying west of a 
" straight line from the Oak Grove school house to the 

* To James A. Sell and H. Atlee Brumbaugh the reader is indebted for much 
of the information in this sketch. 

84 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Rice lane, thence direct to the mountain," all in Blair 
County, was included under the name " Roaring- Spring." 
" Early history centres around the big spring which, 
because of its peculiar noise at one time, took the name 
* Roaring Spring/ Such common names as Neff, Ullery, 
Hoover, Martin and Brumbaugh are found in these early 
records. 

" The record of the conveyance of the present site of 
Roaring Spring is of interest. December 22, 1766, a war- 




rant for what was called the " Mill Seat Land " was 
issued to Edward Sanders. Fourteen years later, on 
March 16, 1789, he deeded this same tract to Daniel 
Ullery, a member of the Church of the Brethren. Near 
the spring he built the first grist mill in this part of the 
country but it was soon burned down by the Indians. 
He rebuilt at once for a mill was a community necessity 
and again it was burned. June 2, 1781, Daniel Ullery 
sold his entire belongings to his son John. Evidently 
he increased his belongings, for in 1821 John sold his 
possessions, comprising 300 acres and by this transaction 
the tract included now in the borough passed out of the 
hands of the Brethren." 

" The membership of the church through this transfer 
and others about this time, was somewhat decreased. 
The few who remained held services regularly either in 
their homes or in school houses as soon as they were 
built. The Dick school house, built about 1830, the 
Walter school house on Halter Creek built about 1860 

85 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



and the one at Sharpsburg all served as a place of wor- 
ship until 1877." — James A. Sell. 

Then the Clover Creek congregation erected what is 
now known as the Albright house, just a short distance 
out of Roaring Spring. Samuel B. Albright donated the 

ground for the church and 
cemetery, as well as helped 
liberallv. This was all done 
under the aggressive admin- 
istration of John W. Brum- 
baugh, the bishop of the con- 



yy/yryyyysy.yy ::■■■■■. y?yyy.-y.\yy-;,- ■■■ ■: ' ■. '■■ ■■-"■ ■:'■: : 




gregation. 



Samuel B. Albright and wife. 



The new church house gave 
a decided impulse to the re- 
ligious work. Just about this 
time, due to the splendid paper 
mills located in the town, the 
population grew rapidly. 
Members came with this influx 
until a goodly number were residing in the town itself. 
Clover Creek, the parent congregation, granted per- 
mission for a separate organization of the Roaring Spring 
territory on May 1, 1898. On May 14 following, by the 
aid of a committee of bishops James A. Sell, John W. 
Brumbaugh and Thomas Maddocks, this organization 
was effected. 

In this new congregation John R. Stayer was the only 
minister. Lewis Hoover was chosen secretary, Daniel 
S. Replogle, church correspondent, and Thomas B. Mad- 
docks, treasurer. Total membership in the organization 
about 135. Because there was no resident elder Clover 
Creek continued the oversight but the main responsi- 
bility rested on Thomas B. Maddocks. 

May 10, 1900, William N. Hoover and Alfred J. Pollard 
were elected first trustees, and on November 15, 1902, the 
congregation received $256.77 as its share of a legacy 
from Sister Hannah Graybill, willed to Clover Creek be- 
fore the division. 

Inasmuch as all the home ministers had removed to 
other fields the church decided to call a pastor. On 
July 20, 1907, Arvil V. Long, living at Martinsburg, ac- 
cepted the call and served the congregation till 1911. 



86 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

THE CHURCH HOUSE IN ROARING SPRING 

The Sisters Aid Society in the borough organized and 
then decided to raise money to buy a location for a 
church house in Roaring Spring. Jacob M. R. Strayer 
made the first cash donation to purchase goods to be 
made up for sale. Money was accumulating but a suit- 
able location was not agreed upon. Daniel B. Maddocks 
and Levi S. Rhodes advised Elmer Snowberger to buy 
the present church site and hold it in his name for the 
prospective house. The site was offered to the church 
in regular session for the purchase price but was de- 
clined. Then the Aid Society, having funds on hand, 
appointed William Hoover and Elmer Snowberger as 
trustees, to hold the property in its name. At once Levi 
S. Rhodes gave $10.00, the first contribution ; many other 
members contributed liberallv and soon the ground was 
paid for. This done the Aid Society presented the plot 
of ground to the church. At a member's meeting in the 
Albright house on February 12, 1910, the congregation 
decided that those living within the borough limits 
should go ahead and build. They appointed George W. 
Replogle, who headed the subscription list with $1,000.00, 
Jonathan Snowberger and William E. Hoover, building 
committee. A modern up-to-date structure 62 x 66 feet, 
heated by steam, lighted by electricity, with suitable 
Sunday-school rooms, costing $9,000.00 was completed. 
Dedication was on October 30, 1910, Charles C. Ellis 
leading the worshippers in their meditations. 

Preceding the dedication on October 12, the congrega- 
tion met in council with James A. Sell presiding. One 
week's meetings were to be held following the dedica- 
tion and a lovefeast on November 6. Then on the 24th 
in special council when Orville V. Long was presiding, 
the " Sunday-school was organized, to be continued in 
the new church. Thus the new church anticipates the 
growth and prosperity of two Sunday-schools. The Sun- 
day-school in the old church is being superintended by 
Harry H. Rascher, with Andrew Albright as secretary. 
H. Atlee Brumbaugh is superintendent of the new or- 
ganization with sister Elva Clapper as secretary/' * 

* Elizabeth Barnett's report in Gospel Messenger, November 12, 1910, page 733. 

87 




Pastors Who Have Served the Roaring Spring Congregation Since 

Its Organization. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

The two separate places of worship, though close to- 
gether, created a desire to separate the town and country 
congregations. In the presence of Tobias T. Myers, 
David A. Stayer and Levi F. Holsinger this was accomp- 
lished February 4, 1911. The country group took the 
name Albright while the town members accepted the old 
name Roaring Spring. There was no dividing line estab- 
lished, but each member was permitted to hold member- 
ship where he or she preferred. 

Ministers elected : 

William N. Hoover 1900 David M. Adams 1904 

Daniel B. Maddocks 1900 

Deacons elected: 1892, Joseph P. Long, Samuel R. Albright; 1898, 
Blair Hoover; 1900', Elmer Snowberger, David M. Adams; 1902, 
Levi S. Rhodes; 1906, Harry H. Rascher, Charles Miller; 1910, 
Uriah T. Ttuckey, David O. Miller, William E. Hoover. 

The following deacons were elected elsewhere and lived in this 
congregation : George W. Replogle, H. Atlee Brumbaugh, Daniel S. 
Replogle, Jonathan Snowberger, Matthew W. Sell, Lewis R. Hoover, 
John W. Brumbaugh, Jr., Michael W. Refiner. 



ROARING SPRING (City) 

Present Membership, 258. 

The beginning of the church within the borough limits 
including the erection of the house of worship is found 
under Roaring Spring, Country. Evidently, there was 
no formal organization after the separation of territory, 
but the officers of the congregation appointed October 
12, 1910, simply continued. They were as follows: 
James A. Sell, bishop ; Orville V. Long, pastor ; Elmer 
Snowberger, secretary; George W. Replogle, treasurer. 

The following were deacons at the time of the organization : 
Levi S. Rhodes, George W. Replogle, Jonathan H. Snowberger, 
David O. Miller, Elmer Snowberger, William E. Hoover, H. Atlee 
Brumbaugh, Uriah T. Stuckey and Daniel S. Replogle. Besides 
there were about sixty lay-members. 

In 1918 the congregation purchased a parsonage just back of the 
church. 

The following have served as bishops of the congregation for a 
short or longer time : James A. Sell, Orville V. Long, David D. Sell, 
Tobias T. Myers, Albert G. Crosswhite, Mahlon Weaver, Walter S. 
Long and David T. Detwiler. 

89 




Some Members of the Roaring Spring Church. 
(Read Mrs. instead of Mr. before Mr. U. T. Stuckey's name.) 




a 

r-i 



Kli 

< 
o 

» 

m 

-) 

s 

W 

M 
o 

Oh 

c5 



o 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Pastors and date each began : 

Orville V. Long 1910 

Ross Murphv 1911 

Albert G. Cross white 1913 



Mahlon J. Weaver 1918 

Leonard L. Holsinger 1921 

Arthur C. Miller 1922 



Deacons elected: Fall of 1922, Blair G. Snyder, Ross R. Berk- 
himer, Homer S. Guyer, Daniel G. Replogle. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The members met in special council October 24, 1910, to organize 
the Sunday-school to begin the Sunday after the dedication. 




Ross Murphy's Sunday-school Class. 



H. Atlee Brumbaugh, superintendent; Elva Clapper, secretary; 
David O. Miller, treasurer; H. Atlee Brumbaugh, chorister. 

The school has been " evergreen " from the beginning and with 
the other schools of the town succeeded in getting 92% of the entire 
population enlisted in Sunday-school work during 1922. The school 
has had teacher training classes during the years 1912 (22), 1913 
(22), 1914 (9), 1915 (6), 1917 (5), 1918 (6), 1919 (none), 1920 
(13), 1921 (5), 1922, 1923 (7), 1924. 

Superintendents: 1910, H. Atlee Brumbaugh; 1911-14, Clara (nee 
Replogle) Furry; 1915, D. Grover Replogle; 1916, Abram B. Rep- 
logle; 1917 and continues, D. Grover Replogle. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Aid Society was organized May 6, 1903, by electing Susan 
Replogle, president; Nancey Brumbaugh, secretary; and Catharine 
Snowberger, treasurer. The charter members in addition to the 

92 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

officers were Lottie Hoover, Lizzie Barnett, Mary Stayer, Teressa 
Albright, Junie Maddocks, Adaline Massic, and Hannah Metzger. 

Their first main accomplishment was the raising of $500.00 to pay 
for the lot on which the church house now stands. In addition the 
sisters have made contributions as follows : 

They carpeted the church and Sunday-school rooms ; paid $325.00 
on parsonage ; bought and paid for all the dishes and linens needed 
for the church at one time, $85.00 ; on pastor's salary, at different 
times, $25.00 each. 

In this connection it should be stated that the first carpet for the 
Sunday-school room, linoleum for the Aid Society room and the 
kitchen, as well as the pulpit Bible, were donated by Elmer and 
Catherine Snowberger ; the pulpit chairs were given by Orville V. 
Long; George Replogle paid for the pulpit stand and willed $200.00 
to the church which since his decease has been received and applied 
as directed. 



ALBRIGHT* 

Present Membership, 160. 

In 1878 there were enough members living in the 
vicinity of the town of Roaring Spring to justify the 
Clover Creek congregation in helping to build them a 
church house. This was located on the Samuel Albright 
farm, just a short distance from the borough limits. The 
membership increased and on May 14, 1898, they were 
organized into a congregation and took the name of 
Roaring Spring.f Religious activity centered for a num- 
ber of years at what is called the Albright house. By 
mutual agreement the new group retained the old name 
and the old centre took the new name " Albright." To 
avoid confusion the early history of the membership in 
the vicinity of Roaring Spring appears under that name. 

It was mutually agreed between these two congrega- 
tions that since a boundary line would be difficult to es- 
tablish permission would be given all members to be- 
come part of either organization as they themselves 
elected. About sixty members stayed with the Albright 
church. 

May 13, 1911, a members' meeting was called at the 

* To Jacob Kinsel the reader is indebted for much of the information given in 
this sketch. 

f District Meeting Minutes for 1899 are not available, but the new congrega- 
tion is recorded as representing in 1900 under the name Roaring Spring. 

93 






A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Albright house for the purpose of organization. James 
A. Sell presided. James Brumbaugh was chosen elder 
and minister. John T. Johnston, secretary and Harry 
H. Rasher, treasurer. The new congregation had a total 
membership of 62. 

Charles Garber, a minister of the River Brethren 
Church, was received into membership in 1916 and given 
permission to continue his ministry. 




The; Albright Church of Today. 

The congregation decided on June 11, 1919, to repair 
and remodel its house of worship. Committee in charge 
of the whole project, Peter Garber, Irvin H. Dick, John 
T. Johnston, Charles Feather and George W. Helsel. 
Considerable improvement was made when the funds 
gave out and the work ceased. In 1922 Jacob Kinsel, 
the pastor, put on a vigorous campaign and raised $1,550 
to finish remodeling and paying off the accumulated debt 
at the time work stopped. The house is now brick-cased, 
electric lighted, good basement and facilities for Sunday- 
school work, the total cost of the improvement being 
about $3,700.00. Rededication occurred on September 30, 
1923, conducted by Galen B. Royer. Text, Psalms 122. 



94 




o 
o 

t— I 
*— I 

o 



ft 

ft 

X 
« 

K 
Q 



c 

« 
►J 

K 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Presiding elders : 

James Brumbaugh May 13, 1911 

David Adams May 2,1914 

John B. Miller March 9, 1918 

Moses R. Brumbaugh Dec. — , 1919 

Ministers who have labored here : Harry D. Rasher, elected 
May 4, 1912; 1916-'21, Charles Garber ; 1919-'21, Homer Benton; 
March, 1921, continues Jacob Kinsel. 

Deacons: 1911, Josiah Treese; Mav 13, 1913, Harry H. Rasher. 
Charles O. Miller, Michael W. Reffner; August 18, 1913, Henry 
Dick, Scott Johnson; December 11, 1912, Charles Feather, Irvin 
Dick, Thomas Oldham, Edward Wentz. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

There is a large probability that Sunday-school was conducted a 
few years in the school house where the members worshiped before 
the church was erected. Hence one may safely conclude that as 
soon as the new church was occupied, Sunday-school began. 

An " evergreen " school, average attendance 50, was reported for 
1894 to the District Meeting of 1895. May 1, 1898, Roaring Spring 
(Country) congregation was organized, and at the convention that 
year reported as follows: Enrollment, 71; average, 57; raised $37.19, 
of which $1.96 went to missions and charity; 4 conversions; " ever- 
green." In 1904 the school had grown decidedly for it reported 
average attendance, 75, 7 teachers, raised $70.21, of which $39.50 
went to missions and charity. Then after the division of territory 
on August 5, 1911, under the name Albright, the Sunday-school was 
organized by electing Harry H. Rasher, superintendent ' Andrew 
Albright, secretary, and Esther Smith, treasurer. It had teacher 
training class during 1922-'24, with a total enrollment of 12. Aver- 
age attendance for 1912, was 55. 

Superintendents: 1879-1907, Samuel R. Albright; 1906-'10, Harry 
H. Rasher; 1912, Michael W. Reffner; 1913-'16, Mrs. Esther Smith; 
1917-'23, Charles L. Feather; 1924, John Johnson. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Society was organized in the church in September, 1913. 
Members present: Esther Smith, Ellen Miller, Leah Dick, Lilah 
Johnson, Jane Burket, Catherine Feather, Lydia Burket. Clara 
Davis, Minnie McNalley, Mrs. Joseph Treese. Organization : 
Esther Smith, president; Leah Dick, secretary; Ellen Miller, treas- 
urer. Later Ellen Miller became president and continued until she 
moved from the congregation, after which the Society ceased to 
function. It was reorganized on July 19, 1923. Officers: Lilah 
Johnson, president ; Catherine Feather, secretary ; Sue Johnson, as- 
sistant secretary ; Hattie Adams, treasurer. 

The new society gave $78.00 to help remodel the church. 



96 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

FAIRVIEW* 

Present Membership, 145. 

Among" the people residing in the valley some distance 
north of the Clover Creek Church in the days before any 
preaching was done by the Brethren, were the following 
members : EH and Eva Smith, Adam and Sara Smith, 
George and Jane Smith, Abram and Elizabeth Shelly, 
Philip and Mary Shelly, Mrs. Barbara Shelly, Joseph S. 
Snowberger and David S. Bechtel. Naturally enough, in 
order to hear the 'Word of Life nearer home these mem- 
bers sought to have preaching" in the neighborhood and 
at irregular intervals, beginning about 1864, George 
Brumbaugh and Daniel Holsinger from Clover Creek 
and Graybill Myers and James A. Sell from Duncansville 
congregations preached for these scattered members, 
usually on Saturday evenings at Dean's, Sunday morn- 
ing at Snively's and in the afternoon at Ditch's school- 
houses. 

In 1868 Joseph S. Snowberger was elected to the min- 
istry and became the first resident minister and later the 
first bishop in the territory. 

The activity of these members, their interest and ap- 
preciation in religious things and their petition, October 
12, 1873, led the Clover Creek congregation to decide 
March 5, 1874, to build a frame house, 38 x 42 feet, now 
known as the Fairview house. Philip Shelly and David 
Bechtel were elected trustees ; Joseph Snowberger, treas- 
urer; the building was let by contract. Henry R. Hol- 
singer preached the dedication sermon. 

The new church gave the assurance of permanence as 
well as provided a centre around which the members 
could work. Sunday-school was started in 1885 and 
steadily increased until the demand for a larger church 
was imperative. Further, the house was not arranged 
for lovefeast occasions and this was greatly desired. 
Hence in 1890 an annex, 20 x 35 feet, was built to the 
church. 

About sixty members lived in the territory now known 



* To Jacob B. Snowberger the reader is indebted for some of the information 
in. this sketch. 

97 




Fairview Church. Upper, old house as it was in 1890 ; lower, remodeled house. 
Reading- at top and from left : Mr. and Mrs. William H. Holsinger ; Ernest A. 
Brumbaugh. Next below : Mr. and Mrs. Grover L. Wine ; Mr. and Mrs. Galen 
B. Royer ; Andrew J. Detwiler, Virgil C. Holsinger, and Quinter A. Showalter. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



as Fairview, but they were still a part of the Clover 
Creek congregation. The mother church cheerfully con- 
sented to their organizing themselves separately and on 
September 26, 1891, this was done. John W. Brumbaugh 
was chosen bishop, Jacob B. Snowberger, secretary, and 
Daniel Shelly treasurer. The bounds of the congregation 
were fixed as follows : The Smithfield and Beavertown 
road on the south, Tussey mountain on the east, Terrace 
Mountain on the west, and no limits to the north save 
where Warrior's Mark congregation would want to draw 
the line. 

The congregation started (April 28, 1894) " a penny 
fund for the benefit of the church and missionary cause, 
said money to be paid to the deacons on their annual 
visit/' Two years later (February 29, 1896) it was " de- 
cided not to use lesson leaves in the school." This, how- 
ever, was reversed at the next meeting, May 16, and in 
addition " privilege to organize a Union School and using 
Union leaflets at Smithfield " was granted. The same 
year " unfermented wine, if it could be bought" was 
ordered for communion occasions. 

Smithfield and Williamsburg congregations are chil- 
dren of Fairview and when they organized to themselves 
the former, receiving permission on January 8, 1917, took 
twenty-nine members and the latter, getting permission 
on February 24, 1917, took seventy-eight, leaving 147 
members to the parent church. 

During the years 1918-1919 William H. Holsinger 
served the three groups of members, — Fairview, Smith- 
field and Williamsburg jointly as pastor. Fairview took 
an advanced step however, when on October 30, 1920, 
she engaged Grover L. Wine for a week-end pastorate 
while attending Juniata College. His services proved 
very helpful to the congregation. November 19, 1922, 
Galen B. Royer accepted the pastorate for week-end 
service, and continued until January 1, 1925. At this 
date Ernest A. Brumbaugh was given the oversight of 
the congregation. 

True to her ever aggressive spirit and feeling the need 
of a house suited to modern Sunday-school work the 
church, during the summer of 1921, through Ernest A. 
Brumbaugh, Jacob B. Snowberger, John Shelly, Henry 

99 




Reading from top and left : Mr. and Mrs. John R. Bashor ; Mr. and Mrs. Daniel 
Shelly ; Mr. and Mrs. Andrew S. Bechtel ; Mr. and Mrs. David Shelly ; Mr. and 
Mrs/ Jacob Snowberger ; Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Sollenberger ; Mr. and Mrs. 
Martin H. Brumbaugh ; Mr. and Mrs. Darby Miller, Mr. and Mrs. Ephraim Sol- 
lenberger ; 11. F. Smith; Howard Brumbaugh; Mrs. G. Quinter Showaltpr. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Baumgardner and Homer Bechtel as building committee, 
raised the house fifty-four inches, completely remodeled 
the inside and installed an up-to-date heating plant at a 
cost of $5,300.00. On January 1, 1922 Dr. Charles C. Ellis 
spoke on the occasion of the dedication. 

Bishops having oversight : 

John W. Brumbaugh September 26, 1891 

Joseph S. Snowberger May 14, 1894 

George W. Brumbaugh May 25, 1901 

James A. Sell 1903 

William H. Holsinger May 30, 1908 

Tobias T. Myers 

Galen B. Royer February 24, 1923 

Ernest A. Brumbaugh January 1, 1925 

Ministers elected : 

John H. Brumbaugh May 14, 1894 

Andrew J. Detwiler June 10, 1900 

William H. Holsinger May 21, 1904 

Ernest A. Brumbaugh August 29, 1914 

Clarence Smith August 29, 1914 

Elmer Shadle .August 29, 1914 

Quinter A. Showalter May 11, 1924 

Deacons : Before organization, living in the territory : George 
Smith, Abraham Shelly, Joseph S. Snowberger, David S. Bechtel, 
Adam Smith, Andrew S. Bechtel and Joseph H. Holsinger; 1891, 
James Saylor; April 29, 1892, Jacob B. Snowberger, Daniel Shelly; 
Aug. 30, 1895, Andrew S. Sollenberger; May 25, 1901, Isaac Snare; 
Martin H. Brumbaugh ; May 30', 1908, Joseph S. Sollenberger ; 
May 11, 1924, Ephriam Sollenberger, Howard Brumbaugh, Homer 
Bechtel. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school first organized in the Fairview territory dates 
back to 1885 when Joseph S. Snowberger was elected superintend- 
ent. For a few years, only summer sessions were held and then the 
school became " evergreen." In 1904 the school reported 150 en- 
rolled ; average, 71 ; 9 teachers ; raised $85.23, of which $27.49 was 
given to missions and charity. During 1912-'19 the school main- 
tained a front line standard ; had teacher training classes during 
1909-'18 and 1918 with a total enrollment of 54. 

Superintendents : as far as known : April 16, 1893, Joseph S. 
Snowberger; 1894-'97, Andrew S. Bechtel; 1898-'00, Jacob B. Snow- 
berger; 1901-'02, Andrew J. Detwiler; 1903-'04, Jacob B. Snow- 
berger; 1905-'06, William H. Holsinger; 1907-'09, Joseph S. Sol- 
lenberger; 1910, Martin H. Brumbaugh; 1911-'12, Joseph S. 
Sollenberger; 1913, John Perrin ; 1914-'16, Jacob S. Sollenberger; 
1917, Sannie F. Shelly; 1919-'24, Ernest A. Brumbaugh. 

101 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Aid Society was organized April 13, 1910, in the church by 
electing these officers : Sarah Shelly, president ; Sannie Shelly, sec- 
retary; Minnie Snare, treasurer. 

The charter members were : Cora Holsinger, Sannie Shelly, Min- 



■ 



lliliiP* 




Fair view Sisters' Aid Society. 

Reading from left : Mrs. Eyhriam Sollenberger ; Mrs. Michael Detwiler ; 
Viola Brumbaugh ; Mrs. Frank Imler ; Mrs. Isaac Showalter ; 

Mrs. Sarah Shelly. 

nie Snare, Julia Shelly, Flora Shelly Berkley, Maggie Brumbaugh, 
Kate Bechtel, Julia Bechtel, Harriet Detwiler, Nora Detwiler, Erni 
Snowberger Imler, Rosie Showalter, Anna Shock and Sarah Shelly. 

Their first regular meeting was held in the home of Mrs. Sarah 
Shelly. 

Their help consists for the most part in the following items : 

Foreign Missionary Work $54.00' 

Home Missionary Work 693.15 

Eight boxes were sent, valued at about 10.00 

On hand 40.00 



102 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

WILLIAMSBURG* 

Present Membership, 160. 

Because of a number of members and brethren's chil- 
dren had moved into Williamsburg, it became more and 
more apparent that a church should be built in the 
borough. This conviction was greatly strengthened 
when Samuel S. Bottomfield, most friendly to the church, 
donated in part a good lot for a building site. In fact 
this brought the issue of a house to the climax and the 
Fairview congregation appointed Joseph S. Bechtel, 
Joseph S. Sollenberger, Emory Brumbaugh, Frank P. 
Detwiler, Jacob B. Snowberger as a building committee. 
A splendid brick-veneered building, 44 x 58 feet, costing 
when completed $6,000.00 was erected. On February 18, 
1912 the house was dedicated, Isaac N. H. Beahm of 
Virginia speaking on the occasion from Psalms 133 : 1. 
$1,935.00 was raised on the occasion, placing the house 
almost free of debt. Brother Beahm continued the meet- 
ings for one week.f 

Under the fostering care of Fairview congregation the 
Williamsburg mission prospered in a most encouraging 
manner until March 9, 1917, when in the presence of 
Albert G. Crosswhite, of Roaring Spring, and Walter S. 
Long of Altoona, the group worshiping at this place be- 
came a separate congregation by organizing as follows : 
William H. Holsinger, bishop and pastor; Elizabeth 
Park, secretary ; Melvin C. Shelly, treasurer ; trustees : 
Andrew J. Detwiler, Melvin C. Shelly, Isaac A. Snare. 

Bishops presiding: 

William H. Holsinger March 9, 1917, to Julv 3, 1922 

M. Clyder Horst September 28, 1922, to January 1, 1924 

Tobias T. Myers January 1, 1924 continues. 

Pastors : 

M. Clyder Horst. ... September 28, 1922, to January 1, 1924 
Levi K. Ziegler August 1, 1924 continues. 



* To William H. Holsinger the reader is indebted for the information of this 
church. 

t Gospel Messenger, 1912, p. 176. 

103 ■ 




The Williamsburg Church. 

Reading at top and from left: Mr. and Mrs. Andrew S. Bechtel; Mr. and Mrs. 
David S. Sollenberger ; Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Coble; Mr. and Mrs. Isaac 
Snare ; (bottom) Mr. and Mrs. Emory Brumbaugh. 







Some Members of Williamsburg Church. 

Beginning- at top and left : Mr. and Mrs. Melvin. Shelly ; Joseph and Harry Sollen- 
berger ; Mr. and Mrs. Andrew K. Sollenberger ; Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Parks ; Mr. 
and Mrs. Emory Sollenberger ; Levi Sollenberger. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Ministers : 

Andrew J. Detwiler, in office. Raymond Sollenberger, Decem- 
ber 31, 1922. 

Deacons : In office at organization, Isaac A. Snare and Joseph S. 
Sollenberger; March 9, 1917, Melvin C. Shelly, Jesse Park; De- 
cember 31, 1922, Emery Sollenberger. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The first Sunday-school held by the Brethren in Williamsburg 
was on February 18, 1912, in the new church. The officers were 
Abner B. Dilling, superintendent; Mrs. Iva Baker, secretary; Emery 
Brumbaugh, treasurer. The school has been " evergreen " since the 
organization and maintained a frontline standard during 1915. It 
had teacher training class during 1915-21 in which there was a total 
enrollment of 33. 

Superintendents: 1912, Abner B. Dilling; 1913-'14, Andrew J. 
Detwiler; 1915, Harry Sollenberger; 1916-'17, Mrs. Ellis S. Shelly; 
1918-'19, Andrew J. Detwiler; 1920, William H. Holsinger; 1921, 
Andrew J. Detwiler; 1922, Emory Sollenberger; 1923, Mrs. Ellis 
S. Shelly; 1924, Harry Sollenberger. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Sister's Aid Society first met March 7, 1917 in the Williams- 
burg church and organized thus : Mrs. William H. Holsinger, presi- 
dent; Elizabeth Park, secretary; Maude Walls, treasurer. 

The charter members are : 

Mrs. William H. Holsinger Maggie Brumbaugh 

Julia Shelly Mary Frye 

Elizabeth Park Lydia Sollenberger 

Maude Walls Celie Rover 
Almira Reed 

The Society's work in general may be summed up in making of 
children's and womens' garments and quilting. 



SMITHFIELD 

Present Membership, 77. 

About 1890 the brethren from Fairview and Clover 
Creek began preaching and during the summer con- 
ducted a Sunday-school in the Smithfield school house 
across the ridge westward from Fairview church. Later 
John R. Bashore, a minister, located at Barbara and be- 
came a leader for the group in Piney Creek Valley. 
Jacob D. Smith having donated ground for a church site 
in 1893 Fairview and Clover Creek congregations jointly 

106 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

helped them build the Smithfield house, 35 x 45 feet and 
costing about $2,300.00. The Church was dedicated in 
October, 1893, John B. Fluck of Yellow Creek and Wil- 
liam S. Ritchey of Snake Spring speaking on the occasion. 




Mr. and Mrs. Eli D. Smith. 




Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Longanecker. 




The Smithfield Church. 



Clover Creek and Fairview alternately supplied the 
preaching until May 4, 1917, when the group of members 
in the presence of John B. Miller and Jacob K. Brown, 
was organized and took the name Smithfield. 



107 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Organization : William H. Holsinger, bishop and 
pastor ; Calvin Baker, secretary ; Homer Billing, treas- 
urer. In all there were sixty charter members. 

Bishops who presided over the congregation and date 
each began : 

William H. Holsinger May 4, 1917 

Frederic R. Zook January 1, 1920 

William H. Holsinger January 1, 1922 

Isaac B. Kensinger January 1, 1924 

Deacons, when congregation was organized : Clarence Smith, 
Heaster L. Smith, Calvin Baker, and Eli Hoover. Elected October 
20, 1922; Harvey Longanecker and Edward Burket. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Perhaps as early as the 96's, John R. Bashore started the Sunday- 
school, but the first available record is for 1904 which is the fol- 
lowing: average attendance of fifty; six teachers; raised $2772, of 
which $6.89 was given to missions and charity ; " evergreen " ; five 
conversions. 

Superintendents: 1904, John B. Bashore; 1905, Clarence Smith; 
1906-07, David C. Wineland ; 1908-09, Clarence Smith; 1910, Eli B. 
Hoover; 1911, Clarence Smith; 1912, Eli B. Hoover; 1913-14, Clar- 
ence Smith; 1915, J. Frederic Dilling; 1916, Clarence Smith: 
1917-18, Heaster J. Smith; 1919, Eli B. Hoover; 1920, Ephriam Sol- 
lenberger; 1921-22, Heaster J. Smith; 1923, Harry Longanecker; 
1924, Frederic Hoover. 

JAMES CREEK* 

Present Membership, 50. 

James Creek and Clover Creek until about the middle 
of the nineteenth century were two groups of members 
under one organization. Tussey mountain separated 
them socially very decidedly and in time made the two 
organizations a practical necessity. 

Ferreting out the snatches of activities saved through 
incidental record on the James Creek side only, George 
Brumbaugh, residing with other members in Woodcock 
Valley, was called to the ministry about 1820 and Isaac 
Brumbaugh, his son in 1832. George was ordained in 
1837 or 1839 and given oversight of both settlements of 
members. 

* To J. Grove Norris the reader is indebted for some of the information in 
this sketch. 

108 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

During these years there was agitation favoring divid- 
ing the territory but the James Creek brethren objected 
because they did not have a meeting house. Not until 
1858 were the separate organizations effected.* Tussey 
mountain became the dividing line but in other directions 
there w r ere no limitations. Over the new organization, 
which took its name after James Creek which flows 




The James Creek Church. 

through the valley, Isaac Brumbaugh, who had been or- 
dained in 1841, was given the oversight. If other officers 
were appointed at the time of organization there is no 
record of them. Neither is it known what the member- 
ship was at the time. 

In 1860 the James Creek house, built of brick, was 
erected. It is splendidly arranged for large gatherings 
and lovefeast occasions and how often in earlier days did 
the people gather there in overflowing numbers. 

It was not till February 22, 1872, that the congregation 
" decided to have a secretary " and elected Henry B. 
Brumbaugh to fill that position. At this time the congre- 
gation had 99 members on its roll. 

* While it is pretty well established that in 1858 the division of the congre- 
gation was decided upon, this division is not recognized in the District Meeting 
Minutes of 1862 where Clover Creek is named as the congregation holding the 
meeting, in the Woodcock Valley House, and the delegates are Isaac Brumbaugh 
from Woodcock Valley and Daniel M. Holsinger from Clover Creek proper. The 
Minutes of 1864 record recognition of two separate congregations. 

109 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




Mu. and Mrs. David Brumbaugh., 

he a deacon in the James 

Creek Church. 



The following April 20, to meet the needs of a group 
of members living near the Raystown Dam, the congre- 
gation decided to erect a church house, 30 x 36 feet. This 
was sometimes called the Bethel house, or the " Corner." 

For a time the outlook was en- 
couraging, but the work went 
back until now there is but a 
family or two of members. 
Summer Sunday-school is held, 
and there was a good oppor- 
tunity for building up a good 
congregation at this point. 

The ministers were zealous 
in their spiritual duties, even 
while making a living in their 
individual vocations, and their 
labors were richly blessed with 
additions. A group of mem- 
bers centered around Entricken 
and desired a place of worship in their midst. April 5, 
1873, the congregation decided to erect a house for them. 
Daniel Brumbaugh, Philip P. Brumbaugh and Andrew B. 
Brumbaugh, the building committee put up a frame house 
30 x 36 feet, costing $492.50. Those were the days when 
dedications were not considered proper; but the James 
Creek brethren set Friday, November 7, 1873, for the first 
day of a few meetings in the new house. Graybill Myers, 
George W. Brumbaugh, James R. Lane, Jacob L. Wine- 
land and Samuel A. Moore took their turns at preach- 
ing.^ After some years of use, because the membership 
moved from the community, the house was sold in 1914 
for $450.00. 

The Missionary spirit early manifested itself in this 
congregation. May 7, 1887, they ask the District for 
a better missionary plan. July 30 following, this action 
took place. " What will this meeting say in regard to 
attendance at Sunday-school celebrations? Answer. In- 
asmuch as we look upon the modern so-called celebra- 
tions with feelings of extreme doubt as to their moral 
influence it is therefore resolved that members refrain 
from attending such places." 

* See the Weekly Pilgrim, editorial, " Dedication," November 18, 1873. 

no 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



The " Record of the Faithful " * states that this con- 
gregation was organized in 1859 with 50 members ; that 
the first house was erected in 1860; that in 1881-1882 it 
had three houses and a membership of 98. George 
Brumbaugh was bishop, George B. Brumbaugh in the 
second and John Brumbaugh in the first degree of the 
ministry. 

At a meeting held May 7, 1881, the peace of the Broth- 
erhood was heavily upon the hearts of the members at 
this place for this query is recorded : " Inasmuch as we 
look upon the threatening troubles which seem to hang 
over the church at present with fearful apprehensions as 
threatening division and severing our relations as a fra- 
ternity, therefore resolved that we look upon these ex- 
treme agitations as being promoters of strife rather than 
the advancement of the church." A strong plea for re- 
straint is given. 

The question of a supported ministry found favor in 
the eyes of the bishop, George B. Brumbaugh, who made 
a strong address in its favor at a council meeting Sep- 
tember 5, 1885 ; but in the face of this the congregation 
voted against such an innovation. 

The members petitioned General Conference April 14, 
1888, favoring the name " Brethren." While August 12, 
1893, the congregation " agreed to be solicited for the 
proposed Old Folks Home and invited the Home to be 
located within the bounds of the James Creek congre- 
gation." 

September 7, 1894, the boundary line was established 
between the newly organized Raven Run congregation, 
consisting mostly of members from the Hopewell com- 
munity, and this body. This line " begins at the top of 
Tussey mountain and following a line between Hunting- 
don and Bedford Counties to Cove station, thence to 
Weaver's Bridge at Raystown Branch, then in direct line 
to Broad Top City." 

Bishops presiding: 

Isaac Brumbaugh 1858-Nov. 4, 1871 

George Brumbaugh 1872 to 1897 

Henry B. Brumbaugh 1897 

Galen B. Royer 1922 

* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. 

Ill 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Ministers elected: (List not complete.) 

George Brumbaugh 1820 

Isaac Brumbaugh 1841 

John Brumbaugh 

George B. Brumbaugh 1853 to 1857 

George Brumbaugh 1857 

Henry B. Brumbaugh 1863 

Irvin B. Brumbaugh 1899 

Reuben H. Brumbaugh 1898 

Deacons: before the organization: 1841, David Brumbaugh; — — , 
Henry B. Brumbaugh, Benjamin Brumbaugh. After the organiza- 
tion: October 31, 1868, Abram W. Brumbaugh, Henry Brumbaugh; 
1880, Rufus Zook, Philip Brumbaugh; 1899, Thomas Norris, Mahlon 
Brumbaugh; 1907, David Gearhart, J. Grove Norris; 1921, J. W. 
Norris. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Bethel. At the. convention held October 21, 1876, this school was 
represented by Benjamin Brumbaugh. It had " forty scholars and 
five teachers. Interest seemingly good. Opened and closed as 
usual." * Two years later Rufus A. Zook and Samuel Brumbaugh 
represented at the Spring Run convention. They reported " not 
many children attend. Partakes more of the nature of a Bible 
class." f 

The school reported to the 1898 convention average attendance, 
33 ; $5.39 raised for supplies ; conducted six months of year. In 
1904 average attendance, 23; four teachers; $9.63 raised, of which 
$3.88 went for missions and charities; conversions, two. 

The organization for 1923 was Million J. Miller, superintendent; 
Hazel Gahagen, secretary ; Ella V. Miller, treasurer. The average 
attendance was fifteen pupils and three teachers. 

Superintendents: Up to 1904 not known; 1904, Isaac Brumbaugh; 

1905, ; 1906, Oliver V. Gehret; 1907, Thomas M. 

Norris. Though no report, in recent years Million J. Miller has 
been carrying on the work. 

James Creek. This school was represented at the 1876 convention 
by Robert Mason who stated that it was organized May 14, 1876. 
This however, may refer to the organization for that year, for some 
say that a school was started as early as in the sixties some time. 
Thus runs the report further : " Average attendance thirty-six. Five 
teachers and three officers. International lesson papers used in reci- 
tation, and for singing, the Gospel Hymns." $ Two years later 
Robert Mason and George Brumbaugh represented at the Spring 
Run Convention and made this report : " Average attendance twenty- 
nine. Assign a word as ' Lord ' and have pupils commit and repeat 
a verse next Sabbath containing such a word." 

At the convention 1898 the school reported: average attendance, 

* Primitive Christian, 1876, p. 702. 

t Primitive Christian and Pilorim, p. 716. 

X Primitive Christian, 1876, p. 702. 

112 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



38; $20.62 raised, of which $4.00 went to missions and charity. For 
1904 average attendance, 31; four teachers; $27.29 raised, of which 
$4.38 was given to missions and charity. The school has been 
"evergreen" since 1900; had teacher training class during 1913 and 
nine received first year certificates. 

Superintendents: 1876, Robert Mason; not known then till 
1900-'07, John G. Norris ; 1908, Frank Myers; 1909-22, J. Grove 
Norris; 1923, Everet Harris; 1924, John Brumbaugh. 

James A. Sell wrote the following worthy tribute to 
this congregation : 

" This church is unique in the number of strong men 
it has given to the brotherhood. Here the men were 
reared who conceived the idea and put in operation the 
forces that resulted in Juniata College, — the first school 
of the brotherhood. Jacob M. Zuck is honored as its 
founder but it was John B. Brumbaugh who invited him 
to Huntingdon to start a school and entertained him in 
his own home free of charge the first year. H. B. Brum- 
baugh provided the room in his own building in which 
the school was kept until it required larger quarters. 
Dr. Andrew B. Brumbaugh, a native of James Creek, 
used his influence, his talents and his money to advance 
the interests of the school and never wavered in his sup- 
port. Professor Jacob H. Brumbaugh entered as a 
teacher at a sacrifice when the school was struggling for 
recognition and existence. The devotion of these four 
men to a cause that was new, unpopular and untried, 
that required money which was not in sight and talent 
not yet developed to give it reputation and make it a 
success, is a priceless legacy to their descendants and an 
honor to the church that nurtured them in its Christian 
fellowship. 

" Martin G. Brumbaugh, who, later on, became the 
president of Juniata College and a distinguished educator 
and lecturer, — the one who established a system of edu- 
cation on the island of Porto Rico and later served the 
State of Pennsylvania as governor, was reared to man- 
hood in this church. 

" It was here that the three Brumbaugh brothers, 
Henry, George and John started the publication of The 
Pilgrim, the second weekly church paper which was 
finally merged into other publications now the estab- 
lished literature of the church. " 

113 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



HUNTINGDON* 

Present Membership, 586. 

Dr. Andrew B. Brumbaugh, through opening an office 
to practice medicine in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania in 
April, 1866, became the first resident member of the 
Church of the Brethren. His wife, Maria (nee Frank, 
a member) and two children moved in from their home 
in Marklesburg in June following. Later in the same 
year David and Jane Deniser began residences here. 

When The Pilgrim was moved from Marklesburg on 
December 23, 1873, Henry B. and Susan, his wife, John 
B. Brumbaugh and Wealthy A. Clark, all connected 
with that publication, doubled the group of members. 
Next spring Eleanor J. VanDyke, later becoming the 
wife of John B. Brumbaugh, joined the number and now 
there were nine members of the Church of the Brethren 
in the city, most of whom were engaged in large things 
for the Lord and the Church. 

But the little band had to go to James Creek, some 
eleven miles distant, to enjoy fellowship with " those of 
like precious faith." While these trips were greatly en- 
joyed they also argued strongly for a place of worship in 
the borough ; and especially encouraged by promised 
help from the District to the amount of $100.00, in less 
than two years a room, 16 x 65 feet, on the first floor of 
the Pilgrim building, corner of l^th and Washington 
Streets, was fitted up for service. A small pulpit, a part 
of the furnishings, the gift of Dr. Andrew B. Brum- 
baugh, marked a radical change for those times when the 
long table was perhaps without exception still used. 
That historic, sacred desk is still used in the chapel in 
Founder's Hall. On Saturday evening, June 19, 1875, 
George Brumbaugh preached ; text, Matthew 9 : 10-13. 
The next morning the large room was formally dedi- 
cated, Peter S. Myers speaking from Galatians 6:14; in 
the evening Archibald Van Dyke spoke ; text, Psalms 
119:59-61. 

" On Monday morning, on the way to the depot, Peter 
S. Myers was met by Wealthy A. Clark of the Pilgrim 

* To Mrs. Eleanor J. Brumbaugh the reader is indebted for some of the in- 
formation of this sketch. 

114 






S s.S 



y 












4*r«,*te/,~~ \*/<ts pr* f /5<;j< */,'*?,/<>*,&,„„ £, \ f , 



'£*(■ f*mJA/y &*■'•'>?/>'.</&/, S*4s ■fy'/Pt-Sy^ 



, f* 






?'*' / &« t, /st **,<:'3o #■£/(,* d 






/%gr / 'WT ' / 

t 
'&* V-^ ■ / ' y • V .^ *> •' y y <> x 



X 



>■ 



A 



f<> ^ y •% > - ,s 

y? ■ *. f Jt Z.<- .* J> ***■■■!'.' :■*■?<&, z/s*Tj> • %.JSy, .-/ „> ?}";'.} 



■*. X 



U: 






M 



W^ 



/^<W****«r WStSA. ■://? -K.-tt .;> y%,**<n 



*f /?**// f<£**,*tS.*/~%f &#/,/„-&*,■,;,/, 




Sf *-■*<. jr^Z 



>£/£/& 



i p$v>*y*«y£~~t2*&i i jj& i~%« 




* «. £? f< 



y, 



S- - a .y y" 






*~Cc. < / £-*- 




£*jr : -' /0/i>bty%yiA \y^ttH, t<? /Ajl. 



'*^C ^— tiULCJS, < \- 




7 



-^-y% J/ ,y- #i,*yiy ■■&■ t ', 



< . tf y >. 



: a. 



yx* /y -/•■/ /- ^st *< p°& ' 






//i t* t , ^. Jf', /ji *' at 6<t i : t i /* 



£>,r^ 



t y"-'' €£-■*■„ j^-t-sr^jy 



>i* 



fS 

W^ 



i V*' b* 









m 



■ At *■■ 



AH ' 



■ ■■ :■■:■■:■■ ■ ■• .•:'■ ■ ■ ■■ :■: ■ 



Part of charter and signatures G f charter members of the Huntingdon congre- 
gation. — Photograph through kindness of Gaius M. Brumbaugh. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



family with, ' Will you accept this?' at the same time 
handing a beautifully bound pocket testament. The in- 
cident is significant for the days when ministers met 
their own expenses and preached the Gospel ' free.' 

James A. Sell some months after held the first series 
of meetings, beginning March 4 and continuing about ten 
days. On March 5, David Y., son of Peter Long Swayne 
who had recently moved into the city from Aughwick, 
and Gaius M., son of Andrew B. Brumbaugh, were, 
by baptism in the old canal, Henry B. Brumbaugh 
officiating, received into membership and thereby became 
the first members baptized in the Huntingdon congrega- 
tion. Howard Coble was also received at this meeting. 

A few members joined the group before Jacob M. Zuck 
arrived on April 15, 1876, and opened the Normal two 
days later. Carrie Miller, who later became the wife of 
William J. Swigart, arrived July 26. Then James 
Quinter and family came October 31 and a short time 
after, Joseph W. Beer and family. 

"The Normal" grew rapidly from the start and that 
increased the membership of the little, forming church. 
Just a short time elapsed until James Creek congregation 
decided to effect a separate organization of the Hunting- 
don Church and this was done September 28, 1878. The 
membership of the new congregation consisted of: 

Ministers: James Quinter, Henry B. Brumbaugh, Wil- 
liam J. Swigart. 

Laymembers : 32. 

Organization : James Quinter, bishop ; Jacob H. Brum- 
baugh, secretary. In a few months the need of a treas- 
urer and a desire on the part of the church to have the 
secretary act as treasurer, caused him to resign and Dr. 
Andrew B. Brumbaugh was elected and served almost 
continuously until his death in 1908. Jacob H. Brum- 
baugh became treasurer and rendered a long capable 
service in that. office. 

" The Normal" moved into Founders' Hall on Monday, 
April 7, 1879,t and the following Sunday " the first meet- 
ing was held in the new chapel. . . . James Quinter 
preached a very interesting sermon . . . from the last 

* The Pilgrim, 1875, p. 414. 

t Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1870, p. 279. 

116 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

verse of the 55th chapter of Isaiah. His subject was the 
Transformation of human character.' "' * This, how- 
ever, does not appear to be a dedication service. At the 
" formal opening of the new building," April 17, the dedi- 
cation no doubt included both school and church, for at 
the time Isaac Price (Coventry Church near Philadel- 
phia), one of the trustees, presented the church and col- 
lege with a Bible for pulpit use. 

At a very early moment of its existence the Hunting- 
don congregation manifested an aggressive policy in 
seeking the welfare of men and women in circles beyond 
their immediate contact. From the records of the con- 
gregation it is gleamed that on February 24, 1880, the 
congregation considered the work of the Ladies Temper- 
ance Union and urged upon " the authorities to unite in 
suppressing profanity and loafing in public places/' The 
following April 7, Henry B. Brumbaugh had a resolution 
favoring the establishing of a " home somewhere in the 
East, for the poor and infirm of our fraternity " passed 
and sent to District Meeting. Prayer-meetings* were 
conducted in the chapel at 1400 Washington Street,! 
though there appears to be no record until July 27, 1880, 
when Henry B. Brumbaugh resigned from the super- 
intendency of that work but was reappointed for another 
year. 

The " Record of the Faithful " $ states at this time that 
this congregation was organized in 1878 with twelve 
members ; that in 1881-'82 it had a membership of 175 
which " includes resident students." lames Ouinter was 
bishop ; Henry B. Brumbaugh was in the second and 
William J. Swigart in the first degree of the ministry. 

February 7, 1883 " Henry B. Brumbaugh was elected 
a member from this church on the board of Trustees of 
the Orphan's Home." The spirit of peace so dear to our 
Pennsylvania brethren cropped out when in April 30, 
1884, William J. Swigart asked the congregation to pe- 
tition General Conference to be represented at the next 
National Peace Convention. Sunday-school quarterlies 
prepared by Solomon Z. Sharp and published by " The 

* Ibid., p. 248. 

t Letter from Gaius M. Brumbaugh. 

j Published by Howard Miller in 1882. 

117 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Messenger Office ' were, by the consent of the whole 
congregation, introduced into the Sunday-school, on April 
7, 1885, the year before the General Conference gave per- 
mission to have Sunday-school. 

Three were received into the church by baptism on 
October 15, 1887, the rite being performed in a new pool 
built within the past year in the campus back of 




The Stone Church. 



Founders' Hall. This continued to be the place of bap- 
tism until the Stone Church was completed.* 

The congregation took a corporate existence March 21, 
1888. Trustees, Dr. Andrew B. Brumbaugh, David Y. 
Swayne and John B. Brumbaugh. Beginning with Oc- 
tober 1, 1912, the congregation has been electing its pre- 
siding bishop annually. 

After having the matter of erecting a church house ex- 
clusively devoted to religious activities before them for 
a number of years, the congregation, through a building 
committee consisting of Tobias T. Myers, Otis M. Brum- 

* For baptismal purposes the following places were used before the pool : the 
canal, the mill race near James Creek Church, and the Juniata River. 

118 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

baugh, J. Allen Myers and I. Harvey Brumbaugh, erected 
the Stone Church, 45 x 93 feet (outside dimensions) with 
basement fitted for Sunday-school purposes, costing 
$19,312.75. On December 11, 1910, the dedicatory ad- 
dress was delivered by Martin G. Brumbaugh of Phila- 
delphia. Text, John 4 : 24. Oscar R. Myers directed the 
lifting of the morning offering which amounted to 
$6,900.00. Service was held in the afternoon, conducted 
by William J. Swigart during which a sermon, " A 
Present Tense Christian," by Charles C. Ellis, was deliv- 
ered. At this meeting another $1,000.00 was added to the 
morning offering. In the evening William M. Howe 
(Johnstown congregation) spoke from the text, " In the 
beginning God." * 

The congregation appointed John B. Brumbaugh as 
pastor, May 1, 1905. At first he gave part time and later 
all, to the task. September 1, 1914, John H. Cassady be- 
gan pastoral labors and continued four years. April 1, 
1920, Galen K. Walker took up the work and continues. 

Missions, both home and foreign, have always been a 
large factor in the church life of the Huntingdon congre- 
gation. Through the college and church being so closely 
associated, the congregation has a blessed missionary 
record. Mary N. Quinter, a charter member, served first 
in Chicago and then went to India and was called to her 
glorious reward from that field, January 14, 1914. David, 
a faithful native, in the India church, was educated by 
the Huntingdon congregation. Other special supports 
from time to time have been given. 

Student missionaries who wanted their light to shine 
farthest reflected such a bright light at home — while in 
college in the various activities of the church, that they 
are worthy of the following place in this history : 

Name In College In India 

Samuel N. McCann 1880-83 c 1897-1907 

Mrs. Elizabeth Gibbel McCann 1886-91 1897-1907 

William Howe 1894-95 c 1897 

Jesse B. Emmert a 1895-99 1902-1922 

Mrs. Gertrude Rowland Emmert... 1895-99 1904-1922 

Jacob M. Blough a 1891-02 1903 .... 

Mrs. Anna Detwiler Blough 1891-96 1903 .... 

* Juniata Echo, 1910, pp. 167-8. 

119 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Name In College In India 

Mary N. Quinter 1877-83 d 1903-1913 

John M. Pittenger 1895-02 1904 . . 

Mrs. Florence Baker Pittenger 1897-02 1904 .. 

James W. Swigart 1901-03 c 1904 . . 

Ida Himmelsbaugh 1899-01 1908 . . 

Quincy A. Holsopple b 1907-10 1911-1923 

Mrs. Kathren Royer Holsopple 1919-20 1911-1923 

Herman B. Heisey 1908-12 1912 

Mrs. Grace Nodrow Heisey 1910-12 1912 

Olive Widdowson b 1899-02 1912 

Sarah Replogle 1906-08 1919 

Anna K. Brumbaugh 1910-18 1919 

John I. Kaylor 1920-21 1911 

Mrs. Ina M. Kaylor 1920-21 1921 

In France 

Mrs. Lucy Leatherman Mohler 1892-95 1911-1912 

In China 

J. Homer Bright 1895-99 1911 .... 

Isaiah E. Oberholtzer 1906-10 1916.... 

Grace Clapper 1907-09 1917 .... 

In Africa 

Harold Stover Kulp 1915-18 1922 

Mrs. Ruth Royer Kulp 1915-18 d 1923-1924 

a Later continued school work and received degree B.D. 
b Have done further study at Juniata. 
"3 Approved but did not get to the field and since died, 
d Died on field June 15, 1924. 

Bishops presiding : 

James Quinter Sep. 28, 1878-88 

Henry B. Brumbaugh May 19, 1888-18 

Tobias T. Myers Jan. 1, 1919-23 

Charles C. Ellis Jan. 1, 1924-25 

Ministers elected and installed : 

(The editor feels sure the list is not complete; and if this page 
comes to the attention of one whose name is not here, he will confer 
a great favor to write him or Juniata College, giving name, date and 
names of others who were elected at the same time.) 

John B. Brumbaugh Jan. 18, 1889 

Martin G. Brumbaugh Nov. 11, 1891 

Charles C. Ellis Nov. 10, 1894 

John C. Reiff Nov. 10, 1894 

William C. Hanawalt Feb. 9, 1897 

I. Bruce Book Feb. 9, 1897 

Jesse D. Emmert May 11, 1901 

Irvin C. VanDyke July 9, 1902 

James W. Swigart March 2, 1903 

John H. Cassady March 2, 1903 

Harvey Brumbaugh Oct. 29, 1904 

120 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Harvey D. Emmert Oct. 29 

Carmon C. Johnson Dec. 18 

Daniel W. Kurtz Dec. 18 

Earl E. Eshelman Jan. 1 1 

Arthur J. Culler Jan. 11 

A. Brown Miller . Jan. 11 

I. Edward Holsinger May 17 

Joel C. Flora May 17 

J. Edwin Kellar May 17 

William P. Harley May 17 

Isaac E. Oberholtzer May 17 

Oscar R. Myers May 17 

Herman B. Heisey May 27 

Clifford Workman May 27 

Elmer Culler March 27 

Henry P. Harley April 16 

A'bram B. Replogle April 16 

Frank Ankeny April 16 

Leonard Gaunt Nov. 1 1 

George B. Replogle Nov. 1 1 

Lewis G. Knepper Nov. 1 1 

Edgar G. Diehm May 9 

George B. Replogle May 9 

Holmes Falkenstein May 9 

J. Clyder Stayer May 9 

Myers B. Horner April 4 

Raymond Mickle April 4 

Herman Breninger April 4 

Calvin Rose April 4 

Enos Callahan April 4 

George A. Crotslev May 31 

Carl E. Howe...." May 31 

George Griffith May 31 

Maynard Cassady May 31 

Raymond English May 31 

Stanley B. Noffsinger May 4 

Wilbur O. Snyder May 4 

Glenn Norris May 10 

Calvert N. Ellis May 10 

Alexander M. Stout May 10 

Russel B. Stambaugh March 5 

Harold Engle March 5 

John Sherman March 5 



1904 

1904 

1904 

1906 

1906 

1906 

1908 

1908 

1908 

1908 

1908 

1908 

1910 

1910 

1910 

1911 

1911 

1911 

1912 

1912 

1912 

1915 

1915 

1915 

1915 

1917 

1917 

1917 

1917 

1917 

1918 

1918 

1918 

1918 

1918 

1921 

1921 

1922 

1922 

1922 

1923 

1923 

1923 



Deacons : September 30, 1882, John B. Brumbaugh, David Em- 
mert; January 18, 1889, William Berry, Daniel C. Burkholder; No- 
vember 11, 1891, David Y. Swayne, Otis M. Brumbaugh, Joseph E. 
Savior; January 12, 1909, Homer F. Sanger, Thomas Long; De- 
cember 3, 1912, William W. Geisinger, Percy B. Browand, W. Em- 
mert Swigart; April 4, 1917, James McAllwee, Frank Norris, 
Samuel Gehrett, Lewis Coffman. 



121 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

With the opening of " The Normal," a Sunday afternoon Bible 
class that supplied the grown people with Bible study, was started. 
It remained for Mrs. Eleanor J. Brumbaugh to think of the little 
ones and one week in the early fall she went out among the homes 
of the community and secured the promise of eight to come to Sun- 
day-school the following Sunday morning. On that morning, Sep- 
tember 23, 1877, the school began with five pupils and one teacher. 
There was no organization until the following July 28, when " the 
school was regularly organized with twenty-eight scholars and four 
teachers." John B. Brumbaugh was superintendent. During 78 the 
attendance ran as high as fifty-eight and it had use for seven teach- 
ers. At each session a " penny collection " was taken up for " the 
missionary cause.* 

With the congregation the school moved to Founders Hall and in- 
cluded Normal students and town members until the Stone Church 
was dedicated. It elected its own officers but record is not found 
of such elections. On June 7, 1893, the church took full supervision 
and elected the following officers : William Beery, superintendent; 
John C. Reiff, secretary; J. Lee Rupert, treasurer; Mrs. Eleanor J. 
Brumbaugh, chorister. In 1898 the school reported enrollment, 132; 
average, 82 ; raised $53.30 for supplies ; 3 conversions. Then in 1904 
it reported 130 enrolled; average, 90; 10 teachers; raised $99.07, of 
which $80.36 was given for missions and charity ; 4 conversions ; 
teachers meetings ; home department. 

Upon the dedication of the Stone Church the members and chil- 
dren from the town met in the new building, while the students of 
the college continued in the chapel as a part of the adult department 
and under the name, College Sunday-school. From the beginning 
the school has been " evergreen " ; since 1903 has had the advantages 
of teacher training class every year. Earliest available record be- 
gins in 1908 and from that date to 1914, 155 enrolled; then the 
church had a separate training class during years 1915-'19 and 1923, 
with a total enrollment of 72; the college had training class 1915-'23 
with a total enrollment of 185. In other words, since 1908, 412 have 
enrolled in teacher training at Huntingdon. The "Truth Seekers" 
class, organized in February, 1909, was the second men's organized 
class in the Brotherhood.f The average attendance for 1911, the 
first year in the Stone Church was 143. 

Superintendents: 1878, John B. Brumbaugh; , David Emmert ; 

before 1882, William Beery; 1885-'89, Otis M. Brumbaugh; 1889-'10, 
William Beery; till October 30, 1911, Oscar R. Myers; 1911-18, W. 
Emmert Swigart; 1919- '24, Frank A. Norris. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

Though informal meetings had been held and work done for 
about six months, not until September 18, 1885, in a meeting held 
in the Henry B. Brumbaugh home, was an organization of the 

* Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1878, p. 716. 

t Hagerstown, Md., Men's Class is first, organized Nov. 26, 1908. 

122 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Sisters Aid Society effected. Charter members : Eleanor J. Brum- 
baugh, Susan F. Brumbaugh, Maria F. Brumbaugh, Rachel E. Brum- 
baugh, Flora Brumbaugh, Cora A. Brumbaugh, Elizabeth B. Howe, 
Linda Cupp, Fannie Quinter, Mary N. Quinter, Emma Keeny, Carrie 
Swigart, Adaline H. Beery, Eva Falkenstein, Mrs. Jonathan Davis. 




Living Members of the 1885 Organization of the Huntingdon Sisters' Aid Society. 
Reading from the left : " Auntie " Dr. A. B. Brumbaugh, Mrs. Eleanor J. 
Brumbaugh, Mrs. William J. Swigart, Emma Keeny, and Mrs. Cora A. B. 
Silverthorn. 

Organization : Eleanor J. Brumbaugh, president ; Elizabeth B. Howe, 
secretary; Linda Cupp, treasurer. In general the society has been 
able to accomplish the following : 

Girl's Aid Fund $3,408.59 

Home Church 923.78 

Other congregations helped 207.00 

Charities 298.20 

Miscellaneous 157.70 

$4,995.27 

Presidents: Eleanor J. Brumbaugh, 1885 to '89; Adeline H. 
Beery, 1889, '91, '02; M. Ella Snavely, 1891 to 1901; Ida Hoover, 
1901, '03, '25; Cora A. B. Silverthorn, 1904, '19, '21; Carrie Swigart, 
1905, '06, '09, '13, '17, '22, '24; Elizabeth Carroll, 1907; Florence 
Myers, 1908, '11, '20; Viola Myers, 1910; Grace Q. Holsopple, 1912; 
Olive Dupler, 1914; Marabah V. Cassady, 1915; Bale Myers, 1916; 
Emma L. Keeny, 1918, '23. 



THE HUNTINGDON ORPHANAGE 

It was while a few sisters of the Huntingdon congregation (four 
and a half years later they became the second organized Sisters' Aid 
Society of the Brotherhood), in co-operation with students and 
others of the Normal College, were administering to the poor in the 
west end of the borough that the deplorable condition of some fami- 
lies was discovered and reported to David Emmert. Thereupon, he 
opened a little home for destitute children, on Sixteenth Street, be- 
tween Moore and Mifflin Streets, on March 1, 1881. Carrie Miller, 

123 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

who later became the wife of William J. Swigart, was engaged as 
matron. A little sick girl, Anna Straitiff, was the first guest of care. 
On April 1, 1881, the home was moved into a small building, corner 
of Moore and Eighteenth Streets. A county organization was 
formed the same year, under which supervision the institution has 
continued. The matrons have all been members of the Church of the 
Brethren and loyal supporters of the local aid society. Following 
Carrie Miller, the next matron, though for a short time, was Eliza- 
beth Howe, now Mrs. John H. Brubaker, of Virdin, (111.). Next, 
Susan Ressler, who had been helper under both former superintend- 
ents, became matron and rounded out seventeen years of continuous 
service." * Her daughter, Minnie, now Mrs. Ardie E. Wilt, sacrificed 
much to help her mother with her task during these years. Then 
followed, for shorter terms of service, Anna Detwiler, now the wife 
of Jacob M. Blough, missionary in India; a Mrs. Newcomer, of 
Waynesboro, (Pa.), and Clara Buyer, who married Harry Sullivan. 
In 1902, Emma Keeny, the present matron, began her long term of 
service. 



* Reminiscences of Juniata College, by David Emmert, p. 101. 



124 



CHAPTER IV 



The Early Yellow Creek Congregation 

and Its Growth in Bedford, Blair 

and Fulton Counties 



1780 



1800 1820 1840 1860 1880 



rcarly Yellow Cr 



1820 




1876(b) 



1371 



1 395 name 



372c 



1900 



1886 



1897 



1893. 
1907. 
1901. 



18931 



1920 



changed 



1916 
1916 



1924 
1922 



to 



.New Enterprise 
Woodbury 
Claar 

Lower Claar 
Queen 



___ Dunnings Creek 

Snake Spring 

. J Cherry lane 

__ Koontz 

_ Arteroas 

Yellow Creek 

__ _ Raven Run 

Riddle sburg 

— St oner st own 
. Everett 



a Its beginning according to the " Record of the Faithful," by Howard Miller. 

b Part of Woodbury terrritory was taken from Clover Creek. 

c Hopewell was the name first ; about 1900 changed to Yellow Creek. 



THE EARLY YELLOW CREEK 
CONGREGATION* 

Concerning the early history of this congregation 
James A. Sell has written thus : " This early group of 
members centered at New Enterprise and the territory 
in which they were scattered embraced all of Bedford 
and much of Fulton counties. Among the early settlers 
especially in Bedford and Huntingdon counties were a 

* To David T. Detwiler the reader is indebted for much of the information 
found in the latter part of this sketch. 



125 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



large number of Brethren whose descendants trace their 
ancestry to Franklin County, (Pa.) ; hence it is highly 
probable that our pioneers came from there. The first 
of this migration can safely be placed as early as 1750 
or 1760. 

" The earliest record of the presence of the brethren is 
found in a deed for a tract of land containing 269 acres, 
located in Morrison's Cove on the Three Springs branch 
of Yellow Creek, Frankstown township, Bedford County. 
It conveys from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to 
Samuel Ullery and Jacob Brumbaugh said tract on De- 
cember 12, 1785, and is signed by Benjamin Franklin, 
" President of the Supreme Council of the Executive." 
The consideration was six pounds, nineteen shillings and 
five pence. 

" So far as is known this Samuel Ullery * was the first 
minister in this church. Just when he came is not 
known. He died in 1822 and is buried in the cemetery 
close to the New Enterprise church. 

" Jacob Brumbaugh, the other person named in the 
deed, a brother in the flesh to the Brumbaughs who set- 

* In a manuscript written by Samuel Teeter who lived at New Enterprise and 
died in 1901, the following statement is made concerning the beginning of the 
Yellow Creek congregation. 

MORRISON'S COVE OR YELLOW CREEK CHURCH. 

Beginning oh Organization. 

" Inasmuch as there has no record been kept from the beginning, by request, 
will try to give a short sketch of the church in part by hearsay and part bv 
memory. 

" In the first the Yellow Creek consisted of Snake Spring and part of the Cove. 
The first minister was a man or brother by the name of Overholser who died in 
the Cove; (second) David Mikesell also died here; (third) perhaps Abraham 
Teeter, Senior, but never preached ; (fourth) Samuel Ullery, who labored in the 
congregation for some time and was a very influential minister ; (fifth) Isaac 
Ritchey and John Holsinger, Senior, elected at the same time, advanced the 
same together the same time and ordained the same time. Some time after, Snake 
Spring was divided into two separate districts and brother Ritchey fell to 
Snake Springs and Holsinger to Yellow Creek ; (sixth) then some time Elder 
Martin Miller was elected to the ministry in the Yellow Creek District ; (seventh) 
David Brumbaugh was elected some time after by the Snake Spring Church, then 
afterwards moved to Yellow Creek Church ; (eighth) then about 1830 Brother 
Jacob Oochnour was elected to the ministry, who was laboring with the church 
till 1834 when he died. The next year John Holsinger, Junior, was elected then 
in 1835 ; (ninth) Jacob Miller was elected next ; (tenth) John Eshelman in 1852, 
Daniel Snowberger and Leonard Furry were elected, afterwards advanced and later 
ordained the same day and both died in 1868. After this John B. Replogle next 
to Christ Holsinger, son of John/ Holsinger, Junior ; next John L. Holsinger, 
Junior ; next David Strayle ; next Rinehart Z. Replogle who went Progressive ; 
next David T. Detwiler ; next Levi Holsinger and Levi Stuckev, the former a 
great-grand-son of Samuel Ullery and the latter a great-grand-son of the 
same. — Ed. 

126 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

tied at Clover Creek and in Woodcock Vallev, was also 
a minister. 

" The tract of land conveyed above evidently was pur- 
chased jointly, for on February 28, 1822, Samuel Ullery 
conveyed his possessions of about 100 acres to Jacob 
Brown, who in turn on February 25, 1841, sold the same 
to Samuel Brown. From him it went successively to 
Daniel S. Snowberger, Christian Snowberger, Samuel 
Werking and then to Gilbert Werking, the present 
owner. 

The time of the organization of this church and who 
were the participators are unknown. As was usual in 
those days the members and friends met for worship in 
homes, some of which were purposely constructed to 
meet this purpose. The first movement towards build- 
ing a house of worship was in 1840 when a house, 40 x 65 
feet with an L for kitchen, 20 x 34 feet, was erected on the 
lot where the present New Enterprise house stands. It 
was fashioned after the architectural ideas of that time, 
more for service than anything else, and judging by its 
dimensions the congregations that gathered in those 
early days were large/' — Jamks A. SeXL. 

Quite a settlement of members had located near Bakers 
Summit, among them John M. Holsinger, the bishop of 
the congregation. He conceived the idea and prevailed 
upon the church to erect a house on a corner of his farm. 
The building committee consisted of. Simon Snyder, head 

carpenter, Jacob and John Miller, Charles and J 

Bobb and John Jordon. It was a frame house, cost 
$620.00 and was dedicated in 1850. 

This policy of placing houses where groups of mem- 
bers were living was followed further in 1872 when two 
frame house each 32 x 45 feet, the one at Waterside and 
the other at Snyder, were erected. At the dedication of 
the former house June 16, 1872, John B. Brumbaugh 
preached.* 

But the territory included in this early Yellow Creek 
congregation was far too large for successful manage- 
ment and on August 16, 1876, it was decided to divide. 
The line established was such that the present New En- 



The Weekly Pilgrim, 1872, p. 207. 

127 




Some Members op the New Enterprise Church. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

terprise territory continued under the name of Yellow 
Creek, and that now included in Woodbury, Claar, 
Lower Claar and Queen took the name Woodbury. 

This division left Yellow Creek with ministers : Daniel 
Snowberger, Leonard Furry and Joseph Z. Replogle; 
deacons, George Brumbaugh, Samuel Teeter, David L. 
Replogle, Isaac Replogle, Sr., Jacob Furry, Abraham 
Sollenberger; and a large congregation of laymembers. 

It is exceedingly unfortunate that the records of this 
congregation earlier than May 29, 1875, " were consigned 
to the flames." * Judging from a resignation minute, 
November 16, 1875, Daniel Snowberger was clerk for the 
first two years of preserved record. The Danish Mission 
funds received a contribution of $4.82 from this congre- 
gation in 1875. The church answered the query, " Is it 
right for brethren to bail criminals out of prison? 5 by 
deciding " that brethren should not do it, at least, before 
consulting the church. " At the same meeting where the 
congregation decided it was wrong to " take part in play- 
ing ring during intermission at spelling schools," it de- 
cided " to invite Daniel P. Saylor to come and preach for 
a week or ten days and pay his expenses." The delegates 
to District Meeting were instructed " to vote in favor of 
a full report of the proceedings of Annual Meeting in 
pamphlet form." 

The deacons reported, on their visit in 1876, a complaint 
that there was too little preaching in the German, but no 
conclusion was reached on the matter. January 1, 1877, 
the congregation " agreed to permit brethren and sisters 
to meet together in their own houses during the week in 
a social capacity to engage in singing and prayer and 
other exercises that may be beneficial." But before the 
year was over these meetings were moved into the meet- 
ing houses. " No change " was the answer to a petition 
" to have preaching at the Snowberger house every two 
weeks instead of every four " and Annual Meeting was 
asked " if it is right that the one who washes the feet 
wipes them or whether one does the washing and an- 
other the wiping." 

In the fall of 1876, Stephen H. Bashore held a revival 

* David T. Detwiler, present bishop of the New Enterprise congregation, in a 
letter dated July 12, 1924, says he has thus been informed. 

129 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



in this church and one hundred were added to the fold. 
This was a new record for the brotherhood. 

The next year (1877) the congregation entertained the 
Annual Meeting. The old house was still the place of 
worship and with some temporary additions was used 
for dining hall. Boarding and lodging free to all. The 
conference proper was held in the Over barn on the out- 
skirts of the town. 




New Enterprise Conference Grounds of 1877. 

Upper: New Enterprise Church and lunch counter before it. Lower 

barn, where the conference proper was held. 



The Over 



But the old house that had served the people for thirty- 
eight years had become too small and it was to be 
replaced. Building" Committee : Jacob Furry, Samuel 
Werking and David L. Replogle. The new one was a 
frame building, 50 x 80 feet, basement, costing, after de- 
ducting the proceeds of the old house, $3,361.81. It had 
a " platform two steps high from aisle to aisle for the 
speakers." Some wanted a vestibule but this was not 
carried. No formal dedication was held when the house 
was completed in 1878, but James Quinter held a short 
series of meetings. The house had a seating capacity of 

130 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



800 and often has it been full to overflowing, especially 
on funeral and lovefeast occasions. 

In 1878 the church decided it was wrong for members 
to have their fortunes told. At the October council 
meeting (Snowberger meeting house) the following rules 
for speaking in a council meeting were passed, a decided 
step forward, " Only one member to speak at a time. 
No one to speak without rising to their feet. In all cases 
to address the brethren before commencing on the sub- 
ject. Not to commence speaking upon the subject until 
recognized by the elder. Members to confine themselves 
to the question and avoid repetition/' 

On May 28, 1879, the Sunday-school convention of 
Middle District of Pennsylvania met in this new house. 

The church decided (1879) to read the minutes of the 
council meeting at the close of the session. It instructed 
its delegates to District Meeting " to oppose the Breth- 
rens Home of Charity " and to " oppose division of the 
District of Middle Pennsylvania. " It " unanimously 
agreed ' to have the aisles of the church carpeted with 
" coarse matting without any cost to the church treas- 
ury." At the same meeting single mode of feet washing 
was unanimously agreed to. 

At a council June 16, 1880, it was decided to build a 
meeting house at Dutch Corners (Imlertown). A com- 
mittee on location was appointed and at the next meet- 
ing (August 14) it was decided " to build 34x40x12, 
no basement, platform at one end 18 inches high/' 
Building committee: Jacob Furry, Samuel Teeter, 
Samuel Werking. David Miller did the carpenter work 
under contract. Cost, $1,902.81. James A. Sell dedicated 
the house and followed it with a series of meetings. 
After some years of unsuccessful effort the work was 
given up and the building sold in 1908. 

The church decided (1880) to continue the practice 
and " line the hymns (two at a time) on funeral occa- 
sions/' The time of beginning lovefeasts was changed 
from ten to two in the afternoon." A query, " Is it right 
for brethren to attend political state conventions ? " had 
to be " tabled " for want of unity of sentiment. A 
brother who was working on Sunday and had one and 
half months to complete his contract was instructed " to 



131 




Upper: The Teeter Home. One-half the upstairs used for church services in 
earlier days. Built by Isaac Teeter, in 1835. Middle: The present New 
Enterprise Church. Loweu: Salemville Church. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

cease at once." The church answered, " Is it right for 
brethren to engage in anything like lottery ? ' by a unani- 
mous " No." " Is it right for brethren to engage in a 
debate, speak against their own sentiments and use 
every means to gain a question and afterwards say " the 
sentiment was not our own?" Answer, "No." Having 
decided to hold an election for speaker and finding that 
electioneering had been clone, the election was postponed 
indefinitely. It was decided unanimously (1881) to 
" adopt taxation system for raising funds for treasury." 
But a " proposition to have a clock placed in the audience 
room free of charge " w^s not accepted. 

The " Record of the Faithful " * states that this con- 
gregation was organized in 1800 with eighteen members ; 
that its first church house was erected in 1839 ; that in 
1881-1882 it had four church houses and 300 members. 
Jacob Miller was bishop. David Straley and Rinehart 
Z. Replogle were in the second and Charles L. Buck and 
Joseph S. Replogle in the first degree of the ministry. 

In 1882 John and Leah Burger built, furnished and 
then maintained a good substantial church, 40 x 60 feet, 
in Salemville and at their death gave it to the congrega- 
tion. Joseph Z. Replogle preached the first sermon in 
this house and Silas Hoover, of Somerset County, held 
the first series of meetings shortly after the dedication. 

The first echoes of agitation due to the unfortunate 
division of the Brotherhood in 1882 is seen in a record 
on the minutes marked " special." " At a social mem- 
bers meeting January 26, 1883, it was decided to take the 
fW'ord of God and every decision that is in accord with 
the Word and have no one to interfere with us and sow 
discord ; and ourselves stop agitating the differences." 

At the regular quarterly council held August 16, 1883, 
brethren James Quinter, James A. Sell and Solomon 
Buckelew were present and assisted in the deliberations 
of the day. In the afternoon the following resolution was 
voted upon : 

" Whereas, the troubles that have disturbed the general brother- 
hood have seriously effected the New Enterprise Church; and 
whereas, at the last Council Meeting of said church, several mem- 

* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. But see page 135 for correct data for 
this time. 

133 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

hers left the Council meeting, indicating by the movement and lan- 
guage used a withdrawal from the church, and then assembled and 
appointed a delegate to the Progressive Convention at Dayton, con- 
firming by this last act the idea of withdrawal from the church ; 
they also made appointments for meetings independent of the 
church ; and, whereas, we cannot, as a church, fellowship such as 
withdraw, if they persist in the course they have taken; therefore, 
resolved that a vote of the church be taken to ascertain who still 
maintain the position taken by those who left our last council meet- 
ing as they did." 

The final vote was taken and twelve names are re- 
corded as withdrawing, — of these one was a minister, one 
the church clerk, one the church treasurer. At the next 
council meeting one of the number came back stating he 
did not understand the import of the action. 

The church voted favorable (1887) to having brother 
John B. Gluck preach on temperance in their meeting 
house. 

Because in the Hopewell congregation not far away 
was a postoffice named Yellow Creek and many confused 
this name and the one of the congregation, on April 23, 
1895, the Yellow Creek church changed its name legally 
and hereafter it is known as 



NEW ENTERPRISE 

The large church house erected in 1878 was the one- 
big-room type and not adapted to the needs of the large 
Sunday-school that assembled there. Therefore, at a 
cost of $2,500.00 the building was remodeled and divided 
into class rooms suited for the Sunday-school and yet so 
arranged that it could all be opened into the main audi- 
torium. Charles C. Ellis spoke on the occasion of the 
dedication, which was October 31, 1915. His text was 
Ezra 6:16. In 1921, class rooms were made in the 
basement. 

The congregation had tried the envelope system, for 
on February 13, 1897, " a proposition to take up a collec- 
tion every quarter for Missions at each meeting point 
. . . carried and the envelope system was dropped. " 

Believing that the interests of the church would be 
best subserved by having a supported pastor, in 1918 they 

134 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

secured the services of H. Stover Kulp. He remained 
for one year and then accepted a call to the First Breth- 
ren Church of Philadelphia. The project was so success- 
ful, however, that the church decided to continue the 
pastorate. George E. Yoder entered upon the work 
July 1, 1919 and continues with good results. 



Elders who have presided over Yellow Creek 



Samuel Ullery 

John M. Holsinger 

Jacob Miller 

Over New Enterprise : 
Charles L. Buck, Dec. 10, 1893 



Daniel Snowberger 
Leonard Furry 
Joseph Z. Replogle 



David T. Detwiler, 

April 19, 1912 



Ministers, and date elected by Yellow Creek: 



a Samuel Ullery 

John Holsinger 

b Isaac Ritchey, Sr 

Jacob Snyder 

Isaac Ritchey, Jr 

Jacob Goughnour 1827 

Martin Miller 

David Brumbaugh 

John M. Holsinger 1835 

Andrew Snowberger 1841 

Jacob Miller 1844 

John Eshelman 1845 

c Leonard Furo^ 1851 



c Daniel Snowberger 1851 

Christian Holsinger 1862 

John B. Replogle 18/0 

Joseph Z. Replogle 1875 

d Samuel A. Moore 

John L. Holsinger 1876 

Charles L. Buck 1877 

David M. Straley 18:8 

Rinehart Z. Replogle 1880 

Levi F. Holsinger 1884 

Levi T. Stuckey 1884 

d George S. Myers 

David T. Detwiler 1887 



a Moved in, perhaps, with the first settlers, 
h Was elected in Snake Spri rg Valley. 

c Called " twin preachers " because elected, advanced and ordained each time 
on the same clay. 

d Moved into the congregation. 

Under name New Enterprise : 

Harvey S. Replogle 1896 Guy Beach 1915 

•Edgar M. Detwiler 1906 Kenneth Bechtel 1919 

a Edward Holsinger 1907 Orville Holsinger 1919 

a Elected while at Juniata College. 

Deacons: 1827, Jacob Brown; 1837, Daniel Replogle, George M. 
Holsinger; 1844, John Eshelman, Leonard Furry; 1849, Daniel 
Snowberger, Alexander Holsinger; 1851, Daniel Holsinger, Jacob 
Keifer; 1855, David Miller, John B. Replogle; 1862, Samuel Teeter, 
Conrad Imler; 1865, David L. Replogle, Isaac Replogle; 1872, Jacob 
Furry, Abram Sollenberger ; 1876, Samuel Burger, Adam Frederic; 
date unknown, George Brumbaugh, Isaac Teeter, Jacob Longanecker, 
Rheinhart Replogle, Daniel T. Miller. 



135 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Yellow Creek — New Enterprise. In the home of Daniel Snow- 
berger Sunday-school was first organized in April, 1866. Samuel 
Furry was made superintendent and served three summers. In 
1869, Jacob B. Furry became superintendent and served till 1876. 
At the James Creek convention in 1876, Daniel Snowberger and 
Jacob B. Furry represented the New Enterprise school and made a 
report, part of which is the following : " A constitution and by-laws 
govern the school. In 1868 there were nine classes of male pupils, 
53 in all, who committed 3,657 verses of scripture. Eleven classes 
contained 54 pupils, who committed 3,314 verses. ... In 1870 total 
number of scholars, 104. . . . For 1875 Jacob B. Furry, superin- 
tendent. Total attendance, 122. Number of classes reading the Old 
Testament, two ; German, one. School is opened with singing and 
prayer and reading a chapter of scripture, after which the scholars 
ask such questions as present themselves. Take no part in picnics.* 

At the 1898 convention the school reported enrollment, 201 ; aver- 
age, 86; raised $30.91 for supplies. In 1904 enrollment, 140; average, 
85; 12 teachers; raised $69.46, of which $14.30 went to missions and 
charity; teacher meetings. "Evergreen" since 1890. From 1908 on, 
over 100 have enrolled in teacher training and a good percentage 
of them received first year certificates. 

Superintendents: 1866, Samuel Furry; , Jacob Furry, Charles 

L. Buck; 1887-'93, David T. Detwiler; 1893-'04, Charles L. Buck; 
1904-'08, William H. Mentzer; 1915, Levi T. Stuckey; 1916, Edgar 
Furry; 1917, Levi T. Stuckey; 1918, Oscar Beach; 1919-'24, A. B. 
Replogle. 

Waterside. The Sunday-school was first started in the church on 
May 14, 1876. George Brumbaugh and Isaac Replogle represented 
at the 1876 convention but their report is not recorded. Two years 
later Jacob Furry and Joseph Z. Replogle represented and report 
an average attendance of 43 and 3,113 verses committed by one 
person. f 

Superintendents: 1895, Levi T. Holsinger ; 1896, Samuel B. Mad- 
dock; 1907, William H. Mentzer; 1910-'12, Christian R. Holsinger; 
1913, Albert R. Musselman; 1914, Christian R. Holsinger; 1915-'16, 
John W. Baker; 1917, Christian R. Holsinger; 1918. John W. 
Baker; 1919-'21, Ernest Replogle; 1922-'24, John W. Baker. 

Salemville. The school was organized in the spring of 1909 with 
David T. Detwiler, superintendent. They had twelve officers and 
teachers that year, an enrollment of 112 and an average attendance 
of 61 ; raised $24.39, of which $3.00 went to missions. 

Superintendents: 1909-'10, David T. Detwiler; 1911, Levi T. 
Stuckey; 1912, no school; 1913, A T. Replogle; 1914-'17, Burger C. 
Baker; 1918, H. Stover Kulp ; 1919, N. S. Keagerise; 1920, George 
E. Yoder; 1921, no school; 1922, Jason Hoover; 1923, Burger C. 
Baker; 1924, S. A. Ford. 

Snyder. Sunday-school was begun at Snyder as early as 1878, 
because by letter a report was sent to the convention that fall. The 



* Primitive Christian, 1876, p. 702. 

f Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1878, p. 716. 

136 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

school was discontinued after 1908, for there is no report after that 
year. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The New Enterprise Society was organized on March 22, 1913, 
in the home of Levi T. Holsinger. Officers : President, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Over ; vice-president, Maggie Snowberger ; secretary, Mrs. 
Lydia Werking; treasurer, Mrs. Ella Snowberger. They had their 
first meeting March 26, 1913, in the home of David T. Detwiler. Be- 
ginning with January 1, 1922, Mrs. Rosa Reasy has been president. 
With needle and offerings they have been able to make gifts as fol- 
lows : To local church, $301.25; relief work, $124.53; to Bethany 
Bible school, $20.00; to Foreign Missions, $165.30. 



SNAKE SPRING* 

Present Membership, 172. 

Jacob Snyder, formerly of Berkley County, Virginia, 
in 1784 moved from Hagerstown, Maryland into Croyle, 
the earlier name for Snake Spring Valley. Having been 
previously chosen, he was the first deacon located in the 
original Yellow Creek territory. A few members had 
preceded him into the valley and once a year Samuel 
Ullery from the New Enterprise section, ordained in 1810 
and the first bishop of what was known as the Old Yel- 
low Creek congregation, would come over and in com- 
pany with this deacon, extended the visit to these mem- 
bers and preached some for them. These trips were 
sometimes taken afoot and about three weeks time de- 
voted to the work. 

This Jacob Snyder in 1786 located near the big spring 
on what is now the Snowberger farm. Here he built 
himself a small shack, the ground for floor, and with his 
wife and baby, lived until he could build a larger house. 
In the shack, after he moved, he taught " reading and 
writing and ' rithmetic/ " using the German New Testa- 
ment for his reader. These few months of school gave 
him the distinction of being the first school teacher in 
the valley. It is said that in those days he took his grain 
to Hagerstown, (Md.) to have it ground into flour. In 
1811 he built the present brick house, size 33 x 33 feet. 

* To Albert S., son of William S. Ritchey, the reader is indebted for much of the 
information not given by his father in this sketch. 

137 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

He brought his workmen from Hagerstown and made 
the brick on his farm. 

Jacob Studebaker, married to Mary, daughter of Jacob 
Snyder of Virginia, built in 1803 the large stone house 
on the farm now owned by Elias Baker. In the bake- 




The Snyder Residence on the Snowberger farm, built in 1811, 

near the big spring. Here services were held in the upper 

story for a number of years. 



oven house, still standing on this place, the first lovefeast 
in the valley was held. 

In these early days the home served the purpose of 
meeting house, and each one at all adapted took regular 
turn in entertaining the very precious preaching occa- 
sion.* It was in the spirit and need of these times that 
in 1811 Jacob Snyder erected the large residence still 
standing on what is known as the Snowberger farm and 
located the house so that the water from the big spring 

* John S. Hershberger writes Sept. 1, 1924, " I have a distinct recollection of a 
number of benches made from slabs kept above in the dry house and when our 
turn came to have the meeting, these were taken down and placed in my father's 
house to provide for preaching day. My mother told me that when these meet- 
ings came around the custom was to give dinner to all who came to meeting. 
I remember distinctly the building of the meeting house in 1861. I write these 
things because I was an eye-witness to them." 

138 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

close by ran through the cellar. The first floor was ar- 
ranged for living rooms and the second was finished in 
one large room, 33 x 33 feet, and was used for meeting 
house. It was in this room that the good old fashioned 
spiritual meetings were held about which some of the 
grandfathers tell and many found Jesus as their Saviour 
and later emigrating to western states became the found- 
ers of churches. Among those who were thus used of 
the Lord are the names of Studebaker, Ullery, Snyder, 
Hendricks, and Snowberger.* 

Some time near 1820, Snake Spring Valley congrega- 
tion was organized. The line between it and Yellow 
Creek started at the old stone house on Bayers farm and 
continued to Evitts Mountain at the Sell farm. Other 
boundaries were needless, for the unoccupied field, south 
of Everett to the Maryland line, eastward into Fulton 
and westward into Somerset Counties, looked to Snake 
Spring for spiritual guidance. 

Isaac Ritchey, Senior, son of Francis Ritchey, who be- 
longed to the Reformed Church, was the first minister 
and later the first bishop of this congregation. He died 
in 1845 and left the work in the hands of Jacob Snyder, 
who died May 25, 1848. Before these bishops passed 
away, Jacob Steele was called to the ministry and did the 
first English preaching in the church in these parts, but 
English was so unpopular among these sturdy German 
members that rather than advance him to the oversight 
they did without a resident elder until Andrew Snow- 
berger was ordained in 1872. 

The Snyder up-stairs room served the purpose of meet- 
ing house long and well but in time sentiment grew 
strong enough to pass a decision in 1860 to build a frame 
house for the congregation on the lowlands of the Daniel 
Hershberger farm. Martin Hoover was contractor as 
he afterwards was for several houses built in this 
congregation. 

Two years later the congregation erected what is 
known as the Yellow Creek house on land owned by 
Jacob Steele on the Hopewell-Loysburg road, about nine 
miles north of Everett. 



* John Snowberger, son of Andrew, once the bishop in this congregation, bap- 
tized the editor of this book. 

139 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Again in 1865 the church set herself to erect a house 
of worship, this time in the " Cove " across the mountain 
from Snake Spring Valley in what is now the Koontz 
congregation. 

From a compilation made by William S. Ritchey the 
foregoing is gleaned. Much of it was handed down to 
him through tradition and the other part comes within 
his own experiences. 

Perhaps as early as the first half of the last century 
members located in the vicinity of Clearville. Among 
these early families Daniel Snyder, in whose home 
meetings were held before they were taken to the school 
houses, is prominent. Other families noted, — Thomas 
Dibert, John B. Smith, Isaac Ritchey, John Dibert. 
Among the ministers who served this group in these 
early days are the names of Henry Hershberger, Jacob 
Steele, Graybill Myers, Andrew Snowberger, Jr., Wil- 
liam S. Ritchey and Jacob Koontz. For a number of 
years meetings were held in the Calhoun, Weimer, Kerr 
and Clearville schoolhouses. In 1872, the Snake Spring 
congregation to which this group belonged, erected the 
first Cherry Lane house. The deed, made by Daniel 
Snyder and John B. Smith, dated April 13, 1872, was 
given to the Snake Spring Valley congregation. The 
house erected was 38 x 48 feet. The building committee 
was Thomas Dibert, Daniel Hershberger and Daniel 
Snyder.* 

According to the " Record of the Faithful " f the Snake 
Spring congregation was organized in 1840 with 100 
members ; their first house was erected in 1861. In 
1881-'82 they had a membership of 218. Jacob Koontz 
was bishop, William S. Ritchey, John S. Baker and John 
B. Fluck in the second degree. 

On May 31, 1879, " it was agreed that a book called a 
Church book or record should be kept and John B. Fluck 
was chosen as secretary. It was further agreed that the 
proceedings of council meetings be made on a separate 
sheet of paper and that at the close of each meeting the 
minutes should be read and only such transactions re- 

* To Daniel W. Dibert the reader is indebted for this early history of the 
Cherry Lane house. 

t Published by Howard Miller in 1882. 

140 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

corded as the body in council shall decide/' Thus be- 
gins the earliest record of this congregation. This is 
given in full here because so many congregations do not 
even yet know the value of reading the minutes at the 
close of the session instead of at the beginning of the 
next session. 

At this same meeting the question of starting a Sun- 
day-school was " discussed and decided in favor of a 
school by a vote of 27 to 13." To accommodate the mem- 
bers living down towards the Maryland line, some time in 
the early part of 1879 or the year before, it was decided 
to build what is now known as Artemas Church. At 
the time the locality was known as the Southampton 
" branch " or congregation. The earliest record shows 
that on October 25, 1879, " Daniel Snyder, John Stayer, 
Thomas Dibert and John Bennett, soliciting committee, 
and Israel Bennett, building committee, and Samuel 
Kagarise, carpenter," reported settlement to the congre- 
gation at Snake Spring Valley house. The total expendi- 
ture was $731.79, with an added bill for " stoves and 
pipe, five lamps, two candlesticks, flue pipe, broom, etc., 
of $27.99." It was opened for use in October, 1879. 

At a meeting preceding the foregoing settlement, 
(August 2, '79) " it was revealed that some able mem- 
bers failed to contribute any towards the building of said 
(Southampton) meeting house." A committee of three 
was appointed to wait on such members and make report 
to later meeting. . . . That " members should not leave 
the house without legal excuse before the close of meet- 
ing " was made a matter of record and the basis for dis- 
cipline of some kind. 

At the meeting (April 24, 1880), the query, "Should a 
brother act on a committee to build a union church?' 
was answered, " Not without consulting the church." 
... u It was allowed to hold social singings in all the 
churches if conducted in the order of the Brethren." 

Musical instruments about this time gave the congre- 
gation deep concern. In 1883 it was decided that a mem- 
ber should not have an organ in the house and the few 
who have them were given until June 6, 1885, to remove 
them. At this date, however, a committee, William 
Howe, Daniel Keller and Solomon Sieber, appointed by 

141 



1 












a 






1 





















%' 
































































i 














NJ 













































* 



i*> 






7S/S>//S/?&#S 



K 

v 






<v 



*<; 






00 



■is 



tsJ 



-■*> 






, Ss< 



y*i 



S 



v ~t 














%; 




















C'y 












^ 





b* 
% 






v 










<3" 



•v 



<\ 






§3 



M 








fv* 




«N 




~- 




%^ 


c 












N. 


* < 


■y 








& 








.N" 








■< 

















<H 



& 



N 



X 



- % 









Diagram of appointments made by Jolin B. Fluck for the use of ministers in the 
Snake Spring Valley congregation. Through kindness of Mrs. C. Knisely, 

of Everett. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

the District Meeting - in April, 1885, in response to a peti- 
tion signed by seventy-six names, met with the church 
and it was " decided that a proper use of the instrument 
could not be made a test of fellowship. 1 ' The commit- 
tee's report was accepted thus: "Positive, 21; Negative, 
5; Optional, 11." 

April 21, 1887, the query, " whether members of our 
church should unite with the Women's Christian Tem- 
perance Union," was sent to District Meeting for answer. 

About 1880 or earlier, Jacob Koontz, William S. 
Ritchey, John B. Pluck, and Henry Clapper began to 
make preaching tours southeast from Everett, about ten 
miles, because here were located John Snyder and wife 
Hannah, Nathon Welch and wite Mary A., Anthony 
Spade and wife Rosa, Abram Garlick and wife Luennia, 
and other scattered members. The congregation met 
(Feb. 10, 1883) in the Snake Spring house k< to determine 
the propriety of building the Rays Hill house," later 
known as Brush Creek or Snvder house, the intent 
thereby to serve these members so distant from the home 
church. A locating committee was appointed and two 
weeks later reported '* a suitable location near the Union 
lot on Enos Wink's land. " Wink sold the land for 
$13.00, which amount was immediately covered by two 
subscriptions." Daniel Hershberger, John Baker and 
John S. Snyder were appointed " to go on and build ac- 
cording to their best judgment and secure title to the 
land." John B. Fluck was contractor and builder. This 
committee had a subscription of $405.00 when they began 
the building. The house is a frame, 24 x 32 feet, without 
basement. 

For some reason, perhaps the location was not so 
favorable, after about thirty years use the Snake Spring- 
house did not suit the members and on February 1, 1890, 
it was decided to build a new church. Fifty-one favored 
an entire new house while sixteen voted to repair the old 
one. When it came to location for the new church, 
'forty voted for location on John S. Baker's land below 
Samuel Ritchey's, at the old log house and twenty-three 
favored the old location." At the March meeting it was 
decided the house should be the same size as the old one, 
40 x 60 feet, but sixteen feet high and the basement eight 

143 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



feet high. Building committee : Solomon Hershberger, 
William Forney and Philip Wyles. The house was com- 
pleted at a cost of $1,763.99. Brice Sell was the first to 
preach in the new house. 

January 13, 1891, the congregation decided to observe 
single mode of feet washing. 

Then, in 1894, over in Buck's Valley in Fulton County, 
the seventh church was erected to meet the needs of the 




The Snake Spring House. 



members in that section. John Crawford, Robert Car- 
son, John Bennett, Peter Mellott, John U. Snyder and 
John B. Fluck were made a committee " to build, pay 
for the church and appoint its own treasurer/' Robert 
Carson was made treasurer. The house was erected the 
following summer. It is a frame structure without 
basement. 

Because of the rapid growth, and needs of the members 
living in the city of Everett, arrangements were made 
(Dec. 16, 1893) for them to complete a separate con- 
gregation. 

It was thought wise to set off the territory south of 
Monroe township, Bedford County, to itself. This was 
done July 17, 1897. The new congregation adopted the 
name Artemas. 

July 16, 1898 the " brethren and sisters were admon- 

144 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



ished to stay away from county fairs and places of 
amusement, lest they fall into the judgment of the 
church." 

The members in the " Cove " felt the need of a house 




Some Members of the Snake Spring Valley Congregation. 



better adapted to their growing work and in 1904 the 
present building was put up. The committee to erect it 
consisted of Solomon Hershberger, Jacob Guyer and 
Calvin Detwiler. It is a substantial, well arranged frame 
building 40 x 60 feet, basement, costing $1,800.00, suit- 



145 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



able to hold lovefeasts. On October 1, 1903, David T. 
Detwiler conducted the dedicatory service. 

Likewise the Cherry Lane members outgrew their 
house, for in 1913 a new one was erected on land given 
by Daniel Snyder, at a more advantageous location than 
where the former house stood. The building committee 
were Aaron Stayer, Elmer Pittman and Andrew Garlick. 
A good frame house, 40 x 60 feet and kitchen 12 x 20 feet 
at the back, was dedicated February 23, 1913. Mahlon 
J. Weaver (using 2 Tim. 2:20 for his text), led in the 
dedicatory exercises. This gave this group of members 
a " lovefeast house " and laid the foundation for future 
growth. In 1924 they were organized into a separate 
congregation. 

To meet the requirements for the Sunday-school the 
Snake Spring house was remodeled at an expense of 
$1,200.00. The changes included two Sunday-school 
rooms at the entrance. On October 26, 1913, the congre- 
gation assembled for a rededication. Mahlon J. Weaver 
led in this dedication, using for his text I Kings 8 : 1 and 
Eph. 2 : 20-22. 

Perhaps there is not another congregation in the 
brotherhood that has such a record of building meeting 
houses as Snake Spring Valley. This is due simply to 
her response to the needs of the several groups in her 
very large territory. 

Bishops presiding: 

Isaac Ritchey, Sr to 1845 Jacob Koons . . . Oct. 22, 1881-'03 

Jacob Snyder 1845-'48 William S. Ritchey 1903-'20 

Without resident bishop. 1848-72 Daniel M. VanHorn, 1920- 
Andrew Snowberger, Sr. 1872-74 March 19, 1923 

Henry Hershberger, 1875- David A. Staver 1923-'24 

March 4, 1877 

The following ministers were elected in the Snake Spring Church : 

Isaac Ritchey Jacob Koontz 1869 

Tacob Snyder, Jr David Clapper 1871 

Jacob Steele William Ritchey 1873 

Andrew Snowberger John Bennett 1876 

Isaac Ritchey, Jr John Baker 1878 

Sylvanus Bennett 1851 John B. Fluck 1879 

Abraham Ritchey 1851 Christian Kniselv 1883 

Henry Clapper 1858 David Snyder .1887 

Henry Hershberger 1863 Solomon Hershberger . . . . . 1895 

146 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Daniel M. VanHorn 1895 Wilson Hoover ... 1907 

Herman Guyer 1908 Roy Hockenberry 

Joseph Snyder 1904 Elmer Butts i912 

Daniel Diebert 1904 Henry Koontz Jan 4 1913 

Alva Shuss 1907 Adam Snyder Jan. 4, 1913 

Edward Hershberger 1907 Dorsey I. Pepple 1917 

Deacons: before 1863, Jacob Snyder, Jr., Henry Snyder, Sr., 
Daniel S. Snyder, Daniel S. Hershberger, John U. Snyder, Daniel 
B Snyder, Daniel Shuss, Philip Wyles, James C. Snyder, Solomon 
Hershberger, George A. Snyder, Joseph F. Snyder, Jacob Hersh- 
berger, John S. Snyder, David Hershberger; Jan. 1, 1863, Daniel K. 
Snyder; April 24, 1887, Jacob Guyer, Daniel Guyer; June 8, 1895, 
Herman Guyer, Samuel Beeler, Andrew Snowberger; October 12, 
1913, Roy Dibert, Albert Claar, Andrew Garlick. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Tradition has it that a Sunday-school was started by Henry 
Hershberger in the first Snake Spring Valley Church, built in 1860. 
This school may have been earlier than the seventies, but after two 
summers, because of opposition it was forced to close. The elder, 
Andrew Snowberger, gave it no encouragement. A little later an- 
other school was opened by George Hershberger in the Valley Mill 
No. 3 school house. In the course of a few months it was trans- 
ferred to the church, but opposition drove it back to the school 
house and finally it was abandoned. 

Under date of August 26, 1878 William Forney makes the follow- 
ing interesting report* of the Snake Spring Sunday-school: "We, 
the brethren, a few in number, met at the Ritchey schoolhouse on 
the 2nd day of June, 1878, and organized by electing Christopher 
Knisely superintendent and George Hershberger assistant superin- 
tendent. Since Brother Knisely failed to attend, Brother Hersh- 
berger has taken the superintendency upon himself, and we think the 
school is in prosperous condition. Our average attendance is about 
forty-five. Our school is opened by singing and praver, after which 
a chapter is read by the school, and then read by the superintendent 
or some one else, and an opportunity given to each and every one 
to ask and answer questions upon the same, than close by singing 
We use the Brethren's hymn books. We are also taking the " Young 
Disciple to distribute among the scholars, and are very much 
pleased with it." 

In 1887 Daniel M. Van Horn, then a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, started a Sunday-school in Valley Mill No. 3 
school house. After it was conducted for two years it was ad- 
mitted into the Snake Spring house and fostered by the congrega- 
tion. Simon Mixel, its first superintendent, was elected by the con- 
gregation. In 1898 the school represented at the convention and re- 
ported enrollment, 110; average attendance, 77; raised $8.50 for 
supplies for the school; continued seven months of the year. In 
1904 it had an average attendance of 62; eight teachers; raised 

* See Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1878, p. 622. 

147 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



$26.07, of which amount $6.50 was given to missions or charitable 
purposes, and twenty-one of the scholars were received into the 
church bv baptism. The school became " evergreen " in 1912. 

Superintendents: 1870, Henry Hershberger ; 1878, George Hersh- 
berger; 1887, Daniel M. Van Horn; 1889, Simon Mixel, Solomon 
Hershberger; 1897-'00, Joseph F. Snyder; 1901, not known; 1902- , 03, 
Isaac Snvder; 1904, E. Tvson Price; 1905, not known; 1906, Howard 
Hershberger; 1907, E. Tyson Price; 1908, Theodore Steele; 
1909-'ll, Dorsey I. Pepple ; 1911-'12, Adam A. Snyder; 1912-'16, 
Albert S. Ritchey; 1916-'22, Alva Shuss ; 1922-'25, Clayton Z. Diehl. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

This society began first in the Willing Workers Sunday-school 
class of the Snake Spring Valley Sunday-school, consisting of young 
married women and girls. On April 25, 1921, the congregation 
recognized the society and it was organized by electing Mrs. Sara 
Cowen, president; Miss Minnie Snyder, secretary and Mrs. Adam 
Snyder, treasurer. The presidents have been : 

Mrs. Sara Cowan, till January 1, 1922; Mrs. John Snyder, till 
January 1, 1925. 

The total of the Society's efforts, in general terms, are the fol- 
lowing : 

Equipment for the church, such as baptismal suit etc., $10.00; 
Home Mission, $20.00; Green County, Virginia, Home, $20.00. 



DUNNINGS CREEK* 

Present Membership, 99. 

The foot-hill country of St. Clair and Napier Town- 
ships, Bedford County, on the eastern slope of the Alle- 
gheny Mountain is the territory, twelve miles east and 
west and twenty-five miles north and south, which this 
congregation assigned to itself even though its north and 
south lines do not touch boundaries of other congrega- 
tions of the Brethren. Because Early Yellow Creek (now 
New Enterprise) extended to the Allegheny Mountain on 
the west, this was a part of that congregation. 

When, on April 1, 1841, George M. Holsinger, a deacon 
and George Stull, lay-member, moved from Morrison's 
Cove to Dunnings Creek, they found John Garber, a min- 
ister too timid to preach, and some half dozen members 
already located. Whence these came is not known. 

* To Blough's History of Western Pennsylvania Churches, — Dunning' s Creek, 
and to Thomas B. Mickle, the reader is indented for most of the information in 
this sketch. 

148 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Others moved in shortly and a nucleus for a preaching 
place was formed. 

The little group went to work, too. About 1843, George 
M. Holsinger and Moses Rogers were called to the min- 
istry and perhaps Robert Callahan, Senior, was made 
deacon. Then a friend, Christian Mock whose wife was 
a member, gave three-quarters of an acre on the Layton 
road about two miles from Pleasantville as a building 




:*rttpf 






H\L^t ***': 



#' 






The Mock Church,, erected in 1843 or '44. 

site for a church and in 1844 the little group had com- 
pleted the log house which is still standing and known 
as Mock Church. At the dedication Leonard Furry 
spoke. The members were much encouraged. While 
their ministers were young and inexperienced in the min- 
istry, much of the preaching was done by Martin Miller, 
Christian Long and others. But because these spoke in 
the German and were not readily understood, the congre- 
gation invited ministers from the Conemaugh congrega- 
tion near Johnstown to come over and speak to the people 
in the English. It is related with justifiable pride that 
such brethren as Levi Roberts, nearly seventy years old 
and Peter Lutz, much younger, did not shrink from 
walking the twenty miles over that Allegheny Mountain 



149 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

to hold three services over a week-end. Also that every 
four weeks John Mineely, though crippled, would endure 
the horseback ride to render a like service. 

Because of isolation the little group, through the years, 
had been holding its own council meetings and lovefeasts 
in barns. The year 1870 marked a great turn in the life 
of the church. For in that year they built a " lovefeast 
house," meaning one with a kitchen and necessary con- 
veniences for holding the agape. It is known as the Hol- 




Tiie Holsinger House. 

singer house, located on the Fyock road leading across 
the Allegheny to Rummel. The house is 40 x 50 feet, 
cost the congregation about $500.00, and was dedicated 
in November, 1870. Henry Clapper preached the dedi- 
catory sermon. 

Following up the enthusiasm which the new house 
gave, the congregation now numbering fifty decided to 
organize and did so on January 15, 1871. First it or- 
dained John S. Holsinger and then chose him as elder. 
He was thereby the first resident elder in the territory. 
It also elected Thomas Holsinger, treasurer. Gideon 
Rogers was a minister in the second degree and John B. 
Miller in the first. 

Though on the eastern slope of the Allegheny Moun- 
tain, the new congregation was so much nearer the large 



150 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

body of members in and around Johnstown that by the 
consent of both districts it was transferred, about 1874, to 
the Western district of Pennsylvania. 

According to the " Record of the Faithful,'' * this con- 
gregation was a part of Western District of Pennsyl- 
vania. It was organized in 1871 with 50 members. It 
had two church houses. John S. Holsinger was bishop ; 
George Rogers was in the second and John B. Miller in 
the first degree of the ministry. 

The internal growth of the congregation during the 
following years is an interesting study. The members, 
somewhat scattered, wanted places of worship " near 




Ministers Who Have Served in Dunnings Creek. 

Left to right: Levi Rogers, Abraham Fyock, George H. Miller, and 

Thomas B. Mickle. 



home." Thus it came about that a house, 30x40 feet, 
was erected at Point. On September 20, 1893, the house 
was dedicated, John B. Fluck and Michael Claar con- 
ducting the service. These brethren had been conduct- 
ing a revival meeting in the house, beginning August 14.t 
Then, in 1905, a house, 36 x 50 feet, costing $3,600.00', 
was erected in New Paris. This was dedicated on De- 
cember 30, 1905. Brother William J. Swigart preached 

* Published by Howard Miller in 1882. 

f Gospel Messenger, 1893, p. 636. Report of John B. Miller. 

151 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



in the morning, using for his text Hebrew 10 : 25. In the 
evening Charles B. Smith preached. 

In 1916 this congregation transferred its membership 
from the Western to the Middle District of Pennsylvania. 




The New Paris Church. 



Bishops presiding : 

John S. Holsinger Jan. 15, 1871 

John B. Miller 1893 

Levi Rogers 1912 

Abram Fyock moved in 1915 

Thomas B. Mickle 1917 

Ministers : 

George M. Holsinger about 1843 

Moses Rogers about 1843 

John S. Holsinger about 1850 

John B. Furry 1858 

Gideon Rogers Jan. 2, 1864 

John Rogers Jan. 2, 1864 

Christ S. Holsinger Jan. 15, 1875 

Levi Rogers June 13, 1885 

George H. Miller Sep. 7, 1894 

Thomas B. Mickle March 16, 1901 

Oliver S. Corle March 16, 1901 

George W. Rogers Jan. 27, 1918 

152 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Deacons : about 1843, Robert Callahan, Sr. ; about 1850, Thomas S. 
Holsinger; 1858, John Rogers; August 26, 1865, Joseph Holsinger, 
John B. Miller; January 15, 1871, George Callahan, Christian S. 
Holsinger; 1875, Archibald Wissinger, Albert Blackburn; June 13. 
1885, Henry Wentz, Robert Callahan, Elias Snowberger ; June 23, 
1889, David B. Rouser, Michael S. Miller; March 16, 1901, James 
C. Smith, Samuel L. Lappe, Lewis Gordon ; January 27, 1909, An- 
drew D. Rouser, Jesse Smith; October 13, 1913, George Smith, 
William Blackburn; May 14, 1915, Emanuel F. Callahan, Jordan 
Mock. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Holsinger. This school was organized in the Holsinger house, 
date unknown, by electing Gideon Rogers, superintendent; Joseph 
Holsinger, secretary and Thomas Holsinger, treasurer. In 1916 
when this school came under the supervision of the District, it was 
"evergreen," enrollment, 75; average, 47; 8 teachers; raised $24.61. 

Superintendents: 1916, Sewell Rogers; 1917-'08, O. Sherman 
Mock; 1919-'21, John J. Rogers; 1922-'23, Mrs. David L. Miller; 
1924, Ruie Mock. 

New Paris. The school in 1916 reported total enrollment, 25; 
average, 10; 5 teachers; raised $9.00, of which $3.00 went to benevo- 
lences ; conducted nine months of year. 

Superintendents: 1916, Allen Harbaugh; 1917-'18, Andrew D. 
Rowzer; 1919-'20, Allen Harbaugh; 1921, E. D. Weaver; 1922-'24, 
Thomas B. Mickle. 

Point. In 1916, when this school came into the district, it reported 
total enrollment, 27 '; average, 15; 5 teachers; raised $18.48, of which 
$3.00 went to benevolence ; continued nine months of the year. 

Superintendents: 1916-'18, George H. Miller; 1919-'24, Jesse C. 
Smith. 

YELLOW CREEK* 

Present Membership, 200. 

What is now known as the Yellow Creek congrega- 
tion had its beginning in a meeting held about 1830, in 
the home of Samuel and Esther Ritchey Stayer on the 
Lamberson farm in Hopewell Township, a few miles 
from the town of Hopewell. It is probable that brethren 
from New Enterprise or Snake S ! pring Valley conducted 
the services. Seven, one of whom was Jacob Steele, ac- 
cepted Christ. He and Esther Stayer with great zeal and 
persistency held prayer meetings in the homes of mem- 

* To David A. Stayer and Joseph Clapper the reader is indebted for informa- 
tion herein given concerning- this congregation. It is greatly to be regretted that 
records earlier than April 30, 1898, are not available; because of this the history 
of this congregation is not as complete as justly should be given for one as 
old as it is. 

153 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



bers and friends. Soon after Brother Steele was called 

to the ministry; and with the leadership of Henry Clap- 
per the group of members 
increased rapidly. With the 
help of Snake Spring Valley 
members they were able to 
build, in 1862, a good frame 
house, 40 x 70 feet, with base- 
ment, on a plot of ground just 
across the road from the pres- 
ent church site, which lot Jacob 
Steele sold to them. On Janu- 
ary 9, 1872, the group were 
organized into a separate con- 
gregation. The following 
boundary lines were estab- 
lished : on the west Tussey 
Mountain ; on the south the 

Juniata River ; on the east Rays Hill Mountain ; on the 

north the Huntingdon County line. 

Of the membership, Jacob Steele and Henry Clapper 




George and Priscilla Clapper. 

deacon in the Yellow Creek 

Church. 




Yellow Creek Church. 



were ministers ; John Dilling and George Clapper, 
deacons ; Jacob Steele was elected bishop. 

The " Record of the Faithful " * states that this con- 
gregation, under the name Hopewell, was organized in 
1850 with four members. Its first house was erected in 



* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. 

154 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

1850 (? Editor). In 1881-82 it had three houses and a 
membership of 207. Jacob Steele was bishop. Henry 
Clapper, David Clapper, John S. Rush were in the second 
and Samuel Ritchey in the first degree of the ministry. 

The congregation increased in membership, A special 
season of blessing occurred in February, 1887, when fifty- 
three were received into the church by baptism and four 




Bethel Church. 



reclaimed through the ministry of the word of Jesse 
Calvert.* The old house was no longer adequate and it 
was decided to tear down, and build a new church. 
George Steele, John Burket, William Steele, Edward 
Steele, Emanuel Clapper were building committee. The 
present splendid frame house, 40 x 60 feet with kitchen, 
no basement, costing about $2,000.00, was dedicated De- 
cember 31, 1899. William J. Swigart preached the dedi- 
catory sermon, using for his text 2 Chron. 2 : 4. 

As early as 1860, in an old log school house northeast 
of Tatesville along John's branch, preaching was con- 
ducted by such brethren as John Steele, Henry Hersh- 
berger, Henry Clapper, David Clapper, Samuel Ritchie 
and others, because gathered around this centre and lo- 
cated on farms were the families of John K. Bowser, 
George H. Knisely, Levi Brallier, Jeremiah E. Gates, 
John, Jacob Burket and other members. In 1885 the first 
house, a small frame, called Bethel, was built on a plot of 
land bought of Jeremiah E. Gates for $1.00. This house 
served their purpose for nearly twenty years. The 



* Gospel Messenger, March 1, 1887. 



155 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

present house was erected in 1903. Building" committee, 
David A. Stayer, Jeremiah E. Gates, Levi Brallier, 
George Batzel, William Burket. It is a frame structure 
with kitchen in rear, 35 x 50 feet over all and cost about 
$2,000.00. On October 11, 1903, Milton C. Swigart of 
Philadelphia led them in their dedicatory exercises. Of 
the membership of the Yellow Creek congregation of 
which Bethel is a part, this group numbers 125.* 

Bishops who have presided over the congregation with date : 

Jacob Steele, 1872; Henry Clapper, ; George W. Brumbaugh, 

; John S. Rush, ; David A. Stayer. 

Ministers who have been elected or moved in : David S. Clapper, 
; John S. Rush, ; Samuel Ritchie, ; John Bowser, 



George Knisely, ; David A. Stayer, 1891; James H. Morris, 

1902; George E. Batzel, 1907; William Steele, 1907; Joseph H. 
Clapper, 1914; Paul Dilling, 1923. 

Deacons : Up to 1903 the following were elected, but date not 
known : George Clapper, John Dilling, David A. Stayer, John 
Burket, Daniel Snyder, John H. Burket, Samuel Ritchie, John 
Bowser, George Knisely, George E. Steele, Abraham Steele, Isaac 
Steele, Alfred Simmons, Frank Ritchey, Edward B. Steele, John T. 
Burket, Josiah Clapper, William Morris, John Clapper, Jonathan 
Hoover, Emanuel Clapper, Jeremiah E. Gates; 1903, George Batsel, 
William Burket; 1905, Irvin Fluke, Charles Boor; 1906. Harvey 
B. E. Border; 1914, Levi Greenawalt; 1915, William Fluke. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Yellow Creek. Its beginning not known. The school did not 
represent at 1898 convention, but was " evergreen " in 1904; how 
much earlier is not known. In that year it had an average attend- 
ance of 35; had five teachers; raised $30.15, of which $6.97 was 
given to missions or charitable purposes. The superintendents and 
time of service as far as known, are as follows : L. H. Thomas, 

1891; Edward B. Steele, ; William M. Steele, 1904-'07; Joseph 

Clapper, 1907-'18; 1919-'24, Edward P. Steele. 

Bethel. This school was organized in 1886 with Daniel Ritchey, 
superintendent. It was "evergreen" in 1904 and how much earlier 
record is not at hand. In that year it had an average attendance of 
57; seven teachers; raised $21.69, of which $6.69 was given to mis- 
sions or charitable work. In 1908-'09 it had a class of twelve in 
teacher training, seven completing the course. In 1923-'24 twelve 
again enrolled. 

Superintendents, as far as available: 1883, Daniel Ritchie; till 
1903, not known; 1904-'07, Harry Burkett; 1908, George Batzel; 
1909, Harry E. Border; 1910-'ll, Harry Burkett; 1912-'16, Ed- 
ward B. Steele; 1917, William Fluke; 1918, Harry E. Border; 
1919-'20, G. Frank Ritchey; 1921-'24, Harry E. Border. 

* To Levi Greenawalt the reader is indebted for the early history of the 
Bethel group. 

156 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

EVERETT* 

Present Membership, 264. 

The territory east of Tussey Mountain between the 
Juniata River and Tatesville, and extending eastward to 
Rays Hill Mountain, now known as the Everett congre- 
gation, was originally an undivided section of country 
cared for by both Yellow Creek and Snake Spring Val- 
ley congregations. How early members located here is 
not known, but among them were Daniel and Annie 
Ritchey, Mrs. David Karns, Jacob and Phoebe Burket, 
Joseph Snowberger, Joseph and Elizabeth McDaniel, 
Simon Ritchey, Jacob and Lucinda Ritchey. Preaching, 
mostly in Rays Cove, was supplied by both Snake 
Spring Valley and Yellow Creek ministers, among whom 
may be mentioned Henry Hershberger, Jacob Steele, 
Henry Clapper, John S. Rush, David Stayer, Samuel A. 
Moore and William S. Ritchey. Later this work de- 
volved upon David S. Clapper, Alfred T. Simmons, John 
S. Hershberger and George Batzel. 

Ground being donated by Jacob Burket, the Fairview 
house, five miles east from Everett, was erected in 1887 
at a cost of about $500.00. Building committee : William 
Simmons, Jacob Burket and David S. Clapper. Dedica- 
tion day was so stormy that no special service was held.f 
At this place services at stated intervals have been held 
ever since, though the congregation has not increased in 
numbers very greatly. 

In Everett and immediate vicinity the following mem- 
bers were living when on April 1, 1891, David S. and 
Susan Clapper and daughter Laura moved near the north 
borough lines : Benjamin and Susan Mahoney, Lorenzo 
D. Bouser, William and Eliza Simmons, Alfred T. and 
Laura Simmons, Luther and Mary Miller, Joseph and 
Tilitha Crawford, Philip Knisely, John S. Hershberger, 
James Q. Hershberger, Mrs. Margaret Calhoun, Jacob 
and Margaret Lingenfelter. 

Services were greatly desired and no suitable place 
available, seats were placed in David S. Clapper's barn- 

* To John S. Hershberger and Ira A. Holsopple the reader is indebted for in- 
formation of this sketch. 

t This house was erected while the territory belonged to Yellow Creek con- 
gregation. 

157 




Upper: Beginning May, 1891, services were held in David Clapper's barn. 
Second: In 1892, the Temporary Church of Everett. Third: In 1895, the 
first house on the present site. Fourth : The Present Church. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

~— 

floor and beginning with May, 1891, a preaching service 
was held every two weeks. David S. Clapper did most 
of the preaching and spent much time in pastoral work. 
When the barn was needed to store the harvest, the seats 
were moved across the road into Joseph Tates' grove. 
During the summer some ten united with the church by 
baptism. In the early fall John M. Mohler held a series 
of meetings and seven united. The following winter 
a vacated Church house was rented and used. Silas 
Hoover of Somerset County held a revival from October 
21 to 25 and fifteen were added to the membership. The 
next summer (1892) a dwelling vacated at the ore mines 
near Tatesville was bought for $14.00, moved near David 
S. Clapper's home, repaired to make a room 16x24 feet, 
and furnished, — all for $90.00. Here the Everett Sun- 
day-school was organized that same summer; and here 
in the latter part of October, 1892, the first lovefeast was 
held, Conrad G. Lint of Myersdale officiating. 

Though a temporary organization (no record was kept 
of it) seems to have been formed in 1892, it was not until 
December 16, 1893, that a complete one was effected. 
George W. Brumbaugh of Clover Creek was chosen 
bishop ; Alfred Simmons, secretary ; and Lorenzo D. 
Rouser, treasurer. On April 7, 1894, the church sent its 
first delegate, Alfred T. Simmons, to the General Con- 
ference at Myersdale and John S. Hershberger to the 
District Meeting at Woodbury. 

Two years after the organization forty-two members 
had been added. Growth and interest were most marked 
and gratifying. A more commodious house of worship 
was agitated and this crystalized on October 2, 1894, into 
appointing a committee which on New Year's day, 1895, 
recommended the corner of Water and Second Streets 
as a site for the new church. The location was accepted. 
Building committee: William Simmons, Francis Baker, 
John S. Hershberger, Luther Miller, George Burket and 
Alfred T. Simmons. The building 35x50x14 feet, 
brick-veneered, was framed mostly from lumber taken 
from an old planing mill and purchased for $100.00, while 
the brick for the casing was niade and placed in the wall 
by^Jamei Q. and John S: H^shberger for^otfe cent £ach. 
A vestibule 7x10 was built at the front. Seating ca- 

159 




Solomon Hershberger, a minister, and his wife, (above), always had their mem- 
bership and labored in the Snake Spring Valley congregation. The others on 
the page are at present members of the Everett congregation. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



pacity, 350. The cash outlay was $2,244.00. It was dedi- 
cated October 6, 1*895, Martin G. Brumbaugh delivering 
the dedicatory address and using as his text Psalms 
122 : 1. In the evening William J. Swigart spoke from 
Acts 22 : 22. 

Januar}^ 16, 1896, the congregation adopted parlia- 
mentary rules to govern their deliberations in council. 
The following council (March 30) decided to place "two 
small contribution boxes in the back part of the church." 
" Young people's meeting on Sunday evening " was de- 
cided upon (July 16, 1896) "when there was no preach- 
ing in the morning, to secure if possible a greater interest 
in church work by our young members. " 

While Everett from her beginning was recognized as 
a separate congregation, her territorial bounds were not 
fixed until a joint meeting of the Snake Spring Valley 
and Everett congregations was held on July 16, 1896, in 
the Everett house. There " it was decided that the sum- 
mit of Tussey Mountain should be the line to where it 
intersects with the river at the big rock below Mr. Dallas 
station : then the river be the line to the Raystown cross- 
ing (as it was) ; then the turnpike to be the line to the 
summit of Sidling Hill." 

The District Meeting was asked (March 27, 1899) " to 
consider the propriety of owning a tent to be used in 
holding meetings in the summer season in places where 
we have no church house convenient. " 

On July 10, 1899, by consent of Snake Spring Valley 
congregation, Earlston school district, south of the 
Juniata River, was added. 

Growth continued to be most marked and more room 
was needed to meet the demands of the rapidly growing 
Sunday-school. On February 10, 1913, the congregation 
decided to enlarge and remodel its house. 35 x 18 feet 
were added to the rear, 43 x 13.5 feet on the north, and 
an entrance tower on the front corner, 10 x 10 feet. These 
additions provided ten class rooms for Sunday-school, 
four of which, when occasion demands it, can be thrown 
into the main auditorium. The pool that had been con- 
structed in the yard " back of the church " by a decision 
made November 22, 1897, was abandoned and a baptistry 
placed in the house. During the entire time of remodel- 

161 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



ing, services were held regularly in the building. John 
H. Cassady dedicated the remodeled house on August 
24, 1913. 

Through David S. Clapper moving from the congrega- 
tion and Alfred T. Simmons suddenly passing away, the 
burden of leadership from 1895 has rested upon John S. 
Hershberger. The members have stood by him faithfully 
and the congregation never became an expense to the 
District Mission Board. Much ministerial help was re- 
ceived from the students of Juniata College. Among 
them A. Brown Miller, Charles C. Ellis and J. Arthur 
Culler should have special mention. 

Mahlon J. Weaver, as the first pastor, served from 
June, 1912, to January, 1918. On April 1 following, Ira 
C. Holsopple was employed and continues at present in 
the pastorate. 

Bishops presiding : 

George W. Brumbaugh Dec. 16, 1895 

David Stayer May 27, 1899 

John S. Hershberger May 19, 1901 

Minister at the time of organization: David Clapper. 

Ministers elected : 

Alfred T. Simmons Feb. 15, 1894 

John S. Heshberger Aug. 4, 1894 

Alonzo L. Simmons June 5, 1898 

Isaac Ritchey June 4, 1905 

Ministers received by letter : 

John S. Baker, John Clapper, Wiliam Steele, Mahlon J. Weaver, 
Marling J. Maust, Howard S. Hershberger, Roy Hockenberry, 
Dorsey I. Pepple, Ira C. Holsopple. 

Deacons : February 13, 1894, William Morris, Luther Miller, John 
S. Hershberger; November 28, 1895, James Q. Hershberger; June 5, 
1898, Lorenzo D. Rouser, Frederic Burket; January 17, 1900, Wil- 
liam Crawford; November 8, 1903, Willard Clapper, Howard Sim- 
mons; November 26, 1906, John Drenning, Elmer Whetstone; De- 
cember 18, 1912, Wilson Burket; May 5, 1918, Oscar Snyder, Chester 
England; November 23, 1920, Emanuel Barkman, Paul B. Hersh- 
berger; December 16, 1920, John C. Baker, Jacob Lashley and 
Charles Boor were received by letter. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Everett. As soon as the first meeting house was completed in 
1892, Sunday-school was organized. Alfred T. Simmons was the 
first superintendent. At the convention of 1898 it reported on en- 
rollment of 66, average attendance, 46 ; raised $25.06 for home sup- 

162 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



plies; used Brethren's supplies; one scholar received into the church. 
In 1904 its average attendance was 43; teachers 6; raised $45.75, of 
which $14.00 was given to missions and charitable purposes ; 7 were 
received into the church. From the start the school was "ever- 
green." It has maintained a front-line standard during 1912 to 1918 
inclusive and in 1922. Teacher training class has been conducted 
during the years 1908-'18 and 1922-'23 with a total enrollment of 85. 
The average attendance for 1892 was about 35; a vacation church 
school has been held the past four vears, — a decided success. 

Superintendents: 1892, Alfred f. Simmons; 1893-'99, — 

; 1900, Willard L. Clapper; 1901-'03, ; 1904, 

Willard L. Clapper; 1905, ; 1906-'07, Howard W. 

Simmons; 1908-'09, James Q. Hershberger; 1910-'16, William M. 
Steele; 1917-'18, O. G. Snyder; 1919-'20, Paul Hershberger; 
1921-'22, John Drenning; 1923, Chester England; 1924, L. Chester 
England. 

Fainnew. On July 4, 1897, the first Sunday-school was organized 
by John S. Hershberger. He became superintendent and furnished 
the literature for the first quarter. In 1904 it had an enrollment of 
20, average attendance, 14; 3 teachers; raised $10.70, of which $5.80 
was given to missions or charitable work. Because many of the 
leaders moved out of the valley and others died, the school dwindled 
to such small numbers that in 1922 the remaining four scholars were 
transferred to a union school near by. 

Superintendents: 1897, James Q. Hershberger; 1898-'04, 

; 1904-'06, William Crawford; 1907, David Rush; 1908-'10, 

William Crawford; 1911, Harry Foor; 1912-'14, William Crawford; 
1915-'16, Clyde Crawford; 1917-'18, William Crawford; 1919-'22, 
Marshall Foor. 

Mountain Chapel. In the east end of Ray's Cove, about twelve 
miles from Everett, ministers from Everett held meetings at regular 
intervals in the woods near Graceville. George Batzel did some 
very acceptable work here, and in 1916 a Union house was erected. 
An active Union Sunday-school continues here. The pastor from 
Everett preaches every two weeks in the afternoon to a well filled 
house. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Society was first organized in 1904 with Mrs. Dessa Sim- 
mons president and Mrs. Wilson Burket secretary-treasurer. But 
the records for about nine years are lost and nothing further can 
be said until on January 9, 1913, the society organized in the home 
of Mrs. John H. Brumbaugh. Officers : Elizabeth England, presi- 
dent; Martha Drenning, vice-president; Nettie Steele, secretary- 
treasurer. 

Presidents since 1913: 

Mrs. Wilson Burket 1914 Mrs. Nancy Lashlev 1917 

No record 1915 Mrs. Iva Brallier./ 1919 

Mrs. Delia Myers 1916 Mrs. Amy Holsopple 1921 

Besides making garments and quilts, selling books, etc., the society 
has been permitted to make the following cash distributions 
through the year: 

163 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



India Orphanage $130.00 

Mary Quinter Memorial 5.00 

Forward Movement 25.00 

Ping Ting Hospital 30.00 

China Sufferers 55.00 

Church Building Fund 140.00 

Church Furnishings 36.90 

Parsonage Fund 35.00 

Home Missions 10.00 

Old People's Home 5.00 

Bible Department, Juniata 2.00 

Miscellaneous 68.80 



Total $542.70 

RAVEN RUN* 

Present Membership, 95. 

The territory now known as Raven Run was once a 
part of the Hopewell congregation. Just how early 
Samuel Brumbaugh, Martin Hoover and John B. Dilling 
probably first members of the Church of the Brethren to 
locate in these parts is not definitely known. In 1878 
they erected a brick church, 28 x 40, and the little group 
increased in numbers until some ninety lived in the 
Raven Run Valley and around Saxton. November 25, 
1893, they petitioned the mother congregation for sep- 
arate organization which was granted them. They had 
two deacons, John B. Dilling and Jonathan Hoover 
among their number. On December 16, 1893, in the pres- 
ence of George W. Brumbaugh and Henry Clapper, they 
effected an organization as follows : George W'. Brum- 
baugh, elder; George H. Dilling, secretary; Jonathan 
Hoover, treasurer ; Samuel I. Brumbaugh, solicitor. 

The new organization went to work and steadily grew 
in numbers. However, the opportunities for labor in 
Stonerstown were such that a goodly number settled 
there. It was thought best to let this group separate 
and be under the District Mission Board. The dividing 
line is the Henrietta road. This was done January 5, 
19 l 01. Five years later, on May 27, 1906, they gave the 
same grant to Riddlesburg. 

They had need of a new church and on March 10, 1910, 

* To Frederic Hoover the reader is indebted for the information of this sketch. 

164 




The Raven Run Church and Some Members. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



appointed a building committee, — Frederic Hoover, 
David P. Hoover, John P. Ritchey, Samuel I. Brum- 
baugh and Philip Richard, — and during the summer put 
up a good frame house, 35 x 50 feet, basement under one- 
half of it, costing $2,500.00 besides donated labor. On 
December 18, 1910, Charles C. Ellis preached the dedica- 
tory sermon. 




Raven Run Sisters' Aid Society. 

Bishops presiding : 

George W. Brumbaugh Dec. 16, 1893 

John B. Replogle April 7, 1894 

David A. Stayer Sept. 29, 1900 

Ministers elected : 

Samuel I. Brumbaugh Oct. 6, 1894 

Henry H. Brumbaugh May 16, 1903 

Frederick Hoover May 16, 1903 

David P. Hoover Mav 16, 1903 

Andrew Edwards Oct. 30, 1921 

Deacons: Oct. 6, 1894, William Shimer, John Long; Oct. 2, 1897, 
George H. Dilling, Philip Richard; April 5, 1902, Frederic Hoover, 
David Hoover; Jan. 2, 1904, John P. Ritchey, Thomas Lear; July 7, 
1906, Andrew Hoover, Reuben Perrin ; Jan. 2, 1909, Berzy Miller; 
Oct. 30, 1921, Joseph Wyles, Robert Miller. 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

As near as can be ascertained, the Raven Run Sunday-school be- 
gan in 1885. The school did not report to the convention of 1896, 
but in 1904 reported enrollment, 120; average, 45; five teachers; 
raised $36.64, of which $16.46 went to missions; " evergreen." The 

166 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

school had teacher training classes during 1908-1909, 1914-1916; 
in all a total enrollment of 25. 

Superintendents : Before 1904, no record ; 1904, Frederic Hoover ; 
1905, no record; 1906-'07, Philip Richards; 1908, Frederic Hoover; 
1909, Philip Richards; 1910, Frederic Hoover; 1911, Philip Rich- 
ards; 1912, Burzy Miller; 1913, Jonathan Hoover; 1914-'18, Frederic 
Hoover; 1919-'20, Mrs. Sadie Reed; 1921-'22, Andrew E. Edward; 
1923-'24, David Lewis. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The first organization occurred, April 5, 1903, with the following 
officers : Sadie Reed, president ; Irene Reed, secretary ; Dessa 
Hoover, treasurer. In all seventeen members enrolled. Their work 
consisted mainly in making prayer coverings and quilting. In 1909 
the society discontinued its organization ; but in 1914 a new one 
was formed with Lizzie Brumbaugh, president; Addie Ritchey, sec- 
retary; and Catherine Long, treasurer. This time the enrollment 
was ten. Their average attendance (for they meet weekly) was six 
for 1923. To the sewing and quilting they added scrubbing school 
houses. Thus in 1923 they made $184.04, which amount was given 
to help pay for the erection of the new church. The present or- 
ganization is : Addie Ritchey, president ; Lizzie Weimert, secretary 
and Kate Reed, treasurer. 

STONERSTOWN* 

Present Membership, 235. 

Some time before 1880, Susan Kelly, from Yellow 
Creek, and Mary Fockler, from the Woodbury congrega- 
tions, located in Stonerstown and thereby became the 
first members in the territory now known as Stoners- 
town, but then a part of the Raven Run congregation. 
Following these sisters were Rebekah Smouse, Hannah 
White, Mary Smith, and Catherine (Mrs. Samuel B.) 
Ritchey, the last named moving into the community in 
1883. These members were supplied with spiritual food 
through the ministrations of George W. Brumbaugh, 
John B. Fluck, David Clapper and Samuel Ritchey from 
time to time. An old Lutheran church was rented and 
in 1893 Silas Hoover held the first revival meeting. Late 
in the next year the Raven Run congregation bought the 
Lutheran house and took possession in their own right, 
January, 1895. Several series of meetings were held by 
Walter S. Long, but not till 1897 was there a confession, 

* To John P. Harris the reader is indebted for the information of this sketch. 

167 




The Stonerstown Church: Its Pastor. Group, beginning at left: Mrs. S. B. 
Ritchey, Mrs. Eliza Brumbaugh, George Dilling, Mrs. George Dilling, 

Mrs. Mary Smith. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Mary Metsger being baptized. William I. Book, Prin- 
cipal of the Stonerstown High School during 1898-'99, 
preached regularly for this mission and part of the time 
for the Raven Run congregation. The work progressed 
steadily and on May 26, 1901, the group of believers, — 
namely : Mr. and Mrs. George H. Billing, Mrs. Samuel 
B. Ritchey, Mary Smith, Eliza Brumbaugh, Mr. and Mrs. 
Thomas Lear, Hannah White, Mrs. Fockler and Carrie 
and Anna Putt, — were organized into the Stonerstown 
mission. John B. Brumbaugh of Huntingdon (Pa.) 
preached for them and, the following year, was chosen 
bishop, which position he held till his death, in 1922. 
In this same year Milton C. Swigart conducted a re- 
vival, and thirteen were added to the church. Samuel 
B. Ritchey, James F. Gates, James Fink and later Mrs. 
Margaret Fulton and Mrs. Samuel F. Harclerode were 
appointed to draft a plan for doing certain charitable 
work. The results of their labors were decidedly favor- 
able to the little body. 

Harvey S. Spanogle, in a series of meetings in 1914, re- 
ceived forty-three into membership. This was a great 
impetus to the work. At once it was realized that " the 
old church house was worn out and too small to accom- 
modate the growing congregation. . . . The members 
there are not wealthy, but they had a mind to build such 
a house as was needed, and as would honor the Lord." 
The new building is 43 x 64 feet, brick veneered, base- 
ment and a number of rooms for Sunday-school pur- 
poses ; a splendid auditorium ; steam heated, electric 
lighted, baptistry behind the pulpit, — the entire costing, 
$8,495.00. " It is a model of neatness and simplicity. 
Much credit is due to Brother Harris, the pastor, who 
carefully managed every detail, and worked hard." 
George W. Flory of Covington, Ohio led in the dedica- 
tion services, speaking morning, afternoon and evening. 
He had also spoken on Friday and Saturday evening be- 
fore. At the dedication $5,000.00 " was raised in a quiet 
way. No public demonstration was made of the 
donors." * Under John P. Harris' faithful and untiring 
efforts the congregation grew rapidly. In December, 

* From John B. Brumbaugh's report of the dedication in the Gospel Messenger, 
1916, p. 606. 

169 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

1917, he held his first series of meetings, when thirty-two 
were added to the church. 

Bishops presiding : 

John B. Brumbaugh 1902 to 1922 

John P. Harris since 1922 

Pastors and date each one began: 

William A. Gaunt March 27, 1907 

Herman B. Heisey Sept. 30, 1911 

Charles O. Beery 1913 

John P. Harris since Jan. 21, 1915 

Roy X. Wilson, as minister, moved into the congregation. 

Deacons elected: December 24, 1906, James F. Gates, Thomas S. 
Foreman; July 16, 1922, Samuel B. Ritchey, Daniel M. Brumbaugh, 
Charles C. Stapleton, William B. Dilling. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

On April 1, 1895, the school was organized in the church bought 
of the Lutherans, with Samuel A. Moore, superintendent. Members 
of other denominations helped and the school grew. Since 1903 it 
has been "evergreen." In 1904 it reported enrollment, 100; aver- 
age, 69; eight teachers; raised $42.89, of which $17.32 went to mis- 
sions and charity; two conversions; teachers meeting. It has had 
teacher training classes during 1907, 1919-'21 and thirty have re- 
ceived first year certificates. 

Superintendents: April 1, 1895, Samuel A. Moore; 1896-'05, 
George H. Dilling; 1906-'09, Thomas S. Foreman; 1910, George H. 
Dilling; 1911-'12, Thomas S. Foreman; 1913, George H. Dilling; 
1914-'16, J. Ambrose Ritchey; 1917, Thomas S. Foreman; 1918, E. 
Paul Dilling; 1919-'23, Roy X. Wilson; 1924, William B. Dilling.. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

As early as April 25, 1906, the Aid Society was active and a meet- 
ing of that date shows the following charter members: Mrs. Cath- 
arine Replogle Hawn, Mrs. Rosa Rice, Mrs. Nancy Dilling, Mrs. 
Catharine Ritchey, Mrs. Lizzie Foreman, Mrs. Hannah Fink, Mrs. 
Mary Smith, Mrs. Maggie Fockler, Mrs. Thomas Kelley, Dessa P. 
Ritchey, Iva M. Ritchey, Stella M. Ritchey, Bertha Dilling, Cath- 
arine Dilling, Elizabeth Dilling, Ruth Negley, Ella Hoover, Grace 
Hoover, Minnie Smith, Ola Foreman, Lydia Kensinger, Veda 
Troutman, and Barbara Detwiler. 

It is supposed that Mrs. Catharine Replogle Hawn was president 
until 1908, when organization as follows, the earliest record found, 
was effected: Mrs. Sadie V. Long, president; Mrs. George H. Dill- 
ing, vice-president; Mrs. Bertha Troutman, secretary. On March 
16, 1911, new officers elected: Mrs. George H. Dilling, president; 
Mrs. Thomas H. Foreman, vice-president ; Iva M. Ritchey, secretary, 
and it is probable that this organization continued until about six 
years. 

During the foregoing period the society met about twenty times 

170 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

a year, made many, many garments as shown by the records of a 
few of the years and raised in seven of the eleven years for which 
record is found, cash $166.02. 

Then, on April 19, 1917, the following officers were elected: Mrs. 
Eva Putt, president; Mrs. Nancy Dilling, secretary; Mrs. Catharine 
Ritchey, treasurer. Mrs. Eva Putt has served as president since. 
A total of $1,018.78 has been made by quilting, offerings and sales. 
The greater part has been applied to their own church needs but a 
portion has been sent to missions at home and abroad. 

RIDDLESBURG* 

Present Membership, 95. 

Riddlesburg originally was a part of the Raven Run 
congregation. Through the efforts of Thomas C. Lear, 
Charles O. Berry held a two weeks' meeting in the 
Knights of the Golden Eagle Hall during April, 1906, and 
seven were added to the church. This now made a mem- 
bership of twelve, representing six families in Riddles- 
burg and Defiance. 

Weekly prayer-meetings in the homes began at once, 
and a request was sent to Raven Run to have regular 
preaching services. But the parent church was very lim- 
ited in ministerial help and on May 27, 1906, decided to 
give up the Riddlesburg territory and place it under the 
District Mission Board as a mission point. William A. 
Gaunt, to whom the congregation owes much for his un- 
tiring efforts in soliciting funds for the church house as 
well as preaching regularly for four years, held meetings 
in the homes of Christian Oaks, Thomas C. Lear and 
Melvin Reed. In the spring of 1907 the Mission Board 
gave permission to the group to go ahead and arrange 
to build. 

On July 14, 1907, William A. Gaunt presiding, Riddles- 
burg was properly organized into a church. The follow- 
ing were charter members : John W. Lear, Mrs. John W. 
Lear, Christian Oaks, Mrs. Emily Oaks, Mrs. Jacob 
Oaks, Mrs. Wilmer Oaks, Mrs. Melvin Reed, Mrs. Nim- 
rod Guthridge, Sr., Mrs. William Banks, J. Noble Cogan, 
David Brumbaugh, Henry H. Brumbaugh, Thomas C. 
Lear, and Mrs. Thomas C. Lear. 

The new congregation elected John B. Brumbaugh, 

* To Henry H. Brumbaugh all are indebted for the information herein given 
of this congregation. 

171 




The Riddlesburg Church and Some Members. 

Beginning at top : Mr. and Mrs. John W. Brumbaugh. Left : Mr. and Mrs. Chris- 
tian Oaks and Charles E. Brumbaugh. Right: Mr. and Mrs. Thomas C. Lear, 
Mrs. Emily Oaks. Below : J. N. Cogan and Shannon Weyant. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

bishop ; J. Noble Cogan, secretary-treasurer, and John W. 
Lear, solicitor. 

At a meeting held in Christian Oaks' home in April, 
1907, William A. Gaunt, Henry H. Brumbaugh and 
Thomas C. Lear were appointed building committee. 
Members and friends took a deep interest in putting up 
the new church, a brick-veneered building, 35 x 50 feet, 
11-foot ceiling, tower 10 x 11 feet, providing a good as- 
sembly room and two Sunday-school rooms and costing 
$2,975.00. On September 13, 1908, the church was dedi- 
cated. Frank F. Holsopple of Juniata College spoke in 
the morning, text, Joshua 4: 6, and in the afternoon, text, 
2 Peter 3 : 9. In the evening John B. Brumbaugh, text, 
1 Peter 1:3. 




Officers of Riddlesburg Sisters' Aid Society. 
From left : Mrs. Wilmer Oaks, Secretary ; Mrs. Jacob Oaks, Treasurer ; 

and Mrs. John Oaks, President. 



Bishops presiding : 

John B. Brumbaugh May, 1907 

William A. Gaunt Jan., 1909 

John B. Miller Sep., 1913 

Henry H. Brumbaugh Jan., 1918 

John P. Harris since Jan., 1919 

Pastors : 

William A. Gaunt July 14, 1907 

Herman E. Heisey Jan. 1, 1912 

John B. Miller Feb., 1914 

173 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

John P. Harris since Jan. 1 , 191 5 

Charles O. Beery Sep. 7, 1915 

Deacons: by letter, Thomas C. Lear; Aug. 20, 1911, J. Noble 
Cogan, Christian Oaks; Feb. 18, 1917, John W. Brumbaugh; July 
23, 1922, Shannon Weyant, Chales E. Brumbaugh. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school was first organized in the new church house 
on October 1, 1908. Henry H. Brumbaugh was elected superin- 
tendent; Thomas C. Lear, assistant superintendent; J. Noble Cogan, 
secretary; Irene Reed, treasurer. From the beginning the school 
has been " evergreen." The average attendance for 1911 was 35; 
for 1923 it was 61. During the years 1916 to present time it has 
maintained a teacher training class and nine have received first year 
certificates. Present class, twelve enrolled; teacher, Burzey Miller. 

Superintendents: 1908-'21, Henry H. Brumbaugh; 1922-'24, Shan- 
non Weyant. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The society met first in the home of Mrs. Christian Oaks on 
January 1, 1910, with the following members present: Mrs. Jacob 
Oaks, Mrs. Samuel Harclerrode, Mrs. Wilmer Oaks, Mrs. John 
Oaks, Mrs. John Lear, Mrs. Henr H. Brumbaugh and Mrs. J. N. 
Cogan. 

Organization: Mrs. John Oaks, president; Mrs. Samuel Harcler- 
rode, secretary; Mrs. Wilmer Oaks, treasurer. Mrs. John Oaks 
has been president from the beginning. 

The society has not been as active as it might have been, but it 
has been able to raise funds to the amount of $1,500.00, or more, 
since its organization, most of which has been paid out on the 
church debt, for repairs and improvements on the church, and for 
installing electric light in the church. 

ARTEMAS* 

Present Membership, 95. 

Probably about the time of the Revolutionary War 
Joseph and Rachael Bennett located in Southampton 
township, Bedford county (Pa.), and became the first 
settlers of the Church of the Brethren in these parts. 
Joseph's will, on record in Bedford, has an introduction 
" rather lengthy but of a decided religious tone." f 
Joseph died in 1815, his wife later. They had two sons, 
Robert and John who remained in the county and two 

' r To John Bennett the reader is indebted for information given concerning 
this congregation,. 

t In a letter dated Sept. 10, 1924, John Bennett says: "I went to Bedford and 
examined the will of the original Joseph Bennett." 

174 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

— ■ - - 

who went to the " far west " in Ohio. The children of 
Robert Bennett were Sylvanus, Charles, Artemas, 
Daniel, Freelove, Celia and Edith, — all of whom except 
Artemas and Edith were members of the Church of the 
Brethren. What spiritual ministries these early mem- 
bers enjoyed is not known but it was meagre at the most. 
Sylvanus and his wife Sarah were active in church work 
as opportunity permitted as early as 1840, and about 1850 
were joined by Abraham Ritchey and his wife Elizabeth 
who moved in from Snake Spring Valley. These two 
families of members became the nucleus for the church 
now occupying the southern part of Bedford and Fulton 
Counties to the Maryland lines. This the present terri- 
tory of the now known Artemas congregation was a part 
of the Snake Spring Valley congregation and by them 
known as the Southampton Church, until 1892 when the 
name was changed to Artemas. Jacob Steele and Henry 
Clapper were among the more frequent ones who came 
from the north and preached the Word. In 1851 a love- 
feast, probably the first in these parts, was held in Abra- 
ham Ritchey's house. On this occasion Abraham Ritchey 
and Sylvanus Bennett were called to the ministry. The 
latter was very active and extended his efforts into 
Fulton and Franklin Counties ; but his labors were ab- 
ruptly ended by death in 1855. Abraham Ritchey con- 
tinued the work with some zeal till 1866 when he and 
his family moved to Illinois. Through this removal but 
seven members were left and the ministry of the Word 
ceased among them for a season. Then an occasional 
visit was made by such brethren as Andrew Snowberger, 
Leonard Furry, Samuel A. Moore, Henry Clapper, Henry 
Hershberger and others. On one such trip Leonard 
Furry, probably in 1872, induced Israel M. Bennett to 
subscribe for The Pilgrim, Its messages had a strong in- 
fluence in leading him to unite with the church and to his 
death he was an ardent reader of the Church's literature. 
In June, 1874 Israel M. Bennett and his son John, the 
latter now residing at Artemas, united with the church. 
Meetings became more frequent, interest was aroused 
and members were steadily added to the little group of 
believers. The second lovefeast was held in Israel M. 
Bennett's barn in June, 1876. At this meeting he and 

175 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Zachariah A. Shaffer were made deacons while the son, 
John Bennett, was called to the ministry. 

From the home, to the school house called " Forks of 
the Creek' at Artemas, the place of worship was shifted, 
Through some prejudice later, the school building was 
denied the members and this started an agitation for a 
house of worship. In 1879 their longings were gratified 
when, in October, the members and friends of the com- 
munity gathered to dedicate the first church house of 




The Artemas Church. 



the Brethren in these parts, located at Artemas.* The 
minutes of a meeting of the congregation in the Snake 
Spring house, October 25, 1879, runs thus : " South- 
ampton lovefeast granted in two weeks from next Friday 
at 10 o'colck." This means that on Friday, November 
14, 1879 the first lovefeast in the new church and in this 
part of the country was held. 

Jacob Koontz being present, on July 31, 1897, the mem- 
bers of this section were organized into a separate con- 
gregation and took the name of Artemas. The charter 
members were: Minister, John Bennett; Deacons, Peter 
Malotte and Albert Deneen ; Lay-members, Susannah 
Bennett, Charlotte Roberts, Espy J. Bennett, Annie C. 

* See under Snake Spring congregation for fuller account of this house. 

176 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Bennett, Eliza J. Diehl, Jacob Kern and wife Phoebe, 
Abraham B. Bennett and wife Alcinda, Nancy L. Ben- 
nett, Edith B. Bennett, Jacob H. Lashley and wife Nancy, 
and possibly a few others. Organization : Jacob Koontz, 
elder; Nancy Lashley, secretary; Edith B. Bennett, 
treasurer. 

All went well for nearly a decade when a reverse came 
that tried the metal of the little group of believers. The 
season was very dry in 1908, and from a threshing engine 
operating about 100 feet away the wind carried a spark 
to the church roof on June 27, and it was burned to the 
ground. They decided to rebuild, — what else could they 
do since they enjoyed fellowship in the church so much? 
Building committee: Espy J. Bennett, William H. 
Sowers, Jacob H. Lashley, David Bowman, Edgar J. 
Bennett and John Bennett. A new house on the old 
foundation was dedicated, September 12, 1909 ; William J. 
Siwigart conducted the dedicatory service, using for his 
text, Rev. 22 : 9. 

FAIRVIEW 

(The postoffice now called Amaranth, a part of Ar- 
temas congregation, about twelve miles northeast.) 

The Snake Spring Valley Brethren in the early eighties 
began to preach in Whip's Cove and Buck's Valley, their 
labors centering around the McKibbin school house. A 
number united with the church ; services have been held 
regularly ever since, even when the work of the ministry 
fell into the hands of a very busy man, John Bennett. 
In 1895 a church house was erected, John Bennett 
preaching the dedicatory sermon. 

GLENDALE 

(A part of Artemas congregation, about thirteen miles 
to the southwest.) 

In 1910 James W. Bible and Benjamin Y. S. Teeter, 
two ministers from the Seneca and North Fork congrega- 
tions of West Virginia, with their families and some 
other members, located near Flintstone. Among other 
names may be mentioned Henry C. Mallow, Isaac Miller, 
Enoch Vanmeter, Pearl Ault and Mary Dolly. Through 
the preaching of the Word a number were added to the 
church and the work grew steadily to the point where 

177 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



they felt they needed a house of worship. Through the 
aid of the General Mission Board, to the amount of 
$1,500.00, and the District Mission Board of Middle Penn- 
sylvania a house costing $4,000.00 was erected, one quar- 
ter of a mile from Flintstone. On June 28, 1922, it was 
dedicated, John H. Cassady preaching the dedicatory ser- 
mon. This was followed with a revival during which 
eighteen united with the church. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Artcmas. As early as 1872, Sunday-school was organized with a 
Mr. Stoner as superintendent for a while and then Emeline Shaffer. 
At the 1898 convention it reported enrollment, 96; average, 53; 
raised $8.00 for home supplies; five received into the church. In 
1904 the average had dropped to 37 and $4.77 was raised for home 
purposes. The school did not become " evergreen " until 1922. 
Superintendents: 1872, Mrs. Emeline Shaffer; 1880, Truman Tewell; 
1882, Amos R. Elbin; 1884-1912, John Bennett; 1913, Alvah S. 
Brumbaugh; 1914-1924, Mrs. Alva Brumbaugh. 

Fairvicw (also known as Buck Valley). This school was orig- 
inally a " Union " school, organized in 1896 with Samuel Straitiff 
superintendent. Members of the Church of the Brethren located in 
the community until it came under their entire control. Superin- 
tendents as far as known: About 1877, Joseph Miller; 1879, George 
Miller; two summers, Peter Malotte ; about 1882, William Potter; 
1885, Daniel Malotte; several summers, Lewis H. Cornell; 1890- 
1892, Samuel Straitiff; 1892-1904, not known; 1904, Peter Malotte; 

1905, ; 1906-'07, Lewis H. Cornell; 1908-'10, Peter 

Malotte; 1911, Lewis H. Cornell; 1912-'13, Peter Malotte; 1914-'19, 
Lewis H. Cornell; 1920-'22, George Carson; 1923, Lewis H. Rich- 
ards; 1924, Lewis H. Cornell. 

Glendale. Organized April 1, 1922. Officers: Benjamin Y. S. 
Teeter, superintendent; Blaine Teeter, secretary; Harry C. Mallow, 
treasurer. Later Harry C. Mallow bcame superintendent and 
continues. 

KOONTZ* 

Present Membership, 130. 

This congregation is located in the southern extremity 
of Morrison's Cove and though separated from the main 
body by a mountain, up until 1922 it remained a part of 
the Snake Spring Valley church and under that head 
may be found the account of erecting its church house in 
1865 and rebuilding the same in 1903. 

Of its beginning this is known. About 1826 John 

* To Herman S. Guyer the reader is indebted for most of the information in 
this sketch. 

178 




Some Early Members of the Koontz Church. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Koontz bought the farm on which the present church 
house stands. Within another decade, John Snyder, 
deacon, and Peter Baker located in the community. To 
these early brethren settlers may be added, though com- 
ing later, John Teeter, David Stayer, Jacob Guyer, John 
H. Miller and Henry Miller. 

At first Isaac Ritchey and Andrew Snowberger came 
across the mountain and supplied spiritual food at far- 
apart intervals. In 1865 when Jacob Koontz was called 
to the ministry, the members had their first resident min- 
ister. Then in 1879 John B. Fluck, being made a minis- 
ter, in a very capable way added to the resident minis- 
terial force. Of course the ministers from Snake Spring 
Valley congregation continued to come and assist, and 
the group enjoyed a steady growth through the years. 

In the fall of 1908 they held their lovefeast, John Ben- 
nett officiating. Because of their isolation from the main 
body and the advantages accruing, the members living 
about the Koontz house were organized separately, on 
April 29, 1922. David T. Detwiler and David A. Stayer 
assisted in the organization. Officers : Herman Guyer, 
elder; Cyrus Bechtel, secretary; Charles Detwiler, 
treasurer. 

Charter members : 

Ministers : Herman Guyer, Henry Koontz, Elmer Butts, Tobias 
Henry, Howard Hershberger. 

Deacons : Howard Beach, Josiah Clapper, Charles Detwiler, 
Daniel Guyer, Calvin Hetrick, William Snyder, Harvey Snyder. 

Lay-members, 99. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

This was first organized about 1875, in the 
Koontz Church, with John Rush as superin- 
tendent. The school, however, for some rea- 
son, did not represent at the 1876 or 1878 
conventions, so no record is preserved of this 
early beginning. To the 1898 convention this 
school reported average attendance, 60 ; $5.70 
raised for home supplies ; conducted six 
months. In 1904, average attendance, 39; seven 
teachers ; raised $30.82, of which $22.97 went 
for missions and charity; "evergreen"; eight 
conversions. A frontline standard and teacher 
training class were maintained 1916-'22, seven 
Russel Snyder received first year certificates. Two of the 

Superintendent four organized classes have formed a Young 




180 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



People's Meeting and well-directed week-day activities are being 
accomplished. During 1924 it had a good vacation Bible School. 

Superintendents: 1875, John Rush; 1878, Daniel Guyer; 1894, Her- 
man Guyer; 1903-'05, Daniel S. Guyer; 1906, Herman S. Guyer; 1907, 
Daniel S. Guyer; 1908, Herman S. Guyer; 1909-'ll; Daniel S. Guyer; 
1912, Henry S. Koontz; 1913, Josiah Clapper; 1914-'15; Daniel S. 
Guyer; 1916-'17, Oscar A. Beach; 1918, Howard Steele; 1919-'20, 
Levi Clapper; 1921, Tobias Henry; 1922-'24, Russel Snyder. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Sisters' Aid Society was first organized in the home of Josiah 
Clapper on October 23, 1912. Charter members : Elizabeth Hoover, 
Maggie Baker, Laura Guyer, Alice David, Lillie Koontz, Clara 
Snyder, Annie Guyer, Annie Clapper, Minnie Grubb, Hannah Guyer, 
Mollie Koontz, Minnie Bechtel, Theda Baker. 

Organization : President, Alice Davis ; secretary, Laura Guyer ; 
treasurer, Annie Clapper. Presidents: 1912-17, Alice Davis ; 1918-'19, 
Minnie Bechtel; 1920-24, Alice Davis. 

By means of the needle the society has made, money and given to 
home work, $75.00; to district work, $5.00; to support of orphan in 
India, $275.00 ; to relief work, $2.00. 



CHERRY LANE 



* 



On May 10, 1924, the members residing around the 
Cherry Lane house, fostered and developed by the Snake 
Spring congregation of which it was a part, were organ- 
ized into a separate congregation. Daniel Maddocks pre- 
sided at this organization and was assisted by David T. 
Detwiler, David A. Stayer, John S. Hershberger and Ira 
C. Holsopple. The new congregation took the name 
Cherry Lane and organized with the following officers : 
Ira C. Holsopple, bishop ; Mrs. Lena Sollenberger, secre- 
tary ; Daniel G. Koontz, treasurer. The new congrega- 
tion consisted of the following: Ministers, Daniel W. 
Dibert and Emanuel Koontz ; deacons, Roy F. Dibert, 
Albert Khlare, Andrew Garlick, Daniel Koontz, Samuel 
Ritchey, Job Harmon, Jacob Sollenberger and Roy Ben- 
nett. Lay-members, 84. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

In the report of Sunday-schools made to the convention held in 
1898, Cherry Lane is not mentioned. For the year ending Decem- 
ber 31, 1901, the next available report which appears in the District 
Meeting Minutes of 1902 Cherry Lane reported as follows: Enroll- 

* For the information of this sketch the reader is indebted to Emanuel G. 
Koones. 

181 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



ment, 90 ; average attendance, 50 ; five teachers ; conducted six 
months ; 20 per cent members attending ; $9.85 raised. One may 
conclude without further evidence that between 1898 and 1901 the 
school was organized, no doubt in the Cherry Lane house. It 
started out for six months of the year, changed to nine months in 
1913 and was "evergreen' in 1918 only. As far as known, the 
superintendents and the years they served are as follows : Before 





The Cherry Lane Church. 

1904, Daniel W. Dibert, Andrew Snowberger and Elmer Pittman 
among those who served; 1904-'ll, Daniel W. Dibert; 1912, Roy F. 
Dibert; 1913, Daniel W. Dibert; 1914-'15, Daniel G. Koontz; 1916, 
Daniel W. Dibert; 1917-'18, Daniel Steele; 1919, Rov F. Dibert; 
1920-'21, Daniel G. Koontz; 1922, Roy F. Dibert; 1923-'24, Daniel 
Dibert. 

WOODBURY 

Present Membership, 323. 

The Yellow Creek congregation, in a council meeting 
held in the Holsinger house, by a vote of 56 for and 35 
against was divided in August, 1876, into two congrega- 
tions. The territory now known as New Enterprise is 
one part ; that included in Woodbury, Claar, Lower 
Claar, Queen and a part of Clover Creek the other. The 



182 




Old Holsinger House Was Built in 1850. The New Holsinger House Was 
Built in 1912. The Snyder House Built in 1878. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

following November 11, the members in this new terri- 
tory, i. e., cut off from Yellow Creek and from Clover 
Creek, met in the Holsinger house and unanimously 
voted to become one congregation, and adopted the name 
Woodbury. 

This newly formed congregation included Curryville 
on the east, to the Allegheny Mountain on the west. The 
northern boundary was marked by a road leaving Tus- 
sey's Mountain, thence westward about three quarters of 
a mile south of Woodbury by Maria and on west across 
Cove Mountain to the Allegheny Mountain. 

The officials of this new territory consisted of 

Ministers: Jacob Miller, John B. Replogle, Joseph W. 
Wilt, John L. Holsinger and John G. Snyder. 

Deacons : Alexander Holsinger, Daniel Holsinger, 
Jacob Kifer, Levi B. Replogle, Simon Snyder, Adam 
Frederick, Daniel Stayer, Cyrus Over, Henry Brum- 
baugh, James Brumbaugh, Jacob Claar and Aaron I. 
Claar. 

The church elected Jacob Miller, bishop ; Alexander 
Holsinger, secretary and Jacob Guyer, treasurer. This 
congregation has a record of its proceedings from the 
beginning. 

One of the first important acts was a decision made 
November 11, 1876 to erect a church known as the Rep- 
logle house on a plot of ground belonging to Rhinehart 
L. Replogle, about one half mile north of the village of 
Woodbury. Building committee, John B. Replogle, 
Simon Snyder and Adam Frederick, put up a frame house, 
45 x 77 x 14 feet, basement, costing $3,090.00. " Decided 
to have backs to the seats." On October 14, 1877, the 
house was dedicated, James Quinter leading in the ser- 
vice. Here beginning March 15, 1879, Silas Hoover of 
Somerset County held a ten days revival and twenty-one 
were received into the church by baptism. 

The congregation, on January 17, 1878, decided to ac- 
commodate the members living around Snyder cross 
roads with a place of worship. The building committee, 
Simon Snyder, John G. Snyder and David M. Replogle, 
put up a frame structure, 40x53 feet, costing $1,050.00. 
James A. Sell conducted the dedicatory service. 

Musical instruments evidently gave concern to the 

184 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

congregation, for at a council meeting (March 15, 1880) 
a " Query was sent to the District Meeting relating to 
them." Some members had been attending political 
meetings and instructions were given (Oct. 5, 1880) that 
" if they justified themselves . . . they cannot commune 
at the coming lovefeast." 

Evidently at some time the taxation system was 
adopted by the congregation, for at a meeting (March 
18, 1882) a number came before the council and were re- 
leased from paying their levy. At a later meeting the 
system of taxation is reaffirmed. 

The " Record of the Faithful " * states that this con- 
gregation was organized in 1876 with a membership of 
250; that its first house was erected in 1850; that in 1881 
and '82 it had five church houses and 388 members. 
Jacob Miller was bishop ; John Replogle, John L. Hol- 
singer, Michael M. Claar and John G. Snyder were min- 
isters in the second degree. 

In 1882 the influence of the Progressive movement is 
noted in the deliberations of the congregation. At the 
last council of that year (Dec. 2, 1882), one of the min- 
isters was disfellowshiped. At the next council (Feb. 17, 
1883), thirteen were excluded from the church on the fol- 
lowing resolution: " Inasmuch as the hereinafter named 
members of our church district have identified them- 
selves with the Progressive brethren and have so de- 
clared to the brethren who visited them, we therefore ac- 
cept their declaration as a withdrawal of their member- 
ship from us and we exclude them from the privilege of 
communion, church council and the salutation of the 
kiss." The vote stood 39 for, 3 against and 3 neutral. 

A few of those withdrawing returned to the old fold, 
while a few more from time to time withdrew and joined 
the Progressive Brethren. Evidently the cleavage at 
first was not so marked because, for a part of the time 
up to May 4, 1889, the Progressives had been using the 
Snyder house in which to worship. At this time some 
dissatisfaction arose and the house was closed against 
them for a season. 

In 1883, the " dinner after the lovefeast ' was discon- 



Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. 

185 




Replogle House, Built in 1877. Cukryville House,, Built in 1906. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

tinued, and the next year (May 29, 1884), "decided not 
to line the hymns before singing them." (June 4, 1885), 
" matting in the aisles of this house (Replogle) the same 
as in the Enterprise house " was decided upon. Later 
still, it was decided to " Have no breakfast at the meet- 
ing house, the morning after lovefeast " and have a 
" series of meetings of about a week duration immedi- 
ately preceding it." 

At a council at the Replogle house (Feb. 19, 1887), a 
vote of the members was taken to change from the 
double to single mode of feetwashing " which lacked two 
votes of being unanimous." Then a query was sent to 
Annual Meeting " asking it to reconsider the minutes of 
1887 that the minority should submit to the majority." 

After the Annual Meeting the vote was taken again 
and it showed 118 in favor of single mode while 59 voted 
for double mode. Then, at the spring council (March 2, 
1889, it was " decided to practice feetwashing at our 
coming lovefeast by the rotation system," meaning single 
mode. 

" The case of brethren going to the election and vot- 
ing against the prohibition amendment ' was considered 
(Oct. 3, 1889) and decided " that it was wrong for breth- 
ren to do so, and they shall make acknowledgment to the 
visiting brethren for doing so." At the next meeting it 
is recorded that " those members . . . made satisfactory 
acknowledgment." 

For the purpose of assessment on September 20, 1890, 
the following was recorded : 



" Replogle house, value. .$2,200.00 
Snyder house, value. . . . 825.00 
Crossroads house, value. 600.00 
Holsinger house, value. . 500.00 



seating capacity, 700 
seating capacity, 400 
seating capacity, 450 
seating capacity, 400 



The number of communicants in the Woodbury 
church, 213." 

The wide sympathies of the congregation for the suf- 
fering is noted in the record (May 5, 1892) of a " receipt 
for the Russian sufferers for $307.00." At the same 
meeting a brother at the demand of the church made ac- 
knowledgment " for signing a license for a certain hotel 

187 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

keeper in Woodbury," the objectionable part no doubt 
being " the bar." 

The congregation voted (Nov. 19, 1892) against the 
church purchasing the Brethren Publishing Company. 
The next year (Oct. 24, 1893) it gives permission to the 
" Brethren's Insurance Company to hold meetings in 
this (Replogle) house." Rhinehart Z. Replogle was 
(April 11, 1894) to " superintend the work of putting in 
the pool for baptizing ' in the yard, and the preachers 
were " to get a Bible desk on the table " for the Replogle 
house. 

A proposition (May 13, 1899) to have a two weeks 
" Bible term of school beginning January 1, 1900, was 
unanimously accepted." It had been the custom that the 
second person close prayer by using the Lord's prayer. 
But the congregation decided (Feb. 17, 1900) that the 
one who leads in prayer should close with the Lord's 
prayer. 

The congregation departed (Aug. 18, 1900) from the 
rule that the elders in office of the bishopric presided 
over the congregation and by unanimous vote chose 
John L. Holsinger as presiding bishop. 

" Select singing" was (Oct. 19, 1902) forbidden in any 
church of the congregation except " by permission of the 
church." 

To comply with the wishes of the members living in 
or near Curryville the church, in March, 1906, decided to 
give them a good church house. Building committee, 
Samuel S. Rhodes, David Burket and George W. Rep- 
logle, erected a good brick building, no basement, 40 x 60 
feet, costing $2,958.02. On December 9, 1906 it was 
dedicated, Frank F. Holsopple leading in the dedicatory 
service. Immediately following John Bennett conducted 
a series of meetings. 

The strong band of members located near the Hol- 
singer church felt the old house no longer satisfied their 
needs and it was decided to tear down and build larger. 
The farewell service was held September 9, 1912. John 
B. Fluck spoke on the sacred past ; James A. Sell on the 
promising future; George S. Myers gave a historical 
sketch. Then the building committee, — Adam Frederick, 
Joseph F. Long, Ferdinand H. Mohr, Adam Z. Pote, 

188 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

David Miller, George W. Klouse and Andrew C. Pote 
began their work. The new brick house, 40 x 60 feet, 
costing $3,200.00, was dedicated on April 6, 1913, free of 
debt and a small surplus in the treasury. James A. Sell, 
assisted by John B. Fluck, conducted the dedicatory 
services. 

Bishops presiding: 

Jacob Miller Aug. 16, 1876 John L. Holsinger 1900 

John B. Replogle 1890 John R. Stayer 1907 

April, 1924 Dorsey I. Pepple was elected presiding bishop and 
John R. Stayer made senior bishop for life. 

Ministers elected : 

John L. Holsinger 1876 A. Brown Miller 1906 

John G. Snyder 1877 Ferdinand H. Mohr 1913 

Michael Claar 1877 Jesse Stayer 1914 

Jacob K. Brown 1883 Nelson Guyer 1914 

Jacob C. Stayer 1893 * James D. Brumbaugh 

John B. Miller 1888 Clyde E. Stayer 1918 

*John R. Stayer Howard Kiper 1920 

April 1, 1924, John E. Rowland became first supported pastor of 
this congregation; though Maynard A. Cassady had served as pastor 
for one summer vacation, one year before. 

Deacons, elected : 1877, Daniel Stayer, Cyrus Over, Frederic C. 
Dively; 1879, Daniel S. Replogle, John Poter ; 1883, Rhinehart L. 
Replogle, George W. Replogle; 1890, Albert Stayer, David H. 
Miller; 1893, James E. Mock; 1895, Isaac D. Snyder, Adam Z. Pote; 
1896, Emanuel Guyer, David Pote; 1903, John H. Sell, George 
Miller; 1907, George K. Stayer, Ferdinand H. Mohr; 1909, Adam 
Frederic, Alva S. Brumbaugh; 1911, Adam C. Pote, Joseph Frederic, 
Andrew Smith, Nelson Guyer, Andrew C. Pote; 1920, John K. 
Frederick, Galen R. Sell, Paul A. Stayer. Lawrence C. Over moved 
into congregation in 1913. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Replogle. The Sunday-school was first organized in the Eshel- 
man house in 1876, with Levi B. Replogle superintendent. In 1877 
the school was moved to the Replogle house. Thus writes John R. 
Stayer. 

At the Sunday-school convention held at Spring Run Church 
October 15, 1878, Levi B. Replogle and Michael Bechtel were dele- 
gates and this much of their report is preserved : " Organized 
April 1, 1877; 75 on the roll; average, 60; verses committed, 4,814." f 
The same volume } gives a lengthy " Report of Sabbath School " 



* Moved in from another congregation. 

f Primitive Christian and Pih/rim, 1878, p. 716. 

X Ibid., p. 760. 

189 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

(Woodbury) from which the following is extracted: "This church 
is a part of the Yellow Creek and Clover Creek districts, organized 
in the fall of 1876, and in the spring of 1877 we organized a Sab- 
bath-school. The school was conducted by the usual officers with 
the following instructions from the church : To open with singing 
and prayer, the same as we do our public meetings, and also close 
after the same manner. Our school seemed to prove a success. 
The attendance was good on the part of children of parents of dif- 
ferent persuasions. ... A leading objection by our dear old breth- 
ren against Sunday-schools was that they would lead to pride, by 
each one trying to dress the best, etc. . . . Let me say here that 
parents can help the cause a great deal by not dressing or putting 
too much unnecessary clothing on their children before sending 
them to Sunday-school." 

"The church again organized a school this spring (1878) with 
Levi B. Replogle, superintendent; Cyrus Over, assistant superintend- 
ent, and Jacob R. Stayer, secretary. These officers then chose three 
more to assist them. . . . Number on the roll, 75. Average attend- 
ance, 65. Number of verses committed, 4,814. We closed our 
school on the 20th of October by presenting the scholars with re- 
ward and merit cards. There seemed to be rejoicing over these re- 
wards, but we tried to tell them of a greater reward in the future, 
if they would be faithful, which we could not give but would be 
given by the Father in Heaven. We also told them or reminded 
them that they had now read of Jesus being born into the world, 
and that he suffered and died and rose again, and then ascended to 
heaven, where he was now pleading for us all. I saw many tears 
rolling down over the children's faces. Thus ended our school. 
We hope some good seed may have been sown." Signed by Levi 
B. Replogle, superintendent; Cyrus Over, secretary.* 

The year following a report states : " School for the summer or- 
ganized March 16, 1879. . . . Average attendance, 85; enrollment, 
122; verses memorized, 3,382. The highest memorized at one lesson 
by one single pupil, 104. At the closing of the school there were 
three essays read, one by sister Elsie Snyder, subject, "Hope," one 
by sister Ettie Brown, entitled " Meeting and Parting " and one by 
sister Anna Brown, the topic being, " How are we spending our 
lives." The school was addressed by the superintendent and several 
of the old brethren. . . . We were all very sad to see our school 
close, for 'tis such a pleasant place to spend the Sabbath after- 
noon." Signed R. L. Replogle.f 

This school has been " evergreen " since 1904. Average attend- 
ance in 1877 was 65. In 1898, enrollment, 133; average, 107; raised 
$43.39, of which $17.19 went to missions; 24 conversions; continued 
nine months of year. In 1904, average, 75; ten teachers; raised 
$67.12, of which $23.79 went to missions and charity. The school 

* Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1878, p. 766. 

t Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 1879, p. 733. 

The editor's apology for these lengthy extracts concerning the Replogle school 
and no other thus treated is this: This school was the only one reporting in such 
detail in these years. The description is a fine picture of the manner of con- 
ducting the schools in the seventies, the spirit of the work and some of the 
problems and hindrances the Sunday-school had to meet. 

190 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

has maintained a frontline standard during 1914, *16-20, '22, '23, 
had teacher training during 1908, '09, [11, '18, '20, '21, and '23, total 
enrollment of 118; about 60 have received first year certificates. 

Superintendents: 1876, Levi B. Replogle; , Cyrus Over; 1903, 

George W. Replogle; 1904-'07, George H. Miller; 1908-'18, John H. 
Sell; 1919-'24, Paul A. Stayer. 

Holsinger. The school was first organized some time along 1880 
to '82, with Daniel Replogle, superintendent. The school has been 
"evergreen" since 1913. The average attendance the first year 
was 38. 

Superintendents: 1882, Daniel Replogle; between that and 1906, 
Isaac L. Snyder, John L. Holsinger, William Echard ; 1906-'ll, 
Joseph P. Long; 1912-'23, Ferdinand H. Mohr; 1924, Isaac Snow- 
berger. 

Curryville. Organized January 6, 1907; John B. Miller, superin- 
tendent ; Ora Stonerock, secretary ; Daniel Brown, treasurer. Aver- 
age attendance, 1907, 65. " Evergreen " from the beginning. It has 
maintained a frontline standard since 1915; had teacher training 
during 1908, '09, '13, '23 during which time 59 have enrolled; forty 
first year certificates have been given. 

Superintendents: 1907- , 09, John B. Miller; 1910-'12, Samuel S. 
Rhodes; 1913, Simon Zook; 1914, Harrv Rhodes; 1916, Simon 
Zook; 1916, Alice M. Baker; 1917, J. W. Burket; 1918, Ira Burket; 

1919-'20, Lawrence R. Over; 1921, ; 1922- , 24, Alice 

M. Baker. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

Woodbury. There was a society started in the early nineties but 
was of short duration and no record kept of it. February 19, 1913, 
Lydia, Mary, Esther, Sarah, and Elizabeth Stayer, Mary Miller, 
Fannie Smith, Ida Leidy, Mrs. John B. Guyer, Maggie Frederic, 
Nannie Miller, Nannie Replogle, Annie Frederic, Annie Sell, Mrs. 
Annie Sell, Barbara Johnson, Elizabeth Hoover, Nannie Koontz and 
Minnie Settle met in the Replogle house and organized by electing 
the following officers : Lydia Stayer, president ; Mary Stayer, assist- 
ant president ; Esther Stayer, superintendent ; Maggie Frederic, 
treasurer ; Fannie Smith, treasurer. 

Presidents: 1913-'20, Lydia Stayer; 1921, Barbara Frederic; 
1922-'24, Maggie Frederic. 

In totals the Society has accomplished the following, besides help 
in many ways locally : 

Juniata Mission Home $10.00 

Virginia Home 15.00 

Carpet for church 11 .00 

Miscellaneous 54.20 



$90.20 



Curryville Aid Society was organized in the home of Mrs. Dewey 
D. Kauffman, on March 16, 1922. Charter members: Mrs. Dewey D. 
KaufTman, Mrs. John Wareham, Mrs. Joseph Hartman, Mrs. John 

191 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

B. Miller, Mrs. Nancy Mock, Mrs. Levi Settle, Mrs. Hiram Replogle, 
Mrs. Wilmer Hynish, Mrs. Daniel Kauffman, Mrs. Irvin Zook, Rena 
Stayer, Alice Baker, Mabel Hoover, Sadie Zook, and Mrs. Minnie 
Forney. 

Organization : Mrs. Dewey D. Kauffman, president ; Mrs. John B. 
Miller, vice-president; Mrs. Joseph Harman, secretary; Mrs. Daniel 
Kauffman, treasurer. 

Presidents: 1922-23, Mrs. Dewey D. Kauffman; 1924, Alice Baker. 

Through quilting, making bonnets, aprons, prayer coverings and 
other articles, and some contributing money, the society has been able 
to donate $10.00 to the Missionary Home in Huntingdon, $15.00 to 
the Japanese sufferers, and $90.00 to the Virginia home. 



CLAAR* 

Present Membership, 160. 

The beginning of the Church of the Brethren in the 
territory now occupied by Upper and Lower Claar and 
Queen congregations centres around Frederic Claar, born 
October 30, 1780, who, with his bride of a few weeks, in 
the fall of 1800 located on a farm on which now stands 
the Upper Claar house. Their ancestors were not mem- 
bers of the Brethren Church, but through the preaching of 
Levi Roberts and Jacob Miller, who for some years came 
to the neighborhood from Yellow Creek and held services 
in the home of the young people, they were led to unite 
with the church in 1816. Others followed and it was 
not long until their home was too small for the gather- 
ing of eager listeners. With zeal characteristic of many 
of the earlier brethren they decided to build a church. 
Frederic Claar donated the land for the house and ceme- 
tery and in the summer of 1851 a house 26 x 36 feet was 
erected and dedicated, brother Jacob Miller preaching 
the first sermon. Frederic Claar, Jacob Claar and George 
Lingenfelter were appointed trustees. Regular week-end 
services were held every four weeks ; the preachers, 
among the more prominent, Jacob Miller, John Hol- 
singer, Daniel Snowberger and Leonard Furry, came 
from Yellow Creek. 

The earnest little body received a big lift in enthu- 
siasm in the winter of 1853-4 when, in the new church, 

* To Taylor C. Dively the reader is indebted for some of the information of 
this sketch. 

192 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

James Quinter held a debate with Joseph Fichtner, min- 
ister of the Lutheran church. The subject under con- 
sideration was baptism and the debate lasted four days. 









Upper : The Old Claar Church. Lower : The Frederic Dively Home. 

So deep was the impression made by Brother Quinter 
that to this day there are instances of persons uniting 
with one of the denominations of the community by im- 
mersion as baptism when the denomination ordinarily 
does not perform this rite. 

But all through these years they held no lovefeasts at 
home, — they all traveled the long road to Yellow Creek 



193 




Some Members of the Claar Congregation. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



for this blessed privilege of communing and how 
precious were those occasions when they did go. This 
however, only made the longing for a lovefeast at home 
the stronger. In 1867 they held one in the home church 
but the house proved far too small and unsatisfactory. 
As a result, the next year the members enlarged and 
fitted up the church for such occasions and from that 
date they have enjoyed lovefeast occasions every year, 
some years both spring and fall. 

Stephen Hildebrand and James A. Sell held the first 
revival for this congregation. The blessings were so 
large that ever since a revival has been held each year. 
During March, 1877, Joseph W. Wilt held a meeting of 
two weeks and eighteen accessions were made. This 
was unusual for those times. In the following spring 
Brother Wilt accepted the call to be pastor of the con- 
gregation, receiving support, and was not there long until 
he organized its first Sunday-school. During his two 
years in the congregation about fifty united with the 
church. 

The group began to feel they were strong enough to 
become a separate body and on September 25, 1886, in 
the presence of Jacob Miller, John B. Replogle, and 
James A. Sell they were properly organized. In honor 
of him who was founder and father of the church they 
called themselves Claar. Organization : John S. Hol- 
singer, bishop ; Frederic C. Dively, secretary. 

The charter members were : Frederick Claar, Christian 
Claar, Rachel Walter, Mathias Walter, Barbara Walter, 
George Lingenfelter, Barbara Lingenfelter, Samuel 
Walter, Barbara Claar, John Claar, Jacob Bowser, Mar- 
garet Bowser, John Claar, Mary Claar, David Gouchen- 
our, Slamuel Roudenbush, Mary Gouchenour, Matilda 
Claar, Bartholomew Dively, Rachel Dively. 

The territory is peculiar in this, the Brethren have been 
so wide awake to their opportunities that no other de- 
nomination found it needful to enter. One of the ways 
of keeping abreast with the times was the building of a 
new church 38 x 65 feet, costing about $3,100.00 besides 
donated labor and material, located one and one-half 
miles east of the old church and now known as the 
Lower Claar house. It was dedicated on August 6, 1891, 

195 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Joseph W. Wilt preaching and using for his text, 2 
Chron. 2 :4. 

But after the dedication it was found far from easy to 
leave the old place of worship even if the new house was 
more modern and commodious. Hard by the old church 
rested fathers and mothers who had given their lives to 
the cause and it was like forsaking them to go to the new 




The Claar Church. 



house. Hence it is no surprise to find that next year, 
1892, a number of members and friends began the con- 
struction of a new house on the site of the old one. 
Brothers Taylor and Moses Lingenfelter, though not 
members at that time, did more than any other two for 
the erection of this house. This is the Claar house. 
Joseph W. Wilt preached in the morning and Frederic 
C. Dively in the evening of the day of dedication. 

Edward Eller, a member of the Progressive Brethren, 
saw the need of religious instruction in a neglected 
neighborhood about five miles from the Claar house and 
began a Sunday-school in 1903 in the Eller school house. 
The State Sunday-school Association got behind the pro- 
ject and on May 26, 1906, a union house, 30 x 40 feet, was 
dedicated free of debt. Irvin Van Dyke, a member of the 
Church of the Brethren and Field Secretary for the As- 
sociation, preached the dedicatory sermon. Trustees 
from four denominations were appointed, the Church of 

196 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



the Brethren thereby having a fourth interest. Charles 
O. Beery held the first revival in the church August 
20-31, 1906, and fourteen were baptized. The trustees of 
the other denominations, seeing the tendency of the work, 
in a most kindly spirit asked the Church of the Brethren 
to take full charge and push both Sunday-school and 
church. Since that time it has been known as the Union 
Chapel. 

In 1903, James A. Sell was called to the oversight of 
the church and introduced a Reading Course which 
proved a great blessing. Lower Claar fell heir to the 
splendid library and the Circle was merged into the 
Christian Workers meeting. 

The Claar house in the course of a number of years 
proved all too small for the needs of the growing con- 
gregation and in 1908 an addition 34x32 feet, costing 
$1,500.00, was built. On August 2, 1908, Milton C. 
Swigart dedicated the house again, using for his text: 
Psalms 84:1-2. 

Three centres now had recognition in the congrega- 
tion. While theirs was a common interest, the advance- 
ment of Christ's kingdom on earth, their local energies 
were somewhat divided. The situation took such a 
form that Albert G. Crosswhite, Brice Sell, David A. 
Stayer, Mahlon J. Weaver and John B. Miller, a com- 
mittee from the elders meeting of the district met 
with the church, May 6, 1916, and advised that three 
organizations be formed just as soon as this could be 
done amicably. Also at this meeting James A. Sell 
was again called to the oversight. On July 1 following, 
separate organizations to be known as Claar, Lower 
Claar and Queen were formed. The Claar congregation 
elected James A. Sell, bishop ; E. Franklin Claar, secre- 
tary ; and George G. Dively, treasurer. 

At the time of this organization the following were 
ministers : Taylor L. Dively, Samuel C. Weyant and 
Frederic C. Dively ; deacons, Harry Claar, Ralph Claar, 
George G. Dively, Franklin Claar, Chauncy Lingenfelter, 
Albert Claar; the membership, 120. 

Bishops presiding before the division of territory in 1916: 
Jacob Miller Abram Claar 

John S. Holsinger Frederic C. Dively 

Michael Claar James A. Sell 

197 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

After the division of territory in 1916: 

James A. Sell 1916-17 Taylor Dively, 

1917 to present time 

Pastors before the division of territory in 1916 : 

Joseph W. Wilt... .1877 to 1879 David M. Adams.. 1907 to 1909 
Oliver S. Corle....l905 to 1906 Andrew M. Dixon. 1912 to 1916 

After the division of territory in 1916: 

Edgar G. Dieh'm. . .1916 to 1917 Taylor L. Dively.. .1918 to .... 
Charles J. Rose.... 1917 to 1918 Samuel C. Weyant.1918 to .... 

Ministers elected : 

Michael Claar Oct. 21 1877 Abram I. Claar. ... Jan. 24, 1890 

Frederic C. Dively, July 17, 1880 Taylor L. Dively.. Aug. 20, 1916 
James Brubaker .. , 1885 Samuel C. Weyant. Aug. 20, 1916 

Deacons: 1872, Frederic C. Dively, Henry Brumbaugh; 1878, 
Thomas Claar, Chauncey F. Lingenfelter; 1886, James Brumbaugh, 
Jacob C. Claar, Abram I. Claar; 1889, Albert Claar, Moses Walter; 
1898, Essington Claar, Emery Walter; 1904, David Burket, Franklin 
C. Claar; 1905, William Lingenfelter; 1911, Austin Burket, Essing- 
ton F. Claar, Frederic M. Dively, Albert F. Claar, George G. Dively, 
Henry Claar. Isaac Bowser, Moses Claar, Austin Claar, William J. 
B. Claar, dates unknown. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Sunday-school was first organized in the old Claar house on 
May 13, 1877. Organization: Joseph W. Wilt, superintendent; 
Michael Claar, assistant superintendent; Abram I. Claar, secretary; 
Frederick Dively, assistant secretary; Thomas Claar, treasurer. 
The attendance the first day was 48. The lessons studied, first 
chapter of the Gospel of John. In 1904 the average attendance was 
85; seven teachers; $35.97 was raised, of which $24.96 was given to 
missions and charities ; sixteen conversions. The school has been 
"evergreen' since 1906; has maintained a front-line standard dur- 
ing the years 1914-'20, 1922-'24 ; has had teacher training 1914 to 
present time and twenty-two have received first vear certificates. 

Superintendents: 1877, Joseph W. Wilt; 1892, "Chauncey F. Lin- 
genfelter; 1904, Joseph A. Claar; 1905, Miriam Claar; 1906-'08, 
Joseph A. Claar; 1909, Chauncey F. Lingenfelter; 1910, Essington 
H. Claar; 1911-'12, A. Frederick Claar; 1913, Jesse H. Claar; 1914, 
Andrew M. Dixon: 1915-'20, Taylor L. Dively; 1921-'22, Samuel C. 
Weyant; 1923, Blair Musselman ; 1924, Lucretia Black. 



198 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



LOWER CLAAR 



* 



Present Membership, 60. 

The centre of spiritual activity for the Claar congrega- 
tion was the Lower Claar house for a time after this 
house was built in 1890.f Here lovefeasts and council 
meetings for the whole congregation were held. Here 
the district meeting of 1906, the only one entertained 




Lower Claar Church. 



by the congregation, was held. The church mewed for- 
ward with fair progress up to the time of the division of 
territory, May 5, 1916. 

The new organization, Lower Claar, had but 50 mem- 
bers ; yet it was free from debt and had a splendid equip- 
ment. A non-resident minister was a serious handicap. 
They organized as follows : David M. Adams (Albright 
congregation), bishop and pastor; Joseph Claar, secre- 
tary ; Frederic A. Claar, treasurer. David M. Adams did 
not take residence in the congregation, after five years 
discontinued his labors and the congregation was sup- 
plied with preaching by Dorsey I. Pepple and others. 

* To Linnie Claar the reader is indebted for some of the information con- 
tained in this sketch. 

t See full account under Claar. 

199. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

This has been greatly against the growth of the con- 
gregation. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school was first organized in the Lower Claar house 
on May 14, 1916. Officers: Joseph A. Claar, superintendent; Kath- 
eren Claar, secretary; Moses Walter, treasurer. The school was 
" evergreen ' from the beginning ; the first year had an average at- 
tendance of 45. 

Superintendents: 1916-'18, Joseph Claar; 1919-'20, Andrew Snow- 
berger; 1921-'23, McClellan Walter; 1924, Andrew Snowberger. 



QUEEN 

Present Membership, 52. 

Abram I. Claar and family lived in the village of 
Queen, about four miles from the Claar Church and were 
very anxious that there be a place of worship in their 
home town. Hence on September 24, 1913, a number of 
members and others met in the William F. Hainsey resi- 
dence to consider the advisability of building a church in 
the village. Jeremiah Wright, Jr. was elected president 
of the meeting and Harry B. Coder secretary. The re- 
sults of that meeting were these : $600.00 was subscribed 
by the eight individuals present ; second, a building com- 
mittee consisting of David A. Claar, David Burket, Jere- 
miah Wright, Jr., Jesse H. Claar and Harry B. Coder 
was appointed; third, the project was to be brought be- 
fore the Claar congregation in council, October 4, 1913. 

David A. Burket, David A. Claar and Jeremiah 
Wright, Jr., were elected trustees at a meeting held De- 
cember 2, 1913. Also David A. Burket was appointed 
treasurer and the Claar Brothers of East Freedom were 
given the contract to erect the house, a 40 x 50 frame, 
plain square windows, slate roof, for $1,847.74. When 
the house was well under construction a storm blew it 
down. This delayed the completion and added greatly 
to the cost. 

By October 4, 1914 the house was completed and the 
people gathered to dedicate it. Walter S. Long of Al- 
toona led the people in the services, assisted by Andrew 
M. Dixon, reading Psalms 96, Levi Rogers leading in the 

200 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



opening prayer. The message was based on Exodus 4. 
Closing prayer by Abram I. Claar. 

Total cost of the house before dedication was. . $2,097.75 
Offering that day 382.63 



Unpaid $1,715.12 

The same year the house was dedicated. Abram Claar, 
the leading spirit in having the church erected, died. 




The Queen Church. 

This left the group without a minister but not discour- 
aged, for they were ready for the proposed division of 
territory and a separate congregation, which was ac- 
complished on July 15, 1916. James A. Sell was given 
the oversight. July 15, 1917, a " get together " meeting 
was held, $300.00 was raised towards the church debt and 
a new inspiration came to the membership. 

A Sunday-school was organized with David A. Claar 
superintendent. John B. Miller succeeded James A. Sell 
in the oversight in 1918. Under his supervision the debt 
has been entirely removed, appointments are regularly 
rilled and the little church is proving a blessing to the 
community. 



201 



CHAPTER V 



The Duncansville Congregation and Its 
Growth in Blair County 



1780 1800 1820 1840 1860 1880 1900 1920 



Franks-; own ti . 1866; 



Duncannville ;il 190l;then Cars on Valley 



1682 




1919 



Hollidaysburg 
Learner sville 
Altoona, First 
Altoona, 28th St. 



DUNCANSVILLE 



* 



Originally called Frankstown 

"When, in August, 1756, Col. John Armstrong 
marched against the Indian town of Kittanging, he was 
accompanied by Rev. Charles Beatty, who served as 
chaplain of the expeditionary forces. A halt was made 
at Beaver Dams, — a locality now known as McCahan's 
Mill (about one mile west of Hollidaysburg. — Ed.) — and 
there on a quiet Sabbath-day in the month of September 
religious ceremonies were observed. This undoubtedly 
was the first worship and preaching of the gospel in this 
vicinity, and probably within the limits of the present 
county of Blair." t 

Charles B. Clark in his Semi-Centennial History of 
Blair County refers to the foregoing and says, " The 
first permanent white settlers in Blair County, coming 
into the southern end of Morrison's Cove about 1760 or 
earlier, were Tunkers and that was probably the first re- 
ligious denomination to obtain a foothold in Blair 

* To James A. Sell the reader is indebted for paragraphs in quotation, not 
otherwise credited. 

f Africa's History of Blair County, p. 89, 1883. 



202 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

County territory. A Presbyterian minister by the name 
of Beatty preached a sermon one Sunday at Beaver Dam, 
now called McCann's Mills, (McCachan's Mill is meant. 
Ed.) in 1756 ; but it is likely the Tunkers, who resided 
here, as above stated, held religious services at a still 
earlier date, and that the congregation consisted of resi- 
dents of the Cove." 

James A. Sell, who was reared in this section and took 
a special interest in its history, gives this account of the 
beginning' in Blair County : 

" This is the name of that body of members of the 
Church of the Brethren who in the beginning occupied 
the territory east of the Alleghany Mountain and in the 
upper end of the Juniata Valley. Her history goes back 
almost to the very beginning of activities in these parts, 
and of course to a time when records were not kept by 
those who ' kept the faith ' and even those who received 
the traditions from first handed have gone to their re- 
ward. Yet it is assuring that what traditions have been 
handed down are in the main correct and dependable/' 

" Agents who traded with the Indians came into this 
valley as early as 1750. On their heels came a few set- 
tlers and soon after 1760, when good title to the land 
could be given, the Brethren came in such numbers that 
they secured the right to all the land adjacent to the 
place now known as Frankstown, a few miles down the 
river from Hollidaysburg. So completely did the Breth- 
ren occupy the good lands along the Juniata River, that 
it took the name of ' Dunker Bottom/ a name appearing 
in legal papers to designate the location of properties/' 

" The church started as a colony or settlement entirely 
separate from other settlements of Brethren and was 
from the beginning known as the Frankstown Church. 
There is a large probability that there never was any 
formal organization. Among the earliest members are 
to be found such names as Philips, Kinsel, Christian, 
Koontz, Almaugh, and a quarter of a century later, such 
as Sell, Stiffler, Snyder, Albright, Wilt, Ressler, Donner, 
Slingluff and Burkhart. 

" With the preaching of the Word in these times tra- 
dition associates the names, Ullery, Holsinger, Cripe 
and Etter. The first two of these evidently lived in Yel- 

203 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



low Creek congregation and so one may conclude that 
these brethren simply journeyed hither occasionally and 
preached, for the members and friends. On the other 
hand it is reasonable to conclude that Cripe and Etter 
were resident ministers. * 

" Some time later David Albaugh, born in Maryland in 
1760, married March 26, 1782 to Maria Herndern, located 
close to Duncansville. He took up a large tract of land, 
built for himself a home, partitions of which were re- 
movable so as to use the house for meetings, and took a 
deep interest in the religious needs of the country. Min- 
isters of the Gospel were few and heavenly messages 
were rare. So splendidly did David Albaugh fit into the 
spiritual needs of the times that he began preaching 
without the usual formal call to the ministry, soon was 
advanced to the bishopric and in all probability was 
the first resident bishop of the Frankstown group of 
members. 

" David Zachariah Albaugh, born to David Albaugh in 
1794, married Elizabeth Snyder, was elected to the min- 
istry and served the church faithfully for many years. 
After the death of his wife, he, broken down by hard 
labor and bearing the burden of years, retired to the 
home of his son in the Conemaugh Church, Cambria 
County, where he died March 2, 1866. 

" While in the beginning the brethren settled thickly 
around Frankstown in the course of time there was mani- 
fest a disposition to scatter; some located in the Loop; 
others up the river south of Hollidaysburg; and still 
others among the foothills of the Alleghany Mountain. 

" In addition to this tendency to scatter because of 
land advantages, the members at Frankstown were sur- 
rounded by the Scotch-Irish who made it very unpleasant 
for them. One by one the Brethren sold out and in the 
course of a generation their fertile farms were all in the 
hands of others. Through this exodus a colony went 

* In describing a visit to this congregation!, in 1877, in Primitive Christian and 
Pilgrim, June 12, 1877, James Quinter says: "This church dates back a good 
many years, perhaps nearly a hundred. The first minister, from what we could 
learn of the ministry of the congregation, was Brother John Cripe ; the next was 
Brother Etter; following him was Brother David Albaugh, Senior; after him 
was David Allbaugh, Junior ; next was Brother Burkhart ; and now the ministers 
of this church are J. A. Brice, and David Sell. These are all brothers, and 
active laborers in the church, the first named having the oversight of it. In 
Middle Indiana there are members known as Frankstown members. These went 
from this congregation." 

204 




Upper: The John Wilt home. Middle: The Smith home. Lower: The Dormer 
home, the residence of the late Brice Sell. In these homes the Albaughs and 
others preached before the days of a church house. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

west and settled in the neighborhood of what is now 
known as Deer Creek Church, between Delphi and 
Logansport, Indiana. For many years they were known 
as the " Frankstowners." They had some peculiarities 
which clung to them that made them famous. One was 
that the sisters wore broad-brimmed fur hats. 

"Thus the centre of the brethren settlement shifted 
from Frankstown to Duncansville. Here the preachers 
all lived ; here also the first church house had been built 
some years before ; here the most of their services were 
held; hence in 1866 the name was changed from Franks- 
town to Duncansville Church. 

" This first house of worship, — date not known, — was 
built jointly by the Brethren, Mennonites and Lutherans. 
It probably was the first church building in this part of 
the valley, was erected on a hill above the Gesseytown 
cemetery, constructed of logs, and served its purpose well 
for about three quarters of a century. Gradually the 
Brethren and Mennonites sold their houses and moved 
away and the Lutherans came into sole possession of 
the church property. After years passed they built a 
brick church just a few rods from the site of the old 
house and maintain worship at this historic spot unto 
this day. 

" About the time that David Albaugh, Senior, built his 
home adapted for worship, the community built a house 
on the present site of Larson Valley Church. It was 
erected for church and school purposes, was known as 
the " Old School House," constructed in the most primi- 
tive manner and served the church for about half a cen- 
tury. It was finally removed to make place for the 
Carson Valley Church cemetery. 

" This left the church without a house of worship. 
Meetings were held in private homes and school houses. 
A few of these homes are standing in which meetings 
were held a century ago. Among the more prominent may 
be named the Donner house, now owned by Sister Brice 
Sell ; John Wilt's home, — he the grandfather of Joseph 
W. Wilt of Juniata ; Abraham's Sell's home, — he the 
grandfather of Brice, James, and David Sell ; the Smith 
home on the Johnstown road at the foot of the Alleghany 
Mountain. In all these homes David Albaugh preached. 

206 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



" October 20, 1852, David Albaugh conveyed one acre 
of ground on the end of his farm near Duncansville to 
Daniel Sell, Thomas Snyder and Levi Hoover as trus- 
tees of the Frankstown Church. The consideration was 
$30.00. The trustees proceeded at once to build, and the 
house was completed the following year. This was the 
first house owned exclusively by the Brethren. Though 
the location was inconvenient, it served the church for 
meetings and lovefeasts until 1875. 

" During David Z. Albaugh's administration which 
covered approximately forty years, Jacob Burkhart was 
elected to the ministry, date unknown. He was never 
ordained, yet for twenty-five years, the management of 
the church rested on his shoulders. 

" After the removal of David Z. Albaugh the church 
was without a resident elder until 1860, at which time 
Graybill Myers located at Eldorado. He however, spent 
most of his time in the evangelistic field and never had 
oversight of the home congregation. 

" In 1866 Daniel M. Holsinger located in the bounds 
of the congregation and was perhaps the same year or- 
dained. He had oversight of the church until he moved 
away in 1870. 

" Michael Claar resided in the congregation, but as he 
spent much time in the evangelistic field he was of but 
little service to the Frankstown Church." 

The earliest official record is July 26, 1871, when a 
special council was called and Joseph R. Hanawalt, 
George Brumbaugh, John W. Brumbaugh, Jacob Miller 
and Leonard Furry assisted the church in settling a 
difficulty. James A. Sell was clerk. A few extracts from 
these records show the aggressive and yet prudent spirit 
of this congregation. 

November 11, 1871, it was " agreed unanimously to 
build a new meeting house at Leamersville, 24 x 40 feet. 
James A. Sell, Joseph Soyster and Brice Sell were ap- 
pointed trustees, to receive labor, get the material, and 
in short build the house. . . . Robert McFarlin was ap- 
pointed collector and treasurer." At the next meeting 
March 7, 1872, for lack of funds the erecting of the house 
was deferred and " James A. Sell resigned his place on 
the building committee on account of interfering with 

207 






A History of the Church of the Brethren 

his ministerial duties/' A special meeting (November 
9, 1872) decided to locate the new church " on Andrew 
Snowberger's place near the town of Freedom." James 
A. Sell was appointed solicitor. 

Then in 1872, Daniel D. Sell, a deacon, gave a big 
impetus to a realization of their hopes by donating a lot 
at Leamersville for church purposes. The members had 
become quite eager to have their own house because, 
since 1865, they had been worshiping in a rented Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church. Plans were entirely changed. 
Such confidence was reposed in James A. Sell, a carpen- 
ter and a member of their own group, that they made him 
solicitor, treasurer, architect and head carpenter. He 
undertook the task with a cheerful, courageous heart and 
on Thursday, Christinas, 1873, a house, 30x40 feet and 
costing, besides donated labor, $640.00 was dedicated. 
Henry R. Holsinger preached the dedicatory sermon, 
using for his text I Kings 6 : 11. The occasion was a 
spiritual uplift, for the meetings were continued until 
Sunday evening, as follows : Christmas evening, Daniel 
M. Holsinger of Clover Creek, text, Matthew 11 ; Friday, 
Leonard Furry of Yellow Creek, text, Romans 12 ; in the 
evening John W. Brumbaugh of Clover Creek, text, I 
Peter 2:2; Saturday evening, Henry R. Holsinger again, 
text, Micah 6 :8 ; Sunday, Graybill Myers of Eldora and 
in the evening Amos Wright of Lower Cumberland, 
text, John 14 :15 * 

Also at the same meeting, November 11, 1871, " it was 
agreed to appoint a treasurer and each member pay quar- 
terly at least five cents for paying traveling expenses of 
strange preachers who may visit ' the congregation. 
" About this time a move was made to dispose of the 
Albaugh house and build one at Carson Valley. John H. 
Stiffler, Joseph Stiffler and Samuel Brubaker were ap- 
pointed building committee in the winter of 1874. They 
sold the old house for $334.00 and gave a contract for a 
new one, 34 x 48 feet, good basement story, for $1,350.00. 
On Friday, October 23, 1874, Henry R. Holsinger dedi- 
cated the new house, using for his text, Titus 2 :14. His 
subject was " Peculiar People." In the evening William 
H. Quinn from Warriors Mark spoke, text, Matthew 5. 

* Gleaned from Christian Family Companion and Gospel Visitor, 1874, p. 61. 

208 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Saturday following, a communion was held, Leonard 
Furry officiating. On Sunday Stephen Hildebrand spoke 
in the morning, and in the evening, Leonard Furry on 
" The Lord's Supper/' * 

The problem of properly taking care of visiting preach- 
ers engaged the congregation still further, for it was de- 
cided (April 27, 287?) "to hold open collection when 
strange brethren come to pay their way. The church 
decided to pay the preacher's way to Altoona to church." 
At the same meeting the church " granted the house 
(Carson Valley) for the purpose of holding a Sunday- 
school under the control of the brethren." Further (No- 
vember 10, 1877), the church decided to have "a system 
of quarterly council meetings to take effect in 1878." 
Also lengthy minutes are found about the finances of the 
church, the most important part of which is first, volun- 
tary subscriptions to meet all expenses ; if this did not 
cover all expenses of church then to levy a tax. James 
A. Sell " asked permission to have a prayermeeting at the 
church " and same was granted. 

At a meeting May 3, 1878, it was decided to " let the 
Altoona members hold a lovefeast of their own." At 
the next meeting (August 23), the Altoona "Arm" was 
granted the privilege of electing a deacon. Persons stay- 
ing all night in the church had been causing considerable 
trouble and it was decided " not to feed the people the 
next morning " and all go home after the communion. 
At the fall council (November 2), by a vote 26 to 3, the 
congregation decided to pay their preachers " not less 
than $1.00 per day for each day lost to visit the sick, 
preach funerals, etc." 

In 1879, the members (May 3) were very much in favor 
of home missions but cannot pledge ourselves to a special 
amount." They favor the division of the State District 
and decided to pay $5.00 of the expenses incurred by 
Graybill Myers to represent the church at District Meet- 
ing. The Altoona group was granted privilege to or- 
ganize and Mr. Mahaffey " to have a singing school " in 
the Altoona house. 

In 1880, the congregation (September 11) adopted a 

* Gleaned from James A. Sell's Report in Christian Family Companion and 
Gospel Visitor, 1874, p. 783 

209 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



rather elaborate home missionary plan for reaching the 
outposts of the congregation. The home ministers are to 
do the preaching, — one at a time go, $1.00 per day for 
each week day lost to be paid, collections to be taken 
up at places of meeting and if these do not meet the 




Upper Line: Members in earlier days of the Carson Valley locality. 
Lower Line : Members in recent years in the congregation. 



allowance, special offerings by the church shall be taken 
to meet the deficit. 

The next year (February 9), it was "resolved that the 
members stand by the ministers to get all persons not to 
use any tobacco while in the house of God.' : The con- 
gregation also asked that some one of the ministers 
preaches a sermon on temperance. At the next council 
(April 30), it was decided " to change from double to 
single mode of feetwashing." 

210 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



May 6, 1882, the congregation resolves that " the Al- 
toona arm of the church be organized separately from the 
Duncansville Church." At the next meeting (August 
26) this was passed : " In view of the conflicting elements 
of the Church Progression, etc. the church decides this 
26th day of August to go on in the even tenor of its way 
or stand where she always stood." 

The " Record of the Faithful " * states that this congre- 
gation was organized in 1800 with twenty members ; that 
in 1881-1882 it had three houses and a membership of 
175. The first house was erected in 1856. James A. 
Sell was bishop, Brice Sell, Daniel D. Sell, Daniel Bral- 
lier were in the second and Jacob Musselman in the first 
degree of the ministry.* 

" For several years James A. Sell was the only active 
minister. In 1872 his brother Brice Sell was elected and 
in the same year a little later David, another brother. 
From 1870 to 1880 the church passed through the great- 
est prosperity of its history. Its membership was doubled 
in one year. The building debts were all paid and the 
membership were in love and peace. The unfortunate 
division of the church in 1882 caused some members to 
withdraw and for a few years affected the growth of the 
church. 

" The ministers of the Duncansville church started and 
carried forward the work in Altoona until it was organ- 
ized in 1882. Up to that time its history is part of the 
history of this church. 

" By the organization of Altoona, the territory of the 
Duncansville church was now limited to Carson Valley 
and Leamersville. As the membership was about equally 
divided, a movement arose to form two separate congre- 
gations. This was consummated in 1904. James A. Sell 
who had been presiding for thirty-two years, in order to 
remove all embarrassment in the new organization ten- 
dered his resignation. The decision to divide was made 
almost unanimous and yet the separation was more sad 
than joyful. Two farewell meetings were held at each 
place, — the one a memorial and the other a forward look. 
They were considered the best meetings ever held in this 
church." 

* Published in 1882 by Howard Miller. 

211 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Bishops who presided and the years of their service as far as 
known : 

David Albaugh, Sr to Daniel M. Holsinger.1866 to 1872 

David Z. Albaugh James A. Sell 1872 to 1904 

Jacob S. Burkhart.. 1860 to 1866 

Ministers elected and the date of their election as far as can be 
gathered : 

A. Brother Garver James A. Sell 1865 

John D. Veach Brice Sell 1872 

Abraham Sell David Sell 1876 

Joseph B. Sell 1864 Levi Benner 1898 

Deacons and the date of their election : 

Daniel Sell 1850 Simon Sell 1875 

Daniel Ressler 1850 Samuel Brubaker 1875 

Thomas G. Snyder John Stiffler 1876 

John Ressler about 1866 Ellis Brubaker 1876 

Jessee Crumpaker . . .about 1870 Jeremiah Klepser 1894 

David Sell 1872 



CARSON VALLEY* 

Present Membership, 127. 

This is one of the three congregations which came 
from the divisions of the Duncansville congregation and 
formerly known as the Frankstown Church. This 
division was effected in 1904. Carson Valley organized 
with the following: 

Ministers: Levi B. Benner, William N. Hoover. 

Deacons: Ellis J >rubaker, Samuel Brubaker, Levi 
Hoover. 

Laity: 84 

Organization: Brice Sell, bishop; P. Pearl Benner, sec- 
retary; Samuel Brubaker, treasurer. 

A mission was started in Lakemont the same year the 
church was organized, but for sufficient reasons it was 
abandoned. The Holiday sburg mission, begun in 1908, 
was a part of the Carson Valley territory and absorbed 
the time of William H. Hoover, one of the ministers of 
the congregation, and he could not help elsewhere. Still 
the church tried to serve in the larger sphere and in 1912 

* To Frank A. Brubaker the reader is indebted for some of the information 
of this sketch. 

212 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



started a mission at Bennington. At first this was quite 
promising but lack of ministerial help compelled disap- 
pointments and at last the project had to be abandoned. 
Again a renewed effort was made at Lakemont where 
there were a number of members : good interest and 
splendid congregations gathered and there were large 
hopes of organizing a separate congregation. But again 




The Carson Valley Church. 



through shortage of ministerial help the mission was 
abandoned and all that was gained, lost. 

Levi Benner, Frank E. Brubaker and Jacob Hoover 
felt to center their efforts at the Carson Valley house. 

Their efforts built up the work, and the church building 
erected by the Duncansville congregation in 1875 was 
remodeled and dedicated anew on August 13, 1917. Wil- 
liam J. Swigart conducted the service, using for his text 
John 4 :20-22. The building committee consisted of 
Jacob Brubaker, John Replogle, John A. Brubaker, 
Frank E. Brubaker and Gilbert Bingham. 

The year 1925 began with their bishop Levi B. Benner, 
deceased, Frank E. Brubaker, moved to Martinsburg to 
superintend the Children's Home, and no presiding 
bishop chosen. 

213 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Elders who have presided since the organization : 

Brice Sell 1904 Levi B. Benner, 1908- 

Dec. 12, 1924 

Ministers elected : 

* George Cochrane 1904 Frank E. Brnbaker 1912 

Blair Hoover 1910 Jacob Hoover 1912 

Daniel G. Brubaker 1910 

Deacons: 1904, John A. Brubaker, Daniel G. Brubaker; 1908, 

Samuel Clapper; 1909, Frank E. Brubaker, Jacob Hoover; 1912, 

Lewis Hoover; 1914, John Rcplogle, David Kaufrman ; 1920, Ray- 
mond Brubaker, Gilbert Bingham. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

" The brethren and sisters of the Duncansville congregation, after 
repeated requests, made arrangements at the quarterly council, held 
Saturday, May 4, 1878, to organize a Sabbath-school here, the first 
ever held in this place by the Brethren. For several years the Breth- 
ren have been holding successful schools at Leamersville and at 
Altoona, the extremes of this congregation. Officers : Ellis Bru- 
baker, superintendent; Elijah Berkey and David Smouse, assistants; 
Joseph Sifiier, secretary-treasurer ; William Buck, monitor. " His 
office was to invite strangers forward into the classes, etc. . . . 
Thirty-six scholars present at the opening, the following Sunday. 
The Brethren's hymn book used for singing. The Testament for 
lessons. Questions were asked by the superintendent, to different 
classes to be discussed the following Sabbath. Collections were 
taken up from time to time, wherewith to purchase the necessary 
books, tickets, etc. It will be understood this is the first Sabbath 
school ever held by the Brethren in this vicinity, and it as well as 
many other things had its opposition." The school closed the fol- 
lowing October with an enrollment of 76. t 

Through James A. Sell writing a letter the school was represented 
at the Spring Run Convention October 10, 1878. The next year 
John Stiffier represented at the New Enterprise convention, May 
28, 1879. 

The school did not represent at the 1898 convention, but in 1904 
made this report : average attendance, 70 ; seven teachers ; raised 
$102.00, of which $38.73 went to missions and charity work; two 
conversions. 

The officers of the school when Carson Valley became a separate 
congregation in 1904 were Levi Benner, superintendent; F. Pearl 
Brubaker, secretary ; John A. Brubaker, treasurer. The average at- 
tendance was 55 ; for 1908, 98. The school has been " evergreen " 
since 1904. It has maintained a front-line standard during the 
years 1916, 1917, 1918, and 1920. Teacher training class was con- 
ducted during 1917 and four received first year certificates. 

* Did not accept. 

f Extracted from Emily R. Stiffler's report in Primitive Christian and Pilgrim, 
1878, p. 749. 

214 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Superintendents: 1878, Ellis Brubaker; 1879, Leonard C. Stiffler; 
1880, Ellis Brubaker; 1881 to 1903, not known; 1904, Levi B. Ben- 
ner; 1905, William N. Hoover; 1906-'08, Levi B. Benner ; 1909, 
Jacob W. Hoover; 1910-'14, Frank E. Brubaker; 1921-'22, H. Gil- 
bert Bingham; 1923-25, Martin Albright 

SISTERS AID SOCIETY 

The Society first met in the home of Annie Hoover on June 22, 
1911. Presidents: Annie Hoover till 1914; Ida M. Benner till 1921. 
Reorganization March 15, 1922. Elsie Brubaker, president; in 1923 
Pearl Brubaker. The Society has had few members and they have 
given their efforts mainly to the needs in their own community, in 
the following manner: In 1917 carpeted the main auditorium and 
purchased pupil chairs and sent clothing and food to the Chicago 
Mission. In 1922 sent carpet and curtains for one room of Old 
Folks Home at Martinsburg. In 1924 thus far bought linoleum 
for vestibule and sewed different days for sisters who wanted help. 



HOLLIDAYSBURG* 

Present Membership, 146. 

Although Hollidaysburg is located in the very heart 
of the old Frankstown Church territory of early settle- 
ment times, very few members of the Church of the 
Brethren ever resided in the town until recently, and no 
public worship was held by them until in this century. 
In the spring of 1908 a Sunday-school was started in 
Sltultz Hall, corner of Mulberry and Wayne Streets, by 
six resident members and at once grew in interest and 
attendance. On September 13 following, the first preach- 
ing service was conducted by James A. Sell and such 
services have been held regularly ever since. 

Inasmuch as Hollidaysburg was a part of Carson Val- 
ley congregation and this new work was begun rather 
independent of the mother church, steps were taken to 
organize the little beginning into a separate mission 
point. This was done August 28, 1909, in the presence 
of George S. Myers, John B. Brumbaugh and John B. 
Miller, representatives of the District Mission Board. 
George S. Myers presided. After the purpose of the 
meeting was set forth, these propositions, copied from 
the minutes of that meeting, were presented : 

* To Clarence C. Shiffler the reader is indebted for much of the information 
in this sketch. 

215 





Bishop William N. Hoover. 



Mr. and Mrs. Matthew Sell. 




The Hollidaysburg Church. 





Mr. and Mrs. Walter C. Sell. Mr. and Mrs. Clarence C. Shiffler. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



" Do you want to organize where you can work to- 
gether as Christians for the upbuilding of the faith of the 
Gospel as taught in the New Testament and upheld by 
the Church of the Brethren, — where you can place your 
membership and have a church home? Unanimously 
affirmed. " 

" Do you love and are you willing to maintain the Gos- 
pel principles as held by the church and set forth in your 
baptismal covenant? The elders present explained what 
all was involved in this covenant and it was unanimously 
accepted." 

The charter members were William N. Hoover, min- 
ister ; Matthew W. Sell, deacon ; Grace Sell, Minnie 
Keith, Rosa Rice, Edna Ringler, Sadie and Elizabeth 
Baker, Maria Sell and Susie Baker. 

The little group organized by electing William N. 
Hoover foreman under the District Mission Board and 
Matthew W. Sell secretary-treasurer. No boundary lines 
were made other than that Hollidaysburg and vicinity 
was to be the territory occupied. 

Bishops presiding : 

William N. Hoover 1909 

Joseph J. Shaffer 1919 

Ministers elected : 

Clarence C. Shiffler Oct. 15, 1915 

Mrs. Alice D. Sell ' Oct. 5, 1924 

Deacons elected: April 5, 1913, David M. Snowberger, James 
D. Malone and Clarence C. Shiffler. 

Pastors and dates each began to serve : 

William N. Hoover 1908 

Joseph J. Shaffer Oct., 1919 

Walter C. Sell September 1, 1924 

From the beginning the mission has been self supporting. 

At the time of the organization James A. Sell proposed 
starting a building fund at once and turned over four 
cents as a neucleus, saying that years before a poor sister, 
Emily R. StifTler, who once lived in the city, sent him 
two postage stamps towards a building in town. Brother 
Sell himself took a deep interest in the proposed building 
and raised $1200.00 outside of the congregation. 

April 14, 1911, a lot on Pine Street was bought. David 

217 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



M. Snowberger, Clarence C. ShifTler, Samuel N. Gearhart, 
James D. Malone, Matthew W. Sell, Daniel B. Maddocks 
and George A. Keith were appointed building committee. 
By November 29, 1914, a brick house 36 x 50, with an an- 
nex 12 x 25, and, including the lot, costing $5,250.00, was 
dedicated. John H. Cassady, of Huntingdon, spoke on 
the occasion. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school was first organized and met in Stultz Hall on 
April 26, 1908, by electing Matthew W. Sell superintendent; Viola 
Soyster, secretar}^; Matthew W. Sell, chorister. 

The average attendance for the first year was 47; for 1923, 111. 
Teacher training classes have been held since 1913 and 22 have re- 
ceived their certificates. 

Superintendents and date term of service began : 

Matthew W. Sell April 26, 1908 

Clarence C. Shiffler July 1, 1915 

CHRISTIAN WORKERS SOCIETY 

This was organized January 1, 1909. Officers: Rosa Rice, presi- 
dent ; Grace Sell, secretary ; Elizabeth Replogle, treasurer. It has 
kept up its organization by electing officers annually. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Sisters met December 2, 1908, in the home of Minnie Baker 
and organized. The charter members and the officers for the first 
term : Elizabeth Baker, president ; Maria Sell, vice-president ; Susie 
Baker, secretary; Sadie Baker, assistant secretary; Minnie Baker 
and Grace Sell. 



LEAMERSVILLE 

Present Membership, 140. 

On June 25, 1904, Carson Valley and Leamersville 
groups of members, being originally a part of the Dun- 
cansville (Frankstown) congregation, were divided, the 
boundary between them being a line running east and 
west midway between Duncansvile and Newry. 

The Leamersville congregation, organized on the date 
of the division, consisted of the following: 

Ministers : David D. Sell, James A. Sell, Brice Sell, 
Michael Claar, and Jacob Zimmerman. Deacons : Simon 

218 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Sell and Martin Greenleaf. Laymembers, forty. 

David A. Sell was chosen bishop. 

" The church enjoyed a healthy growth, so much so 
that it was thought best in five years to sell the church 
and lot and accept a parcel of ground, the present site of 




The Leamersville Church from 1873 to 1910. 



the Leamersville house, donated by John Sell and Martin 
Greenleaf. 

" The last service in the old house, laden with thirty- 
eight years of precious memories, was held April 3, 1910. 
The Carson Valley members and friends were present 
and the service was both a home-coming and farewell. 
Brice S'ell preached from the same scripture used at the 
dedication. James A. Sell among other things expressed 
these fitting words : " Call it not weakness if like Joseph 
of old we turn aside to weep as we go away from this 
place to which we are bound by a thousand ties of sweet 
and pleasant memories. Here we came for comfort in 

219 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

our sorrow, strength for our weakness, pity in our way- 
wardness and forgiveness for our sins. With sad hearts 
we part with our dear old home. But we are cheered in 
the thought that there is another awaiting us just over 
the way, — and one still better over the river/' 
" But the new house must be erected. 



: 




The Leamersville Church from 1910 to 1922. 

' Again James A. Sell was engaged as solicitor and 
contractor, and this time he did a greater part of the 
work himself. It was a frame house 38 x 60 feet, without 
basement, and cost $3,000.00. The Sisters Aid Society 
furnished it throughout at a cost of $500.00 additional. 
On September 18, 1910, Charles C. Ellis, leading in the 
service and speaking from Ezra 6:16, dedicated the 
house. It was not only free of debt but had a small sur- 
plus which later was given to the Hollidaysburg congre- 
gation." Thus has James A. Sell written. He also com- 
posed the following lines : 

" Hear us, O thou great Jehovah, 

While we lift our hearts in praise; 
Make this place thy habitation 

Now and through the coming days. 



220 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



" May the burdened soul find solace 
In the service of this place, 
And enjoy the heavenly comfort 
Given by the Savior's Grace. 

" May this house become a refuge 
To the weary troubled soul, 
As we strive through pain and conflict 
For the Christian's happy goal. 

" While we linger at this altar, 
Craving blessings from above, 
Send Thy Spirit down to meet us; 
Fill us with the Savior's Love. 



Chorus. 



" May Thy Spirit, Lord be with us 
As we gather here to pray ; 
Fill our hearts with joy and gladness; 
Lead us in the perfect way." 

The congregation continued in its growth in an en- 
couraging way. Members alive to the needs of the Sun- 
day-school began an agitation for remodeling the house 
and installation of a number of features needful for effec- 
tual work. As a result at the council held April 2, 1922, 
a paper was presented from the Sunday-school Workers 
Meeting as follows : " Realizing the need, possibility and 
advantage of a fully equipped basement, we as a Sunday- 
school Workers Meeting respectfully ask the church to 
take definite steps to do this work." This request met 
with favor and Essington H. Claar, Burdine Claar, 
Homer Benton, George Lewis and Jacob Benton were 
appointed a building committee. Another committee 
was appointed to solicit the members and it reported to 
a special council April 15, 1922, that $750.00 had been 
subscribed for the first year. The proposed improve- 
ment, raising the house five feet, installing steam heat- 
ing plant and making a number of S ! unday-school rooms, 
it was reported (April 15, 1922) would cost about 
$3,500.00. Sixteen voted to remodel and four were 
against the proposed measure. On April 29 plans pre- 
sented for the basement were approved and building 
committee was instructed " to start the work and pro- 
vide the finances until the next business meeting." No- 
vember 5, 1922, the work was done and the people as- 

221 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



sembled to rededicate their house of worship. Charles 
C. Ellis led in the dedication service, speaking in the 
forenoon and afternoon. That evening Benjamin F. 
Waltz of Altoona began a series of meetings. In the fall 
of 1924 Commercial electric light was installed. 



SPg 




The Leamehsville Church Since 1922. 

Bishops presiding : 

David Sell 1904 

James A. Sell 1910 

David D. Sell 1911 

No one 1916 

Brice Sell 1919 

John B. Miller 1921 

Pastors : 

George B. Rogers April 1, 1921, March 1, 1924 

John B. Miller March 1, 1924, and continues. 

Ministers elected : 
Homer S. Benton On August 11, 1912 

Deacons elected: 1904, Matthew Sell, Jacob Benton; 1909, Archi- 
bald Claar, Frank A. Langham ; 1915, Ira Snowberger, Jacob Green- 
leaf; 1921, Birdine Claar, Jacob Hoover 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The first Sunday-school in the Duncansville congregation was held 
in the Leamersville church on May 1, 1875. Organization: James 



222 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

A. Sell, superintendent; David D. Sell, assistant superintendent; 
Simon Sell, secretary. 

After visiting the school James A. Crawford speaks of the fore- 
going organization and makes these interesting comments : " The 
teachers are all, I think, members of the church, and such mem- 
bers, too, that are active in good works and laboring for the welfare 
of the school. Sister Jesse Cogan, a pleasant young lady, who but 
a few months ago enlisted under the banner of King Jesus, is 
laboring as a teacher and is apparently enjoying herself. . . . The 
children's paper is distributed among the school. No library books 
are used ; but the Bible is the only reading book. Questions are 
asked from the same by the superintendent and explained very satis- 
factory in the school. On this account it is the most interesting 
one I ever visited. I think if we had such a school in every church 
of our fraternity, a great deal of good might be accomplished." * 

The school did not represent at the James Creek convention in 
1876, represented by letter written by James A. Sell at the Spring 
Run convention in 1878, and sent David D. Sell as delegate to the 
New Enterprise convention of 1879. 

The school did not report to the 1898 convention, but the follow- 
ing is given in the convention of 1904: enrollment, 86; average at- 
tendance, 48; seven teachers; raised $79.17, of which $44.09 was 
given to missions and charity ; " evergreen." 

Superintendents: 1875, James A. Sell; after that till 1904, not 
known; 1904, Frank A. Langham; 1905, ; 1906, Mat- 
thew Sell; 1907, James A. Sell; 1908-'ll, Mrs. James A. Sell; 1912, 
Homer Benton; 1913-'24, Frank A. Langham. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Sisters' Aid Society was organized in the home of Mrs. 
James A. Sell in June, 1898. The following are charter members: 
Esther B. Sell, Sara A. Sell, Cora Greenleaf, Barbara Benton, Junie 
Leighty, Grace Benton, Minnie Baker, Rachel Sell, Martha Sell, 
Cora Sell, Lydia Greenleaf, Carrie Langham, Grace Sell, Maria Sell 
and Anna Sell. 

Organization : Esther B. Sell, president ; Grace and Sarah S. Sell, 
secretaries ; Cora Greenleaf, treasurer. 

Presidents: Mrs. Esther B. Sell, June, 1898 to November 6, 1902; 
Maria Sell, to 1905; Barbara Benton, till 1909; Sara A. Sell, 1909 
and continues. 

Clayburg Mission. Though geographically in the 
Lower Claar territory Leamersville congregation has 
developed this mission. 

There being about 100 members in Clayburg and 
vicinity, a Sunday-school was superintended by Jeremiah 
Snowberger during the summer of 1821. The next sum- 
mer, during August and September, 1922, Charles O. 

* Christian Family Companion and Gospel Visitor^ 187G, p. 606. 

223 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Berry held a three weeks' tabernacle meeting and bap- 
tized twenty-one. From that time John B. Miller held 
meetings every Lord's day, morning and evening, for one 
year. In Jnly, 1923, John R. Snyder conducted a three 
weeks' meeting and three were baptized and two re- 
claimed. In September, 1924, George E. Yoder, assisted 
by Helen Shelienberger, held a two weeks' meeting and 
three were added by baptism and one reclaimed. At 
different times one member was added until John B. 
Miller received five by baptism. All this work, continued 
under the pastoral care of John B. Miller, has been car- 
ried on in the Odd Fellows Hall. 

Claysburg Sunday-school. This was organized first in the spring 
of 1921 by Jeremiah Snowberger. He was superintendent, Mrs. 
Elmer Snyder secretary and Jennie Brumbaugh treasurer. The 
average attendance was thirty. 

The superintendents since the organization are: 1922, Jennie 
Brumbaugh; 1923, Franklin Beech; 1924, Jennie Brumbaugh. 



FIRST CHURCH, ALTOONA* 

Present Membership, 698. 

Some time in 1870 or 1871, Graybill Myers began his 
work in behalf of the Church of the Brethren by preach- 
ing- in the homes of the few members in Altoona. Among 
these was the home of John Ressler,f who had moved in 
from Duncansville and became the first deacon or church 
official of what afterwards was the Altoona Church. 
Soon a hall was rented on 6th Avenue near 20th Street 
and services were continued for upwards of two years. 
Not being able to continue in this hall and there being 
more members in the eastern end of the city than in the 
western, a Methodist chapel at the corner of 6th Avenue 
and 5th Street w r as rented. 

Inasmuch as there never had been a boundary estab- 
lished between Duncansville Church on the west and 
Warriors Mark congregation on the east, ministers from 
both congregations helped carry on the work in the city 
and preaching services were held every two weeks. 

* To James A. Sell, Walter S. Long and Joseph W. Wilt the reader is indebted 
for much of the information in this sketch. 

t The father-in-law of Ardie E. Wilt, well known throughout the district. 

224 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



But the owner put the chapel up for sale,— price, 
$1,500.00. The members were all day-laborers and could 
not think of raising the money and yet the spot had 
grown dear to them and they wanted it for a place of 
worship. Graybill Myers, bearing the burden of the 
situation on his own heart, carried an appeal for assist- 
ance to build a house to the District Meeting of 1873 
when it convened at Clover Creek. The meeting in- 
structed the delegates to present the need to their re- 
spective congregations and each one was to report the 
amount it would give to help build the needed house, to 
the clerk, George Brumbaugh, Grafton, before July 1; 
and " John Spanogle, John W. Brumbaugh and Peter S. 
Myers were appointed as an investigating committee, 
whose duty it shall be, if sufficient encouragement is 
given to build, to determine on the location, site and cost 
of the house, building material, and appoint a building 
committee. " * 

Evidently " encouragement " was received, but how 
much is not known. Not being familiar with city condi- 
tions the committee appointed a sub-committee consist- 
ing of Robert McFarlin and two others (now unknown), 
all residents of Altoona, and this sub-committee made a 
contract to pay $1,500.00 for the chapel. 

On June 21, 1874, the newly purchased house of wor- 
ship was dedicated in behalf of the Church of the Breth- 
ren. Peter S. Myers delivered the dedicatory sermon, 
using for his text Mark 11 : 18. He was followed by 
Daniel M. Holsinger. The people met for worship at 
three and at eight the same day. Besides the two men- 
tioned above, visitings ministers present were John W. 
and George VV. Brumbaugh of Clover Creek, and Henry 
B. Brumbaugh of Huntingdon.f 

While perhaps a few congregations sought to disre- 
gard the obligation made by the sub-committee, the offi- 
cers of the District Meeting and a number of congrega- 
tions recognized the debt and set about paying it, be- 
cause at the District Meeting five years later in Hill 
Valley the churches which had not paid their promises 

* Minutes of the District Meeting of 1873. 

t The Weekly Pilgrim, June 23, 1874, p. 204, gives the sermon preached bv 
Brother Myers. 

225 




The Upper Building was the first house of First Church of Altoona, used from 1871 
to June 21, 1874 ; the other house, from 1874 to November 18, 1917 ; and some 
members closely associated with the second house. 









in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



to Altoona were urged to do so and at the same time the 
meeting recommended that $17.50, "surplus money due 
them (Antietam) for the expenses of the last Annual 
Meeting (at New Enterprise) now in the hands of Daniel 
Snowberger " shall go towards cancelling the debt.* 




Interior Decorations of a Children's Meeting, held in 1877 or '78, in 

the First Church, Altoona, — probably the first Children's 

Meeting held in the Brotherhood. 



Thus through help from outside and cheerful though 
severe sacrifices of the members of the congregation the 
debt was finally liquidated somewhere near 1879. 

By common consent the oversight of the work fell to 
the Duncansville church. It assumed a very liberal 
policy of management. James A. Sell, the bishop of 
Duncansville congregation of course had oversight of 
Altoona also. He was ably assisted by Graybill Myers, 
Brice and David Sell. On Saturday evening, September 
29, 1877 the first lovefeast was held. The church failed 
to get a " strange preacher ... so the labor fell upon " 
Graybill Myers, David D. Sell and James A. Sell. 



* District Meeting Minutes of 1878. 



227 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

" The house was crowded to overflowing by attentive 
listeners." * 

Although not an independent congregation till in 1882, 
because of the freedom granted by the Duncansville con- 
gregation this arm of the church without formal organi- 
zation began to hold members meetings and keep record, 
September 6, 1879. George W. Kephart was made clerk. 
At the same meeting the congregation decided to elect 
the officers of the Sunday-school thus bringing it under 
more direct control of the church. 

The next meeting (March 6, 1880) a subscription plan 
was provided " for the purpose of paying the rent for 
Brother J. W. Smouse if he continues with us and 
preaches for us every Sabbath unless unavoidably pre- 
vented." Also decided that the deacons visit " some 
members who seldom get to church except on communion 



occasions." 



In 1881 (June 1) quarterly councils were established. 
Going to shows and places of amusement gave the 
church considerable concern. It was decided (June 18) 
" to allow members to go to one animal show, but not 
oftener." And " members shall not be permitted to go 
to picnics, circus shows, play parties, theaters and 
dances." At the next council (December 30) members 
who failed to pay their monthly dues for six months were 
to be reported to the church." 

Some, however, were not satisfied without independent 
organization and finally being assured that Duncansville 
would not neglect them in the ministry of the Word, on 
July 4, 1882, by a vote 24 to 4 " those inside the city 
limits " of Altoona became an individual congregation. 
This was accomplished in the presence of Graybill 
Myers, John W. Brumbaugh, Samuel Cox, Jacob Miller 
and James A. Sell. There were thirty-six charter 
members. 

Organization : James A. Sell, bishop ; Samuel G. 
Rupert, clerk (elected September 29, 1881), George W. 
Kephart, treasurer (date of election not recorded), trus- 
tees, Robert McFarlin, Joseph Kinsel and Samuel G. 
Rupert (elected December 30, 1881). 

Soon after the organization Daniel Brallier, a minister 

* James A. Sell in Primitive Christian, 1877, p. 644. 

228 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



from Indiana County, located in the city and gradually 
the care of the church passed from James A. Sell to him 
and his assistant, Samuel Rupert. 

November 29, 1883, the church decided to ask the min- 
ority to accept the single mode of feet washing. 

The chapel paid for through such a great struggle, in 
a few years proved far too small for the growing body 
of believers. All felt the need of a larger house, but 
many feared to go ahead because of past experience. 
Finally a special meeting of the members (forty in all) 
was called. Nine attended. The question of building a 
new house was duly put to the assembly. Seven voted 
for and two against building. The majority ruled and 
the new church project went forward. 

Building committee: Daniel S. Brallier, Robert Mc- 
Pharlin and Samuel G. Rupert, appointed January 7, 
1882, let the contract for a complete house for $3,300.00 * 
and some time during 1883 began building; for at the 
November 29 meeting it was decided " to occupy the new 
unfinished Sunday-school room for holding lovefeast and 
series of meetings provided we agree to continue the 
meetings." On February 17, 1884, James Quinter led in 
the dedication of the uncompleted house.f 

In the midst of putting up a church home when many 
perplexing problems confronted the members and they 
were taxed to the limit for time, they decided (April 5, 
1884) to begin a Wednesday evening prayer-meeting. 

Lack of funds called forth the best in the supporters 
of the new house. James A. Sell canvassed the district 
and raised about $1,000.00. The house was far from 
complete, when in the early part of May, 1884, Joseph 
W. Wilt, a minister formerly from Armstrong County, 
moved from Warrior's Mark and located within the 
bounds of the congregation. He became active at once 
in the affairs of the church, and worked incessantly to 
help lift the church debt. 

For some reason a new building committee, Joseph W. 
Wilt, John H. Law and John H. Shiffler, was appointed 
(May 27, 2884) to succeed the old one. 

* See Minutes, January 12, 1884. 

t Gospel Messenger, February 26, 1884, says Brethren Quinter, John W. Brum- 
baugh, Sells and S. G. Rupert were present on the occasion. Although the day 
was wet and unpleasant the attendance was encouraging. — Ed. 

229 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



On October 3, 1885, the members decided to give " the 
church for the use of the Sisters Mission Society when- 
ever they have occasion to use it." The next year 
(November 25, 1886) incorporation papers were ordered 
out and the trustee board increased to six. Additional 
trustees : Martin S. Greenleaf, Daniel McFarlin, John 
Kinsel. 

Some time after the church house was completed the 
District through an arrangement made by representa- 
tive elders, agreed to pay a certain sum annually to help 
meet the church's indebtedness. But the District appar- 
ently failed to support the promise. Then " the Sisters 
Sewing Society" (March 5, 1887) offered the following: 
" In view of the fact that the District Meeting is failing 
to meet its part of the payments on the church debt and 
inasmuch as the sisters oppose selling the old house and 
propose borrowing the money and paying the interest 
until they are through with their share, and then pay off 
the other half, we therefore decide to give it into their 
hands until District Meeting and see what can be done 
for them by District Meeting. We appoint Eliza Freet 
and Martha Shellenberger and allow them to appoint a 
third to attend to the matter." 

By a vote 11 to 5 (August 6, 188?) the " lower room 
of the church was rented to the Board of School Direc- 
tors of Altoona to hold public school in." But for some 
reason the " old house ' was refused the Salvation Army 
at the same meeting. Later (April 7, 1888) it was rented 
to the Presbyterians for Sunday-school purposes, reserv- 
ing the " privilege to use the house for singing school, 
prayer meeting and other purposes throughout the 
week." At this last meeting the Gospel Messenger was 
sent to the Y. M. C. A. reading rooms and a petition 
went to General Conference asking that the Brotherhood 
name be changed from " Fraternity of German Baptists ' 
to " Brethren Church." 

By a vote, 16 to 2 (July 16, 1889) the congregation 
" permits the building of a baptistry as soon as the neces- 
sary funds can be raised," the same to be constructed in 
the back yard of the church. Seven years later (January 
3, 1896) by a vote of 12 to 1 because the frost injured the 
outside pool, a baptistry was ordered to be built in the 

230 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

house. This action was reconsidered the following 
March 6, objectors pressed their views and again the 
baptistry, by a vote of 21 to 10 was ordered to be placed 
in the church. It then was built as decided. 

The prayer meeting was changed (July 16, 1889) into 
a Bible class for " the purpose of studying the Scrip- 
tures, especially the Sunday-school lesson/' Children's 
Day Exercises evidently had been observed for a little 
time for (July 5, 1890) the " propriety or impropriety of 
holding the present form " of such exercises was dis- 
cussed but no conclusion reached. 

" Because it is not customary ' it is decided (July 4, 
1891) that delegate to Annual Meeting does not make a 
report of the meeting. 

The question of an organ in the Sunday-school room 
was disposed of (January 2, 1892) by concluding that 
had the Annual Meeting considered such a question the 
answer would be much the same as relates to member's 
homes, and the question was dropped. This did not 
satisfy those feeling the need of the organ. At the spring 
council (April 2) it developed that an organ had been 
installed and was in use. The church established inno- 
cence of the offense ; the Sunday-school officials carried 
the responsibility and the advice was "that the object of 
so much trouble be removed from the school." But at a 
fall meeting in the same year there is no record of its 
removal. Ushers for the church are elected for one year 
at the same meeting. 

In 1894 the congregation petitioned Annual Meeting 
to provide a plan and funds that ministers may attend 
Bible terms at our colleges, but at the same meeting 
(April 4) refused to let other denominations use the 
baptistry. 

A committee of seven brethren were appointed (Jan- 
uary 15, 1897) to devise a better plan for taking care of 
the preaching in the congregation. At their next meet- 
ing (April 2) this committee brought in a report favor- 
ing a salaried ministry and it was accepted by the 
church. But who should serve? The question dragged 
along through the years till in 1902 a written vote was 
taken from all the members revealing as reported (No- 
vember 28, 1902) that an outside minister was desired, 

231 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

and that he should have the oversight of the congrega- 
tion. This report was accepted. 

Finally at a " special council held after the morning 
services ' (July 3, 1904) the pastoral committee made a 
report and it " was accepted and by a large vote it was 
decided that Brother Long should be our pastor/' 
November 1, following, Walter S. Long and his wife 
from Philadelphia entered upon their work. They found 
a few over two hundred members. One hundred and 
twenty attended the first lovefeast just after they arrived. 
Frank F. Holsopple of Juniata College who had preached 
for the church for the previous few months was present 
and officiated. 

Through the years leading up to this transition to a 
regular pastor Joseph W. Wilt, ably assisted by Daniel 
S. Brallier, Benjamin F. Ranck and others, did a noble 
work gratuitously. The membership grew from a hand- 
ful to upwards of two hundred. Its very growth com- 
mended the change for the welfare of the individual 
believers. 

The spiritual leadership of the new pastor widened the 
influence of the congregation in the city. As the years 
went by men and women flocked to this altar and with- 
out respect of persons, all were received and blessed. 

On June 28, 1914, the splendid brick church known as 
28th Street house, costing $4,100.00 was dedicated. This 
was but a forecast of the energy lying dormant in the 
congregation. 

" The light that shines farthest, shines brightest at 
home ' was now to be realized at First Church. The 
missionary spirit that erected the 28th Street house had 
awakened enthusiasm for better facilities at First Church. 
Already funds for this purpose had been coming in with- 
out solicitation and were being cared for by a committee 
— Ardie E. Wilt, Mrs. Harriet Kipple and Walter S. 
Long. October 1, 1915, a committee was appointed to 
secure suggestive plans and possible cost and report to 
the next meeting. January 7, 1916, upon motion offered 
by Ardie E. Wilt it was decided by an almost unanimous 
vote to build a new church. Building committee ap- 
pointed by the* pastor, — Ardie E. Wilt, Daniel B. Mad- 
docks, Rhinehart B. Replogle, Ellis G. Eyer, Robert P. 

232 




The present house of the First Church of Altoona, dedicated November 18, 1917. 
Building Committee, from left to right : Standing, Ellis G. Eyer, Secretary ; 
Robert P. Good, Rinehard B. Replogle. Sitting, Daniel B. Maddocks, Ardie 
E. Wilt, Chairman. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Good, had their first meeting February 29, 1916. Ad- 
ditional twenty-five feet on Sixth Avenue were purchased 
for $4,000.00, making the entire building lot 72x120 
feet. The old house went for $1,000.00 but not before 
another lovefeast was held May 14, at which James A. 
Sell, Brice Sell, Josiah B. Brumbaugh, Joseph W. Wilt, 
Seth F. Myers, Daniel M. Kreider, Benjamin F. Ranck, 
and the pastor were present. James A. Sell officiated. 
Five members, James A. Sell, Lizzie McFarlin, Susannah 
Rath, Sophiah Fisher and one other were at the table 
who were present when the first Sunday-school was 
organized. 

During the erection of the new church the congrega- 
tion had the use of the German Evangelical house. The 
corner stone of the new church was laid December 17, 
1916, William J. Swigart, I. Harvey Brumbaugh and 
ministers from other denominations in the city speaking 
fittingly on the occasion. 

The world war delayed progress on the construction 
somewhat, but on October 7, 1917, preaching and Sunday- 
school began in the Sunday-school section. Then on 
November 18, 1917 this splendid brick and stone struc- 
ture, with a main auditorium seating 500, with a Sunday- 
school assembly room, seating 650, with seventeen indi- 
vidual class rooms, with every convenience and facility, 
yet plain and becoming the people of God, — costing, in- 
cluding the $4,000.00 for the added lot and the splendid 
parsonage built at the same time, $56,309.65, was dedi- 
cated. Henry C. Early of Virginia delivered the dedi- 
catory address, text, Mark 11:17. Charles C. Ellis had 
charge of the financial part of the program. The new 
house has proved a great help to a great work in a great 
city. 

On July 6, 1924, the congregation held Jubilee exercises 
as follows : " Organization in 1874," by Ardie E. Wilt ; 
" Incidents in the History of the School,' 1 by Joseph W. 
Wilt, Jacob C. Kinsel, David S. Miller and Harvey A. 
Hess ; address by Charles C. Ellis. Perhaps the most 
touching part of this program was the call for all to stand 
who attended the school a half century ago. Susah Rath, 
Mrs. Mary Patton, Mrs. Maggie Ross Histler, Mrs. Kate 
Pherson and James A. Sell stood. 

234 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Then in the evening the building committee came for- 
ward and in the presence of a full house burned the 
mortgage, after which Charles C. Ellis spoke, using for 
his text Psalms 73 : 17. ' 

The year 1917 is marked in this church also by intro- 
ducing the individual communion cups. 

During Walter S. Long's pastorate which continues at 
the present time, 732 have been received into church fel- 
lowship by baptism. 

Bishops presiding: 

James A. Sell 1882-'87 No one in charge 1903-'04 

George W. Brumbaugh. 1887-'93 Walter S. Long 1904-'24 

Joseph W. Wilt 1893-'03 

Ministers elected : 

Seth F. Myers moved in Abram Hollinger.. April 21, 1883 

John Garver moved in Homer Feathers. . . Sept. 7, 1921 

Samuel G. Rupert. .Dec. 17, 1881 Byron Sell Sept. 7, 1921 

Deacons: Located before work began, John Ressler ; moved in, 
George W. Kephart ; December 17, 1881, John H. Law, Joseph 
Kinsel; March 12, 1883, Alexander Rath, Abram Hollinger; April 
18, 1885, Martin S. Greenleaf, Oliver P. Pherson; March 7, 1890, 
Daniel M. McFarlin, Allen C. McCartney; February 22, 1897, David 
S. Miller, Ardie E. Wilt, Harvey A. Hess; January 17, 1905, 
Samuel H. Brumbaugh, Daniel M. Sell, Harvey E. Ressler; Sep- 
tember 2, 1906, George H. Hepner, Cyrus B. Replogle, Harry A. 
Claybaugh; Julv, 1908, J. Gilbert Shaw; September 19, 1911, C. 
Edward Miller, Herman V. Morse, Edgar O. Shaw, Reinard B. 
Replogle, David H. Glass, Edward L. Barr. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL . 

" By letter " the Altoona Sunday-school reported to the Conven- 
tion held at James Creek on October 21, 1876 as follows: " The 
first Sabbath school was organized by the Brethren July 5, 1874, by 
choosing the following officers : Superintendent, Alexander Rath ; 
secretary, Andrew J. Murray; treasurer, Robert McFarlin. The 
school is opened by singing and prayer: classes are then arranged, 
using the Bible, Testament and Spellers. A chapter is also selected 
and read in the hearing of the school ; and also encourage the com- 
mitting of scriptures to memory. Average number of attendance in 
1874, 62; in 1875, 50; in 1876, 86. We have now adopted the Gospel 
Hymns : first, because they are very cheap ; second, because the 
children from other schools are familiar with them and join us 
heartily in singing. At present we have no library for distribution. 
We use tickets, cards, etc., for attendance, good lessons, memorizing, 
etc." Thus was the record fifty years ago. 

At the convention of 1898, when the present pastor was field secre- 

235 




Some members of the Sisters' Aid Society of the First Church of Altoona, the 
First Organized Aid Society of the Brotherhood. 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

tary and the present superintendent had served four years, this 
school reported "enrollment, 259; average attendance, 162; raised 
$147.68 for home supplies, and 17 were received into the church/' 
In 1904 the average dropped back to " 123, raised $331.43, of which 
$90.20 was given to missions or charitable work." The school has 
been " evergreen" from the beginning. 1911-24 inclusive the school 
has maintained a front line standard; during 1908-23 teacher train- 
ing classes were conducted in which 197 enrolled and 40 received 
first year certificates. Present enrollment, 499; average for 1924, 321. 
Superintendents: July 5, 1874, Alexander Rath; January 3, 1875, 

Andrew J. Murray; January 6, 1877, Joseph F. Emmert; , 

Alexander Ambrose; , George Kephart; , John H. Law; 

, Daniel M. McFarlin ; , Joseph W. Wilt; , Daniel S. 

Brallier; , Samuel G. Rupert; , Jacob Kinsel; January 1, 

1891, Ardie E. Wilt; July 1, 1891, David Miller; January 1, 1892, 
Seth F. Myers; July 1, 1892, Harvey A. Hess; January 1, 1893, 
Jacob Kinsel; July 1, 1893, David Miller; January 1, 1894, William 
F. Spidle; July 1, 1894-1925, Ardie E. Wilt. 



SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

As early as July 21, 1885, the sisters of the church met in the home 
of Eliza Freet and organized an aid society by electing Laura 
Brown, president; Amanda Wilt, vice-president; Minnie Miller, 
secretary; Susan Rath, assistant secretary; and Eliza Freet, treas- 
urer. This probably is the first society organized in the brother- 
hood. They took Galatians 6:9, 10 for their motto. The charter 
members were : 

Laura Brown ' Susan Rath 

Sophiah Fisher Pearl Brallier 

Hannah Brallier Eliza Parkhurst 

Mary Gearhart Laura Hummelstine 

Katie Hollinger Katie Pherson 

Amanda Wilt Minnie Miller 

Sarah Kinsel Susan Brallier 

Martha Shellenberger Aggie Claybaugh 

Eliza Freet Hannah Graybill 
Anna Kinsel 

The first sale for the society was on July 30, 1885, a white apron 
bought by Lydia Greenleaf for 28 cents. A general summary of 
the efforts of the society since 1905 is as follows: 

Towards home church building $750.00 

Home Work in congregation 450.00 

Mission work 300.00 

Orphan in India 320.00 

Other places helped 294.00 

$2,114.00 

237 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

2 8th STREET, ALTOONA* 

Present Membership, 202. 

In the first decade of the present century Joseph W. 
Wilt, Daniel S. Brallier, Seth Myers and others of what 
is now known as the First Church in Altoona quickened 
sentiment for city missions to the point where the dona- 
tions of one S'unday of each month was set apart for this 
purpose and on April 2, 1909, appointed Ardie E. Wilt, 
Benjamin F. Ranck and Samuel N. Brumbaugh a com- 
mittee to report on a suitable location for opening a Sun- 
day-school. Difficulty in finding* a proper place at reas- 
onable rent was met and not until April 1, 1910, did they 
recommend the renting of a hall at 8th Avenue and 23rd 
Street. The following July a Sunday-school was organ- 
ized and the new project which in a short time devel- 
oped into 28th Street congregation, was fostered most 
vigorously. 

July 7, 1911, the church council instructed the trustees 
to purchase a lot 50 x 120 feet, corner of 6th Avenue and 
28th Street. This awakened intense interest in some 
hearts. George W. Kephart, under August 20, 1913, 
wrote the trustees thus : " I believe it the right move ' 
and then obligated himself to bear all the cost of excava- 
tion and construction of the cellar walls. 

Ellis G. Eyer, Samuel N. Brumbaugh, Daniel B. Mad- 
docks, Daniel M. Sell and Harvey A. Hess were appointed 
a committee on plans and estimates and on September 
26, 1913, made report which was accepted. The same 
Brethren were continued as building committee and in- 
structed to erect the proposed house at once. On the 
afternoon of June 28, 1914, a well-planned brick building 
50 x 33 feet, annex 14 x 12 feet, including $790.00, the 
price of the lot, costing $4,488.41 was dedicated. Walter 
S. Long, the pastor of the church, delivered the dedi- 
catory sermon. In the evening William J. Swigart spoke 
to a well filled house. 

From the dedication until May 14, 1916, preaching 
services were held only on Sunday evening, and forty- 

* To Benjamin F. Waltz the reader is indebted for much of the information 
contained in this sketch. 

238 




Upper: The Parsonage. Middle: The deacons and their wives. 

Lower : The Church. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

eight different ministers occupied the pulpit. Since that 
date services have been held twice each day. 

With much activities centering around this new place 
of worship it was only a matter of time until all saw the 
wisdom of a separate organization. With the assistance 
of James A. Sell, Levi Benner and Walter S. Long, com- 
mittee from the elders meeting " 28th Street Church of 
the Brethren " was organized on June 26, 1919. Charter 
members : Ministers, none ; Deacons, Samuel N. Brum- 
baugh, Harvey A. Hess, Rinehart B. Replogle, Cyrus B. 
Replogle, Daniel M Sell, Henry E. Snyder; laymem- 
bers, 79. 

Organization: Daniel B. Maddocks, bishop; Cyrus B. 
Replogle, secretary; Samuel N. Brumbaugh, treasurer; 
Harry C. Kinsel, Samuel N. Brumbaugh and Wilson 
Mentzer, trustees. 

The parent congregation which built the church house 
gave the new body full right and title without any con- 
ditions whatsoever. 

Benjamin F. Waltz was called as first pastor on May 3, 
1920, and continues. A parsonage was purchased on 
January 27, 1920 for $6,500.00 and was fully paid Jan- 
uary 1, 1924. 

The educational policies of the church are shaped by a 
board of Christian Education, consisting of Benjamin F. 
Waltz, the pastor, Samuel N. Brumbaugh, the Sunday- 
school superintendent, H. Atlee Brumbaugh, Cyrus B. 
Replogle and Edgar C. Long. Among the activities for 
the young people worthy of mention are sermonettes to 
the Juniors every Sunday morning, two Christian Work- 
ers meetings, — senior and junior. A Young People's 
Council to include all between the ages of twelve and 
twenty-four was organized September 21, 1923. A mid- 
week service, average attendance 35, is regularly held. 

But the growing activities of the congregation have 
been such that more room must be provided. July 9, 
1924, the members expressed themselves unitedly in favor 
of additional building. Daniel M. Sell, H. Atlee Brum- 
baugh, Rhinehart B. Replogle, Wilson Mentzer and 
Henry E. Snyder were made building committee " with 
authority to formulate plans and bring estimates for an 
addition to the rear of the church and that they report 

240 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



within three months." On October 1, following, this 
committee reported that it " contemplated building a 
two story building, 30x49 feet, for Sunday-school pur- 
poses at a cost of $1,800.00. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

This was first organized in the hall at 8th Avenue and 23rd Street. 
Officers : Edward O. Shaw, superintendent ; J. Quinter Replogle, 
secretary; Rhinehart B. Replogle, treasurer. The first session was 
held July 10', 1913. The school was "evergreen" from the start. 
During 1913 the average attendance was forty-nine; offering, $97.59 ; 
during 1922, 158; offering, $1,037.55. In addition to the officers 
elected at the beginning there have been two more added, — Adult 
superintendent, H. Atlee Brumbaugh ; Junior Superintendent, Martha 
Mentzer. During the years 1917, 1922 and 1923 the school has 
maintained a frontline standard, had teacher training and eighteen 
have received teacher training certificates. Four Vacation Bible 
Schools have been conducted, the one in 1923 having an average at- 
tendance of 106 pupils. The school ministered to sixteen congrega- 
tions of eleven denominations. 

Superintendents: 1910, Edward C. Shaw; 1911-'12, George H. 
Hepner; 1913-'24, Samuel N. Brumbaugh 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Willing Workers organized August 14, 1917 as a Sunday- 
school class and included in their purposes the usual activities of 
an Aid Society. Officers : Samuel N. Brumbaugh, president and 
teacher; Mrs. Gertrude Graybill, secretary; Mrs. Eliza Replogle, 
treasurer. Each member was expected to pay five cents per month 
membership fee and in that way $114.75 has been raised. Total 
offerings for all purposes amounts to $2,603.00. Public programs 
are rendered every April and October. 

Some items of helpfulness : 

Parsonage Fund $1,623.34 

Frescoing the church 235.00 

First Church Building 70.00 

Ida Himmelsbaugh 9.15 

Forward Movement 30.00 

Quinter Memorial Hospital, India 20.00 

Piano Fund 25.00 

One share Quinter Memorial Fund at Juniata 10.00 

John B. Brumbaugh Bible Fund 10.00 

Bethany Bible School 12.50 

Mercy Hospital 10.00 

American Fund 10.00 

China Mission 5.00 

Old Folks Home 5.00 

Clothing, flowers, etc 25.00 

241 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

On March 22, 1922 the sisters thinking that an Aid Society con- 
forming fully to the District Organization might prove beneficial, 
met in the church and organized a regular society. Officers ; presi- 
dent, Mrs. Martha A. Brumbaugh ; vice-president, Mrs. Nettie Glass ; 
secretary, Mrs. Minnie Replogle; treasurer, Mrs. Nannie Hite. In 
addition to gathering clothing and food and distributing to the poor 
of the city, making quilts and hats for the needy, the society has 
been able to raise $267.00, part of which is distributed as follows : 

Virginia Home $15.00 

Old Folks Home 5.00 

Parsonage Fund 1 25.00 



242 



CHAPTER VI 



Warriors Mark Congregation and 
Growth in Huntingdon and 
Blair Counties 



Its 



17B0 1800 1820 1840 I860 1880 1900 1920 



1800 



1897 
1894 
1883 



1907 



Warriors Mark 



Juniata Park 



Bellwood 



Tyrone 



_ Glenhope Mis s 



WARRIORS MARK* 

Present Membership, 40. 

" This is a congregation of members northeast from 
Tyrone in the northwestern part of Huntingdon County, 
so isolated from the other congregations of the District 
that boundary lines seemed unnecessary. It originally 
had members in Warriors Mark, Tuckaho, Bald Eagle 
and Sinking Valleys. Our people owned quite a number 
of the most fertile farms, especially in Warriors Mark. 
How early the first members located here cannot be as- 
certained for records have not been kept. But among 
others the names Beck, Nearhoof, Autelberger, Grazier, 
Spanogle, Buck and Grain may be mentioned. The fact 
that movable partitions are found in some of the older 
houses where brethren lived, points to the conclusion 
that services were held in different homes in earlier days. 

" Tradition insists that John Spanogle and Henry 
Nearhoof were their first ministers. It is probable that 
one of these brethren was still living when Jacob Beck 

* Aside from quotations, the reader is indebted to Walter E. Cox for infor/ ation 
in this sketch. 



243 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



was called to the ministry in 1833 because shortly after 
his election the care of the church fell upon his shoulders 
and remained until Graybill Myers moved into Tuckaho 
Valley in 1851. But both brethren Myers and Samuel 
Cox, the latter called to the ministry October 15, 1856, 
lived so far from the main body of members that the care 
of the church was to a great extent neglected. 

" From all accounts there never was a formal organiza- 
tion. The oldest minister was elder and that was all that 
was needed to direct the flock. 

" The members, however, had strong faith in their 
cause, for Jacob Beck in 1856 deeded to the congregation 
a plot of ground on the corner of his farm next to the 
cross roads and the members put up a good house 40x40 
feet, well preserved and in use to-day. 

" There was included in the membership some of the 
best and most thrifty citizens of the valleys, but they 
were scattered and the minister was growing old and 
church matters were not receiving much attention. 
While the young people were indoctrinated in a general 
way they were not gathered in. 

" In 1865 Henry R. Holsinger began the publication of 
the * Christian Family Companion ' in Tyrone, a city 
within the bounds of this congregation. The year fol- 
lowing the church called him to the ministry. James A. 
Sell worked in this printing office and these two min- 
isters gave a new lease to the life of the church. The 
same year the Sunday-school was started. The attend- 
ance at church service was increased and quite a number 
of new members were added to the church. In 1868, 
James A. Sell withdrew from the eitorial staff of the 
paper and was succeeded by J. W. Beer, which left the 
ministerial force the same. 

" In 1871, Brother Holsinger moved his printing plant 
to Myersdale, Pennsylvania. Brother Sell had left before 
this, and their departure reduced the working force of 
the congregation/' — James A. Sell. 

Record in the form of minutes for this congregation 
begins with October 23, 1869, but no name is signed to 
them until ten years later (Sept. 27, 1897), when a reor- 
ganization appointed Even Nearhoof treasurer and Solo- 
mon S. Gray secretary. 

244 




The Warriors Mark Church. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Joseph W. Wilt held the first revival in June, 1877, 
when thirty-six were added to the church. Two years 
later he located as a self-supporting pastor and had the 
joy of seeing the membership increase from about fifty 
to one hundred and twenty-five in the five years he was 
with them. During his administration the church was 
completely remodeled. 

" Complaint had been lodged against " a certain min- 
ister because he " w T as delinquent in his ministerial 
duties " and a committee was appointed (Oct. 2, 1880) 
to visit him and ask him " to clear himself of the charge 
before communion meeting.' 1 At this same meeting 
notices not to use tobacco in the house of God were 
ordered put up. The congregation decided (Aug. 13, 
1881) to have only two councils each year instead of 
quarterly as before. This continued until 1896 when it 
returned to quarterly councils again. 

The " Record of the Faithful " * states that this con- 
gregation was organized in 1800 with twelve members; 
that in 1881-1882 it had one house, date of erection not 
known then, and a membership of 126. Solomon M. Cox 
was bishop ; he had as his co-laborers in the ministry 
Conrad Imler, Samuel S. Gray and Joseph W. Wilt. 

The congregation voted (April 26, 1881) to adopt the 
single mode of feetwashing. What effect the Progressive 
movement had on the congregation is not stated, but a 
request to let them hold meetings in the Cross Roads 
house was declined (Aug. 20, 1884) " almost unani- 
mously.' 5 Evidently there was a prayer meeting con- 
ducted for some time, for at the meeting, May 1, 1886, 
" there was considerable said about prayer meeting and 
the coldness and delinquency of the Brethren in their 
duties." 

At the spring council (April 14, 1888) the congrega- 
tion instructed its delegates to District Meeting to favor 
the church name " Brethren " instead of " Tunker or 
German Baptist ' and to vote in favor of the Old Folks 
Home. Order at the lovefeasts was a problem with this 
congregation and it appointed (Oct. 4, 1890) a brother 
to keep order with instructions " in case of bad conduct 



* Published by Howard Miller in 1882. 

246 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

that the parties be dealt with according to the laws of 
the commonwealth." 

At a council meeting held April 29, 1893, rules govern- 
ing the congregation were adopted. The duties of the 
respective offices of secretary, treasurer, trustees and 
missionary solicitors are quite complete and then some 
regulations for members, two of which are unique but 
very helpful. Fourth, " Members are not allowed to visit 
on the Sabbath in preference to attending church. See 
Exodus 16 : 23 ; Hebrews 10 : 25." Fifth, " Gossiping, 
backbiting and revealing business that has been done at 
council meeting, 1 Timothy 5 : 13, is forbidden." 

" About this time a series of unfortunate events mili- 
tated greatly against the influence of the church and it 
began to decline. Deaths and removals added to the re- 
verses to such an extent that the membership was re- 
duced to a mere handful ' (James A. Sell). Under these 
trying conditions, the problem of being supplied with 
ministerial help the congregation tried to solve ; but after 
trying out a plan or two, the congregation decided 
(April 2, 1898) " to ask the District Mission Board to 
take entire charge . . . agreeing at the same time that 
the Board shall not be at any expense thereby." 

" Repairing the church, purchasing matting and 
blinds " was ordered (Feb. 23, 1901), and two years later 
(Aug. 29, 1903) Young People's Meetings were approved 
by the majority and the same were organized by electing 
Walter E. Cox, president and Nancy Chronister, treas- 
urer. As a last resort they placed themselves under the 
care of the District Mission Board and preaching was 
supplied from Tyrone City Church. In 1920, William N. 
Hoover purchased a farm and began Christian work as 
well. The outlook at present is very much more hopeful. 

Ministers as far as known who labored in this congregation : 

John Spanogle * Joseph W. Beer 

Henry Nearhoof * William H. Quinn 

Jacob Beck 1833 Jacob Musselman 1876 

* Graybill Myers Samuel S. Gray 1877 

Samuel Cox 1854 * Joseph W. Wilt 

Conrad Imler John H. Law 1885 

* James A. Sell * William N. Hoover 

Henry Holsinger 1866 

* Elected elsewhere. 

247 






A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Deacons: date not known, Evan Nearhoof, John Buck; 1872, 
James Cox; 1877, Jeremiah Nearhoof; 1878, John Eyer ; 1902, Ben- 
jamin F. Nearhoof; 1903, Abraham C. Nearhoof; 1906, William 
Hitchings, Walter C. Cox, Dorsey Chronister. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The first school was organized in 1865, Evan Nearhoof being 
appointed superintendent. On October 15, 1878, Dr. Myers and 
Samuel S. Gray represented the school at the Spring Run Conven- 
tion and reported an average attendance of 60. In 1898 the school 
reported: average, 34; raised $19.14, of which $1.00 went to mis- 
sions; "evergreen." In 1904 it reported average, 33', hve teachers; 
raised $32.45, of which $8.00 went to missions and charity; one 
conversion. ' 

Superintendents: 1865-75, Evan Nearhoof; 1875-77, Jeremiah 
Nearhoof; 1878-'84, Samuel S. Gray; 1885-'86, Benjamin F. Near- 
hoof; 1887-'89, John Law; 1890-'91, Evan Nearhoof; 1892, William 
Hitchings; 1893-'96, Abraham Nearhoof; 1897-'98, George Near- 
hoof; 1899-'00, Abraham Nearhoof; 1901-'24, Walter E. Cox. 



GLENHOPE* 

About 1881 Joseph W. Wilt received a letter from 
James Quinter stating that John B. Wampler of Blanco 
(Pa.) had visited Glen Hope, a village about thirty miles 
northwest from Warriors Mark, and baptized a father and 
son. Perhaps at the time no members save brother Tick- 
erhoof and wife lived in the territory. There was no 
district mission board then, but Brother Quinter was 
eager that the spiritual wants of these people be supplied 
and Brother Wilt, living at the time in the Warriors 
Mark Congregation, was always ready to do all he could 
to answer such appeals even when he had an overload at 
the time. For two years, every four weeks, usually by 
horse and buggy the trip was made across the mountain 
— from 60 to 70 miles each time and the Word was 
preached faithfully and received most heartily. Revivals 
were held and a number gathered into the fold. On Sep- 
tember 2, 1883, James Quinter dedicated a good house of 
worship that cost $1,500.00. There were about forty 
members living in the territory. The outlook was prom- 
ising to build up a strong congregation. At the district 
meeting of 1885 the following petition was granted: " In 

* To Joseph W. Wilt the reader is indebted for the information in this sketch. 

248 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

consequence of the fact that Glenhope and surroundings 
are worthy of the consideration of the Brotherhood, the 
Altoona Church asks the District Meeting to recommend 
it to the Mission Board." 

Glenhope is on the dividing line between Middle and 
Western Districts of Pennsylvania. Both districts con- 
tributed to build the house, the former perhaps giving 
the larger amount. The work apparently was kept up by 
Middle District for no account is found to the contrary 
until 1894 when the following was presented : " It was 
decided by the District Meeting of May 19, 1886, that 
John S. Holsinger, of the 'Western District of Pennsyl- 
vania, should confer with said district as to where Glen- 
hope belongs, and submit a report to the next District 
Meeting of Middle Pennsylvania. But no report was 
submitted. It is now reported that said mission is neg- 
lected. " This petition from the Altoona church was re- 
ferred to the District Mission Board. 

Then, at the District Meeting of 1900, the following is 
recorded : " The Mission Board reported that as letters 
addressed to the District Meeting of last year from the 
Glenhope Church had been referred to them, they report 
as follows : The Middle District of Pennsylvania has re- 
linquished their claim on the Glenhope Mission as long 
as the Mission Board of Western District will care 
for it." 

Evidently it was the wish of the Glenhope members 
to be attached to the Western District and this was 
granted. About 1897, the Glenhope house was torn down 
and rebuilt one-half mile from Five Points and all that 
was left of the Glenhope Mission was included in what 
is now called the Chess Creek congregation of Western 
Pennsylvania. 

TYRONE* 

Present Membership, 114. 

" The city of Tyrone is the birthplace of the brother- 
hood's first weekly paper, the ' Christian Family Com- 
panion.' The publication began on May 10, 1864, Henry 

* To J. W. Fyock the reader is indebted for most of the information of this 
sketch. 

249 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

R. Holsinger editor and proprietor. Later he fitted up a 
hall for mission and Sunday-school purposes but the 
project did not prove very successful and it was discon- 
tinued when he moved his paper to Mversdale, (Pa.) 
in 1871." 

About fifteen years later, Samuel S. Gray held preach- 
ing services in the home of Harvey N. Stewart, corner of 
Hamilton Avenue and Thirteenth Street. Then in 1890 
the little mission was moved to the second floor of a 
building known as Goheen's Hall, corner of Columbia 
Avenue and 21st Street. " Inasmuch as he could not 
follow up the work as it should be done, he turned it over 
to John B. Brumbaugh of Huntingdon, who, at his own 
expense, ministered to the wants of the mission for over 
two years. Finally at his suggestion the District Mis- 
sion Board assumed the mission and on June 24, 1891, in 
the presence of James A. Sell, William J. Swigart, John 
B. Brumbaugh and Samuel S. Gray, the members were 
regularly organized into a congregation." James A. Sell. 

The District Mission Board assumed the charge in 
February, 1891. " From the commencement of the work 
there up to May 1, 1895, there were five received by bap- 
tism and an organization formed of nineteen members." * 
The following are charter members, as recorded on their 
minutes : Albert Garland and wife Annie, Benjamin F. 
Cox and wife Catherine, Mary Grazier, George B. Laird 
and wife Elizabeth, Harvey N. Stewart and wife Maggie. 

Because under the care of the District Mission Board, 
no bishop was chosen. By ballot Harvey N. Stewart be- 
came secretary and Albert B. Garland treasurer. 

The Board continued supervision and for $300.00 pur- 
chased a lot, corner of Adams Avenue and 18th Street, 
on April 30, 1894. The deed is made to Samuel G. 
Rupert, president, John B. Brumbaugh, secretary; Albert 
O. Dilling, treasurer — Committee Home Missions Ger- 
man Baptist Church Central Pennsylvania, and their 
successors in office.f 

A good brick church 32 x 47 feet, without basement, 
was erected during the winter and spring of 1895. The 



* Minutes of District Meeting, May 8, 1895 held at New Enterprise, 
t Copied from deed in care of John C. Swig-art. Deed recorded in Vol. 103, 
p. 102 of Blair County. 

250 




Above : Tyrone Parsonage. Below : The Tyrone Church. 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

house, including furnishings and all, cost $1,632.89 and 
was dedicated May 5, 1895, with a debt of $547.21.* " The 
house was crowded with listeners ' at 3 p. m. when 
" Samuel Cox announced the opening hymn." Joseph W. 
Wilt led in the opening prayer. Martin G. Brumbaugh 
preached the dedication sermon. Theme, " Joy in Wor- 
shiping God." Text, Psalm 122. William J. Swigart 
" made a brief, dignified appeal for funds to help 
liquidate " the debt and $225.00 was subscribed. " John 
B. Brumbaugh led in the closing prayer and made the 
announcements. Levi Stoner assisted in the services." 

Ministers from Huntingdon rilled the pulpit for the 
congregation until April 1, 1897, when Walter S. Long 
and wife, from the Aughwick congregation located and 
took full pastoral charge. 

" A Young People's Meeting to be held on Sunday 
evening before preaching service ' was (Oct. 30, 1897) 
decided upon. 

During the pastorate of Charles O. Beery, 108 were re- 
ceived into the church by baptism and though still under 
the partial support of the District Mission Board, the 
congregation purchased and paid for $3,000.00 parsonage. 

Bishops who presided : John B. Brumbaugh, from organization ; 
Harry A. Spanogle, Jan. 1, 1918; Charles O. Beery, April 2, 1922. 

Pastors who served and date each began : 

Walter S. Long April 1, 1897 

Theodore R. Coffman Nov. 1, 1900 

William Howe April 1, 1904 

Charles O. Beery April 1, 1905 

David P. Hoover July 1, 1913 

William H. Ulrich Jan. 1, 1923 

James W. Fyock since June 10, 1923 

Ministers elected : 

Sanford J. Weston June 20, 1913 

Charles L. Cox June 20, 1913 

Deacons: elected June 12, 1897, Benjamin F. Cox, James C. Mil- 
ler, Harvey N. Stewart; 1898, L. E. Conway, Philip P. Ray, 
Cimious A. Beckwith ; 1911, Joseph Swayne ; moved in, Henry L. 
Hershberger, William W. Hitchings. 



* Minutes of District Meeting-, May 8, 1895, held at New Enterprise. 

252 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

Sunday-school was started in 1868 and conducted a few years and 
discontinued. It was begun again in 1894 with the following or- 
ganization : Harvey N. Stewart, superintendent ; Elizabeth Ginter, 
secretary and Albert Garland, treasurer. At the 1898 convention the 
school reported: enrollment, 150; average, 90; raised $46.50, of 
which $3.31 went to missions; two conversions; " evergreen." In 
1904: enrollment, 106; average, 57; seven teachers; raised $118.78, 
of which $12.00 went to missions and charity ; ten conversions ; 
teachers meetings and home department. April 13, 1904 the follow- 
ing organization was made : the pastor, William M. Howe, superin- 
tendent; James C. Miller, assistant; Mabel Miller, secretary; Edith 
Howe, treasurer. 

Superintendents: 19O4-'05, William M. Howe; 1906-'08, Charles 
O. Beery; 1909, W. F. Bigler; 1910, Cimious A. Beckwith ; 1911-'12, 
Mrs. John Stapleton; 1913-'16, Charles L. Cox; 1917, Park Ray; 
1918-'21, George V. Fagley; 1922, Park Ray; 1923, David T. Solley; 
1924, George V. Fagley. 

SISTERS AID SOCIETY 

While Walter S. Long was pastor his wife Alice organized an 
Aid Society. She was made president and Jane McClain secretary 
and treasurer. They quilted, made aprons and sunbonnets and with 
the proceeds of their labors purchased matting for the isles of the 
church and helped some poor families. The society was reorgan- 
ized in 1922 by electing Mrs. Park P. Ray superintendent; Clara 
Stapleton, president ; Mrs. William W. Hitchings, vice-president ; 
Mrs. George V. Fagley, secretary-treasurer. They have been get- 
ting results, for they have painted the church, papered the parsonage, 
carpeted the church, helped pay for the new windows, contributed 
to the Morrison Cove Home, to Missions, given $100 towards the 
new furnace ; helped to support the pastor and buy the piano, pur- 
chased a sewing machine for their own use and donated to the Vir- 
ginia Industrial School. For the most of the time the pastor's wife 
served as president of the organization, until 1922. 



BELLWOOD* 

Present Membership, 138. 

The territory now included in the Bellwood congrega- 
tion was originally a part of the Warrior's Mark Church. 
At irregular intervals as early as the eighties, a few meet- 
ings were held in the schoolhouse in the vicinity by Gray- 
bill Myers, Samuel Cox, James A. Sell, Conrad Imler, 
Samuel S. Gray and others, but no real effort was made 

* To Daniel B. Maddocks the reader is indebted for much of the information 
in this sketch. 

253 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



to establish the faith until 1894. At this time five mem- 
bers lived in the vicinity and Joseph W. Wilt of Altoona, 
whose ears were always open to the call of his brethren, 




Upper: Where the congregation started. Below: The Bellwoort Church. 



rented a first floor storeroom and began preaching on 
March 25 and opened a Sunday-school April 22, 1894. 
The school grew rapidly and more room was imperative. 

254 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



The adjoining- wareroom was secured and the partition 
removed. But this room became too small and the second 
floor of the same building was added. 

Joseph W. Wilt provided reg-ular preaching. On Jan- 
uary 23, 1895, he began a revival, the results of which, 
along with a few received during the year, increased the 
membership twenty-two. 

Both the Sunday-school and the church were greatly 
in need of more room and this forced the issue of build- 
ing their own house of worship. A called meeting of the 
members was held on June 10, 1895, a committee consist- 
ing of Joseph W. Wilt, Charles L. Douglas and Harry 
Laird was appointed and told to get to work as building- 
committee, solicitors and general managers of the entire 
project. The brethren accepted their task in good faith. 
Joseph W. Wilt gave what time he could spare to raising 
money. In order to bring the whole project forcibly be- 
fore the district and the General Mission Board he, being 
bishop of the Altoona Church, had the following petition 
endorsed in that congregation and passed on to District 
Meeting of 1895 : 

" The church at Altoona, in special council, considered 
the necessity of building a church house in Bellwood. 
We believe the location a suitable one and that success- 
ful work can be accomplished in the future. This we 
think is evident from the successful work of the past 
year through the Mission Board. 'We therefore recom- 
mend the consideration of building a house to the Dis- 
trict Meeting of Middle Pennsylvania trusting that it 
will be favorably considered, and that the General Mis- 
sion Board be solicited to aid in the good work." 

This request was granted. But the committee of the 
church had not waited for a favorable reply. In faith 
they began work on the house even before the petition 
was sent, and had the building completed at a cost of a 
little over $2,000.00 and ready for dedication on Decem- 
ber 29, 1895. William J. Swigart preached the dedicatory 
sermon, using for text, Revelations 22 : 9. The debt that 
hung over the building on this occasion was removed 
within a few years. 

On April 11, 1897, in the presence of William J. 
Swigart and Joseph W. Wilt the members organized and 

255 




o 

J-l 

o 



C3 

c 
o 

— 

cd 

bx) 

bo 
C 

o 
o 



o 

W 

m 



•i-H 

c 
a 



ft 

0) 

O 



H> 



T3 
C 
e« 

CO 

O 
'O 

'U 

« 

C3 

s 

O 

Eh 



o 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



took the name " Bellwood Church of the Brethren." 
Officers: Joseph W. Wilt, bishop; William J. Carothers, 
secretary; Charles L. Douglas, treasurer. The member- 
ship of the new organization was as follows: 

Ministers, — none ; Deacons, — none ; Lay-members, 63. 

In 1899, Joseph W. Wilt, who had so faithfully labored 
for the establishment of this church gratuitously, who 
had the joy of seeing the church grow in five short years 
from five to seventy-five members, tendered his resig- 
nation and the District Board took charge. It secured 
the services of Josiah B. Brumbaugh to oversee the 
church and do the preaching for $200.00 per year, with 
the understanding he was to provide a living for himself 
in some kind of business. He entered upon his duties 
April 1, 1899 and continued eleven years. No record 
has been kept of his self-sacrificing efforts. He was fol- 
lowed by John B. Miller who carried on the work till 
the summer of 1912; then Charles O. Beery divided his 
time between Tyrone where he lived and Bellwood until 
May 1, 1913. At this date Daniel B. Maddocks, spend- 
ing his week days as supervisor in the Altoona Car Shops, 
gave his Sundays and some evenings to the care of the 
flock. Two revivals held by David P. Hoover, the one 
on October, 1914, and the other April, 1915, resulted in 
eighteen gathered into the fold. This developed a need 
for more Sunday-school room and the congregation de- 
cided (Jan. 3, 1915) to remodel. Building committee: 
Daniel B. Maddocks, Joseph F. Campbell and J. Lawrence 
Cherry. When the congregation came together in the 
remodeled house (Oct. 3, 1915), they found three added 
Sunday-school rooms, baptistry, choir platform, floors 
recarpeted, new heater, electric lights, redecorated walls, 
new roof, — all done at a total cost of $1,600.00. Daniel 
B. Maddocks, assisted by Josiah B. Brumbaugh, led in 
the rededication a part of which was an offering of cash 
and pledges covering the entire expenditure. Meetings 
continued the next week by Josiah B. Brumbaugh and 
eight were added to the fold. 1919-'20 marked a steady 
yet rather unusual growth when twenty-one were added 
to the church without special meetings. 

The need of a parsonage loomed up and August 11, 
1920, one was purchased for $2,500.00. The following 

257 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Sunday at the close of a sermon preached by Daniel B. 
Maddock— theme, " God's expectation from His people 
and our Privilege and Duty to serve Him with all Tem- 
poral Things," $1,725.00 was subscribed towards paying 
for the parsonage. The congregation was strong enough 
to support a resident pastor in part at least and on Sep- 
tember 1, 1920, Virgil C. Holsinger and wife, whom they 
congregation and the mission Board had called, arrived 
to take up the work. They found a membership of 102, 
were given $90.00 per month and parsonage free and 
he had the privilege of teaching school. In 1922, John R. 
Snyder of Huntingdon, (Pa.) held a revival when 
twenty-eight united with the church ; in 1923 he was 
called back and twelve were added. The double duty 
proving too heavy for the pastor, Virgil C. Holsinger 
resigned June 1, 1924. The pulpit was supplied till Oc- 
tober 1, when Galen Blough, as pastor, located and is 
carrying forward the work while continuing his college 
course at Juniata. 

Deacon elected: April 11, 1897, Harvey J. Campbell, 
William J. Carothers, Oliver R. Rush; October, 1910, 
William J. Miller, J. Lawrence Cherry; March 28, 1915, 
William Ernest Campbell, Blaine D. Wolfe; February 9, 
1923, William A. Davis, Frank S. Hetrick. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL 

The Sunday-school was organized April 22, 1894, in the rented 
storeroom where preaching began a few weeks before. Officers : 
George Irvin, superintendent; Laura McCaulley, secretary; Mrs. 
Mary Johnson, treasurer. From the beginning the sessions were 
held in the afternoon and many from other schools attended. Be- 
ginning 1913, the school has been meeting before church in the 
morning. Average attendance, 1894, 81; for 1904, "average, 65; 
six teachers; raised $69.32, of which $8.00 was given to missions; 
two conversions." The school has been " evergreen ' from the be- 
ginning; maintained frontline standard during 1915-'17, '22 and '23; 
teacher training class during 1915-'17, '21, '23 and gave first year 
certificates to seventeen. 

Superintendents: 1894, George Irvin; 1895- , 96, Joseph W. Wilt; 
1897, Charles L. Douglas; 1898, Harvey J. Campbell and W. Harry 
Laird; 1899, Charles L. Douglas; 1900, Harvey J. Campbell; 1901, 
W. Harvey Laird; 1902-'03, Charles L. Douglas; 1904, Harvey J. 
Campbell, Charles L. Douglas; 1905, Harvey J. Campbell; 1906, 
Charles L. Douglas; 1907, Oliver R. Rush; 1908-'09, Harvey J. 
Campbell; 1910, Charles S. Crawford; 1911-'14, Howard J. Camp- 
bell; 1915-'16, Charles W. Williamson; 1917, Taylor W. McCauley; 

258 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



1918, Blaine D. Wolfe, Taylor McCaulley; 1921-'22, Charles W. 
Williamson; 1923-'24, Reuben H. Hostler. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The society met for the first time in the home of Mrs. J. Lawrence 
Cherry on March 19, 1914. Record shows that Mrs. Grace Camp- 




Bellwood Sisters-" Aid Society 

Standing, from left: Gertrude Taylor, Pearl Campbelle, C-race Campbelle, Ollie 
Glasgow, Minnie Davis, Bessie Holsinger, Lula McCaulley. Sitting, from 
left: Mary McCaulley, Margaret Campbelle, Addie Cherry, Josephine Rush. 

bell was elected secretary and it is possible, though not verified, that 
Mary McCaulley was made president and Mrs. Goldie Campbell, 
treasurer. While the society has been small as far as membership 
is concerned, it has done some sewing and quilting and been able 
besides to make the following donations : 

Parsonage Fund $1 10.00 

Repairs on the Church 50.00 

Ping Ting, China Hospital 12.60 



JUNIATA PARK* 

Present Membership, 345. 

When the Altoona Church decided to have a pastor 
giving full time and being paid by the church, Joseph W. 

* To Joseph W. Wilt the reader is indebted for the information in this sketch. 

259 




The Juniata Park Church. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Wilt who had labored gratuitously as their pastor turned 
his attention to starting a mission in the nearby subur- 
ban town of Juniata. He found fourteen members living 
in the place and they heartily joined him in the project. 
A lot, corner Ninth Avenue and Third Street, was pur- 
chased. Zula and Pauline Brumbaugh contributed the 
first money for the proposed new house. J. Ellis Wilt 
broke the ground for the foundation. A building com- 
mittee, Joseph W. Wilt, John F. Nelson and Martin P. 
Brumbaugh, went to work and by 2.30 p. m. on March 
26, 1905, a brick-veneered house, 48 x 49 feet, costing 
$4,766.00, was dedicated. William J. Swigart preached 
the dedicatory sermon, — text, Psalms 93 : 5. 

The following Sunday the Sunday-school was organ- 
ized and the little group started out with a will that 
promised success. There were fifty-nine members who, 
on April 26, 1907, by the assistance of James A. Sell and 
Henry B. Brumbaugh, organized themselves into a new 
congregation and adopted the name " Juniata Park." 
Aside from Joseph W. Wilt, minister, there were no 
officials in the membership. 

Organization : Joseph W. Wilt, bishop and pastor ; 
H. Atlee Brumbaugh, secretary ; John F. Nelson, treas- 
urer. They held their first lovefeast June 30, 1907 and 
were happy to be out of debt for their house, Decem- 
ber 31, 1913. 

In 1910, Josiah B. Brumbaugh located in the congrega- 
tion and helped in the ministry. On July 1, 1919, Charles 
O. Beery became the first supported pastor in which 
position he continues while Joseph W. Wilt continues 
as bishop. 

While serving as pastor in the Claar congregation 
Joseph W. Wilt, during the last half of December, 1877, 
and the first half of January, held a four weeks revival 
meeting in the Riggles Gap school house, about seven 
miles northeast from Juniata, and some twenty united 
with the church. This encouraging result was not fol- 
lowed up as it should have been and the gains for the 
kingdom were nearly all lost. In 1914, Brother Wilt be- 
gan holding meetings every two or four weeks at the 
same place and the results were so encouraging that 
plans were laid to erect a suitable house of worship, 

261 




Some Members of the Riggles Gap Mission. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



about one-half mile south of Riggles Gap school house. 
Frank Nail, not a member, donated an acre of ground 
for the church and cemetery. Joseph W. Wilt and Mar- 
tin S. Henry were building committee, the latter giving 
more money and time to the erection of the church than 
any other person. On April 15, 1917, a frame house 
26 x 38 feet and, besides donated labor, costing $1,200.00 
was dedicated. Walter S. Long conducted the dedicatory 
services. At this time there were about twenty members 
living in the vicinity. This group of members are a part 
of the Juniata Park congregation. 

Ministers elected : 

Jacob Kinsel August 8, 1911 

Martin S. Henry January 6, 1920 

John D. Brumbaugh November 30, 1924 

Leonard S. Mallery November 30, 1924 

Deacons: November 15, 1907, H. Atlee Brumbaugh, Gilbert Shaw, 
Martin P. Brumbaugh, John F. Nelson, Ulyssess G. Glass; April 
14, 1910, John V. Carter, Frederic Oast, Marshall B. Wineland, 
Alexander Rogerson ; September 3, 1912, William Brallier, Martin 
S. Henry, David Burket, John D. McKnight ; April 10, 1921, John 
D. Brumbaugh, James E. Nelson, J. Emery Miller; November 30, 
1924, Roy E. Glass, John W. Crain. 

SUNDAY-SCHOOLS 

Juniata Park. On April 2, 1905, the Sunday-school was organized 
by electing Ardie E. Wilt superintendent; Mary Nelson, secretary; 
Ulysses G. Glass, treasurer; Martin P. Brumbaugh, chorister and 
Sadie A. Brumbaugh, organist. The average attendance for the first 
year was 90. The school from the beginning was "evergreen ; 
maintained a front-line standard during 1912 to 1917 inclusive, had 
teacher training class during 1908, '12, '14, '15, '17, and } 23, and a 
goodly number have completed the first year's work and received 
their certificates. 

Superintendents : (They were elected every six months which ex- 
plains why two names appear in one year in some instances.) 
April 2, 1905, Ardie E. Wilt; 1906, Edward O. Shaw, Alexander 
Wilson; 1907, H. Atlee Brumbaugh, Edward O. Shaw; 1908, H. 
Atlee Brumbaugh; 1909, Joseph W. Wilt, Martin P. Brumbaugh; 
1910 Joseph W. Wilt; 1911, Jacob Kinsel, John D. Brumbaugh; 
1912' Martin S. Henry and Ulyssess G. Glass; 1913, J. Emery 
Walter; 1914, Martin S. Henry, J. Emery Walter; 1915, Merle 
Brallier; 1916, David Burket, Martin S. Henry; 1917-'18, Joseph W. 
Wilt; 1919, John F. Nelson; 1920-'24, John D. Brumbaugh. 

263 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Riggles Gap. 




George H. Ross, 

Superintendent } 

Riggles Gap 

Sunday-school. 



In the fall of 1916 a Sunday-school was organized 
by electing Martin S. Henry, superintendent; 
Pearl Yohn, secretary, and Harry Yohn, 
treasurer. The average attendance the first 
year was 29. 

Superintendents: 1916, Martin S. Henry; 
1917, John Holland; 1918-'19, Harry Yohn; 
1920, Henrv Potsinger; 1921-'22, John Hol- 
land; 1923-'24, George H. Ross. 

SISTERS' AID SOCIETY 

The Sisters' Aid Society at Juniata was or- 
ganized in the church in February, 1908. Offi- 
cers : Mrs. Joseph W. Wilt, president ; Mrs. 
Sadie A. Wilt Brumbaugh, secretary-treasurer. 

Presidents: 1908-'19, Mrs. Joseph W. Wilt; 
1920-'24, Mrs. Lucinda Brumbaugh. 

In general totals the results of their labors 
are as follows : 



Home Church $416.70 

Parsonage 130.00 

General Aid Society 7.35 

District Work 5.00 

China Relief 5.00 

$564.05 



264 



CHAPTER VII 

Beginnings That Have Ceased 
WILL'S CREEK 

By James A. Sell 

In the southern part of Bedford County are a number 
of narrow valleys running north from the Potomac River, 
where our brethren preached in the very early years. 

A few families by the name of Whipp came from West 
Virginia to about the center of Cumberland Valley, fif- 
teen miles north of Cumberland, Maryland. They were 
members of the Church. The Livengoods from West 
Virginia visited them and they had preaching in differ- 
ent homes. The work was not continued long, but some 
of the families never united with any other church. 

This Cumberland Valley is often confused with the 
larger Cumberland Valley farther east. It is a pretty 
little valley, the second one east of the Alleghany Moun- 
tain, part way the third, full of beautiful springs and 
streams. It is thirty miles long, extending from Bedford 
to Cumberland. The stage-coach route to and from these 
towns passed through this valley. West of this is the 
little narrow valley called Will's Creek. It is twenty-five 
miles long. Will's Creek congregation included this little 
valley to Cumberland, also the country north called 
Buffalo Run and Milligan's Cove, a little valley only nine 
miles long. This is the location of the Will's Creek con- 
gregation. Like all the other older churches no records 
are left to consult. Sister Emma Replogle (nee Miller, 
daughter of Jacob Miller, the school man) is the only 
surviving member. For seven generations on her 
mother's side her people had gone in and out here. The 
traditions that have come to her and have been pre- 
served in her cultured mind, together with her own per- 
sonal knowledge, now furnish the most reliable data that 
we can get. It is supposed that as an organization Will's 

265 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Creek antedates all others in Bedford County. It seems 
as if George Adam Martin visited the members living 
here when he lived at Stoney Creek, Somerset County, 
about 1762 to 1770. 

Immediately after the Revolutionary War, Catherine 
Miller with her three sons, Elias, Peter and John, came 
here from Maryland or Virginia. They took up land in 
Milligan's Cove and became permanent settlers. 

It is thought that Catherine Miller was the first mem- 
ber of the church in the Cove. Her sons built good 
houses and barns, planted large orchards and had large 
well-kept farms. They all united with the Church. 
Peter built a large house and had the upstairs arranged 
for church and school purposes. Long before they had 
school houses their private houses were utilized for that 
purpose. Who did the preaching or taught their schools 
is not known. 

Jacob Studebaker was the first minister known to have 
lived here. He bought a large farm in 1812, a mile south 
of Sulphur Springs. He was a son of Jacob and Mary 
Snider Studebaker who had settled in Snake Spring Val- 
ley about 1780. Jacob took up land and bought other 
tracts, owning in all about seven hundred acres. He was 
a brother of the ancestors of the wagon manufacturers 
of South Bend, Indiana. 

Jacob Studebaker was a man of great influence and 
did a great deal of preaching and served his day and 
generation well. He reared a family of thirteen children. 

Of the number of members composing this church 
nothing is known. From the number of families and the 
size of the families, the number must have been consid- 
erably large. In fact there were no other church people 
there till about 1820. 

This congregation never had a church building, but 
many of their dwellings were arranged for both church 
and school purposes. 

Jacob Studebaker, Senior, died 18-17. This left the 
congregation with only one minister — Andrew Miller. 
He was a good man, loved and respected by all who 
knew him. His oldest son, Jacob, who frequently as- 
sisted him in ministerial work, was in 1850 called to fill 
that position. This is the Jacob Miller who started the 

266 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

school at Buffalo Mills in 1852, which places him among 
the pioneers of educational work in the Brotherhood. 
His school house was also used for religious services. 

Jacob Miller, the son, died May 11, 1853. This was a 
hard stroke on the father and one from which he never 
fully recovered. He died December 19, 1855. His 
widow died in 1860. 

This left the church without a minister. The preach- 
ing services were supplied by the ministers from Clover 
Creek, Snake Spring Valley, Elk Lick, Milford, Yellow 
Creek, Berlin, Quemahoning and Shade. This arrange- 
ment did not long continue and its interests were cared 
for by ministers from New Enterprise. When the few 
remaining members died or moved away all services 
were discontinued. It will be seen that this congrega- 
tion lived about 100 years and came to an end by death 
and removal. 

Sister Emma A. Replogle, to whom 1 am indebted for 
the data of this sketch, is the only surviving member. 
While visiting the scenes of her childhood and the many 
places made sacred to thought and memory and seeing 
havoc wrought by the ruthless hand of time, especially in 
the church so dear to her heart, very feelingly she wrote : 
" I looked all around. Looked up to the old house and 
imagined how it looked as the friends gathered there at 
the meetings. Then I thought: Does this end it all? It 
does here, but there are workers over many of the west- 
ern states, the fruit of the work here. I thought of the 
work in northern Illinois, of Brother Ellis Studebaker of 
Kansas, and Sister Hannah Studebaker Eby, of Wash- 
ington State. But too many are far away from the par- 
ents or any kind of faith/' 

The Will's Creek Church was unique. From the first 
its members were interested in the education of their 
children and all through its history it was far in advance 
of most of the congregations of its day. They went by 
the name of Brethren Church, not Dunkard. To this 
day people there use this term. 



267 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



BLOOMING GROVE 



* 



Seeking religious liberty and freedom from the mili- 
tary system of Germany over a century before the World 
War, a handful of members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren left Wurtemburg, in 1804, on the good ship Margaret 
and in the latter part of the same year landed in Phila- 
delphia. They spent the winter in Germantown (Pa.), 
during which time they did some prospecting for a settle- 




The Blooming Grove Church, Built in About 1828. 

ment. Through Wendle Harmon a tract of land, — 420 
acres, between six and seven miles north of Williamsport 
in Lycoming County, — was purchased from a Quaker 
then living in Reading, (Pa.). 

In the spring the little party took possession. They 
arrived when the dog-wood was in bloom and so called 
their new home community " Blooming Grove." 

Among the names in this early group are Heim, Waltz, 
Uhner (the great-grandfather of the one furnishing this 



* To Levi J. Ulmer, professor in Science, Department of Central State Normal, 
Lock Haven, (Pa.) the reader is indebted for the information given in this 
sketch. 



268 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

information) Wendle Harmon and Haller. Others came 
later until the settlement assumed considerable strength. 

" Soon after settling in Blooming Grove the colonists 
built a log church, little better than a cabin, which served 
as a place for worship and a schoolhouse." * Around the 
wall of the room was a line of crude desks where the 
big boys and girls sat, with their faces to the wall. The 
smaller children gathered around a table in the centre 
of the room. Text books, aside from the Bible and the 
" abc book," were not. The school term consisted of the 
winter months " after the fall work was done and till the 
spring work began/' The teacher was paid from a com- 
munity fund. 

Naturally the instruction was of a very strong relig- 
ious character. These early settlers believed in the Bible, 
in the way they were reared in ' the old country/ 5 So 
thoroughly were these things fixed in them that when, in 
later years (about J865 to 1870) the State undertook to 
enforce the public school system upon them, the com- 
munity objected on the ground that it was of an inferior 
grade of instruction. It so happened that one year the 
school had a poor teacher. These people refused to send 
their children to the public school, employed a teacher 
and held school in a shop on a farm now owned by 
I. Fernando Heim. 

Dr. Conrad F. Haller, a graduate of a German Univer- 
sity, who was educated in five different languages; a 
civil engineer, a physician, a preacher, and a school- 
teacher, was easily the leader of the group while he lived. 
As a teacher he was of the old type. The subjects he 
taught were the " three R's." His discipline measured 
up to the standard quite common for that day, — to catch 
a child playing meant to give it a flogging. 

In 1828 Dr. Haller died, and was buried on a small 
farm plot about two miles from the present church site. 
About ten years ago one of his descendants had his grave 
moved to the church cemetery. 

" After Haller's death he was succeeded by Gottlieb 
Heim, and others, who conducted religious services and 
held the church together for a while. " f 

* History of Lycoming County, McGinness, 1892. 
t History of Lycoming County, McGiraiess, 1892. 

269 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Because of needed room for both school and church, 
the community in the same year that Dr. Haller died 
built the Blooming Grove Church, a log structure 40 x 54 
feet and still in a good state of preservation. At the 
same time the school was moved to the cross roads 
where now stands Klumpp's school house. Other teach- 
ers came to the fore. Among them Joseph Gross and 
Michael Buehl. 

Dr. Haller was followed by a practicing physician, Dr. 
Adams, who after moving into the communitv united 
with this body of worshipers. His own reference to 
these people in his autobiography is very illuminating 
and through the kindness of Professor Ulmer is given 
here in part : ' Among the many kinds of people who 
came to me for medical treatment, my attention was soon 
drawn to a special class of people who even in their out- 
ward appearance were clothed much as was the fashion 
of the Quakers. ... I inquired who, and what, these 
people were. * They are members of a peculiar religious 
denomination who are known by the name of Blooming- 
Grovers or Ana-Baptists.' 

"Soon I had the privilege of seeing these people on their 
homesteads, about six miles north of Williamsport, situ- 
ated in the hills. 1 was called to give medical attention 
to a very sick old mother. . . . The woman had refused 
medical attention and her wishes had been granted until 
it was seen that it was absolutely necessary that the 
doctor be called. ... I stood before the bed perplexed, 
when suddenly the plaintive tones of a piano were heard 
accompanied with the voice of song ... by the son of 
the sick mother. ... I could hardly believe my ears. 
Music in the immediate vicinity of the death bed of your 
own mother was beyond my conception. I looked at the 
face of the dying mother to see the effect the music 
would produce. She folded her hands as in prayer and 
the features of her face brightened strikingly, so that a 
smile appeared on her face and seemed to wipe the tears 
from her eyes. 

" As I stepped into the living room I expressed to the 
musician * my surprise at finding a piano in this out-of- 

* This musician was none other than the beloved Christian Heim, leader, 
preacher and teacher of later years. 

270 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



the-way place ; not only that but that he could play it so 
well. He answered, ' Music and song are for me a source 
of great comfort, and also for my sick mother. Yet it 
cost me some labor and pains until I brought this instru- 
ment to completion.' My astonishment reached its high- 
est point ; that a farmer with his own hands could con- 
struct a piano." 

A spirit of helpfulness to other denominations is re- 
vealed in this congregation in the following: " The 
Dunkards of Blooming Grove gave him (Rev. Konrad 
A. Flieshman, the first German Baptist Missionary 
among his countrymen in America) the privilege of using 
their own church for religious meetings and he labored 
zealously among the people. His labors were crowned 
with success and on February 7, 1841, he baptized twenty- 
nine converts in Blooming Grove. . . . The German 
Baptists now have a church of their own at Pleasant 
Valley, situated about three miles from the Dunkard 
church." * 

Following Gottlieb Heim, was that pastor and teacher, 
a real leader in many ways, — kind and humane in his 
discipline, — Christian Heim. He served them between 
1847-79. For his day he was a well-educated man inas- 
much as he was versed in astronomy, algebra and sur- 
veying. He was the author of a number of hymns and 
a compiler of a hymnbook used in the church. Besides, 
he was author of several other books. 

The Blooming Grove congregation reached its zenith 
of influence and strength during the middle of the nine- 
teenth century. The settlement was distant from other 
congregations of the Brotherhood, and therefore out of 
touch with any progress the church might be making 
elsewhere. The reader should remember church period- 
icals date their beginnings in this period and these had 
little general influence yet. This isolation evidently 
greatly narrowed this dear people. True, they favored 
education but they looked with disfavor on any method 
that did not coincide with their past. Indeed they were 
pious and firmly entrenched in God's Word, yet they re- 
jected the Sunday-school, — it was an institution not to 
have the least recognition. 

~^ — — — — 

* History of Lycoming County _, McGinness, 1892. 

271 









A History of the Church of the Brethren 

The District Mission Board gave some help, for in 
1892 is an item of expenditure, " Mission to Williams- 
port, Bellefonte, etc., $40.00,' but the help came too late. 
The young people of this community felt that the new 
order of things was the hope of their future and, inas- 
much as there was no prospect of rinding a recognition 
of it in the church of their fathers, they went elsewhere. 
Fine as these people were in purpose, in spirit and in de- 
votion, the church lost out. To-day but two members, 




The Interior of the Blooming Grove Church., Still Used in this 

Manner for Funerals. 



Mrs. Mary Heim and Christian D. Heim, both in their 
eighties, remain to tell the story, while scattered all over 
Lycoming and adjoining counties, even to Nebraska and 
thereabouts in the Middle West, are some of the finest, 
most progressive and sturdy men and women one may 
find anywhere, descendants of these splendid settlers 
but worshiping in other communions. 

Could the church building, the interior of which is 
seen above, tell its story of struggle and hope, of the 
joys of conversion and the sorrows of death, it would be 
but a verbal testimony of that faith for which it now is a 

272 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

silent witness. The property belongs to the Blooming 
Grove Cemetery Association, an interdenominational or- 
ganization. Here the descendants of the Church of the 
Brethren of whatever creed or fold, come and weep as 
they lay away their loved ones, — for the house is used 
only for funerals now. 



273 



PART TWO 

District Endeavor 



CHAPTER I 

The District and Its Conferences 
ORIGIN OF DISTRICT MEETINGS 

The " Western Brethren " held a kind of district coun- 
cil to consider differences between them and the Eastern 
Brethren in Adams County, Illinois, on November 22, 
1851.* While this did not establish District Meetings, 
this shows the drift of sentiment in those days. 

Evidently one who reads the Minutes of General Con- 
ference in these earlier years, cannot help but see how 
burdened that assembly was with details and individual 
cases that should never occupy the time of such a repre- 
sentative body. It is no surprise, then, to find the answer 
to " a proposal for forming districts of five, six, or more 
adjoining churches for the purpose of meeting jointly at 
least once a year, settling difficulties, etc., and thus les- 
sening the business of our Yearly Meetings " (Art. 23, 
1856) to be the following, which is virtually a grant to 
organize into suitable districts. "'We believe/' says the 
General Conference of 1856, " this plan to be a good one, 
if carried out in the fear of the Lord." 

Such District Conferences were held in 1857 at Mil- 
ford (presumably Indiana) and perhaps in Maryland. In 
1859 the Brotherhood was divided into eleven districts 
for a definite purpose.f Also, that same year, General 
Conference gave distinct recognition to districts already 
formed after some plan and for some purpose, in the fol- 
lowing action: "This meeting recommend and give lib- 
erty to any of the districts or states to make a move on 
the subject of spreading and sustaining the gospel as 
preached and understood by the brethren, so that the 
same may be done in the order of the gospel. And we 
recommend to those churches which may adopt this, to 
make a report to the next Annual Meeting upon their 
success." At this same meeting a committee was ap- 

* History of the Church of the Brethren, in Eastern Pennsylvania. 
t Ibid. 

277 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



pointed to frame something to carry out this missionary 
program, and the following year it recommended : " That 
the churches of the brotherhood form themselves into 
districts, the brethren in those districts to meet as often 
as they may judge it necessary to transact their business ; 
that each of said districts has its treasury, etc." While 
this report was not accepted that year, it was not because 
the recommendation to form districts was made ; for this 
evidently was becoming quite common by this time. 

John Umstead called a district meeting in the Green 
Tree Church, near Philadelphia, September 22, 1860, for 
thus runs the report by the secretary in the Gospel 
Visitor:* " Pursuant to the advice or suggestion of the 
committee appointed by the Y. M. (Yearly Meeting) of 
1859, who reported to the Y. M. of 1860, Brother J. M. 
Umstead, of Green Tree Church, Montgomery County, 
Pa., issued a call to the Brethren east of the Susquehanna 
River, etc." 

True, it is not until 1866 that General Conference, in 
adopting an organization plan for the Brotherhood, took 
formal action " recommending that each state form itself 
into convenient District-Meetings." 

It was during this formative period leading up to the 
action of 1866 that 

Thk First District Mkkting of Middle: Pennsylvania 

was called in the Spring of 1861. 

It is probable that Graybill Myers consulted some 
brethren and then assumed the responsibility of ex- 
pressing publicly, in the following manner, what was 
generally felt as needed at that time. Thus runs the 
announcement : 

A GENERAL COUNCIL MEETING 

Altoona, March 12, 1861. 

Editors of the Gospel Visitor, Dear Brethren: 

I hereby inform you that the Middle District of Pennsylvania has 
appointed a council meeting for said district, at the Aughwick meet- 
ing house, Huntingdon County. Mt. Union, on the Pennsylvania 
R. R., is the nearest station. This district lies between the Susque- 
hanna River on the east and the Alleghany mountains on the west. 
The north and south boundaries are the boundaries of the state. 
The meeting will convene on the 9th of May at 10 o'clock in the 

* History of the Church of the Brethren in Eastern Pennsylvania. 

278 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

morning. It is expected that each sub-district will hold a council 
meeting above named. It is further expected that each sub-district 
will take the Oregon and home missions into consideration, and 
present their plans for operation. The proceedings of this council 
meeting will then be presented to the Annual Meeting for confirma- 
tion or amendment. A hearty invitation is given to all the churches 
comprised in the district in which the council is to be held. 

Graybiix Myers. 

The next year district meeting was omitted because the 
General Conference was held within the bounds of the 
district. Thereafter a meeting was held each year, save 
in 1867 and 1883. 



THE DISTRICT DIVIDED 

In the southern portion of the district, where the mem- 
bers resided, the Cove and Tuscarora Mountains divided 
the congregation almost equally. It is interesting to note 
that at the District Meeting of 1862 there were present 
five churches from the western and four from the eastern 
half of the territory. The inconvenience of going around 
the mountain for half the group to meet in district council 
each year became burdensome, and in 1892 the territory 
was divided as follows : The counties of Fulton, Franklin, 
Adams, York, Cumberland, Perry, Juniata, Snyder and 
Union were set apart and took the name Southern Dis- 
trict of Pennsylvania, while Bedford, Blair, Huntingdon, 
Mifflin, Centre, Clinton, Lycoming, northern part of 
Northumberland, Montour, Columbia, Sullivan, Potter, 
Tioga, and parts of Bradford, Wyoming and Luzerne, 
lying west of the river, were included in Middle District. 
Of these counties the Church of the Brethren had organ- 
izations only in the first five. 

If the original district had but nine congregations at its 
second district meeting, thirty years later it had twenty- 
nine. Of these Aughwick, Altoona, Claar, Clover Creek, 
Duncansville (now Carson Valley), Fairview, Hopewell 
(now Yellow Creek), Huntingdon, James Creek, Lewis- 
town (or Dry Valley), Snake Spring, Spring Run, War- 
riors Mark, Woodbury, and Yellow Creek (now New 
Enterprise), fifteen in all, fell to Middle District, while 
eleven went to Southern District. Buffalo, Lost Creek 
and Perry congregations, at a later date, decided to cast 

279 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



their lot with the Southern District, making fourteen in 
all for it. 

Confining the observation to the congregations which 
now compose the Middle District, the outstanding im- 
pression is that this district has been in 



THE FORERANK OF DEVELOPMENT 

in the Brotherhood. Such facts as these point to it: 

1864 — The first weekly church paper, the Christian 
Fa mily Companion . 

1875 — Petition for the privilege to publish the full re- 
port of the General Conference in pamphlet form. 

1876 — The first school established that became perma- 
nent, — now Juniata College. 

1877 — Urging that the Danish Mission be recom- 
mended to the Brotherhood. 

1880 — Petition to establish a Home somewhere in the 
East for the benefit of the poor. 

1884 — Asks that the Brotherhood be represented at the 
National Peace Convention. 

1884 — Stood against Grange and other picnics, but not 
against attendance at Sunday-school conventions. 

1885 — Because of great expense, asks for a triennial 
General Conference instead of an annual one. 

1886 — Evidently a District Mission Board was created, 
for the next year Seth Myers reported not much prog- 
ress, and John B. Brumbaugh, secretary, and Andrew 
Bashore, treasurer, were elected for one year. Seth 
Myers, chairman, was elected for two years, and James 
A. Sell and Samuel G. Rupert for three years. 

1888 — Petition to permit single mode of feet washing 
where majority favor it. 

1889 — Asking permission to vote on the Prohibition 
amendment to the Constitution of Pennsylvania. 

1891 — That no brother be connected with service on 
Standing Committee more than two years out of four. 

1893 — Decided to open a Home for the aged and poor. 

1894 — A sermon to be preached the evening before the 
convening of the District Meeting on some subject ger- 
mane on the gathering. 

280 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

1895— Asked to strike out " Dunkard " and " Dunker " 
from our church name. 

1896 — Petitioned to omit the salutation between the 
supper and the communion and permit sisters to break 
bread and pass the cup the same as brethren. 

1897 — That the Lord's Day at General Conference be 
kept more sacred and quiet and with less trafficking. 

1898 — Commendation and sympathy to President Mc- 
Kinley for his efforts to adjust foreign relations without 
going to war. Also the district had Jesse B. Emmert, 
Irvin C. VanDyke, Isaac Book and William T. Book 
visit the district and establish reading circles in nearly 
all the congregations. 

1899 — Three years' course of reading and study for 
ministers at home outlined and adopted. 

1900 — Two supervising bishops over the several 
churches of the district considered. 

Though interesting and profitable to thus scan through 
the Minutes of the District Meeting from year to year and 
note the steps forward, it is needless to continue, because 
at the District Meeting of 1901, when " information was 
asked in regard to the minutes of the meetings of this 
district/' it was decided " that the present secretary (Mil- 
ton C. Swigart) of this meeting be empowered to secure 
a file for the preservation of these minutes, and to secure 
minutes of all passed meetings possible." It is to be re- 
gretted, however, that the early records thus far are not 
quite complete. 



GENERAL CONFERENCES 

The following General Conferences have been held in 
the Middle District: 

1823 Clover Creek, Blair Co. 1855 Aughwick, Huntingdon Co. 

1825 *Yellow Creek, Bedford Co. 1863 Clover Creek, Blair Co. 

1833 fLost Creek, Juniata Co. 1877 New Enterprise, Bedford 

1839 Aughwick, Huntingdon Co. Co. 

1840 *Yellow Creek, Bedford Co. 1885 t Mexico, Juniata Co. 
1847 fFranklin Co. 



* Name now New Enterprise. 

t After the division of Middle District, May 11, 1892, these congregations became 
part of Southern District. 

281 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 







CO t> 




















-3 






A 














Q 






«45 




















ti] 






tc 














4-> 






0) ~ 




















3 






3 














■x 


























ri 






3 














r^ 






.-<; 






- 














-o 






- 


.3 












kl 






a . 










u 








= 






= 


tc 






-3 






C 


• 




on the Standing Com 
John Holsinger; 1849 


r/3 

0) 

03 
bO 
CD 

'a 

Q 

CD 

OJ 

•4-1 
+-> 

'a 
a 

o 




rs, Daniel M. Holsing 
3gle, Sr., Isaac Myers 

y 


Daniel M. Holsinger 
, Daniel M. Holsinger 


ohn Holsinger 

r, Daniel M. Holsinge 


r. 

V 
s. 

s 

* 

— 


O 

be 

3 

"no 


= 

ed 
- 


Samuel Longanecker 
nawalt, John W. Brui 


o 

§1 

a 
w 

3 

-3 

O 


Joseph R. Hanawalt 
nawalt, John W. Brui 


3 
03 

a 

3 
— 

pq 

pt 

u 
bt 

m 


o 


James Quinter. 

John Spanogle 

John W. Brumbaugh 
r, John W. Brumbaug 

James Quinter 
r, Peter S. Myers 


f-t !_, <D 


3 u, 


O 

u 



3 


• 

03 
Ph 

>. 

— 

a 

3 

o 

w 

3 

i 






ct served 
le; 1848, 


U 
to 

3 

3 
03 




> 

> 

4 


idrew Span* 
onard Furr 


. Myers, 
iel Keller 
r Long, J 
ph Rohre 


S3 



no 

Ih 
CD 

>. 

~ 

V 


a; 

9 

CO 

o 


ph R. Ha 

b Price, J 


T. 

u 

- 


ph R. Ha 

es Miller, 
es Miller, 
es Miller, 
es Miller, 
es Quinte 
es Miller, 
es Quinte 


es Quinte 
b F. Ollei 
iam Howi 


es Quinte 
. . . . L. F 
b Holling 
iam How' 
b F. Olle 
es A. Sell 




c/3 


Distri 
panog 


C/2 




• 3 

• S3 


4» QJ 


03 


X 

C 


CO 


o 




CO 


r. 

o 


o 


r. 




to a co a 
O 3 O 3 


3 °^H 

3 ors 


3 . OS O 3 
3 ; vTZ o 3 


s" 
o 

to 




W 

< 






(h t-c q 


N.'fi 


Ph*-s 


CO 

1— ( 


~ 


O o3 cV5 O 
•-8I-BH- |I~S 


p«=i <5 A <i l-B <5 I-b 


o3 o3 1^ 


~' , o3 ^*~ ~ o3 




o 


»Cfi 








































u 

HH 





►J 
W 


ame Middl 
i Andrew 
jr Long. 










— 












-3 
bo 

= 












,3 


,£) 






Q 


^ 








bo 

- 












- 












L- 3 


be 

3 


td 








CD 

O 








- 
Si 

a 












a 












ohle 
mba 


03 

i2a 


[inter 

Oiler 

< 

Mohle 
Sell 


*■ 

bO 

3 




OMMITT 


CD £ CD 

s — 


bo 








3 
- 1 


v 


^ 


. 


- 


- 


pq 


• 


• 


- 


- 


- 




3 3 
•3 fc-" 




o 


3 

'-5 

rt 
CD 

Ph 








Ph 
- 
- 

8 












Ph 

CD 












John M. 

< 

George B 


James Qi 
George B 


mes Qu 

cob F. 

hn M. 
mes A. 


y 


r— 1 


O 

o 


after 1 

stian 

jgle; 










o 












w 












03 03 O 03 
•-» >-s »-s l-S 


CO 

Q 


tiJ 


— 'H e 








«j 




























-3 






r—f, 


1— 1 


ithin the bounds of wha 
n Long; 1842, 1844, Chi 
1856, 1857, Andrew Spai 




h 




«- t- 




— 
























bo 




T3 


w 

<-< 

H 
U 

h— 1 

H 


and 
tts and Stand 


Writing Clerk 
aniel M. Holsinge 


i 


s held in Clover C 
aniel M. Holsinge 




be 

5 

"o 

a 

'5 

03 


: 


- 


- 


5 


— 

bo 

- 
— 

3 
P2 

be 
- 

■_ 


# 


%• 


- 


'So 

3 

- 

a 

3 

la 

pq 

u 

be 
i- 

c 


- 


- 

CD 

3 

to 
CD 

a 


3 
03 

a 

3 

u 

P3: : 
pq 

— 

3 
CD 


: ^ : : : z 


03 

CD 

— 

— 

CD 

-o 

3 
3 

"* 

CO 
X 

1— 1 

r. 


Q 


w 
u 

1— ( 




P 




be 




Q 










a 








C 




03 
"-5 


tn 




O 




fcj 


* S m 








p 
































CD 




o 


bO*^ »o 








— 
































o 




.-r 
< 


bishops residin 
40, 1841, Chris 
Peter Long; 18 












CO 

- 






















- 


t^ CD 


u 

V 
bO 

ta 1) La 3 


— 
03 




< 


c 
— 

M 

CD 

o 






use Annua 
ic Myers 


: : 


0) 

>> 

IS 

>. 

03 

:_ 




- 


: 


; 




* 


•* 


; 


— 
1 

U 

r. 




<< 

mes Quinte 

oses Miller 
<< 


ses Miller 
ob F. Olle 
liam How< 


ob F. Olle 

liam Howi 

ob F. Olle 
n S. Holsi 


d 

3 




gH 


••qo « 








03 03 




















o 




O CD™ 


CD 773 CD-S 


CD 




1— ( 










CD CO 
CUM 




^ 


















S 




•-sS 


M 03>- 03 >■ 03 O 
*h »-» f*" l-S »-** »-6>-B 


a 






ioo'co 








^2 
































'5 






CO GO "" ' 








bo 




— 




























CD 






m 00 •• 










- 






















>J 






ft 






^^ h 








3 


-r 


V 








T3 














-Si 




T3 T3 


CO 






03 .- bO 








— 1 


c 


>. 








a 


















3 3 


#> 












V 


03 











- 














?13 




03 03 


3 






O— 3 
1 S?-35 

•- cS O 


2 

4; 




j^ 


0> 




■ t - > 0» 


m 








a 










03?* 

^4 ^ be 


13 

CO 

a 


T3 ^ ™ 

CD >s y CD 
-O CD-^^i ^2 


'3 

03 






c^a 


w 






■s g 


^a 


eting 
. Val 


0> 

cu 




a 


E 


CD-O 


3 




^! 




Cree 
ury 
Cone 
3prin 


3 32 CD CD 3 
3 rt CD CD 3 


ft 






izatio 
Brum 
John 


CD 

hi 


H* 

(J 




ipn 


0) 3 

2iu 


t- o 


— 
- 


3 


«i o 


£ 

3 


r. 


CD CD 
— •-■ 


Cree 
tam 
Entc 


3k, «- fc«^^ 3 


B 
o 






-3 


'5 


CO 


•2 fecO *- 


a^^S 


r. 


Li 


tr. 


— 


|H 


U 


— 


ta 


U 3 


Marsh 
Woodb 
Lower 
Snake ! 


^^fejif u 


U 






— 


Eti 


3 3 


. 3J 


3 03 


eu 


0) 


p 


■~ 


CD 


V 


CO 


O 




" 


^ *• ^ 


CD 03 iP CO CD CD 








|^3 

too 


£ 


3 
< 


— j 

3 
oS 

-r 


si 


Lost 
Upp 

No ] 
Buff 


— 
— 

H 
■8 


- 


a 


c 
— 


3 ft 

UP 


'£-5 "S'bo 
CD O O 3 


■g -J ^ Q.S3 g »h a ^ 

S 3 « ft3-2 « O O 


"a 

03 

Ph 






o S^ 












































so t. 




i— i 


9»«*«501>»CJ0 


— 


<5< C5 Tf> »0 CO l> X 


O OHtXM'J'iQffi^XOOr^Ot 








■"^ CD 




cocooo©i»©fflCNi>M>i>i>t*i>i>Nx»(X)a)xxoo»ajMoicso) 


3 






CO Tt 




xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 


03 


















w 














M 














to 






Ui >— 1 ». 




Ct " 


«5 


<£ 




r— 






X 








i- 




1— ( 


— 


i> 


00 X 


■«f< »0 »C CX i-h 


'C 






o CD 






ex 


-.' 




r~ 














o« 






EM 


tx 


r-H O* 


(5iH CX i-H 


^5 






'C CO bO 

Ph £ § 

o 5 




>J 


— i 


— 
o 




>. 






>> 








_ 




>» 


>. 


• — 


>J~ 


>vc >> ^ >» 


* 






-3 03 






03 




03 














a 
< 




o3 03 


ft 
< 


4* 


03 ^ 03 g^ 03 





282 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



s 

o 

•J 

u 
o 
ft 

a 

hi 
CD 

-M 

co 
* 

<D 

43 



J) 



3 

o 

o 

C3 

a 

o 

hi 



-a 



u 
a3 
bo 

CO 



CD 

3 
a 

— i v 
cd w 

co fl 
o -3 



T3 « 



2 



4J CO 

hi u 



4) bC^^ 



"U V hi hi 7% <D ""^3 ^ 

co . bo >>T3 S? Og^ 



O coCO . » 



cnCoW J* 







44 

4* 
U 

bO 

Sto" 

hi 

pq 



4-> 

hi 

o3 

1-8 4 

^CO- 

a,- 

03 CD 
»■< •*-> 



43 
be 
3 
«3 

2.9 

PQ £ 
CQ •" 

o o 



hi 
CD 

ej 

■M 

co 

42 

o 

o 



CO 

a 



hi 
u 
>> 

. — 
.03 

• ^ 

^42 

> o 

q4 



: 8 



>5 

hi hi 

PQ a 

v 

~-£ 



hi 

03 
bO 

CO 

d" 

a 

r3 

o 

►"9 



hi 

V 

>> 

cS 

co 
U" 

42 
O 

o 

03 
t-8 



h & ._ 

_ cd^ a> 
03 « •HH 

GO 



hi 

CD 






5 
S 03 

as 

0. - 

5 o 



£upqW 



hi 

c3 

a 

c 
u 

CD 

— 

CO 

o3 

w 

CD 



3 


CD 

a 

h 

o 

aii 

en 

o3 

— ■ 
- 



00 Q 



r. 

5 

a 

h 

— 

3 

3 

CO 

of 

C3i 
00 



bo 

^C 
'*■> 

CD 

CD 

a 

(D 



bO 
3 
03 

s a 
uS 

bc^ 
3 • 

IS ^ 

CD 

a 



hi 

ed 
be 

■^ 



hi 
bO 



a 

03 



3 
O 



hi 
bO 



m 



3 
-3 



h 


+J 


CD 


hi 


>> 

03 


03 
bO 




* 




t/; 


U 


• * 


^3 




O 


3 


O 


-3 


03 





l-Sl-S 



hi 

CD 
>> 

03 

■i-> 

C/2 



hi 
03 
bo 

C/2 



u- 

O 
CD 

03 
•-8 



3 

43 

O 



-3 
bO 
3 
aj 



43 
bO 
3 
03 

42 



o 



a a 



CD 

"2 a 



s« 



ij^ 3CDCD-SCD«2 

" to in >,»! >> 
M.4 _, CD CD hi CD hi 

iiaagag 
^4l^a^w 



CD 



hi 
03 
bo 

• — 

CO 



a 



hi 

03 
bo 

CD CO 

co . 

«< g 

CD-2 

S3 

OS k*- 



hi 

03 

bo 

CO 



a 

as 



CD 



CO 



CD 



hi 

a 



4d 
V 
V 
hi 



3 

*- o 2 c. r > -'i - -'co 
2^42fjq ^ j- to 



03 
>4^ 

bo S 

3 C^ 

O- co 

hi 

O 

cdt 



<D 

CO 

*c 

hi flj 

o c 



CD 

-m h.42 
CD CDT3 



bo 

hi ft R 
3CO 3 



CD 

>s •— 

CD J- 

S 3 ft 
^ O £ 3 
h>-3 42 fe 
3"^ bCfl p 



03 



>s ., eD »- 
hi ■J J -^ CD 
*> rt ft"3 

«|^ 

« r be 

fa gU h, 



03 



03 CD 



U^AO 



hi 

co o3 

McD.^h 

hi co aw 

5 03,2 Ul 

— -I ' — — ' ~ 

03-^:3 O 

L*- 0-~_ co 



03 
3 
O 





4* 

CD 

be* 2 . 
3 cdO — 

: co^^ ' 



W 



o 




OO^W501>CjCiaOH(S(»^iflO^CjO(3!OHcXl»^if)«Ot»»0)OHs)or)^ 
0>OJCSa®00!OOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHcx9(8((5)8< 
OOOOXC»CX)COCX)c3ic5^01C3iOi05C31C35e3iOiOOi05C»C35C35C»C3JC3iC3ic35C3Sc35C3iC3i 

CXH 6«H CXCXcXHHcXHH^HCXcXHHl-lrlSIHHHrHOtHHH 

"*. hi hi m -, tj •_, »_, -, w 



'h'h ^"'2' hi 'hi i : 2 hi hi hi hi hi Shi hi hi hi hi hi hi (4 k* t*"t* I* i* %i P* i* i* 

ft 3.^2 ft ft fti«2 ^2^2 ft ft ft ft ftjj ftftftftftftftftftftftftftftftftft 



283 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

The " Minutes of the Annual Meeting," in book form, 
gives no location for the General Conferences of 1823, 
1824 and 1825. But James Quinter, in an editorial in the 
Primitive Christian, October 25, 1881, makes this state- 




Conference ground for Mexico meeting of 1885. Photo through kindness of 

Henry R. Gibbel, of Lititz, Pa. 



ment: "There was an Annual Meeting in the Yellow 
Creek congregation in 1825 and 1840." 

The Minutes of this first district meeting, and succeed- 
ing ones until 1868, are recorded in a book, the title page 
of which bears the following inscription : 

" Church Record of Middle District of Pennsylvania, 
bought for the use of the District in the City of Lan- 
caster by Elder Graybill Myers and given into the hands 
of the Secretary of the District, March the 28th, 
A. D. 1864." 

Daniel M. Holsinger was secretary those days, and the 
handwriting would lead one to conclude that after re- 
ceiving the book he transcribed the minutes of the earlier 
years into the record. 

The ink is fading. The editor, therefore, in order to 
make a permanent record of these first District Meetings, 
gives room for the Minutes preceding 1868. From this 
date on, there is a complete file of printed minutes, kept 

284 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

in the fireproof vault at Juniata College, save the year 
1883. Should this come to the notice of any reader who 
has a copy of the minutes for 1883, he will confer a great 
favor on the District to place it with this file. 

Inasmuch as the minutes of the first meeting do not 
appear in the record, copy has been made from the Gospel 
Visitor, Volume II, June, 1861. Thereafter follows exact 
copy of the District Records. 

MINUTES 

of 

COUNCIL MEETING OF DELEGATES 

from the 

Middle District of Pennsylvania, held in the Germany Val- 
ley Meeting House, Aughwick Church, Huntingdon County, 
Pa., May 9th and 10th, 1861. 
Public meeting being held for worship in the evening of the 8th 

and the morning of the 9th, the meeting was organized, the names 

of delegates from the different churches given. 
^ From Aughwick church present, And. Spanogle, J. G. Glock, A. L. 

Funk and John Spanogle. From Perry Co. ch., Jacob Spanogle, W. 

Panabaker & Ab. Roraer. Lost Creek ch., David Myers and B. 

Waidman. Buffalo ch., Isaac Myers and Charles Royler (Royer). 

Lewistown ch., Joseph Hanawalt and Reuben Myers. Warriors 

Mark ch., Graybill Myers. Frankstown ch., John D. Veach. Clover 

Creek ch., Dan. M. Holsinger, George W. Brumbaugh and George 

Brumbaugh. Snakespring V. ch., Jacob Steel. L. Cumberland ch. 

represented by letter. 

Henry Kurtz, from Ohio, was present and requested to act as 

Clerk. 

1. About the Oregon Mission. 

The question about the Oregon Mission having been presented to 
the different churches, the views entertained on the subject and stated 
by the delegates seemed somewhat indefinite and clashing, but the 
brethren present came to the conclusion to recommend to our 
churches the plan proposed by last yearly meeting (Art. 12) for 
united and speedy action, and to propose br. John Kline, of Virginia, 
and br. Grabill Myers, from Blair co., Pa., as proper candidates for 
this mission. 

2. Concerning the work of Evangelism or Home-Mission it was 
concluded, that we should go on in this work, in the manner 
hitherto pursued, and with increased energy and zeal, at the same 
time waiting for further light and the final action of Yearly Meeting. 

3. Concerning the Yearly Meeting. Inasmuch as it seems by the 
present deplorable state of things in our hitherto happy and peaceful 
country, civil war actually existing in the South, the attendance at 
our yearly meeting appointed in Virginia for next Pentecost (ten 
days hence) would not only prove a perilous undertaking, but also a 
useless and impracticable effort, it was concluded to appoint no dele- 

285 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



gates at this time, but send only a letter to our dear brethren in 
Virginia, and to postpone arrangements for a yearly meeting in the 
fall or following spring until we may hear further from our breth- 
ren throughout our country by letter or through the medium of the 
Gospel Visitor. At the same time we should all guard against the 
great temptations surrounding us. 

4. Query concerning re-baptizing. " It sometimes happens that 
individuals make application to become members of our church, who 
formerly belonged to the River Brethren or Seventhday Baptists, 
having received baptism in the same form and mode which we 
practise. Must such indeed be re-baptized, or might they be re- 
ceived without, as our brethren used to do, till of late years? — 
After a free interchange of sentiments the question was referred to 
next annual meeting for consideration. Reference had also been 
made to the Gospel Visitor, vol. 6, page 196. 

5. Query 2. Would it be contrary to the Gospel or the views of 
this meeting for the brethren in such churches, where the crowds 
are so immense at lovefeasts, to not have any preaching in daytimes 
at all at the place where lovefeast is to be, but to come together in 
the evening at the time when the exercises immediately connected 
with the Lord's Supper should begin? — Answer. In our view it 
would not be contrary to the Gospel. 

Several other questions were discussed in a friendly manner, of 
which no note was taken. 

6. Concerning the continuing distress of famine in Kansas. 
Henry Kurtz, from Ohio, presented this case, referring to the differ- 
ent articles in last (May) No. of the Gospel Visitor, and stating that 
he left his home under a strong impression of duty for the very 
purpose to awaken a new interest in our brotherhood East and West 
in behalf of our distressed brethren and fellow-mortals in Kansas, 
who must be supported till harvest, or suffer starvation before that 
time. — The delegates present agreed unanimously to use all diligence 
as soon as they come home, in order to collect and send still further 
relief, directing them to the Editors of the Gospel Visitor, Colum- 
biana, Ohio, who will send on the same by express. Brother Kurtz 
contemplating to go and visit Kansas himself as soon as possible, 
asked the prayers of the brethren, and an immediate collection was 
raised and handed to him to the amount of some thirty dollars. 

7. Concerning next Council meeting of this District it was con- 
cluded to have it in future on Easter Monday each year, the brethren 
to meet on Saturday evening before, and spending the Lord's day in 
public worship. A corresponding secretary was appointed to ascer- 
tain the wishes of the churches comprising this district with regard 
to the place of next meeting. 

The meeting being closed by singing and prayer, the brethren bid 
farewell to each other solemnly and affectionately, and departed in 
the evening of May 10. 

(Signed) 

Henry Kurtz, Clk. pro tern. 

The following is copied from the Written Records : 

286 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



In obedience to the advice of the Old Brethren at several Annual 
Meetings, the Churches of Penna. embraced in that part of the 
State, lying between the Alleghany Mountain, and the Susquehanna 
River; did agree, to form a district, to be known and denomi- 
nated as : 

"THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA." 

Accordingly a meeting being called; and was held in the Augh- 
wick congregation, Huntingdon County, on Ascension Day, 1861. 
The proceedings of said meeting were published in the Gospel 
Visitor, to which reference can be had. The Brethren attending said 
meeting were all favorably inclined, to continue the " District Meet- 
ings * annually. But as none of the elders had consulted their re- 
spective churches, before leaving home, it could not be decided where 
the next meeting should be. However, a corresponding secretary 
was appointed, with authority to decide on the place of next meeting; 
to whom application was to be made by those willing to take the 
Meeting. And the time for holding said meetings, for the future, 
was agreed, should be on " Easter." 

By virtue of the authority vested into his hands, the secretary gave 
due notice to the Churches embraced in the District; that the next 
meeting (God willing) would be held in Clover Creek church, James 
Creek Meeting House, Huntingdon County, (Since struck off as a 
separate church). The proceedings of said meeting were likewise 
inserted in the Gospel Visitor, but also considered necessary to be 
put on the District Church Record. 

Organization of District Meeting. April 21-22, A. D. 1862. 
Daniel M. Holsinger, the former Secretary, retained in office. 
Names of delegates from Aughwick Church, J. G. Glock, J. Span- 
ogle ; Perry Church, Jacob Spanogle, John Eby ; Lost Creek, David 
Myers, Michael Bashore; Buffaloe Valley, Isaac Myers, Charles 
Royer; Lewistown, Joseph R. Hanawalt, William Howe; Warriors 
Mark, Grabill Myers; Clover Creek, Isaac Brumbaugh, Daniel M. 
Holsinger; Snakespring Valley, Henry Clapper; Upper Conawago, 
Adam Brown. 

Article 1. About the Pacific Mission. This meeting feels satisfied 
with the nomination of last year, without change. The minutes of 
last Annual Meeting having come too late for the different churches 
to counsel at home prior to this meeting. The brethren nominated 
were: John Kline, of Virginia, and Grabill Myers, of Pennsylvania. 

Article 2. It sometimes happens that individuals make application 
to become members of our church, who formerly belonged to the 
River Brethren, or Seventh Day Baptists, having received baptism in 
the same form and mode which we practise. Must such indeed be 
re-baptized or might they be received without, as our brethren used 
to do till of late years? Referred to next Annual Meeting. 

Article 3. Have we a right to object to any person from being re- 
ceived into the Church on account of former conduct? Considered 
not; by giving evidence of their Repentance and Faith. 

Article 4. Have poor ministering brethren, when called to preach 
in other Churches, a right to take or receive voluntary contributions 

287 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



or donations from members or others, to bear their necessary ex- 
penses? Considered: We see no wrong in it. 

Article 5. Is it allowed for brethren to make public speeches at 
Teachers' Institutes, or at the close of Public Schools, etc., on edu- 
cational subjects? Considered: We see no wrong in it. 

Article 6. Has a brother the privilege to report an incendiary to 
the civil authorities ; who sets fire to buildings, or a wagon loaded 
with a flitting? Referred back to the Church where the query came 
from, with advice not to act on it till after next Annual Meeting. 

Article 7. What are the views of this meeting in regard to the 
many queries sent to the Editors of and answered in the Gospel 
Visitor, particularly such as relate to Church difficulties, and had 
been acted on by the Churches? Considered: We would advise 
members not to place too much confidence in man; to read the 
Scriptures more, and inform themselves out of the same, and not 
send any queries concerning matters that had been acted on by the 
church. 

Article 8. Would it not be more consistent with the Saviour's 
example of feetwashing, for the brother or sister that washes also 
to wipe? Considered: The delegates present are unanimous for the 
old practice. 

Article 9. Is it inconsistent with the Gospel for the Bread and 
Wine to be on the Table with the Supper, if a majority of any 
branch sees good to have it so? Considered: Not inconsistent. 

Article 10. Will we have a District Meeting next Spring, in A. D. 
1863? Considered: As we expect the Annual Meeting within the 
bounds of our district, we will omit the District Meeting for 
one year. 

Article 11. How are the delegates for this district to be selected, 
who are to represent it, at Annual Meeting? Considered: By the 
voices or votes of the delegates present. 

Accordingly, Grabill Myers, of Warriors Mark Church, and Dan- 
iel M. Holsinger, of Clover Creek Church, both in Blair County, 
were chosen and sent as delegates, at the expense of the churches in 
the District. 

The Gospel Visitor report of this meeting is signed thus : 

D. M. Holsinger, 
Corresponding Secretary and Clerk. 



Organization and proceedings of District Meeting held March 
28-29, A. D. 1864, at Spring Run Meeting House, Lewistown Church, 
Mifflin County, Brother Isaac Myers being appointed foreman and 
the former secretary retained in office. The following are the names 
of the delegates : Aughwick church, John G. Glock, John Spanogle ; 
Perry church, Peter Long, William Panabaker; Ridge church. 
Wendel Foglesonger, John Foglesonger; Upper Cumberland, Daniel 
Keller; Lost Creek, David Myers, Solomon Seiber; Buffalo Valley, 
Charles Royer, John L. Beaver ; Lewistown, Joseph R. Hanawalt, 
William Howe; Warriors Mark, Grabill Myers; Duncansville, Wil- 
liam B. Sell; Clover Creek, Daniel M. Holsinger, John W. Brum- 
baugh; James Creek, George Brumbaugh, Henry Brumbaugh. 

288 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Article 1. How does this council understand that portion of 
Scripture which relates to the subject of avoidance as practiced by 
some of our churches? See 1st Cor. 5 Chapt. 7-13. Considered: 
To leave the query over till next District Meeting, and in the mean- 
time the elders of the different churches should try to get the feelings 
of the members in their respective districts on the subject. 

Article 2. How is it considered for brethren to contribute money 
to the local bounty fund, to procure volunteers and avoid the gov- 
ernment draft? Considered: That under existing circumstances we 
are willing to bear with one another, but that no brother shall take 
an active part in raising such funds. 

Article 3. Will this meeting approve of the proposition of Brother 
Henry R. Holsinger to publish a religious Paper? Considered: That 
he may go on at his own discretion. 

Article 4. Would this meeting approve of a brother sitting in the 
capacity of inspector, judge, or clerk at the worldly elections? Con- 
sidered : It does not approve of it. 

Article 5. Does this meeting approve of brethren taking any part 
whatever in worldly elections ? Considered : Unanimously agreed we 
do not approve of it. 

Article 6. There is in some churches of our Brotherhood a custom 
practiced of setting members back (as they term it), that is, they 
exclude them from the communion table, and that for years. But 
otherwise hold them as members. Can such a custom be sustained 
by the Gospel ? Considered : It cannot be sustained thereby. 

Article 7. Will we have the minutes of our district meeting pub- 
lished in the Gospel Visitor ? Considered: We will, and also in the 
paper by Brother H. R. Holsinger proposes to publish. ^ 

Article 8. Is it expedient to change the time of holding our Dis- 
trict Meetings, inasmuch as the weather invariably is raw, unpleasant, 
and frequently deep snows fall about Easter, and thereby many are 
deprived from attending, as was the case this year, in consequence 
of the snow that fell Friday? Considered: Unanimously agreed, it is 
expedient. 

Two propositions were then offered and their several advantages 
or merits discussed. The first proposed three weeks before Whit- 
suntide. The second proposed the third Sunday in October. A vote 
being taken, the second proposition carried. Consequently the time 
is fixed to meet hereafter the third Sunday in October. 

Article 9. Lastly, a vote was taken for Delegates to represent the 
District at next Annual Meeting, and Brethren Joseph R. Hanawalt, 
of the Lewistown Church, and John Spanogle, of the Aughwick 
Church, were duly chosen. 



Organization and proceedings of District Meeting held October the 
17th, A. D. 1864, at the Dry Valley Meeting House, Lewistown 
Church, Mifflin County, Pennsylvania. 

The meeting was organized by appointing Brethren Isaac Myers 
foreman and Daniel M. Holsinger secretary. 

The following delegates were present : Aughwick, Christian Myers, 
Samuel Lutz; Lost Creek, Ezra Smith, Michael Bashore; Buffalo 

289 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Valley, Isaac Myers, Adam Beaver; Lewistown, Joseph R. Hanawalt, 
David Eshelman ; Warriors Mark, Grabill Myers ; Clover Creek, 
George Brumbaugh, Daniel Holsinger. 

The following queries were considered in the fear of God : 

Article 1. How does this council understand that portion of 
Scripture which relates to the subject of " Avoidance" as practiced 
by some churches? See 1 Cor. 5:9-13. After considerable discus- 
sion, it was finally referred to the next Annual Meeting. 

Article 2. Is it conflicting with the Gospel teachings for brethren 
to pay local bounty tax ? Considered : Our duty to pay all govern- 
ment taxes — " Tribute to whom tribute is due." 

Article 3. Is it contrary to the Gospel to raise Church funds by 
taxation ? Considered : A very good plan for raising Church funds, 
but we would not advise to proceed in that way unless the Church 
is unanimous, or nearly so. 

Article 4. Our next District Meeting where? Only one invitation 
was given, so it was agreed our next District Meeting should be 
held (God willing) with our dear brethren in the Lost Creek Church, 
Juniata County, Pennsylvania, on the third Tuesday of October, 
A. D. 1865. 

Delegates to Annual Meeting: Joseph R. Hanawalt and Daniel 
Keller. 



Organization and proceedings of District Meeting held October 
16-17, A. D. 1865, with the brethren in the Lost Creek Church, 
Juniata County, Pennsylvania. The meeting was organized by ap- 
pointing Brother Isaac Myers foreman, D. M. Holsinger, secretary, 
and George Brumbaugh, assistant secretary. 

The delegates from the Aughwick church, J. G. Glock, J. Lane; 
Perry, Peter Long, W. Panabaker; Lost Creek, David Myers, W. 
Kaufman; Upper Cumberland, Daniel Keller, Daniel Hollinger; 
Ridge, Daniel Eckerman, J. R. Fogelsonger; Buffalo Valley, Isaac 
Myers, Charles Royer, Isaac Royer ; Lewistown, J. R. Hanawalt, W. 
Howe, A. Myers; Warriors Mark, none; Duncansville, Graybill 
Myers; Clover Creek, D. M. Holsinger, J. W. Brumbaugh, George 
W. Brumbaugh; James Creek, George Brumbaugh, H. B. Brum- 
baugh; Antietam, J. F. Rohrer, D. F. Good; Upper Conawaga, Sam- 
uel Longenecker ; Snakespring Valley, Jacob Steele, H. Hershberger ; 
Marsh Creek, David Bosserman. 

Article 1. Is it right to require an applicant for baptism to make 
restitution, or reconciliation (if possible) where there is a known 
difficulty of a serious character existing between him and others who 
are not members, before receiving him into the Church? Consid- 
ered : Right, whether against members or such who are not members 
and that the Church is to be the proper judge of the matter. 

Article 2. Is it right for a brother to hold the office of assistant 
assessor of revenue tax ? Considered : By no means advisable for a 
brother to do so. 

Article 3. Can a brother serve as a member of the state legisla- 
ture? Considered: He can not. Inasmuch as the Saviour says, "No 
man can serve two masters." 

Article 4. Is it expedient for the Annual Meeting to reconsider 

290 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

the thirteenth article of minutes of Annual Meeting 1840 and twen- 
tieth article of the Minutes of Annual Meeting, 1865 ? Considered : 
That is expedient. 

Article 5. Does this meeting approve of a brother who is a physi- 
cian to push forward his reputation, by stating in his bills and 
circulars that he is a member of the German Baptist Church? Con- 
sidered : We do not approve of it. Referred to next Annual Meeting. 

Article 6. Whereas no application has been made as yet for the 
Annual Meeting in the year A. D. 1866, and whereas the brethren of 
the Middle District of Pennsylvania have received the grant they 
had for A. D. 1865, on account of the troubles existing in our beloved 
country. At the time preparations should have been made for said 
meeting, and whereas Brother H. D. Davy demands immediate action 
on our part to secure a grant for said meeting in A. D. 1866 within 
the limits of our District. It is, therefore, unanimously resolved by 
the delegates present, representing the different churches, that we will 
secure a suitable place for said meeting (God willing) within the 
bounds of this, or the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, and that the 
following brethren shall constitute a committee to solicit and de- 
termine on said place: Joseph F. Rohrer, Daniel Keller, David Bos- 
serman and Daniel Eckerman. 

Article 7. Resolved, that a copy of the proceedings of this meeting 
shall be sent to the elders of each church embraced in this district 
by the secretary of this meeting. 

Article 8. Delegates to next Annual Meeting : Isaac Myers, Daniel 
M. Holsinger. 

I do certify the above to be a true record. 

Daniel M. Holsinger, Sec. 



Proceedings of the District Meeting of the Middle District of 
Pennsylvania, held in Upper Cumberland Church, October 21-23, 
A. D. 1866. The following are the branches of the Church embraced 
in the District, with their (alphabetically arranged) delegates : 
Aughwick, John Spanogle, Peter L. Swine ; Antietam, Jacob F. 
Oiler, Joseph F. Rohrer; Back Creek, Adam Pfile, George Mower; 
Buffalo Valley, Isaac Myers, Adam Beaver; Clover Creek, J. W. 
Brumbaugh, G. W. Brumbaugh ; Codorus, Isaac Myers, Thomas 
Gray; Duncansville, Daniel M. Holsinger; Falling Spring, Joseph 
Geib, Abraham Golley; James Creek, George Brumbaugh; Lewis- 
town, William Howe; Lost Creek, David Myers, Solomon Seiber; 
Lower Conawaga, Joseph Myers, J. H. Raffensperger ; Lower Cum- 
berland, Samuel Etter, Moses Miller; Marsh Creek, David Bosser- 
man, Henry G. Koser ; Little Conawaga, not represented ; Perry, 
Peter Long, Abraham Rohrer; Ridge, John Newcomer, Daniel Eck- 
erman ; Snakespring Valley, represented by letter ; Spring Run, 
Joseph R. Hanawalt; Upper Conawaga, Daniel Longenecker, Adam 
Brown; Upper Cumberland, Joseph Sollenberger, Daniel Keller; 
Warriors Mark, Graybill Myers, Henry R. Holsinger; Yellow 
Creek, John Eshelman, Leonard Furry. 

Isaac Myers was elected foreman ; D. M. Holsinger, secretary, and 
George Brumbaugh, clerk. The following queries were considered : 

291 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Article 1. A brother commits fornication in its worst features, is 
tried in Church council, is found guilty and is expelled ; after some 
time he professes repentance and makes application to be received 
again. After repeated applications his case is considered by the 
church and a private vote taken, in which about two-thirds of the 
members were willing to receive him again, upon which he was re- 
ceived. Now, some of the minority are dissatisfied with the decision 
and refuse to commune. What is to be done in this case? Consid- 
ered : That this meeting confirms the proceedings of that church and 
advises the minority to abide by such decision. 

Article 2. In regard to receiving the testimony of those who are 
not members of the church and putting them on oath ? Considered : 
That the church does not demand or admit of an oath. Referred to 
minutes of 1865, Article 35. 

Article 3. A sister, who lives away from the body of the church 
and whose husband is not a member, but is getting very savage to 
her; and actually threatened to do her violence, leaving her nearly a 
wreck without bread or flour in the house, and to subsist on pota- 
toes. She says she is afraid he will kill her, and asks advice from 
the church what to do. Now, what advice should be given in such a 
case? Should she leave him, or report him to the proper officers of 
the law? Considered: That if she cannot be reconciled with her hus- 
band so as to live in safety with him, she would be justified in with- 
drawing from him under such circumstances, but yet remain his wife. 

Article 4. Inasmuch as it seems to have been the practice of the 
Apostles in setting apart a member for any special duty in the 
Church to do so by prayer and laying on of hands according to 
Acts 6:6 and 13:3. Would it not be more in accordance with the 
Gospel to establish visiting brethren and speakers in their offices in 
that way? Considered: Inasmuch as it appears to us that those upon 
whom the Apostles laid hands, as recorded in Acts 6th chapter, 
ranged in office parallel with our Deacons, we could see no Scrip- 
tural objection to establish such by the laying on of hands, but in the 
case of ministers when first elected we would not be so decided. 
(Referred to Annual Meeting.) 

Article 5. Would it not be advisable to make arrangements at this 
District Meeting that a meeting be appointed and that each church in 
the State be invited to send Delegates thereto, for the purpose of 
dividing the State into more convenient Districts ? Considered : In- 
asmuch as this District is quite satisfied with its territory and or- 
ganization we do not feel the necessity of any such call. 

Article 6. For liquidating the debt incurred in holding the Annual 
Meeting in the Antietam branch in A. D. 1866: Resolved, that the 
delegates to this meeting lay the matter before their respective 
churches and endeavor to raise their proportionate shares as near as 
possible. 

Article 7. A sister was requested by her husband (who was of an- 
other persuasion) to have his minister preach his funeral. Should 
she comply with his request? Considered: Yes, she should. 

Article 8. A ministering brother, in soliciting his hearers to the 
indispensable necessity of obeying the Gospel, remarked that if the 
Saviour had been disobedient to His Father's will He probably might 
have brought a similar fate upon Himself to that of His disciples. 

292 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Is this doctrine consistent with the Gospel? Considered: To be an 
unnecessary and uncalled for supposition. 

Article 9. Resolved, that this District Meeting send two brethren 
to the Annual Meeting as delegates to report its proceedings author- 
izing each individual church to send one delegate. Brother David 
Bosserman and Daniel M. Holsinger were chosen for the district to 
Annual Meeting. 

Article 10. Resolved, that this meeting recommends that the 
churches, in soliciting their delegates, either for District Meeting or 
Annual Meeting, do so by means of the ballot or votes, as they select 
their church officers. 

Article 11. Concerning the time of holding our District Meetings, 
it was agreed to meet on the third Sunday before Whitsuntide, but it 
was agreed not to hold a meeting in the spring of 1867. 

Article 12. Applications were received for the next District Meet- 
ing from the brethren in the Buffalo Valley Branch, Union County, 
and also from the James Creek Branch, Huntingdon County. It was 
left to the brethren of those two branches to decide among them- 
selves where it is to be held, and to give due notice of their 
conclusions. 

Article 13. In behalf of the missionary cause, the following reso- 
lution was accepted : 

Whereas, we see the necessity of a more extended spread of the 
Gospel, and whereas the Annual Meeting has recommended the 
Brotherhood to imitate the worthy example of those Districts which 
have made efforts in this cause, therefore, Resolve, that we, the 
churches composing the Middle District of Pennsylvania, will em- 
ploy renewed efforts to comply more fully with the command of our 
Saviour to M Go into all the world and preach the Gospel to every 
creature," and that we will make an effort to establish a fund for 
that purpose. 

Isaac Myers, Foreman. 
D. M. Holsinger, Secretary. 



293 



CHAPTER II 

Education in the Middle District 

EARLY EFFORTS 

While isolation and frontier hardships had very strong 
influence against " higher learning " and the voice of the 
majority, especially of the General Conference, was 
against such " worldly departure," such sentiment was far 
from unanimous in the Middle District of Pennsylvania. 

During the closing decade of the eighteenth century, 
Jacob Snyder, a deacon, felt the need of training the chil- 
dren, and taught three months during the winter, in the 
shack which he built near the big spring in Snake Spring 
Valley. And soon after the opening of the nineteenth 
century (1806-28) Conrad F. Haller, a graduate of a Ger- 
man University, educated in five different languages, a 
physician and a minister, conducted a school in the 
Blooming Grove community, just north of Williamsport. 
This educational work, moulded after the ideals of these 
pious, early settlers, who wanted the Bible as the founda- 
tion of all their activities, was not abandoned for the 
public school system until towards the middle of the 
century. 

BUFFALO MILLS SCHOOL 

Educational interest now shifted to Buffalo Mills, in 
Wills Creek Valley, southwest of Bedford about ten 
miles. This effort to establish a school has an interesting 
background, showing clearly that there was considerable 
sentiment and strong convictions on the part of many for 
better education during the period sometimes called " the 
Dark Ages " of the church. 

Andrew Miller, the father of Jacob Miller, the school- 
man, seeing that his eldest son was small of stature and 
probably not suited for the farm, had the lad sent to 
school, — until he was ten years old — in the upstairs of 
his father's own home, then he went to Thomas A. Har- 

294 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

ris' school, in Bedford. In 1845, Jacob began to teach 
public school in the vicinity of New Enterprise. In the 
Fall of 1847, he taught a select school at the same place. 
Samuel Teeter's two brothers attended his school and he 
taught branches that had never been taught there before. 
Leonard Furry and Daniel Snowberger boarded him free 
to induce him to teach in their community. Daniel said, 
one time, to Jacob Miller's daughter, Mrs. Emma 
Replogle,* concerning this school teacher, " Your father 
convinced me that I needed a dictionary/' This teacher 
organized a debating society. One of the questions de- 
bated, of more than ordinary note, was, " Resolved, that 
ministers of the Gospel should be educated.' 5 This ques- 
tion was debated on the very spot where the New Enter- 
prise Church now stands. He was " the first man that 
really taught school in the Cove," said William Grove, 
years ago, a resident of Waterside. Of this same brother. 
John B. Fluck, almost of our own times, said he " had a 
more systematic mode of instructions than the old-styled 
teachers at that time, and a number of young men be- 
came more proficient in teaching than those of the com- 
mon schools of that day under his system of teach- 
ing. . . . Young men became interested in him and his 
school, . . . and from his and adjoining districts attended 
this school and the Literary Society and Spelling Schools 
conducted by him. . . . The schools were organized by 
classes and set times were fixed for writing and reciting. 
Arithmetic was taught in classes and explanations from 
the blackboard were given each day at certain hours." 

Evidently he taught each winter in the Cove until 1852, 
when, because his father was located in Wills Creek Val- 
ley, he, too, moved there. Here, in the Fall of 1852, he 
opened what is known as the Buffalo Mills School. From 
the beginning it was successful. Home patronage was 
good. Students from adjoining counties came and 
boarded in his home while attending his school. Among 
his students may be mentioned Jeremiah Beeghly, of 
Accident, (Md.) ; Nelson Myers, Lewis Keim, Israel 
Berkley, Daniel Hauger, of Somerset County; William 



* To Mrs. Emma Replogle, now (February, 1925) in the home of her daughter. 
Mrs. A. W. Dupler, in Huntingdon, Pa., the editor is indebted for this material 
on Buffalo Mills. 

295 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Snowden, EH Miller and John S. Holsinger, of Dunnings 
Creek section. His more advanced students assisted him 
in teaching. Among these John S. Holsinger was one. 

In 1897, Henry R. Holsinger, gathering data for his 
" History of the Tunkers," said, " What a work ! What a 
life ! Without the aid of the press, without a bit of adver- 
tising, to build up a school and get students from other 




Buffalo Mills, where Jacob Miller had his school. Note the white arrow at the 
right pointing to a house with a cross marked on it. 



counties right at his own home and in his own congrega- 
tion ! What a strong personality ! " 

Through exposure and overwork, his untimely death 
came in 1853, and this school effort came to a close, 
though not without large and splendid results in the lives 
of many pupils who went forth for the King. 

During these 



FORMATIVE YEARS 

of the third quarter of the nineteenth century, a few 
hearts, considerate yet fearless, labored for better educa- 
tional facilities wherever they could, and thereby pre- 
pared the church for further efforts to provide higher 
learning. In 1856, James Quinter wrote a strong article 

296 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



on the need of educating the young of the church in 
proper religious surroundings. The Gospel Visitor pub- 
lished the article. This becomes the more interesting 
because it was our only church paper those times, and 
was owned and edited by Henry Kurtz, a leader who put 
a big question mark after so much learning. Brother 
Quinter's words were so timely and his reasoning so clear 
that they are worthy of a place in this record, and the 
more so since later he was identified with Juniata College. 
" If our youth now desire anything more than a com- 
mon school education, they are compelled to resort to in- 
stitutions not under that pure Christian influence which 
we, as parents, should want our youth placed under, and 
thus, by failing to afford them the helps desirable for pur- 
suing their studies, we may in some degree endanger their 
spiritual welfare. And not only so, but we are in danger 
of losing the influence and talents of many of our youth, 
as they will not be likely to feel the same respect for, or 
attachment to, our denomination, should they not find in 
us the inclination to sympathize with them in their de- 
sires for mental culture and a readiness to afford them 
suitable opportunities for obtaining that culture, that 
they would if they found the Church ready to encourage 
them, and to take them under her sheltering wing, and 
to feed them with useful knowledge. . . . Knowing that 
a number of young people are from home, pursuing their 
studies in other institutions of learning, and feeling a 
deep concern for the welfare of our youth, and a growing 
attachment to the holy doctrines and practices of Chris- 
tianity as held by our beloved brethren, we confess we 
feel no little desire to see the Church affording her youth 
every opportunity necessary for the promotion of their 
happiness and usefulness. We think that it is not only 
right that the Church should encourage an institution in 
which our youth may acquire useful knowledge, but we 
think that it is her duty — a duty she owes to her God, to 
herself, and to the rising generation — to encourage and 
build up such an institution." The same article outlines, 
to some extent, the kind of school he had in mind : " We 
would expect such an institution to be under the influence 
of spiritually minded Brethren. We would want re- 
ligious teachers — teachers who would have a regard to 

297 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



the religious as well as to the intellectual improvements 
of the students, — consequently, the students would have 
religious counsel administered to them. We would have 
the Bible daily used in the institution. We would have 
the students to board in a religious family and have them 
led daily to a throne of grace and Heaven's blessing in- 
voked upon them. In short, we would have the school 
to resemble a pious family under such rules as would 
discountenance whatever is evil and encourage whatever 
is good." * 

Eight years after the Buffalo Mills School came to a 
close, Solomon Z. Sharp, who has given his life to the 
development of education in the church, purchased 

KISHACOQUILLAS SEMINARY, 

located about ten miles from Lewistown, in Big Valley. 
It had been built by the Presbyterians some years before 
and abandoned for want of support. At the time Brother 




Kishacoquillas Seminar}' building. Still in good repair, but not used for 

educational purposes. 



Sharp had just been called to the ministry and was prin- 
cipal of the McVeytown High School. On April 1, 1861, 
thirty-six students present, he started a summer normal 



* See Life and Sermons of Elder James Quinter s by his daughter, Mary, pp. 36-38. 

298 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



for teachers. Professor Davenport, a graduate of Co- 
lumbia University, taught Latin and higher mathematics ; 
a German artist taught oil painting. Thus equipped, the 
school continued through the year, ending with an en- 
rolment of seventy-two. Among the names of students 
enrolled are found Amich, Bashore, Bolinger, Brum- 
baugh, Custer, Hagey, Hanawalt, Myers, Smith, Snow- 
berger, Spanogle, Swigart, Rush and Zuck. The 
abnormal conditions created through the Civil War 
greatly embarrassed the institution financially, as well as 
affected the attendance. At the end of three years 
Brother Sharp sold the school to Martin Mohler, who 
continued it for several years. 

Thus far individual effort marked the way of education. 
Sentiment had developed far enough now that some 
brave hearts thought the time had come for concerted or 

ORGANIZED EFFORT 

in establishing a school somewhere in Pennsylvania. 

Henry R. Holsinger, of course, stood wholehearted for 
better educational facilities, and now and then voiced his 
sentiments in the Christian Family Companion, which he 
had been publishing since 1865. Not, however, until 
1874, when he called a meeting at Martinsburg, (Pa.), 
through the columns of the Pilgrim (Issue, February 24, 
1874), did the pros and cons of education get down to real 
work. " Since our last/' Brother Holsinger started out in 
his announcement, " we have been to Martinsburg. Have 
examined the school buildings, and have had an interview 
with the proprietor and the agent, and also with a number 
of brethren residing there. All agree that it is a good 
location, and that there is a bargain in the offer. And 
now we have appointed an educational meeting, to be 
held at Martinsburg, at the Brethren's Meeting House, on 
Monday, March 16th, next, all the delegates and friends 
to assemble on Saturday previous. 

"The object of this meeting will be to effect an or- 
ganization of the friends of education among us, and to 
take such steps towards the establishing of a school as 
will afford the facilities to our children for acquiring an 
education, such as the meeting may think advisable. 
Should a better location be proposed and agreed upon, we 

299 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



will heartily concur, as we have nothing in view save the 
prosperity of the cause of light and knowledge." 

The call further urged that " delegates be elected, sent 
and instructed. . . . Pledges are to be secured and sent 
along." Then the writer offered his " favorite plan for 
the support of the school." In brief it is that one hundred 
brethren give $1,000.00 each, one quarter down and the 
balance at six per cent, until paid within ten years. He 
himself proposed to be of the hundred. 

With such a call in the paper published by Henry and 
John B. Brumbaugh, when Brother Holsinger had a paper 
of his own in which it might have appeared, one need not 
guess where the Brumbaugh Brothers stood on the issue. 
In fact, in an editorial (presumably by Henry B. Brum- 
baugh), there is open avowal of the cause in these words : 
" The school movement seems to be creating considerable 
interest, and the prospects are good for a fair representa- 
tion of those interested in education. The time has come 
that it is expected of all people to be consistent. We, as 
a church, must either discard education altogether or 
make some provisions towards obtaining it. The fact 
that our children are sent to the higher grades of schools 
by the scores and hundreds is an undisputable evidence 
that educational interests are growing amongst us. The 
Brethren are now sending enough children away from 
home to support several good schools, and many of them 
return home with their minds so tainted with sectarian 
influences that their after deportment does not very well 
correspond with the humble teachings of Christ, thus 
casting a stigma upon education that is wholly unjust, as 
true education has nothing to do with it. . . . The object 
of this school should not be to teach religion, but to have 
it surrounded by such influences as will point the young 
and expanding mind to the principles of divine truth as 
is exemplified in our holy religion. All such as can 
view the subject in this light should feel it a privilege 
and duty to attend the approaching meeting and thus 
show that they are concerned about the educational in- 
terests of the rising generation." * 

The " proceedings of the educational meeting held at 
Martinsburg, March 16, 1874," are worthy of a place in 

* The Weekly Pilprim, March 10, 1874. 

300 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



this record. " After opening in the usual order, by sing- 
ing and prayer, H. R. Holsinger was chosen Chairman 
and J. A. Sell, clerk. The object of this meeting was 
then stated by the chairman to be : 

First. To ascertain the sentiment of friends of educa- 
tion present, upon the importance or necessity of having 
a school of a higher grade under the control of our own 
membership. And if so, then, 

Second. The question would arise, when shall we 
prosecute the project of organizing and establishing the 
institution? The importance of having such a school 
under our control was then discussed by the chairman, 
H. B. Brumbaugh, Graybill Myers, George Brumbaugh, 
and it was unanimously agreed that such a school is 
needed. 

" It was also resolved that the wants of the Brother- 
hood demand such action as will most speedily put into 
operation such a school as will furnish accommodation 
sought after by our youth." 

" After a discussion of how to raise money, suitable 
locations were then nominated as follows : H. B. Brum- 
baugh named Huntingdon; George Brumbaugh, Pleasant 
Grove in Huntingdon County ; Franklin Forney, Berlin ; 
H. R. Holsinger, Wooster, Ohio; John H. Shiffler, Mar- 
tinsburg, Thereupon nominations closed and " the meet- 
ing adjourned for one hour." 

" In the afternoon ... it was agreed that Martinsburg 
was a suitable and convenient location, . . . but that it is 
not advisable to purchase the proposed property, as more 
convenient buildings could be constructed for about the 
same money/' All agreed " that the success of the enter- 
prise greatly depends upon its location." Martinsburg 
was " suitable in point of healthfulness, easy of access, 
church influence, religiously but not so good pecuniarily. 
Only a few thousand dollars of stock could be secured at 
the meeting." 

Huntingdon " was shown to possess superior advan- 
tages in the way of railroad facilities, water works and 
gas light, but wanting in church influence and other 
points." 

Berlin " was shown to possess advantages of healthful- 
ness ; easy of access, being warranted to have railroad 

301 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



connection before the school could be put in operation. 
Church influence, in patronage, religious and pecuniary 
influences and in sending pupils. The delegates from 
Berlin also offered to secure $30,000.00 stock in the school 
and to donate $4,000.00 in cash to the enterprise, if the 
school would be created at Berlin." 

" It was then unanimously agreed to adopt Berlin as 
the location for the Brethren's school. The following 
resolution was unanimously adopted : Resolved, that we 
raise a fund of not less than one hundred thousand dol- 
lars, in shares of five hundred dollars each, each share- 
holder to be entitled to one vote. Twenty-five per cent, 
of the amount subscribed to be paid in as may be de- 
manded and the balance to be secured by mortgage for 
ten years, upon which six per cent, interest shall be paid 
annually on the entire amount if preferred by the sub- 
scriber; the school to be located at Berlin, Somerset 
County, Pennsylvania." 

Henry R. Holsinger was unanimously appointed " gen- 
eral solicitor to secure the endowment." The meeting 
adjourned with " the best of feelings and in confidence 
for the success of the enterprise which it had organized." 

The publication of the foregoing in the Pilgrim plunged 
the brotherhood into a furore of deep anxiety, as is re- 
flected in another editorial,* from which the following is 
extracted: " Since the School Meeting, there are a few of 
our readers, fearful that our connection with the School, 
as they seem to think, may result unfavorably to our 
work. We beg leave to state that we are unconditionally 
in favor of, at least, a thorough English education, but 
have no personal interest in connection with the pro- 
posed School more than our common cause demands, and 
the duty of our position seems to call for. That our 
Brotherhood is favorable to a good education is plainly 
evident, if not by oral affirmation, by practical illustra- 
tion. ... Is it not an undeniable fact that when a 
brother is to be called to the ministry, other things being 
equal, the one having a good education is always chosen? 
Is this not done on purely democratic principles by the 
vote or voice of each individual member? . . . Our con- 
clusion is nothing more or less than that the Church is 

* The Weekly Pilgrim, April 28, 1874. 

302 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



favorable to education. . . . Whether the school is a 
success or a failure will not affect our interest in the least, 
as financially, we are not concerned, but the cause has 
our sympathies and also the sanction of Annual 
Conference." 

The Pilgrim surely did its part to help on the Berlin 
project. " H. R. Holsinger writes us * that he is now 
working in soliciting funds for the school and is hopeful 
of success. We just here wish to disabuse the minds of 
those brethren who persist in calling it the Holsinger 
school. While he is justly and honorably identified with 
the first move, he claims no more control over the school 
than his bonafide subscription entitles him to." 

By September 29, 1874, H. R. Holsinger states through 
the Pilgrim: "We are happy to announce to the friends 
of the enterprise that the local quota of $30,000.00 has 
been subscribed by the brethren and friends within the 
limits of the Berlin congregation. Besides this amount, 
we have nearly $6,000.00 from other places, especiallv 
Elk Lick." P y 

Again an editorial in the Pilgrim is illuminating: " The 
subject of High Schools," says the editor,f " is becoming 
fearfully agitated, and if not stopped, we fear it will end 
just like every other subject that has been rabidly dis- 
cussed through our periodicals, nothing gained, but a 
great deal of love lost. In the last Companion, Number 
40 (H. R. Holsinger's paper. Ed.) we notice no less than 
ten columns devoted to the subject, and the writers differ 
so widely that we feel to say, brethren, better not." 

Perhaps the promoters of the Berlin School were too 
sanguine in raising the $100,000.00, or it may be that 
sentiment in favor of education was not strong enough 
yet. Anyhow, one thing is sure; though Berlin did her 
part nobly, the friends of education outside failed to re- 
spond to Brother Holsinger's strenuous efforts, and at 
last he had to give it up,— a step that cost him more pain 
and heartache than most people imagine. Yet his labors 
were not in vain. The agitation was one more step for- 
ward towards the educational goal. 

* Editorial item June 23, 1874. 

f The Weekly Pilgrim, October 13, 1874. 

* 

303 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




Dr. Andrew B. Brumbaugh 



JUNIATA'S BEGINNING 

Meanwhile a young physician, Dr. Andrew Boelus 
Brumbaugh, a graduate of the Medical Department of 

the University of Pennsylvania in 
the class of 1866, located the same 
year in Huntingdon. He " saw 
visions and dreamed dreams " edu- 
cationally, for the future of his 
people, the Church of the Breth- 
ren. January 1, 1870, the Pilgrim 
first appeared in Marklesburg, a 
village in Woodcock Valley, off 
the railroad, eleven miles from 
Huntingdon. When the young 
doctor was out in that section visit- 
ing his patients, now and then he 
would drop into the office and talk 
matters over with his two cousins, 
Henry Brumbaugh and John B. 
Brumbaugh, the publishers. His theme usually was a 
school for the church at Huntingdon. He finally induced 
the brothers to move to Huntingdon. Henry Brumbaugh 
built a large three-story brick building at the corner of 
Fourteenth and Washington Streets and here, in the Fall 
of 1874, the Pilgrim was located. 

At this time there was more or less agitation on the 
school question in the Pilgrim. It was a difficult subject 
to handle because of the divided sentiment of the church, 
and this gave occasion for these three to discuss the needs 
of education often. Early in the Spring of 1875, Jacob M. 
Zuck visited John B. Brumbaugh, and these two formed 
a close friendship, afterwards kept up by correspondence. 
About a year later when, one day, the three Brumbaughs 
were surveying the school situation in the Brotherhood, 
noting that the Berlin project was failing for lack of sup- 
port in endowment, that the Plum Creek school was not 
succeeding in raising endowment very well, Dr. Andrew 
B. Brumbaugh proposed to his associates that a school 
be started in Huntingdon solely on the basis of soliciting 
students and not asking for endowment. So thoroughly 
was he enthused on this being the place for a Brethren's 
school that already, on his own initiative, he had pur- 



304 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



chased " two lots for a mission school or church. " The 
three agreed that this was the thing to do. Henry Brum- 
baugh proposed to furnish the building, a large unoccu- 
pied room on the second floor of his printing plant; John 
Brumbaugh said he would give board, room and washing 





" The Brumbaugh Brothers » 
Henry B. Brumbaugh John B. Brumbaugh 

for the teacher, free for one year; Dr. Andrew B. Brum- 
baugh was to " furnish the students and some furni- 
ture." * John B. Brumbaugh at once invited Jacob M. 
Zuck, of Clay Lick, Pennsylvania. He agreed to come 
and sent the following announcement for publication. It 
appeared in the Pilgrim, April 4, 1876 : 

NORMAL SELECT SCHOOL 
The undersigned will open a Normal Select School in the Pil- 
grim Building, Huntingdon, Pennsylvania. The school year will 
consist of four terms of eleven weeks each, beginning April 17th, 
September 4th, November 20th, 1876, and February 12th, 1877. 

T£RMS 

Tuition for 1 1 weeks $6.50 

For less time, per week 65 

Boarding, per week 3.00 

The patronage of all is solicited. Special attention given to those 
desiring to teach. For further particulars address, 
J. M. Zuck, Box 50, Huntingdon, Pennsylvania. 

* Gleaned from History of Juniata College, and life of Dr. Andrew B. Brum- 
baugh in Genealogies of the Brumbaugh Families, by Gaius M. Brumbaugh, son of 
Dr. A. B. B. 

305 




Professor Jacob M. Zuck, the Founder. The first three graduates, Class of 
1879, Phoebe R. Norris, Linnie Bosserman, and Gaius M. Brumbaugh. 
The Faculty of 1878. (Standing, from left), Jacob H. Brumbaugh, 
David Emmert and A. S. M. Anderson. (Sitting), Phoebe W. Weakley, 
Jacob M. Zuck, J. C. Ewing. The Brumbaugh Building, corner this way, 
second story, where Juniata began. The First Chapel. The Burchinell 
House, Juniata's Second Home. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Following in the advertisement are recommendations from Edward 
Brooks, Principal State Normal School, stating Brother Zuck had 
" taught with success in our Normal School." From A. Holsbrook, 
Principal of National Normal School, Ohio, stating he had "gradu- 
ated in our Scientific class of 1874" and was "a man of correct 
habits, of remarkably clear mind, mastering with certainty every 
subject to which he applies himself. . . . well qualified in the Higher 
Mathematics, in the Natural Sciences, and in the Latin language, to 
teach them with success." From E. A. Hering, president, and J. B. 
Hamilton, secretary of the Waynesboro schools, who, after stating 
that he had taught nine months in the city schools, say they "take 
pleasure in recommending him to any in need of a first class teacher. 
He displayed rare administrative skill in the management of his 
school, etc." 

An editorial in the same issue (presumably written by 
Henry B. Brumbaugh), after calling attention to the 
advertisement, declares " because we have always had a 
deep interest in the proper education of the children of 
the Brethren, we have consented to give part of our large 
building to be devoted to that purpose." Further, the 
editorial states that " the design of the school is not to 
teach religion, but to educate, therefore in principle it 
will not be sectarian, and all who are desirous of obtain- 
ing good educational facilities are cordially invited to 
attend. . . . We have no interest in this school more than 
that we desire to make it a success/ 1 * 

Jacob M. Zuck appeared on the scene in time to open 
school as announced, and in the room 12 x 16 feet on the 
second story of the Pilgrim building, three students pre- 
sented themselves for enrolment : — Gaius M. Brumbaugh, 
the only son of Dr. A. B. and Maria Brumbaugh, the first 
members to locate in Huntingdon, and the lifelong, 
staunch supporters of the school ; Rebecca Cornelius, of 
Shirleysburg, who later married T. Wilday Black, and 
now resides in Huntingdon ; and Maggie D. Miller, who 
married Timothy Campbell. On the "third day Edward 
Wharton came in. Others enrolling later were a Mr. 
Peightal, Mary Dorborough, Ida Black, now Mrs. Wil- 
liam Reed, of Huntingdon, and Ida Johnson. By the end 
of the first term seventeen had enrolled. The following 
full school year twenty-nine enrolled. 

The school library consisted of Webster's New Un- 
abridged Dictionary; AppletoiVs sixteen large volume 

* The Pilgrim, 1876, p. 210. 

307 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



and Chambers ten volume Encyclopedias. " Works 
like these/' Professor Zuck wrote,* " cover the whole 
range of human knowledge and are indispensable to the 
student. . . . We have also the facilities for fitting up a 
first-class reading room which will enable the students, 
without expense, to keep themselves posted on the cur- 




The Room. 12 x 16, "Where Professor Zuck and the Three 
First Scholars Met on April 17, 1876. 

rent events of the day, whether in the fields of science, 
literature, art, politics or religion/' Mention is then made 
of three dailies, — Neiv York Tribune, The Witness, and the 
Graphic, — a number of weeklies and leading magazines. 
" Students, on reaching Huntingdon, . . . better take the 
omnibus, which will be found in readiness at the depot.'' 
The Brumbaugh Brothers, as publishers of the Pilgrim, 
certainly subjected themselves to criticism in being party 
to this new school project as they were. John B. Brum- 
baugh, in an editorial/)" says : " In the first place, we want 
it understood that the publishers of this paper have 
nothing to do with this school. We have a large building 
here, part of which is unoccupied. We invited our 
brother to come here and start a school. He did so, and 
we feel anxious for him to succeed. The more we be- 
come acquainted with him, the surer we feel that ' he is 
the right man in the right place.' His school at present 

* See The Pilgrim, p. 298. 

t The Pilgrim, p. 321, May 23, 1876. 



308 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

is not large, . . . but the prospects are flattering, . . . 
and just as soon as the patronage becomes so large that 
the room is insufficient, a building will be erected forth- 
with. This will be strictly a private enterprise, so that 
the church need not fear that anv burdens will be im- 





Jacob H. Brumbaugh 



David Emmert 



posed upon her from this source. . . . We do not intend 
to have the propriety or impropriety of having a Breth- 
ren's school discussed through our columns, that is, a 
discussion on the subject shall not originate from the 
effort that is being and will be made here. . . . Give the 
school a trial, and if it does not merit your patronage, 
then you should go where you can do better.'' 

Meanwhile the school was quietly going on and new 
features were being added as opportunity presented it- 
self. June 18, 1876, a Bible class that met every Sabbath 
afternoon was organized. Progress was also marked 
thus : " The class beginning Caesar read twenty-five chap- 
ters, the Algebraists got as far as the Binomial Theorem 
( Brooks), and the class commencing Geometry completed 
Books 1st and 2nd." * 

By February, 1877, the school had grown in numbers 
to such an extent that it was necessary to move across 



J. M. Zuck's Report of First Term in The Pilgrim, p. 423, 1876. 

309 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

the street into the Burchinell building. Here it remained 

until Founders' Hall 
was ready to occupy. 
Monday, April 7, 1879, 
when all moved into 
the new building, the 
first of the group now 
standing on College 
Hill, was a happy day, 
a holiday. Ten days 
later, April 17, the 
" formal opening of the 
new building ' was 
held. 

About the middle of 
the first school year a 
committee made the 
following report as a 




Founders' Hall, Built in 1879 

basis for directing the school 



We, the committee appointed at a school meeting of the brethren 
of Huntingdon, Pa., January 27, 1877, to draft resolutions, etc., re- 
port the following : 

Whereas, the subject of Education has been before the fraternity 
of the Brethren for a number of years, and many have felt the need 
of a school surrounded by the proper moral influences ; and, whereas, 
brother J. M. Zuck has opened a school in the town of Huntingdon, 
Pa., known as the Huntingdon Normal School, which has met with 
encouragement and has awakened a decided interest on the part of 
brethren and others, and apparently only needs better accommoda- 
tions to make it a complete success ; and whereas, all acknowledge 
Huntingdon to be a good location for a school such as we need, in 
order that we may retain, develop and utilize the talent that other- 
wise might be lost to the church ; therefore, 

Resolved (1), That we will make an effort to raise the necessary 
funds to establish an educational institution in the town of Hunting- 
don, Pa., and that to this end we will respectfully but earnestly 
solicit the co-operation and assistance of our brethren and others 
friendly to the cause. 

Resolved (2), That we commend to the serious and prayerful con- 
sideration of our brethren the educational project set on foot by the 
brethren in the aforesaid town of Huntingdon, and appeal to all who 
can do so, to lend a helping hand in the way of donating or sub- 
scribing to the fund to be known as the " Huntingdon School Fund." 

Resolved (3), That although we shall aim to get as many of the 
brethren as possible interested in this enterprise, yet we approach all 
such brethren in an individual rather than in a church capacity, and 



310 









in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



hence this measure ought to be regarded as a private or individual 
enterprise, and concerns only those who are, or may become, friendly 
to the cause. 

Resolved (4), That the brethren who have inaugurated this move- 
ment, residing in the town of Huntingdon, be and are hereby consti- 
tuted a Board of temporary trustees, who shall elect their own 
officers, appoint a general agent or solicitor, and take such other steps 
as may be necessary in order to carry out the work in which they 
have engaged. 

Resolved (5), That the Temporary Trustees of the Huntingdon 
School Fund and the subscribers and donors to said fund enter into 
the following articles of agreement: 

Article I — Design 
The design of this Fund shall be to establish a school or institution 
of learning that will provide the young of both sexes with such^ edu- 
cational advantages as will fit them for the duties and responsibilities 
of life, and more especially to secure these advantages to the youth 
of our own fraternity at such a place and surrounded by such^ in- 
fluences as will not prejudice their minds against any of the doctrines 
of the Bible as believed and practiced by the Brethren. 

Here follows Article II, providing for a board of nine 
trustees, " all of whom shall be brethren, and at least five 
of whom shall reside in the vicinity of the school and 
constitute a quorum ; Article III, Manner of raising 
Funds; Article IV, Distribution of Funds; Article V, 
Obligation. 

This report, prepared by James Quinter, Dr. A. B. 
Brumbaugh and Jacob M. Zuck, was submitted to a 
meeting of the Brethren in Huntingdon, February 2, 
1877, and sanctioned at a council meeting of the Brethren 
in James Creek congregation, February 3, 1877. The 
following six brethren were made the temporary trustees : 
James Quinter, H. B. Brumbaugh, A. B. Brumbaugh, J. 
M. Zuck, J. B. Brumbaugh, J. W. Beer. 

JUNIATA COLLEGE 

The school was first announced under the name, 
" Huntingdon Normal School." But it soon took the 
name, " Brethren's Normal School and Collegiate Insti- 
tute/' In 1881 it assumed the name, " Brethren's Normal 
College," and continued under that designation until 
1893. Then, in honor of the valley in which it is the lone 
college and the far-famed river on whose banks it is 
located, it adopted its present name, Juniata College. 

Its trustees, by the terms of the charter, must be mem- 
bers of the Church of the Brethren. From the first they 

311 




Some of those who stood by Juniata through its trying years. Top, from left : 
Trustees, Jacob F. Oiler, Waynesboro, Pa. ; John Harley, Pottstown, Pa. ; 
D. F. Stouffer, Benevola, Md., and Isaac Price, Schuylkill, Pa. Teachers, 
Joseph E. Saylor and William Beery. 









in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



numbered fifteen ; since 1922, twenty-one. Let the reader 
turn to the page on which the trustees are tabulated and 
note the men who fathered this enterprise through its 
perplexing, because unpopular, days and you will dis- 
cover who has carried the burden of Juniata College 
through the years. The trustee board has had but two 




^wmm 




Students' 



Founders' 



Ladies' 



Oneida 



presidents, — Henry B. Brumbaugh, from 1878 until 1919, 
and Martin Grove Brumbaugh, from 1919 to the present. 

In addition to Founders' Hall, occupied in the spring of 
1879, the following buildings have been added: Ladies' 
Hall, 1890; Students' Hall, 1895; Oneida Hall, 1898; In- 
firmary, 1900; Gymnasium, 1901; Library, 1907; Stone 
Church, 1910; Grand Stand on 
Athletic Field, 1914; Heating Plant 
and Laundry, 1915 ; Science Build- 
ing, 1916. 

Principals or Presidents. Prin- 
cipals : Jacob M. Zuck, from April 
17, 1876, until May 19, 1879 ; Jacob 
H. Brumbaugh, until 1881. Presi- 
dents : James Quinter, until 1888 ; 
Henry B. Brumbaugh, until 1893; 
Martin G. Brumbaugh, until 1910 ; 
I. Harvey Brumbaugh, Acting 
President, 1899-1911 ; President, 
1911-24; Martin G. Brumbaugh, 
1924 to the present. 

Students. The first day they 
were three ; the first term, seven- 
teen ; the first full school year, 29 ; 




James Quinter,, 

First President of Juniata 

College 



313 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



the second, 117. Enrollment for 1924-25, all college grade, 
347. The first graduates from any Brethren's school were 
from Juniata, July 3, 1879, the class, M. Linnie Bosser- 
man, of Polo (Mo.) ; Phoebe R. Norris, of Gettysburg, 
(Pa.) ; and Gaius M. Brumbaugh, of Huntingdon, (Pa.), 




Gymnasium at Commencement Time 



each receiving the degree, Bachelor of English. In 1882 
were catalogued the first pupils in the college scientific 
course. In 1889-90 a two-years' Bible course was begun 
with thirty students enrolled. In 1890-91 Juniata Business 
College began with twenty-eight students. In 1895 the 
first students (eight) in the Classical course were cata- 
logued. In 1897 Daniel C. Reber, now occupying a chair 
in Alanchester College, (Ind.), was the first, and in 1898 
Charles C. Ellis, Vice-President of Juniata and a member 
of her faculty, was the second to receive the Bachelor of 
Arts degree from any Brethren's college. It was during 
Martin G. Brumbaugh's administration (1893-99) that 
the institution took advanced steps and became a college 
in fact. In 1924 the. iVcademy was dropped. 

Faculty. The first term, one instructor; the first year, 

314 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

three; second year, seven; 1924-25, twenty-five. The 
table of instructors who served three years or more, 
extensive attitude and the summer school was dropped, 
found on another page, will prove interesting study to the 
one who wishes to know who has exerted the larger in- 
fluence over the student body. 

Summer School. This has had a checkered history. 
In the early years of the institution, under the name, 
" Pennsylvania Summer School/' a few sessions were 
held. Then the school took on a rather intensive than 




Science Building 



Between 1909 and 1914, six-weeks' summer sessions 
were held. Beginning with 1921 a nine weeks' summer 
school has been conducted, — the first year the enrolment 
being 177, and for 1924, 468. 

Soon after the school started, the Eclectic Literary 
Society was organized. This continued to meet at regu- 
lar times until the Spring of 1892, when the Oriental and 
Wahneeta societies were organized in its stead. 

Periodicals. In January, 1892, under the editorship of 
Dr. A. B. Brumbaugh, who was the agitator of the idea, 
the Juniata Echo made its first appearance. First, it was 

315 




The Library, 




The Reading Room in the Library. 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



published quarterly. It is to be regretted that no files of 
the first four volumes, presumably quarterly issues, have 
been preserved. Volume V begins as a neat monthly. 
Thus it continued to represent the ideals and sentiments 
of the college until the Fall of 1924, when it was super- 
ceded by The Juniatian, a weekly publication. The Juniata 
Bulletin began publication January, 1904. It serves a 
unique purpose. Within its covers are special reports 
and papers dealing with subjects germane to the purpose 
and hopes of the college. 

Grounds and Library. The college grounds consist of 
twenty-three acres. The library has over 30,000 volumes, 
over 3,000 of which are carefully selected texts on the 
shelves of the Reference Rooms. 

Standing. Juniata College is a member of the Associ- 
ation of Colleges and Preparatory Schools of the Middle 
States and Maryland with recognition of first class. 

Fundamentals. The Trustees, at their regular meeting, 
April 17, 1919, at a time when taking such a position 
meant almost standing alone among educational institu- 
tions, declared the position of the college as it relates to 
the Bible as follows : 



1. The Divine authority and the full and complete inspiration of 
the whole of the Old and New Testament Scriptures. 

2. The Deity of our Lord Jesus Christ. 

3. The Doctrine of the Trinity. 

4. The Fall of Man and his consequent depravity and the necessity 
of the New Birth. 

5. The sinless life of Jesus Christ, Atonement in His blood which 
was shed for sin, and His personal Resurrection. 

6. Justification by faith in our Lord Jesus Christ. 

7. Regeneration by the Holy Spirit. 

8. The Personality of the Holy Spirit and as the Divine Paraclete, 
the Comforter and Guide of all the people of God. 

9. Sanctification thru the Word and the Spirit. 

10. The Personal and Visible Return of our Lord Jesus Christ, the 
Resurrection of the Dead, and the last Judgment. 

Though the college was not founded to teach religion, 
as one of its founders expressly said in the beginning, the 
declaration of the trustees on the fundamentals indicates 
the atmosphere of real Christianity in class room and 
elsewhere, which is sought to be constantly realized. 

317 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Chapel every day is a quiet hour most uplifting, the 
students declare. 

Besides, in 1898, Jacob M. Blough, John M. Pittenger 
and Jesse B. Emmert formed a Volunteer Mission Band 
that has continued with increasing influence ever since. 
It should be noted, too, that these three have served on 
the mission field of India since they left college. The 
band has been a strong link between the college and the 
congregation through deputation work which has been 
carried on for a number of years. Since Jacob M. Blough 
sailed for India, in 1903, it has yearly raised the money for 
his support. While all the missionaries who were once 
students at Juniata have an abiding interest in the 
thought of the college and reference to them in prayer is 
often made, Jacob W. Blough, now on the India field, is 
the one direct tie that binds the institution closely to that 
part of the foreign work. 

Jesse B. Emmert was the band's first president. Others 
who followed, as far as could be ascertained, are the fol- 
lowing: 1899, Lewis Keim ; 1900, unknown; 1901, Jacob 
M. Blough, Mahlon J. Weaver and J. William Swigart ; 
1902-3; unknokn; 1904, Daniel W. Kurtz; 1905, un- 
known; 1906, Arthur J. Culler; 1907, Earl E. Eshelman ; 
1908-17, unknown; 1918-19, Linwood Geiger; 1920, 
George Griffith ; 1921-22, Dorsey Seese; 1923, Kenneth 
Bechtel ; 1924, Kenneth Bechtel and Paul Rummel. 

The Young Men's and the Young Women's Christian 
Associations each wield a healthy religious influence in 
the student body. These organizations, pleading for a 
real, practical Christianity, for a number of years have 
been meeting on Sunday evening before church. Then, 
afterwards, all attend services in the Stone Church. 

Though the announcement of the election of Martin 
Grove Brumbaugh, Ph.D., LL.D., as president, was made 
at commencement of 1924, the formal inauguration into 
office was not held until January 29, 1925. On this occa- 
sion presidents from seventeen colleges and delegated 
representatives from fourteen more, coming from Ten- 
nessee, Ohio, Virginia, Delaware, New York, Maryland, 
and every part of Pennsylvania were present to give 
honor and recognition to the occasion, — a most impos- 



ing one. 



318 




President 
Martin G. Brumbaugh 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Among other points stressed in his address, the new 
President unequivocally reaffirmed the position of the 
trustees on the Bible as his position. The entire address 
is a foregleam of what may be ex- 
pected to be Juniata's future. 

THE INAUGURAL ADDRESS 

Archbishop Lang, of York and Lancas- 
ter, in a trying hour of the World War, 
came to the United States to impress upon 
our people the necessity of this country 
joining actively with the Allies to save 
civilization — Christian civilization. It was 
my fortune to escort him from Harris- 
burg to Philadelphia. As he looked over 
our Lancaster and our York he said, " We 
propose to carry on, but we need greatly 
your help." 

Likewise for Juniata College, founded 
and fostered as a seat of Christian learn- 
ing — rich in service to God's people, I 
propose to carry on, but I need greatly 
your help. I not only need your help, but 
I earnestly solicit it to the end that we may here maintain the fine 
traditions of those pious men who have passed on and achieved by 
gradual ascent those heights which they visioned but could not attain. 

Let us consider briefly some of the salient objectives of this 
college, for it is essential that any institution dedicated to the higher 
learning should be wisely led. 

First of all, it is a Christian College — dedicated to the advancement 
of right living here and teaching that there is a hereafter of tre- 
mendous significance. This college teaches the Supremacy of God, 
the deity of Jesus, the power and presence of the Holy Spirit. It 
accepts without apology the inspiration of the Bible and teaches that 
it and it alone holds in its unfolding teachings the hope of immortal 
life, through the resurrected Christ of the world. From this ideal I 
pray we shall never depart. In this respect the College is not only 
conservative, it is immovable. We shall not only endeavor to teach 
right, but we shall insist that our pupils shall do the right. Socrates 
was assuredly justified in his rebuke to the Athenian youth when he 
said, " The boys of Athens know the right, but the boys of Sparta do 
the right." Knowledge that is not refined into conduct is a curse, 
not a blessing. Hear the words of the Teacher sent from God : 
k< Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the 
Kingdom of Heaven, but he that doeth the will of my Father which 
is in heaven." 

Moreover, to carry on in this lofty purpose it is essential that it 
remain a small college. We have no ambitious dreams or plans for 
a college of many thousands. It is perhaps prudent to declare that 
our aim in this respect is a college of about five hundred students 



319 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

We purpose to maintain close personal touch with our student body. 
We want to know these young men and women. We want to counsel 
with them. We want to enter vitally into their life purposes, and 
help develop those qualities of mind and soul that will be received 
with favor in this world and the next. 

We are not in any sense hostile to those great centers of learning, 
whose students are reckoned by the tens of thousands. We recog- 
nize the meaning of these as depositories of vital material for re- 
search work. In this age of increasingly widening educational 
demands, it is necessary to maintain graduate schools and specialized 
technical training. The vast business interests of the country call for 
this training. We shall be content if we can, year by year, forward 
to these universities those that are fitted wisely to pursue the studies 
and the research work there provided. 

Is not the time ripe to indicate that only those holding to definite 
aims should pursue the higher learning? Is it not true that special 
culture should be given only to those that wish to use it for the 
welfare of the humankind and not to those that wish to use it to 
enhance personal fortune or gratify vanity? The business of the 
college and university is to train men and women for honorable 
competition in serving society. Whatever is revealed of God to a 
student in class room, in library, in laboratory, should be given, and 
given freely, for the welfare of one's kind. The crime of scholar- 
ship in the recent war was the hoarding of scientific knowledge and 
using it to destroy, not to conserve life. Shall we not stoutly main- 
tain with Whittier that 

11 Truth to us and to others is equal and one, 
Shall we bottle up the free air or hoard up the sun ? " 

W r e also shall insist upon thorough knowledge. The function of 
the elementary school is to impart clear knowledge, which is knowing 
the thing and not some other thing for it. In the upper grades of the 
elementary school should also be taught related knowledge, which is 
knowing the thing in its relation to other things in some system or 
category of truth. In the secondary school should be stressed ana- 
lytic knowledge, which is knowing the thing in its essential parts or 
factor or elements. The function of the college and the university is 
to secure thorough, exhaustive knowledge, which is knowing the 
thing in its causes. This, and this only, is the form of knowing upon 
which all specialized knowing should rest. The student receiving the 
approval of this College must have attained the ability to distinguish 
between logically significant things and mere incidental things. To 
see the reason for things is to know in the highest way a human 
mind can know. This involves in college the retention of those only 
that possess the capacity and industry essential to the mastery of the 
things of the college curriculum. We shall not hesitate to rid our- 
selves of the student who thinks that to be in residence is to be in 
college. College is no place for loafers. They poison the air and 
vitiate the atmosphere for those that wish to breathe the clear air of 
industry and scholarship. If an education is worth anything, it is 
worth working for. It can be acquired in no other way. 

320 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



These conditions imply the sacrificing of certain things not infre- 
quently regarded as part of the experience of a student in college. 
Beyond a training for health and the acquisition of experience in 
team work, we shall not stress competitive athletics. I am heartily 
in favor of a training that promotes vigor of body and alertness of 
mind. Intra-mural athletics have not as yet been stressed as they 
can be. When, however, athletic activities interfere with sound 
scholarship, this college will have none of it. To be one of a group 
studying, reciting and playing is valuable. The essence of American 
democracy lies in the fact that we must work together, think to- 
gether, play together, pray together for the enduring of the Republic. 
A good athlete subordinates his personal comfort, his idiosyncracies, 
his willfulness, his caprice to the good of the group, which is the law 
of the country. Wisely directed play is thus an important apprentice- 
ship of the country. 

Moreover, we shall stoutly resist any dissipation of the student's 
time or energy. The business of the student is to secure in college 
all the knowledge and discipline he is capable of acquiring. What- 
ever his maximum is, that he should assuredly attain. Otherwise he 
graduates below his best. He is damaged goods, selling at a discount 
in all the markets for all times. Such would be a calamity. It is a 
matter of note that our graduates for the most part have demon- 
strated the wisdom of this set purpose of the College. We shall 
endeavor to improve the record. 

We need a reconsecration of the ideals of this Republic. War has 
shattered and broken the spiritual values that civilization slowly 
wrought through the years. We look about and see crime where we 
should see regulated and rational behavior. We are paying in this 
Republic goodly sums for education, for religion, for charity, but if 
we put into one sum all we give for these constructive and humane 
forces, — the forces for Christian civilization, — we do not even ap- 
proximate the sum we pay for the conviction and the incarceration 
of our criminals. Moreover, the pitiful fact is that 71% of all these 
criminals are under the voting age. They are the boys and the girls 
of this age. They are the potential citizenry of the next age. Surely 
we must now devote time, thought, energy to the vitally needed duty 
of lessening crime by increasing in the Republic the group that not 
only obeys the laws but gives itself heroically to the duty of con- 
straining others to obey the laws. 

After every great war arises the task of rebuilding the finer things 
of the spirit. If this be not done lawlessness runs riot. Finally 
industrial crises sweep the country. If, however, a people sense 
aright the situation, there arises a great spiritual revival. The people 
turn consciously and actively to the rehabilitation, through home and 
church and school, of the things of the Kingdom of Righteousness. 

To this constructive service Juniata definitely dedicates its complete 
resources and hopes to be counted among those agencies that stand 
in a crisis for law, — for country, — for righteousness. 

Juniata is a college of ideals, of hope, of faith. It is not as 
Emerson once characterized education, " a gesture of despair." We 
believe in the essential good of youth and in the abiding good of 
Christian culture. To the attainment of these ends I solicit most 

321 



1877 80 
78 



84- 
83- 



8] 



Beachey, J.W.,Elk Lick, Pa. 
Bechtel, Annie, Grafton, Pa. 
Beer, J. W., Huntingdon, Pa. 77.. 

Beery, William,Huntingdon,Pa. 
Blough, Perry J. , Johnstown, Pa. 
Brumbaugh, Dr.A.B. ,Hunt;,Pa. .77. 

Brumbaugh, Gaius M. ,Wash.,D.C. 
Brumbaugh, Henry B., Hunt., Pa. 77. 

Brumbaugh, J acob H., " 
Brumbaugh, John B.,. ■ 77 

Brumbaugh, Martin G.," 
Brumbaugh, S. P., James Creek, Pa. 
Buok,Amanda,. New Enterprise, Pa. 
Burkholder, Wealthy A. C. Hunt. Pa. 
Cassady, John H., Huntingdon, Pa. 
Conner, Jacob L. ,E. Coventry, Pa. 75 
Eby, Samuel, Huntingdon, Pa. 
Emmert, David, Huntingdon, Pa. 
Fike, John H., Somerset, Pa. 
Pitrwater, Jos. ,Phoenixville,Pa. 
Fogelsanger, J. M., Philadelphia. 
Poster, Frank, Philadelphia. 
Gahagen, William, Windber,Pa. 
Geiger, Mary S., Philadelphia. 
Gibbel, Henry, Lit it z, Pa. 
Grubb, Mary A., Potts town, Pa. 
Harley, John, Pottstown,Pa. 7^ 

Howe, William, Maitland,Pa. 
Howe, William M.» Johnstown, Pa. 
Holsopple, F.F., Parker Ford, Pa. 
Kendig, E.D.,Fishersville,Va. 
Kne pper , Lewis S . ,17indbe r , Pa . 
Kimmel, C .B.,Elderton,Pa. 
Koehigmacher, Edwin,Ephrata,Pa. 
Lane, James R., Cora, Pa. 
Long, W.Newton, Hagerstown,Md. 
Mentzer, A.W., Ehhrata,Pa. 
Miller, E.J., Meyersdale,Pa. 
Miller, S.J., Meyer sdale, Pa. 
Musselman, Hiram, Windber,Pa. 7$ — 

Myers, A.Allen, Huntingdon, Pa. 
Myers, J.T., Oaks, Pa. 
Newcomer, Mrs. Jennie S. ,Kagers 'n,Md, 
Oellig, Dr.C.F., Woodbury, Pa. 
Oiler, Jacob F. , Waynesboro, Pa. 
Oiler, Joseph J., " " 

Price, Benj.F., Schuylkill, Pa. 
Quinter, James, Huntingdon, Pa. 
Reiff, John C .,Yerkes,Pa. 
Replogle, Harvey S., Oaks, Pa. 
Rohrer, Bessie D. /Waynesboro, Pa. 
Ross, J.Jay, Huntingdon, Pa. 
Saylor, Jos. E. , Huntingdon, Pa. 
Sieber, Harry F. , Philadelphia, Pa. 
Stoner, Belinda, Union Bridge, Md. 
Stouffer, D.F.,Benevola,Md. 
Swayne, D.Y., Huntingdon, Pa. 
Swigart, VJ. Emmert, Huntingdon, Pa. 
Swigart, William J., " " 

Wilt, Ardie E., Altoona,Pa. 
Zuck, Jacob K., Huntingdon, Pa. 77, 



85 90 
84 



87 



39 



84. 



83 86 

86 



84. 



90 



89 



89 



-86 



■86 



84 



81 
83- 



7* 

7? 
77. 



81 



-63 



84 

84 8 



.81 

86 
80 



80 



95 00 05 10 15 20 25 



95 



98 — 01 
OC 



-92 



97 



89 



IS 



90 



63 



78- 



78. 



88 



-8(1 
92: 



39 



32 



00 



01 



11 



-C8 



C9- 



09 



98 



95 



CI 



.97 



-93 
■93 



It 
c 



J.2 



<9 



J.2 



16 



\t 



10 



20 



19 



.19 



18 



18- 



-17 



-17 



21- 



i:3 



20 



-^ 



•16 



21 



20 




14 



23 — 



Trustees and Their Term of Service 



Adams, Pkorenoe E. 
Adams, Raymond, 
Arnold, Ella, 
Bartheloir, Mary, 
Beery, William, 
Blough, Jacob M., 
Bogle, Sara C.N., 
Brumbaugh, Dr.A.B., 
Brumbaugh, Henry B. , 
Brumbaugh, I Harvey 
Brumbaugh, Jaoob H., 
Brumbaugh, John B., 
Brumbaugh, Martin G., 
Brumbaugh, Normon J., 
Buys, Peter, 
Clark, Rose, 
Cram, Robert Vinoent, 
Crowell, Joseph A.> 
Culler, Arthur J., 
Deskey, Mrs .Mary C.D., 
Dupler, Alpheus W. , 
Ellis, Charles C, 
Emraert, David, 
Evans, Lillian M. , 
Fahrney, Bertha E., 
Fogelsanger, Luella G., 
Gibbons, Helen W., 
Green, F.H., 
Grauer, Ottilie K., 
Hodges, Charles A., 
Haines, Amos H., 
Howe, Elizabeth B. , 
Holsopple, Frank F., 
Hoover, O.Perry, 
Howard Besse B. , 
Johnson, Carman C, 
Keihner, Tobert Volk, 
Kidder, J.W., 
Kurtz, Daniel W., 
Kurtz, Irene F., 
Lyon, G. W. A., 
MoKenzie, Fayette A., 
MoVey, Nellie, 
Miller, A.Brown, 
Moorehead, Paul G., 
Myers, J.Allen, 
Myers, Lois, 
Myers, Osoar R., 
Myers, Tobias T., 
Ookerman, J.E., 
Peoht, Ida M. , 
Reber, D.C., 
Reiff, J.C., 

Roberts, Mrs.Kathren F. t 
Rowland, Charles L., 
Royer, Galen B., 
Royer, Neta Ruth, 
Rupert, Edgar L. , 
Sanger, Homer F. , 
Saylor, Joseph E. , 
Shenok, M&ry c. , 
She e ley, Ella May, 
Shively, Charles S. t 
Shontz, Mrs .Mattie 
Shuss, Let tie, 
Silverthorn, Mrs .Cora B. 
Snavely, G.W., 
Stayer, J.Clyde, 
Swigart, Wm.J., 
Wampler, B.F., 
Wampler, Mrs.B.F., 
Heakley, Phebe W., 
Hardlow, Chester C, 
Van Ormer, A.Bunn, 
Yoder, J.W., 
Zuok, Jaoob M., April 17,7 



1876 1880 1885 1890 1895 1900 1905 1910 1915 1920 1925 



78 



82 



5 8. 



7 7. 



77 



76 



82_ 



80 



83. 



35 



94 



89 



S3 -E 



89 



_8£ 



85 



78. 



62 



85 



79 



_81 
83 _ 



.81 



Died 



91_ 



.97 
D.900 



94 



94. 



94 



S7. 

S4 



S5JLC1 



93 

93. 



93. 



S2 



92 



89__-92 
9> 



1900 



98. 



35 



.C4 



19. 



35 



19C0 



190C 03 



cx 



XI 



96 



97_ 
97_ 



63 _ 

S9 
1900 
01 



ay ]|C,187 9."Ovr Beljsved 



04. 



1900 



05 



06 



05 
C4- 



i: 
l 



• 07 



C3 

C8 



_D£ 



1C 



10 



12. 



11_ 
.2 5 



]] 1* 



>C 



14 



J6 



]4 



J.6 

19. 

19- 



18. 



08- 



:7. 



C8 



.01 



j;5 



14 



14 



14. 



1 



.11 



10 



10 

D9 



■16 
16 

-12 



17 



J6 



2C 



19 



J9 



-13 



1.1 20 



19. 



2>. 
20 — 



18. 



-1) 



.16 



-II 

20 

-1) 



19- 



4 > 



Foun4 



er. 



21 
it 



■21 
24 



2.1 



-24 



Instructors Who Served Three Years or More 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



earnestly the sympathy, the counsel, the help of all good people, and 
I invoke the guidance and blessing of Almighty God. With these 
strong-sided champions to help, Juniata will carry on. 



OFFICERS OF THE TRUSTEE BOARD 
(Only the years entered when a change occurs.) 



President Vice-President 

1878-1881 Henry B. Brumbaugh Daniel F. Stouffer 

1881-1884 

1884-1895 " Martin G. Brumbaugh 

1895-1909 " Jacob H. Brumbaugh 

1909-1911 

1911-1919 

1919-1920 Martin G. Brumbaugh 

1919-1920 

1921-1924 

1924- 



Secretary Treasurer 

A. B. Brumbaugh John B. Brumbaugh 

Swigart 



Wm. J 



Joseph E. Saylor 
J. Allen Myers 



Adie H 



Ressler 



Stoler B. Good 
Oscar R. Myers 



1893 
1895 
1897 
1898 
1902 
1904 
1905 
1908 



CONFERENCE ADVISORY BOARD 
(Only those years entered when a change occurs.) 

James A. Sell William Howe Andrew Bashore 

Edmund D. Book 

Thomas D. Maddocks 
Walter S. Long 
Charles L. Buck 
David A. Stayer 

" Samuel J. Swigart 

The Advisory Board was discontinued by General Conference. 



St 

a 
tt 



a 



324 



CHAPTER III 

District Missionary Work 

The first work, when the preacher was called of God to 
go forth, by need recognized only by him and not by his 
congregation or district, — where the going meant sacri- 
fice, exposure, long, lonely and tedious journeys on horse- 
back, — when the preacher paid all his expenses and gave 
all his time, — whether these faithful ones lived in Lewis- 
town (Country) congregation and went across the moun- 
tains one direction or the other, — whether they lived in 
Bedford County and pushed southward over that vast, 
hilly country, — or elsewhere making similar effort, — this 
first work is not recorded. All this early endeavor to 
establish the kingdom, lives only in the results seen in 
later years, — and with the recording angel in heaven. 

The first attempt at organized missionary effort was 
made in 1874, when the District Meeting was held in the 
Upper Codorus congregation (now part of Southern Dis- 
trict), but " the move was lost for want of agreement 
on a plan." 

Then, in 1880, at the meeting held in the Woodbury 
congregation, the fifth and last item of business recorded 
is this: "Resolved, that we still feel the importance of 
missionary work in spreading the Gospel and are not at 
all discouraged with the work that has hitherto been 
done. We, therefore, recommend the churches all to 
work, either in their individual or united capacity. And 
we appoint two brethren to respond to the work of those 
churches which shall prefer to work in a united capacity, 
leaving those churches which prefer to work in their 
individual capacity to work as they think proper. In 
defraying expenses, those churches which work in a con- 
solidated capacity shall pay the expenses of their work, 
and all those who work in an individual capacity, shall 
pay the expenses of their work." 

Thus missionary endeavor in the district was taking 
form and with it a sharing of the burden of expense. 

325 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



"James A. Sell and John M. Mohler were elected mis- 
sionaries for one year " to work under this plan. 

It should be noted that this organization, crude though 
it may appear now, antedates the conference plan of 1884, 
which is the foundation of the present General Mission 
Board's activities. 

In 1885, the Altoona congregation asked that the Glen 
Hope Mission be recommended to the General Mission 
Board. This was granted. 

Then, in 1886, the present plan for organized mission- 
ary endeavor in the district was adopted. The district 
meeting was held at New Enterprise. And among other 
items of business, some time early enough to have a com- 
mittee prepare a report for the meeting, this query was 
presented from the Huntingdon congregation: 

" Whereas, there is at this time no missionary 
organization in the Middle District of Pennsyl- 
vania for missionary work in this District, or in 
places adjacent, should any calls be made for 
preaching by the Brethren ; therefore, Resolved, 
that the Huntingdon Church ask the coming 
District Meeting to re-organize a Missionary 
Board, to further home missionary work, or mis- 
sionary work within our District/' 

This request was granted, and James Quinter, Jacob 
F. Oiler and James A. Sell " were a committee appointed 
to draft a plan." At a later stage of the meeting they sub- 
mitted the following: 

1. That a committee of live brethren be appointed by the District 
Meeting to constitute a missionary board, and that they be taken 
from churches sufficiently near together to save them from going a 
great distance to meet for consultation. The committee shall con- 
tinue one year. 

2. The object of the committee shall be to take into consideration 
the wants of weak churches, or churches that need ministerial help, 
and to respond to calls to preach the Gospel in the new fields in 
which there are favorable openings. 

3. And said committee shall elect its officers, which shall be moder- 
ator, clerk, and treasurer, and shall, as often as necessary to carry 
on its work successfully, hold meetings. 

4. That each church adopt some plan to co-operate with the fore- 
going board. 

5. In regard to collecting funds, we recommend that the Mission- 

326 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

ary Board above named appoint a solicitor, or solicitors, in each 
church to collect for meeting the expenses of the work done. Said 
funds to be forwarded to the treasurer. 

6. Said committee shall select such brethren to do the missionary 
work as it shall judge suitable to the work, and who are sound in 
faith and practice. And such a remuneration shall be given them as 
will defray their traveling expenses and give them a reasonable 
compensation for their time. 

The committee elected for one year, with its organiza- 
tion, was as follows: Seth P. Myers, Moderator; John B. 
Brumbaugh, secretary ; Andrew Bashore, treasurer ; Dan- 
iel Landis and William Howe. 

The following year (1887) S»eth F. Myers, the moder- 
ator, made this report : " On account of the peculiar cir- 
cumstances in which the board was placed, not much 
work was done." He further said : " There was a good 
balance in the treasury and that the prospect for doing 
more during the present year was encouraging." 

The board had been appointed only for one year, and 
so the following was adopted by the meeting: 

" In view of the fact that the term of office of those 
appointed at the organization of the Mission Board, at 
last District Meeting, expired one year from date, and it 
being the desire of the district to continue the work, 
therefore, be it Resolved, that the officers of the present 
board, J. B. Brumbaugh, secretary, and Andrew Bashore, 
treasurer, be continued one year, and Seth F. Myers, 
chairman, two years, as members, and the other two 
vacancies be filled by electing two brethren who shall 
serve for a term of three years, and that all their succes- 
sors hereafter be elected for a term of three years. The 
two members elected were James A. Sell and Samuel 
G. Rupert." 

The Board had no report to make that year, but James 
A. Sell, " a member of the Board, reported several meet- 
ings held by himself, being in the field about three weeks 
at a cost of $30.00." 

But the next year (1889), a well prepared report was 
submitted : 

1. We had one meeting of the Board, at which time we arranged 
to hold meetings at nine different places. 

2. The returns from those entrusted with the work show that only 
four fields were occupied. One in Bedford, one in Huntingdon, one 
in Perry, and one in Blair County. 

327 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

3. Three dollars' worth of tracts were distributed. 

4. No fruits by way of accessions are reported. 

5. The expenses, incidental and otherwise, were $68.40. 

6. The contributions from all sources during the year were $86.64. 

7. Number of churches that contributed, nine. 

8. The largest amount contributed by one church, $28.43. The 
lowest, $1.50. Number that did not contribute, nineteen. 

9. Brother S. S. Gray, and Sister Miriam, his wife, donated to our 
mission work a house and lot worth $800 to $1,000.00, more or less. 

The summary shows thirty-six meetings held ; cash on 
hand, $200.00. A vote of thanks to Brother Gray for the 
house and lot was tendered him, and in accord with his 
wishes the property was to be sold and the proceeds used 
in mission work. 

At the time of the division of the District (1892) a 
motion prevailed " to divide the funds now in the hands 
of the District Mission Board, by the Treasurer, in the 
proportion as contributed by the different churches." 

Without giving any explanation, the minutes show 
that the membership of the Board was reduced from five 
to three. 

No statement of receipts were made that year. " There 
was an opening made during the year at Williamsport, 
Bellefonte, and Renover, and five were added to the 
church. The work at this point has been neglected on 
account of not being able to secure the services of a 
suitable brother to labor there. " 

In 1913, through a petition from Huntingdon congre- 
gation, the Mission Board was increased from three to 
five. At this same meeting the bishops of the district 
appointed Brice Sell, Tobias T. Myers and Levi Hol- 
sin^er a committee " whose duty it will be to visit our 
various mission points, and in connection with the Mis- 
sion Board, encourage the electing of ministers from their 
respective congregations. " 

While the foregoing relates, to some extent, to the 
work done in an organized way, endeavor made by indi- 
viduals, even after there was a missionary board, — such 
as has been done by John Bennett, at "Flintstone and 
elsewhere in that large field, by Joseph W. Wilt and 
Martin S. Henry at Riggles Gap and other points, it is 
impossible to reduce to adequate record. In fact, going 
back through the years, every new opening which later 

328 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



developed into an organized congregation had at its be- 
ginning one or more earnest Christians who made sacri- 
fice that the work might grow. Much of what is now the 
Church of the Brethren in the Middle District of Penn- 
sylvania, is due to the same spirit that prompts mission- 
ary Boards, a following up of individual effort. 

In addition to preaching at missionary points, the dis- 
trict has helped to build the following church houses: 
first building in Altoona, Bellwood, Tyrone, Riddlesburg, 
Stonerstown, and Hollidaysburg. 

A general idea of what the District has been doing 
through its Missionary Board may be seen in the follow- 
ing table of endeavor through the years : 

DISTRICT MISSIONARY ENDEAVOR 







Expendi- 






Year 


Receipts 


tures 


Places'where work' 


[was done. 


1887 


"Not muc 


h work done" 1 . . . . Good balance 


in the treasury." 


1888 




$30.00 


"James A. Sell held revival meetings." 


1889 




62.40 


Bedford, Huntingdon, Perry and Blair Cos. 


1890 






No report recorded. 




1891 


$150.89 


73.81 


No report recorded. 




1892 




86.49 


Williamsport, Bellefonte, etc. 


1893 


142.78 


126.18 


"Four places under the 


Board." 


1894 






No report recorded. 




1895 


551.90 




Tyrone and Bellwood. 




1895 


$1303.58 


$1278.58 


Whole amount received 


and expended from August 23, 








1892 to May 1, 1895. 




1896 


$530.82 




Tyrone, Bellwood, Stonerstown, Buck Valley 


1897 


452.39 




<< << 


ii 


1898 


391.26 




No report recorded. 




1899 


535.83 




a ti a 




1900 


704.28 


727.73 


Tyrone, Bellwood, Stonerstown 


1901 


632.44 


649.57 


Partial support is reported thus: Bellwood $200.00, 








Tyrone $300.00. 




1902 


869.88 


716.82 


Tyrone, Bellwood, Stonerstown 


1903 


650.92 


710.53 


(< << 


it 


1904 


599.73 


555 . 23 


a a 


i< 


1905 


653.74 


625.21 


i t (( 


ii 


1906 


710.94 


627.78 


ti c< 

ley, Ray's Cove 


; Clear Ridge, Buck Val- 


1907 


651.63 


566.38 


Tyrone, Stonerstown, Riddlesburg, Bellwood 


1908 


787.14 


1048.63 


(< << 


[burg 


1909 


773.26 


773.26 


(t ii 


, Hollidays- 


1910 


580.17 


532.27 


ii it 


ti ii ii 


1911 


569.00 


621.41 


it (< 


ii it ii 


1912 


611.84 


654.95 


<< it 


i t ti ti 


1913 


731.38 


764.02 


it ii 


ii it 


1914 


701.56 


634.94 


(< (« 


ii ii 


1915 


821.70 


733.95 


(< (< 


[burg 


1916 


1130.56 


985.40 


it Ii 


, Hollidays- 


1917 


1407.72 


1284.31 


(< t i 


ti «« ii 


1918 


1599.82 


1154.82 


ii ii 


ii ii ti 


1919 


2192.86 


1700.89 


ii ii 


ti ii it 


1920 


2180.49 


1238.13 


ii ii 


ti << ii 

Also Warriors' Mark 


1921 


3489.46 


1928.19 


ti ti 


" Hollidaysb-'g 


1922 


2848.34 


2109.11 


ti ii 


ii a it 


1923 


3592.21 


3349.05 


ii ii 


ii it ii 


1924 


3844.84 


2277.16 


ii ii 


ii i< ii 



329 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



o 

I— I 

> 

w 

co 



0> - 




js o> 




o §• 




w tf 




.2 3 




= a 











■- 






'~ 






to 


Ut 




s 


4) 


— 


• — 

r. 


- 


— 
0> 


o 


- 


s 
c 


w. . 


• 




« " HH 


en 
0> 


c 

— 
z 


a 


Char 



o 

CO 

w 

Q 



T7 


u 


CC/i 


c3 




hJ 


<< 


0> 


4) 


3 
eg 

Q 


a 





be 




3 


:- 


eg 


3 


a 


to 


3 




s- 


O 


ca 


hC^ I 2 


• 


« 


W 


t« 




V 


5 


t/3 

o 


£ 


a 



0) 






> 

eg 

Q 



Q 

< 

O 

PQ 

X 

o 

co 

CO 



H 
O 

l-H 

H 

CO 





— 
oa 

3 
<5 



to 

3 
90 

-a 

a 

3 

PQ" 



to 

3 



- 
- 



01 



o> 

— 



P2 
3 
O 



W n 

o 



a 
-3 
o 



to 

- 

~ 

3 
- . 

PQ" 

pq 

3 

-= 

o 

1-5 





■r. 




. t-, 


CJ 




V 


- 




' — 


T3 




cs 


T3 




+J 


3d 




Q 


S. 


>* •* •* 




' pq 




T3 


0> 










> 


3 




eS 


oi 




ft 


Q 




- 






to 




o> 


- 

u 


h 


to 



a 
- 


-3 


o> 


tfi 


>i 


In 


C3 


Qt 


U « ■» » 


.. .. .,_> 


m 


a- - - 


* " tfJ 






.J* 3 


: ^ < 


02 


Ph 


>> 


3 


3 


e8 


C 

»-5 


O 
i-s 


w 



CO 
S 



- 



V2 

— 



o> 
r. 



- 
o> 

- 



fa: : — 



O 
U 

- 

CO 



u 

3 

s 

- 

(X! 



■/■- 
- 
- 



CJ 

■— 
O 



r. 

U 



j: 



■~ 

■~ 
z 



to 



§ 

C/3 . 



o 

= 



: : S : 



- 









3 

0) 

i—i 
eS 

o 



®t-MOiOHi>l8C'*«>©l»XaOHi»9;'}i«5t6t*XC!OH9(«'t«5«>!01>XttOH9»«'J l 

xxxxao)ffiOffi»®oao!OOOoooooooHHHHHHHHrHrHH(S((j)«8(oi 

CCOO«OOOOOOOOOOCX)OOGOQOXGCOiC50:C505050010SOiCiC10iCi050:050SOi050iOiOiOiOi05 



330 



CHAPTER IV 

Sunday-Schools 

" It seems quite certain that to the Church of the 
Brethren belongs the honor of introducing Sunday- 
schools into the United States. * However, when they 
scattered into the wilderness and had no places of wor- 
ship except their own small houses, the holding of 
Sunday-schools was not attempted. 

" This continued throughout several generations at a 
time, when there were no schools and most of the people 
grew to man and womanhood illiterate. 

" Then, too, our people made themselves unpopular and 
the butt of derision on account of their opposition to war, 
slavery and the distilling, trafficking and drinking of in- 
toxicating liquor. This caused them to look with sus- 
picion upon all advanced movements and avoid and 
frequently oppose them. This was true of education and 
Sunday-schools. Such was the irony of fate that the 
same church that introduced Sunday-schools did in a 
generation or two afterward oppose them. 

" However, while this was general it was not universal. 
There alw r ays was some sentiment in favor of advance- 
ment. This continued to grow and began to assert itself 
about the middle of the nineteenth century. 

" At first the opposition was so strong that they could 
not be held in the meeting houses, and a minister could 
make himself decidedly unpopular in some localities if he 
advocated the introduction of Sunday-schools/' — James 
A. Sell. 

While the Annual Meeting of 1839, Article 10, "con- 
sidered most advisable to take no part in the Sunday- 
schools, class meetings, and the like," a few years before 
any Sunday-school was started in Middle District she 
placed herself (1857) on the right side of the issue in the 
following: Article 11. "How is it considered for breth- 
ren to have Sabbath-schools conducted by the Brethren? 



* Brumbaugh's History of the Brethren, p. 464. 

331 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Answer : Inasmuch as we are commanded to bring up our 
children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord, we 
know of no Scripture which condemns Sabbath-schools, 
if conducted in gospel order, and if they are made the 
means of teaching scholars a knowledge of the Scrip- 
tures." This action " was readopted," (1862, Art. 1) and 
in Article 31, same year, she plainly declared, "We con- 
sider it right to have Sunday-schools, if conducted by 
the brethren." 

Six years later (Art. 14, 1868), "We advise, that, 
where the nature of the case will admit of it, for brethren 
to hold Sabbath-schools, and such school should be 
opened by singing and prayer and closed by singing and 
prayer, as it may be thought proper, and they should be 
superintended by brethren. And we advise the brethren 
to be very careful in introducing books, to introduce none 
that inculcate doctrines contrary to the gospel." Thus, 
in 1870, she considered "it not wrong' to hold Sunday- 
schools in the churches. The following year, when pe- 
titioned " to recall the privilege granted to establish 
Sunday-schools," she answers : " We do not recall the 
above privilege, but where the establishing of Sunday- 
schools would cause trouble or division, brethren had 
better desist from introducing them." 

The Christian Family Companion * shows clearly the 
struggle that the Sunday-school had to gain the recogni- 
tion it justly deserved. Perhaps a few churches east and 
west had Sunday-school and kept quiet about it. Any- 
how, under the guise of " Bible Classes," as early as 1860, 
Plum Creek (W. Pa.) began Sunday-school. The Sams 
Creek house, in " Pipe Creek branch," started a Sunday- 
school in 1865.f The Philadelphia Church dates earlier. 
Dry Valley, in our own district, began Sunday-school, 
though not under the supervision of the congregation, as 
early as 1860. 

The Christian Family Companion represents some very 
interesting features of Sunday-school development. 
Though the publication began in January, nothing is said 
in its columns till June 20 issue, when Samuel A. Moore 

* The first weekly publication of the church, begun January 1, 1865, edited and 
published by Henry R. Holsinger, at Tyrone, (Pa.) was conducted as an open 
rostrum. 

t Ibid., July 25, 1865, p. 230. 

332 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

reported the organization of the Clover Creek school.* 
" How much better," the writer argued, " do all Christian 
parents feel when they know that their nearest, as well 
as their dearest, offspring are engaged in a work that will 
aid them in their eternal happiness. ... Be it under- 
stood, we have no union school, ' not with other denomi- 
nations/ but union among ourselves, altogether German 
Baptists." 

This report from Clover Creek stirred up A. P. Fahr- 
ney, of Polo, Illinois, who wrote vigorously against the 
inroad.f He " lived in that arm (Clover Creek) of the 
church," was " personally acquainted with nearly all the 
brethren and sisters in that church," and declared he 
" had too much confidence in them to believe that they 
would ever consent to allow the ' wolf " to come into 
their flock." He prepared to " look into this matter a 
little deeper," ... and see if it is not quite the reverse ' 
of what Samuel A. Moore said " Having myself attended 
Sunday-school when I was a boy, I have reason to believe 
that it is one of the grand means of bringing up our children 
in the pride of life, etc., and no sober-minded man of any 
experience will deny this fact. . . . This institution is cer- 
tainly very highly esteemed among men, ... It equally 
meets the approbation of the so-called professors and 
non-professors of religion and is looked upon as a 
heaven-ordained institution, and this alone should teach 
us that it is an abomination with God. How can you more 
easily insult some people than to disapprove of their 
Sunday-schools." 

George S. Myers,J of Lewistown, later in life a most 
ardent supporter, was " well pleased with the manner ' in 
which the Clover Creek school is reported to have been 
conducted, especially " that there shall be no union with 
other denominations. . . . When I see brethren's minds 
so completely absorbed with the subject of Sabbath- 
schools that they will forsake the assembling of them- 
selves together at the regular meetings, to attend schools 
conducted (in part at least) by those who do not obey 
the Gospel, I cannot but conclude that their zeal is not 
according to knowledge, etc. . . . One very great objec- 

* See Clover Creek. 

t Ibid. j July 4 issue, page 207. 

X Ibid., July 11, 1865, p. 212. 

333 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



tion I have to Sabbath-schools is the predominance of a 
class of books in their libraries for which I can find no 
better name than religious novels. . . . Another, (in 
many places) is the blighting influences of evil surround- 
ings to which children are subjected on their way to and 
from school." 

From the same congregation as the former writer 
comes the voice of George Hanawalt,* in which he points 
out the Biblical ground for teaching children the Bible in 
Sunday-school, stressing " religious education of the ris- 
ing generation," pointing out vividly that the Sunday- 
school is the " principal engine in proselyting their neigh- 
bors to their various faiths/' and showing that " in all 
ages of the church it has been necessary for the people of 
God to remonstrate against error . . . and common sense 
would dictate, if nothing else, that the brethren should 
give it their attention or they will lack their reasonable 
share of proselytes. " 

Not until nine months of publication of his paper had 
slipped by did that leader of righteous reform in those 
early days, Henry R. Holsinger, speak f with the finest 
moderation on the Sunday-school question. He makes 
fifteen observations that set forth conditions in his day 
and then proceeds to point out seven features of " what a 
Sunday-school, such as we advocate, should be/' 

Later J Samuel B. Furry, of New Enterprise, after 
having " the good fortune, by the permission of God, to 
visit the Sunday-school in the Clover Creek congrega- 
tion," says, among a number of good things, " it shows 
that at least the majority of the brethren make an effort 
to have their children, as well as their neighbor children, 
brought up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord, 
. . . and bring their religious influences to bear more 
directly upon their neighbors' children, thus forming a 
religious society of young men and women." 

Next year (March 6, 1866) the same writer from New 
Enterprise pointed out " the evils and defects which 
mostly adhere to these schools," as follows: (1) The 
memory is too much burdened with the retention of 



* Ibid., Sept. 5, 1865, p. 276. 
t Ibid., Sept. 26, 1865, p. 301. 
X Ibid., October 17, p. 324. 

334 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



words, or committing to memory without a proper com- 
prehension of what is committed instead of exercising the 
rational faculty by illustrating facts simplified. (2) Re- 
ligious instruction is too much confined to only a few 
objects confined within the compass of Divine Revela- 
tion. (3) Discussions on systematic theology, too often 
take the place of moral instruction addressed to the affec- 
tions and the conscience. (4) Catechisms, and other 
human traditions, are too frequently made use of, instead 
of instructing directly from the Scriptures. (5) Many of 
the instructors, however pious and well intended, are de- 
ficient in simplifying knowledge, in order to convey clear 
conceptions of every portion of knowledge they wish to 
inculcate into the juvenile mind." 

The great caution with which our brethren moved in 
accepting the Sunday-school is finely pointed out in Dan- 
iel Snowberger's contributions.* It must be remembered 
that he was the first superintendent of the New Enter- 
prise school and a leader in many ways in this departure. 
" My object," he says, " in taking part in organizing a 
Sunday-school in this place was to encourage our youth 
to read and study the Scriptures, and to acquaint them- 
selves with the doctrines taught therein ; and, upon ma- 
ture reflection, I have come to the conclusion that the 
Bible and New Testament are the best Sunday-school 
books that we could get, and that no other books should 
be used, except hymn books to sing from and spelling 
books for those who cannot read." Hence he " can see 
no necessity for publishing books " to meet the needs of 
the Sunday-school, as the editor himself had advocated. 
He would impose upon the " parent or guardian " to 
supply " such reading matter as he sees proper, for to 
read at home, but let the best of all books be used in our 
Sunday-schools." 

But in spite of the conservatism manifested in the fore- 
going, Sunday-schools multiplied in the district, and the 
first convention perhaps in the brotherhood, — at least in 
the district, was gladly entertained in the congregation 
whose sons have meant so much to Sunday-school work, 
to education, to the districts and to the Brotherhood. But 
let the report speak for itself : 



* Christian Family Companion, 18G8, July 28, p. 26G. 

335 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL CONVENTION 

According to announcement in the Pilgrim, a Sunday-school Con- 
vention by the Brethren for the Middle District of Pennsylvania was 
held at James Creek, Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania, October 
21, 1876. 

Meeting was called to order by Brother George Brumbaugh, after 
which Brother John Spanogle was appointed Moderator; Brother 
H. B. Brumbaugh, clerk; and Brother J. M. Mohler, secretary. 

Brother John Spanogle then addressed the meeting, and explained 
the object of a Sunday-school Convention. 

The Clerk then read a list of Sunday-school Districts and their 
delegates as follows : 

Lewistown, J. M. Mohler, Albert Steinberger ; Spring Run, M. F. 
H. Kinsel, R. T. Myers; Aughwick, John Spanogle, James Lane; 
James Creek, Robert Mason; Bethel, Benjamin Brumbaugh; Manor 
Hill, Archie Van Dyke; New Enterprise, Daniel Snowberger, Jacob 
Furry ; Waterside, George Brumbaugh, Isaac Replogle ; Lamersville, 
not represented ; Huntingdon, J. M. Zuck, J. B. Brumbaugh ; Clover 
Creek, not represented ; Cross Roads, not represented. 

The delegates then reported (which reports appear in connection 
with each Sunday-school under the name of its congregation). 

It was moved that a committee be appointed to draft a form of 
resolutions and queries to be subject to the adoption, amendment, or 
disapproval of the convention. Brethren Daniel Snowberger, J. M. 
Zuck, H. B. Brumbaugh and J. M. Mohler were appointed. Meet- 
ing then adjourned, for refreshments, by singing a hymn. 

Afternoon Session 

The meeting was called to order by the Moderator. Hymn was 
sung. Report of Committee called for. Read by the Clerk. Sub- 
ject to amendment, adoption, or disapproval by the convention. 

Resolutions passed for the government of the Brethren Sabbath- 
school : 

First. Resolved, That we, as teachers, qualify ourselves so as to 
be able to defend the doctrine of the Bible in its purity, against all 
opposition. Second, That we, as members of the Brethren Church, 
take no part in picnics, celebration, church festivals, nor anything of 
that nature. Third, That we teach, when called in question, the 
characteristics of the Christian, viz. : humility, non-resistance, gentle- 
ness of spirit, innocency and plainness of character both in manners 
and dress. Fourth, That we instruct our delegates to use their in- 
fluence to have our Sunday-schools conducted by members of the 
German Baptist Church as far as possible; if not members enough 
for teachers, others who are friendly to the doctrine of Christ. 
Fifth, That we instruct our delegates to use their influence against 
libraries. Sixth, That inasmuch as the lesson leaves published by the 
different denominations do not fully meet our views and wants. 

Therefore, This meeting agrees to appoint one or more brethren to 
prepare lessons for the Sunday-school, to be published in the Young 
Disciple, or separately if the demand will justify it. 

The convention then appointed the following named as a com- 

336 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



mittee : Brethren H. B. Brumbaugh, James Quinter, J. M. Zuck, and 
J. B. Brumbaugh. 

Query 1 — Is it considered expedient to give liberty to persons not 
members of the Church of the Brethren to deliver an address? 
Answer — We think it should be left to the discretion of the Super- 
intendent in charge. 

Query 2 — Are the Lesson Leaves now in use in the Sabbath 
Schools beneficial? Tabled. 

Query 3 — Would it be best to adopt a uniform or fixed plan for 
conducting our Sunday-schools ? Answer — We think it would as far 
as circumstances will admit. 

Query 4 — What kind of hymns should be used by the Brethren in 
the Sunday-school? Brother A. B. Brumbaugh recommended the 
Centennial edition of the Service of Song. Brother Henry Harsh- 
berger opposed the introduction of any songster; favors the use of 
the Brethren's Hymn Book. Brother John Spanogle thinks our 
Hymn Book not suitable for Sabbath-schools, but advised the breth- 
ren to get up a collection of music. Brethren Daniel Snowberger, 
Abraham Myers, Michael Kinsel, James R. Lane, J. M. Zuck, and 
H. B. Brumbaugh thought it good to make a selection of music. 

Convention then agreed to defer the matter for the present, with 
a view of getting up a book of our own. 

Query 5 — How can we best secure the attendance of parents and 
scholars to the Sabbath-school? This subject was quite freely dis- 
cussed by the following brethren : Albert Steinberger, J. M. Zuck, 
John Spanogle, Daniel Snowberger, Archy Van Dyke, James Lane 
and J. B. Brumbaugh. 

Query answered in the following manner : First, Ministers should 
feel deeply interested in the youth, believing that the future good of 
the church very greatly rests upon them. Hence the necessity of 
being well prepared. Second, That parents, as well as ministers, take 
no active part in the Sunday-school, by gathering their children to- 
gether and taking them to place of meeting. Third, That the breth- 
ren and sisters pay special visits to families in the community in 
which the Sabbath-school is held, and all children who absent them- 
selves on account of poverty, said brethren and sisters are to supply 
all that is necessary for their admittance, etc. 

Resolved, That the proceedings of this meeting be sent for publica- 
tion in our periodicals. 

Having no more business, the Convention adjourned by singing 
and prayer. 

H. B. Brumbaugh, Clerk. 
John M. Mohler, Secretary. 

No record has been found indicating a convention was 
held in 1877, but one interested in the development of 
the Sunday-school will be glad for the account of the 
1878 convention which follows: 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL CONVENTION 
Middle District, Pennsylvania 
Pursuant to call in the P. C. (Primitive Christian), No. 39, to hold 

337 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



a Sunday-school Convention, delegates and others met at the Spring 
Run meeting house, Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, on Tuesday 
evening at 6 o'clock, October 15th, 1878, Brother M. F. Kinsel, chair- 
man of Committee Arrangements, presiding. After devotional exer- 
cises, Brother John Spanogle was elected Moderator, Brother S. W. 
Bollinger, trans-secretary, and Brother W. J. Swigart, corresponding 
secretary; after which the following resolution was adopted: 

Resolved, That the presiding officer of this body be termed " The 
Moderator," and that all speakers on rising address him as " Brother 
Moderator." 

A brief and befitting opening address was delivered by Brother 
George H. Swigart, and reciprocated by the Convention. 

General business being in order, it was decided that delegates only 
should vote. That where but one delegate is sent, he has the liberty 
to choose a colleague; that when one or two brethren are present 
from a Sunday-school whence no delegates have been sent, they may 
be considered delegates. A call was made for delegates to report, 
with the following response : 

Altoona, letter by G. W. Kephart; Aultz Union, Dun- 
mere, J. C. Swigart; Bethel, R. A. Zook, Samuel Brumbaugh; 
Buffalo Valley, Isaac Heddings, P. H. Beaver; Clover Creek, Samuel 
Furry; Carson Valley, name sent by J. A. Sell, but no report; Dry 
Valley, Albert Stineberger, Samuel Reichard; Duncansville, letter 
by J. A. Sell; Germany Valley (Union), John E. Garver, G. S. Van 
Dyke; Hill Valley, W. L. Spanogle, Harry Smelker; Huntingdon, 
Ella Brumbaugh, W. J. Swigart; James Creek, Robert Mason, 
George Brumbaugh; Lamersville, letter by J. A. Sell; Spring Run, 
M. F. H. Kinsel, J. A. Rush; Snyder, letter reported sent, but was 
not received by Secretary; Woodbury, Levi B. Replogle, Michael 
Bechtel; Waterside, Jacob Furry, Joseph Z. Replogle; Warriors 
Mark, Dr. Myers, S. S. Gray. 

Wednesday Morning 

Convention opened at 9 A. M. with singing and prayer, after which 
the following subjects were regularly taken up: "Utility of Sabbath- 
schools " was opened by J. E. Garver and fully discussed by several 
members. 

" Best methods of obtaining attendance in Sabbath-schools," J. 
Furry. This subject was discussed by several brethren. 

" What are the best methods of instructing children ? " opened by 
a paper read by R. A. Zook, and discussed by the convention. 

" Should history be taken as authority in teaching Bible lessons ? ' 
Opened by S. S. Gray. 

"What should be the qualifications of Sunday-school teachers?" 
Opened by a report submitted by W. L. Spanogle, and was discussed 
by the convention. 

Adjourned. 

Afternoon Session 

Afternoon session opened at 2 o'clock, in order. After the reading 
of the minutes of the forenoon session, the subject, "What should be 

338 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



the qualifications of a Sunday-school teacher?" was resumed and 
further discussed. 

The referred question, "What are the benefits of Sabbath-school 
convention," was answered by J. Quinter. 

The " Children's Meeting," in the absence of J. M. Mohler and J. 
A. Sell, was conducted by J. Quinter and Albert Stinebarger. 

Brother Samuel B. Furry read an interesting and instructive paper 
on tfie subject, " How can Bible classes be taught most successfully? " 

"What should be considered a reasonable excuse for teachers or 
officer absenting themselves from the Sabbath-school ? " was referred 
to M. F. H. Kinsel. Brother Kinsel thought sickness or accident 
were all that should keep one away, and that in all cases of absences 
substitutes should be furnished. 

The following committee was appointed by the chair to draw up 
resolutions expressing the sense of the Convention on the various 
subjects that had been before it: R. A. Zook, W. L. Spanogle and 
W. J. Swigart. 

Upon the whole the audience was large, the order very good, the 
subjects ably handled, and a pleasant feeling prevailed. 

Adjourned to meet at 6 1/2 o'clock, Wednesday evening. 

Evening Session 

Convention opened at 6 1/2 P. M. After the reading of the min- 
utes of the afternoon, the following committee was appointed to 
arrange for the next convention, viz. : 

W. J. Swigart, John M. Mohler, Samuel B. Furry, Harry S. 
Smelker, James A. Sell, M. F. H. Kinsel and I. S. Reddings (The 
last names of committee were since added). 

W. J. Swigart read a paper on the proposition, "For what are 
church members, and especially parents, responsible with reference 
to the Sunday-school." The convention ordered a copy to be sub- 
mitted to the editors of the P. C. for publication. 

" Would it not be better to designate our Sunday-school repre- 
sentatives as ' Messengers ' ; the term ' Delegate ' being offensive to 
many of our brethren ? " Opened by P. H. Beaver. Decided by 
convention that they may be so called. 

The following subjects were referred to the convention: 

" What are the uses and workings of Atwater's Sunday-school 
government?" and 'What is the propriety or advantage of the les- 
son leaves?" discussed by brethren. The subjects elicited consider- 
able discussion. Where Atwater's Sunday-school government had 
been used it was considered useful. The propriety of the "Lesson 
Leaves' was discussed pro and con, and the majority were un- 
favorable to their use. 

The chairman of the committee read the following resolutions, 
which were adopted by the convention, viz. : 

Resolved, That we more than ever are convinced of the "Utility 
of Sabbath-schools." 

Resolved, That in order to induce regular attendance on the part 
of the pupils, we feel the importance of making the Sunday-school 
interesting and attractive, and urge the regular attendance of parents 
and teachers. 

339 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Resolved, That we feel more than ever the necessity of adopting 
the hest methods of instruction and training the children of our 
Sunday-school. 

Resolved, That history should be used discreetly in the Sunday- 
schools. 

Resolved, That the qualifications of the Sunday-school teacher are 
first of all a good Christian character, a zealous and discreet desire 
to do good, and then a prayerful preparation. 

Resolved, That we receive the sentiment expressed in the paper 
read by Brother S. B. Furry as profitable admonition in conducting 
Bible classes. 

Resolved, That we sensibly feel the importance of Sunday-school 
Conventions. 

Resolved, That we feel to urge upon the general Brotherhood, and 
especially the Churches of the Middle District of Pennsylvania, the 
necessity of Sunday-school organization, and a representative of 
those schools in future Conventions. 

Resolved, That although we highly appreciate the labors of these 
zealous workers that are with us, we also express our regret that 
some of our brethren to whom duties were assigned, could not be 
present. 

Resolved, That parents and church members are solely responsible 
for the success of the Sunday-school. 

Resolved, That the thanks of the Convention are tendered to the 
brethren of " Spring Run " church for their kind hospitality and 
ample entertainment. 

Resolved, That a copy of the minutes, as read, be submitted to the 
editors of the P. C. for publication. 

Closed by singing and prayer. 

Adjourned sine die. 

John SpanoglE, Moderator, Hill Valley, Pennsylvania. 
S. W. Bollinger, Transcribing Secretary, McVeytown, Pa. 
W. J. Swigart, Corresponding Secretary, Huntingdon, Pa. 

While Middle District of Pennsylvania was, with a few 
other districts, forging ahead in the Sunday-school work 
it is helpful to note the favorable attitude which General 
Conference took during these times in spite of strong 
pressure against the Sunday-school in some sections of 
the Brotherhood. 

In 1880, when a long protest covering a number of 
issues came up from Southern District of Ohio, in which 
the petitioners state, relating to ounaay-schoois, that 
they are " more ot Human origin than by command of 
Christ or His apostles, and hence are more of a worldly 
custom than a Gospel principle or authority, . . . were 
never sanctioned by Annual Meeting, in the way many 
are and will be conducted,'' and that Ephesians 8 : 4 is a 
command " given to parents, and not to others," the Con- 

340 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



ference (Sec. 2, 1880) decided that " Sabbath-schools, 
when held in the spirit of the Gospel, may be made a 
means of bringing up our children in the ' nurture and 
admonition of the Lord/ " 

Again, while the action of Conference in 1882 (Art. 22) 
put an end to conventions, she did not change her favor- 
able attitude to the Sunday-school itself, as seen in the 
following : ' Answer : However much we are in favor of 
Sunday-schools and believe they are promotive of good and 
enhance the cause of Christianity (italics by the Editor), 
yet the Annual Meeting cannot allow the unnecessary ap- 
pendage of Sunday-school conventions which follow the 
course of popular Christianity and are contrary to the 
principles of the Gospel and contrary to the Scriptures. 
See Romans 12 : 2." 

The foregoing evidently stopped conventions for a 
decade or more, but it did not keep the leaders of Middle 
Pennsylvania from studying the question. The Minutes 
of the District Meeting of April 18, 1894, give a report 
of the Sunday-schools for 1893, of which the following is 
the most important part : (Number shows average attend- 
ance) Roaring Springs, 61 ; Woodbury, 103, gave $4.49 to 
India missions; Altoona, 137; Raven Run, 50, gave $4.58 
to India missions; Koonz, 88; Everett, 40; Leamersville, 
51, gave $3.00 to India missions; New Enterprise, 150; 
Warriors Mark, 58; Huntingdon, 85. 

The foregoing were the schools reported. Sentiment 
was aroused and the next year thirty-three schools were 
represented, though the clerk indicates that some of the 
reports " were given at random." For that reason space 
is not given to the report here. 

But conventions could not be kept down in Middle 
Pennsylvania by General Conference decisions, for, in 
1898, the " Minutes of the Sunday-school Meeting of the 
Central District of Pennsylvania, held in the College 
Chapel at Huntingdon, September 8 and 9," supplied by 
the then Field Secretary, Walter S. Long, are of more 
than ordinary interest. The excerpts from the addresses 
are indicative of splendid vision for those days, but this 
record must be content with the program. William J. 
Swigart called the meeting to order; Walter S. Long 
conducted the devotional exercises ; the " minutes of the 

341 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

former meeting were read and approved ' (But where are 
those minutes now? — Ed.) Tellers, A. T. Kockendarfer, 
I. J. Long and Lottie Replogle, and the meeting pro- 
ceeded to organize, first by the Moderator ruling " that 
all persons present who are interested in Sunday-school 
work be entitled to vote." Organizations : J. Allen 
Myers, Moderator; Josiah B. Brumbaugh, assistant; 
Walter S. Long, secretary; Jacob C. Stayer, treasurer.* 
Thus runs the program : 

Essay — Object of the Sunday-school. Bertha Fahrney, followed 
by open discussion by John B. Brumbaugh, Amos H. Haines, Henry 
B. Brumbaugh, Otis M. Brumbaugh, William J. Swigart. 

Singing by the College Quartet. 

Topic — How to secure lesson study? Jacob C. Stayer. 

Adjournment for noon hour. Closing prayer by Jacob K. Brown. 

At the opening of the afternoon session, which was observed with 
prayer by the Moderator, William J. Swigart, Walter S. Long, Amos 
H. Haines, John B. Brumbaugh, Henry Shellenberger, Ella Brum- 
baugh, Alice Long, Ella Snavely and J. Allen Myers took part in the 
discussion. 

Topic — How can the Sunday-school be made a help in maintaining 
the principles of plainness in the church? Nancy Bennett. General 
discussion : Milton C. Swigart, John B. Brumbaugh, Henry B. Brum- 
baugh, David Emmert. 

Topic — Best methods of inducing liberal contributions. Discussed 
by D. M. Gearhart, Amos LI. Haines, W r illiam J. Swigart, Walter 
S. Long. 

Singing by the Quartet. 

Topic — Election of officers. George H. Swayne. General discus- 
sion : Brethren Spidle, Shellenberger and Gearhart, Walter S. Long, 
J. Allen Myers and William I. Book. 

Essay — Preparing for teaching and work. Alice E. Long. 

Singing by the Quartet. 

Topic — The Holy Spirit in Sunday-school work. Amos H. Haines. 

Singing by the Quartet. 

Friday's session was opened by Jesse Ziegler, of Eastern District. 

Topic — What constitutes true loyalty toward the Sunday-school on 
the part of the officials of the church? Jacob K. Brown. General 
discussions : Albert O. Dilling, Henry B. Brumbaugh, Jesse Ziegler, 
John B. Brumbaugh, J. Allen Myers. 

Singing by the Quartet. 

Topic — How to hold scholars till they grow up and become mem- 
bers of the church. J. Allen Myers. General discussion : Josiah B. 
Brumbaugh, Irvin VanDyke, Isaac B. Book, Amos H. Haines, Jesse 



* Evidently Brother Stayer was re-elected, because the convention of 1898, in its 
financial statement, says there was a balance of $1.52, which would mean an ap- 
pointment the year previous. He served continuously twenty-five years, or until 
the new constitution was adopted in 1922. 

342 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

B. Emmert, John E. Garver, Ella Snavely, Walter S. Long, William 
J. Swigart. 

Singing by the Quartet 

Topic — The best way of observing Christmas so as to teach chil- 
dren the true import of the occasion. David Emmert. 

Queries : First. Is it wisdom to change teachers for a class as they 
grow older, or retain the same teacher? Josiah B. Brumbaugh. 

Second. To what extent should lesson pictures be used in im- 
pressing lesson truths? Ella J. Brumbaugh. 

Third. What shall we do with parents (members of the church) 
who discourage their children uniting with the church ? Jesse Zigler. 

Fourth. What methods have you found most successful in build- 
ing up a Sunday-school? William I. Book. 

The treasurer reported a balance on hand from last year. . $1 52 

Collection received at this meeting 10 27 



Total 11 79 

Four years later, in the District Meeting Minutes, 
April 16, 1902, there is a tabulated report of the schools. 
It, of course, is for 1901. One column is so full of interest 
to all the churches that it is copied here in paragraph 
form. It is headed " Per cent, of members attending 
Sunday-school." Thus is the report: Altoona, 25%; 
Artemas, 53%; Buck Valley, 25%; Hill Valley, 40%; 
Germany Valley, 33%; Beech Run, 90%; Black Long, 
90%; Enyeart (now Rock Hill), 80%; Ardenheim, 30%; 
Clover Creek, 50%; Martinsburg, 50%; Smithfield, 75%; 
Claar, 18% ; Leamersville, 40% ; Carson Valley, 58% ; 
Everett, 50% ; Fairview (Everett), 60% ; Fairview, 40% ; 
Huntingdon, 35% ; Cold Springs, 50% ; James Creek, 
90%; Bethel (in James Creek), 95%; Lewistown, 50%?; 
Dry Valley, 10%; Bannerville, 90%; New Enterprise, 
10%; Raven Run, 12%; Roaring Spring, 32%; Spring 
Run, 60%; Aultz, 60%; Pine Glen, 27%; Snake Spring, 
40%; Koontz, 56%; Cherry Lane, 20%; Woodbury, 
50%; Cross Roads, 25%; Snvder (Woodbury), 20%; 
Warriors Mark, 33%; Yellow Creek, 25%; Bethel, 50%; 
Bellwood, 25%; Stonerstown, 25%; Tyrone, 50%. 

Jesse B. Emmert, secretary that year, declared there 
was not one home department ; all schools used Brethren 
literature but Ardenheim, Aultz and Pine Glen ; 3.457 
enrolled ; average attendance, 2,102 ; teaching force, 277 ; 
$1,187.37 collected, and $246.57 given to missions; 100 
pupils converted ; nine schools had teachers' meetings ; 
the average attendance of the members was 45%. 

343 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



It was at this same meeting that Jesse Emmert recom- 
mended " that the Sunday-schools of the Middle District 
of Pennsylvania support a missionary in India." The 
meeting enthusiastically approved of the proposition and 
instructed the schools of the District to make a selection 
" before the next session of the General Missionary 
Board. 

Here it is proper to record that loving support which 
the Sunday-school of the District gave to Jesse B. Em- 
mert, their representative on the India Field, as shown 
in the amounts forwarded to the General Mission Board 
during the earlier years : 

1903-'0-l, $100.00; 1904-'05, $100.00; 1905-'06, $250.00; 
1906-W, $250.00; 1907-'08, $125.00; 1908-'09, $250.00; 
1909-'10, $250.00; 1910-Ml, $250.00, etc. There was no 
spurt of enthusiasm, but loyalty to a great cause. Not 
until Brother Emmert was compelled to stay at home, 
through failing health of his dear wife, who finally passed 
to her reward in the late fall of 1924, did the District 
cease to support him on the mission field. 

The following table is helpful in studying growth of 
the Sunday-school movement as revealed under the sev- 
eral field secrtaries. Blanks mean no information avail- 
able. In the instances of Walter S. Long (1898, W. S. 
L.), and Irvin C. Van Dyke (1903, I. C. V.) the record 
of the only year available is used. In instances of Milton 
C. Swigart (1905, M. C. S.), Edgar M. Detwiler (1911, 
E, M. D.), and Ardie E. Wilt (1921, A. E. W.), the last 
year of term of service is used. 1923 is the last available 
report, and has the handicap of not having a field secre- 
tarv but a part of the vear. 





1898 


1903 


1905 


1911 


1921 


1923 




AY.S.L. 


I.C.V. 


M.C.S. 


E.M.D. 


A.E.W. 




No. preaching places 


• • • • 


60 


63 


69 


.... 


• ■ • • 




26 


41 


44 


48 


56 


48 


No. officers and teachers. . 




271* 


276* 


558 


705 


694 










130 


128 


162 


No. Teachers Meetings. . . 








18 


22 


22 










130 


128 


162 


No. Home Departments. . 


.... 


"% 


4 


10 


31 


26 


Enrollment 


2293 


3350 


3484 


6233 


8865 


7919 




1409 


2021 


2154 


2796 


4701 


4756 




81 


114 


155 


294 


599 


383 


Money raised in schools... 


$640.28 


$1779.82 


$2014.98 


$4250.51 


$19060.37 


$21902.37 




90.19 


681.10 


753.94 


1494.73 


5721.80 


6103.83 


*Just includes teachers 


and not 


officers. 











From Milton S. Swigart's report for 1904 are gathered 

344 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

these striking statements : " 48 church houses, 63 preach- 
ing places, and only 44 Sunday-schools. Why?" Under 
the caption, " Still our Needs are," he recited the follow- 
ing : " More Evergreen Sunday-schools ; more specific 
work for conversions ; more help from the pulpit ; more 
hands willing to work ; more interested workers ; fewer 
indifferent church members ; fewer church houses with 
no Sunday-school ; fewer persons who do not attend 
Sunday-school ; fewer inefficient teachers ; few discour- 
aged workers." 

From a similar report, in 1906, Edgar M. Detwiler, 
under " Worthy of Notice," flashed the following before 
the District : " Sunday-school conventions were held at 
Raven Run, Roaring Spring, New Enterprise, Sugar 
Run, Stonerstown, Lewistown, Bethel, Martinsburg and 
Claar." " A number of Normal Classes were organized 
during that year." " Your District Secretary visited 
twenty-two schools and sent out 145 pieces of mail matter 
since April 25." Under " Some present needs ' he em- 
phasized "more emphasis from the pulpit; more conse- 
crated workers ; more conversions directly in the Sunday- 
schools ; more evergreen Sunday-schools ; more training 
classes ; more teachers' meetings ; more prayer for the 
cause ; more church members in the Sunday-school." 

At the 1912 convention, the one at which Ardie E. 
Wilt was made field secretary, a district missionary com- 
mittee was appointed, composed of three members, 
" whose duty it shall be to direct the missionary activities 
of the Sunday-schools of the district, to have charge of 
the missionary monies of the Association, etc." John C. 
Swigart was elected for one year, and served till 1922, 
when the plan was changed ; Oscar R. Myers, for two 
years; Abraham B. Replogle, for three years. At this 
same meeting Edgar Detwiler, under the caption, " A 
decade of increase," said " enrolment doubled ; contribu- 
tions tripled ; . . . evergreen Sunday-schools increased 
from 21 to 39 ; . . . average collection from one to two 
cents per week." 

At the convention of 1915 a Temperance Committee 
was created. 

At the 1916 convention the field secretary reported 
fifty-five schools in the district, twenty-nine of which 

345 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



were front-line. Also a " $50.00 scholarship was added 
to the J. W. vSwigart Memorial Fund for the purpose of 
preparing workers for Christian activity." 

At the 1917 convention the field secretary reported 
fifty-seven schools represented by actual roll call. The 
year revealed that instead of $50.00 set aside for a schol- 
arship at Juniata College, that $155.00 had been sent, and 
more was assured. 

The Sunday-school Convention of 1923 broadened the 
basis of their endeavor in the District by adopting the 
following revised Constitution : 

I. Name. The name of the Committee that shall direct the work 
contemplated shall be " Sunday-school Board of the Church of the 
Brethren of Middle District of Pennsylvania. " 

II. Membership. The Board shall consist of five members so ap- 
pointed by this convention that the time of one member expires each 
year. No member of the Board shall succeed himself in office. 

III. Organization. Immediately after appointment each year the 
Board shall organize by electing a president, a secretary and a 
treasurer. 

IV. Meetings. The Board shall meet quarterly or oftener to 
transact business coming before them and to study and develop the 
work assigned them. 

V. Duties. It shall be the duty of this Board: 

1. To provide for the work now done by the Field Secretary. 

2. To make a careful survey of the District and its needs. 

3. To organize measures for a vigorous prosecution of its work. 

4. To provide program and have charge of these conventions. 

5. To submit in print a report of progress to this convention. 

6. To nominate two for each vacancy on the Board to this con- 
vention. 

Under the new organization the superintendents of 
departments and other officers of the District were all 
dropped and the entire work was placed upon the follow- 
ing five members, who organized as follows: Benjamin F. 
Waltz, president; Grace B. Stayer (now Mrs. Foster B. 
Statler, of Johnstowm, Pa.), secretary-treasurer; Charles 
C. Ellis, Lawrence Ruble and Mrs. Ruth Laher. During 
the summer of 1924 Foster B. Statler served as field secre- 
tary and reached nearly all the schools in a flying cam- 
paign. Through the removal of the secretary-treasurer 
from the District, Russel B. Stambaugh was appointed to 
serve out her term and is given the same office. 

In 1919, while yet field secretary, Ardie E. Wilt began 

346 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

the agitation of a home for missionaries from the foreign 
field on furlough. His plea may be epitomized into these 
few words : " Our missionaries come home for a year or 
two to rest ; but they have no home. Let us build one at 




Building Committee of the Mission Home 
Beginning at left: Benjamin F. Waltz, Ardie E. Wilt, Galen B. Royer 

Huntingdon and give these worthy ones a home free of 
rent, — a good home." 

At the Spring Run convention, August 19 and 20, 1924, 
the committee — Ardie E. Wilt, Benjamin F. Waltz and 




The Mission Home 



Galen B. Royer — appointed in 1922 to look after the erec- 
tion of the building for the Sunday-schools of the Dis- 
trict, were instructed to go ahead and erect the proposed 

347 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

mission house. At once the contract was let, and by the 
time this history is in the hands of the readers it is 
planned that the building will be completed. Juniata 
College purchased a beautiful location at the corner of 
Washington and Eighteenth Streets, two blocks west of 
the college campus. The building faces the south. It 
provides four independent apartments, each having four 
rooms and a bath ; when needed, two more apartments, 



— □ p — 

/BACK POAKCH 






% 



k. 

CI 




FRONT VERANDA 



b_ 



-Q- 



MI5S/0/V 



-Q 



HO/V)£ AT 



VtrH STREET. 



The Floor Plan 



not quite so large, may be completed in the front part of 
the basement. The building is forty-eight feet square, 
brick veneered. A more, loving token of appreciation to 
all the foreign missionaries can hardly be imagined. 

Walter J. Hamilton, field secretary of Western District 
of Pennsylvania for a number of years, has been engaged 
for the same kind of work for half his time in Middle 
District. He entered upon his duties March 1, 1925. 



348 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



SUNDAY-SCHOOL CONVENTIONS IN MIDDLE 

PENNSYLVANIA 

Field Secretary 



1. 


1876 


Oct. 21 


James Creek 




2. 


1878 


Oct. 15 


Spring Run 




3. 


1879 


Jan. 14 


Leamersville 




1. 


1896 


Nov. 20 


Altoona 




2. 


1897 


Sep. 9-10 


Everett 




3. 


1898 


Sep. 7-8 


Huntingdon 


Walter A. Long 


4. 


1899 








5. 


1900 








6. 


1901 


Aug. 


Woodbury 


Jesse B. Emmert 


7. 


1902 


Aug. 


Spring Run 


<< 


8. 


1903 






Irvin C. VanDyke 


9. 


1904 






Milton C. Swigart 


10. 


1905 


Aug. 


Clover Creek 


tt 


11. 


1906 


Aug. 


Altoona 


Edgar M. Detwiler 


12. 


1907 


Aug. 


Claar 


<< 


13. 


1908 


Aug. 


Lewistown (Country) 


tt 


14. 


1909 


Aug. 


Curryville 


tt 


15. 


1910 


Aug. 




<< 


16. 


1911 


Aug. 30-31 


Huntingdon 


<( 


17. 


1912 


Aug. 28-30 


Altoona 


Ardie E. Wilt 


18. 


1913 


Aug. 26-28 


Everett 


it 


19. 


1914 


Aug. 25-27 


Roaring Spring 


tt 


20. 


1915 


Aug. 24-26 


Williamsburg 


a 


21. 


1916 


Aug. 29-31 


Lewistown 


a 


22. 


1917 


Aug. 28-30 


Stonerstown 


a 


23. 


1918 


Aug. 27-29 


Altoona 


tt 


24. 


1919 


Aug. 26-29 


Huntingdon 


tt 


25. 


1920 


Aug. 24-26 


New Enterprise 


tt 


26. 


1921 


Aug. 23-25 


Woodbury 


tt 


27. 


1922 


Aug. 29-31 


Lewistown 


Galen B. Royer 


28. 


1923 


Aug. 28-30 


Martinsburg 


Kenneth Bechtel 


29. 


1924 


Aug. 19-20 


Spring Run 


Foster Statler 



349 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



H 

O 

i — i 

H 

CO 

»— i 
P 

W 

h4 

P 

P 
i— i 



-I 
O 
O 
X 

o 

CD 
i 

< 
P 

co 

K 
H 

o 

K 

H 

O 

o 

X 
H 



• 3 c 
Si H « 

> OJ 

« fe C 

cS t- 3 

a> D o 

S-° S 

. »-i — 

W 3 u- 

fi cj « 
£!>% 



»0~ CO 

as" rt 

cc? • a) 

>T3.3 

+j 

o a) ii 

3 £■ 



0) 



cS 



fe v X 

0) +-> S 

be O 3 

S C c 
-_ _ ■_ 
> 3,3 

a> bo _f 

co 3 « 

S'l 3 

O 3 = 

0) 3 o 

k a t. 

J? C3 3 

3 £° 

o °~ 

S ft £ 
>' — ' 

.- « s 



S • s 
p— . ^ rt 

t-- 3 
3 4> 

£ ±i 

w • ■+-> 

co £ «« 
3 -m 3 

H eg O 

,4 

W,fl CO 

: — w 
?fl s 

^ CD S 

■^ w 2 

be £**- 
- — ' 

|g| 

O-Z 
=*- ,3 o 

5 cy O 
B+3 flj 

M - -2 
" - S 

J 3 
3 3 



80 
OS 



00 
© 



c 

© 



x 



X 
X 



CO 

GO 



be 

■~ 

O 
= 



o 

c 

— 

o 
C/2 



ex ©< eX eX ex 



I I I 
(3* ©J i— i v> GO 

©©©©■*? 
CO rH 



ex ex ex © © 

I— I I— I l-H 
I I 

»ft © CO © © 
«5 CO OJ ■* ©> 



I— I 

I 

CO 
GO 



<s» 



Ci CO 

I 



00 CO CO 



■ Ci 



■ CO 

■ GO 

i 



^H 'f CO 

I— I l^- I— I 

Ci CO Ci 



co ^ 

«5 »« O.Z ^ 
^S 3 

bio^.^>. iJ +j 



oo 






4S 2 
« 



■ o» ©* 



©> 



I -I 

• »ft Ci • o 
5(H CN 



w 



^ ©» • Ci 



«o o -co 

CX CO "* 



©J tx .ex 

■ I-N 1— I .1-1 

I • I 

O i-i • o 

CO t> "* 



CO 



CO 



9Q 

80 



-;' 



ex 



■ W5 



01 -f 

Ci Ci 
X X 



»1 

ex 



5 3 



a> 



w 






^ Si 2c! 
PQPQPh 



ex ex ex ex 



III 
<x ex co o 

X X Ci CO 



<x ex ew ci 
i— < i— 1 1— i 

III 
co «o ■* o 

«5 «5 Ci •* 



■ <x ex ex co 

■ !-H I— I I— I 

'II I 

■ © i> «C V5 



-:> 



80 



X X l^ 

XXX 



CO »-o 
ex 



u b > - 

— cc 



n 



<^^ 



cu 









C 
- 

la 

— 



-■5»6c 



ex • ex ex 



CO • © X 
i> CO © 



o> 

I — I 

as 



i> 



i — i 



-;' 



ex ex <x 

i— 1 1— 1 1— i 

III 

(Shoo 
ex x co 



ex ex o* 

i— 1 1— 1 1— i 

I I I 
© © © 
»o -# i> 



CO 



I I I 

X © X 

»n e>* co 






<x 



• . o 
Ph -Ph -ex 



* ■£ 



- 
ex 



MS 

CO 

x 



80 

O' 



■^ r^ x 

«« © © 
x © x 



c©"C 
3 
ed 

cj . © 

S3© 

3 a x 



>. 



-^ CO r/j 

<u bc-a 

0> c 2 

ti " 5 1) j; 

rj «- OS — 



ex ex 



i— i ^fi 

co © 



ex ex © © 



1-H © © © 

»ft © CO i— i 



ex ex ex © 



I I 
x i> 

Ift O 

ex 



I 

<x 
ex 



© 



ex «« © »> co 

© x © © ew 
x x x x © 



•* rH 



1-5 <! 



u 

•- 

■-■'■- 



0) CJ D CS 



— 

08*8 



^3 



WfcHHM^O 



O' 



ex <x 



I I 
©©xx© 
co i— i ex ex © 
i-i ex 



Ci ex ex ex ex 

I— C l-H 1-H I— I 
I I I I I 

•ft © »Cj »o »ft 

ex »o co co i> 



© -©ex 






»o © 

-* © 

ex 



ex 



(X 

X 



Q 

O' 



. CO 

■w 
' I 

Q 

ex 



■* x 

© © 

X © 



© 
ex 






a 
5 



© t- 

X i> 

X X 



CO 



a 

C/2 



_• bo 



J2 






-A: 



-* 3 
p O 

- ^ Si ^ be 

3 „ bCbCj; 

n -^ 3 3 • — 

H US CO CO g 

cy'o'o'o 3 



350 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



OS 



ex ex © ex ex 



I I I I 

■* i— i 1-1 b- 00 



X 

OS 



x 

© 

OS 



X 



i—i i-H i— ( i-i i— i 
I I I I I 

00 ■* O TfH O 

ex »C © «5 OS 



ex ex 



eX Q* 



eX eX 

ex 



x «s 

I-H © 

<x 



ex ex CX CX ex 



1 III 

t~ CO CO CO «5 


1 1 

CO 00 


• 1 


SKOHffjN 


•* CO 


1-1 


CX 


1—1 


co 



eX ex ■ eX © 



eX eX 



eX eX 



M -II 

CO ii • GO iO 
CX © Tfi tJ" 



X 
X 



50 
i- 
X 



0> 

— « 
X 



(0 



o 
ce 



CO -rP 

1 W 



9* 



I I 
OS CX 

OS ex 



o 



CX 



M5 

CO 



ex ex 



ex 



(V ex 



0* CX CX r» OS 



dbo^o 

CX «* CX i> i> 



CX OS 

i—i 

I I 
rF* CX 

O «* 



. ex 



.© 

CO 



co 



eX 



O 



Cr> 



(N 



X 

CO 



so 

n 



■« 
^ 



cm 

s- 

O 
s 



■ © 

■ CO 

•w 

' I 

Q 



CX CO 

1—1 

I I 

CO X 
X ** 

w 



CX © CX CX 



O ■* GO CO 



CX CO 



CO «5 
J> CO 



ex 



OS 



*o 

CO 



I I 

X «5 

■* O 



OS X OS <v 
1—1 

I I I I 

IQIfJO© 
CO CO CO i> 



CX CX ex 

1—1 I— I 1-H 

III 

■CO CO CO 
CO CO ii 



OS 



© 



I 

'O 



CO M5 

t» o 

X OS 



•* ex 






o 
c 

o 



X X 



CX. 



- 



V 

bo 

£p2o 

^>o3o3 

03 -t_> +J -!_. 

1/ ~ ~ £ 
(S33° 



CX CO © © 

OS ii CO CO 
X OS X X 



«5 T? 

CX n 






03 



£s a 



N 



^^ ^^ ^^ 



w^ 



o» 
cX 

H 



O' 



CO 
CO 
X 



'O 



cX 



9» 



CX OS CO 



O CO X 
CO CO n 






CO (X OS ex <x 

1-H 1-H 1-H 

I I I I I 

© x >o «* ex 

ex co i o o 



os ex ex ex 



ex co i> co 



o» 



■ •* 

OS 



■ ex ex 

■ H 11 
' I I 

■ ex o 
o i> 



CO 
<o 

-p 



co os ex ex ex ex 

I— ( i-H i— I »— I 

I I I I I I 
«s «s «o co i> ex 

ex co co co ■*? «s 



»o 

CO 



ex co 



CO «5 



a 

<1 



t- • bo 
S3 cerz - 3 w 



X 



— CD 



m 

'S3 

Fh 

cJSJ 

WO 



NMCOO* 
i>OHHft 
X OS OS OS X 



. ««i ^ <U 

H H O tJH i- 

— , <x o 



4 

&H 









CJ 

o 






4) C 

S'S 



G C 

o > 

3 cc 



co ex 

ii 

I I 

o -i 

■* o 

ex 



co co ex 

rH 

I I I 

CO CO o 
CO >* OS 

w 



ex 



■© 

CO 



X 

CO 

ex 



© 



© >o • 


• © 


• CO 


© OS ■ 


• i> 


• ■* 


iw ■ 


■w 


• 1 


Q i ■ 


' 1 


•Q 


exQ 


Q 


ex 


ex 


ex 





© 






be t* 

S.S 
bo ^S 5 



cv. 
>»• 

CO X 

© l^ 

X X 



© 
ex 



to 
3 

< 






Cv> 



3 

°cj9fiB 



■ «5 

• ex 

• rH 

•w 

I 

Q 

ex 



«5 © »c 

CO © OS 
XXX 



© 



bc'E 
3 a 



© 
© 



-» 



ex 



«3 »o ■*© ex 
»> i> © i> <-* 

X X XX © 



13 ^ X 
aj 
X >s • 

2Sw 



3^ 



a 

a3 fe be be t« 
3 3 CX Ch-m 



a 

"< 3 
.r<l ! ! bio-* 

^ c .3 0> 

u u a §- es > 

W! be £ oj r3 -1 



03 

c 
H 



351 



CHAPTER V 

Ministerial Meetings 

At the District Meeting held May 15, 1889, in the 
Clover Creek congregation, a program committee was 
suggested (names not recorded), and it had printed the 
following announcement : 

BRETHREN'S MINISTERIAL MEETING 

For The 
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNA., 

To Be Held In The 

JAMES CREEK CHURCH 

Dec. 12, 13 and 14, 1889 

Wednesday evening, Preaching. 

OPENING, THURSDAY MORNING. 
Session at 10 o'clock. 

1. Organization and Statement of Object of Meeting. 

2. How Shall We Retain Our Children in the Church ? 

Jacob Hollinger, John Beaver. 

3. Methods of Church Work. J. F. Oiler, G. W. Brumbaugh. 

Afternoon Session 

4. Preacher's Preparation of His Work. 

S. G. Rupert, D. S. Clapper. 

5. The Character and Deportment of the Minister. 

George Brumbaugh, E. D. Book. 

6. Preaching to Preachers. William Howe, J. B. Replogle. 

Evening Sermon 

FRIDAY — Morning Session 

7. Revival Meetings. J. Snyder, James A. Sell. 

8. Best Literature for Preachers Who Have Little Time to Read. 

C. L. Pfoutz, H. B. Brumbaugh. 

9. Preachers' Helps, What Should They Be? 

J. W. Wilt, James R. Lane. 

Aeternoon Session 

10. W r hat Should Our Ministers Teach in Regard to Church 
Finances? Brice Sell, Thomas B. Maddocks. 

11. The Basis of the Preacher's Power. 

Andrew Bashor, W. J. Swigart. 

352 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

12. How to Conduct Church Meetings. 

J. W. Brumbaugh, S. S. Gray. 

Evening Sermon 

SATURDAY— Morning Session 

13. How to Preach. J. B. Fluck, J. A. Myers. 

14. What Should Be the Relation of Our Ministers to the Sunday- 
school and Prayer Meeting? S. F. Myers, J. Z. Replogle. 

The Committee said, in connection with the announce- 
ment, " They did the best they could in having the near 
surrounding churches represented by at least one on the 
program from each church. While it was impossible to 
place all, it is hoped that none on this account will remain 
away, as there will be general discussion on all the sub- 
jects named, in which every one can take part. It is de- 
sired that all of our ministers who can do so will be at 
the meeting." 

The meeting was organized on Thursday morning. 
The minutes state it thus : " According to previous notice, 
a Ministerial Meeting was organized by electing Brother 
William Howe, moderator; H. B. Brumbaugh, assistant 
moderator; John B. Fluck, secretary. About twenty-one 
ministers were present. Brother Howe stated the object 
of the meeting/' 

At the next meeting (22 ministers present) the secre- 
tary, James A. Sell, epitomized what Thomas B. Mad- 
docks said the object of the meeting was: 

First. To bring us nearer to each other in feeling and practice. 

Second. To raise the standard of holiness among us. 

At this meeting " H. B. Brumbaugh made an explanation of the 
Bible session to be held in the Normal at Huntingdon, January 
5, 1891." 

It was also unanimously decided to " hold two ministerial meetings 
each year, one in the east end of the district and the other in the 
west and extending the same privileges that we now have." 

The secretary, at the close, wrote in the minutes thus : " The meet- 
ing was pronounced by one and all who were present to be the best 
and most enjoyable meeting they ever attended. 

Is this a shadow faint and dim of that which is to come? 

What shall the unveiled splendor be of our celestial home 

Where waves the golden tree of life and all its streams gush free, 

And all is glowing in the light of immortality." 

< 

In 1892, at Hill Valley, there was a departure of un- 
usual type for those times, when Seth F. Myers made an 

353 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

" address of welcome," and a " Response " was given by 
J. W. Brumbaugh. At this meeting, too, three of the 
fourteen topics discussed were on the Sunday-school. 
Then, in 1896, at Altoona, all of Friday's session, — fore- 
noon, afternoon and evening, was devoted to the Sunday- 
school. This, the first all-day session in behalf of Sunday- 
schools, has continued to the present in the form of our 
August conventions. 

In 1900, the Ministerial Meeting sessions were cut from 
three to two days. In 1903 they were reduced to a day 
and a half. In 1910 it united with the District Sunday- 
school convention, and the two were held in August, 
instead of November. The Ministerial Meeting had 
Wednesday evening and Thursday, while the Sunday- 
school had Thursday evening and Friday for sessions. 
In 1913 an Educational program was placed between the 
ministerial and Sunday-school programs, and the min- 
isterial meeting was reduced to Tuesday evening and 
Wednesday forenoon. 

Because of lack of attendance and interest the Minis- 
terial Meeting of 1922 thought to better itself by becom- 
ing a part of the District Meeting Program, and in 1923 
held its first session in April. 

One cannot go over the annual programs of this organ- 
ization for a generation without being deeply impressed 
with the zeal and vision which those attending regularly 
had. There were a number of faces who were seen at 
almost every session during these thirty-five years, and 
these are the ones who have been pillars in the district, — 
who were known beyond the bounds of the district. The 
very fact they attended regularly and exchanged thought 
on the various subjects vital to Christianity made them 
more efficient at home, and enlarged their usefulness 
away from home. There have been more real growth and 
help in the Ministerial Meetings than the preacher, who 
has not been attending regularly, thought. 



354 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



PLACES, DATES, AND NAMES OF MODERATORS OF THE 

MINISTERIAL ASSOCIATION 



Churches 
James Creek 
Maitland 
Clover Creek 
Aughwick 
Woodbury 
James Creek 
Snake Spring 
Altoona 

New Enterprise 
Dry Valley 
Learners ville 
Everett 
Clover Creek 
Fairview 
New Enterprise 
Roaring Spring 
Aughwick 
Snake Spring 
Altoona 
Clover Creek 
Lewistown 
Claar 

Huntingdon 
Altoona 
Everett 

Roaring Spring 
Williamsburg 
Lewistown 
Stonerstown 
Altoona 
Huntingdon 
New Enterprise 
Woodbury 
Lewistown 
Spring Run 
Stonerstown 



Dates 
December 12-14 
December 18-20 
November 25-27 
November 2- 4 
November 22-24 
October 17-19 
November 20-22 
November 18-20 
November 7- 9 
November 18-20 
November 22-24 
November 22-23 
November 21-22 
November 26-27 
November 18-19 
November 3- 4 
November 15-16 
November 22-23 
November 20-22 
November 18-19 
November 17-18 
Aug. 31, Sept. 2 
August 30-31 
August 28-29 
August 26-27 
August 25-26 
August 24-25 
August 29-30 
August 28-29 
August 27-28 
August 27-28 
August 24-25 
August 23-24 
August 29-30 
April 18-19 

April 8-9 



1889 
1890 
1891 
1892 
1893 
1894 
1895 
1896 
1897 
1898 
1899 
1900 
1901 
1902 
1903 
1904 
1905 
1906 
1907 
1908 
1909 
1910 
1911 
1912 
1913 
1914 
1915 
1916 
1917 
1918 
1919 
1920 
1921 
1922 
1923 
1924 



Moderators 
Henry B. Brumbaugh 
Jacob F. Oiler 
James A. Sell 



John B. Fluck 
James A. Sell 
William J. Swigart 
James A. Sell 
William J. Swigart 
John B. Fluck 
William J. Swigart 

James A. Sell 
John Bennett 
James A. Sell 
John B. Brumbaugh 
William J. Swigart 

it 

James A. Sell 
Henry B. Brumbaugh 
James A. Sell 
William J. Swigart 



<( 



Albert G. Crosswhite 






William J. Swigart 
Walter S. Long 



a 



J. Allen Myers 
Ira C. Holsopple 
Charles O. Beery 
Galen K. Walker 
Joseph W. Wilt 



355 



CHAPTER VI 

Sisters' Aid Society 

The "weaker vessel," it would appear, the brethren 
purposed to keep weak. They were in authority and took 
literally, as well as conscientiously, Paul's words, " let 
them keep silence " to the extent that the sisters' only 
function was to cook meals and keep quiet. And what a 
struggle these " weak ones " have had to wedge them- 
selves into the recognition they now enjoy. 

First, as far back as 1885, at the missionary meeting at 
Mexico, (Pa.), General Conference, a few fearless ones 
undertook to do something besides keeping quiet. But 
in all well-meaning on the part of the Standing Com- 
mittee, they were forbidden public service, and just per- 
mitted to give their hard-earned savings to the mission 
work of the church. 

P>ut these "weak ones" had strength, and this quality 
manifested itself in humble courage to press forward and 
faith to abide the time when they would come into their 
own. Their courage was seen in the fact that some of 
them went home from the Mexico conference and in less 
than two months organized an Aid Society in Altoona ; 
and a little later another at Huntingdon. In Altoona they 
called themselves a Sewing Society, and the first article 
made and sold was a white apron for twenty-eight cents. 

The Huntingdon sisters had been, for four years, work- 
ing in an unorganized way. Even then, they met occa- 
sionally and, through committees appointed, visited the 
sick and helped the poor during the winters. They were 
party to starting the Huntingdon orphanage in 1881. 
And finally, in September, 1885, they also organized into 
an Aid Society. 

About this same year, — date not definitely known, — a 
society was formed at Clover Creek. Then, as far as the 
District is concerned, these three were the lone societies 
until 1898, when Tyrone and Leamersville organized. 

In the meantime a query from some district went to 

356 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

General Conference, and it was answered favorable to the 
societies. " Is it right/' asked the query, " according to 
the spirit of the Gospel, to have sewing societies in the 
church ? " " Yes ! " said the Conference, " if the sisters 
labor in union with the Church as expressed in the coun- 
cil and according to the principles of the Gospel. " — Min- 
utes of Conference, Art. 6, 1895. This decision helped 
where sentiment was favorable to the societies. 

In 1912, some sisters gathered at the Conference and 
elected Mrs. Walter Keller, president, and Mrs. Olive 
Dupler, secretary, as the beginning of a general organ- 
ization. Through this secretary a sister was appointed 
in each district to develop sentiment and take steps 
towards organization. Esther S. Sell was appointed for 
Middle District in 1913, and served eight years. During 
this time no delegate meeting was held, but sometimes 
the sisters who were at a District Meeting would get 
together and talk over the work in an informal way. 

In 1821, Sister Sell having resigned on account of her 
health, Mrs. Anna M. Royer was appointed secretary by 
the general organization. She called a delegate meeting 
in connection with the District Meeting that year at 
Twenty-eight Street, Altoona. Mrs. Alice A. Long was 
appointed secretary for this meeting. The following year, 
at the Spring Run District Meeting, another delegate 
meeting was held, at which the following organization 
was effected: Mrs. Anna M. Royer, president; Mrs. John 
Breinninger, vice-president; Mrs. Sannie Shelly Beery, 
secretary; Airs. Eleanor J. Brumbaugh, corresponding 
secretary ; Mrs. Viola Myers, treasurer. On April 8, 1924, 
from 1 : 30 to 3 P. M., the sisters held their first public 
program at the District Meeting held at Stonerstown. 
It was as follows : 

Mrs. Anna M. Royer presided. 

Mrs. Sarah Shelly, of Fairview congregation, conducted the devo- 
tional. 

The Early History of the Aid Society — Mrs. Eleanor J. Brumbaugh, 
of Huntingdon. 

The Present Day Work and Possibilities — Mrs. Sannie Shelly Beery, 
of Juniata. 

Reading, "The Sisters' Aid "—Mrs. Cora Bennet, of Altoona. 
Special Music. 

357 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

The treasurer reported that the total receipts from the societies for 
the District was $3,881.76. There were 419 members in the 
twenty-two societies of the District. 



SISTERS' AID SOCIETIES 
Date of Organization according to reports in this History. 



1. Altoona, First Church July 

2. Huntingdon Sep. 

3. Martinsburg 

4. Tyrone Between 1 

5. Leamersville June 

6. Lewistown Oct. 

7. Raven Run Apr. 

8. Roaring Spring May 

9. Stonerstown 

10. Everett 

11. Spring Run Feb. 

12. Juniata Park Feb. 

13. Hollidaysburg Dec. 

14. Riddlesburg Jan. 

No 

Aughwick 
Ardenheim 
Artemas 
Dunnings Creek 



21, 
18, 

897 



5, 



25, 

2, 
1, 



1885 
1885 
1890 
1899 
1898 
1902 
1903 
1903 
1904 
1904 
1905 
1908 
1908 
1910 



15. 
16. 
17. 
18. 
19. 
20. 
21. 
22. 
23. 
24. 
25. 
26. 
27. 
28. 



Fairview Apr. 13, 1910 

Burnham Apr. 14, 1910 

Carson Vallev June 22, 1911 

Clover Creek May 12, 1912 

Koontz Oct. 23, 1912 

Woodbury Feb. 19, 1913 

New Enterprise Mar. 22, 1913 

Albright Sep. 1913 

Bellwood Mar. 19, 1914 

Williamsburg Mar. 7, 1917 

Altoona. 28th St Aug. 14, 1916 

Dry Valley Dec. 31, 19U 

Snake Spring Apr. 25, 1921 

Curryville. Mar. 16, 1922 



Societies in the following: 

Cherry Lane 
Claar 

James Creek 
Lower Claar 



Queen 
Smithfield 
Warriors Mark 
Yellow Creek 



358 



CHAPTER VII 

Old Folks' Home 

The Duncansville Church, soon after the division of 
the State into districts was made, asked the District 
Meeting to consider the propriety of establishing a home 
for the aged poor of the fraternity. The request received 
but slight attention, and was deferred indefinitely. 

In 1880, the Huntingdon Church sent to the District 
Meeting the following : " We favor the establishing of a 
1 Home ' somewhere in the West, for the benefit of the 
poor and infirm of our fraternity, and recommend the 
project to the favorable consideration of our District 
Meeting." 

The meeting decided " That the delegates take the 
resolution home with them and submit it to their re- 
spective churches, and have them consider the subject, 
and then have the matter more fully discussed at the next 
District Meeting." 

The project did not come up again till 1891, when Lew- 
istown Church " petitioned District Meeting to take 
measures to erect a home." Jacob F. Oiler, Andrew 
Spanogle, Michael H. Bashore, John B. Fluke and Henry 
B. Brumbaugh were appointed a committee " to carefully 
study the manner of conducting a house of this kind and 
prepare a plan to complete for its erection and maintain- 
ance, with constitution and by-laws, and that it be pub- 
lished before March 1, 1891; and that this report be 
examined, discussed and acted upon by the next District 
Meeting, the churches instructing their delegates for or 
against the measure with suggestions for amend- 
ments, etc." 

At the District Meeting of 1892 the whole subject was 
deferred. Representatives from the several districts of 
Maryland were present "to confer in regard to uniting in 
the erection and maintaining of a Home, committees to 
represent the dividing of the Districts were appointed for 
this purpose, and that arrangements might be made to 
push the work forward." 

359 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

The Altoona Church sent this resolution to the District 
Meeting of 1893 : " This church is favorable to a Home 
for Old Folks and willing to contribute to its erection ; 
but not favorable to uniting with more than one or two 
other districts. " Andrew Spanogle, representing the 
committee, said " the difficulty in doing anything was 
the locating, and therefore nothing was accomplished/ 1 
This meeting appointed Andrew Spanogle, Alfred O. 
Billing, Henry B. Brumbaugh, Joseph VV. Wilt, and 
George S. Myers as a committee " whose duty it will be 
to locate and make all necessary preparations for build- 
ing and furnishing such a home. The location and build- 
ing shall be of such a character as will meet the present 
needs, and so planned that it can be enlarged as the in- 
creasing wants may depend. And that the funds needed 
shall be raised by individual subscriptions, donations and 
endowments." 

The committee reported at the District Meeting of 1894 
that it had " purchased a large brick house in Shirleys- 
burg. . . . $2,000.00, which, when built, cost over $6,- 
000.00, and as it is in excellent condition the committee 
feels that they have succeeded in giving the District a 
very good and cheap home. The Committee also had the 
District canvassed and raised $2, 384.45. " The committee 
was discharged and five trustees were elected, as follows : 
Andrew Spanogle, five years ; Henry B. Brumbaugh, four 
years ; Albert O. Dilling, three years ; James E. Long, two 
years, and Joseph W. Wilt, one year. The trustees em- 
ployed Seth F. Myers as steward, and the home, called 
" Rockview Old Folks' Home," was opened. First year 
expenses were $234.00, and steward's salary, $300.00. 

In 1899 the trustees asked " to solicit means looking to 
the building of such annexes as may be deemed neces- 
sary," though they would not go ahead and build without 
further instructions. In 1901 a change of location was 
considered to such an extent that Henry B. Brumbaugh, 
Albert O. Dilling, and John S. Hershberger, were ap- 
pointed as a committee to co-operate " with the trustees 
as to receiving persons other than our own members . . . 
so long as it does not interfere with the needs of our own 
District." 

The committee appointed at the previous meeting re- 

360 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

ported to the District Meeting, 1902, " that the buildings 
at Shirleysburg would soon need considerable repairs ; 
. . . no convenient method of supplying water and sewer- 
age ; . . . and being three stories was not so well adapted 
for aged and infirm persons; neither was the location cen- 
tral in the District. Therefore, we decided to locate at 
Martinsburg, if grounds could be secured." It further re- 
ported that it did purchase a parcel of ground by agree- 
ment, and sold the Shirleysburg property for $2,160.00 
cash. A financial statement " of funds in sight," is as 
follows : 

By Will $300.00 

Promised by Harrisburg and 

Vicinity 300.00 

Promised to solicitors, about.. 900.00 

Amount in bank 2,367.74 

$3,867.74 

Less indebtedness 746.65 



$3,121.09 
John Bsnnktt, Secretary. 

At this District Meeting " reason not given, Duncans- 
ville respectfully request to discontinue the Home." This 
petition was lost. 

The next year the trustees made a report, of which this 
is a summary, of the cost of the new home; a brick 
veneered two-story building, 32 x 64 feet : 



ing, fencing, etc 1,814.1^ 



Cost of grounds $537.97 

Basement, walls, heating, plumb- 

.2 

Contract for new building 4,691.98 

Other items in total 101.05 

$7,145.12 

Total indebtedness on the New Home $2,923.76 

This new home, to be known hereafter as the " Morri- 
son's Cove Home/' was dedicated August 12, 1903, Wil- 
liam J. Swigart leading in the services. 

361 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

In 1909 the trustees reported " the pressing need of 
ability to make room or enlarge their buildings, . . . for, 





Two Views of the Morrison's Cove Home for the Aged, at Martinsburg 

during the year just closed, fifteen applicants for admis- 
sion had been turned away." The next year the report 
says twenty were rejected for want of room. " An en- 

362 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

thusiastic discussion followed, . . . the meeting express- 
ing itself in sympathy with the work, and a motion pre- 
vailed to solicit funds to justify a forward movement in 
building." 

The following year (1912), the trustees reported the 
erection of a new building, 32 x 64, costing $4,011.31. The 
building committee consisted of Aaron B. Mock, James 
Wineland, Jeremiah Klepser, John B. Miller, Jacob Gal- 
ley, and Daniel B. Maddock. The last named made the 
plans for the building. The response from the congrega- 
tions were so hearty that but $1,650.00 of debt rested on 
the building when it was occupied, and this was cancelled 
by District Meeting, 1921. 

At the 1912 District Meeting a petition from Western 
District was presented in which they would unite with 
Middle in having a home. Brice Sell, William S. Ritchey 
and Leonard F. Holsinger were appointed a committee to 
co-operate with the trustees in conference with Western 
District and report in one year. They reported they saw 
no way of uniting, and the matter was deferred one year. 

Donation day was suggested in 1913, and proved very 
helpful from year to year. In 1920 Joseph W. Wilt sug- 
gested a reunion of the churches at the Home. This 
" Old Folks' Home Day ! proved so enjoyable and profit- 
able that the District Meeting of 1921 adopted the fol- 
lowing resolution, presented by James A. Sell : " that 
this meeting authorized the trustees ... to arrange an 
appropriate program, appoint a day and circularize the 
District, inviting all churches, Sunday-schools, Christian 
Workers' Meetings and Bible Classes to bring their ala- 
baster boxes as offerings to pour upon the Saviour in the 
person of our aged poor." 

The total of the financial statement to District Meeting 
of 1921 shows the following, for the year ending Febru- 
ary 15, 1924: 

Receipts $6,685.60 

Expenditures 6,203.15 

Balance on hand $482.45 

Endowment $5,500.00 

Capacity of the Home, — 50. 
Building not fully occupied. 

363 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



^ <u 

,«: : : : : pc; 

o o 





a 






ad 






h-5 






• •* 




w 


w 




u 

K- 1 


s 




> 


si 
i-s 




tf . 












^ 






fc >H 




>> 


o „ 


bo 

a 


4> 

o 




5 


4-> 


W .2 




. C/J 


c- 

-U 


a' 


P4 £ 




S 



>. 




<D 




r* 








O 


t. 


-<-> 


oS 


tf 


bo 




£ 


^/J ^ V 


^. 


a 


u 


o3 




• ~N 


a 


-— 


— 


* 






c 

O 0) 4> 

en •** 



r. 



O' 



c* 


u 


t-H 


<L> 


w 


H 


£ 


JH 


H 


3 




Uh 


Q 


L- 


£ 


nJ 


< 


3 




bfl 


r/) 


<L> 


W 


P4 


H 


< 


C/3 




£ 




tf 




H 





V _ W 

- ° p 

— a a 

O 1-8 •-S 



bo 




3 




cj 




J2 




s 


■— 


~ 


■~ 


u 


1— . 


PQ 


• — 

3 


CD- ; 


' m 


a 


a 


u 


— — 


HI 


3 
-r 



bO 

Ji 

>• ** ** — * - » • ■» >• N» s» • ^ 

" " " CO 

c ^ 

c c 

is — 



bC © «- 

c W ft 

85 . — 

ft M cj 

«: ; : : : : : : : : : : : : : : z z z g : : 5 z -3 : s : 5 Q 

£ « a 

c -w i-s 



■*«)0^»a o i— !<>»«'+ »c»t^xc; o^-'vrjrj* «isOt>ooci o^s»Mtj< 

05050S05C;05 OOOOO OOOOO i— c^Hr— i— ii-h t— i i— i i-h i— iih <3^©*0*0*0< 

XX00O0O0X 05050CSC5 CSOiOOSCi OSOOSOSCi Ci Oi Oi Oi Oi C50i00505 



364 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



TERM OF SERVICE OF STEWARDS 

Walter S. Long began April 1, 1894 

1897 
1900 
1903 
1911 
1913 
1915 
1919 
1922 



Samuel S. Long 
John E. Garver . . . 

Joseph Gates 

Isaac Metzker 
Elmer Snowberger 

George Davis 

Isaac Showalter . . 
Jacob S. Showalter 



n 



n 



n 



• i 



a 




The Morrison's Cove Orphans' Home 



363 



CHAPTER VIII 

Child Rescue Work 

Whatever sentiment in favor of Child Rescue Work 
may have prevailed in the hearts of individuals in the 
District prior to 1915 is not known, for it did not take 
definite form until that year, when Walter S. Long, of 
Altoona, presented the following: 

" Inasmuch as there are an increasing number of in- 
stances among us of children not receiving the care they 
should have, because of being orphans or from other ap- 
parent reasons, and whereas we believe it is the duty of 
the Church to aid in this matter, and further, this District 
not now having any channel through which we can meet 
this need, therefore, resolved, first, that this District 
Meeting assembled at Huntingdon, request the various 
churches through this delegate body to consider the ad- 
visability of making provisions for this District to prop- 
erly care for this distressing condition and report to the 
District Meeting one year hence. Second. That a com- 
mittee of three be appointed at this meeting to secure in- 
formation, or probably plan for this action and report at 
next District Meeting, also for consideration/' 

The response of the meeting is characterized in the 
minutes as " marked degree of sympathy," and a " strong 
vote " approving of the request. In compliance with the 
paper, Walter S. Long, Albert G. Crosswhite and Jennie 
Baker were appointed a committee to carry out the pur- 
poses set forth, and Child Rescue Work in the District 
had begun. 

The next year (1916) the committee reported "merely 
a beginning/' and it was instructed " in co-operation with 
the trustees of Morrison Cove Home, to present at next 
District Meeting a suggestive or tentative plan providing 
for Child Rescue Work." 

At the meeting, 1917, it was decided to establish the 
Home under consideration at Martinsburg, (Pa.). That 
it be secured and directed by management or trustees of 

366 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



the Home for Aged and Infirm at Martinsburg, " Morri- 
son's Cove Home." That it is proposed to provide for 
orphans and other children of need of the Church of the 
Brethren, also for other children within, or apart from 
this District when there is room and means to make it 
possible and practical to care for them. That the said 
trustees be now authorized to proceed at once to solicit 
the District by free will offerings, in order to secure funds 
for the maintenance of the Home herein considered." 

Because some members have been contributing to the 
Orphanage at Huntingdon with the understanding that it 
belonged to the Church or District, it was especially an- 
nounced at this meeting that it was a county institution. 

To the District Meeting of 1918 it was reported that 
one child had been placed in the home of Frank E. Bru- 
baker. Moses R. Brumbaugh was made a member of the 
committee in place of Albert G. Crosswhite, who had 
moved out of the District. 

During the next year a charter had been secured, 
$o00.00 had been given on an annuity plan, and four 
children had come to the home, two of whom had been 
placed. 

The need of a detention home was presented to the 1920 
meeting. The committee was instructed to ascertain the 
possibilities of affiliating with eastern and western dis- 
tricts in this work, but this was reported not feasible, the 
following year, and a request was renewed for a detention 
home. This need was emphasized in 1922 ; John C. Swi- 
gart was made field secretary ; three children were given 
permanent homes within the year just expired. 

During the ensuing year (reported at District Meeting 
of 1923) the "trustees selected a home, containing a 
dwelling and twenty-seven acres of land for $7,800.00." 
This was accepted and provisions made that hereafter 
" the committee shall consist of two brethren and two 
sisters." 

Because the building purchased was not given till 
December. 1923, the Trustees had little to report. But, 
beginning with November 1, 1 924, Frank E. Brubaker and 
wife took charge of the home and hereafter children will 
have a good detention home. No financial statement has 
yet been published. 

367 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



The children who have been received and given homes 
are as follows : 



Name of Children 


Age 


Permanent Home 


Charles Rheam 


3 


Frank E. Brubaker 


William Glass 




In State Institution for feeble 
minded. 


Virginia Viola Glass 


1 


Isa Bechtel 


Lester A. Glass 


12 


Russel Snyder 


Chester P. Glass 


6 


Adam K. Frederic 


Gerald Ritchey 


4 


Charles Bloom 


Dollie L. Dick 


6 


Mrs. Sarah Kayes 


Mary E. Dick 


13 


Not located permanently 


Martha Dick 


3 


<< tt a 



368 



CHAPTER IX 

Some Observations* 

It will be observed that all through the history an 
analysis of the events and facts has been rather studiously 
avoided. In the biographical section, words of commen- 
dation are for the most part absent. The Editor has 
tried to record what has been done, and let the reader 
draw his own conclusions. 

But should he lay down his pen without pointing out 
some things he has observed, some problems pertinent to 
the future welfare of the Church of the Brethren, and 
drawing some conclusions which he believes the facts 
justify? This history will fail in its purpose if its readers 
are not led to profit by the past in their endeavor to fulfil 
the prayer, " Thy kingdom come." 

Let some of the praiseworthy things be considered first. 

Middle District of Pennsylvania will always be men- 
tioned in most kindly terms, because within its bounds 
have originated the following, which have resulted in 
large and favorable results for the Church and the 
Nation : 

First. The first (and likewise the second) weekly 
church paper started in this district. A monthly had 
been conducted in Ohio for over a decade. It was a peri- 
odical with views perhaps far enough advanced for its 
day, but whose vision was hardly broad enough to make 
for real leadership. It was the church's best paper, be- 
cause there was none other. 

It required no small courage to start a weekly paper in 
those times. The Middle District permitted Henry R. 
Holsinger to start one " at his own discretion," f thereby 
seeking to wash its hands from any liability that might 
grow out of its publication. That weekly, far more than 
the monthly preceding it, opened the door to what is now 
our splendid catalog of church papers. Following in its 

* This, the last chapter prepared for this book, was completed, by the grace of 
the Heavenly Father, March 16, 1925. — Editor. 
f Minutes of 1864, Art. 3. 

369 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

train came the hymn-book, the almanac, young people's 
paper and quarterlies. This District did her share in sup- 
porting the weekly, and may justly commend herself 
because it is the home of the first weekly church paper. 

Quinter and Brumbaugh Brothers followed in the pub- 
lication business. All three were good writers. James 
Quinter wrote an able treatise on the history of baptism. 
His daughter, Mary, wrote a biography of her father, and 
included some sermons. Henry B. Brumbaugh wrote the 
Church Manual, a most useful book until recently, when 
it was succeeded by another prepared under the direction 
of the Conference. He also wrote a fine book of fiction, 
based on the Bible character, — Onesimus. In this Dis- 
trict, also, lives James A. Sell, who published a book of 
poems, — a real expression of his heart for the larger and 
finer things of life. He also wrote a small pamphlet about 
a couple of children lost in the Alleghanies. Martin G. 
Brumbaugh, of towering intellect, wrote, with splendid 
survey, a general history of the early activities of the 
Church of the Brethren, a work of authority always. 
True, many other volumes have come from his ready 
pen, most of which have touched the larger life of the 
nation, — such as his " Making of a Teacher/' and a number 
of text-books for schools. Tobias T. Myers published a 
book of " Last Things," and very recently a Life of Christ 
for class use. Charles C. Ellis has, within the last five 
years, produced a devotional book of super-merit, as well 
as a pamphlet that is distinctive in its field. Adaline Hoff 
Beery, (a western born lady), while living in the district, 
published a volume of poems, much of which is real 
poetry, and not rhyme. Her husband, William Beery, 
wrote sacred songs the church loved to sing, and com- 
piled, for the church publishing house, the first -Sunday- 
school song book in general use in the Brotherhood. Mrs. 
Emma A. M. Replogle, the daughter of Jacob Miller, the 
school man, published, in book form, a fascinating story 
entitled, " Indian Eve and Her Descendants." 

It would perhaps be a little difficult to find another dis- 
trict with a larger literary output than this. 

Second. Educationally, Middle District stands out 
unique in the Church of the Brethren. Three school ef- 
forts were made within her borders, one of which lived 

370 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



and became the pioneer of education for the Church. The 
men who founded Juniata College, the men who stood the 
criticism and yet pressed on as one chained to a purpose, 
were not so many. Turn to the table of trustees and note 
those who were faithful before 1890. 

Then there were some noble souls in the district who 
helped in this educational project most heroically. Per- 
haps again James A. Sell stands first in loyalty to Juniata. 
He, more frequently than any other, came to the college, 
installed many of those who were called to the ministry, 
stood for the interests of the college in the Standing 
Committee room of General Conference, and, as an " out- 
sider," was always a friend on the lookout for Juniata's 
welfare and advancement. 

Juniata blazed the way of education in many ways. 
From her walls stepped the first graduate in the Arts 
course maintained by a Brethren's school. She stands 
first among her sister colleges in her endowment, and the 
scholarship of her faculty. Scholarship, and not numbers, 
is her ambition today. 

Third. Then, there is not the less important, though 
the youngest, movement in the church, — the Sisters' Aid 
Societies, which began in this district. Just in very re- 
cent years they have come into their own when the Con- 
ference, recognizing their ability and dependableness, 
have called upon them annually to do certain large things 
in a worldwide way. 

Fourth. The missionary activities of the Brotherhood 
owe this district recognition in the fact that James Quin- 
ter, the secretary-treasurer of an earlier general mission- 
ary endeavor than the present organization, was located 
here. True, in a few years the centre of activity, under 
the present organization went into the middle west, but 
it may be justly said that in Middle District the idea 
began and elsewhere it has been developed into its pres- 
ent large proportions. 

In Sunday-school growth, it is difficult to say what 
district was leader, — what district held the first conven- 
tion and so on. It, no doubt, is correct, that some other 
districts had a few conventions before this district had 
them. But it may be correctly said that Middle District 
was a leader in the development of Sunday-schools be- 

371 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



1780 1800 1820 1840 1860 1880 1900 



1781 Tie Kis 



1802 



172L 



lacoqulllas 



The C 



Lover 



}roup 



1865 



Dreek 



1858 



18 )0 The Early 



1820 



18 0Q The 



18781 



}roup 



1898 



1891 



1921 
1916 



n 



1911 
1911 



1917 
L917 



1878 



Yellcrr Creec Grou p 



187 5 



187 



18 



xL 



1 372 



i 



1916 
1916 

— I— 



1897 
l 



1893 ' 
l!K)7 l . 
llttll 
1U93, 



Dunoaisvillo Grou> 



1800 The Uarrio-s Mark Group i 



1801 i Bl ooi ling G 



Buffalo M: 



Church and members 

98 



20 

^_ Dry Valley 
J. Burnham 

Lewistown 

_ Spring Run 
_ Aughwick 
. Ardenheim 



Clover Creek 

Roar.Spg.(Cty) 

Albright 

Roaring Spg 

Fairview 

Williamsburg 

Smithfield 

James Creek 

Huntingdon 



100 
469 
344 
150 
60 

505 

160 
258 
145 
160 
77 
50 
586 



1924 
1922 



1882 



1907.1 
18<7. r 
18$4 .1 



•ove Congrega tion 



lis Congregation 



lk)9 
1&04 

—J 



i 



New Enterprise 452 



I 



1919 



Woodbury 

Claar 

Lower Claar 

Queen 

Dunnings Creek 

E Snake Spring 
Cherry Lane 
Koontz 
__ Artemas 

Yellow Creek 

_ Raven Run 

Riddlesburg 

_ Stonerstown 
. Everett 



Warriors Mark 
Juniata Park 
Bellwood 
Tyrone 

Blooming Grove 

Buffalo Mills 



A Graph showing the growth of the several congregations from their 

respective centres. 



323 

160 
60 
52 
99 

172 
94 

130 
95 

200 
95 
95 

235 

264 



Carson Valley 127 

Hollidaysburg 146 

Learner sville 140 

Altoona,lst 698 

Alt oona, 28th 202 



40 
345 
138 
114 



372 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

cause of the agitation through the weekly paper here, and 
she held conventions when it was not prudent to make 
report, — that a short time after Conference decided that 
conventions should not be held, she broke into expression 
again, quiet to be sure, and developed sentiment for them. 
This, however, is not all that may be observed con- 
cerning the district. If the reader will turn to the map 
on page 16 he will note that what is now the Middle 
District, was settled by brethren at seven different cen- 
tres. Study those centres geographically. Look at the 
graph of these congregations as revealed on the preceding 
page. Those centres are not so very far apart. Now, let 
it be observed that within a century and a quarter the 
church has grown but little beyond those centres. True, 
the mountains bound the district on both the east and the 
west. There was no " highway ' in either of these direc- 
tions. But how about southward? There are some 
marks of outreach in this large territory. Cherry Lane 
and Artemas show a good beginning for the effort of 
one congregation, — Snake Spring Valley, but is it un- 
fair to the situation to say that, had the district placed 
ministers in different sections of this unoccupied terri- 
tory, we might have five or more " Artemases ' instead 
of one? 

And the northern part of the district ! There is more 
territory north of Warriors Mark and Dry Valley con- 
gregations belonging to Middle District and untouched 
by the Church of the Brethren, than there is lying south 
of the same line, — a territory where the congregations of 
Middle District have always been located. If, as James 
A. Sell thinks, the Blooming Grove group was never 
really of Brethren origin, the pity is the greater. In the 
beginning of missionary endeavor he and others did try 
to plant the Gospel around Williamsport, but the encour- 
agement was not great, the support at home was weak 
and not well organized, and the territory was abandoned. 
True, the Dry Valley congregation, through her faithful 
ministry, for a long time carried on preaching at various 
points in Centre county, but this was done single handed, 
and was too great a burden for one congregation. 

After considering the foregoing, one is impressed that 
Middle District has not kept up the enthusiasm of her 

373 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

fathers. They came into the wilds, proclaimed the Gos- 
pel, organized churches in a loose but effectual way, en- 
dured hardships for which commendation cannot be too 
strong. But their children and grandchildren have been 
willing for the most part to settle down in their tracks 
and go no further. Of course, the churches have sought 
to fill up the gaps between these centres, — a noble, heroic 
work it has been. We have built church houses and or- 
ganized congregations in places a bit remote from the 
original centres. But look at the map again. All this 
good work has been done in the territory through which 
the fathers drove with ox-carts or horses and lumber 
wagons simply to attend a lovefeast in the adjoining con- 
gregation. Therefore, it may be justly asked, Has all 
this been the outgrowth of vision, or due to a desire for 
greater ease? There are a number of houses in congre- 
gations of this district, not five miles from each other, for 
perhaps no better reason than to have services " handier 
home." What seal of approval by the Holy Spirit would 
be indicated if in the course of a few years one, two or 
more of these houses so close to each other, should be sold 
or pass into disuse? Or what would have been the re- 
sults today, had these houses, through district co-oper- 
ation, been built beyond the centres noted on the map ? 
Or, further, what would have been the wonderful reaction 
on the district, had the congregations in real enthusiasm 
for saving a lost world, in addition to erecting these 
houses so close together, placed the same energies into 
planting congregations in the northern part of the state? 

And why did not the district reach out after that man- 
ner? Some members had vision, or no district board 
would have been organized, and the few attempts in 
earlier days to reach distant parts would not have been 
made. But this can hardly be said of the rank and file of 
the membership of the district. After all, did the writer 
of the introduction sense the situation correctly when he 
declares the northern part was not settled by the breth- 
ren for two reasons, one of which, he says, is, " This re- 
gion had not the fertility that agricultural settlers cared 
for." Is it a fact, then, that soil and not souls has been 
the ruling motive of too large a portion of the Church of 
the Brethren in Middle District of Pennsylvania? 

374 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Whatever may be the reader's answer to that question, 
let this history create a desire to reach out as we should. 
Or, is it too late? Is the northern half occupied by Chris- 
tianity of other communions and our opportunity is 
passed? 

If this be the answer, then what should Middle District 
awake to do? If, as is repeatedly said, she occupies some 
of the best farming lands of the district and state, should 
she not look well to reaching beyond her borders to the 
needy parts of the world? 

In this some very good effort has been made. This 
district has been supporting the General Mission Board 
fairly well. In addition, almost a quarter of a century 
ago, she took up the support of a foreign missionary and, 
through the years, raised about $500.00 a year for our 
beloved representative in India. But when, a couple of 
years ago, that worker, for the best of reasons, had to 
withdraw from the field, the district settled back, thus 
far, into not supporting any one. The Sunday-schools 
have redeemed the situation greatly by out-stripping the 
district's former giving in the payment of the Missionary 
Home, just completed. But, has Middle District met her 
missionary challenge as she had means and opportunity 
to meet it? 

The first part of this chapter discusses some first 
things that have occurred in this district. Is it right, 
however, to give credit to the district for these? Geo- 
graphically, yes. But did the district support the first 
weekly church paper and the one that soon followed? 
The facts are that these periodicals, as a " private enter- 
prise/' were carried forward by a few humble, fearless 
men who stood together in spite of the opposition to such 
commendable innovations. And what must be said of 
the school project of Juniata? There were those who 
stood faithfully by and helped when the odds were 
against the college. But, does not that very statement 
indicate that there were those who left Juniata alone, — 
severely alone, — yea, verily who opposed this child of 
their home district? 



375 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



GROWTH OF MEMBERSHIP IN MIDDLE DISTRICT 

1896 

Albright 

Altoona, First Church 130 

Altoona, 28th Street 

Ardenheim 

Artemas 

Aughwick 162 

Bellwood 

Burnham 

Carson Valley 78 

Claar 112 

Clover Creek 340 

Dry Valley, (Lewistown) .. 178 

Dunnings Creek 

Everett 66 

Fairview 75 

Hollidaysburg 

Huntingdon 96 

James Creek 88 

Juniata Park 

Koontz 

Leamersville 

Lewistown 

Lower Claar 

New Enterprise 275 

Queen 

Raven Run 70 

Riddlesburg 

Roaring Spring 

Smithfield 

Snake Spring Valley 231 

Spring Run 180 

Stonerstown 

Tyrone 19 

Warriors Mark 41 

Williamsburg 

Woodbury 200 

Yellow Creek 165 



1900 


1910 


1920 


1924 


• • • 


• • • 


114 


116 


218 


• • • 


609 


688 


• • • 


• • • 


100 


140 


61 


55 


42 


50 


50 


59 


68 


89 


165 


190 


184 


150 


83 


60 


81 


86 


• • • 


• • • 


• • 


95 


• • • 


75 


80 


80 


152 




115 


160 


207 


310 


436 


505 


222 


• • • 


120 


98 


• • • 


• • • 


99 


99 


66 


100 


212 


264 


115 


149 


134 


150 


• • • 


17 


132 


100 


• • • 


274 


400 


586 


88 


46 


44 


51 


• • • 


• • 


288 


345 


• • • 


• • • 


• • • 


115 


• ♦ • 


• • • 


• • • 


162 


• • • 


• • • 


253 


310 


• • • 




45 


50 


270 


285 


406 


452 


• • • 




• • • 


52 


66 


# # 


59 


• • • 


• • • 


30 


50 


95 


• • • 




258 


258 


• • • 


• • 


80 


77 


176 


243 


200 


230 


189 


200 


231 


320 


• • • 


62 


194 


229 


45 


87 


90 


90 


33 


42 


21 


33 






108 


135 


206 


218 


333 


323 


170 


118 


166 


200 



The foregoing table has been worked out, showing the 
membership as reported in the minutes of the District 
Meeting in the years indicated at the head of the columns. 
This table is as accurate and dependable as are the min- 
utes, the only source left from which to make such a 
revelation. 

Studying that table by comparing 1896 column with 
1924 column, a period of twenty-eight years, — almost a 
generation, — the following is revealed : 



376 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

First Church of Altoona and Huntingdon congrega- 
tions have increased over five fold. Everett and Tyrone, 
over four fold ; Fairview, two fold ; Clover Creek, New 
Enterprise, Spring Run, and Woodbury, over a half fold. 
Two congregations almost make a fifty per cent, growth. 
But the alarming thing is that seven congregations ap- 
pearing in the 1896 column have not grown any. Some 
have actually gone back. Does this not present a most 
serious situation, one that should absorb the best thought 
of the district? What can the district do with this 
problem ? 

But, another question arises out of this study of the 
history. Why has First Church of Altoona increased 
over five fold, with the supposed disadvantages of plant- 
ing the faith in the city, with the further observation that, 
looking over the Minntes of the District, one finds more 
queries and complaints against this congregation than 
any other in the district? Or, why is it that the Hunt- 
ingdon congregation (transient students are not counted 
in their membership) should increase over five fold when 
this congregation, because in part the college was located 
here, was not only without support of certain parts of the 
district, but was also subjected to much adverse criticism 
from the whole Brotherhood? Or, why is it that congre- 
gations against which no queries were ever sent to Dis- 
trict Meeting, which no Annual Meeting Committee ever 
visited with a view of discipline, have not grown, — some 
have even gone back? 

This history (whether wisely or not) has sought to 
throw a mantle of silence over the " troubles ' that have 
existed in the congregations. But, just the same, it is a 
fair question for study to ask, Have the people living in 
certain communities where the church has not increased, 
— barely held her own in numbers, — have these been pro- 
nouncedly irreligious? Or, have they sought their Christ 
in some other communion? And, if the latter is the cor- 
rect answer, then wherein lies the difficulty in these re- 
spective congregations of the Church of the Brethren? 

There are other phases of our district life and growth 
that the alert reader will work out, and grant that this 
may be done. There is just one more problem the editor 
wishes to point out. This history presents to Middle 

377 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

District the great importance of some organization being 
created that has the power to take hold of a congregation 
that is not growing, put its leader to work, or give it one 
that will, in the fear of the Lord, bring results. Surely, a 
number of congregations do not need such an organiza- 
tion. But they, through such a method, would be a 
strength to their weaker sisters, when now they are of no 
particular help. 

Our esteemed ministerial committee is trying to solve 
the problem of ministerial distribution, but is laboring 
under a serious handicap at this very point. It has not 
the power to touch the problem raised here. Yet there 
can be no question but there exists a grave problem as 
pointed out. It is here. If any interested reader is in 
doubt, let him go back to the table of growth of member- 
ship and make his own estimate. He will reach but one 
conclusion, — the need is so great that the solution is im- 
perative, and should be begun at once. 

One might say that in times past the Church of the 
Brethren has been Episcopalian in her administration of 
church government. Yet all the while she has adhered 
strictly to Congregationalism in the matter of choosing 
leadership in the respective congregations. True, there 
has been a kind of supervision in ordinations, but leader- 
ship is left entirely with the congregation. The results 
as revealed in this table, — as known to exist in the dis- 
trict, — are not satisfactory to any " bond-servant of the 
Lord Jesus Christ. " 

Middle District has the credit of doing first some things 
which have reached large proportions for good. Now, let 
her do another thing first, — a something greatly needed, 
not only in the Middle District, but in every state district 
in the Brotherhood — start a solution for better leadership 
in the needy congregations of our district. 



378 



PART THREE 



Biographical 



PART THREE 

Biographical 

In this part of the book it has been the aim to give 
biographical recognition, as far as information could be 
gotten, to every minister who has resided for a shorter or 
longer time in the present Middle District of Pennsyl- 
vania. For reasons, a few, not ministers, appear. 

ADAMS, David M., was elected to the ministry in the Roaring 
Spring congregation in 1904, and by that body ordained April 7, 1908. 
A few years since he became inactive in the ministry and thru a 
course pursued by himself he was relieved of his office at a special 
elders' meeting at Lewistown, August 30, 1922. 

BADGER, Moses, called to the ministry in the Dunnings Creek con- 
gregation, October 27, 1868. 

BAKER, John Snider, oldest of four children of John and Hannah 
(Snider) Baker, members of the Church of the Brethren, was born 
near Baker's Summit (Pa.), Febru- 
ary 20, 1840. His youth was spent 
on a farm near Snake Spring Valley 
Church, during which time he re- 
ceived a common schoool education. 
After his marriage he located on the 
old homestead and resided there till 
1895, when he moved to Everett. In 
1888 he fell from a loft in his barn 
and sustained injuries from which he 
never fully recovered. 

He united in marriage with Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Jacob and Mar- 
garet (nee Brech) Lingenfelter, 
members of the Church of the 
Brethren, Isaac Richey solemnizing 

the union on January 22, 1863. To them were born four children: 
Francis, Grant, Jacob, and Margaret Helen Baker. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake Spring 
Valley congregation, through baptism administered in 1875. This 
congregation called him to the ministry in 1878; and through the 
laying on of hands by George W. Brumbaugh and Jacob Koontz, he 
was ordained May 19, 1901. He was frequently a delegate to District 
Meeting. Being blessed with this world's goods, he delighted to aid 
in missions, the support of the Morrison's Cove Home and relief 
work abroad. He died April 12, 1923. Funeral conducted by Ira C. 
Holsopple and John S. Harshberger. Interment in the Ritchey 
Cemetery, Snake Spring Valley. 

381 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 




BAKER, Jonas D., seventh child of Daniel and Lydia (nee Kemp) 
Baker, was born December 10, 1886, near Grantsville, Maryland. 

His parents united with the Brethren 
Church soon after their marriage, 
and had the joy of seeing all their 
five sons and three daughters in the 
church, and one daughter, Florence, 
who married John M. Pittenger, a 
missionary to India. He has a com- 
mon school education supplemented 
by two years in Juniata College Pre- 
paratory Department, 1904-06. He is 
engaged in the lumber business at 
Fredericksburg. 

He was united in marriage with 
Mary Catherine, daughter of John 
and Emma (nee Enyeart) Detwiler, 
members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren in the Fairview congregation, the union being solemnized by 
William J. Swigart, June 25, 1910, at his home in Huntingdon, (Pa.). 
The bride had united with the Church of the Brethren, Joseph Snow- 
berger administering baptism May 20, 1897. She attended Juniata 
College four terms ; taught for several years, and is now a teacher in 
the Sunday-school. To this union is born Mary Virginia. 

While at Juniata, in the fall of 1904, he united with the Church of 
the Brethren, William J. Swigart administering baptism. His inter- 
est in religious work was not marked, however, till the fall of 1916, 
when he renewed his vows under the preaching of Mahlon J. 
Brougher in a revival in the Clover Creek congregation. At once he 
became active. Within two weeks he was elected teacher of an adult 
Bible class, and on November 10, 1917, was called to the ministry. 
He has served several times as delegate to District Meeting. Ad- 
dress, Martinsburg, Pa. 

BASHORE, John R., born near Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, March 
22, 1841, was twin to Peter, fifth and sixth of seven children of 

David and Mary (nee Ruble) Ba- 
shore, members of the Church of the 
Brethren. Reared on the farm, hav- 
ing only a limited education, he 
nevertheless applied himself to com- 
mitting many Scriptures, using the 
rest moments of field and home for 
this purpose. October 13, 1864, he 
was united in marriage to Fianna, 
daughter of Peter Shellenberger. 
Soon after both united with the 
church. This step meant great zeal 
for the Master. About 1884 he was 
called to the ministry in Juniata 
county; in 1890 moved to Altoona 
and two years later located in the 
Fairview congregation. At once he took deep interest in the Sunday- 




382 



m the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



school, where now the Smithfield church stands, superintended the 
school for over ten years, and laid the foundation for that congre- 
gation. Tho a man of affairs and successful in business, his religious 
life was so intense that, even in the busy seasons, rather than miss 
family worship he would rise an hour earlier. About 1904 he located 
in Martinsburg, and on April 20, 1909, passed to his reward. In his 
delirium just before his death he conducted a religious service com- 
plete, using for text Malachi 3 : 8, and invited sinners to confess 
Jesus. 

BATZEL, George: Steward, eighth and a twin in a family of ten 
children of John and Catherine (nee Burket) Batzel, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, was born 
near Yellow Creek, Bedford County, 
(Pa.)., April 17, 1875. He was 
reared on the farm and during most 
of his life made his living by farm- 
ing, and in the meantime represented 
the Grand Union Tea Company for 
twenty years. He had the benefit of 
a common school education. 

He was united in marriage with 
Mary E., daughter of George and 
Susan (nee Baker) Kinsley, John 
*Rush officiating at the wedding held 
in his home May 25, 1901. To them 
.have been born four sons and three 
daughters. 

In the Bethel congregation, in 1895, he united with the Church of 
the Brethren, John Rush administering baptism. Yellow Creek con- 
gregation called him to the deacon's office in 1903 ; to the ministry in 
1907; and, through Ira Holsopple and David Detwiler laying on 
hands, ordained him, in 1921. He has represented his congregation 
nine times at District Meeting. In recent years he has been success- 
ful as an evangelist, — has conducted some thirty-five revivals, baptized 
about three hundred, married thirty 
couples, preached over one hundred 
funerals. At present he is serving as 
pastor in the Long Meadow congre- 
gation of Maryland, his home being 
near Boonsboro. 



BEACH, Guy K., third of nine chil- 
dren of Adam and Catherine (nee 
Kochenderfer) Beach, the father a 
member of the Progressive Brethren, 
and the mother, of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born in Salemville, 
(Pa.), on December 21, 1889. After 
country school he attended New En- 
terprise Normal and the preparatory 

department of Juniata College. He taught school for five years and 
then entered the employ of the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, 





383 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Akron, Ohio, where he continues. During the World War he spent 
fifteen months in the Veterinary Service of the Army, ten months of 
which service was in France, three months in Germany and the 
balance of the time in Camp Wadsworth, South Carolina. 

He was united in marriage with Ethel Marian, daughter of Lewis 
and Laura (nee Woomer) Eyer, Tobias T. Myers solemnizing the 
union on June 24, 1919. To them are born one daughter and one son. 

In the New Enterprise congregation he united with the Church of 
the Brethren, David T. Detwiler administering baptism on December 
15, 1903. The same congregation called him to the ministry July 20, 
1913, and he was properly installed by David Stayer and Levi T. 
Stuckey, August 24, 1913. He has represented his congregation at 
District Meeting twice ; has been active in Sunday-school work, 
serving as teacher, assistant superintendent and member of the 
Sunday-school board. Under his present situation he is not active 
in the ministry. His address is 813 Coburn Street, Akron, Ohio. 

BIBLE, James W., a minister from one of the West Virginia con- 
gregations who located, in 1910, within the bounds of the Artemas 
congregation. He and other members have built up the work there 
until the Glendale church house was erected in 1910. His address 
is Flintstone, (Pa.). 

BECHTEL, Kenneth, oldest of three in the family of Daniel K. 
and Susan (nee Ritchey) Bechtel, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born in New Enterprise, (Pa.), July 25, 1898. He has 
had the privilege of going to school most of the time and preparing 
himself for religious work. At present he is attending Juniata 
College. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the New Enterprise 
congregation on Easter, April 4, 1915, and was baptized by Levi T. 
Stuckey. The same congregation called him to the ministry February 
22, 1919. He has been active in Sunday-school work, and served as 
district secretary during 1922-23. He did some pastoral work at 
Melcroft and at Nanty-Glo in the Western District of Pennsylvania. 

BECK, Jacob, was born in Warriors Mark Township, Huntingdon 
County, Pennsylvania, on July 6, 1790. School privileges in his day 
were meagre, but he made good use of the common schools avail- 
able. He made his living by farming. The Warriors Mark congre- 
gation of the Church of the Brethren called him to the ministry in 
1833, just four years after he was received into the church by bap- 
tism. He lived in his home congregation and closed his labors there 
August 2, 1870. 

BEERY, Charles O., the only son of Enoch and Mary (nee Jay) 
Beery, members of the Church of the Brethren, was born near 
Covington, Ohio, March 7, 1871. He had seven half brothers and 
sisters through his parents being married twice. After passing 
through common school he attended college two years and graduated 
from the Normal English course at Huntingdon in 1895. He then 
served as principal of the Boyce, (La.), high school two years. Later, 

384 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

while pastor at Tyrone, (Pa.), he was principal of the Snyder town- 
ship high school four years. He has about two years' college work 
to his credit. 

He was united in marriage with Lou Ella, daughter of George and 
Ursula Replogle, of Shenandoah, Iowa, on June 16, 1898, and to them 
were born five sons and three daughters. His wife died January 25, 
1914. On March 20, 1923, he was united in marriage with Sannie, 
daughter of David and Nancy Shelly, Williamsburg, Pennsylvania, 
Tobias T. Myers solemnizing the union. 

While attending school at Mt. Morris College, Illinois, on Novem- 
ber 10, 1889, he united with the Church of the Brethren, Tobias T. 
M}'ers administering baptism. On this occasion there were eight 
young men and as many young women to be immersed. Brother 
Myers administered baptism to the young men at the same instant 
that John G. 'Rover baptized the young women, first Brother Royer 
repeating the formula while each baptized his applicant and then 
Brother Myers — a very impressive service. Lou Ella Replogle was 
baptized at this time. 

The Pleasant Hill congregation (Ohio) called him to the ministry 
on September 2, 1897. While serving as pastor at Tyrone, (Pa.), 
through the laying on of hands by James A. Sell and George S. 
Myers, he was ordained, April 6, 1907. He has been a Sunday-school 
teacher for thirty-three years ; has served as pastor in Glade Run and 
Plum Creek congregations, (W. Pa.), the Geiger Memorial of Phila- 
delphia, (S. E. Pa.), and Tyrone and Juniata Park congregations of 
our own district. He represented his congregation at district meeting 
and General Conference many times, and served on the Standing 
Committee from Middle Pennsylvania at the Hershey Conference of 
1921. As a revivalist he has had the joy of serving in many congre- 
gations successfully. He enjoys getting into a weak and discouraged 
congregation and helping to revive them. His stronghold, both in 
pastoral and evangelistic work, is his personal contact. At present 
he is pastor of the Juniata congregation. Address, Juniata, Pa. 



BENNER, L^vi B., one of nine children of family of Jacob and 
Nancy (nee Burget) Benner, mem- 
bers of the German Reformed 
Church, was born at Martinsburg, 
(Pa.), September 16, 1857. He pre- 
pared himself for teaching in the 
public schools and during his life 
taught thirty-three terms. He held a 
state permanent certificate. Along 
with teaching he carried on truck 
farming not far from Duncans- 
ville, (Pa.). 

He was united in marriage with 
Christiana, daughter of John P. and 
Christine Hoover, on September 28, 
1879. To this union one son, Irvin 
H., was born, and he has become a 
school teacher. The wife died May 25, 1881. Brother Benner was 




385 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

married again, the second time in 1883, to Ida M., daughter of Daniel 
and Frances (nee Bossier) Royer. To this union was born one 
daughter, Pearl, who married Frank E. Brubaker. 

In the Clover Creek congregation, on January 20, 1880, he united 
with the Church of the Brethren, John W. Brumbaugh administer- 
ing baptism. The Carson Valley congregation called him to the 
ministry June 4, 1898, and through the laying on of hands by Brice 
Sell and John B. Miller he was ordained in the same congregation. 
He was active in Sunday-school, serving as superintendent eight 
years ; has represented his congregation at District Meeting twenty 
times and at General Conference three times. Due to a somewhat 
prolonged sickness, he passed to his reward November 12, 1924. 
William J. Swigart preached his funeral. Interment in the Carson 
Valley cemetery. 




BENNETT, John, oldest of eleven born to Israel M. and Susannah 
Martin Bennett, began life in Alleghany County, (Md.), October 25, 

1850. Early in childhood his parents 
moved to Bedford County, (Pa.), 
where he has lived all his life. 
Making good use of common school, 
one term in Alleghany Seminary, at 
Rainsburg, and two at County Nor- 
mal, in Bedford, he followed teach- 
ing for thirteen winters. Besides he 
has been farmer, merchant and post- 
master for Artemas for thirty-two 
years. 

October 19, 1873, he was united in 
marriage with Anna C, daughter of 
Isaac and Nancy (nee Martin) Sow- 
ers, at Silver Mills, (Pa.), James 
Pennell officiating. To them were 
born six sons and six daughters. The parents were privileged to 
enjoy their golden wedding with nine of their children and about 
250 friends. After the wedding feast all went to the church nearby 
and appropriate services were conducted, James A. Sell leading in 
the same. 

In June, 1874, he united with Christ in the Snake Spring Valley 
congregation, Jacob Steele baptizing him. Two years later the home 
group of members called him to the ministry, and on November 6, 
1897, through the laying on of hands by George W. Brumbaugh and 
John B. Replogle, he was ordained. Christ made him His devoted 
servant. For twenty-five years he has not missed a district meeting, 
and yet his was often the longest drive over very muddy roads. He 
served on Standing Committee at St. Joseph, Missouri, and twice at 
Winona Lake, Indiana. Being the only minister in four townships, 
he has solemnized marriages and preached funerals up into the hun- 
dreds. He was four years a member of the District Mission Board, 
and since 1901 a trustee of the Martinsburg House for the Aged. 

It can be truly said that he has been a spiritual father to the 
people of a very large territory, and from the beginning a faithful 



386 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

shepherd of the Artemas flock. Few in these days have done as 
much for the church for as little material compensation. His ad- 
dress, Artemas, (Pa.). 

BENNETT, Sylvanus, oldest of seven children of Robert Bennett, 
a farmer, was born in Southampton Township, Bedford County, 
(Pa.), on February 5, 1800. He was reared on the farm and had 
little opportunity for any education. 

He was united in marriage with Sarah Bennett. They were not 
blessed with children of their own, and took other people's children 
to raise. Among them was Israel M. Bennett, the father of John 
Bennett of Artemas, (Pa.). 

Sylvanus united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake 
Spring Valley congregation, which then included the southern por- 
tion of Bedford County. In 1851 he was called to the ministry by 
the same congregation and served his God as a pioneer preacher in 
the southern portion of Fulton and Bedford Counties. He made 
several preaching tours, — on foot, — as far east as Franklin County, 
(Pa.). He died August 25, 1855. His widow lived with Israel M. 
Bennett until her death in 1887. Both lie buried in Prosperity 
Cemetery. 

BENTON, Homer Soyster, third of four children of the family of 
Jacob U. and Barbara (nee Soyster) Benton, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born at McKee, Blair County, Pa.), February 
23, 1893. Besides common schools, he has a college education, grad- 
uating at Juniata College in the Arts course on June 16, 1916. To 
make a living he follows carpentering, holding good jobs as foreman. 

He was united in marriage with Mary Elizabeth, daughter of 
Harry H. and Susan (nee Claar) Graybill, of East Freedom, (Pa.). 

In the Leamersville congregation, through baptism administered by 
Brice Sell on February 12, 1905, he united with the Church of the 
Brethren. In the same congregation he was called to the ministry on 
August 11, 1912. In the Sunday-school he has been active, both as 
superintendent and teacher. He has represented his congregation at 
District Meeting three times. Address, Altoona, (Pa.). 

BERGER, Leah Baker, was born July 22, 1824, and on March 20, 
1845, was united in marriage with John Berger, Christian Lehser 
performing the ceremony. The young people located at Salemville, 
engaged extensively in farming, and prospered. Their only child 
died in infancy, but seven orphans were received into their home, five 
of whom grew to maturity under their care. Both were ardent 
members of the Church of the Brethren. Leah had good business 
ability, took an active part in the management of their affairs and 
after her husband's death, in 1890, continued their business success- 
fully. In 1889 she conceived the idea of erecting a church house in 
Salemville. Being constructed at her own expense and after her own 
ideals, the house stood out in a class by itself, in that it had a belfry 
and a good bell, — nicely furnished and carpeted and every con- 
venience for its day. There was no formal dedication, but Joseph Z. 
Replogle preached the first sermon, and her own husband's funeral 

387 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



was the first in the new house. Though favorable to Sunday-schools, 
for some reason none were held in her church during her life. She 
maintained the upkeep of the church till her death, and turned the 
property over to the New Enterprise congregation without any 
encumbrance. 




BLOUGH, Galen Roy, sixth of seven children of Simon and Agnes 
(nee Beahm) Blough, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 

born on a farm in Somerset County, 
(Pa.). His father died when he was 
three years old, leaving the mother 
with the large farm and a large 
family. She kept the family together 
until they were grown up. In due 
time Samuel P. Zimmerman became 
a step-father in the home and was a 
great help in rearing the children. 
After Galen graduated from the 
country schools in Somerset County, 
he attended local normals until he 
was prepared to teach in the public 
schools. He taught one term and 
then bought a part of the home farm. 
He was united in marriage with 
Amelia, daughter of David I. and Alice (nee Thomas) Thomas, 
Samuel P. Zimmerman solemnizing the union on October 13, 1917. 
To this union was born one son, Vergil Eugene, and one daughter, 
Oma Fern. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Maple Springs 
congregation, (W. Pa.), Isaiah B. Ferguson administering baptism 
November 1, 1909. The same congregation called him to the min- 
istry May 15, 1920. M. Clyde Horst and Edgar M. Detwiler had 
charge of the installation service. After he was elected to the min- 
istry he decided to prepare for that work. He took one year of 
Bible and then completed the preparatory course at Juniata College 
with the class of 1924. He has represented his congregation once 
at District Meeting and has been an active Sunday-school worker. 
For one year and a half he has had charge of the Beech Run con- 
gregation, an arm of the Aughwick congregation. He now serves 
the Bellwood congregation in the next year and continues his work 
in college. Address, Bellwood, (Pa.). 



BOOK, Isaac, called to the ministry in the Aughwick congregation 
May 18, 1869. Some time later he moved near Richmond, in Juniata 
County, within the bounds of what was then the Three Springs 
congregation. 

BOOK, Isaac Bruce, fourth of seven children of Edmund D. and 
Elizabeth (nee Long) Book, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born at Blain, Perry County, (Pa.), February 1, 1872. The 
father was a bishop and served the Perry County congregation about 



388 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

twenty years. The son was reared on the farm, attended public 
school, taught two years in Pennsylvania and one year in Iowa ; 
graduated in 1896 in the Normal English course and received his 
A.B. in 1900 in Juniata College. For fourteen years he taught in 
Manchester College, (Ind.), and then took up farming for a 
livelihood. 

He was united in marriage with Mae, daughter of William and 
Sarah (nee Myers) Stine, of Adel, Iowa, the union being solemnized 
by Frank McCune, Christmas, 1900. To them were born six chil- 
dren: Gertrude Elizabeth, Paul Edmund (deceased), Carl William 
(deceased), Orpha Adaline, Anna Ruth (deceased), and Beulah 
Esther. 

While attending school at Juniata College he united with the 
Church of the Brethren, W r illiam J. Swigart administering baptism 
on May 21, 1892. The Huntingdon congregation called him to the 
ministry February 17, 1897; the Manchester congregation had him 
ordained through the laying on of hands by Daniel Snell and Samuel 
Leckrone, June 1, 1911. His school work prevented him entering 
the evangelistic field very extensively. He has represented his con- 
gregation at District Meeting eight times ; at General Conference 
seven times; has served on the Standing Committee, Sedalia, 1920; 
Winona Lake, 1922; Hershey, 1924. Since 1890 he has served either 
as teacher or superintendent in the Sunday-school. When, in 1924, 
the General Conference decided to have a clerk whose term of office 
continues for three years, he was elected to that position. He resides 
near North Manchester, (Ind.). 

BOOK, Whxiam I., fourth of six children of Edmund D. and Eliza- 
beth (nee Long) Book, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near Blain, Perry County, (Pa.), June 9, 1875. His father was 
a bishop, and in that office served the Perry County congregation 
about twenty years. Besides the training William received at home 
in the public schools, he graduated from Juniata School of Educa- 
tion, 1896, and received from the University of Pennsylvania, B.S., 
1910; Ph.D., 1913. 

He was united in marriage with Zella, daughter of James and 
Sarah (nee Keller) Benedict, the union being solemnized by the 
bridegroom's father, June 11, 1901. 

In a series of meetings conducted by Tobias T. Myers during the 
Bible Term at Juniata College, in the early Spring of 1895, he united 
with the Church of the Brethren, Henry B. Brumbaugh administer- 
ing baptism. His home congregation (Perry County) called him to 
the ministry in 1897. While serving the Stonerstown mission the 
Raven Run congregation advanced him to the second degree, Walter 
S. Long officiating at the service. While he occasionally fills the pul- 
pit and gives addresses, he has chosen the teaching profession, and 
occupies the chair of Physics in the University of Pennsylvania. His 
home is at 72 Wynnedale Road, Narberth, (Pa.). 

BOWSER, John K., second of twelve children of James and Eliza- 
beth Bowser, members of the German Reformed Church, was born 
on a farm near Yellow Creek in 1850. His parents were farmers 

389 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




and gave their children the benefits of a common school education. 

John was also a farmer. 

He was first united in marriage with Eliza- 
beth Fishel, June 23, 1871. She died Decem- 
ber 7, 1896, and on April 24, 1902, he was 
married again, this time to Catherine A. 
Stayer. 

When about twenty-five years of age he 
united with the Church of the Brethren in the 
Yellow Creek congregation, and by it was 
called to the ministry, in 1888. Though never 
ordained, he was active in church and Sunday- 
school and was much loved in his congrega- 
tion. He died February 2, 1908. 

BRALIJER, Daniel, the third of twelve 
children of Emanuel and Mary (nee Liedy) 
Brallier, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, was born in Morrison's Cove, July 18, 1830. He received but a 
common school education and made his living farming. 

He was united in marriage with Susan, daughter of George and 
Maria Orner, on February 8, 1855. To them were born ten children 
as follows : Sadie J., married to John Wareham ; Abigal C, Hannah 
E., married to Frank E. Whitehouse ; George H., Charles E., William 
Q., Harry E., P. Pearl, married to William H. Kauffman, and 
Isaac B. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Manor congre- 
gation, Indiana County, (Pa.), in 1857, Samuel Liedy administering 
baptism. In 1859 this congregation called him to the deacon's office 
and the next year to the ministry. The Altoona congregation had 
him ordained through the laying on of hands by William Howe and 
Henry B. Brumbaugh, November 5, 1893. For many years he was 
teacher of the Men's Bible Class in the First Church in Altoona. He 
represented his congregation at twenty District Meetings and two 
General Conferences. He died December 27, 1905, and was buried in 
Fairview Cemetery, Altoona, (Pa.). 



BROWN, Jacob Ki^er, second of ten children of Abraham S. and 
Mary (nee Kifer) Brown, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born on a farm near Woodbury, (Pa.), February 12, 1852. He 
is a descendant, fourth generation, of Samuel Ullery, first bishop of 
Morrison's Cove.* He was reared and has made his living on the 
farm and enjoyed the privileges of a common school education. 

He was united in marriage with Ella, daughter of Abraham and 
Mary (nee Snively) Bowers, of Martinsburg, (Pa.), the union being 
solemnized by John Bowers, November 2, 1876. To them were born 
three sons and one daughter. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Woodbury con- 
gregation, John Replogle administering baptism in March, 1877. 



* Editorial item, Gospel Messenger, September 11, 1883. 

390 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

This congregation called him to the ministry, August 12, 1883, and 
had him ordained through the laying on of hands by John Bennett 
and George S. Myers, August 17, 1901. He has represented his con- 
gregation ten times at District Meeting and four times at General 
Conference. He was given the oversight of the Clover Creek con- 
gregation from May 9, 1908, to February 11, 1922. He has been a 
Sunday-school teacher for forty years. Address, Martinsburg, (Pa.). 

BRUBAKER, Daniel G., fifth of ten children of John and Amanda 
Brubaker, members of the Church of the Brethren, was born in Blair 
County, (Pa.), March 4, 1887. His training consisted of public 
schools, Bible Institutes and about twenty-three years of home study. 

He was united in marriage with Mary E., daughter of John H. and 
Catherine Hoover, the union being solemnized by Brice Sell at 
Leamersville, December 25, 1902. To them were born five sons and 
four daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Carson Valley 
congregation, James A. Sell administering baptism, in November, 
1900. This congregation called him to the deacon's office, October 
29, 1904; to the ministry, August 27, 1910. The Nocona congrega- 
tion, of Texas, through the laying on of hands by John A. Miller and 
another, had him ordained, May 6, 1918. He has served as pastor at 
Elk City, (Okla.), Wauwaka, (Texas), and Fruitdale, (Ala.), and 
has been permitted to baptize 206 into the Church of the Brethren ; 
has represented his congregation at District Meeting five times ; at 
General Conference two times ; served on the Standing Committee 
at Sedalia, (Mo.), and Winona Lake, (Ind.). His address is Fruit- 
dale, (Ala.). 

BRUBAKER, Frank Edward, fourth of fifteen children of the 
family of Jacob and Catherine (nee Plowman) Brubaker, members 
of the Church of the Brethren, was born at Sugar Run, Blair County, 
(Pa.), August 25, 1883. His parents were farmers and were not 
able to give him more than a common school education. In his 
young manhood he took an electrical job with the Pennsylvania 
Railroad Company and followed this until, about four years ago, he 
turned his attention to mercantile pursuits. 

Frank was united in marriage* with Pearle, daughter of Levi and 
Ida Benner, and to them is born one son. They have adopted one 
son and one daughter. 

In the Carson Valley congregation, Frank united with the Church 
of the Brethren, David D. Sell administering baptism on November 
26, 1897. His home congregation called him to the deacon's office, 
March 6, 1909; to the ministry, October 26, 1912; and, through the 
laying on of hands by James A. Sell and Joseph J. Shaffer, ordained 
him August 20, 1920. He has been an active Sunday-school worker, 
carried his share of the preaching in his home congregation, and 
represented his congregation at seven District Meetings and one 
General Conference. He and his wife accepted the management of 
the Children's Home at Martinsburg, (Pa.), and entered upon their 
new duties November 1, 1924. Llis address is Martinsburg, (Pa.). 

391 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

BRUMBAUGH, David, third of five children of John and Mary 
Elizabeth (nee Miller) Brumbaugh, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born on the headwaters of Yellow Creek, in Bedford 
County, (Pa.), September 5, 1797. The father was a farmer and 
minister, and the son grew up in that environment, and was known 
as a successful farmer for his day. 

He was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of Jacob and 
Catherine (nee Ulery) Snyder, in Snake Spring Valley, on April 26, 
1802. To them were born ten children, — Catherine, Jacob S., Eliza- 
beth, Martin S., John S., Susan, David S., Mary, Delilah and 
Simon S. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake Spring 
Valley congregation, September 26, 1823, and the same congregation 
called him to the ministry, January 12, 1827. His home, about one 
mile west of New Enterprise, was used for a meeting house before 
there was a church house in the early Yellow Creek (now New 
Enterprise) congregation. He died November 15, 1874. J. M. 
Brumbaugh and Jacob Miller preached at the funeral, using the 
text, Hebrews 13 : 14.* 

BRUMBAUGH, Ernest Acker, fifth of six children of the family 
of John H. and Nancy Jane (nee Acker) Brumbaugh, was born on 

a farm near " Fairview," Williamsburg, (Pa.), 
May 6, 1891. His mother was a member of 
the Church of the Brethren, and died when he 
was but four years old. Besides country 
school training, he was permitted to spend 
four years in Juniata College, and has been 
making public school teaching his occupation 
ever since. 

Through baptism administered by William 
IT. Holsinger, on October 18, 1913, during a 
revival held by Joseph J. Shaffer, in the Fair- 
view congregation, Ernest united with the 
Church of the Brethren. He has served as 
Sunday-school superintendent for the last six 
years ; was called to the ministry August 29, 
1914, and is assistant to the pastor of the 
congregation. He has represented his congregation at District 
Meeting five times. The Fairview congregation had him ordained 
through the laying on of hands by Charles B. Smith and Galen B. 
Royer, May 11, 1924. January 1, 1925, he accepted the oversight of 
the Fairview congregation. His address, Williamsburg, (Pa.). 

BRUMBAUGH, George, eighth of fifteen children of Jacob Brum- 
baugh, (six by his first wife, name unknown), George, the second 
child by his second wife, Elizabeth (nee Baker), was born on 
" Timothy Meadows," the old homestead farm in Penn Township, 
Huntingdon County, (Pa.), March 12, 1780. He succeeded his father 
in the homestead, where he made his living. 




* Genealogies of the Brumbaugh Families, 1913, Dr. Gaius M. Brumbaugh. 

392 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

He was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of Isaac and 
Barbara Bauer (Bowers), date unknown. To them were born five 
sons, — Isaac, Jacob, John, David, and Samuel. 

When George united with the church and was called to the min- 
istry is not recorded. He was bishop in the Church of the Brethren, 
was known as an exhorter and spoke in the German. His son, Isaac, 
succeeded him in the bishopric. " George Brumbaugh and Isaac 
Brumbaugh were also among the earlier laborers in this field. . . . 
George Brumbaugh, of Grafton, is at present bishop and George B. 
Brumbaugh and W. L. Spanogle, assistants." * George died of 
dyspepsia and hiccough, August 6, 1849, and was buried in the family 
cemetery on the elevation back of the orchard. 

BRUMBAUGH, George, seventh of twelve children of George and 
Susanna (nee Metzgaar) Brumbaugh, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Martinsburg, (Pa.), January 9, 1795. His 
father was a " farmer and also a minister of ability and considerable 
reputation; . . . the entire family were members of" the Church of 
the Brethren. The son followed the father on the homestead. 

He was united in marriage with Esther, daughter of Christian and 
Anna Hoover, and to them were born five children, — Christian H., 
Susannah H., Elizabeth H., Samuel H., and Esther E. The mother 
died in 1833. Later he married Elizabeth, daughter of James and 
Elizabeth (nee Loose) Daugherty, and to them were born nine chil- 
dren, — John D., Catherine D., Lydia D., Henry D., Jacob D., Isaac 
D., James D., Abraham D., and David D. 

" He served in the ministry about forty-seven years ; and was 
ordained about twenty-four years ago." f Eor six weeks he suffered 
much from dropsy of the chest, and died March 26, 1875. J 

BRUMBAUGH, George, third of six sons of the family of John and 
Catherine (nee Boyer) Brumbaugh, was born in Penn Township, 
Huntingdon County, (Pa.), February 11, 1854. His parents were 
members of the Church of the Brethren and the husband was first a 
deacon and then a minister. George availed himself of the advan- 
tages of the common schools of his day and one year as student in 
Williamsburg High School; taught seven or eight terms of public 
school; spent the early part of life on the farm, and later moved to 
Grafton, where he made his living making wagons and carriages 
that gave him a reputation as an honest workman. 

He was united in marriage with Fannie Elizabeth, daughter of 
Samuel and Elizabeth (nee Shellenberger) Myers, on June 6, 1859. 
To them were born Otis M., Samuel O., Ella Alice, and Anna Pearl. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the James Creek 
congregation, by it called to the ministry in 1857, and made bishop 
by the laying on of hands, April, 1872. He immediately was given 

* From History of Huntingdon and Blair Counties. Africa, 1883, and quoted 
by Dr. Gams M. Brumbaugh in his Genealogies of the Brumbaugh Families, from 
which this whole sketch is extracted. 

t From Jacob L. Winela.nd's obituary notice in Christian Family Companion and 
Gospel Visitor, 1875, p. 271. 

t Gleaned from Genealogies of Brumbaugh Families, 1913, Dr. Gaius M. 
Brumbaugh. 

393 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 

the oversight of the James Creek congregation, and continued till 
1897. "He was one of the promoters and assistant editor of the 
Pilgrim, published at James Creek, and after it removed to Hunt- 
ingdon," was a regular contributor to it and is successors till his 
death. He died August 18, 1899. George W. Brumbaugh preached 
his funeral. Interment in the James Creek Cemetery.* 

BRUMBAUGH, George Boyer, second of ten children of Jacob and 
Rachel (nee Boyer) Brumbaugh, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born on the " Tim- 
othy Meadows " homestead farm in 
Penn Township, Huntingdon County, 
(Pa.), July 12, 1834. Reared on his 
father's farm, attending school at the 
" Bowers school," one term in a sub- 
scription school at Marklesburg, in 
1849, he began to teach, and taught 
six terms of common school. In 
1865 he moved from Raystown 
branch to Marklesburg and engaged 
in the mercantile business for a num- 
ber of years. By court appointment 
he made survey of Marklesburg and 
served as borough engineer for many 
years. He was member of the first 
council of the borough, served as burgess and member of the school 
board. He was postmaster at James Creek (Marklesburg) twenty- 
four years. 

He was united in marriage with Martha P., daughter of Daniel 
and Mary (nee Peightal) Grove, November 21, 1855. To them were 
born four children, Amanda, Martin G., who was Governor of Penn- 
sylvania 1915-19; Frank, and Irvin. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the James Creek 
congregation at sixteen. In 1863 he was called to the ministry. Not 
only his home congregations received the influence of his messages, 
but he frequented Dist. and Gen'l Conf., where his voice was heard. 

When the end of life came, Christmas week, 1917, he was heroic 
and resigned. His death was only a sleeping and an awakening in a 
home he long had sought. He lies buried in family cemetery in the 
James Creek congregation. f 

BRUMBAUGH, George Wineland, last of four children of John 
and Elizabeth (nee Wineland) Brumbaugh, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born at Fredericsburg, (Pa.), August 6, 1827. 
He made his living farming and blacksmithing, — received a common 
school education, and with this equipment he made the best of life 
for himself and others. 

He was united in marriage with Elizabeth, daughter of George and 

* Taken from Genealogies of the Brumbaugh Families, by Dr. Gaius M. 
Brumbaugh. 

f Extracted from Genealogies of the Brumbaugh Families, 1913, Dr. Gaius M. 
Brumbaugh. 



394 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Mary (nee Shontz) Nicodemus, March 25, 1849. To them were born 

twelve children, — Susan B., Harriet N., married to Joseph Gates ; 

Mary N., married to Joseph E. 

Hagey (now deceased) ; Andrew B., 

Levi N., Keturah B. (deceased), 

Reuben N. (deceased), Samuel N., 

George D., Annie B., married to Levi 

Rhodes ; Maggie B., married to 

Harry Boone ; and Franklin N. 

He and his wife both united with 
the Church of the Brethren in the 
Clover Creek congregation early in 
life (about 1850) ; in 1855 he was 
called to the ministry; in 1862 ad- 
vanced to the second degree ; and in 
1888 ordained by his home congrega- 
tion. At once he entered upon his 
bishopric and served in that capacity 

until his death. He preached in both the English and the German 
languages. In all, he served in the ministry nearly sixty-two years. 
He attended many District and General Conferences. He died March 
10, 1916. James A. Sell preached his funeral, using for text Psalms 
92:12-24. Interment in Brumbaugh Cemetery (Clover Creek). 




BRUMBAUGH, Hsnry Boyer. fourth of six sons of the family 
of John and Catherine (nee Boyer) Brumbaugh, was born in 
Penn Township, Huntingdon County, 
(Pa.), April 1, 1836. His parents 
were members of the Church of the 
Brethren and his father a deacon and 
a minister of the James Creek con- 
gregation. Spending his early life 
on the farm, Henry made good use 
of his country school opportunities 
and continued his studies in Wil- 
liamsburg Academy and Cassville 
Seminary. He taught a few terms of 
school in his native county. Later in 
life he studied Greek and other sub- 
jects in Juniata College and taught 
the Bible. He was a trustee of 
Juniata College from the beginning 
and its president from 1886-'93. 

He was united in marriage with Susan, the daughter of Isaac and 
Elizabeth (nee Fink) Peightal. To them was born one son, I. 
Harvey. His wife died January 22, 1904. 

In the James Creek congregation (Pa.) he united with the Church 
of the Brethren on June 15, 1856. The same congregation ^ called 
him to the ministry June 24, 1864, and on August 14 following he 
preached his first sermon from John 11:25. He was advanced^ to 
the second degree, October 31, 1868. The Huntingdon congregation 
ordained him May 19, 1888. The following year he was given the 




395 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

oversight of the Huntingdon congregation, and continued until 
January 1, 1919. 

January 1, 1870, he and his brother, John B., issued the first num- 
ber of the Pilgrim from the James Creek postoffice. In December, 
1873, they moved the publication office to Huntingdon. On January 
7, 1876, with John B. Brumbaugh, they began the publication of the 
Young Disciple, and continued it till 1880, when it was consolidated 
with Our Sunday-school, published by Solomon Z. Sharp. In 1881 
the Young Disciple was renewed and continued at Huntingdon. 
These brothers consolidated (Oct. 31, 1876) the Pilgrim with The 
Primitive Christian, at that time edited and published by James 
Quinter, at Meyersdale, (Pa.). The new publication, Primitive 
Christian and Pilgrim, was published under the firm name Quinter 
& Brumbaugh Brothers. In June, 1883, a consolidation of the 
Primitive Christian and The Brethren at Work, at Mt. Morris (111.) 
was effected, and July 3 the first number of The Gospel Messenger 
was issued, with Henry B. Brumbaugh, eastern editor, and he con- 
tinued in that position until his death. Besides his editorial work he 
was the author of the Church Manual and a book of Biblical ro- 
mance called Onesimus, 1909. He was also one of the editors of the 
Religious Department of the Standard Dictionary published by Funk 
and Wagnalls. 

With the co-operation of Dr. Andrew B. Brumbaugh and his 
brother, John B., the}' planned and made Juniata College real. He 
was a trustee from the beginning; served as President of the Board 
of Trustees from 1888 and was its continual inspiration and help 
until, through old age, he became incapacitated. After eighty-three 
years, two months and twenty-seven days of pilgrimage on this 
earth, on June 28, 1919, he passed quietly to the beyond. William J. 
Swigart, his life-long co-laborer, spoke on the occasion of the funeral 
and his body rests in Riverview Cemetery, Huntingdon. 



BRUMBAUGH, Hsnry Holsing£r, fourth of eight children of the 
family of John Dougherty and Hannah (nee Holsinger) Brumbaugh, 

members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born on a farm near 
Martinsburg, Blair County, (Pa.), 
October 4, 1862. In addition to com- 
mon school training he attended nor- 
mals and several spring terms at 
Juniata College, and thereby pre- 
pared himself for public school 
teaching. He has been engaged in 
teaching, superintending mines and 
supervisor of schools for Broad Top 
Township for twenty-seven years. 

He was united in marriage with 

Emma Cora Victoria, daughter of 

John and Mary (nee Pote) Mohr, on 

October 4, 1892, Rev. Ephraim Dutt 

solemnizing the union. To them have been born four sons, two of 

whom have grown to maturity and are deacons in the church. The 




396 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

mother was confirmed at the age of fourteen and remained a mem- 
ber of the Lutheran Church until 1922, when she joined her husband 
in the Church of the Brethren. 

In the Upper Claar congregation he united with the Church of the 
Brethren, September 25, 1882, through baptism administered by John 
B. Replogle. The Raven Run congregation called him to the min- 
istry, May 23, 1903, and the Riddlesburg congregation, through the 
laying on of hands by Brice Sell and John R. Stayer, ordained him, 
February 18, 1917. He has been a leader in the Sunday-school where 
he lived and an organizer and mainspring of the Riddlesburg con- 
gregation. Frequently he represented his congregation at District 
Meetings, and three times at General Conference. He resides in the 
Riddlesburg congregation and is engaged in school work. Address, 
Defiance, (Pa.). 

BRUMBAUGH, Irvin Bkchtkl, fourth of five children of the fam- 
ily of David and Susan (nee Bechtel) Brumbaugh, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, was born near Grafton, (Pa.), December 
16, 1866. He received a common school education, and has been 
actively engaged in farming most of his life. He has served as 
school director for twelve years. 

He was united in marriage with Rachel G., daughter of Michael 
and Nancy (nee Park) McCall, John B. Brumbaugh solemnizing the 
union on October 15, 1891. To them were born two children, Delia 
M. and John M. 

Irvin united with the Church of the Brethren in the James Creek 
congregation, George Brumbaugh administering baptism. This con- 
gregation called him to the ministry, June 17, 1899, and while he and 
his wife are actively engaged in church work and the church and the 
District would wish him ordained, he has modestly declined the re- 
sponsibility. Address, Grafton, (Pa.). 

BRUMBAUGH, Isaac, first of five children of George and Mary 
(nee Bowers) Brumbaugh, was born on the old "Timothy Mead- 
ows" homestead in Penn Township, Huntingdon County, (Pa.), on 
April 26, 1802. His parents were members of the Church of the 
Brethren and his father a bishop. Isaac grew to manhood on his 
father's farm, making use of common school advantages afforded in 
those early days. 

He was united in marriage with Sussanna Peightel, and to them 
were born nine children. After marriage he located on a part of the 
homestead, which became his home the remainder of his life. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the James Creek 
congregation ; was called to the ministry and ordained to the bishop- 
ric before the organization of the congregation in 1858. The new 
congregation made him overseer, which position he held until his 
death. He was spoken of as being " particularly remembered as a 
sincere and earnest minister . . . for more than a quarter of a 
century." He died November 4, 1871, and was buried in the Brum- 
baugh cemetery.* 



* Gleaned from Genealogies of Brumbaugh Families, by Dr. Gaius M. Brumbaugh. 

397 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



BRUMBAUGH, Isaac Harvey, the only child of Henry B. and 
Susan Fink (nee Peightal) Brumbaugh, was born in Penn Town- 
ship, Huntingdon County, (Pa.), 
March 10, 1870. He received his 
early education in the Huntingdon 
public schools and Juniata Col- 
lege. Through pursuing his stud- 
ies the following degrees have 
been conferred upon him: A.B., 
Haverford College, (Pa.), 1892; 
A.B., Harvard College, 1895; A.M., 
1899; University of Jena, sum- 
mer of 1896; Litt.D., Ursinus 
College, 1920. 

He was united in marriage with 
Amelia Henrietta, daughter of 
Samuel Martin and Ellen (nee 
Bulfinch) Johnson, of Cambridge, 
(Mass.), on April 26, 1900. To 
them were born one son (deceased) 
and three daughters. 

He was instructor in Latin and 
Greek in Juniata College, 1892-4 ; 
professor of Latin, 1895-1911 ; served as Acting President of 
the college, 1899-1911, and President, 1911 -'24. During 1924-5 
he is continuing his graduate study at Columbia Universitv, (N. 
Y. City). 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Huntingdon 
congregation, on February 28, 1885, his father administering baptism. 
The same congregation called him to the ministry, October 29, 1904, 
and had him ordained November 7, 1904, through the laying on of 
hands of Walter S. Long and Samuel J. Swigart. 




BRUMBAUGH, James Dougherty, sixth of nine children of the 
family of George and Elizabeth (nee Dougherty) Brumbaugh, mem- 
bers of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born on a farm near Frederics- 
burg, Blair County, (Pa.), July 6, 
1850. He received a common school 
education and made his living on 
the farm. 

He was united in marriage with 
Annie, daughter of John and Sallie 
(nee Dougherty) Gouchenour, No- 
vember 24, 1870, the union being 
solemnized by John W. Brumbaugh. 
To them were born twelve children, 
as follows: David B. (deceased), 
Sarah E, married to Hugh M. Wal- 
ter; Edward B. (deceased), Rebecca 
M., married to Henry Bare ; Charles 
A., John H., Martha M., married to M. Levi Beach (deceased) ; 




398 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



George A., Ida Catherine (deceased), Margaret F., Jennie G., and 
Minnie P. (deceased). 

In the Clover Creek congregation, in 1869, he united with the 
Church of the Brethren. In 1874, the Claar congregation called him 
to the deacon's office; in 1885 to the ministry; and then, in the 
Clover Creek congregation, Martinsburg house, through the laying 
on of hands by George S. Myers and Jacob C. Stayer, he was or- 
dained in 1908. He served for a term of years as bishop of the 
Albright congregation. He died August 20, 1922. Thirty ministers 
attended his funeral, on which occasion John B. Miller preached. 
Interment in the Clover Creek cemetery. 

BRUMBAUGH, John, third of seven children of the family of John 
Jacob and Mary Elizabeth (nee Angle) Brumbaugh, was born on the 
Conococheague, four miles north of Hagerstown, (Md.), in 1768. 
The father was born about 1728, as an orphan landed in Philadelphia, 
August 31, 1750, and built and resided in perhaps one of the oldest 
houses in Frederic County. About 1789 he located near the head- 
waters of the Yellow Creek, in Morrison's Cove, where he made his 
living farming. 

He was united in marriage with Mary Elizabeth Miller, and to 
them were born five children, — Daniel, Mary, David, Jacob S., 
and Eve. 

He was a minister in the Early Yellow Creek congregation, and 
died May 20, 1829 * 

BRUMBAUGH, John, was born in 1793. His father migrated to 
this country, in 1754, from Germany. At an advanced age he died 
from that dread disease, canccr.f 

BRUMBAUGH, John, third of five sons of the family of George 
and Mary (nee Bowers) Brumbaugh, was born on the old homestead, 
called " Timothy Meadows," in Penn Towmship, Huntingdon County, 
(Pa.), January 11, 1809. His parents were members of the Church 
of the Brethren, and his father a bishop, designated as an " exhorter," 
who always, when preaching, spoke in the German. John lived on 
the farm all his life. He was a great smoker until he was seventy, 
when, because he thought his example not good, he decided to quit, 
saying, " I will die rather than be overcome by it." During the re- 
mainder of the seventeen years of his life he did not use tobacco. 

He was united in marriage with Catherine, daughter of Henry and 
Catherine (nee Roberts) Boyer, April 6, 1830. To them were born 
six sons, — Benjamin, David B., George, Henry, Isaac, and John B. 
(The reader will at once recognize the Brumbaugh brothers, publish- 
ers, in this list.) The church first called John to the deacon's office; 
later to the ministry, in which capacity he labored until his death, 
May 25, 1896. His body lies in the Brumbaugh cemetery.^ 

* Gleaned from Genealogies of Brumbaugh Families, 1913, Dr. Gaius M. 
Brumbaugh. 

t Editorial, Gospel Messenger, 1894, No. 14. 

X Extracted from sketch in Genealogies of Brumbaugh Families, 1913, Dr. Gaius 
Brumbaugh. 

399 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




BRUMBAUGH, John Boykr, last of six children of the family of 
John and Catherine Boyer Brumbaugh, members of the Church of 

the Brethren, was born on a farm 
four miles south of Grafton, Hunt- 
ingdon County, (Pa.), March 14, 
1848. After passing through common 
schools his desire for higher educa- 
tion, in a day when such a thing was 
looked upon as wrong, was so strong 
that he " went away " to Kishacoquil- 
las Seminary, out from Lewistown a 
few miles, in Big Valley; then to 
Millersville Normal, in October, 1872 ; 
to Shippensburg Normal and Crozer 
Theological Seminary. In his early 
life he made his living on the farm ; 
later in the printing business, edito- 
rial work and preaching. 
He was united in marriage with Eleanor J. Van Dyke, December 
24, 1874. When the Pilgrim moved to Huntingdon he came along 
and made his home in that city all his days. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the James Creek 
congregation, in 1865, his brother, George Boyer Brumbaugh, admin- 
istering the rite of baptism. The Huntingdon congregation called 
him to the deacon's office, September 30, 1882; to the ministry, Janu- 
ary 18, 1889; and, through the laying on of hands by Edmund Book 
and George Bashore, he was ordained May 29, 1897. He represented 
his congregation a number of times at District Meeting, and twice at 
General Conference. He was a member of the Standing Committee 
of General Conference at Springfield, (111), in 1906. His ministry 
was decidedly missionary and his services in the District were felt 
through his oversight of the Stonerstown congregation for twenty- 
two years, and the many " mission points " where he went to preach. 
He served as a member of the District Mission Board for fifteen 
years. During 1 Q 03 to 1910, inclusive, he served as pastor of the 
Huntingdon congregation. 

Perhaps his largest service to God and fellow man was his long 
service in the publishing business. He joined his brother, Henry, in 
the publication of the Pilgrim, in the year 1869, and helped to develop 
sentiment in favor of church publications against a very strong op- 
posing current. He was called west to Mt. Morris, (111.), and occu- 
pied the chair of office editor of the Gospel Messenger during the 
time Daniel L. Miller was abroad on one of his trips. For many 
years he was associate editor of this periodical. 

He took an active part in the founding of Juniata College through 
the Normal which Jacob M. Zuck established. His part was the 
unseen footing of the foundation, so essential to the great super- 
structure in every great enterprise. Until his death he continued to 
be a trustee of the college and a special supporter of the Bible 
department. 

When, through a long, lingering illness, he was no longer able to 
walk, his faithful wife pushed him in the wheeled chair to the 



400 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

trustee meeting, the official meeting, the occasional convention ; regu- 
larly his chair stood in the middle aisle of the church at prayer- 
meeting and on Sunday at all the services. Many gave him a word 
of cheer and appreciation, and his reply was a smile. Finally the 
hand of God relieved him of his suffering on June 11, 1922, and he 
passed into peaceful rest. His body lies in Valley View Cemetery, 
at James Creek. 

BRUMBAUGH, Eleanor J., second of fifteen children in the family 
of Archibald and Esther Swigart Van Dyke, ordained members of 
the Church of the Brethren, was born near McVeytown, Mifflin 
County, (Pa.), April 27, 1854. Her girlhood was spent on the farm, 
going to country school, and " working out " ; later, as a school 
teacher, then as typesetter in the Pilgrim office. It was while in this 
last position that she met John Boyer Brumbaugh and was united 
with him in marriage, December 24, 1874. No children blessed their 
home, but they took an orphan to raise and in later years, though a 
helpless invalid, yet no child of their own could possibly have re- 
ceived better motherly care than did this orphan till she died. Her 
home had not long been established until it received Jacob M. Zuck 
into it, — in those formative days, when no salary was paid, she and 
her husband provided for the founder of the Normal which has 
since blossomed into Juniata College. 

While yet living in the Spring Run congregation, on May 6, 1866, 
she united with the Church of the Brethren, Peter S. Myers admin- 
istering the baptism. She started the Sunday-school that now flour- 
ishes in the Huntingdon Church ; has been active in church and 
Sunday-school — teaching, leading in song-service, correspondent to 
the church paper for many years, now and then writing a few 
stanzas of poetry highly devotional, and once representing her con- 
gregation at District Meeting. She was also leader in formulating 
sentiment for missions, both home and foreign, a charter member of 
the Sisters' Aid Society, and one of the few who did Aid Society 
work before any organization was known in the Brotherhood. 

The closing years of her husband's life were marked with unusual 
affliction and helplessness, and under this burden she never flinched. 
Finally, on June 11, 1922, he was relieved of his suffering, while she 
continues to live " up stairs " at 1700 Mifflin Street, smiling and 
doing for others while waiting to go home. Here are lines written 
by her, October, 1923, worthy a place in connection with this sketch: 

NEARER HOME 

We have passed the radiant noonday, and the twilight has begun, 
Through the shadow, see the beauty of a glorious setting sun ! 
We are nearer to the river, loved ones crossing, one by one ; 
And WE are going home. 

Brighter grows the heavenly pathway ; dimmer now the scenes of earth ; 
Light at evening time is promised, bringing peace of rarest worth. 
Hark, the heralds of the Bridegroom, with the message, " Go ye forth ! " 
And WE are nearer home. 

By and by, the gates will open., and the Lord Himself will come. 
What a blessed day of gladness ! But a day of grief for some, 
And He comes to take us with Him, when our work on earth is done, 
Take us to that happy home. 

401 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Now the " harbor-bar is nearing," and the city lights appear ! 
See, the hands of loved ones beckon, as they gather on the shore ! 
O, the joy of dwelling with them, and onr Lord, forevermore ! 
Halleluia ! Halleluia ! Home, sweet Home ! 

BRUMBAUGH, John D., fourth of six children of Josiah M. and 
Lucinda (nee Billing) Brumbaugh, a minister in the Church of the 
Brethren, was born in Clover Creek, Blair County, (Pa.), August 7, 
1891. He attended grade and high school in Bellwood and gradu- 
ated from the preparatory department of Juniata College in 1909. 
After teaching several years in the public schools of Logan Town- 
ship, Blair County, (Pa.), he entered mercantile business in Juniata, 
(Pa.), where he is now manager of the J. D. Brumbaugh Company. 

He was united in marriage with Alma E., daughter of James B. 
and Ida (nee Troxel) Nelson, the union being solemnized by Harry 
H. Rasher, at Roaring Springs, May 26, 1916. Their home has been 
blessed with two children, John Nelson, Junior, and Dorothy Helen. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Bellwood con- 
gregation, baptism being administered by his father, in 1903. The 
Juniata Park congregation called him to the deacon's office, April 
10, 1921 ; and to the ministry, November 30, 1924. Since he 
united with the church he has been active as a Sunday-school 
worker, serving as superintendent five years. Address, 701 Second 
Street, Juniata, (Pa.). 

BRUMBAUGH, John H., fourth of seven children in the family of 
Samuel and Elizabeth Hoover Brumbaugh, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born on a farm near Henrietta, Blair County, 
(Pa.), February 24, 1853. He had the privileges of a common school 
education, which was supplemented by unusual native talent that in 
his day made him a leader. His occupation was farming, in which 
he was quite successful. 

He was united in marriage with Rebecca Anne, daughter of Daniel 
and Virginia (nee Davis) Metzker. To them were born three sons 
and seven daughters. 

In his early manhood he united with the Church of the Brethren 
and became a zealous worker for the Master. Sunday-school re- 
ceived his hearty support. The Fairview congregation, in which he 
was living, called him to the ministry, May 14, 1894, and later on, 
May 30, 1908, he was ordained. He represented the congregation at 
District Meetings a number of times, and was delegate to General 
Conference several times. He enjoyed the confidence of his people. 
After middle life he wandered from his Father's house and has not 
yet returned. 

BRUMBAUGH, John W., born April 7, 1823, was the son of John 
Brumbaugh, born in the year 1793, whose father came from Germany 
in 1754. He was reared and spent his life near the place of his 
birth, — Martinsburg, (Pa.). He was a successful miller, but though 
through life he accumulated some property, his love for his Lord and 
his brethren led him to go hither and thither exhorting people, until 
he closed life with very small estate. 

402 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 




He was united in marriage with Margaret 
Nicodemus, April 21, 1844, and to them were 
born two sons and one daughter, who sur- 
vived him. 

When he united with the Church of the 
Brethren is not known, but Clover Creek 
called him to the ministry on September 28, 
1849, and had him ordained, through the laying 
on of hands by John Holsinger, Isaac Brum- 
baugh and Jacob Steele, August 24, 1867. 
During his active period it was rare that he 
missed a District or Annual Conference. " His 
love for the church and her doctrines was full 
and deep, and because of his loving disposition 
and consecration of heart, he greatly enjoyed 
the association of the membership and spent 
much time in traveling and preaching." * 

BRUMBAUGH, Josiah B., the only son of David H. and Margaret 
Burget Brumbaugh, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near Henrietta, Blair County, 
(Pa.), September 1, 1861. His child- 
hood on the farm, his youth helping 
in his father's foundry, his love for 
reading and good advantages in the 
common school were the steps until 
nineteen years old, when he began 
school teaching, a profession he fol- 
lowed for twenty-five years. He 
also invested in mercantile pursuits, 
largely conducted by his wife while, 
during the day, he was teaching. 

He was united in marriage with 
Lucinda, daughter of John H. and 
Susan Dilling, of Clover Creek, 
(Pa.), on June 6, 1882, John W. 
Brumbaugh officiating. Two sons and four daughters blessed 
their home. 

While living in the Clover Creek congregation he united with the 
Church of the Brethren, George W. Brumbaugh administering bap- 
tism on October 18, 1882. There he was called to the ministry on 
Christmas, 1893. Six years later (the Spring of 1899) he moved his 
family to Bellwood, (Pa.), and took charge of that infant congre- 
gation. He spared no efforts for the cause there for eleven years. 
On August 28, 1910, the family moved into a new home built in 
Juniata. While residing here he spent his Sundays preaching some- 
where, either at home or elsewhere. The Lord had an incessant 
worker in this servant. He officiated at many weddings and was 
called far and near to preach funerals. But a complication of dis- 
eases was reducing him. No longer able to leave his room, he read 

* Extracted from Gospel Messenger editorial, 1894, No. 14. 




403 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



and prepared sermons which he never preached: for, on November 

12, 1916, he passed away. Walter S. Long conducted the funeral 

service at Juniata, using 2 Samuel 3 : 38 ; the Holy Spirit saw fit to 

lead James A. Sell to use the same text at the Clover Creek Church, 

yet the duplication was not known until the services were over. His 

bodv lies in the Brumbaugh Cemetery. 

— i 

BRUMBAUGH, Martin Grove, third of five children of the family 
of George Boyer and Martha (nee Peightal) Brumbaugh, members 
of the Church of the Brethren, was born on a farm near Grafton, 
Huntingdon County, (Pa.), April 14, 1862. Early in life he chose the 
profession of teacher and prepared as follows : Juniata College, B.E., 
1881; M.E., 1883; B.S., 1885; M.S., 1887; University of Pennsyl- 
vania, A.M., 1894; Ph.D., 1895. Besides, he has received honorary 
degrees as follows: LL.D., Mt. Morris College, (III), 1901; Franklin 
and Marshall, (Pa.), 1902; Pennsylvania, 1911; Pittsburgh, 1916; 
Maine, 1919; Litt.D., Lafayette, 1915; L.H.D., Susquehanna, 1917. 

He served as superintendent of schools, Huntingdon County. 
1884-90; president of Juniata College, 1895-06; superintendent of 
school in Philadelphia, 1906-15; State Conductor of Teachers' Insti- 
tute in Louisiana, 1886-91 ; first commissioner of education, Porto 
Rico, 1900-02; professor of pedagogy, University of Pennsylvania, 
1895-1900 and 1902-06; Governor of Pennsylvania, January, 1915, to 
1919. In addition, he is a member of a number of historical societies 
and the author of the following: History of the Brethren, Juniata 
Bible Lectures, Standard Readers (five vols.), The Making of a 
Teacher, Life and Works of Christopher Dock, Story of Roosevelt, 
Editor of Lippincott Educational Series, Member of Pennsylvania 
State Board of Education. 

He was united in marriage, in 1884, with Annie, daughter of Edwin 
Konigmacher, of Ephrata, (Pa.), and to them were born one son 
and one daughter. The wife died in 1914. His second marriage is 
with Flora, daughter of George Parks. 

While attending Brethren's Normal in Huntingdon, on the evening 
of the clay (May 11, 1879) that Jacob M. Zuck died, he was received 
into the Church of the Brethren by baptism, administered by Henry 
B. Brumbaugh. The Huntingdon congregation called him to the 
ministry, November 14, 1891, and advanced him to the second degree 
in 1893, James A. Sell officiating. He was a member of the Confer- 
ence committee that planned and carried out the Memorial Exercises 
of the Bicentennial of the Church in 1908; has been called upon a 
number of times to address the General Conference, and was always 
greeted with overflowing audiences. Perhaps his largest service to 
the church is his History of the Brethren, often quoted and highly 
prized by the church, and his articles which appear in the Gospel 
Messenger. 

Since his service as Governor he has given his time to the plat- 
form, delivering educational and historical addresses to interested 
audiences. 

However, on Commencement day, 1924, the trustees of Juniata 
College announced that he had unanimously been elected President 
of the College. President I. Harvey Brumbaugh had voluntarily re- 

404 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

signed in his favor. He not only accepted the invitation of his Alma 
Mater, but with his wealth of experience and the deep set religious 
ideals set in his soul by Juniata, he took charge of his new duties, 
December 1, 1924. The inaugural, on January 29, 1925, with its large 
concourse of his friends, who are also friends of Juniata, was a 
splendid token of the esteem with which he has been received back 
into the Juniata family. His address is Huntingdon, (Pa.). 

BRUMBAUGH, Moses Robert, the oldest of seven living children 
of Henry D. and Sarah (nee Gouhonour) Brumbaugh, members of 
the. Church of the Brethren, was born in Martinsburg, Blair County, 
(Pa.), August 21, 1864. He took advantage of a few years of train- 
ing in the common schools, then turned his attention to farming until 
he was twenty- four. Since then he has been engaged in merchan- 
dising and served during 1912-1916 as county treasurer. 

He was united in marriage with Sarah Florence Steward, Novem- 
ber 13, 1890, Benjamin F. Shetron performing the ceremony. To 
them five sons and four daughters were born, — Charles A., Henry R., 
David E., Robert L., William E., Minnie M., Sarah Irene, Susan A., 
Carrie E. The mother died December 9, 1910. He was united again 
in marriage, the second time with Mrs. Jenetta Miller (formerly 
Smith), of Greenville, Ohio, the union being solemnized by Benjamin 
F. Sharp, on November 11, 1924. 

In the Clover Creek congregation, through baptism administered 
by George W. Brumbaugh, he united with the Church of the Breth- 
ren. This congregation called him to the ministry, February, 1910; 
and, through the laying on, of hands by John R. Stayer and David T. 
Detwiler, he was ordained June, 1914. He has represented his con- 
gregation many times at District Meeting and six times at General 
Conference. He has been active in Sunday-school work, being 
called upon to serve as superintendent for twenty years. During 
1909 he was vice-president of the fifth district State Sunday-school 
Association. He served as a member of the District Mission Board 
during 1913-'18. In 1920 he was called to be overseer of the Albright 
congregation, which position he still holds. In 1921 the General Con- 
ference made him a member of the Child Rescue Committee. When 
chosen for the ministry he took it up at once and makes this com- 
ment upon this calling : " The ambition of my ministry has been to 
preach the Word as it is written. I never read sermons, — have no 
commentary nor Bible dictionary. I have prepared all my sermons 
by reading the Word, praying for the Holy Ghost to dictate. But I 
feel sure my work could have been very much more effective if I had 
the advantage of an education." His address is Martinsburg, (Pa.). 

BRUMBAUGH, Samuel I., second of six children of Jacob and 
Mary Ann (nee McCarson) Brumbaugh, members of the Church of 
the Brethren, was born in Liberty Township, Bedford County, (Pa.), 
May 21, 1866. His educational training is very limited. He has 
made a good living as railroad track foreman and farming. 

He was united in marriage with Phoebe, daughter of John and 
Mollie Switzer, David A. Clapper solemnizing the union in his home, 
October 11, 1888. To them were born two sons and one daughter, 

405 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




and the wife died October 7, 1899. On October 7, 1901, he was 

united in marriage with Lizzie, daughter of John T. and Minnie 

(nee Weaverling) Burket, David A. 
Stayer solemnizing the union. To 
them was born one son. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren in the Raven Run congre- 
gation, in 1890; by that congregation 
called to the ministry, October 6, 
1894, and ordained in the Fall of 
1903, through the laying on of hands 
by William S. Ritchey and David A. 
Stayer. He has been active in 
Sunday-school in the capacity of 
teacher for many years, and has had 
the privilege of baptizing 144 into 
church membership. He has repre- 
sented his congregation at District 

Meeting many times, and at General Conference, twice. His home 

is in Saxton, (Pa.). 

BUCK, Charles L., second of five children of the family of David 
F. and Barbara (nee Longanecker) Buck, was born northwest of 
New Enterprise about four miles, July 11, 1843. His father was a 
member of the Church of the Brethren; his mother of the Seventh 
Day Baptists. When six years old, his parents moved to the farm at 
New Enterprise, (Pa.), where he remained till his death. He had 
the advantages of a common school education. Through an inherited 
physical infirmity he was not rugged and could not endure much 
exposure or violent exercise. He made his living, however, in the 
mercantile business for a number of years, and then managing 
his farm. 

He was united in marriage with Hannah Amanda, daughter of 
Jacob and Hannah (nee Stephens) Over, living near New Enterprise. 
Inasmuch as they were not blessed with children of their own, they 
took two to raise and gave them a good home. Both he and his 
wife, on May 7, 1876, united with the Church of the Brethren in the 
New Enterprise congregation, Jacob Miller administering baptism. 
This congregation called him to the ministry, June 13, 1877, and, 
through the laying on of hands by two of the following bishops who 
were present — Jesse Calvert, John S. Holsinger, John W. Brum- 
baugh, Jacob Miller, Jacob Koontz and John L. Holsinger — he was 
ordained February 16, 1887. He presided over the New Enterprise 
congregation from December 10, 1893, to April 19, 1912, and was a 
staunch supporter of all her activities. From 1902 to 1911 he was 
a member and treasurer of the Board of Trustees of Morrison Cove 
Old Folks' Home. He entered into rest April 19, 1912. William J. 
Swigart preached his funeral. 

His wife, Hannah Amanda, the ninth of eleven children, was born 
near New Enterprise, (Pa.), in 1846. Her parents were members of 
the Reformed Lutheran Church, and died when she was small. She 
spent her girlhood days among strangers and relatives. She at- 

406 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

tended public school during the winter, and a term or more at Mil- 
lersville State Normal. She was a teacher in the primary department 
of the Sunday-school for over forty years. Surviving her husband, 
and their entire estate falling into her hands, she made disposition 
of it as follows : 

Juniata College, $5,000.00; Bethany Bible School, $2,000.00; Or- 
phans' Home, Huntingdon, $3,270.00: Morrison's Cove Old Folks' 
Home, $3,270.00; Mission Board of Middle Pennsylvania, $3,270.00. 
She died April 21, 1916, and lies buried beside her husband in the 
New Enterprise Cemetery. 

BURGET, Andrew BolgEr, was born in North Woodbury Town- 
ship, Blair County, (Pa.), July 5, 1843. He is the youngest of seven 
children born to Adam and Catherine (nee Bolger) Burget. His 
mother died and his father married the second time, to Anna Ken- 
singer, and to this union two children were born. Andrew is the only 
one living of the nine children. He was reared on the farm, was given 
a common school education and has made his living by farming. 

He was united in marriage with Elizabeth Brumbaugh, on June 21, 
1865, George W. Brumbaugh solemnizing the union. To them five 
children were born. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren by baptism admin- 
istered by George Brumbaugh, in October, 1869. This occurred 
while attending a lovefeast at James Creek, an adjoining congrega- 
tion to where he lived. Clover Creek congregation called him to the 
deacon's office in 1875; to the ministry, October 25, 1884; and, by the 
laying on of hands by George S. Myers and David Stayer, ordained 
May 9, 1908. He was an active Sunday-school worker, serving as 
superintendent ten years ; represented his congregation at District 
Meeting six times and to General Conference five times. He and 
his wife reside in Fredericksburg; address, Martinsburg, (Pa.). 

* 

BURKHOLDER, Wealthy Agnes Clark, fourth in a family of 

twelve children of William F. and Diana Houck Clark, was born 

near Broad Top City, Huntingdon County, 

(Pa.), September 13, 1849. Her father made 

no religious profession ; her mother was a 

member of the Methodist Episcopal Church 

early in life, but did not train her children in 

that faith. When twelve years old her parents 

moved near Shirleysburg, (Pa.), within the 

bounds of the Aughwick congregation. 

Through reading borrowed Gospel Visitors 

she became acquainted with the doctrine of 

the Church of the Brethren; through the 

preaching of Abram L. Funk, John Spanogle, 

John Glock, and others, and the personal 

touch of Mrs. Mark Funk Masemore, " a 

lovely Christian woman and warm personal 

friend," she decided to unite with the Church 

of the Brethren and was baptized by John Spanogle, April 3, 1864, 

when but fourteen years old. Those who know the ideals of those 

407 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 

days will marvel that one so young should have been admitted into 
church membership, but it also shows the aggressive attitude of this 
congregation. 

Her mother not being strong, Wealthy received but little common 
school education. December, 1870, she entered the home of Henry 
B. Brumbaugh, of James Creek, to learn to set type and work in the 
Pilgrim office; in 1876 she was made editor of the Young Disciple, 
and continued in that position four years. These years were form- 
ative ones in the history of the Normal, and she took an important 
part in starting the infant institution. She was one of the five in 
the first Sunday-afternoon Bible class ; was the first woman to pur- 
chase " stock " in the Normal ; the first woman admitted to its 
literary society, and wrote and read the first essay in that organiza- 
tion. Beginning August 30, 1879, she spent two years in the Breth- 
ren at Work office, in Lanark, (111.) ; taking charge September 1, 
1887, she served as matron in the Brethren's Normal, in Huntingdon, 
(Pa.), for two years. 

She was united in marriage with Daniel C. Burkholder, of Fan- 
netsburg, (Pa.), on March 4, 1884. Henry B. Brumbaugh, assisted 
by James Quinter, performed the marriage ceremony. She and her 
husband opened the Old Folks' Home of Southern District of Penn- 
sylvania, May 26, 1908, and remained until 1910. Then they returned 
to the old home at Newburg, where her husband died February 2, 
1917. A year later she took supervision of the " Home " for another 
year; but her health did not permit her to continue. After a few 
3'ears of retirement at Shippensburg she has come back to the scenes 
of her early womanhood and is living in quiet retirement. 

BUTTS, J. Elmer, second of four children of the family of William 
A. and Alice M. (nee Bowser) Butts, was born in Altoona, (Pa.), 
October 11, 1891. His mother was a member of the Church of the 
Brethren. After completing Academy at Juniata College, 1916, he 
entered college and received his A.B., 1920. He has since done 
graduate work at the Pennsylvania State College and Columbia 
University, receiving, at the latter place, his A.M., 1925. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Koontz congre- 
gation, December, 1907, David T. Detwiler administering baptism. 
This congregation called him to the ministry, October, 1912. He 
has, however, felt the call of a teacher, and is pursuing that voca- 
tion. He has taught in South Woodbury Township two years, and 
in Morrison Cove High School five years. Address, Loysburg, (Pa.). 

CASSADY, John H., second child of seven children of the family 
of William and Ismeme (nee Lyon) Cassady, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born near Greenland, Grant County, (W. Va.), 
October 24, 1871. His parents being farmers, John spent his boyhood 
days on the farm and going to public school and State Normal at 
Fairmount, (W. Va.), so that at nineteen he began to teach school. 

He was united in marriage with Meribah Virginia, daughter of 
Simon and Sarah (nee Lyon) Idleman, of Maysville, (W. Va.), on 
June 24, 1896, and to them have been born four sons and three 
daughters. 

408 




in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

During a revival in Greenland congregation, (W. Va.), conducted 
by Silas Hoover, of Somerset, (Pa.), he accepted Christ and united 
with the Church of the Brethren, 
through baptism administered by 
Dennis Clark, December 24, 1895. 
The Luney's Creek congregation 
(W. Va.) called him to the deacon's 
office, April, 1897; the Huntingdon 
congregation, while he was attending 
college, called him to the ministry, 
March 2, 1903; and, through the lay- 
ing on of hands by Perry J. Blough, 
the Roxbury congregation (W. Va.) 
had him ordained. 

After their marriage, both he and 
his wife continued to teach for two 
years, when, through her influence, 
they moved to Huntingdon. He en- 
tered Juniata preparatory department and completed the Normal 
English course in 1902; then the Arts course, receiving his A.B. in 
1906. This was a hard struggle for, without resources from which 
to draw, he pushed his way through school and made a living for 
his family. After two years as principal of the Yeagertown schools, 
he accepted the pastorate of the West Johnstown congregation. 
When the family moved there, in 1908, there were four houses and 
a membership of 285. He divided his time equally among the four 
places, and in the six years following, as he and his wife labored 
there, he preached 1,313 sermons, held sixty-one weeks of evangel- 
istic meetings in his own congregation and thirty-nine weeks in other 
congregations, and had the joy of seeing the membership increased 
to 1,178. During this period, in total, he received 2,120 people into 
church fellowship. September 1, 1914, he entered upon the pastorate 
of the Huntingdon congregation, and served this church for three 
years, during which time the membership was doubled. On Septem- 
ber 1, 1917, he resigned to accept the position of financial secretary 
of Juniata College, which position he held until June 1, 1923. 

During these years of ministerial labors, such congregations as 
Shippensburg, (So. Pa.), Greensburg, Somerset, and Windber, (W. 
Pa.), received from him special help at a critical time in their prog- 
ress, — work of a type few could render. He has helped to " put over ' 
the financial program for a number of the larger and costlier church 
houses at the time of dedication. His evangelistic labors, both East 
and West, have been signally blessed with large ingatherings. 

For two years he has had his business headquarters in Philadel- 
phia, while his family lives in Huntingdon. During this time he has 
preached almost every Sunday, mainly for the Calvary Church of the 
Brethren, in Philadelphia, and led it from a struggling mission into 
an organized congregation supporting a pastor. Address, Hunting- 
don, (Pa.). 

CASSADY, Maynard Lamar, oldest of six children of John H. and 
Meribah (nee Idleman) Cassady, members of the Church of the 



409 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




Brethren, and he a bishop, was born near Greenland, (W. Va.), May 
11, 1897. He had the advantages of the Johnstown public schools, 

graduated from Juniata Preparatory depart- 
ment, 1915; from the college, receiving his 
A.B., in 1919; from Princeton Theological 
Seminary, Th.B., 1923; from Princeton Uni- 
versity, A.M., 1923; and also received from 
the same institution the Gelston Winthrop 
Fellowship in Church History, and spent four- 
teen months during 1923-24 in Europe, study- 
ing in Berlin and in Tubingen. 

In the Roxbury congregation, (W. Pa.), 
he united with the Church of the Brethren by 
baptism administered by J. Frank Dietz, Octo- 
ber 25, 1908. The Huntingdon congregation 
called him to the ministry, May 31, 1918. Dur- 
ing the summer of 1922 he served as pastor of 
the Woodbury congregation, (W. Pa.), and 
during 1923 at Pottsville, (S. E. Pa.). While teaching in Juniata 
College, during the year 1924-25, he is under engagement to sail for 
China during the summer of 1925 to engage in teaching in the Shan- 
tung Christian University at Tsienan Fu. His address is Hunting- 
don, (Pa.). 

CLAAR, Abraham Ickes, eighth of a family of twelve children of 
Joseph and Esther (nee Ickes) Claar, members of the church of the 

Brethren, was born near Claysburg, Blair 
County, (Pa.), November 11, 1847. He availed 
himself of common school training and, dur- 
ing his manhood, made a living at blacksmith- 
ing and keeping a general store. 

He was united in marriage with Marian 
Martha, daughter of Andrew and Rebecca 
(nee Oldham) Mock, the union being solemn- 
ized by Samuel A. Moore at New Enterprise, 
(Pa.), on July 2, 1871. To them were born 
eleven children. 

#1 K^B ^ n the Clover Creek congregation lie united 

m with the Church of the Brethren, in November, 

|^ MP ! 1870, Leonard Furry administering baptism. 

The Upper Claar congregation called him to 
the deacon's office in 1885 ; to the ministry, 
January 24, 1890; and, in 1898, through the laying on of hands, had 
him ordained. He was delegate to both District and Annual Con- 
ferences a number of times. He was a lover of song and served 
often as leader of church and Sunday-school singing. While yet 
very active he was called to his blessed reward on May 19, 1915. 
Funeral was held in the Queen Church, conducted by Walter S. 
Long, of Altoona, (Pa.), and he lies buried in the Upper Claar 
Cemetery. 




mw^> 



CLAAR, Michael son of Jacob and Matilda (nee Moorhead) Claar, 

410 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

was born near Queen, (Pa.), April 22, 1837. He was reared on the 
farm, and had received very little education. 

He was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of Jacob and 
Susan Musselman, on October 21, 1855. To them were born four- 
teen children. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in what is now the 
Claar congregation, in 1863; it called him to the ministry, October 
21, 1877; advanced September 20, 1879, and ordained in 1898. He 
gave himself much to evangelistic work, as well as being the only 
minister in the home congregation for a long time. As an evangel- 
ist on one occasion he preached sixty sermons in fifty-seven days. 
Near the close of his life he was almost blind. He died January 15, 
1918. Brice Sell preached his funeral sermon. His body lies buried 
in the Claar Cemetery. 

CLAPPER, David STEELE, third of six children of Henry and Han- 
nah (nee Steele) Clapper, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born at Clearridge, Bedford County, 
(Pa.), September 2, 1846. He was reared on 
the farm and received a common school edu- 
cation. He has made his living by farming 
and gardening. 

He was united in marriage with Susannah, 
the daughter of John and Barbara (nee Zook) 
Teeter, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, on November 19, 1869. To them were 
born two sons and six daughters, one of 
whom is Viola Grace, a missionary to China. 
Others are : John H., Laura, Willard L., Iva 
B., Nellie M., Harriet A., and Lena G. 

He became a member of the Church of the 
Brethren in the Yellow Creek congregation, 
when seventeen years old. In the Snake 

Spring Valley congregation he was called to the ministry, September 
29, 1871. Those present at the service were Samuel Lidy, of Indi- 
ana County; John W. Brumbaugh, Joseph 
Snowberger, Jacob Miller, Daniel Snowberger, 
and J. W. Replogle.* He was ordained in 
1887. He died June 30, 1914, at Scalp Level, 
(Pa.). His funeral was preached bv Harvev 
S. Replogle. Text, " It is finished," John 19 : 30. 
Interment in Berkey Cemetery, five miles from 
Scalp Level. 

CLAPPER, Henry, was born near Yellow 
Creek, February 16, 1822. Pie grew up on the 
farm and made good use of the school facili- 
ties of his day. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the Yellow Creek (then Hopewell) congre- 





* S. A. Moore's report in Christian Family Companion, October 17, 1871. 



411 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

gation. Here he was called to the ministry in 1858. Thirty years 
later he was ordained to the bishopric and had the oversight of his 
home congregation until 1894. He was a real shepherd of the flock 
and took great interest in the sick. He died May 18, 1897, and his 
body lies buried in the Yellow Creek Cemetery. 

CLAPPER, Joseph H., sixth of twelve children of the family of 
Nathaniel and Annie E. (nee Boor) Clapper, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born near Yellow Creek, (Pa.), December 27, 
1885. While reared on the farm, he made such good use of his op- 
portunities for knowledge that he taught six terms of country school. 
He, however, has made his living on the farm. 

He was united in marriage with Bertha M., daughter of Andrew 
B. and Mary A. (nee Hall) Creps, the union being solemnized by 
W. W. Barnes, April 9, 1907. To them have been born one son and 
eight daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Yellow Creek 
congregation, baptism being administered by Samuel Ritchey, in 
November, 1907. His home church called him to the ministry, Janu- 
ary 31, 1914, and had him ordained, through the laying on of hands 
by Ira C. Holsopple and John S. Hershberger, in October, 1921. He 
has represented his congregation at District Meeting six times ; at 
Annual Meeting four times. Besides doing his part in the ministry 
of the home congregation, he has been active in the Sunday-school 
field, and holds several revivals each year. His address is Yellow 
Creek, (Pa.). 

CLAPPER, Viola Grace, seventh of eight children of David Steele 
and Susannah (nee Teeter) Clapper, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born near Yellow Creek, Bed- 
ford County, (Pa.), February 23, 1887. Her 
father was a bishop. After passing through 
common school, she entered Juniata College, 
and completed the Normal English course, 
1909; attended Bethany Bible School, (Chi- 
cago), and received her B.S.L., 1917. At 
present she is at Juniata, working on her 
college course, to better fit herself for her 
chosen work. 

She united with the Church of the Breth- 
ren in the Everett congregation, in May, 
1899, John S. Harshberger administering 
baptism. She spent six years as a mission- 
ary in the Church of the Brethren's Mission 
in Shansi, engaged in Educational Mission- 
ary work at Showyang. 

CORLE, Oliver S., youngest of eleven children of Martin and 
Elizabeth (nee Bowers) Corle, members of the Evangelical Church, 
was born at Pavia, Bedford County, (Pa.), February 7, 1866. 
Through his application in the common schools and summer nor- 
mals, he lacked one-half grade for professional certificates. He has 

412 




in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

made his living first at day labor, then school teaching, and is now 
directing the manufacturing of handles. 

He was united in marriage with Emma J., daughter of Henry and 
Ellen (nee Shoemaker) Horner, the union being solemnized by J. 
Ellis Bell, on February 22, 1888. To them were born four sons and 
four daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren about 1891, in the 
Dunnings Creek congregation, John B. Miller, of New Paris, admin- 
istering baptism. The Dunnings Creek congregation called him to 
the ministry about 1898, and had him ordained about 1907. He has 
done some evangelistic work and some fifty-five have united with 
Christ through his direct personal effort. His work in the Sunday- 
school has been that of a teacher. His home is in Fishertown, (Pa.). 




COX, Charles L., fifth of six children of the family of James S. 

and Anna S. (nee McAfee) Cox, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born in Warriors Mark, (Pa.), 

September 30, 1881. After finishing the grades 

he spent one year in Juniata College, and then 

taught thirteen years. He is now engaged in 

the mercantile business in Frugality, (Pa.). 

He was united in marriage with Sara Maude, 
daughter of John R. and Elizabeth (nee Hark- 
ness) Lehman, members of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, the union being solemnized 
by Ellsworth M. Aller, the bride's pastor, at 
Warrior's Mark, on November 27, 1902. To 
them were born four sons and three daughters. 

While attending Juniata College, he united 
with the Church of the Brethren, William J. 
Swigart administering baptism, in February, 
1901. The Tyrone congregation called him to 
the ministry, June 29, 1913. He has represented his congregation at 
District Meeting five times, — has always been active in Sunday- 
school and served as Superintendent 
in the Tyrone Sunday-school for 
three years, and at Frugality six 
years ; — has been active in supply- 
ing various churches of the District 
during such times as they had no 
regular pastor. His home is at Fru- 
gality, (Pa.). 

COX, Ralph H., last of six children 
of James S. and Anna S. (nee 
McAfee) Cox, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, and the 
father a deacon, was born near War- 
riors Mark, (Pa.), January 3, 1886. 
Besides High School training he has 
had Bible work by correspondence. 

He was united in marriage with Viola E., daughter of John and 




413 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Harriet (nee Chronister) Beck, the union being solemnized by Peter 
R. Keltner, November 23, 1910, at Rockford, (TIL). To them were 
born three sons and one daughter. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Warriors Mark 
congregation, baptism being administered in the Spring of 1904, by 
William Howe. Tn the Rockford congregation (N. 111.) he was 
called to the deacon's office in 1914; to the ministry in December, 
1916; and, through the laying on of hands by John E. Miller and 
Samuel S. Plum, he was ordained, December, 1918. He has repre- 
sented his congregation eight times at District Meeting and once at 
General Conference. He has given his life to pastoral work and has 
served in that capacity in the Rockford congregation, (N. 111.), 
March, 1917, to 1919; in the Root River congregation, (Minn.), May, 
1919, to April, 1923. During the winter of 1919 he took up pastoral 
work in the Cherry Lane congregation. As a Sunday-school worker 
he has filled every office in the school and was president of the Fil- 
more County, (Minn.), Sunday-school Association for one year. 
Address, Everett, (Pa.), R. 3. 

COX, Samuel Marshall, one of nine children of Joshua and Eliza- 
beth (nee Spanogle) Cox, formerly members of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, but later united with the Church 
of the Brethren, was born near Warriors 
Mark, (Pa.), April 9, 1816. He was reared on 
the farm and there made his living. He had 
only a common school education, but was a 
great student of the Bible, and used the Word 
with power. It is said if one quoted a verse 
from the New Testament he would locate it 
and very often complete the chapter from 
memory, having in his earlier years memorized 
the greater portion of the New Testament. 

He was united in marriage with Nancy 
Agnes, daughter of John and Elizabeth (nee 
Grazier) Beck, Christian Long solemnizing 
the union. To them were born six sons and 
five daughters. 
In 1838 he united with the Church of the Brethren by baptism ad- 
ministered by Christian Long. In 1855 Warriors Mark congregation 
called him to the deacon's office; October 15, 1856, to the ministry; 
and later, through the laying on of hands by Christian Long and 
Jacob Beck, he was ordained. Once in the ministry, his zeal for the 
Lord took him forward in many a good work in Huntingdon, Cam- 
bria, Bedford, and Blair Counties. He was in part instrumental in 
establishing the Altoona congregation. He represented his congre- 
gation at District Meeting and General Conference a number of 
times. He was bishop of the Warriors Mark congregation for up- 
wards of twenty-five years. When eighty-three years old, in a run- 
ning stream, in the month of November, he administered baptism to 
seven adults. At about the age of eighty-six his eyesight failed him, 
so that he could not read, a great affliction, because he found so 
much comfort in reading. His motto reflects well the life of the 

414 




in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

man: "Have communion with few, be intimate with one, deal justly 
with all, speak evil of none." After the death of his wife, May 23, 
1894, he lived with his two daughters, Mrs. Annie McCartney and 
Mrs. Ella C, Coleman, of Juniata, (Pa.). On November 29, 1906, 
when within a few months of ninety years of age, he passed to his 
haven of rest. Walter S. Long, of Altoona, (Pa.), preached his 
funeral sermon, assisted by Joseph W. Wilt and H. Mathews, of the 
Presbyterian Church, the latter a lifelong friend of the deceased. 

CROSSWHITE, Albert Graham, sixth of a family of ten children 
of Jesse and Lavina (nee Thomas) Crosswhite, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, was born in Washington County, (Tenn.), 
on December 28, 1857. His father was active in church work, having 
the oversight of several churches in Tennessee. Albert received a 
Normal English education at Maryville and Jonesboro, (Tenn.), and 
taught twelve terms of public school. 

He was united in marriage to Addie Treadway, daughter of Addi- 
son and Elizabeth (nee Hickey) Treadway, on June 8, 1881, at 
Embresville, (Tenn.), John M. Wolfe, Methodist minister, officiating. 
To them were born one son and four daughters. 

In the Limestone congregation, (Tenn.), on January 28, 1877, he 
united with the Church of the Brethren, Solomon Arnold administer- 
ing baptism. The Oakland congregation, (Tenn.), called him to the 
ministry, Autumn, 1879, and the Flora church, (Ind.), had him or- 
dained in 1899, William S. Toney and Jacob Cripe laying on hands. 

He has represented his congregation at District Meeting fifteen 
times and at Annual Meeting ten times. He served on the Standing 
Committee at Harrisonburg, (Va.), and Bristol, (Tenn.), both of 
which conferences he served as writing clerk. 

He was editor of the Conference Daily six times, moderator of 
District Meeting twice, and served a term of five years each on the 
following boards : Tract Committee, The General Educational 
Board, and as secretary of the Mission Board of Middle Indiana. 

The greater part of his life has been spent in pastoral work. In 
this capacity he has served congregations as follows : Upper Twin, 
CO.), from 1887 to 1897; Bachelor Run, (Ind.), 1897 to 1913; Roar- 
ing Spring, (Pa.), 1913 to 1918; Rocky Ford, (Colo.), to 1920; Peru, 
(Ind.), 1920 to present. He has also served in non-residence the 
following congregations : Logansport, Huntingdon, Pyrmont, White, 
Adamsboro, Mexico, and Roann, all of Indiana. For several years 
he was engaged in evangelistic work, and received hundreds into the 
church by baptism. He solemnized more than four hundred mar- 
riages and the list of funerals conducted by him is even larger. 
Address, Peru, (Ind.). 

CULLER, Arthur J., oldest of two children of John and Amanda 
(nee Kurtz) Culler, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near Hartville, (O.), March 14, 1883. His desire for an educa- 
tion led him to enter Juniata College, where he received the A.B. 
degree in 1908. He took the B.D. degree in Union Theological Semi- 
nary in 1911, and the Ph.D. in Columbia University in 1912. His 
life work is teaching, preaching and lecturing. 

415 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 






He was united in marriage with Mary S., daughter of Emory J. 
and Annie (nee Stevens) Stover, the union being solemnized by 
Daniel W. Kurtz, on September 28, 1911. To them were born three 
sons, of whom the oldest is dead. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Freeburg con- 
gregation, on June 12, 1895, being baptized by Joseph J. Hoover. 
The Huntingdon congregation (Pa.) called him to the ministry, June 
27, 1907. While pastor of the McPherson congregation (Kan.), he 
was ordained through the laying on of hands of Eleazar E. John and 
Joseph J. Yoder, January 17, 1915. He represented his congregation 
at nine District Meetings and seven Annual Meetings. He has 
served as pastor as follows: Everett, (Pa.), September, 1906, to 
April, 1907; Altoona, (Pa.), supply pastor, May to September, 1907; 
Plum Creek, (Pa.), May to September, 1908; Geiger Memorial con- 
gregation, Philadelphia, (Pa.), September, 1911, to August, 1914; 
McPherson congregation, (Kan.), September, 1914, to August, 1921. 
He served as campaign director for Armenian Relief and repre- 
sented the Church of the Brethren from January 1, 1919, to January 
26, 1920, in Turkey; was member of the General Temperance Com- 
mittee, 1917-21, and chairman from 1918-21; was a member of the 
Conference committee to prepare a church manual, 1920-21 ; of the 
Conference committee to provide suitable and suggestive forms for 
the installation of deacons and ministers and the ordination of 
preachers, 1918-19, and was regular instructor at the Bible Institutes 
of the General Conference. 

On September 1, 1921, he withdrew from the Church of the Breth- 
ren and united with the Christian (Disciples) Church, and accepted 
a position in their college at Hiram, (O.), where he is at present 
dean and professor of New Testament and Church History. He is 
a member of the Prayer Meeting Topics Committee of the Inter- 
national convention of the Disciples of Christ, and is the author of 
the Bethany Bible Student and Teachers' Monthly, — the official senior 

and adult Sunday-school publication 
of the Disciples of Christ. His resi- 
dence is Hiram, (O.). 

DETWILER, Andrew J., third of 
eight children of John and Emma 
(nee Enyeart) Detwiler, members of 
the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near Williamsburg, (Pa.), July 
14, 1874. He attended public school 
and six terms at Juniata College, 
taught two terms of school, and for 
a living is engaged in mercantile 
pursuits and the manufacture of 
forest products. 
Pie was united in marriage to 
Anna Cenora, daughter of Jacob and Hannah (nee Reiff) Bolton, 
members of the Church of the Brethren, the union being solemnized 
by Abram L. Grater, October 31, 1907. The bride had united with 
the Church of the Brethren in First Philadelphia congregation, 




416 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



March 22, 1902. Besides common schools, she completed a business 
course in Banks Business College and nine months' training in the 
Episcopal Hospital. To this union were born four children, — How- 
ard B., Gladys Ruth, Andrew Leon, and Byron Lee, all members of 
the church. 

While at Huntingdon attending college he united with the Church 
of the Brethren, about 1898. The Fairview congregation called him 
to the ministry, June 10, 1900. He has represented his congregation 
at District Meeting twice; served as superintendent about eight 
years and has been a teacher over twenty years. His address is 
Williamsburg, (Pa.). 



DETWILER, David Teeter, youngest of three children of the fam- 
ily of Daniel and Elizabeth (nee Teeter) Detwiler, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, was born 
near Martinsburg, Blair Countv, 
(Pa.), December 11, 1854. Though 
reared on the farm, he prepared him- 
self to teach public school; and for 
five years after beginning to teach he 
attended summer normals and then 
taught school for eighteen and one- 
half terms. 

He was united in marriage with 
Susan Amanda, daughter of Isaac 
and Malinda (nee Amick) Kagarise, 
the union solemnized by W. B. Smith, 
October 8, 1879. To them were born 
five children, namely, S. Clarence, 
Edgar M., Chalmers I., Lottie A. 
(deceased), and Eva M. His wife died December 21, 1915. 

In the New Enterprise congregation he united with the Church 
of the Brethren by baptism administered by Joseph Z. Replogle, in 
May, 1880. This congregation called him to the ministry in Decem- 
ber, 1883, and, by the laying on of hands by James A. Sell and 
Samuel J. Swigart, had him ordained, September 4, 1897. He has 
been a teacher in the Sunday-school almost all the time since he 
became a member of the church; has served several years as super- 
intendent; frequently represented his congregation at District Meet- 
ing and fourteen times at General Conference. He has done some 
evangelistic work with very good success. He has solemnized over 
one hundred marriages and preached several hundred funerals. He 
has been a member of the Home Mission Board 1915'-20, and since 
1922. Since August 3, 1912, he has been bishop of the New Enter- 
prise congregation. Address, New Enterprise, (Pa.). 




DETWILER, Edgar Marion, second of five children of the family 
of David T. and Susan (nee Kagarise) Detwiler, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, was born near New Enterprise, (Pa.), May 
22, 1883. His father is the bishop of the New Enterprise congrega- 
tion. Edgar graduated from the South Woodbury Township schools 

417 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




in 1899; began teaching when seventeen; in all, taught nine terms 
public school and, besides, eight summer normals for training teach- 
ers, four of which he was principal ; graduated 
in the Normal English course at Juniata in 
1906, and received his A.B. from the same 
institution in 1912. 

He was united in marriage with Grace, 
daughter of Levi H. and Fannie (nee Rhodes) 
Brumbaugh, the union being solemnized by 
David T. Detwiler, on July 30, 1913. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the New Enterprise congregation, through 
baptism administered by Levi F. Holsinger, 
on February 29, 1896; the same congregation 
called him to the ministry and he was installed 
by Orville V. Long, assisted by William S. 
Ritchey and Jacob Koontz, on December 29, 
1906. The Roxbury congregation (W. Pa.) 
had him ordained through the laying on of hands by M. Clyde 
Horst and Samuel W. Pearce. His life is given to pastoral work, 
and he has served congregations as follows: Norristown, (Pa. S. E.), 
August 1, 1912, to July 1, 1915; Roxbury, (W. Pa.), July 1, 1915, 
and continue. From 1906-' 12 he was Sunday-school secretary for 
Middle District of Pennsylvania, during which time the District 
adopted a constitution and effected a District organization by elect- 
ing departmental superintendents. He has represented his congre- 
gation at District Meeting nine times; at General Conference four 
times; served on Standing Committee at Winona Lake, (Ind.), in 
1919, and at Hershey Park, (Pa.), 1924. Since 1920 he is a member 
of the District Mission Board (W. Pa.) ; was moderator of the Dis- 
trict Ministerial Meeting, 1919; moderator of the District Meeting 
held at Somerset in 1924. His home is at the parsonage, 14 Sell 
Street, Johnstown, (Pa.). 

DIBERT, Daniel Webster, oldest of four children of John S. and 
Sarah (nee Rawlins) Dibert, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, was born near Everett, (Pa.), July 24, 1861. He was reared on 
the farm and has made a success of farming during his life. He 
received only a common school education. 

He was united in marriage with Susannah C, daughter of John 
B. and Nancy (nee Clapper) Smith, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, the union being solemnized by G P. Probes, a minister 

in the Lutheran Church, December 20, 1882. To them were born 
four sons and two daughters,— John C, E R., William R., Wal- 
ter J., Millie E., and Elsie V. 

In April, 1885, he united with the Church of the Brethren in the 
Snake Spring congregation, baptism being administered by William 
S. Ritchey. About 1895, this congregation called him to the dea- 
con's office; then to the ministry, in the Spring of 1904, Walter 
S. Long officiating; and, through the laying on of hands by 
David A. Stayer and Ira C. Holsopple, had him ordained, June 
23, 1923. He has represented his congregation at District Meeting 



418 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



three times and once at General Conference. His address is Clear- 
ville, (Pa.). 

DIEHM, Edgar G., youngest of four children of Oliver W. and 
Emma L. (nee Graybill) Diehm, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born at Elm, Lancaster County, (Pa.), November 25, 
1891. After completing the preparatory course at Elizabethtown 
College, (Pa.), in 1913, he entered Juniata College, and received his 
A.B. in 1917; then from Crozer Theological Seminary, (Pa.), his 
B.D., 1920. He has been making teaching his vocation, and has been 
instructor in South High School, Youngstown, (O.), since 1920. 

He was united in marriage with Maude, the daughter of Isaac and 
Anna (nee Strite) Hertzler, members of the Church of the Brethren 
living at Elizabethtown, (Pa.), the union being solemnized by Daniel 
C. Reber, June 15, 1917. The bride had united with the Church of 
the Brethren in 1903. She had three years' work, (completed no 
particular course), at Elizabethtown College, (Pa.). To this union 
four children were born,— Mary J., Joseph, Ann, William. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Elizabethtown, 
(E. Pa.), congregation, baptism being administered by Earl E. 
Eshelman, in 1909. The Huntingdon congregation called him to the 
ministry, May 9, 1915. He has represented his congregation at Dis- 
trict Meeting once and at General Conference once; has served as 
pastor in the Klahr congregation, (M. Pa.), 1916-July, 1917; Roy- 
ersford, (S. E. Pa.), July, 1917-September, 1920; Associate pastor 
in the Woodworth congregation, (N. E. O.), 1922-23; and pastor 
since 1923. His address is R. 4, Market Street Extension, Youngs- 
town, (O.). 

DILLING, Elvin Paui,, sixth of ten children of George Hoover 
and Nancy Ann (nee Replogle) Dilling, was born in Saxton, (Pa.), 
May 10, 1897. His parents are members of the Church of the 
Brethren and the father a deacon. Paul had the advantages of his 
town high school and then followed his father's occupation, rural 
mail carrier, for a living. 

He was united in marriage with Ethel M., daughter of Wilson 
Roy and Alary Catherine (nee Eastright) Garbaugh, Mitchell Stover 
solemnizing the union July 7, 1919. To them was born one son. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Stonerstown 
congregation, in May, 1906, Harvey S. Replogle administering bap- 
tism. He was called to the ministry, March 30, 1923. He has been 
active as Sunday-school teacher, superintendent and circuit visitor in 
behalf of the Sunday-school work, both for his own denomination 
and for the State Sabbath School Association. Address, Hope- 
well, (Pa.). 

DIVELY, Frederic Claar, third of eight children of Bartholomew 
and Rachel (nee Claar) Dively, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born at Klahr, Bedford County, (Pa.), December 18, 
1849. He was reared on the farm, learned the blacksmithing trade 
and made his living farming mountain sides and hammering iron. 
He had the advantage of common school education. 

419 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




He was united in marriage with Susan, daughter of Henry and 
Elizabeth (nee Musselman) Walter, the union being solemnized at 

Klahr, by Daniel Shock, Esquire, August 27, 
1871. To them were born five children: Ida, 
Elizabeth, Elmer, Lorenzo, and Marietta. The 
wife died August 17, 1892. He was united in 
marriage the second time with Annie, daughter 
of John and Annie (nee Lingenfelter) Cush- 
man, the union being solemnized at Bakers 
Summit by Michael Claar, June 15, 1896. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the Clover Creek congregation, Leonard 
Furry administering baptism, in November, 
1870. The Claar congregation called him to 
the deacon's office in 1872 ; to the ministry, 
July 17, 1880; and, through the laying on of 
hands by Henry B. Brumbaugh and Samuel 
Swigart, had him ordained in 1898. He 
preached more funeral sermons in the section where he lived than 
any other minister. His home is near Klahr, (Pa.). 

DIVELY, Taylor Lawrence, third of five children of George G. 
and Juniata (nee Musselman) Dively, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born at Klahr, Blair County, 
(Pa.), June 2, 1894. Reared on the farm, he 
still had the advantages of common school 
education, which enabled him to enter Juniata 
College and graduate from the Normal En- 
glish course in 1916. Besides he pursued spe- 
cial studies in Bible and music. He is making 
his living teaching, farming and fruit growing. 
He was united in marriage with Ella, 
daughter of Adolphus and Delia (nee^ Cole- 
baugh) Weyant, the union being solemnized at 
Huntingdon by Samuel Weyant, August 27, 
1919. To them were born one son and one 
daughter. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the Huntingdon congregation, baptism being 
administered by Tobias T. Myers, in January, 1912. The Claar con- 
gregation (M. Pa.) called him to the ministry, August 20, 1916, and 
had him ordained, through the laying on of hands by James A. Sell 
and John B. Miller, May 30, 1920. He has represented his congrega- 
tion eight times at District Meeting and twice at General Conference. 
He served as superintendent of the Claar Sunday-school, 1913-'20; 
vice-president of the Fifth District County Sunday-school Associ- 
ation, 1920-'23, and president, 1924; superintendent of Temperance 
for Church of the Brethren, 1921-'22. Fie has served as bishop of 
the Claar congregation since 1921. His address is Klahr, (Pa.). 

DIXON, Andrew Martin, first of six children of Andrew M. and 
Regina (nee Holmes) Dixon, members of the Lutheran Church, was 




420 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



born in Brooklyn, (N. Y.), October 4, 1890. He spent his early life 
in the city of his birth ; began his preparatory work in Elizabethtown 
College, and completed it in Juniata 
College, 1913; Bethany Bible School, 
1915; Ursinus College, (Pa.), A.B., 
1917, and was Graduate student of 
University of Pennsylvania, 1917-'18; 
1922-'23; 1924-'25. 

He was united in marriage with 
Elizabeth, daughter of John H. and 
Elizabeth (nee Becker) Kline, the 
union being solemnized at Elizabeth- 
town, (Pa.), by the bride's father, 
July 21, 1915. To them were born 
one son and one daughter. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren in the Brooklyn, (N. Y.), 
congregation, through baptism ad- 
ministered by J. Kurtz Miller, October 4, 1908. The Brooklyn con- 
gregation called him to the ministry, August 23, 1910, and the Claar 
congregation had him ordained, through the laving on of hands by 
James A. Sell and Albert G. Crosswhite, June 10, 1914. He has 
represented his congregation at District Meeting ten times ; at Gen- 
eral Conference four times. He served as pastor of the Claar con- 
gregation, 1911 -'15. The field was ripe for the harvest, and many 
were gathered into the church during his pastorate. He then took 
up the work at Parkerford, where he continues. He has done con- 
siderable evangelistic work. His home is at Parkerford, (Pa.). 




DUPLER, Alphaeus William, eldest of four children of the fam- 
ily of. Melancthon and Elizabeth (nee Beery) Dupler, members (the 
father a deacon) of the Church of 






the Brethren, was born near Thorn- 
ville, Perry County, (O.), July 27, 
1883. Though reared on the farm, 
he turned his attention to educational 
pursuits, and prepared himself for 
teaching as follows : 1905-06, student 
in Bible Institute at Canton, (O.) ; 
1907-11, Juniata College, degree 
A.B.; one year, 1909-10, was spent in 
Ursinus College, (Pa.) ; 1914-16, 
graduate student University of Chi- 
cago, — degrees, M.S., December, 1914, 
Ph.D., June, 1916. As a member of 
the faculty he served in Juniata Col- 
lege, 1911-14; instructor in Central 
Y. M. C. A., Chicago, 1914-16; professor of Botany in Lawrence Col- 
lege, (Wis.), 1916-17; professor of Biology in Bridgewater College, 
(Va.), 1917-19; in 1919 returned to Juniata College as professor of 
Biology, which position he now holds. Serves as Registrar of the 
College and Director of the Summer Session. 




421 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

He was united in marriage with Olive E, daughter of Joseph Z. 
and Emma (nee Miller) Replogle, of New Enterprise, (Pa.), Walter 
S. Long solemnizing the union in Altoona, (Pa.), on September 4, 
1906. The bride had united with the Church of the Brethren in the 
New Enterprise congregation, in 1892. She completed the Normal 
English course at Juniata College in 1900; the Academy course in 
1903; and spent one year in the Bible Institute at Canton, (O.). She 
served as General Secretary of the Sisters' Aid Society of the fra- 
ternity, 1912-13, and President of the Mothers' and Daughters' Asso- 
ciation, 1918-21. To Brother and Sister Dupler were born four chil- 
dren. — Emmert Parker, Dorothy, Donald A. and Frances E. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Olivet (for- 
merly Jonathan's Creek) congregation, (N. E. O.), baptism being 
administered by Quincy Leckrone, November, 1895. This congrega- 
tion called him to the ministry, being installed October 8, 1904. He 
served his home congregation for three years (1904-1907) as the only 
active, resident minister. During 1909-10 he was pastor of the 
Royersford congregation (S. E. Pa.). The Huntingdon congrega- 
tion, (Pa.), through the laying on of hands by Walter S. Long and 
John C. Swigart, had him ordained, May 4, 1921. He has repre- 
sented his congregation at District Meeting five times, and three 
times to General Conference. His address is Huntingdon, (Pa.). 



EBY, Enoch, fifth of nine children of Jacob and Susannah (nee 
Myers) Eby, members of the Church of the Brethren, was born near 

Waterloo, Juniata County, (Pa.), November 
15, 1828. He pressed on with an education 
beyond the common schools until he was per- 
mitted to teach and alternated winter school 
teaching with farming in the summer for a 
number of years. He "went west ' : and made 
his living on the farm, residing, between 
1855-87, first at Chelsea, then near Lena, and 
afterwards near Orangeville, all within the 
bounds of the Waddams Grove congregation, 
Jo Davis County, (111.). At this date he 
moved to Darlow, (Ks.), and remained until 
1901, when he returned to Lena, (111.)- 

He was united in marriage with Hettie. 
eleventh of twelve children of Joseph and 
Hannah Howe, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, living near Mechanicsburg, (Pa.), the union being sol- 
emnized by Graybill Myers, November 19, 1847. To them were 
born eight children, the following reaching maturity : John, David, 
Annetta, Mary, Susan, Hettie, and Levi. His wife died January 
28, 1861. Then he was united in marriage with Anna G. Gilfillen, 
William Howe solemnizing this union, March 10, 1864. To them one 
son was born, and died when about four years old. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Aughwick con- 
gregation while the family was living near Concord, in Franklin 
County, (Pa.), in 1845. This congregation called him to the min- 
istry in 1851; the Waddams Grove congregation (111.) had him 




422 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

ordained, June 10, 1864. From this time on he was regular in 
attendance at District Meetings and General Conferences, usually 
representing his congregation in some official way. He served on the 
Standing Committee as follows : 

1873 Myersdale, (Pa.).* 

1874 Macoupin County, (111.).* 

1875 Covington, (O.), Reading Clerk. 

1876 DeGraff, (O.), Reading Clerk. 

1877 New Enterprise, (Pa.), Reading Clerk. 

1878 North Manchester, (Ind.), Moderator. 

1879 Broadway, (Va.), Reading Clerk. 

1880 Lanark, (111.), Moderator. 

1881 Ashland, (O.), Moderator. 

1882 Arnold's, (Ind.), Moderator. 

1883 Bismark Grove, (Kan.), Moderator. 

1884 Dayton, (O.), Moderator. 

1887 Ottawa, (Kan.), Moderator. 

1888 North Manchester, (Ind.), Moderator. 

1889 Harrisonburg, (Va.), Doorkeeper. 

1890 Pertle Springs, (Mo.). Moderator. 

1891 Hagerstown, (Md.), Member. 

1894 Myersdale, (Pa.), Moderator. 

1895 Decatur, (111.), Moderator. 
1899 Roanoke, (Va.), Member. 

In 1877 he and his wife were sent, with Daniel Fry and wife, to 
organize and help establish the church which Christian Hope was 
starting in Denamark. He served as a member of the General Mis- 
sion Board of the Church of the Brethren in 1880, 1884, 1893-98; he 
served as president of the Board, 1880, 1884-98.f He served on many 
important committees by the appointment of General Conference. 

A few years before his death he returned to his old home at Lena, 
(111.), where, on April 26, 1910, he died and was buried in the Chelsea 
Cemetery. Galen B. Royer preached 
his funeral. 

EDWARDS, Emanuex Andrew, 
fifth of nine children of John Wes- 
ley and Rosenna (nee Householder) 
Edwards, members of the Church of 
God, was born at Six Mile Run, 
(Pa.), September 23, 1883. He was 
reared on the farm and has only the 
training of the common school. 

He was united in marriage with 
Mary C, daughter of Martin H. and 
Emma (nee Boiler) Brumbaugh, the 
union being solemnized by John H. 
Brumbaugh, on October 17, 1907. To 
them were born two sons and one daughter. 

* No record of officers. 

t See Thirty-three Years of Missions^ by Galen B. Royer, pp. 438-9. 




423 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Fairview con- 
gregation, baptism being administered by Levi H. Holsinger, on 
January 5, 1905. The Raven Run congregation called him to the 
ministry, October 30, 1921, John P. Harris and Henry H. Brum- 
baugh officiating at the service. He has been an active worker in the 
Sunday-school, serving as superintendent for two years in the Raven 
Run congregation and two years in the Smithfield congregation. 
Address, Loysburg, (Pa.). 




ELLIS, Charles Calvert, first of a family of five children of Henry 
J. and Kate (nee Kane) Ellis, members of the Methodist Church, 

was born in Washington, (D. C), 
July 21, 1874. He attended the pub- 
lic schools of Baltimore and then 
pursued educational work with the 
following results : Juniata College, 
B.E., 1890: M.E., 1892; A.B., 1898; 
Illinois Wesleyan, A.M., 1903; Ph.D., 
1904; Universitv of Pennsylvania, 
Ph.D., 1907; Temple University, 
B.D., 1920; attended Princeton Semi- 
nary, 1919-20; Harvard University, 
summer, 1922. 

He was united in marriage with 

Emma S., daughter of John H. and 

Emma (nee Reed) Nice, of Perki- 

omenville, (Pa.), William M. Howe 

and William Hammond solemnizing the union, December 25, 1902. 

To them were born two sons, — Calvert Nice and John Dwight. 

Through James Quinlan's Bible School in Baltimore, he learned of 
the Church of the Brethren, and united with her in the Woodbury 
congregation, (Md.), through baptism administered by Amos Kaylor, 
April 17, 1887. The Huntingdon congregation called him to the 
ministry, November 10, 1894, and, through the laying on of hands by 
Walter S. Long and John C. Swigart, had him ordained, September 
10, 1919. Since January 1, 1924, he serves the Huntingdon congre- 
gation as its bishop. He served as associate pastor, First Church of 
the Brethren, Philadelphia, during 1917-18; its pastor, October, 1918, 
to July, 1921; its bishop, January, 1919, to 1922. He has repre- 
sented his congregation at District Meeting twice; at General Con- 
ference, once; served on 1922 Standing Committee at Winona Lake 
Conference. 

He is a weekly contributor to the Sunday-school Times, of Phila- 
delphia, since 1919; contributing editor to the Bible Champion since 
1922; in 1923 was elected the five-year member to the new Sunday- 
school Board for Middle District, (Pa.). He is the author of third 
part of Studies in Doctrine and Devotion, published by the Brethren 
Publishing House, Elgin, (III), later published separately as The 
Christian Way of Life, with introduction by John H. Moore, and 
The Religion of Religious Psychology, published by the Sunday- 
school Times Company, Philadelphia. One of his most far-reaching 
influences is the lecture platform, where he speaks to the many at 



424 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



county institutes, Bible and Sunday-school conferences, Young Men's 
Christian Associations, High School Commencements and other occa- 
sions, in many of the states of the Union. 

He has been a member of Juniata College faculty since 1907, occu- 
pying the chair of Education; vice-president since 1917; and acting 
president, June 1 to December 1, 1924. Address, Huntingdon, (Pa.). 

ELLIS, Calvert Nice, first of two sons of the family of Charles C. 
and Emma (nee Nice) Ellis, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born April 16, 1904. After having received his preparatory edu- 
cation in the Juniata Academy and Princeton Preparatory School he 
entered the college and received his A.B. with the class of 1923. 
During the school year, 1923-24, he taught History in the Lewistown 
High School; during the summer of 1924, taught in Slippery Rock 
State Normal ; he has entered Princeton Seminary for a course in 
Theology. 

During a revival conducted by George W. Flory, he united with 
the Church of the Brethren in the Huntingdon, (Pa.), congregation, 
through baptism administered January 20, 1914, by Tobias T. Myers. 
This congregation called him to the ministry, May 31, 1922. He 
has been active as a Sunday-school teacher and leader in other 
young people's endeavors. During 1923-24 he served as president 
of the Middle District Young People's Council. Address, Hunting- 
don, (Pa.). 

EMMERT, JESSE Benedict, first of four children of Joseph F. and 
Eliza (nee Benedict) Emmert, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, was born near Waynesboro, 
(Pa.), October 11, 1873. The father 
was a skilled patternmaker and in- 
ventor, — and a very devout deacon in 
the church. Jesse grew up in town, 
attended public school, spent vaca- 
tions in the pattern shop and served 
an apprenticeship of three and one- 
half years, learning the patternmak- 
ers trade. He graduated in Juniata 
College, receiving his A.B. in 1902. 

He was united in marriage with 
Gertrude, daughter of Abram S. and 
Susan (nee Fridley) Rowland, of 
Hagerstown, (Md.), February 23, 
1905. This ceremony was solemnized 
at Bulsar, India, by Daniel L. Miller. To them were born one son 
and two daughters. The wife died November 7, 1924. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Antietam con- 
gregation, (Pa.), John B. Ruthrauff administering baptism, on De- 
cember 29, 1895. In the winter of 1899, while at Juniata College, he 
became a " volunteer ' for missiona^ service ; chosen as Sunday- 
school secretary for Middle Pennsylvania, April, 1900. The Hunt- 
ingdon congregation called him to the ministry, May 11, 1901; 
and, through the laying on of hands by Wilbur B. Stover and 




425 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Tacob M. Blough, the Bulsar congregation (India) had him or- 
dained, in 1909. 

At the April 16, 1902, District Meeting of Middle Pennsylvania his 
recommendation to support a missionary in India was approved, and 
the schools selected him to be their representative on the field. Gen- 
eral Conference, that year, approved of his going and, on October 
28, 1902, he set sail from New York for his new field. 

His labors on the India field may be briefly summed up as follows : 
first nine years, engaged in industrial missions, — directing carpentry, 
weaving, tailoring, gardening and building. The balance of the fif- 
teen years was devoted to general station work. He served as Dis- 
trict Sunday-school secretary for fourteen years ; had the oversight 
of the Bulsar congregation two years ; the Jalalpor congregation four 
years; was secretary of the field committee for eight years; editor of 
the Gujarati Sunday-school Quarterly four years, two years of 
which he wrote the lesson comments himself; was moderator of the 
India District Conference in 1911 and 1918; and represented the 
India District on Standing Committee at Winona Lake, (Ind.), 1910 
and 1919; and Southern California District at Hershey, 1924. At 
this last Conference, he succeeded Henry C. Early as member of the 
General Mission Board. 

Failing health of his wife has compelled him to remain at home 
since March, 1919. In this time he finished his Divinity course and 
received the degree of B.D. at Juniata, 1921, and is at present director 
of Religious Education, Pacific Coast Region ; trustee, acting presi- 
dent for a few months and professor of English Bible and Missions 
in La Verne College, (Calif.). Address, La Verne, (Calif.). 

ESHELMAN, Earl Emerson, youngest of two children of David 
H. and Jane (nee Irvin) Eshelman, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Wooster, (O.), July 24, 1884. His mother 
died when he was but four years old. After completing high school 
in Waynesboro, (Pa.), he continued his education and received the 
following degrees; Juniata College, B.S.L., 1907; Wheaton College, 
(111.), A.B., 1912; Bethany Bible School, (Chicago), B.D., 1913; 
student at University of Chicago two quarters in 1915; Chicago 
School of Civics and Philanthropy, one and a half quarters, 1915-16. 
He was teacher in Elizabethtown College, 1907-10; part time in- 
structor in Bethany Bible School, 1913-16; member of the Mission 
Board of Northwestern Ohio, 1919; president of Fostoria, (O.), 
Public Welfare League, 1919-20. 

He was united in marriage with Anna Frances, daughter of Abram 
S. and Martha (nee Sprenkle) Heefner, members of the Church of 
the Brethren, of Waynesboro, (Pa.), John Ruthrauff solemnizing the 
union, July 17, 1907. To them were born four children, but only a 
son survives, E. Robert. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Waynesboro 
congregation, (Pa.), Frederic D. Anthony administering baptism, 
January 14, 1900. While attending college at Juniata he was called 
to the ministry, May 18, 1906, and, while pastor, the Batavia con- 
gregation, (111.), had him ordained, through the laying on of hands 
by John H. Moore and Paul Mohler, September 28, 1913. He has 

426 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

represented his congregation at District Meeting ten times ; at Gen- 
eral Conference, six times, and served on the Standing Committee at 
Hershey, (Pa.), 1918, and Sedalia, (Mo.), 1920. His Sunday-school 
activities have included service as superintendent and teacher from 
time to time. As pastor he has served the following congregations : 
Batavia, (111.), 1911-13; Douglas Park Mission, (Chicago), 1913-16; 
Root River, (Minn.), 1916-18; Fostoria, (O.), 1918-20; Logan, (O.), 
1920-22; South Red Cloud or Garfield Community Church, (Neb.), 
since September 1, 1922. His address is Red Cloud, (Neb.). 

ESHELMAN, John, a minister in the Yellow Creek congregation, 
who served the Church of the Brethren in the ministry about 
thirty years, died February 8, 1876, aged seventy-four years and 
seven days. 

FEATHER, Homer, second of six children of the family of 

George A. and Annie N. (nee Hoover) 

Feather, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born at Roaring Spring, (Pa.), 

April 27, 1897. After passing his grammar 

grades he completed Altoona High School 

and Juniata College, receiving his A.B., 

1922. At present he is assistant manager of 

the Harry J. Kerlin Furniture Company, of 

Altoona. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the First Church, Altoona, (Pa.), Walter 
S. Long administering baptism, July 9, 1909. 
This congregation called him to the ministry, 
September 7, 1921, Tobias T. Myers officiat- 
ing at the installation service. He resides in 
Altoona, (Pa.). 

FLEMING, Joseph H., fourth of nine children of John and Sarah 
(nee Allen) Fleming, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near McVeytown, (Pa.), February 16, 1885. Reared on the 
farm, he had the advantage of a common school education. He has 
made his living as a forgeman and farmer. 

He was united in marriage with Katherine, daughter of Daniel and 
Leonora (nee Gott) Seal, the union being solemnized by F. W. 
Brown, a minister of the Reformed Church in Beoner Springs, May 
1, 1907. To this union were born four sons and two daughters. The 
wife united with the Church of the Brethren, February 7, 1915, and 
died November 7, 1918. On November 15, 1919, he was united in 
marriage with Vina, daughter of William M. and Ada E (nee 
Peters) Wagner. To this union were born two daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Lewistown con- 
gregation, Harry A. Spanogle administering baptism, March 15, 1908. 
In the Dry Valley congregation he was called to the deacon's office, 
May 17, 1919; to the ministry, October 6, 1923. He has represented 
his congregation once at District Meeting ; is active as a Sunday- 
school teacher. Address, Lewistown, (Pa.), R. 4. 

427 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 

FlyUCK, John B., last of seven children of Tobias and Nancy Anna 
(nee Snider) Fluck, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 

born in the " Big Stone House " in South 
Woodbury Township, Bedford County, (Pa.), 
September 29, 1829. Though reared on the 
farm, he was eager for all the education he 
could command. Besides the common school 
training at home, he attended a school in 
Bedford conducted by Thomas J. Harris. 
R. Gettys, County Superintendent, is- 




sued a teacher's professional certificate to him, 
dated October 25, 1854, and two years later a 
State Permanent Certificate was given him. 
Few men in Bedford County took a more pro- 
gressive stand under the new Public School 
System enacted in 1852, than did John B. 
Fluck. He taught school for twelve years, 
engaged in farming, lumbering, and from 
1852 did much land surveying, his services reaching over the Counties 
of Bedford, Fulton, Huntingdon, Blair, Cambria, Westmoreland, 
Fayette, and Somerset. 

He was united in marriage with Mary G. Obcr, August 26, 1852. 
To them were born three children, — Frank B., a mining and civil 
engineer of Somerset County, to whom the editor is indebted for in- 
formation in this biography, as well as a photograph when his father 
was eighty years old; Melissa J. and Harry O., the latter deceased. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren at the Steele's Church, 
(Hopewell congregation, called Yellow Creek), Solomon Buckalew 
administering baptism, December 15, 1877. At a lovefeast in the 
Snake Spring congregation, held June 6, 1879, he was called to the 
ministry and, in 1904, ordained. He was chosen the first secretary 
of the Snake Spring Valley congregation, and served in the office 
for a number of years. He died January 6, 1915, and his body lies 
buried in the New Enterprise Cemetery. 

FUNK, Abraham L., was a minister in the Aughwick congregation, 
born August 13, 1811. He was called to the deacon's office in 1844; 
to the ministry in 1847, and, through the laying on of hands, was 
ordained October 16, 1871. He did much for the cause, though he 
labored mostly in his home congregation. He died August 22, 1881, 
and is buried in the German Valley Cemetery. 

FURRY, John B., was born July 24, 1829. He was married to 
Elizabeth Snowberger and to them were born the following children : 
Sarah, Daniel, Hannah, Frank, and Leonard. He united with the 
Church of the Brethren in the Yellow Creek congregation (now New 
Enterprise) and served the church in the ministry both in Yellow 
Creek and Dunnings Creek congregations. He died December 18, 
1863, and is buried in the New Enterprise Cemetery. 

FURRY, Leonard, son of John Furry, a member of the Reformed 
Church, was born near New Enterprise, in Bedford County, (Pa.), 



428 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

July 15, 1805. He received a common school education and made his 
living by farming. 

He was united in marriage with Hannah, daughter of Samuel 
Brown, and to them were born eight children, as follows : Jacob, 
Magdaline, Samuel John, Elizabeth, Catherine, Sarah, Anna, and 
Delilah. 

After his marriage he united with the Church of the Brethren in 
the Yellow Creek (now New Enterprise) congregation. This con- 
gregation called him to the deacon's office; then to the ministry, in 
1851 ; to the bishopric, April, 1876. During his ministry he would 
once or twice a year make a tour of the churches in Pennsylvania, 
sometimes reaching over into Ohio or Virginia, and a few times, still 
more distant points were reached. He served once on Standing 
Committee and attended regularly the District Meetings of his Dis- 
trict and many of the Annual Meetings of his time. He was a fre- 
quent correspondent to the church papers that sprang up near the 
close of his life. He died December 8, 1877, and lies buried in the 
New Enterprise Cemetery. 

FYOCK, Abraham, third son of seven children of Jacob and Bar- 
bara (nee Reighard) Fyock, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born in Conemaugh Township, Cambria County, (Pa.), Novem- 
ber 30, 1844. " His early life was spent on the farm with his parents, 
until the time of the Civil War, when he enlisted, serving as a pri- 
vate in Company F, 198th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers. He 
was wounded in one of the battles, and was present with his regiment 
when General Lee surrendered." He returned to his home and lived 
on the farm most of his life. 

He was united in marriage with Nancy, daughter of Samuel and 
Catherine (nee Good) Varner, the union being solemnized by Solo- 
mon Benshoff, on November 20, 1865. To them were born eight 
children, of whom Samuel H., Jane, the wife of Scott Wilson ; Sarah, 
the wife of Benjamin Strayer ; Elizabeth, the wife of John W. Mills; 
James W. and John C. grew to maturity. The mother died in April, 
1914. Then, in the Fall of 1916, he was united in marriage with 
Barbara Callihan, of the Dunnings Creek congregation, in Bedford 
County, where he made his home until his death. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Walnut Grove 
congregation (W. Pa.). Here he was called to the ministry, Septem- 
ber 29, 1887, and, through the laying on of hands by Emanuel J. 
Blough and Jacob Holsopple, was ordained, December 28, 1899. He 
was bishop of the Walnut Grove congregation from 1899 to 1912; 
also for some years of Bolivar and Rockton congregations. He was 
a regular attendant at District and General Conferences, often repre- 
senting his congregation. On February 14, 1919, while getting ready 
to visit his children, he took a stroke of apoplexy and died without 
uttering a word. His funeral was preached by Albert Berkley; text, 
Genesis 5 : 24. His body lies buried in Eocust Grove Cemetery, near 
the place he was born.* 



* Quotations from James W. Fyock's article in Gospel Messenger, and data other- 
wise furnished by him. 

429 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

FYOCK, James W., sixth of eight children of the family of 
Abraham and Nancy (nee Varner) Fyock, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born in Johnstown, (Pa.), August 10, 1879. 
His father was bishop, for a number of years, of the Johnstown and 
Dunnings Creek congregations. He passed the grade schools of his 
native city and did some special work at Mount Morris College, 
(111.). For fifteen years he had been traveling salesman. In 1920, 
when he took up pastor work at $1,500.00 salary, he gave up a job 
that was paying him $3,000.00 per year. 

He was united in marriage with Annie, daughter of John A. and 
Susan (nee Dickey) Strayer, the union being solemnized by Silas S. 
Rlough, August 25, 1898. To them were born Kathryn Alberta, Erma 
DeRoy, and Milford H., all members of the Church of the Brethren. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Walnut Grove 
congregation, (W. Pa.), his father administering baptism, in the Fall 
of 1900. This congregation called him to the ministry, June 5, 1905; 
and had him advanced, June 29, 1910, his father and William M. 
Howe officiating. The Pine Creek congregation, (N. 111.), had him 
ordained, through the laying on of hands by William E. West and 
Marvin M. Sherrick, January 8, 1922. He has represented his con- 
gregation twice at District Meeting, and at General Conference four 
times. Ever since a member of the church he has been a Sunday- 
school teacher and was superintendent of the Walnut Grove (W. 
Pa.) Sunday-school for several years. He was pastor of the Pine 
Creek congregation (N. 111.) from 1920 to 1923, and is now pastor 
of the Tyrone congregation (M. Pa.), since June 1, 1923. Address, 
Tyrone, (Pa.). 



GARBER, Chari.es W., fourth of thirteen children of John B. and 
Catherine (nee Gontz) Garber, members of the Church of God, was 
born in Bedford County, (Pa.), March 10, 1853. He had little intel- 
lectual training and made his living on the farm. 

He was united in marriage three times. First, with Sarah L. Dick, 
and to this union three sons and three daughters were born. Second, 

to Mary Sturgeon, and to this union three 
girls were born. Third, to Mrs. Jane Lehman. 
He united with the United Zion Church and 
served that body in the ministry for twenty- 
three years. In 1915 he was received into the 
Church of the Brethren, in the Albright con- 
gregation, not only in membership, but the 
church honored his ministry on the same day. 
He has shared the ministerial labors of both 
the Albright and Queen congregations. 

GARVER, John E., was born in Franklin 
County, (Pa.), in 1842. Besides the training 
of meagre common school education, he was a 
careful student of the Word of God. He made 
his living on the farm. 
1865, he was united in marriage with Anna 




On February 
Bowman. 






430 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

The Aughwick congregation called him to the deacon's office in 
1881; to the ministry, June 3, 1882; and, through the laying on of 
hands, had him ordained to the bishopric, May 31, 1901. He died 
April 9, 1914. Interment in the Germany Valley Cemetery. 




GAUNT, William Andrew, oldest of four children of William IT. 
and Catharine (nee Yeager) Gaunt, was born in Belington, (W. 
Va.), June 9, 1855. His father was 
an " Old School Baptist," and his 
mother a Presbyterian. He made 
the best possible use of the schools 
of his community and followed teach- 
ing and farming for a livelihood in 
his earlier life. 

He was united in marriage with IT. 
Jennie, daughter of John and Susan 
(nee Byers) Turner, the union being 
solemnized by John Brindle, Febru- 
ary 28, 1884. The bride had united 
with the Church of the Brethren 
when nineteen years old. To them 
were born five children, — Mary F., 
Anna S., John L., Grace, who mar- 
ried Charles Ricker ; and Olive. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Valley River 
congregation, (W. Va.), John W. Fitzgerald administering baptism, 
in September, 1872. This congregation called him to the ministry, 
September 5, 1874; and had him ordained, through the laying on of 
hands by Samuel Fike and Elias Auvil, in January, 1880. He has 
represented his congregation at District Meetings many times; at 
General Conference six times; served on Standing Committee at 
Meyersdale, 1894; Naperville, (111.), 1898. In 1885 he located at 
Frederick, (Md.), organized the congregation in 1887, and devel- 
oped it till October 25, 1894, when he entered upon a pastorate at 
Elk Lick for ten years; then he moved to Huntingdon, (Pa.), and 
had the pastoral care of Stonerstown and Riddlesburg Missions for 
nine years. He was active in the ministry forty-one years, during 
which time he served on many committees in the brotherhood, held 
over two hundred revivals, and many, many have been led to Christ 
through his ministry. He resides in Huntingdon, (Pa.). 



GLOCK, John G., the third of four sons and one daughter of Jacob 
and Catherine Glock, was born in Hoheneck, a small town on the 
banks of the Neckar River, near Ludwigsburg, Wurttemberg, Ger- 
many, April 1, 1807. His parents were members of the State Church 
in his native country. He received the education in Germany of one 
of his class. When twenty-five years old, in company with his 
brother, Frederic, he came to America to make his fortune. After 
sixty-six days crossing the Atlantic, the brothers landed at Balti- 
more. John came on to the Aughwick Valley and worked on the 
farm for the Lutz brothers. 



431 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



In August. 1836, he was united in marriage with Catherine Myers, 
a sister of the mother of Enoch Eby, well known to the church in 

years gone by. The wife died September 28, 
1857. He was again united in marriage, Oc- 
tober 12, 1858, this time with Mary A. Basore, 
of Juniata County, and to them were born two 
daughters and a son. This wife died Novem- 
ber 15, 1897. Their three children united with 
the church of the parents, early in life. Cenia, 
the oldest, married Lowery E. Miller, and lives 
at Colorado City. Annie married Jacob A. 
Rohrer, and lives near the old homestead. 
John, a deacon, lives at Rockford, (Iowa). 

" It was at a lovefeast in the stone house in 
Germany Valley where he was first impressed 
to unite with the church. This meeting re- 
minded him of heaven, and he resolved to be 
one of the number."* Accordingly, in 1836, 
he united with the Church of the Brethren in the Aughwick 
congregation. 

Soon after being called to the deacon's office he was elected to the 
ministry, in 1840. Twelve years later he was ordained and given the 
oversight of the Aughwick congregation. Almost a half century he 
labored in the ministry, " traveled over valleys and mountains afoot 
or horseback, and for all that labor he received fifty cents once, — this 
to pay toll on the highways." 

He passed away peacefully May 13, 1886, and was laid to rest in 
the Germany Valley Cemetery.f 




GRAY, Samuel S., sixth of seven children of Isaac and Catherine 
(nee Mattern) Gray, members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
was born in Half Moon Valley, Center County, (Pa.), in 1838. His 
education was very limited. He made his living on the farm 
until 1872. 

He was united in marriage with Marion, daughter of Jacob Beck, 
a member of the Church of the Brethren, in Warriors Mark, in 1864. 

He united with the church of his parents and was very active. He 
came to Warriors Mark community in the Spring of 1872, and soon 
after that united with the Church of the Brethren. Here he was 
called to the ministry, September 22, 1877, and ordained, October 3, 
1891. His closing years he spent in the Home for the Aged at 
Martinsburg, (Pa.), where he died December 21, 1913. Interment in 
the Warriors Mark Cemetery. 

GRIFFITH, George, fourth of five children of the family of Harvey 
L. and Linda (nee Cupp) Griffith, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born in Meyersdale, (Pa.), April 12, 1898. He gradu- 
ated in Meyersdale High School, 1917; received his A.B. from Juni- 
ata College, 1921, and is now in Jefferson Medical College, Philadel- 



* James A. Sell's notes. 

t Gleaned from Wealthy A. Burkholder's sketch in Gospel Messenger. 



432 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



phia, preparing himself for the foreign mission field. As a Junior, 
he stands at the head of his class. 

He was united in marriage with Stella, daughter of Erasmus and 
Margaret (nee Grooms) McQuain, members of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, the union being solemnized by Alexander Steele, June 
18, 1919. To them were born two children, namely, — Paul Hawey 
and George, Junior. The bride received her education in the Meyers- 
dale schools, where she was a graduate of the High School in 1915, 
and spent two and one-half years in study at Juniata College. She 
united with the Methodist Episcopal Church at the age of twelve; 
in February, 1920, after her marriage, she united with the Church of 
the Brethren, baptism being administered by Tobias T. Myers. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Meyersdale con- 
gregation, David M. Clapper administering baptism, in October, 1909. 
The Huntingdon congregation called him to the ministry, April 8, 
1918, Tobias T. Myers conducting the installation service. He served 
as president of the United Student Volunteers during 1921 and 1923; 
has represented Juniata College Volunteers at three General Confer- 
ences; spent the summer of 1919 as field worker for the General 
Mission Board in Southern Pennsylvania and West Virginia; associ- 
ate traveling secretary with Foster Statler in Sunday-school work in 
Western Pennsylvania, summer of 1920. While in college he was 
student teacher two years and professor in preparatory department 
one year ; is now a Junior in Jefferson Medical College, and has spent 
the summers of 1923 and 1924 in Young People's Division Work in 
Western Pennsylvania. Forwarding address, Meyersdale, (Pa.). 

GUYER, Herman S., eighth of ten children born to Adam and 

Elizabeth (nee Snyder) Guyer, members of the Church of Christ, 

was born near New Enterprise, (Pa.), 

on February 25, 1860. He applied 

himself so closely to farming in his 

youth that he secured only a common 

school education. 

He was united in marriage with 
Hannah B., daughter of John N. and 
Anna (nee Bulger) Teeter, the union 
being solemnized by Joseph Z. Rep- 
logle, September 13, 1887. To them 
are born two daughters, — Laura and 
Annie. 

He and his wife united with the 
Church of the Brethren during a re- 
vival held in the New Enterprise 
congregation, in May, 1891, and were 

baptized by Levi T. Holsinger. As a Christian, he has been active in 
Sunday-school work, serving as superintendent and teacher, was 
called to the deaconship June 8, 1895 ; to the ministry, December 25, 
1901 ; and, by the laying on of hands by David A. Stayer and John 
Bennett, ordained July 20, 1908; — all this advancement made in the 
Snake Spring congregation. He has been a regular attendant at 
District Meetings of every character and served nine times as 




433 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




delegate to Annual Conference. Since the organization of the 
Koontz congregation he has been its bishop. Address, New Enter- 
price, (Pa.). 

GUYER, Nelson, first of eight children of Emanuel and Elizabeth 
(nee Shaffer) Guyer, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 

born on a farm near Loysburg, Bed- 
ford County, (Pa.), May 30, 1880. 
He was reared on the farm, received 
a common school education, and is 
making his living at poultry raising 
and dairy farming. 

He was united in marriage with 
Elizabeth, daughter of William and 
Susan (nee Cameron) Wineland, 
George W. Brumbaugh, of Clover 
Creek, solemnizing the union, Sep- 
tember 1, 1904. To them are born 
six sons and two daughters. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren in the Woodbury congrega- 
tion, when he was sixteen years old, 
Jacob C. Stayer administering baptism. After serving a few years 
as deacon, the Woodbury congregation called him to the ministry, 
May 2, 1914; and later he was installed, by J. Kurtz Miller, then of 
Brooklyn, (N. Y.), officiating. He has represented his congrega- 
tion four times at District Meeting and once at General Conference. 
He served as superintendent of the Martinsburg Sunday-school two 
years and the Woodbury Sunday-school two years. His address is 
Woodbury, (Pa.). 

HAINES, Amos Hoppock, last of three children of the family of 

Joseph and Margaret (nee Hoppock) Haines, members (the father 

a deacon) of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born on the old homestead farm near Sar- 
geantsville, (N. J.), May 19, 1859. After 
passing through the common schools, attending 
high school, known as Ringoes Seminary, and 
graduating from the Trenton Business Col- 
lege, (N. J.), he pursued higher education and 
received the following degrees : Rutgers Col- 
lege, (N. J.), A.B., 1892; A.M., 1899; Yale 
Divinity School, A.B., 1897; Juniata College, 
D.D., 1901 He taught Greek and Church 
History at Mt. Morris College, (111.), 1892-94; 
occupied the chair of Biblical History, Litera- 
ture and Philosophy, Juniata College, (Pa.), 
1897-1916. During the World War he was 
organizing secretary of Liberty Bonds and 

War Savings for Huntingdon and Mifflin Counties, (Pa.). 

He was united in marriage with Mabel, daughter of John and 

Louise (nee Hunt) Lambert, of Lambertville, (N. J.), Tobias T. 




434 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Myers solemnizing the union, on September 21, 1892. To them were 
born three children. The wife died August 1, 1918. But one 
daughter, Elizabeth, is living. 

In the Amwell church, by baptism administered by Israel Foulson, 
in January, 1876, he united with the Church of the Brethren. This 
congregation called him to the ministry, January, 1884; the Hunting- 
don congregation, through James A. Sell laying on hands, had him 
ordained, November 2, 1915. He was active as a minister, even 
without a regular pastorate. He represented his congregation 
four times at District Meeting. Since 1907, he had been teacher of 
the " Truth Seekers Men's Adult Bible Class " in the Huntingdon 
Church of the Brethren Sunday-school. This class has an enrolment 
of fifty, average attendance of thirty; and he had, in that time, 
the joy of seeing fifty of the members of his class join the church of 
his choice. He was a frequent contributor to the Gospel Messenger 
and other publications. His latest publication was a brochure of 
twenty-one pages, entitled " No Creed — Biblical Interpretation," pub- 
lished in the Spring of 1923. 

After an illness of upwards of five months, he died, August 31, 
1924. His funeral was conducted by Galen K. Walker. Interment in 
Riverview Cemetery, Huntingdon, (Pa.). 

HANAWALT, GEORGE, first of ten children of the family of Joseph 
R. and Mary (nee Swigart) Hanawalt, members of the Church of 
the Brethren, was born on the Hanawalt home- 
stead, near McVeytown, (Pa.), April 2, 1831. 
Though reared on the farm, he had an irre- 
pressible desire for an education, pushed 
through common school and perhaps was one 
of the first of our young people in this District 
to enter high school. Teaching, further train- 
ing and native ability soon placed him as a 
leader in the public schools of his day. 1859-60 
found him assistant principal and one of the 
main teachers of the McVeytown Academy. 
When he became of age, he was elected county 
auditor, and served six years. Besides, at dif- 
ferent periods in his life, he engaged in farm- 
ing and merchandising. 

George, and Caroline McKee, of Nitany 
Hall, were united in marriage, November, 1856. The wife died 
June 8, 1858, leaving a baby daughter, who died two months later. 
He was married again, February 8, 1860, to Barbara Brumbaugh 
Replogle, daughter of Daniel Replogle, of New Enterprise, (Pa.). 
She died May 25, 1873, leaving eight children. Later, June 4, 1874, 
he was married to Lucinda, daughter of Samuel and Barbara (nee 
Knavel) Stutsman, of Johnstown, and to them were born nine 
children. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, June, 1858, and six 
years later, after having served a short time as deacon, was called 
to the ministry, — all in the Spring Run congregation (M. Pa.). He 
took his turn in preaching in the large circuits his father had organ- 




435 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

ized, traveling every year, mostly on horseback, nearly 900 miles to 
fill his portion of the appointments. 

In the Spring of 1879 he moved his family to the Conemaugh con- 
gregation, of Johnstown, (W. Pa.). Here he was active in church 
work. He helped to build the church house now owned by " The 
Brethren," as well as the Walnut Grove house and several other 
buildings that went up during his residence in the city. His con- 
servative counsel and help during the unfortunate division of the 
church, in the eighties, proved a blessing to many. June 10, 1886, the 
Walnut Grove congregation, through laying on of hands by Joseph 
Berkey and Hiram Musselman, ordained him and David Hildebrand 
to the bishopric* 

In 1886, for the sake of his growing family of boys, he moved to 
the Ligonier Valley. Finding a few scattered members, he organized 
them into what is known as the Ligonier congregation. For a num- 
ber of years he presided over this congregation, and under his super- 
vision the Boucher house, at W T aterford, was built. In the sixteen 
years of residence at this place he preached a part of the time at 
Bolivar and Cokeville. 

Declining years and a severe sick spell induced him to move his 
family to California, in 1902. He located at La Verne, where his 
children were in school for about five years. Llis advanced years 
kept him from doing the usual active church work that marked his 
life. June 3, 1913, he passed away, and his body lies buried in the 
Evergreen Cemetery, near La Verne, (Calif.), far from the scenes 
of his boyhood. 

HANAWALT, H. Will, ninth of ten children of John S. and Nancy 
(nee Snowberger) Hanawalt, members, and the father a minister, of 

the Church of the Brethren, was born 
near McVeytown, (Pa.), June 10, 
1879. He received a common school 
education and has devoted his life to 
farming. 

He was united in marriage with 
Phoebe B., daughter of David and 
Annie (nee Aurand) Kirk, the union 
being solemnized by John C. Swigart, 
January 9, 1907. To them were born 
six children, — John S., David K., 
Ira C, Vera Arlene, Dwight W., 
Gaius A. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren in the Spring Run congre- 
gation, Reuben T. Myers administer- 
ing baptism, December 24, 1893. This congregation called him to the 
deacon's office, August 10, 1910; to the ministry, November 18, 1912; 
and, through the laying on of hands by James A. Sell and William 
J. Swigart, had him ordained, November 3, 1923. His library con- 




* From Minutes copied by Nannie H. Strayer, daughter, and forwarded in, letter 
dated Oct. 31, 1923. 



436 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

sists of over two hundred volumes, of which there are five complete 
sets of Bible commentaries. He has represented his congregation at 
District Meeting three times; has always been a strong Sunday- 
school worker, serving as teacher, assistant superintendent and treas- 
urer. His home is near McVeytown, (Pa.). 

HANAWALT, John, the first minister in the Aughwick congrega- 
tion who preached in the English language. He was active in the 
church some time before 1850. 

HANAWALT, John S., fifth of nine children of Joseph R. and 

Mary (nee Swigart) Hanawalt, members, and he a minister, of the 

Church of the Brethren, was born 

within the bounds of the Spring 

Run congregation, May 20, 1840. 

He grew up on the farm and had 

the benefits of a common school 

education. 

On March 17, 1863, he was united 
in marriage with Nancy, daughter of 
Daniel and Catherine (nee Brake) 
Snowberger, of New Enterprise, 
(Pa.), members, and he a bishop, of 
the Church of the Brethren. To 
them were born ten children, as 
follows : Christie H. Sutherland, 
Catherine White, Mary Rhodes, 
Ira (deceased), Joseph R., Daniel 
A., Charles B., John M., H. Will, and Ada Strausser. 

In the Spring Run congregation, he united with the Church of the 
Brethren in his 'teens; called to the deacon's office and, on October 
5, 1873, to the ministry. For his time, he had a well selected library 
of over one hundred volumes, and was a careful reader of them. 
During his ministry there was a great missionary spirit in the home 
congregation. Some sixteen different places to preach were arranged 
for, in school houses more or less distant. On one of these trips, due 
to undue exposure, he took the cold that cost him his life. He was 
much interested in the welfare of the Sunday-school. He died May 
1, 1883; funeral preached by Peter Myers; burial in Spring Run 
Cemetery. 

HANAWALT, Joseph Rothrock. son of George and Susannah 
Rothrock Hanawalt, was born January 4, 1810, on the old homestead 
near McVeytown, (Pa.). His father, though only sixteen, substi- 
tuted for his grandfather, who was drafted in the Revolutionary 
War. The young man was spared service at the front, and instead 
served as a spy. Joseph was so conscientiously opposed to war that 
he rarely made reference to his father's war experiences. 

Being reared on a farm, Joseph had little opportunity to secure 
more than a common school education. In part he compensated for 
this through being a diligent reader and training a good memory. 
When but sixteen, Joseph's father died, thus, to a large extent, 




437 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

throwing him on his own resources. In March, 1829, he and Mary 
Swigart, sixteen-year-old daughter of John Swigart, of Ferguson 
Valley, were married. The following year the young people bought 
a part of the homestead, and through the years that followed added 
to and built until the present buildings, as now owned by Harry 
French, were completed. By his first marriage, Joseph was father 
of four sons and six daughters. On November 21, 1864, his wife 
died, and in October, 1866, he married Mrs. Eve French, and to them 
were born six children, three growing to maturity. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, at Lewistown, in 
young manhood. In 1841, the Lewistown congregation called him to 
the deacon's office ; the same congregation elected him w speaker," in 
1846, while attending a meeting held in the barn on the Kinsel farm, 
near where the Spring Run church house now stands. He was the 
hrst minister in the Lewistown congregation to preach in the English. 
His heart was in the work to such an extent that the congregation 
increased through his ministry and his life became a power in a large 
territory. He performed many marriages and preached funerals on 
every hand. He was a strong advocate of Sunday-schools before 
there were any, and was the leader in organizing one at the Spring 
Run church, in 1866. He was an enthusiastic home missionary, 
because in those days there was no foreign work by the Brethren, 
and showed his zeal by preaching in school houses far and near, 
wherever the door was opened. In 1860 he was ordained; at 
once took the oversight of his home (Lewistown) congregation for 
six years.* 

He was a regular attendant at District Meeting, and many An- 
nual Meetings found him there. It pleased the Conference to 
place him, often, on committees to have the benefit of his judg- 
ment. He was pre-eminently a preacher, not emotional, but eloquent 
and convincing. 

He contracted some intestinal disease that, in about a year, closed 
his earthly career, February 15, 1877, but he was able to direct his 
affairs up to the last. Stephen H. Bashor and John Spanogle deliv- 
ered the funeral discourses from Psalm 91 : 16, 17. His body lies in 
the Spring Run Cemetery. 

HARRIS, John P., first of four children of Prior H. and Ella J. 
(nee Yount) Harris, was born near Staunton, (Va.), on September 
24, 1879. He was educated in the Barren Ridge High Schools; spent 
two years' work in Pleasant Grove Academy, and attended two 
special Bible terms at Bridgewater College. 

On November 18, 1906, in the Barren Ridge, (Va.), congregation, 
he united with the Church of the Brethren, Jacob C. Garber adminis- 
tering baptism. This same congregation called him to the deacon's 
office, February 2, 1907; the Concord congregation, (Va.), March 3, 
1910, called him to the ministry, and on March 10, 1918, the Stoners- 



* He was a deacon five years and a minister thirty-one years, seventeen years of 
which he was bishop, first of the Lewistown congregation, but when the district 
was divided, he living in the west end, became bishop of what is now known as 
the Spring Run congregation. — From S. W. Bollinger's obituary notice, page 158, 
Primitive Christian, 1877. 

438 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

town congregation, (Pa.), had him ordained, Albert G. Crosswhite, 
John R. Stayer and David T. Detwiler officiating. 

He was pastor of the Mt. Carroll congregation, (111.) , from Febru- 
ary 1, 1912, to December 1, 1913. He entered upon his pastorate at 
Stonerstown and Riddlesburg, January 21, 1915, and continues in 
that capacity. 

He has always been active as a teacher in the Sunday-school ; 
represented his congregation at District Meeting eleven times ; at 
Annual Meeting ten times. Address, Saxton, (Pa.). 

HEISEY, Hkrman Biever, oldest of two sons of the family of John 
Henry and Susan (nee Biever) Heisey, was born near Middletown, 
Dauphin County, (Pa.), December 10, 1890. 
His mother was a member of the River Breth- 
ren. When he was but three years old, his 
mother died, and two years later his father. 
His uncle, William J. Biever, a member of the 
Lutheran Church, gave him a good Christian 
home. He attended public school, first in 
Lebanon, (E. Pa.), and then in Johnstown, 
(W. Pa.), and during his vacations worked 
for the Cambria Steel Company, first as car 
tracer and then as weighmaster. His eagerness 
for an education led him to take a course of 
studies with the International Correspondence 
School. In the Fall of 1908, he entered Juni- 
ata College, and graduated from the Sacred 
Literature course in the Spring of 1911. He 
also pursued the divinity course almost to completion. 

He was united in marriage with Grace, daughter of John A. and 
Mary (nee Ferguson) Nedrow, of Westmoreland County, (Pa.), 
Mahlon J. Weaver solemnizing the union on May 29, 1912, in the 
Pittsburgh (Pa.) Church of the Brethren. To them were born 
three children. 

In the Walnut Grove congregation, of Johnstown, (Pa.), he united 
with the Church of the Brethren, through baptism administered by 
Samuel W. Pearce, on August 21, 1908. The Huntingdon congre- 
gation, while he was in school, called him to the ministry, on Easter, 
1910, and the following summer vacation he preached nearly every 
Sunday. He became pastor of the Stonerstown congregation, at 
Saxton, (M. Pa.), at the close of his college work. At the York 
General Conference, 1912, he and his wife were approved for the 
India field, and that Fall they sailed. Failing health compelled their 
return in the Spring of 1914. September 1, 1914, they located in the 
Red Bank congregation, (W. Pa.), where, through the laying on of 
hands by Galen K. Walker and Harvey S. Replogle, he was ordained, 
July, 1915; was pastor of Rummel Church, 1917-19; has represented 
his congregation seven times at District Meeting and eight times at 
General Conference ; served on the Standing Committee at Winona 
Lake, (Ind.), 1919; conducts several revival campaigns each year 
along with his pastoral labors. He accepted a call from the 
Lewistown congregation, (M. Pa.), in 1919, where he continues 

439 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 

as pastor at this time. He occasionally accepts invitations to the 
lecture platform, but does not work under a Bureau. Address, 
Lewistown, (Pa.). 

HENRY, Martin S., fifth of seven children of Jacob and Elizabeth 
(nee Dublin) Henry, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near Canoe Creek, Blair County, (Pa.), June 5, 1865. He had 
no educational advantages and did not learn to read until after he 
was married. He has made his living as a machinist for the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad Company. 

By his first wife, Anna A. Henry, he had four children, — George, 
Mary, John, and Clara. By his second wife, Mary Beller, he had two 
children, — Walter and Martin. By his third wife, Bell Tanneyhill, 
he had no children. Then, on June 20, 1901, he was united in mar- 
riage with Clara, daughter of John and Mary (nee Deable) Werry, 
of English descent, the union being solemnized in Camden, (N. J.). 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in Juniata Park con- 
gregation, Joseph W. Wilt administering baptism in December, 1910. 
Here he was called to the deacon's office, September 3, 1912, and to 
the ministry, January 6, 1920. He has represented his congregation 
at District Meeting several times ; superintendent of the Sunday- 
school at Juniata Park and later at Riggles Gap, each a number of 
years. Through his leadership and liberality, a union church has 
been built at Reese Station and dedicated June 12, 1924. Here he 
has given two years of labor and built up the kingdom. His address 

is Juniata, (Pa.). 

HENRY, Tobias, fifth of six children of 
John and Mary (nee Fourney) Henry, mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, was 
born near Loysburg, (Pa.), December 7, 1901. 
Besides the grade school work, he has com- 
pleted two years at Juniata College. He is 
making his living teaching public school. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the Koontz congregation, through baptism 
administered by Herman S. Guyer, February 
2, 1916. This congregation called him to the 
ministry, May 25, 1921, George E. Yoder 
conducting the installation service. His ad- 
dress is New Enterprise, (Pa.). 

HERSHBERGER, Henry, eleventh of twelve children of George 
and Mary (nee Studebaker) Hershberger, was born in Snake 
Spring Valley, near Everett, (Pa.), February 18, 1825. He spent 
his life on the farm. 

He was united in marriage with Eliza, daughter of Solomon and 
Fannie (nee Metzger) Steele, on February 21, 1850. About this 
time the bride united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake 
Spring congregation, where she spent all her life. Living to an 
advanced age, she brought many early incidents of more than ordi- 
nary interest into the present. To them were born twelve children, — 




440 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



George, Fanny, Solomon, John S., bishop of the Everett congrega- 
tion; Mary, Lydia, James Q., Sophia, Daniel F., Anson H., David, 
and Jeremiah. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the Snake Spring Valley congregation, 
when about twenty-one years old. This con- 
gregation called him to the ministry, June 4, 
1863; advanced him to the second degree. 
March 28, 1868, in the presence of Jacob 
Steele, Andrew Snowberger, Isaac Ritchey, 
and Henry Clapper. Later he was ordained 
and served the Snake Spring congregation as 
bishop until his death, March 4, 1878. His 
home was frequented, in those early days, by 
prominent ministers, among whom was John 
Kline.* The funeral services were conducted 
by Jacob Steele and Jacob Miller, from John 

11 :25, 26. Mrs. Henry Hershberger 




HERSHBERGER, Howard SnydKr, first of six children of Solomon 
and Lovina (nee Snyder) Hershberger, members of the Church of 
the Brethren, was born in Snake Spring Valley, near Everett, (Pa.), 
September 1, 1878. He was reared on the farm, had the advantage 
of good common schools, and four terms at Juniata College. He 
taught school six terms and then turned his attention to farming. 

He was united in marriage with Margaret, daughter of John S. 
and Many (nee Bowser) Whetstone, the union being solemnized by 
J W. Lingle, December 22, 1903. To them were born five sons. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren while at Juniata Col- 
lege, William J. Swigart administering baptism, in January, 1899. 
The Snake Spring Valley congregation called him to the min- 
istry, May 25, 1907. He served as superintendent of the Snake 
Spring Valley Sunday-school for four years. His address is Loys- 
burg, (Pa.). 



HERSHBERGER, John Stshtx 
fourth of eight sons and four 
daughters of Henry and Eliza (nee 
Steele) Hershberger, was born in 
Snake Spring Valley, November 25, 
1855. His parents were members of 
the Church of the Brethren, and his 
father served as bishop of the Snake 
Spring congregation from about 1870 
to 1881. John received a liberal 
education offered in the public 
schools of the day, and took keen 
interest in preparing himself for 
life's task. In 1880 he was appointed 




* Tuesday, May 19, 1863. Get to Henry Hershberger's in Snake Spring Valley, 
where I stay all night. Twenty-eight miles today. — Life of John Kline, p. 465. 



441 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

census enumerator for Snake Spring Township, by Howard Miller, 
then supervisor of this Congressional District. When the South 
Penn Railroad was under construction, he was on the clerical force. 
But work on it suddenly stopped, and he went to Everett and began 
the butchering and ice business. His brother, James Q., later became 
a partner, and they added brick making to their activities. In the 
course of a few years the brothers dissolved partnership, and John 
continued in the butchering business till 1913. He served one term 
as associate judge of Bedford County. He is now secretary of the 
Fulton Bedford Telephone Company, treasurer of the Everett Ceme- 
tery Company, and director of the First National Bank of Everett, 
vice-president of Everett Cash Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 
His hobby is dairy farming and pure bred Jersey cattle. 

He is united in marriage with S. Emma, daughter of Simon and 
Mary Ann (nee Sparks) Nycum, of Rays Hill, John W. Poffinberger 
solemnizing the union, May 13, 1885. To them were born eight 
children, namely: Mary M. W., S. Henry, William N., Paul B., Ruth 
Leone, Naomi, and Lois. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Silver Creek 
congregation, near Falls City, (Neb.), in December, 1876, Samuel 
Stump administering baptism. The Everett congregation called him 
to the deacon's office, February 15, 1894, and, on the following 
August 4, to the ministry. The same congregation had him ad- 
vanced to the second degree, August 13, 1897, and the bishopric, 
through the laying on of hands by George W. Brumbaugh and 
Jacob Koontz, on May 19, 1901. Immediately he entered upon the 
duties of bishop of his own congregation, which position he still 
holds. He has represented his congregation at District Meeting 
twenty-four times; at Annual Meeting six times. When the minis- 
terial work of his congregation grew heavy, he was a leader in ar- 
ranging for a pastor to serve the people. He served five years on the 
District Mission Board, two years of which he was chairman ; was 
chosen by the District to serve on a committee to sell the old Home 
at Shirleysburg, and locate and build the present one at Martinsburg. 
He has always been a friend of education and a strong supporter of 
Juniata College. His home is in Everett, (Pa.). 

HERSHBERGER, Solomon, third of twelve children of Henry and 
Eliza (nee Steele) Hershberger, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born in Snake Spring Valley, near Everett, (Pa.), 
February 23, 1854. He was reared on the farm and made his living 
farming. 

On December 6. 1877, he was united in marriage with Lovina, the 
daughter of Jacob Snyder, and to them were born three sons and 
six daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake Spring 
Valley congregation. Here he was called to the ministry, in 1894, 
and served the church until 1907, when he died. John Fluck and 
William S. Ritchey conducted the funeral services. 

HIMMELSBAUGH, Ida, a missionary to India. See page 557. 

442 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

HOCKENBERRY, Roy W., last of two children of Jacob W. and 
Anna Rebecca (nee Stayer) Hockenberry, at first members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church and later of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, was born near Everett, Bedford County, (Pa.), February 11, 
1885. Besides good common school training, he spent three years on 
the Scientific course in the Valparaiso, (Ind.), University. He is 
engaged in merchandising. 

He was united in marriage, in 1915, with Stella M., daughter of 
Henry and Emma (nee Weimer) Fletcher, and to them one son and 
one daughter were born. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in 1905, in what is now 
the Cherry Lane congregation. Here he was called to the ministry, 
in 1906, and served the church as a supply at Everett to some ex- 
tent. After locating at his present home, he united with the United 
Brethren Church, in 1922, and is active there. 

HOLSINGER, Daniel M., son of John and Elizabeth (nee Mack) 
Holsinger, members of the Church of the Brethren, was born in 
Bedford County, (Pa.), October 22, 1812. His father was one of the 
early preachers of the church who faced the hardships of frontier 
life. His mother was a descendant of Alexander Mack. He availed 
himself of the common schools and attended a night school conducted 
by John Miller. He specialized on the English language and learned 
to use it correctly. He made his living mostly by farming. 

He was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of Solomon Ritz, 
the union being solemnized August 12, 1832. To them were born 
eight children : Henry R., the leading spirit in the organization of 
the Brethren Church ; Elizabeth, married to Robert Riley, Ephraim 
R., Hannah, married to John Brumbaugh ; David R., Mary, married 
to Daniel Stoner ; George R., and Rebecca, married to Jacob 
Brumbaugh. 

Both he and his wife united with the Church of the Brethren in 
the Clover Creek congregation, in 1833. This congregation called 
him to the ministry, in 1841, and had him ordained, in 1863, at which 
time he was given the oversight of the Clover Creek congregation, 
and served it in that capacity until near the close of his life. While, 
in the Cove, German was the prevailing language in the pulpits of 
the church, he spoke in the English and became quite a favorite 
among people, and officiated at most of the marriages and burials in 
Central Morrison's Cove. He was so much in demand as a minister 
that it was difficult for him to make a living, in the days when the 
ministry did not even receive a support. The unusual was done for 
him, — the congregation purchased a small farm for him, and here he 
resided till his family was raised. In 1865 or '66, he sold the farm 
and moved to a community now known as Carson Valley congrega- 
tion. Here he remained with this congregation for about six years, 
then returned to Clover Creek to spend the rest of his days. 

He served on the Standing Committee in 1868, at Elkhart, (Ind.). 
Eastern District of Pennsylvania sent him on a mission to Maine, 
while General Conference sent him to Tennessee, Michigan, Illinois, 
and Iowa, to attend to important church work. He had an " ex- 
ceedingly retentive memory, and, being a close student of the Scrip- 

443 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

tures, as well as a lover of a number of poets, he had at his command 
almost the entire word of God, and could recite page after page of 
Milton's works." The last fifteen years of his life he was totally 
blind. The affliction of his old age was Bright's disease, to which he 
succumbed January 31, 1886. Interment in the Clover Creek 
Cemetery.* 

HOLSINGER, Georg^ elected to the ministry in the Dunnings 
Creek congregation, October 27, 1868. 

HOLSINGER, George Blackburn, oldest of four sons of Joseph 
H. and Rebecca (nee Blackburn) Holsinger, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born on his father's farm, near Pleasantville. 
Bedford County, (Pa.), May 20, 1857. His father was leader of 
song for the Church of the Brethren for a number of years. Eleven 
years of common school education, and he was ready to teach. He 
soon drifted into teaching music, something he passionately loved. 
He received instruction in music from men of national reputation, 
among them Benjamin H. Everett, W. E. Burnett, B. C. Unseld, 
George F. Root, R. H. Palmer, and J. C. Filmore. When the Vir- 
ginia Normal, now Bridgewater College, was moved to Bridgewater, 
in 1882, he took charge of the musical department, and taught piano, 
organ, vocal, history, harmony, and composition. He gave over 
30,000 lessons on instruments, alone. 

In 1898 he became musical editor for the Brethren Publishing 
House, and from that time till the close of his life, gave his time to 
preparing song books and traveling among the churches, conducting 
musical institutes and singing classes. Pie was leader of the song 
service at General Conference for a number of years. 

He was united in marriage with Sallie A., daughter of David N. 
and Mary (nee Miller) Keagey, of Bridgewater, Va.), the union 
being solemnized by Solomon Garber, on August 19, 1884. She very 
richly supplemented his poetical and musical talent with her own 
ability. To them were born twin boys, but Clyde K. alone reached 
maturity. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, October 8, 1875. 

While engaged in teaching a vocal class at Astoria, (111.), he took 
sick with pneumonia and passed on before, even before his wife 
could reach his bedside. His funeral was preached by Andrew 
Hutcheson, using for text 1 Cor. 15: 51-58. His body lies buried in 
the Bridgewater, (Va.), Cemetery. 

HOLSINGER, George Mack, second of four sons of John and 
Elizabeth (nee Mack) PTolsinger, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Woodbury, Bedford County, (Pa.), May 
26, 1804. He was married to Sarah Snyder, August 23, 1827, and 
to them were born six children, — Thomas S., John S., Levi S., 
Joseph H., Christian S., and Elizabeth. He united with the Church 



* Quotation and information from account in Gospel Messenger, February 16, 
1886, taken from the Daily Tribune, Altoona, (Pa.). 

444 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

of the Brethren in the Woodbury congregation, and by her called to 
the deacon's office, some time before 1841. In that year the family 
moved on a farm about three miles from Alum Bank, where, in 
1845, he was called to the ministry. It may be properly said he was 
the founder of the Dunnings Creek congregation. He died April 
24, 1862, and his body is buried in Mock Cemetery. 




HOLSINGER, Henry R., first of eight children of Daniel Mack 
and Polly (nee Ritz) Holsinger, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Martins- 
burg, (Pa.), May 26, 1833. His 
father was a bishop in the church, 
and, according to a local biographer, 
" adhered tenaciously to the conser- 
vative branch of the church, and so 
averse was he to any encroachment 
of its rules and doctrines, that he 
could not have any sympathy with 
the new departure." The son was 
reared on the farm, and had the ad- 
vantage of public school training. 

Pie was united in marriage with 
Susannah, daughter of Peter and 
Nancy Shoop, the union being sol- 
emnized by Reverend Fitchner, June 

1, 1854. To them were born two daughters, Annie E., who married 
Paul G. Nowag, of Johnstown, (Pa.), and Lottie, who married 
Samuel J. Holsinger, Phoenix, (Ariz.). 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Clover Creek 
congregation, George Brumbaugh administering baptism, in the early 
Spring of 1855. He was "then in full harmony with the teachings 
of the church, with a few exceptions." He could not see " that edu- 
cation was a dangerous thing and had a great thirsting for more of 
it." He. " was never much afraid of Sunday-schools, yet for some 
reason he never attended one regularly." He " believed in plainness 
of attire, but never accepted the uniformity theory." The Clover 
Creek congregation called him to the ministry, October 28, 1866; 
had him advanced to the second degree a few months afterwards, 
and ordained, through the laying on of hands, October 21, 1890'. He 
" worked without jarring with the congregation in which he lived 
or the officers under whom he served for more than fifteen years." 
The Gospel Visitor, an eight-page monthly, had been published at 
Poland, (O.), since 1851. During 1856-7, under the direction of 
Henry Kurtz, he learned the printing business in his shop. In the 
latter part of 1857, he undertook the publication of the Morrison's 
Cove Journal, at Martinsburg, (Pa.), but the financial crisis of that 
year compelled him to abandon the project after he had secured over 
500 subscriptions. Thwarted in his printing dreams for a time, he 
taught school till 1863. Again he opened a printing shop, this one in 
Tyrone, and published the Tyrone Herald until November, 1864. At 
the District Meeting of 1864 he received permission to publish, on his 
own responsibility, " an independent church paper, published weekly." 



445 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

May 10, 1864,* the first number of the first weekly ever published in 
the Church of the Brethren, appeared. Thus appears the heading of 
this humble yet portentous beginning : 

CHRISTIAN FAMILY COMPANION 

By H. R. Holsinger, " Whosoever loveth me keepeth my command- 
ments." At $1.50, postage prepaid. 

Volume I Tyrone City, Pa., May 10, 1864 Specimen Number. 

Thus he spoke, in part, in his introduction : " Believing, as I do, 
and without a shadow of a doubt, that the Church of the Brethren f 
is now the only religious organization, in the Western World, which 
teaches the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, as it is 
revealed in the New Testament; and which has for its sole object 
the glory of God and the salvation of the soul. I have often looked 
forward — with anxious heart — to the time when no man can say, ' I 
knew not that such a church was in existence.' He gives these 
reasons for sending forth his paper : First, to furnish " my brethren 
with a weekly journal which shall be free from all vanity, fiction, 
falsehood, etc. . . . Second, To afford a medium for free dis- 
cussions, etc. . . . Third, To give wholesome instruction and 
kindly admonition, etc. . . . Fourth, To give interesting church 
news, etc. . . ." 

Disappointment again awaited him. He took sample copies of his 
new paper to the Hagerstown, (Ind.), General Conference, and 
advertised through the Gospel Visitor, but received so little en- 
couragement that he did not begin publication. He issued an- 
other sample copy in October, 1864, in which he stated he would 
begin the publication regularly, January 1, 1865. Less than 400 
subscriptions began the regular issue. During the first five issues, 
252 more subscribers were added. The year closed with over 
1,000 subscriptions; second vear, 1,500; third year, 2,000; and fourth 
year, 3,000. 

In 1870, he began the publication of the Pious Youth, a monthly 
paper for young people ; but, after two years, it was discontinued for 
want of patronage. 

In 1871 he published the first issue of the Brethren's Almanac, 
which has grown into our present Year Book. 

He continued this weekly, at Tyrone, until 1871, for the October 31 
issue of that year is headed " Dale City, (Pa.)." In 1873, he sold his 
Christian Family Companion and the Almanac to James Quinter, who 
consolidated the former with the Gospel Visitor. At Myersdale he 
published the Dale City Record, and compiled our first Brethren 
Hymn and Tune Book. 

About 1874, he sold all his interests in Meyersdale and moved to 
Berlin (same county), and undertook the task of raising $200,000.00 

* In his editorial, " Migration," in October 17, 1871, issue of the Christian 
Family Companion, Brother Holsinger says: "Over eight years ago we moved to 
Tyrone and commenced the publication of a secular paper and opened a job print- 
ing office. . . . After commencing the publication of the Companion we sold out 
our local paper and job office." 

f Let the reader note here perhaps the first use in print of the present name of 
the Church. 

446 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



to endow a Church of the Brethren college, to be located in that city. 
After two years of self-sacrificing effort, which bore little fruits, he 
reluctantly gave up the project. 

In 1878, he, with Joseph Beer, began publishing the Progressive 
Christian, at Berlin. Brother Beer soon after became sole owner, 
and later the periodical was discontinued. In 1880, Brother Hol- 
singer and Howard Miller revived the paper; but Brother Miller 
withdrew in two months, and Brother Holsinger continued the pub- 
lication until 1882, when it was removed to Ashland, (O.), consoli- 
dated with the Gospel Preacher, published there, and, under the 
new name, The Brethren Evangelist was begun. This new peri- 
odical became the mouthpiece of those dear ones who, through the 
unfortunate division, withdrew from the Church of the Brethren 
communion. 

^ Some of the underlying issues that brought on this heart-rending 
division are the following: (1) Missions, Sunday-schools and church 
colleges; (2) An educated and supported ministry; (3) A church 
government of a more congregational type; (4) Freedom of con- 
science in relation to uniformity in dress. 

The immediate and outward occasion for withdrawing fellowship 
from our dear Brother was the following: (1) On the part of 
Brother Holsinger the employment of " a stenographer to take down 
and publish the proceedings of the council." (2) On the part of the 
Berlin congregation the decision that the council shall be "held 
openly to all members, and persons not members of the Brethren 
Church will be considered present by courtesy only, and none but 
members of the Berlin Church and the Committee are invited to 
participate in the business." * 

These procedures of Brother Holsinger and of the Berlin congre- 
gation were unusual for the Church of the Brethren, and, after some 
consideration and one night of rest, the committee from General 
Conference, on August 10, 1881, withdrew fellowship. This action 
was ratified by the next General Conference. 

Brother Holsinger, with the exception of 1884-5, continued to be 
editor of the Brethren Evangelist, from 1882 until its purchase by the 
denomination, in 1892. 

In June, 1882, Brother Holsinger and those who withdrew with 
him, held a General Conference at Ashland, (O.). He was moder- 
ator of that Conference, and the two succeeding ones. In 1897, on 
account of his health, he went to California, and there completed his 
History of the Tankers and the Brethren, in 1901. This, in many 
ways, is a valuable historical work for the Church of the Brethren. 
It contains 826 pages, and about 400 illustrations. 

During his later years he was afflicted in such a manner that at 
times he could not talk, but made himself understood by pointing to 
printed words. From California, he went to his daughter, in 
Phoenix, (Ariz.), and then back to Johnstown, (Pa.), where, in the 
home of his daughter, Annie, he died, Sunday evening, March 12, 
1905. Funeral services conducted by William S. Bell; interment at 
Berlin, (Pa.) 



* Minutes of the Annual Meeting, Art. 11, 1882. 

447 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 

HOLSINGER, I. Edward, oldest of seven children of the family of 
Levi and Barbara (nee Replogle) Holsinger, members of the Church 

of the Brethren, was born near New 
Enterprise, (Pa.), August 10, 1878. 
Though reared on the farm, his de- 
sires were for scholastic attainments. 
He graduated from the Normal 
English course at Tuniata College, 
1902; A.B., 1909; A.M., University 
of Pittsburgh, 1913. He taught 
school as follows : South Woodbury 
Township, Bedford County, from 
1896 to 1901 ; Principal Hopewell 
Public School, 1902-1903; Saxton 
Public Schools, 1903-1906; Tyrone 
High Schools, 1909-1911; Teacher 
in McKeesport High School, 1911- 
1912; Principal Avalon High School, 
1912-1916; Head Teacher Latimer Junior High School, Pitts- 
burgh, 1916-1918; had charge of Boys' Work in Pittsburgh, 
1918-1920; Director of Bovs' Work, Elmira, (N. Y.), since 
July, 1920. 

He was united in marriage with Laura Barbara, daughter of 
Obediah S. and Amanda (nee Buck) Ober, the union being 
solemnized by Charles L. Buck, June 29, 1904. To them are born 
two sons, — Alden C, February 22, 1908, and Bernard O., June 
22, 1911. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren while John G. Royer 
was holding a revival meeting in the New Enterprise congregation, 
(Pa.), through baptism administered by David T. Detwiler, in the 
Autumn of 1891. The Huntingdon congregation, while he was at- 
tending college, called him to the ministry, May 17, 1908. The First 
Church of Pittsburgh advanced him to the second degree, in 1915, 
Theodore R. CofYman officiating. He was a member of the Execu- 
tive Board of Sunday-schools in Western District of Pennsylvania, 
and served as field secretary, 1914-1917. He is the originator of the 
circuit idea, worked so effectually in that district. His home is at 709 
West Third Street, Elmira, (N. Y.). 



HOLSINGER, John, second of five children of Rudolph Holsinger, 
who came to America in 1731, was born, presumably, in Germany, 
July 21, 1768, for the family is of German extraction. There was an 
older son, George. Jacob, next younger to John, was born during 
the ocean voyage to this country. David and Annie were the other 
two children. 

John was united in marriage with Elizabeth Mack, born October 
13, 1776, a direct descendant of Alexander Mack, one of the founders 
of the Church in Germany. To them were born four sons, — John 
M., George M., Daniel M., and Alexander M. 

He was an elder in the Church of the Brethren and associated with 
Samuel Ulery in the beginnings of the church in Morrison's Cove. 
The date of his death is unknown, for his body lies on the old home- 



448 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 




stead, south of Baker's Summit, marked with a limestone on which 
are chiseled the letters J. H.* 

HOLSINGER, John L., youngest of six children of John M. and 
Barbara (nee Long) Holsinger, members of the Church of the 
Church of the Brethren, was born on 
the old homestead farm, near Bak- 
er's Summit, Bedford County, (Pa.), 
June 9, 1845. Reared on the farm, 
he enjoyed the advantages of the 
public schools and made his living 
farming. In 1907, with his family, 
save two children, he moved to Okla- 
homa, where he has since resided. 

He was united, June 1, 1875, in 
marriage with Esther Ann, daughter 
of Joseph and Charity (nee Whit- 
field) Streight, then members of the 
Christian Church, who came from 
Fulton County, (Pa.). To this union 
were born eleven children: Abigail, 

married to David C. Pote; Barbara, married to John K. Frederick; 
Charity, (Edward and David, deceased), Esther, married to James 
Crow, Oliver, Melda, married to Frederick Holderead; Joseph, 
Ralph, a minister, and Julius. 

In early life he, with his wife, united with the Church of the 
Brethren, in the New Enterprise congregation. Here he was called 
to the ministry, in 1876. In the Woodbury congregation, through the 
laying on of hands of two of the following: John S. Holsinger, John 
W. Brumbaugh and Joseph Z. Replogle, he was ordained, December 
25, 1886. He succeeded John B. Replogle in the oversight of the 
Woodbury congregation, August 18, 1900, with Charles L. Buck, 
Joseph S. Snowberger and George W T . Brumbaugh having charge. 
He usually attended District Meeting; was frequently sent to Gen- 
eral Conference as delegate. He was called upon to" baptize many; 
was active in the Sunday-school. He now resides in the Big Creek 
congregation, in Oklahoma. Address, Agra, (Okla.). 

HOLSINGER, John Snyder, second of six children of George M. 
and Sarah (nee Snyder) Holsinger, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Baker's Summit, Bedford County, (Pa.), 
September 7, 1829. His father was a bishop and encouraged his son 
to secure education until he was able to teach a number of years in 
public school. He made his living principally by farming. 

He was united in marriage with Esther, daughter of Ellis Rogers, 
May 19, 1853, and to them were born a number of children, but only 
one, Ellis, lived to maturity. 

When but twelve years old, his parents moved to Dunnings Creek 
congregation, where, in 1850 or 1851, he united with the Church of 

* Gleaned for the most part from Blough's History of the Churches of Western 
Pennsylvania. 



449 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



the Brethren. This congregation called him to the ministry. He 
moved his family to Tippecanoe County, (la.), where he was or- 
dained, January 15, 1871. He had the oversight of the congregation 
there till 1893, when he moved to Prince William County, (Va.), and 
settled on a farm. He attended District Meetings, served as clerk 
once; three times as moderator, and four times represented his con- 
gregation at General Conference during the period that Dunnings 
Creek belonged to Western District of Pennsylvania. He died No- 
vember 8, 1910.* 

HOLSINGER, Lkonard Replogle, third of seven children of Levi 
F. and Barbara (nee Replogle) Holsinger, members of the Church 

of the Brethren, was born at Water- 
side, Bedford County, (Pa.), April 
2, 1882. Reared on the farm, yet he 
completed the common school course 
at Waterside and New Enterprise, 
attended one summer normal at the 
latter place, one year special work at 
Juniata College, a number of Bible 
Institutes, and spent two years in 
Crozer Theological Seminary, and 
thus prepared himself for life. In 
recent years, due to a run down 
physical condition, he changed from 
pastoral work to fruit farming. He 
hopes, however, to take up pastoral 
work again. 
He was united in marriage with Elizabeth, daughter of John T. 
and Justina (nee Berheimer) Hetrick, of Waterside, (Pa.), on 
August 22, 1906, Harvey S. Replogle officiating. At the time the 
bride was principal of the Waterside schools. To them are born 
five children, — Stanford, Freda, Leonard, Irene, and Clyde. 

In the Morrelville congregation (W. Pa.) he united with the 
Church of the Brethren, through baptism administered by Harvey S. 
Replogle, August 30, 1909. The West Johnstown (W. Pa.) con- 
gregation called him to the ministry on January 13, 1910; and the 
Red Bank congregation, same district, through the laying on of hands 
by Silas Hoover and Harvey S. Replogle, had him ordained, July 
20, 1913. Lie served as pastor in the following congregations : Red 
Bank, (W. Pa.), February 1, 1911, to September 1, 1914, two years 
of which he was bishop; Coventry, (S. E. Pa.), September 1, 1914, 
to April 1, 1920, both pastor and bishop. He has been active in the 
evangelistic field, holding, on an average, three meetings per year for 
the last twelve years. He has represented his congregation at Dis- 
trict Meting twelve times ; at General Conference, five times ; and has 
served the Standing Committee at Hershey, in 1918. He served as 
moderator of the bishops, as well as president of the Sunday-school 
Association of his District (S. E. Pa., N. J. and E. N. Y.), during 
1918-19; was member of the ministerial board of same district dur- 




* Gleaned from Blongli's History of Western Pennsylvania. 



450 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



ing 1918-19; member of the committee from the District to Bethany 
Church during 1917-18; elected member of the General Ministerial 
Board when first organized, in 1919, at the Winona Conference, and 
by it made secretary-treasurer, in which capacity he served for a 
short time. His address is Martinsburg, (Pa.). 

HOLSINGER, Uvi R, the only child of Levi, Sr., and Elizabeth 
(nee Furry) Holsinger, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near New Enterprise, (Pa.), 
January 23, 1856. His father was 
accidentally killed when the child 
was of tender age, and he remem- 
bers little about him. The son had 
the advantages of a common school 
education and has made his living, 
farming. 

He was united in marriage with 
Barbara S., daughter of Isaac, Sr., 
and Elizabeth (nee Snowberger) 
Replogle, members of the Church of 
the Brethren, the union being solemn- 
ized by Joseph B. Replogle, Septem- 
ber 25, 1877. To them were born 
seven children, — I. Edward, Christian 

R., Leonard R., Elizabeth, Lester H„ Iva, and Orville. The mother 
died November 30, 1922, and is buried in the New Enterprise 
Cemetery. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the New Enterprise 
congregation, in 1876, Henry Hershberger administering baptism. 
This congregation called him to the ministry, March 8, 1884, and 
had him ordained, by the laying on of hands by James A. Sell, on 
September 4, 1897. He has represented his congregation at both 
District and General Conferences a number of times ; has been a 
teacher in the Sunday-school during nearly all of his ministry and 
has served several years as superin- 
tendent. He has conducted some 
sixty-one revival meetings in various 
congregations in Pennsylvania and 
Maryland, and 186 have been led to 
confess Christ in baptism. His home 
is at New Enterprise, (Pa.). 




HOLSINGER, Virgil Clair, oldest 

of two sons and two daughters of 

William W. and Corena Jane (nee 

Gates) Holsinger, members of the 

Church of the Brethren, was born 

October 29, 1892, on a Clover Creek 

Valley farm, about five miles south 

of Williamsburg, (Pa.). His parents, 

being in favor of a liberal education, did all they could for their 

children in that direction. Virgil, after attending common school, 




451 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



took a pedagogical course at Elizabethtown College, and graduated 
in 1914. He was principal of East Lampeter High School, Lancaster 
County, (Pa.), for four years, and then moved to Bellwood. He is 
continuing his education at Juniata College. 

He was united in marriage with Emma Besse, daughter of Samuel 
Edward and Catherine (nee Stineman) Wright, William H. Hol- 
singer solemnizing the union, September 6, 1914. To them were born 
three children, — Virgil Clair, Jr., Catherine May, and Galen Wright. 

In August, 1903, when but ten years old, Virgil accepted Christ 
and was baptized by John H. Brumbaugh, in the stream just a few 
rods from his home. He was active in Sunday-school work through 
the years, was called to the ministry in the Fairview congregation, 
October 15, 1910, and, through the laying on of hands by Walter S. 
Long and Joseph W. W T ilt, on July 26, 19.23, was ordained in the 
Bellwood congregation. On September 1, 1920, the young people 
took the pastorate of the Bellwood congregation on partial support, 
with the privilege of teaching or continuing his college education. 
He has represented his congregation at District Meeting twice, and 
at General Conference, once. June 1, 1924, he resigned his pastorate 
and is teaching in the Williamsburg, (Pa.), schools. Address, Wil- 
liamsburg, (Pa.). 



HOLSINGER, William Henry, last of four children, all sons, of 
Joseph H. and Rebecca (nee Blackburn) Holsinger, members of the 

Church of the Brethren, was born 
near Alum Bank, Bedford Countv, 
(Pa.), March 7, 1872. After spend- 
ing three years in Bridgewater, 
(Va.), Academy, he engaged in farm- 
ing and teaching for eighteen years. 
For a number of years he devoted 
his time to pastoral work, but re- 
cently he has turned his attention to 
teaching again. 

He was united in marriage with 
Corena J., daughter of Joseph K. and 
Harriet (nee Brumbaugh) Gates, 
George W. Brumbaugh solemnizing 
the union on December 6, 1891. To 
them were born two sons, Virgil and 
Paul, and two daughters, Freda and Orpha. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Fairview con- 
gregation, Joseph S. Snowberger administering baptism, on Decem- 
ber 29, 1888. This congregation called him to the ministry, May 21, 
1904; and had him ordained, through the laying on of hands by 
Jacob K. Brown and John R. Stayer, May 30, 1908. He served as 
bishop and pastor of the Fairview congregation, 1908-19; Williams- 
burg, 1917-21, and Smithfield, 1917-24. He has been active in 
Sunday-school w r ork, serving as teacher, superintendent, — as member 
of the District Sunday-school Board of Blair County, ten years ; 
member of the District Mission Board of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, ten years, four years of which he was its secretary-treasurer. 




452 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 




He has represented his congregation at District Meeting sixteen 
times, and General Conference, six times. His home is in Williams- 
burg, (Pa.). 

HOLSOPPLE, Frank Ferry, third in a family of eleven children 
of Joseph and Catherine (nee Lehman) Holsopple, was born in a 
log house on a small farm near Indiana, (Pa.), 
January 13, 1866. His father was an influen- 
tial bishop in the Church of the Brethren. 
After receiving a common school education he 
attended Indiana Normal, (1884) ; Purchase 
Line Academy (1885-6), and Penn Run Acad- 
emy (1887), and during this time and in all 
six years, he taught country school. April, 
1889, he entered upon the Normal English 
course of what is now Juniata College, gradu- 
ated in 1891, and continued his studies in 
Bible and college one year. Later he did 
graduate work at the University of Pennsyl- 
vania and at Harvard. In recognition of his 
ability as a student and teacher he has re- 
ceived the following degrees : Lebanon Vallev 

College, M.S., 1906; Juniata College, A.M., 1911; McPherson Col- 
lege, (Kan.), L.H.D., 1917; Blue Ridge College, (Md.), D.D., 1923. 
From 1901 to 1914 he was head of the English department of Juni- 
ata College. 

He was united in marriage with Grace, daughter of James and 
Fannie (nee Studebaker) Quinter, at her home, in Huntingdon, 
(Pa.), on October 5, 1892. To them were born Frances Q., 
Joseph Q. (deceased), Naomi Q., James Q., Herman L., and 
Mary C. 

In the Manor congregation, (W. Pa.), he united with the Church 
of the Brethren, through baptism administered by Mark Minser, on 
February 27, 1887. The some congregation called him to the min- 
istry, June 2, 1887; the Huntingdon congregation had him advanced 
to the second degree, November 14, 1891 ; and the Hagerstown con- 
gregation (Md.) ordained him to the full ministry, through the 
laying on of hands by Caleb Long and Samuel F. Hartrauft, June 9, 
1920. Besides his untiring efforts in the Educational world he has 
served as pastor of Sergeantsville (N. J.) congregation, September 
1, 1892, to October 1, 1895; Parkerford, 1895, to September 1, 1901; 
from July 1, 1914, till September 1, 1917, he acted in the capacity of 
District Superintendent of the Pennsylvania Anti-Saloon League, 
with headquarters at Harrisburg. He served as president of Blue 
Ridge College, (Md.), 1917-19; and entered upon his present pastor- 
ate at Hagerstown, (Md.), on September 1, 1919. During his present 
(1924) pastorate, 361 have been received into the church by letter, 
confession or baptism. 

He has represented his congregation twelve times at District Meet- 
ing and six times at General Conference. He represented his District 
on Standing Committee of Conference in 1922, at Winona Lake, 
(Ind.), and was Standing Committee appointee of the Council of 



453 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Promotion at the Calgary Conference, in 1923, and reappointed 
Hershey Conference, 1924. Address, Hagerstown, (Md.). 



at 




HOLSOPPLE, Ira Calvin, eighth of thirteen children of Joseph 
and Catherine (nee Lehman) Holsopple, was born in Cherry Hill 

Township, Indiana County, (Pa.), September 
7, 1871. His parents were members of the 
Church of the Brethren, the father a bishop of 
influence in his District. Grammar school 
completed, he attended Greenville Academy 
and taught public school three years. He 
spent one term at Juniata, in 1892, and then, 
on account of ill health, two years on a fruit 
farm in New Jersey. He returned to Juniata 
College and completed the Normal English 
course in 1896, and taught three years after 
graduation. 

He was united in marriage with Amanda, 

the daughter of Edwin and Mary A. (nee 

Landes) John, of Kenilworth, Chester County, 

(Pa.), Frank F. Holsopple, a brother of the 

bridegroom, solemnizing the union at the bride's home, December 27, 

1900. To them was born one son, Ira John. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren while attending school 
at Juniata the first term, William J. Swigart administering baptism, 
May 21, 1892. The Amwell congregation (N. J.) called him to the 
ministry, June 9, 1895, and on August 19, William J. Swigart, as- 
sisted by John D. Hoppock and Amos Haines, installed him at 
Amwell, (N. J.). He preached his first sermon at Juniata College, 
text John 2 : 5, on September 8, following his installation. The 
Manor congregation (W. Pa.) had him advanced to the second 
degree, October 29, 1897, Jacob Holsopple, an uncle, officiating. The 
Everett congregation had him ordained, through the laying on of 
hands by Tobias T. Myers and David A. Stayer, May 5, 1918. He 
served as pastor of the Coventry congregation (S. E. Pa., N. J., 
N. Y.), 1899-1914; canvassed for Universal Book and Bible House, 
of Philadelphia, 1914-15; general merchandising with brother-in-law 
at Kenilworth, 1915-18; Everett congregation, pastoral work, begun 
April 1, 1918, where he still is laboring. He has represented his 
congregation at District Meeting twenty-two times ; General Con- 
ference, eight times ; always active in the local Sunday-school in 
some capacity. He served as secretary three years for the South- 
eastern District of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and New York District, 
and one year in Middle District of Pennsylvania as president of the 
Ministerial Association, and its secretary three years. He has held 
twenty-four revival meetings, fifteen of which were in his own con- 
gregation. Address, Everett, (Pa.). 

HOOVER, David Paul, youngest of six children of the family of 
Jacob L. and Barbara (nee Paul) Hoover, members of the Church 
of the Brethren, was born near Martinsburg, Blair County, (Pa.), 
December 21, 1881. When a year old his parents moved into the 



454 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 




vicinity of Saxton, in Bedford County, where the lad went to school 
and grew to manhood. He graduated from the Normal English 
course at Juniata College, 1906; re- 
ceived his A.B. from same institution, 
1914. In the meantime, he taught 
eleven terms of school in Bedford 
and Cambria Counties. 

He was united in marriage with 
Ruth, daughter of Rhinehart and 
Sara (nee Cameron) Stayer, of 
Woodbury, (Pa.), the union being 
solemnized by John R. Stayer, 
August 21, 1913. The bride received 
her education in the public school, 
and is a graduate of the Pedagogical 
course of Elizabethtown College, 
(Pa.), class of 1907. She taught 
public school in Bedford County five 
terms. Their home has been blessed with three children. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren while attending Juni- 
ata College, baptism being administered by William J. Swigart, May 
19, 1900. Raven Run congregation called him to the deacon's office, 
in 1901 ; to the ministry, May 16, 1903. The T3^rone congregation 
had him ordained, through the laying on of hands by Henry B. 
Brumbaugh and Daniel B. Maddock, October 15, 1916. He has 
represented his congregation at District Meeting ten times ; at Gen- 
eral Conference, six times ; served on Standing Committee at 
Hershey, 1921 ; member of the Board of Religious Education for 
Western District of Pennsylvania since its organization, 1920 ; mem- 
ber of the Board of Trustees of the Old People's Home of the 
District, located at Scalp Level. He has occupied pastoral charges 
as follows: Tyrone, July 1, 1913, to September 1, 1917; Moxham, 
(W. Pa.), May 15, 1919, to January 1, 1924. Began at Rummel, 
(W. Pa.), 1924. His address is Windber, (Pa.). 



HOOVER, Fredi-ric, son of Jacob and Barbara Paul Hoover, mem- 
bers of the Church of the Brethren, the third of six children, was 
born April 7, 1872, on Piney Creek, Blair County, (Pa.). He re- 
ceived only a common school education and learned blacksmithing, 
which trade he follows for a living. On February 14, 1892, he was 
united in marriage with Carrie Foreman, and to them were born 
nine children. 

When sixteen years old, Frederic united with the Church of the 
Brethren, in what was known then as the Yellow Creek congregation. 
John Rush administered baptism. The Raven Run congregation, 
where he now resides, called him to the deacon's office, April 5, 
1902; to the ministry, October 3, 1903; and, through laying on of 
hands by John S. Hershberger and Henry H. Brumbaugh, fully 
ordained him, on April 11, 1920. For nineteen years he served as 
superintendent and teacher in the Raven Run Sunday-school. He 
has represented his church at District Meeting five times. Address, 
Saxton, (Pa.). 






455 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

HOOVER, Jacob W., ninth of twelve children of Jacob and Susan- 
nah (nee Shadel) Hoover, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born in Carson Valley, Blair County, (Pa.), September 13, 1875. 
His education has been limited to the common schools. He made his 
living farming until 1918; since, he has been in the employ of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad Company, at Altoona, (Pa.). 

He is united in marriage with Jeanette R., daughter of John and 
Susannah (nee Diehl) Holderbaum, the union being solemnized by 
Lewis Robb, minister of the Reformed Church, of Altoona, (Pa.), 
on June 7, 1900. To them were born one son and three daughters 
(one deceased). 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Carson Valley 
congregation, baptism being administered by David Sell, May, 1894. 
Here he was called, to the deacon's office, March 6, 1909; to the min- 
istry, October 26, 1912; and, through the laying on of hands by 
James A. Sell and Joseph J. Shaffer, ordained, August 29, 1920. He 
has represented his congregation once at District Meeting. He did 
the leading part to carry on the mission at Bennington, served as 
teacher and superintendent in the Sunday-school, and president of 
the Christian Workers' Society a number of times. His address is 
Duncansville, (Pa.). 

HOOVER, Levi B., fourth of seven children of Isaac and Mary 
Anne (nee Burget) Hoover, members of the Church of the Brethren, 

was born near Henrietta, Blair County, (Pa.), 
August 14, 1868. He was reared on the farm 
and attended, beside the common school, sev- 
eral summer normals, and thereby prepared 
himself to teach. His occupation is teaching 
and farming. 

He was united in marriage with Mary, 
daughter of Tsaac and Kathryn (nee Simle- 
ton) Latshaw, members of the York Brethren 
Church, the union being solemnized by John 
B. Miller, January 24, 1895. To them were 
born two daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the Woodbury congregation, baptism being 
administered by John B. Miller, April 14, 1907. 
The Clover Creek congregation called him to 
the deacon's office. February 27, 1909; to the ministry, February 10, 
1910, and, through the laying on of hands by John R. Stayer and 
Tobias T. Myers, had him ordained, August 11, 1917. He has repre- 
sented his congregation at District Meeting seven times, and General 
Conference once. He has been superintendent and teacher in 
Sunday-school for many years. His address, Curry ville, (Pa.). 

HOOVER, Ouver Perry, second of three children of Bishop Samuel 
and Catherine (nee Basore) Hoover, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born on a farm near Dayton, (O.), March 31, 1864. 
From his youth he sought the helpfulness of books, pressed through 
public schools, spent two terms at Juniata College, after which he 

456 




in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 




became a bookkeeper. Later he finished his preparatory work at Mt. 
Morris College, (111.), in 1890. After two years' college work at Mt. 
Morris, he went to De Pauw Uni- 
versity, (Ind.), where he received his 
A.B. in 1894, with Phi Beta Kappa 
honors, and his A.M. in 1895. He is 
also a graduate student of University 
of Chicago, spending two years in 
resident study for the Ph.D. He 
spent part of a year in Leipzig Uni- 
versity, Germany, the sudden death 
of his father changing his plans and 
calling him home. Mt. Morris Col- 
lege conferred on him the Litt.D. in 
1912. During 1895-97, he and his 
brother, William, started the " Gem 
City Preparatory School," a private 
institution conducted for two years; 

1897-98 he occupied the chair of Greek in De Pauw Academy; the 
chair of Greek and Latin in Juniata College, 1898-1904; in St. Louis 
High Schools, 1904-1920. In September, 1920, he returned to Juniata 
College, (Pa.), and occupies the chair of his earlier days. 

He was united in marriage with Ida Alice, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth (nee Bowser) Klepinger, on March 3, 1886. 

While attending school in LIuntingdon, he united with the Church 
of the Brethren, through baptism in Juniata River, administered by 
William J. Swigart, on June 6, 1883. The West Dayton (Ohio) con- 
gregation called him to the ministry, July 31, 1890; in the Hunting- 
don congregation, through the laying on of hands by Walter S. Long 
and Harry A. Spanogle, he was ordained. May 10, 1922. He has 
represented his congregation at General Conference three times. 
He was joint pastor with his brother, William, in West Dayton 
(Ohio) congregation, two years. Though isolated from the church 
through the long years of public school work in St. Louis, (Mo.), 
he was active in religious work, teaching a men's class in the 
Third Baptist Church Sunday-school and preached in several pul- 
pits infrequently. The lack of financial support for the ministry 
led him to choose teaching as his profession, which he has pur- 
sued as his life work, always emphasizing, in high school and 
college, the value and necessity of religious education. Address, 
Huntingdon, (Pa.). 



HOOVER, vS. Blair, seventh of twelve children of Jacob W. and 
Susannah (nee Shadel) Hoover, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Duncansville, Blair County, (Pa.), May 20, 
1871. He was reared on the farm and received a common school 
education. He makes his living by farming. 

He was united in marriage with Ella M., daughter of John H. and 
Catherine E. (nee Replogle) Hoover, of Roaring Spring, (Pa.), 
Bricc Sell officiating, October 22, 1895. To them were born six sons 
and four daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Leamersville 



457 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



congregation, in the Spring of 1893, Brice Sell administering bap- 
tism. The Clover Creek congregation called him to the deacon's 
office, in 1896; the Carson Valley congregation called him to the min- 
istry, in August, 1910; and the Smith Fork congregation, in Mis- 
souri, had him ordained, through the laying on of hands by Daniel 
Sell and Wilbur B. Stover, in October, 1920. He has represented his 
congregation at District Meeting five times; at General Conference, 
twice. His labors for the kingdom have been two years in the Car- 
son Valley Church, and later in the southwest at frontieror mission 
points, as follows: Cushing, (Okla.), three years; Miami, (Texas), 
nearly two years; Cameron, (Mo.), and adjoining points, two years; 
Booker, (Tex.), nearly two years; Arvard, (Okla.), two years. Be- 
ginning December 1, 1924, he entered upon work in Peace Valley 
congregation, (Mo.). For over twenty-five years he has been active 
as teacher, superintendent, or assistant in the Sunday-school. His 
address is Arvard, (Okla.). 

HOOVER, William N., fourth in family of eleven, was born Janu- 
ary 29, 1871, on a farm near Fredericsburg, (Pa.). His parents, 
John B. and Sarah (nee Nofsker) Hoover, farmers and members of 
the Church of the Brethren, gave William the advantages of training 
in the Martinsburg Normal, and he taught school for six years. He 
also engaged in farming and was in the employ of the Pennsylvania 
Railroad Company for twenty years, working in Altoona. 

He was united in marriage with Susan, daughter of Samuel and 
Anna (nee Cashman) Barnett, of Baker's Summit, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, the union being solemnized by James A. 
Sell, on February 22, 1894. To them were born eight children, all 
living, as follows : Milton, Ollie, Jennie, Mae, Emmert, Hazel, 
Ethel, John. 

In March, 1898, in the Albright congregation, he united with the 
church, Brice Sell administering baptism. The same year he was 
elected deacon; in March, 1900, minister; and, by David Sell and 
John B. Miller, laying on hands, he was fully ordained in the Car- 
son Valley congregation, in June, 1904. For nine years he was 
leading in the work of the church in Hollidaysburg; on March 20, 
1920, he located in Warriors Mark congregation, where he is now 

pastor. Address, War- 
riors Mark, (Pa.). 

HORST, M. Clydk, the 
oldest of two children of 
Abraham B. and Naomi 
E. (nee Martin) Horst, 
a bishop in the Church 
of the Brethren, was 
born near Wooster, in 
Wayne County, (O.), on 
March 3, 1885. Besides 
his High School work in 
Chatham, (O.), he has received the following degrees: B.S.L., Can- 
ton (O.) Bible Institute; A.B., 1923, and B.D., 1924, Juniata College. 

458 




in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

He was united in marriage with Emma E., daughter of William 
J. and Ella (nee Kulp) Horner, at Friendsville, (O.), Tully S. 
Moherman officiating. To them were born two sons and one daugh- 
ter. They adopted a child some years ago, also. 

In the Black River congregation (Ohio) he united with the Church 
of the Brethren, November 20, 1903, Tobias Hoover administering 
baptism. The same congregation called him to the ministry, Septem- 
ber 24, 1904. The Walnut Grove Congregation (W. Pa.) had him 
ordained, through the laying on of hands by Perry J. Blough and 
Harvey S. Replogle, May 28, 1916. He has represented his con- 
gregation at ten District Meetings and nine Annual Conferences. 
He was messenger clerk on Standing Committee at Seattle, in 1914, 
and represented his District on the same body at Wichita, in 1917; 
at Goshen, in 1918; at Winona Lake, in 1922. He has been a mem- 
ber of the District Mission Board of Western Pennsylvania since 
1917, chairman of the Home Missionary Advisory Council, a brother- 
hood organization since 1920. He has served as pastor as follows : 
Greenwood, (O.), 1906-07; South Bend, (Tnd.), 1907-14; Walnut 
Grove, Johnstown, (Pa.), 1914-21; Williamsburg, (Pa.), 1922-24; 
Windber, (Pa.), his present charge. His address is Windber, (Pa.). 

HOWE, Edward Mohler, eleventh of twelve children of William 
and Sarah (nee Mohler) Howe, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, and he serving long as a 
bishop, was born near Maitland, 
(Pa.), April 7, 1869. The father, 
being a strong supporter of educa- 
tion, made it possible for Edward to 
complete the Normal English course 
at Juniata College. He taught public 
school eight terms and lias been en- 
gaged in mercantile business for his 
living. 

He was united in marriage with 
Delia R., daughter of John and Mary 
(nee Granley) Greninger, the union 
being solemnized by Jacob Richard, 
August 27, 1897. To them were born 
eight children, — Carl E., Lloyd E., 
Mary R., William A., John D., Sarah N., Martin L., and Meriam E, 

Pie united with the Church of the Brethren in the Dry Valley 
congregation, baptism being administered by John M. Mohler, April 
7, 1887. This congregation called him to the ministry, May 17, 1905; 
and, through the laying on of hands by John C. Swigart and Samuel 
J. Swigart, had him ordained, May 17, 1919. He has represented his 
congregation five times at District Meeting and twice at General 
Conference. He has taught in the Sunday-school for thirty-six 
years. His address is Maitland, (Pa.). 

HOWE, Carl Ellis, first of eight children of Edward M. and Delia 
(nee Greninger) Howe, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born near Maitland, (Pa.), May 16, 1898. Reared on the farm, 




459 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



completing common schools, he pushed on through Juniata College 
until he received his A.B. in 1919. He taught in Windber High 

School, 1919-20; in Blue Ridge Col- 
lege, (Md.), instructor in Science, 
1920-22; was assistant professor at 
Juniata College, 1922-24; is at pres- 
ent acting assistant Professor in 
Science, Oberlin College, (O.). 

He is united in marriage with Net- 
tie, daughter of Schuyler and Ada 
(nee Metz) Gregory, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, the union 
being solemnized by Milton J. 
Brougher, August 24, 1924. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren in the Dry Valley congre- 
gation, Jacob H. Reichard adminis- 
tering baptism, in 1910. While at 
Juniata College he was called to the ministry, May 31, 1918. He has 
been active as a Sunday-school teacher, and is preparing himself for 
a teacher. Forwarding address, Maitland, (Pa.). 




HOWE, Wiuiam, eighth of twelve children of Joseph and Hannah 
(nee Underwood) Howe, members of the Church of the Brethren. 

was born near Carlisle, Cumberland 
County, (Pa.), November 21, 1822. 
He had meagre educational advan- 
tages, because, by apprenticing him- 
self to a blacksmith, where he worked 
for eight years at very low wages, he 
began to support himself in his early 
'teens. After his marriage, he moved 
into the vicinity of Lewistown, where, 
on a farm, he made his living. 

He was united in marriage with 
Sarah, daughter of Jacob and Sarah 
(nee Rothrock) Mohler, members of 
the Church of the Brethren, and he 
a bishop, the union being solemnized 
December 28, 1848. The bride had 
united with the Church of the Brethren in her 'teens. To them were 
born twelve children,— Susan H., Joseph, Jacob, Mary, Elizabeth, 
Sarah A., John, Emma J., Aramena E., William M., Edward M., 
and Rowland L. 

He was received into the Church of the Brethren, near Mechan- 
icsburg, Cumberland County, (Pa.), on an Easter Monday, when he 
was about twenty- one years old. At the same time his brothers, 
Isaac, Benjamin, and his wife, and his sister, Susan, were baptized. 
His home was the house of God for morning and evening, save 
Sunday evening after church and in the evening when a revival was 
on, did the family and hired help, if any, gather around the altar in 
worship. He was called to the ministry soon after he located in the 




460 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Dry Valley congregation, in 1849; this congregation had him or- 
dained, May 18, 1874, through the laying on of hands by two of the 
following brethren : Daniel M. Holsinger and John W. Brumbaugh, 
from Clover Creek; Joseph Hanawalt, George Swigart and John 
Hanawalt, of Spring Run, who were the visiting ministers at the 
lovefeast on that occasion.* He attended District Meetings regularly, 
served as moderator in 1884, 1889 and 1895; he frequently attended 
General Conference, and served on Standing Committee in 1866, at 
Pittsburgh, (O.), and 1890, at Pertle Springs, (Mo.). Upon the 
death of Jacob Mohler, March 7, 1889, he was given the oversight of 
Dry Valley congregation, and served in this capacity until his death. 
His library consisted of a Bible, unabridged dictionary, a Bible com- 
mentary, and a few religious books. These, however, were well 
mastered. He served as trustee of Juniata College for a number of 
years, and was always a welcome visitor. 

He was much interested in the Sunday-school movement, and 
assisted in a union school in the Dry Valley community before it 
was recognized by the Brethren. He died January 14, 1896. Inter- 
ment in the Dry Valley Cemetery. 



HOWE, William Mohler, tenth of six sons and six daughters of 

William and Sarah (nee Mohler) Howe, members of the Church of 

the Brethren, and he a bishop, was born 

near Maitland, (Pa.), May 3, 1867. After 

the country school training, he attended 

Juniata College, alternating teaching with 

going to school, during 1883 to 1886, when 

he graduated in the Normal English 

course. He taught his first term when 

sixteen years old ; in all, taught six years, 

— four in Pennsylvania and two at New 

Iberia, (La.). In 1894 he did some Bible 

work at Juniata College, and then assisted 

his brother in his store at Maitland. 

He was united in marriage with Edith 
R., daughter of Solomon and Susannah 
(nee Rohrer) Newcomer, of Waynesboro, 
(Pa.), members of the Church of the 
Brethren, the union being solemnized by 
Jacob Snider, October 4, 1898. To them 

were born Ruth and Joseph. The mother died March 31, 1907, at 
Maitland, (Pa.). Later he was united in marriage with Elizabeth, 
daughter of John A. and Susan (nee Strayer) Wertz, of Johnstown, 
(Pa.), this union being solemnized by Samuel W. Pearce, June 1, 
1910. To them were born two daughters, Martha and Mary. 

While attending Juniata College he united with the Church of the 
Brethren, baptism being administered in the Juniata River, by Wil- 
liam J. Swigart, May 5, 1883. The Dry Valley congregation called 




* " During the afternoon an election was also held for a minister. The lot fell 
on John M. Mohler, and, after the evening services, was installed into office. Wil- 
liam Howe was also advanced to the office of bishop and Andrew Spanogle to the 
second degree." — J. B. B. in Weekly Pilgrim, May 19, 1874. 



461 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



him to the ministry at a lovefeast, August 18, 1893; the next day he 
was installed ; and the following day, Sunday, he preached his first 
sermon. Text, * Philemon 4:13. The Johnstown congregation (W. 
Pa.), through the laying on of hands by David M. Adams and David 
Clapper, had him ordained, June 21, 1910. He represented his con- 
gregation at District Meetings three times ; at General Conferences, 
four times. He served on the Standing Committee at St. Joseph, 
(Mo.), 1911, and at Winona Lake, (Ind.), 1916. 

He gave his life to pastoral work, — was one of the first regularly 
supported pastors and met the opposition to such a course with a 
clear conscience and a kindly spirit. In this capacity he served his 
church at Amwell, (N. J.), Fall of 1895 to 1896; then to Sand Brook, 
(N. J.), 1896-98; Norristown, (Pa.), 1898-04; Tyrone, (Pa.), April 
1, 1904, to March 1, 1905; assistant pastor at Brooklyn, (N. Y.), till 
he graduated in White's Bible School. June,, 1907; Johnstown, Wal- 
nut Grove, (W. Pa.), May 1, 1907, to August 31, 1914; Myersdale, 
(W. Pa.), September 1, 1914, to his death. In 1897 he was approved 
by Conference as a missionary to India, but health prevented his 
going. At the Bicentennial Anniversary, at Des Moines, (la.), 1911, 
he was one of the speakers. He was active in Western District of 
Pennsylvania, was a member of the Missionary Board and a member 
of committee to select missionaries. He conducted many Bible Insti- 
tutes, was original in his Bible teaching; was frequently called to 
be one of the instructors at the special Bible terms at Juniata Col- 
lege; was elected trustee of the College, 1901, and served until his 
death. He delivered the anniversary sermon in 1916, when the col- 
lege was forty years old. 

He had great faith in anointing, and was often called by the sick 
to administer the sacred rite. Pie was patient through a long siege 
of sickness, and died May 2, 1917, in his home in Meyersdale, (Pa.). 
Charles C. Ellis and William J. Swigart conducted his funeral ser- 
vices. Text, 1 Thess. 4:13-18. Interment in Grandview Cemetery, 
Johnstown, (Pa.). 

HUNTSMAN, Emkry Thomas, third of ten children of William 
and Elizabeth (nee Chilcote) Huntsman, members of the Church of 

the Brethren, and he a deacon, was 
born near Cora, Huntingdon County, 
(Pa.), June 15, 1883. He was reared 
on the farm, availed himself of a 
common school education, and has 
made his living by farming. 

He was united in marriage with 
Susan, a daughter of Daniel and 
Sarah (nee Dilling) Baker, members 
of the Church of the Brethren, the 
union being solemnized by Josiah B. 
Brumbaugh, June 24, 1914. To them 
are born four children, — Cornelia, 
Virginia, Lillian, and Byron. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren, in the Sugar Run arm of 




462 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

the Aughwick congregation, William F. Spidle administering bap- 
tism, in January, 1906. The Clover Creek congregation called him 
to the ministry, May 10, 1913, but he did not accept until a year later. 
He has represented his congregation three times at District Meeting 
and once at General Conference. He has been active as a Sunday- 
school teacher. His address is Martinsburg, (Pa.). 

JOHNSON, Carman Cove£, fourth of eleven children of John 
Cover and Mary Saylor (nee Miller) Johnson, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, and the father a bishop of the Georges 
Creek and other congregations (W. Pa.) for many years, was born 
on a farm, called "Adam Bowers," near Uniontown, (Pa.), July 19, 
1874. His training in schools consists of Uniontown public school, 
Redstone Academy, of Uniontown, (Pa.) ; graduated from Juniata 
Normal, 1894; Juniata College, 1901; graduate work in Religious and 
Secular History in the University of Harvard, of Cornell, and of 
Chicago, — total of forty-four weeks in residence. 

He was united in marriage with Ada Catherine, daughter of Win- 
field Scott and Louise Richard, of Hagerstown, (Md.), members of 
the Church of the Brethren, and he a bishop, the union being sol- 
emnized by the bride's father, December 29, 1902. The wife died 
September 23, 1906. The second time he was united in marriage to 
De Lena Anne, daughter of Jacob and Hannah Louise (nee Royer) 
Mohler, members of the Church of the Brethren, the union being 
solemnized by Dr. Abraham S. Rosenberger, September 6, 1910. To 
them were born Mack M., dying in infancy, and Forbes M. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Georges Creek 
congregation, (W. Pa.), Silas Hoover administering baptism, Octo- 
ber, 1887. While professor of Sacred and Secular History and 
Social Sciences at Juniata College, 1901-10, he was called to the 
ministry, December 18, 1904; and later advanced to the second degree 
by the Huntingdon congregation. In his father's church he was a 
teacher in the Sunday-school at fourteen; a superintendent at six- 
teen ; assisted in re-establishing Ardenheim Sunday-school, near 
Huntingdon, 1893; presided over the first District Sunday-school 
Convention in Western District of Pennsylvania, 1897; assisted in 
promoting the first Sunday-school Convention in Southern District 
of Pennsylvania, in 1899; president of the convention held in Middle 
District of Pennsylvania, at Curryville, in 1909 ; president of the 
Huntingdon County Sunday-school Association, 1910; chosen super- 
intendent of the Adult Division of the State Sunday-school Associ- 
ation, in 1920, and almost immediately discontinued, due to nervous 
breakdown. In 1910 he located in Pittsburgh to take up educational 
and social service work as a means of livelihood, mainly with the city 
public schools. He never accepted a pastorate, though often asked 
to consider the same. He frequently filled the pulpit in the Hunting- 
don congregation, 1905-10; has supplied for pulpits of various de- 
nominations in and about Pittsburgh ; was one of the organizers of 
the Pittsburgh Social Service Union, later Pittsburgh Council of 
Churches of Christ; Anti-Saloon League lecturer; Committee Chair- 
man and occasional speaker for the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion of Pittsburgh ; with the Fosdick Commission, United War Work 

463 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



Campaign, and the Methodist Centenary Movement, 1918-19; Editor 
and publisher of the Christian Outlook, an inter-denominational and 
co-operative publicity organ ; radio casting teacher of Adult Bible 
Class Teachers ; and teacher of Men's Bible Class in William Penn 
Hotel and " The Old Brimstone Corner," Smithfield Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, of Pittsburgh; author of Hozv to Teach Adults; com- 
piler of Bible Readings for School Teachers; also occasional con- 
tributor to the columns of the Gospel Messenger since boyhood. His 
home is at 5886 Burchfield Avenue, Pittsburgh, (Pa.). 

IMLER, Conrad, lived in Bellwood, (Pa.), when he was called to 
the ministry, in the Warriors Mark congregation, October 8, 1872. 
He was active in the ministry. In 1883 he was granted a letter of 
membership and soon after moved to Maryland, where he died. 

KEIPER, Dewey Howard, second of five children of David H. and 
Jennie (nee Hinton) Keiper, members of the Church of the Brethren, 

was born near Woodbury, (Pa.), Janu- 
ary 27, 1898. Besides the high school 
work received at home, he graduated 
from Juniata Academy, 1920, and received 
his A.B. in 1924 from the college. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren, in the Woodbury congregation, 
baptism being administered by Albert G. 
Crosswhite, on January 27, 1914. This 
congregation called him to the ministry, 
April 20, 1920, John R. Stayer officiating 
at the installation. He served as summer 
pastor in the Dunnings Creek congrega- 
tion, in 1922; in the Montgomery, Indiana 
County, (Pa.), congregation, 1923 and 
1924, and is now a student in the Prince- 
ton Theological Seminary. His address is Woodbury, (Pa.). 

KENSINGER, Isaac B., sixth of twelve children of Isaac C. and 
Susan (nee Brumbaugh) Kensinger, member of the Brethren in 

Christ Church, was born near Mar- 
tinsburg, (Pa.), February 9, 1886. 
He was reared on the farm and re- 
ceived educational training equiva- 
lent to completing high school. He 
has made his living mainly by 
teaching. 

He was united in marriage with 
Mabel Edna, daughter of Henry B. 
and Sarah (nee Nusbaum) Dilling, 
members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren living near Martinsburg, (Pa.), 
the union being solemnized by George 
W. Brumbaugh, on September 11, 
1907. To this union were born eight 
children, — Wilmer R., Sarah L., 
Susan N., Minnie E., Anna L., Mabel E., Mary E., Lola R. 





464 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Clover Creek 
congregation, Andrew B. Burget administering baptism, in May, 
1912. This congregation called him to the ministry in May, 1913. 
He has represented his congregation twice at District Meeting; has 
been superintendent of Sunday-school six years and teacher ten 
years ; has held seven evangelistic meetings ; has been pastor of the 
Smithfield congregation since January 1, 1924. His address is Mar- 
tinsburg, (Pa.). 



KINSEL, Jacob, second in a family of five children of John and 

Anna Maria (nee Miller) Kinsel, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born in Altoona, (Pa.), July 3, 

1868. He passed through the high school of 

his native city, and later was a student at 

Juniata College. He desired to be a doctor, 

and engaged himself with a chemist; but, 

Sunday work being required, he changed his 

plans and, learning the printer's trade, switched 

to newspaper writing as a reporter and editor. 

This he followed for many years, part of the 

time owning and publishing the periodicals he 

was sending forth. In 1906 he removed to 

Philadelphia, and entered the Medico-Chirur- 

gical College for a medical course. Later he 

studied several different methods of drugless 

healing. His health finally gave way and he 

moved back to Altoona. 

He was united in marriage with Annie, daughter of Joseph and 
Sarah Ann (nee Billing) Soyster, Joseph W. Wilt solemnizing the 
union, on October 6, 1892. To them have been born five children. 

In the Altoona congregation, in 1883, he united with the Church of 
the Brethren. The Juniata Park congregation (Pa.) called him to 
the ministry, August 11, 1911, and the Albright congregation had 
him ordained to the bishopric through the laying on of hands by 
John B. Miller and Leonard R. Holsinger, on August 20, 1924. 
Always active as a Sunday-school worker, he has served sixteen years 
as superintendent and many more years as teacher. He has repre- 
sented the congregation five times at District Meeting, and has done 
evangelistic work. January 1, 1921, he accepted the call to the pas- 
torate of the Albright congregation, choosing to serve them without 
remuneration, which position he holds at the present time. He re- 
sides in Altoona. 




KINSEY, Wiixiam, fifth of seven sons and seven daughters of 
Jacob and Kathryn (nee Hofecker) Kinsey, was born on a farm on 
the Lincoln Highway, about four miles southeast of Bald Knob of 
the Alleghany Mountains, July 10, 1878. He remained on the farm 
till he was of age, during which time he received only a common 
school education. In 1899-1900 he taught his first term of country 
school, and continued teaching four years. January 4, 1904, he en- 
tered Juniata College, and graduated in the Normal English course 
in 1906. He taught another four years in New Paris, and in Walnut 



465 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




Grove, Johnstown, (Pa.) In 1910 he returned to Juniata College 
and received his A.B. with class of 1913; entered Bethany Bible 

School (Chicago) and received his 
B.D. in 1915; graduate student of 
the Johns Hopkins University, sum- 
mer of 1924. 

He was united in marriage with 
Minnie E., daughter of William and 
Sara (nee Mohler) Howe, members 
of the Church of the Brethren, resid- 
ing at Maitland, (Pa.), the union be- 
ing solemnized in Johnstown, (Pa.), 
by William M. Howe, the bride's 
brother, on May 31, 1910. They be- 
came the foster parents of Ruth and 
Joseph Howe, the children of William 
H. and Edith R. (nee Newcomer) 
Howe, at the decease of the father. 
He united with the Church of the Brethren in the W r alnut Grove 
congregation, through baptism administered by David Hildebrand, 
in September, 1903. This congregation called him to the ministry, 
July 30, 1908. Tobias T. Myers officiated at his installation, August 
3, 1908, and he preached his first sermon in the Walnut Grove house, 
August 30, following. He was advanced to the second degree by the 
same congregation, June 21, 1910. The Lewistown congregation, 
through the laying on of hands by John C. Swigart and Jacob H. 
Richard, had him ordained, September 6, 1917. He has represented 
his congregation at District Meeting three times ; at General Confer- 
ence six times. He served the Lewistown congregation (Pa.) as 
pastor from May, 1915, to September, 1918, when he took charge of 
the Bible Department of Blue Ridge College (Md.), which position 
he still fills. In 1921 he was chosen assistant bishop of the Frederic 
City congregation (Md.), and the next year, bishop of the Wood- 
bury congregation (Baltimore). He has served on several district 
committees. He is at present a member of the Ministerial Board of 
the Eastern District of Maryland. Address, New Windsor, (Md.). 

KNISELY, Christopher (more gen- 
erally known by Christian), third of 
eight children of Philip and Catherine 
(nee Smith) Knisely, he a member of 
the Church of the Brethren and she 
of the Reformed Church, was born 
near Millerstown, Blair County, 
(Pa.), May 9, 1842. He was reared 
on the farm, and made his living 
there. His education was simply the 
common school training. At the 
breaking out of the Civil War he en- 
listed in Company E, 148th Regiment, 
Illinois Infantry, as a musician, and 
served until the close of the rebellion 




466 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



He was united in marriage with Maris, daughter of Jacob and 
Hannah (nee Snyder) Baker, living near Everett, (Pa.), the union 
being solemnized by 'Squire Fisher, August 15, 1867. To them were 
born two sons and six daughters, three of whom are living,— Sarah 
K. Sell, Susan K ; Wyles and Amanda K. Catlett. His wife died 
May 11, 1885. Then he was united in marriage with Mary E 
daughter of Hiram F. and Charlotte (nee Ensley) Rohm, the union 
being solemnized by John S. Baker, February 21, 1886. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake Spring 
Valley congregation, in the prime of life. Here he was called to 
the ministry, January 1, 1883. He served the church in this capacity 
as best he could until he died, July 27, 1903. Funeral services con- 
ducted by John B. Fluck and Levi Holsinger. Interment in the 
Snake Spring Valley Cemetery. 

KOONES, Emanui^ G., the seventh of ten children of David S. and 
Maggie (nee Guyer) Koones, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, was born about three miles south of Loys- 
burg, (Pa.), March 24, 1873. He was reared 
on the farm, attended public school and spent 
nearly two years in Juniata Preparatory 
School. His occupation has been farming. 

He was united in marriage with Nannie K., 
daughter of Joseph and Mary Ann (nee 
Kauffman) Wisler, Brother Jacob C. Stayer 
solemnizing the union on March 8, 1900. To 
them were born three sons and five daughters. 

In the Woodbury congregation he united 
with the Church of the Brethren, John B. 
Replogle administering baptism, in December, 
1889. He moved, with his family, into the 
Cherry Lane arm of the Snake Spring congre- 
gation, in the Spring of 1915, and there, on 

November 5, 1916, he was called to the ministry. Besides his min- 
istry, he has been active in Sunday-school work. Address, Clear- 
ville, (Pa.). 

KOONTZ, Henry Smx, third of 
four children of Jacob and Mahale 
(nee Sell) Koontz, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, and he a 
bishop for twenty-six years, was born 
near Loysburg, (Pa.), January 17, 
1866. He was reared on the farm, 
and has made his living there. He 
received but a limited common school 
education. 

He was united in marriage with 
Mary Jane, daughter of Daniel and 
Elizabeth (nee Hetrick) Guyer, liv- 
ing near Loysburg, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, the union 





467 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



being solemnized by John B. Fluck, August 13, 1893. To them were 
born six children, —Blaine (deceased), Herman, Virgie, Iva, J. Roy, 

and Mae. J 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Koontz arm of 
the Snake Spring Valley congregation, Silas Hoover administering 
baptism, in December, 1889. This congregation called him to the 
ministry, Christmas, 1900. He has represented his congregation four 
times at District Meeting and twice at General Conference. His 
address is New Enterprise, (Pa.). 

KOONTZ, Jacob, son of John and Elizabeth (nee Snyder) Koontz, 
members of the Church of the Brethren, was born in Snake Spring 
Valley, near where the Snake Spring Church now stands, July 11, 
1829. Education limited to the meagre opportunities of that early 
day. He made his living farming. 

He was united in marriage with Mahale, daughter of John and 
Susan (nee Stephens) Sell. To them were born four children — 
Charles, Charlotte, Henry, and Rhoda. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Snake Spring 
Valley congregation, and by her called to the ministry, in 1848; here, 
through the laying on of hands by two of these three brethren, — 
Daniel Holsinger, Isaac Miller, and Jacob Steele, — he was ordained, 
October 22, 1861, and given the oversight of the home congregation, 
which position he held till his death, June 3, 1907. David T. Detwiler 
conducted his funeral services. Interment in Koontz Cemetery. 

KREIDER, Daniisl K., seventh of eight children of John F. and 
Mary (nee Kreider) Kreider, members of the River Brethren, and 

he an elder in that body, was born at Camp- 
bellstown, Lebanon County, (Pa.), March 29, 
1871. He was reared on the farm and received 
just a common school education. When he 
reached manhood he became a manufacturer 
of noodles, macaroni, and potato chips. 

He is united in marriage with Annie E., 
daughter of John G. and Magdolena (nee 
Hostetter) Hoffer, of Palmyra, members of 
the Church of the Brethren, the ceremony 
being performed by Jacob F. Kreider, Decem- 
ber 12, 1891. To them are born three chil- 
dren, — Hoffer H., Obed E., and Asher H. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, 
in the Spring Creek congregation (E. Pa.), 
John H. Longanecker administering baptism, 
May 16, 1893. This congregation called him to the ministry, Novem- 
ber 24, 1906; and had him advanced to the second degree, October 
11, 1910, Samuel Hertzler and Samuel R. Zug officiating. During his 
residence in Altoona, (Pa.), from 1912-21, he was active in his min- 
istry when called upon ; was a Sunday-school teacher. He has 
represented his congregation at District Meeting six times and at 
General Conference, once. His address is 124 Evergreen Street, 
Harrisburg, (Pa.). 




468 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 




KULP, Harold Stover, fourth of six children of Aaron and Naomi 
(nee Tyson) Kulp, members of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born near Pottstown, (Pa.), Septem- 
ber 29, 1894. He was reared on the 
farm; graduated from the East 
Coventry High School in 1909; from 
West Chester State Normal in 1912; 
taught three years in the Carter 
Junior Republic, " a school in char- 
acter building and citizenship for 
wayward boys " ; attended Juniata 
College, 1915-19, where he received 
his A.B. ; University of Pennsylvania, 
A.M., 1920; also about one year in 
Philadelphia School of the Bible. 

He was united in marriage with 
Neta Ruth, daughter of Galen B. and 
Anna M. (nee Miller) Royer, mem- 
bers of the Church of the Brethren, at Huntingdon, (Pa.), the union 
being solemnized by the bride's father in the Stone Church, on June 
15, 1921. The bride was born in Mt. Morris, (111.), January 30, 
1896, and was a graduate of the Elgin (111.) High School, 1914; 
spent one year at Wheaton College, (111.), and three years at Juniata 
College, graduating with the class of 1919. After doing some work 
in the medical department of University of Philadelphia, she taught 
one year in Georgetown, (Del.). She united with the Church of the 
Brethren in Elgin, (111.), her father administering baptism, October 1, 
1905. After her marriage she spent one year in London, while her 
husband was prospecting in Africa. In the Fall of 1923, she joined 
her husband at Lagos, Africa, and entered upon the work there. She 
died at their station, Gar Kida, North Nigeria, June 15, 1924, and is 
buried back of their home, on the hillside overlooking the valley. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Coventry con- 
gregation, (S. E. Pa.), baptism being administered by Ira C. Hol- 
sopple, the pastor, November 29, 1906. This congregation called him 
to the ministry, May 14, 1915, Jacob T. Myers and Leonard R. 
Holsinger officiating; the First Church of the Brethren, in Philadel- 
phia, through the laying on of hands by Milton C. Swigart and 
Harry K. Garman, had him ordained, May 24, 1922. He has repre- 
sented his congregation three times at District Meeting and twice at 
Annual Meeting. He was the first pastor of the New Enterprise 
congregation, serving them from July 1, 1918, till May, 1919. Then 
he became assistant pastor to Charles C. Ellis, in the First Church 
of Philadelphia, till July 1, 1921, when he assumed full charge. 
While in Juniata College, he helped reorganize the Student Volunteer 
Band, and decided to become a missionary to Africa. He resigned 
the splendid pastorate in Philadelphia, and the couple sailed for 
London. Here he left his wife for one year while, in company with 
Albert D. Helser, he spent a year locating a mission in Africa. He 
is bishop of the congregation of the Church of the Brethren in Africa. 

* Gleaned in part from Ruth Kulp Glasier's sketch in Missionary Visitor. 
22, p. 440. 



469 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




KURTZ, Daniel Webster, last of twelve children of John and Mary 
(nee Bollinger) Kurtz, members of the Church of the Brethren, and 

he a bishop for twenty years, was 
born near Hartville, (O.), October 9, 
1879. Though reared on the farm, he 
early turned his attention to acquir- 
ing a good education, and hence at- 
tended schools and received degrees 
as follows : Ohio Northern Univer- 
sitv, Ada, Normal, 1897; Mt. Union 
College, Alliance. CO.), 1897-1903; 
Tuniata College, 1903-05, A.B. ; Yale 
University, (Conn.), 1905-08, A.M. 
and B.D. ; Universities of Leipsic, 
Berlin, and Marburg, Germany, 
1908-09; University of Pennsylvania, 
1910-1911; Juniata College, 1911, 
D.D. He has been a teacher as fol- 
lows : public schools of Ohio, 1899-1903; instructor in Latin, Juniata 
College, 1903-05; in Hebrew, Yale University, 1906-08; Professor of 
Greek, Juniata College, 1909-10: President McPherson College since 
1914; President, Kansas College President's Association; President 
of College Section, Kansas State Teachers' Association ; Member 
' Kansas Historical Association " ; " Kansas Authors' Club," and 
"American Academy of Political and Social Science." 

He was united in marriage with Ethel Leonora, daughter of Albert 
and Mary (nee Beardsley) Wheeler, of Monroe, (Conn.), members 
of Congregational Church, the union being solemnized by President 
Marion LeRoy Burton, of Ann Arbor University, (Mich.), on Sep- 
tember 7, 1909. The bride is a direct descendant of Jonathan Ed- 
wards, and was born on the homestead, Monroe, (Conn.), where the 
Wheeler family have lived since 1668. Besides public and private 
schools, she attended Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, (N. H.), 
of which she is a graduate. She taught public school for eight 
years. At twenty she confessed Christ, uniting with the Congrega- 
tional Church, in which her father was a deacon. In the Fall of 1909 
she united with the Church of the Brethren, William J. Swigart 
administering baptism. She has accompanied her husband on his 
trips to Palestine, 1913; to Japan, 1920; to Glasgow, 1924. She 
teaches the Freshman and Sophomore girls in McPherson College 
Sunday-school ; is a member of advisory board of the Y. W. C. A., 
and of several reading circles. She gives talks occasionally on Japan 
and European conditions. Three children, Albert W., Royce E., and 
Bernard R., grace their home. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the East Nimischil- 
len congregation, (N. E. O.), baptism being administered by his 
father, on May 5, 1899; Huntingdon (Pa.) Church called him to the 
ministry, in October, and he was installed December 20, 1904, Henry 
B. Brumbaugh officiating. The Brooklyn congregation (N. Y.) had 
him advanced, in April, 1906; the First Church of the Brethren, in 
Philadelphia, had him ordained, through the laying on of hands by 
Jacob T. Myers and Milton C. Swigart, April — , 1914. He has 



470 






in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



represented his congregation at District Meeting eight times; at 
General Conference, seven times ; served on the Standing Committee 
at Hershey, 1915 and 1918; Sedalia, 1920; and elected to serve at 
Winona Lake, (Ind.), 1925. He is President of the General Edu- 
cational Board of the Church of the Brethren since 1915, and has 
been on many committees, appointed by the General Conference. He 
was pastor of the First Church of the Brethren, in Philadelphia, 
1910-14. 

He is primarily a teacher, and prefers to teach the Bible and 
related subjects. Hence his work in Bible Institutes and on the 
lecture platform ; he turns down annually many times the number of 
calls he answers. From a teacher in the Sunday-school, when six- 
teen years old, he has gone forward and taught six teacher training 
classes, attended the World's Sunday-school Conventions at Zurich, 
in 1913; at Tokyo, 1920, and at Glasgow, in 1924; at the last two 
conventions he was on the program as speaker three times, both at 
Tokyo and at Glasgow. He was Vice-President of International 
Sunday-school Association; President of the Sunday-school Associ- 
ation of Kansas, 1918-19. 

As a writer: Frequent contributor of live themes to the Gospel 
Messenger; author of Nineteen Centuries of the Christian Church, 
Studies in Doctrine, Our Need in Christian Education. Contributor 
to the International Bible Encyclopedia. 

As a College President: Professor of Philosophy, Ethics and 
Theism. In ten years' presidency of McPherson College, he has 
witnessed the growth of the institution in the student body from 
sixty to four hundred ; four added new buildings ; increase of endow- 
ment, $300,000.00. Address, McPherson, (Kan.). 

LANDIS, Hubert B ashore, second of seven children of Thomas B. 
and Elizabeth (nee Sieber) Landis, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Shirleysburg, (Pa.), January 26, 1871. He 
grew up on the farm, availed himself of common school training and 
graduated from the Normal English course of Juniata College, in 

1894. In 1896 he went to Louisiana, where he has been successful in 
mercantile pursuits. 

He was united in marriage with Effie, daughter of Jacob and 
Susan (nee Studenbaker) Coppock, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, living at Tippecanoe City, (O.), the union being solemnized 
by the bride's grandfather, Samuel Coppock, on August 31, 1898. To 
them were born five children, four of which have reached maturity, — 
Elizabeth, Marguerite, Doris, and Hubert. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Huntingdon 
congregation, William J. Swigart administering baptism, in May, 
1891. The Aughwick congregation called him to the ministry, April, 

1895. Being absent from the body of the brotherhood, he has not 
been active in the ministry. His address is Winnsboro, (La.). 

LANE, James Richardson, fourth of nine children of James and 
Elizabeth (nee Sollenberger) Lane, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near Shirleysburg, (Pa.), March 4, 1820. He 
was reared on the farm, made good use of the little educational ad- 

471 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



vantages offered in that early day, and taught a number of terms 
of school in his younger years. 

He was united in marriage with Catherine, daughter of Samuel 
and Catherine A. (nee Myers) Myers, members of the Church of 

the Brethren, living in Hill Valley, the union 
being solemnized January 6, 1846. To them 
were born nine children, eight of whom lived 
to maturity, namely : Sarah E., Anna M., Belle 
N., Virginia F., Samuel M., Franklin L., Alice 
R., and James G. The mother was not rugged 
and carried a great responsibility, because her 
husband was gone from home preaching the 
Gospel much of the time. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, 
in the Sugar Run Church of the Aughwick 
congregation, baptism being administered by 
John Spanogle. This congregation called him 
to the minister, in 1858, and for over forty 
years he traveled over mountain and dale, 
preaching, in the days when the minister re- 
ceived no compensation other than the answer of a good conscience. 
He was bishop of the Aughwick congregation for a number of 
years ; was leader in Sunday-school work in the days when it was 
unpopular to favor such work, for he was one of two delegates to 
the first Sunday-school convention of the church in Middle Penn- 
sylvania. He died July 26, 1903. Henry B. Brumbaugh conducted 
his funeral services. Interment in Garber (home) Cemetery. 




LITTLE, David L , seventh of ten children of the family of 

Charles C. and Mary E. Little, members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, was born near Lockport, (Pa.), September 12, 1878. He 
attended common schools and took two special Bible courses of six 
weeks each. He has been making his living in mercantile pursuits. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Bolivar congre- 
gation, (W. Pa.), Harvey S. Replogle administering baptism, May 
10, 1908. The Aughwick congregation, (M. Pa.), called him to the 
ministry, June 11, 1910. He has represented his congregation at 
District Meeting four times ; at General Conference, two times. He 
is active in Sunday-school and is a teacher of men's class. He has 
held a number of revival meetings. His address is Hanover, (Pa.). 



LONG, Alice E., (nee Coffman), older of two children of Samuel 
and Susan (nee Smith) Coffman, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born December 31, 1864, in Sharpsburg, (Md.). She 
was united in marriage with Walter S. Long, at Bakersville, (Md.), 
February 17, 1866. She united with the Church of the Brethren, in 
the Manor congregation, through baptism administered by David 
Long, in the Autumn of 1888. When eighteen, she began teaching 
Sunday-school class and, save a few years, has taught ever since. 
She has supplemented her husband's work in his pastorates and made 
it possible in many ways to accomplish the good work that has been 
accomplished. 



472 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

LONG, Christian, son of Joseph Long, a pioneer who made his way 
into the wilderness of the Aughwick Valley, and settled in what is 
now known as Germany Valley, was old enough to be called to the 
ministry in 1802, when this first Church of the Brethren in these 
parts was organized. He and his wife were two of the six. Though 
he spoke only in the German language, yet the little group of believ- 
ers steadily increased amidst the hardships of pioneer life. He had 
at least one son, Peter, who succeeded the father in the work of the 
church. He died in May, 1849. 

LONG, Christian, was born in Aughwick Valley, Huntingdon 
County, (Pa.), April 10, 1813. He was reared on the farm, had 
meagre educational advantages, even from the standpoint of common 
schools. 

He was united in marriage with Susannah Hershey, and to them 
were born seven children, who grew to manhood, — Abram, David, 
Jacob, John, Catherine, Mary, and Annie. Of these but one, Jacob, 
was living in 1923. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Aughwick con- 
gregation, and by her called to the ministry, in 1840. Later he moved 
to Mt. Carroll, (111.), where he built up the church. In 1869, he 
moved to Adel, (la.), and became a leader there. He was a suc- 
cessful evangelist in his day. He died within the bounds of the 
Panther Creek congregation, (la.), on February 14, 1895. 

LONG, Orville Valentine, the tenth of twelve children of David 
and Mary (nee Reichard) Long, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, and he a bishop, was born near Hagerstown, (Md.), De- 
cember 5, 1880. He was reared on the farm and given a high school 
educaiton. He has made his living teaching, farming and fruit 
growing. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Manor congre- 
gation, (Md.), Daniel F. Stouffer administering baptism, December 
31, 1876. The Mummer congregation, (S. Pa.), called him to the 
ministry in 1891 ; and had him ordained, through the laying on of 

hands by Jacob Hollinger and C L. Pfouts, in 1899. He has 

represented his congregation at District Meeting fifteen times ; at 
General Conference, five times. He served as bishop of the Hanover 
and Conawaga congregations (S. Pa.) for a number of years, and 
then, in 1906, located in the Clover Creek congregation, and became 
pastor of the Roaring Spring congregation, in 1907. During this 
pastorate, the splendid Church of the Brethren house now in Roaring 
Spring, was erected. Since moving to California, in 1914, he has en- 
gaged in orange growing, serving the Santa Ana congregation and 
doing evangelistic work. He has been a leader in the Sunday-school 
work, serving as superintendent, teacher, or where he could work. 
For fifteen years, during the winter, he conducted revival meetings 
through Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Virginia. His address is 
Fullerton, (Cal.). 

LONG, Peter, a son of Christian Long, the first preacher elected in 
the Aughwick congregation, was born October 20, 1797. He made 

473 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

his living on the farm and spent his life in the ministry entirely, in 
the days when no one assisted to hear " the expenses." 

He was united in marriage with Barbara, daughter of Dr. Peter 
Swain, of the same valley. Two daughters were born to this union, 
and the wife died in 1819. Later, he married Mary Etnire, but in 
the course of a few years, she died, leaving no children. He was 
united in marriage again, this time to Susannah Mover, of Lancaster 
County, (Pa.), and to this union were born two daughters and one 
son, Christian, who was a leading spirit in the church in Illinois and 
Iowa. His last wife died in 1883. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Aughwick con- 
gregation, where he spent his life for the Master. In 1826, this con- 
gregation called him to the ministry, the third preacher elected 
within this territory. He dedicated the Germany Valley Stone 
Church, in 18.38. In the latter part of his life he moved to Perry 
County, where he was bishop of the congregation for five years. 

He passed away peacefully on March 23, 1887. One of the home 
ministers, Christian Myers, preached his funeral. His body is buried 
in the Germany Valley, Aughwick congregation, (Pa.).* 



LONG, Walter S., youngest of twelve children of David and Mary 
(nee Reichard) Long, members of the Church of the Brethren, in 

Marvland, was born near Hagers- 
town, (Md.), November 12, 1863. 
Llis father was bishop of the Manor 
congregation for many years. The 
son grew up on the farm, made use 
of the very limited educational op- 
portunities afforded him, and yet has 
devoted his life to the Lord's work 
in a very successful way. 

He was united in marriage with 
Alice E., daughter of Samuel and 
Susan (nee Smith) Coffman, Eli 
Fourtee solemnizing the union, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1886. (See page 4/2.) 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren, in the Manor congregation, 
(Md.), Joseph R. Long, his uncle, administering baptism, December 
19, 1880. April 1, 1890, he and his wife took up membership in the 
x\ughwick congregation, where he served as Church Clerk from 
January 7, 1892, to 1897. The same congregation, at the Germany 
Valley house, called him to the ministry, May 21, 1892, David Long, 
his father, of Fairplay, (Md.), installing him in office. He was 
steward of the Rockview Old Folks' Home of Middle District, 
opened April 1, 1894, and served three years. He became the first 
pastor of the Tyrone congregation, as well as the first supported 
pastor in Middle District, April 1, 1897, and served the congregation 
three and one-half years on a stipend of $300.00 per year. The 
Tyrone congregation had him ordained, through the laying on of 




* Gleaned from editorial page of Gospel Messenger, May 3, 1887. 

474 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

hands by James A. Sell and George S. Myers, on June 17, 1898. He 
was pastor of the First Church of Philadelphia, November 1, 1900, to 
May 1, 1902; of Germantown, (Pa.), May 1, 1902, to November 1, 
1906, when he entered upon his present pastorate. He has repre- 
sented his congregation at District Meeting twenty-six times ; at 
General Conference, sixteen times, and served on the Standing Com- 
mittee in 1917, 1920, and 1922. At this time there is no pastor living 
in the Church of the Brethren who has served the church as a sup- 
ported pastor as long as he was. He has held many evangelistic 
meetings. He first suggested to Middle District the advisability of 
having a District Sunday-school secretary, and was its first secretary 
for a couple of years. The printed report of the Sunday-school 
convention of 1898, which has proved so valuable to the Sunday- 
school section of this history, was prepared and published by him. 
He has been a member of the Educational and Ministerial Boards of 
the District from the beginning of their organization ; was a member 
of the committee appointed by General Conference for " Saving our 
children to the Church," from" 1917 to 1920; of the Ministerial Board 
for three years. His home is in the parsonage of the First Church 
of Altoona, (Pa.). 

LUTZ, Jacob, became a member of the Church of the Brethren, in 
the Aughwick congregation, Huntingdon County, (Pa.). His wife, 
Catherine Lutz, was the seventh member of this congregation, and the 
first one to be baptized after the organization. This was about the 
year 1805. Soon after, her husband, Jacob Lutz, was baptized. He 
was called to the ministry in this congregation, and served the church 
until his death, August, 1826. The wife died November 3, 1854.* 

MADDOCKS, Daniel Brumbaugh, ninth of fifteen children of 
Thomas B. and Lydia (nee Brumbaugh) Maddocks, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, and he a 
bishop of the church, was born near 
Martinsburg, Blair County, (Pa.), 
February 7, 1869. He had the privi- 
lege of a normal school training be- 
yond the common schools, and has 
made his living working in the Al- 
toona car shops, first as carpenter, 
and has been promoted until he is 
now a foreman. 

He was united in marriage with 
Junie, the daughter of David H. and 
Margaret (nee Burget) Brumbaugh, 
members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, the union being solemnized by 
James D. Brumbaugh, July 28, 1895. 

To them were born two children, Daniel Chester and Joseph Nason. 
September 19, 1895, the family moved to Roaring Spring, and July 
1, 1907, to Altoona, their present residence. 




* Cleaned from an obituary notice in Gospel Visitor, 1855, page 23. 



475 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Clover Creek 
congregation, George W. Brumbaugh administering baptism, March 
7, 1887. The Roaring Spring congregation called him to the min- 
istry, August 7, 1898, James A. Sell officiating; advanced to the 
second degree, March 4, 1900 ; and, through the laying on of hands 
by Brice Sell and Frederic C. Dively, had him ordained, April 9, 
1905. He has represented his congregation fifteen times at District 
Meeting and five times at General Conference. He has been a 
teacher in the Sunday-school for over thirty years ; has held five re- 
vivals, at which sixty-seven made confession of Christ. 

His usefulness in his own district is fairly well outlined in the 
following: Pastor of Bellwood congregation, May, 1913, to Septem- 
ber, 1920, and bishop since 1917; bishop of Twenty-eighth Street 
congregation, Altoona, since 1920; president of the District Mission 
Board since 1920. He served on the building committee and assisted 
in building the following churches : Roaring Spring, Hollidaysburg, 
Stonerstown, Twenty-eighth Street, Altoona, First Church of Al- 
toona, Memorial Church, at Martinsburg. He designed and assisted 
in erecting the "Home" for the aged, at Martinsburg, (Pa.). Ad- 
dress, Altoona, (Pa.). 

MADDOCKS, Thomas Barnabas, youngest of seven children of 
Richard and Mary (nee Lowe) Maddocks, members of the Methodist 

Episcopal Church, was born in Mack- 
worth, Derbyshire, England, March 
27, 1834. He learned a trade, as is 
the English custom, and was a cabi- 
netmaker, undertaker, and general 
carpenter. He received a normal 
school training, according to the 
standards of his native land. He 
came to America in 1851. 

He was united in marriage with 
Lydia, daughter of George and Eliza- 
beth (nee Dougherty) Brumbaugh, 
members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, and -he serving as bishop forty 
years, the union being solemnized by 
Daniel M. Holsinger, on June 3, 1856. 
To them were born fifteen children, — Mary, George, John, Elizabeth, 
Samuel, Sarah, Henry, Andrew, Daniel, Hannah, Thomas, David, 
Annie, Virginia, and Ella. 

He confessed Christ, by uniting with the church of his parents, in 
his youth, and became a class leader for a few years. Henry R. 
Holsinger " first met him in the summer of 1856, was favorably im- 
pressed with the young man because of his sociability, and persuaded 
him to visit our home. He did so, and engaged to teach the Clover 
Creek school during the winter of 1856."* Making his home with 
Henry's father, that winter, he became interested in the tenets of the 




* Biographical sketch of Thomas B. Maddocks, Holsinger's History of the Tank- 
ers, p. 357. 



476 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



Church of the Brethren, and united with her in the Clover Creek 
congregation, Daniel M. Holsinger administering baptism, in March, 
1856. This congregation called him to the ministry, on Christmas, 
1868, John Holsinger, John Spanogle and James R. Lane officiating; 
the second degree, Christmas, 1872, and had him ordained, August 
11, 1894. He had the oversight of the Clover Creek and Roaring 
Spring congregations, in association with George W. Brumbaugh, 
until his death. He was a regular attendant at District Meetings, 
many times at General Conference, and five times represented his 
congregation before it. He served on the Standing Committee at 
Harrisburg, (Pa.), in 1902. He was made a member of the advisory 
committee to Juniata College, in 1897, and served until his death. As 
far as record shows, he was the first superintendent of a Sunday- 
school of the Church of the Brethren in Morrison's Cove, filling that 
position in the Fredericksburg school, in 1865. He erected the fol- 
lowing church houses : Clover Creek, Diehl's Cross Roads, and first 
one of the Brethren's Churches in Martinsburg. 

He died March 20, 1908. His funeral was preached by Andrew B. 
Burget. Text, Revelations 2:10. Fifteen ministers and many 
friends followed him to his last resting place in the Brumbaugh 
Cemetery, Clover Creek congregation. 

MALLERY, Leonard S., third of four children of James B. and 
Laura (nee Hatton) Mallery, members of the Baptist Church, was 
born in Altoona, (Pa.), February 25, 1880. He received common 
school education, and has made his living in the employ of the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad Company. 

He was united in marriage with Alice M., daughter of John W. and 
Maggie (nee Hostler) Temple, the Reverend Barron, of the Presby- 
terian Church, solemnizing the union, at Hollidaysburg, July 27, 1901. 
To them were born four children, — Ruth, Richard, Paul, and Charles. 

He first confessed Christ, by uniting with the Evangelical Church, 
when thirty-two years old. Here he served as Sunday-school super- 
intendent, class leader, teacher, and four years as pastor. On June 
15, 1924, he united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Juniata 
Park congregation, baptism being administered by O. P. Haines. 
Here he was called to the ministry, November 30, 1924. His address 
is 509 Tenth Avenue, Juniata Branch, Altoona, (Pa.). 

MAUST, M J., fourth of five children of Lientellar and Eliza- 
beth (nee Johnson) Maust, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born near Masontown, (Pa.), June 17, 1878. He received a 
common school education, prepared himself, and has made his living 
as funeral director. 

He was united in marriage with Nora E., daughter of William 
and Nancy (nee Seout) Teeter, of Uniontown, (Pa.), the union 
being solemnized by John C. Johnson, May 5, 1904. To them were 
born two sons and two daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Uniontown con- 
gregation, (W. Pa.), John C. Johnson administering baptism, in 1892. 
In the Marleysburg congregation, (W. Pa.), he was called to the 
ministry, in 1911, Samuel Umbel officiating. For a while he filled the 

477 




A History of the Church of the Brethren 

pulpit at four points around Markleysburg, and since he has lived in 
congregations where the pulpit is supplied. His address is Ev- 
erett, (Pa.). 

MICKLH, Raymond, second of four children of Thomas B. and 
Anna (nee Blackburn) Mickle, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, and he a bishop in the Dunnings Creek 
congregation, was born near New Paris, (Pa.), 
September 12, 1894. Though reared on the 
farm, he had the advantages of a common 
school education, spent two and one-half years 
in preparatory and four years at Juniata Col- 
lege, and received his degree, A.B., 1919; took 
graduate work at Columbia University, (N. 
Y.), where he received his A.M., February, 
1924. From 1919 to 1922 he taught history in 
Kiskiminetas Springs School, a private Acad- 
emy for boys at Saltsburg, (Pa.). During the 
summers of 1921, 1922 and 1923 he was in 
charge of the boys' activities at Northover 
Camp, Bound Brook, (N. J.), a summer camp 
of a large New York social settlement house. 
In 1923, he was chief councillor, and in 1924, camp director. Whde 
working for his Master's degree, in 1922-24, he supervised all the 
boys' work at the Christodora Settlement House, on the lower east 
side of Manhattan, in New York City. He also taught and super- 
vised classes in English and citizenship aid to foreigners in connec- 
tion with the Christodora House, during 1924-25. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Huntingdon 
congregation, baptism being administered by William J. Swigart, in 
October, 1915. This congregation called him to the ministry, April 
4, 1917, John H. Cassady officiating at the installation. He has been 
a teacher of boys' classes in Sunday-school, and holds diplomas for 
Teacher Training and International requirements. Forwarding ad- 
dress, New Paris, (Pa.). 

MICKLE, Thomas B., tenth of thirteen children of John G. and 
Mary Mickle, members of the Evangelical Church, was born on a 
farm in Napier Township, Bedford County, (Pa.), February 16. 
1871. Fie received a common school education, and has made his 
living farming and at carpentry. 

He was united in marriage with Anna M., daughter of Albert and 
Elizabeth Blackburn, John S. Holsinger solemnizing the union in his 
home, February 26, 1892. To them were born two sons and two 
daughters. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Dunnings Creek 
congregation, John S. Holsinger administering baptism, October 20, 
1892. This congregation called him to the ministry, March 16, 1901 ; 
advanced him, October 28, 1905, and, through the laying on of hands 
by Peter Knavel and Harvey S. Replogle, had him ordained, Sep- 
tember 10, 1915. He has represented his congregation at District 
Meeting eight times, and General Conference, three times. He is a 



478 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



leader in Sunday-school, and has had the oversight of the Dunnings 
Creek congregation since 1917. His home is at New Paris, (Pa.). 

MILLER, Abram Brown, second of four children of John B. and 
Annie E. (nee Brown) Miller, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, and he a bishop, was born near Woodbury, (Pa.), June 10, 
1884. Besides his country school training, he is a graduate of Juniata 
College, A.B., 1909; of Teachers' College, Columbia University, A.M., 
1914. He was instructor of Mathematics, Altoona High Schools 
1910-16; Department of Social Science, Juniata College, 1916-19 
teacher of Mathematics, Cleveland, (O.), High School, since 1920. 
Head of Mathematics Department, Fairmount Junior High Training 
School for Educational Department of Western Reserve University; 
teacher of Trigonometry and College Algebra in the Central Y. M. 
C. A., Engineering School; president of the Mathematics Club of 
Cleveland, (C), for 1924-25. This club has 180 active members. 
Team captain for the Community Fund Campaign each year ; mem- 
ber of the Cleveland Council of Sociology; member of the Cleveland 
Research Club, and observation teacher in the Cleveland summer 
school of education. 

He was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of John S. and 
Emma (nee Nycum) Hershberger, of Everett, (Pa.), the union 
being solemnized by her father, on August 23, 1911. To this union 
one son, John Paul, was born. The wife died February 13, 1920. 
Then he was united in marriage with Florence, daughter of Julia 
K. Brooks, of Cleveland, (O.), this union being solemnized by 
Doctor A. B. Meldrum, December 9, 1922. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Woodbury con- 
gregation, Jacob K. Brown administering baptism, in 1895. The 
Huntingdon congregation called him to the ministry, January 11, 
1906, Henry B. Brumbaugh conducting the installation service. He 
served eight years in the Anti-Saloon work of Pennsylvania. He 
has always been active in various Sunday-school lines. In Cleveland, 
for the last two years, he has been superintendent of Sunday-school 
there. His address is 8935 Meridan Avenue, Cleveland, (O.). 

MILLER, Andrew, a son of Peter and Catherine (nee Workman) 
Miller, was born on the old homestead, in Wills Creek, August 24, 
1803. He was reared on the farm and received his education in the 
upstairs of his father's home. 

He was united in marriage with Hannah Studebaker, and to them 
were born eight children, namely, Jacob, Samuel, John, Anna, who 
married James Elder ; Catherine, who married Levi Carpenter ; Eliza- 
beth, who married Levi Hardman; Maria, who married Henry Cook; 
and Hannah, who married William Walker. 

Because of the great need for ministers in that section, he was 
called to the sacred office earlier in life than was customary with the 
church, and became the second minister in the Wills Creek congrega- 
tion. Besides his service in his home congregation, he went on 
preaching tours through Somerset County, Dunnings Creek and 
Snake Spring Valleys, Morrison's Cove, Friend's Cove, Cumberland 
Valley, Steets Church, and at Artemas. He died December 19, 1855. 

479 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 




& '* > ? 





MILLER, Arthur C, third of nine children of Benjamin F. and 
Nora Anna (nee Myers) Miller, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, and he a bishop for many 
years, was born near Greenmont, 
Rockingham County, (Va.), October 
9, 1886. He availed himself of three 
years' high school in Weyers Cave, 
(Va.), and two years' English Bible 
course at Bridgewater College, (Va.). 
He was united in marriage with 
Bessie E., daughter of John W. and 
Kate S. (nee Wampler) Cline, mem- 
bers of the Church of the Brethren, 
the union being solemnized by Sam- 
uel D. Miller, December 22, 1909. 
The bride had three years of high 
school training. She united with the 
Church of the Brethren, in October, 
1903. To them were born four children, — J. Warren, Stanley C, 
Gay M., and Doris M. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Pleasant Valley 
congregation, (Va.), Samuel D. Miller administering baptism, in 
October, 1903. This congregation called him to the ministry, in 
August, 1912, Daniel S. Flory and Peter Garber conducting the in- 
stallation. The Roaring Spring congregation, (Pa.), through the 
laying on of hands by Moses R. Brumbaugh and Leonard R. Hol- 
singer, had him ordained, May 27, 1923. He has represented his 
congregation at District Meeting twice, and at General Conference, 
five times. On December 1, 1922, he left the farm and entered upon 
his present pastorate, in Roaring Spring. Pie has held twenty re- 
vivals, during which time two hundred and seventy have come to the 
church. His largest revival was in the Roaring Spring (Pa.) con- 
gregation, in February, 1923, when forty-eight were received. Ad- 
dress, Roaring Spring, (Pa.). 



MILLER, Dh:Witt H., third of nine children of Robert J. and Kate 

S. (nee Bowman) Miller, members 
of the Church of the Brethren, was 
born at Bridgewater, (Va.), January 
22, 1890. He was reared on the 
farm, had the advantage of a com- 
mon school education, and in addi- 
tion, attended Hebron Seminary, 
1909-11; Bridgewater College, (Va.), 
1912-17, receiving his A.B. ; did pas- 
toral and evangelistic work, 1917-19; 
taught Mathematics in Hebron Semi- 
nary, (Va.), 1919-20; attended Juni- 
ata Divinity School and received 
B.D., 1923. 

He was united in marriage with 
Effie E., daughter of Abram and 




480 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Elizabeth (nee Senger) Thomas, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, and he a bishop, the union being solemnized by Peter S. 
Thomas, September 27, 1917. To them was born one son, — DeWitt 
Thomas. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in Fairfax congrega- 
tion, (Va.), baptism being administered by Samuel A. Sanger, 
August, 1903. Here he was called to the ministry, July 10, 1909. 
The Aughwick congregation had him ordained, through the laying 
on of hands by Tobias T. Myers and William M. Ulrich, May 19, 
1923. He served as pastor of the Aughwick congregation during the 
time he took his divinity work at Juniata College ; of Calvary Church 
of the Brethren, Philadelphia, June 15, 1923, to July 12, 1924; and is 
now pastor of the Cumberland Mission, (Md.). His address is 305 
Race Street, Cumberland, (Md.). 

MILLER, George H., one of six children of John S. and Susannah 
Miller, members of the Church of the Brethren, and he a bishop, 
was born at Rocklick, at the foot of the Alleghany Mountain, in 
Bedford County, (Pa.), November 5, 1859. He was reared on the 
farm, had opportunity for little education, and is making his living 
by farming. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Dunnings Creek 
congregation, in 1882. This congregation called him to the ministry, 
September 7, 1894. He has represented his congregation at District 
Meeting, once. Recently he has moved out of the bounds of his home 
congregation, and is not active in the ministry. 



. 




MILLER, Jacob, fourth of nine children of Martin Miller, a bishop 
in the Yellow Creek congregation, near its beginning, was born at 
New Enterprise, (Pa.), October 18, 1813. His 
education was limited ; by trade he was a car- 
penter, cabinetmaker and millwright. He made 
many pieces of fine furniture. He served the 
church all his lifetime without any money 
compensation. 

He was united in marriage with Esther, 
daughter of David and Elizabeth (nee Snow- 
berger) Long. His wife died September 25, 
1885. His second marriage was with Lydia, 
daughter of David and Catherine (nee 
Frantz) Ebersole. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren 
at New Enterprise, in 1840; by her called to 
the ministry, in 1844, and ordained, in 1870. 
He was given the oversight of the New Enter- 
prise congregation, at the death of John Holsinger, and continued 
until his death. He was often at District and Annual Meeting, fre- 
quently representing his congregation. He was at home in his native 
tongue, the German language. The Sunday-school cause found him 
a loyal and faithful supporter from the beginning. The close of a 
letter to the Ministerial Meeting, which he could not attend, because 
too feeble, consisted of these words : " Do all you can for the 




481 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

Sunday-school cause." His liberality to missions was an outstand- 
ing feature of his life. The Altoona church, in her beginning, was 
liberally supported by him. During his term as bishop, the Yellow 
Creek congregation was divided and the Woodbury congregation 
formed. He then became bishop of the latter congregation. He died 
February 9, 1890, James A. Sell and John B. Fluck preached his 
funeral. His body is buried in Replogle Cemetery. 

MILLER, Jacob, oldest of eight children of Andrew and Hannah 
(nee Studebaker) Miller, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
living in Milligan's Cove, Bedford County, (Pa.), was born Febru- 
ary 18, 1828, on the Peter Miller farm, near Buffalo Mills. He spent 
his boyhood days on the farm, and attended school upstairs in his 
father's house, until he was ten years old. One of his first teachers 
was Abram Miller, a cousin of his father, who taught school for 
years. Peter Lehman was another teacher. At fifteen, he went to 
Bedford and attended the school of Thomas J. Harris, a Roman 
Catholic and disciplinarian of the old school. Jacob taught school 
near Shellsburg, (Pa.), during the winters of 1845-47, during which 
time he made his home with George Williams, who afterwards be- 
came a member of the state legislature. His daughter, Mary, be- 
cause school was too far away, took lessons of the boarding teacher 
in the evenings. Afterwards, she went to work in the United States 
Mint, in Philadelphia. While there, a new profile was wanted for 
the silver dollar, and, because of her beauty, she was selected. Note 
the letter " W " on the bottom edge of the profile. In the Fall of 

1847, Jacob taught a select school in New Enterprise. During 1848, 
he continued teaching here, and made his home in turn with Leonard 
Furry, Daniel Snowberger and David Snowberger. 

He was united in marriage with Eleanor, daughter of Peter and 
Hannah (nee Smith) Arnold, the family having moved into Wills 
Creek a few years before, the union being solemnized, December 25, 

1848. To this union were born three children, namely, Andrew Q. 
(deceased), Emma A., who married Joseph Z. Replogle; Charlotte, 
who married Fillmore E. Baker. 

Several months after Jacob and his wife attended the General Con- 
ference, at Berlin, (Pa.), in 1849, James Quinter stopped to visit the 
members in Wills Creek. On this visit, in August, 1849, after preach- 
ing one Sunday, James Quinter baptized this couple. About June. 
1851, Jacob was called to the ministry at the time of a lovefeast. 
James Quinter and Jacob Hauger were, present at this meeting and 
perhaps conducted the installation service. 

In the Spring, 1853, he attended a lovefeast occasion at Berlin, 
Somerset County, and was not feeling well while there. During the 
lovefeast, which was held in the barn, he took sick. The next day he 
started for home. It rained all the way. Mumps and other compli- 
cations developed. He died May 11, 1853. Jacob Hauger, of Som- 
erset County, preached his funeral. Interment in the family burying 
ground on his father's farm. 

MILLER, John B., a son of Jacob W. and Catherine (nee Walter) 
Miller, was born in Bedford County, (Pa.), May 5, 1837. He was 

482 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

reared on the farm, had very meagre opportunities for an education 
and, until he moved to New Paris, made his living tilling the soil. 

He was united in marriage with Sussannah E., daughter of John 
P. Hoover, on January 6, 1859. To this union six children were 
born. His wife died in 1868. Later, he married Elizabeth Furry, 
widow of John B. Furry and daughter of Daniel Snowberger. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in 1856, in the Dun- 
nings Creek congregation ; served in the capacity of deacon for six 
years; was called to the ministry, January 15, 1871; four years later 
advanced to the second degree; and ordained, June 8, 1895. He 
always lived within the bounds of Dunnings Creek congregation. He 
attended District Meetings, representing his congregation often ; like- 
wise General Conference, up until 1912. He was interested in the 
church periodicals, and acted as agent through the years from the 
beginning of the Gospel Visitor, to the Gospel Messenger. He sol- 
emnized sixty- four marriages, preached many funerals, was a liberal 
contributor to the work of the church, both of time and means. He 
served one term as member of the District Mission Board of West- 
ern Pennsylvania. 

He died October 9, 1912. His funeral was conducted by Levi 
Rogers, a home minister, assisted by Levi Holsinger and Reverend 
Conly, of the Evangelical Church. Interment in York Cemetery.* 

MILLER, John Bowser, the youngest, with a twin sister, of six 
children of the family of David T. and Susan (nee Bowser) Miller, 
members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, was born near Woodbury, Bed- 
ford County, (Pa.), on August 2, 
1856. He was reared on a farm and 
made farming his occupation until 
1908; since then he has been en- 
gaged in evangelistic work. He 
availed himself of a good common 
school education, prepared himself, 
and has taught vocal music for many 
years. 

He is united in marriage with An- 
nie Elizabeth, daughter of Abram 
and Mary Kefer Brown, Jacob Miller 
solemnizing the union, February 5, 
1880. To them were born four chil- 
dren, Dessa Mae, A. Brown, Ruth Pearl, and Kenton Roy. 

In the New Enterprise congregation, in December, 1876, through 
immersion administered by Henry Hershberger, he united with the 
Church of the Brethren. The Woodbury congregation called him to 
the ministry, x\ugust 18, 1888, and, through the laying on of hands 
by John W. Brumbaugh and James A. Sell, he was ordained, April 
13, 1907. He has represented his congregation some twenty-five 
times at District Meeting, and his district on the Standing Com- 




* Gleaned from sketch in Blough's History of the Church of the Brethren in 
Western Pennsylvania. 



483 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

mittee, once, and once at General Conference. His field of labor 
has been District rather than the home congregation, and yet he has 
served the latter also. In 1898, he was elected a member of the 
District Mission Board, and served twenty-one consecutive years ; 
since, he has been district missionary secretary. From the first he 
was a member of the Trustees of the Old Folks' Home; was a mem- 
ber of the building committee, and canvassed the District for the 
money to build the home. At the Sedalia General Conference, in 
1920, he was made a member of the Conference Music Committee, 
and continues in that service. He has been bishop, for a period of 
years, of the following congregations : Bellwood, Stonerstown, Rid- 
dlesburg, Queen, Albright, Leamersville. He is now pastor of the 
Claysburg Mission and the Leamersville congregation. Address, 
Curry ville, (Pa.). 

MILLER, Martin, born in 1776, was a minister in the early Yellow 
Creek congregation. His son, Jacob, born in 1813, was a loved min- 
ister in the latter half of the last century. 



MOHLER, Jacob, a son of Jacob and Mary Mohler, members of the 
Church of the Brethren, who were among the early settlers in the 
Kishacoquillas congregation, near Lewistown, (Pa.), was born 
August 25, 1802. He made his living by farming. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Lewistown con- 
gregation, and later called to the ministry. He died March 9, 1889. 
His funeral was conducted by Samuel Swigart and Samuel G. 
Rupert. 

MOHLER, John M., eighth of eleven children of Jacob and Sarah 
(nee Rothrock) Mohler, members of the Church of the Brethren, 

was born near Mechanicsburg, (Pa.), 
December 26, 1837. He was reared 
on the farm and, for the most part, 
made his living by farming. When 
he was quite young, his parents 
moved into Dry Valley, near Lewis- 
town. Here he received a common 
school education and, through private 
lessons, to some extent mastered 
Greek and Latin. He taught school 
some twenty years. 

He was united in marriage with 
Amanda Ellen, daughter of Christian 
and Margaret (nee Kearns) Hoover, 
members of the Presbyterian Church, 
living near Lewistown, the union be- 
ing solemnized December 24, 1858. To them were born five children, 
— Vina, wife of John B. Shellenberger, and Anna, wife of Harry A. 
Spanogle, reaching maturity. His wife died February 3, 1894. On 
August 6, 1902, he was united in marriage with Sarah (nee Coudry) 
Mauk, a member of the Church of the Brethren, near Mechanics- 
burg, (Pa.). 




484 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

A few years after his first marriage, he and his wife united with 
the Church of the Brethren, in the Lewistown (now Dry Valley) 
congregation. Here he was called to the ministry, May 18, 1874; 
this congregation had him ordained, May 24, 1898. When he was 
called to the ministry, he gave up teaching and turned his talent to 
the development of the church. He conducted evangelistic meetings 
in almost every state from the Atlantic to the Pacific. He was 
usually at District Meetings and General Conference, whether he 
was a delegate or not, and his voice was often heard in these meet- 
ings. He was active in the ministry till the close. He preached near 
Mechanicsburg, (S. Pa.), on Sunday morning. Text, 2 Peter 
1 : 13-16, which proved to be a most significant message in the light 
of his death that week, January 25, 1919. Funeral services in the 
Mechanicsburg church by Joseph Long; in the home of his daughter. 
Mrs. Harry (Annie Mohler) Spanogle, in Lewistown, (Pa.), by 
Samuel J. Swigart, Text, Philippians 1:20-21. Interment in Dry 
Valley Cemetery. 

MOHR, Ferdinand HeXTzeX, second of seven children of Andrew 
and Anna Maria (nee Heltzel) Mohr, members of the Lutheran 
Church, was born near Baker's Summit, Bedford County, (Pa.), 
March 1, 1871. His father, a stone mason and cooper by trade, died 
when the son was seven years old; hence, instead of the advantages 
of a common school education, he knew only hard work from his 
early life. He has made his living on the farm. 

He was united in marriage with Ina C. Pote, November 30, 1897. 
To them one son was born, but died in infancy. The mother died 
February 27, 1900. The second time he was united in marriage with 
Catherine, daughter of Isaac L. and Mary (nee Lamburn) Snyder, 
living near Madrid, John L. Holsinger solemnizing the union, Octo- 
ber 16, 1902. To them one son was born. 

In 1886, when but fifteen years old, he united with the Lutheran 
Church, and continued in that communion until June 3, 1900, the 
time he united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Woodbury 
congregation, Jacob K. Brown administering baptism. This congre- 
gation called him to the deacon's office, April 13, 1907; to the min- 
istry, October 7, 1911 ; and, through the laying on of hands by David 
T. Detwiler and Charles O. Beery, he was ordained, September 25, 
1920. He has served the Holsinger Sunday-school as superintendent 
for the last twelve years ; has represented his congregation at District 
Meeting and General Conference, each four times. He is living on 
the farm looking after the interests of the Holsinger group of mem- 
bers, as well as preaching some at the Curry and Replogle houses, all 
in the Woodbury congregation. Address, Baker's Summit, (Pa.). 

MOORE, Samuel A., third of seven children of Hugh Mason and 
Fanny (nee Graybill) Moore, the father a Presbyterian and the 
mother a Mennonite, was born near Martinsburg, (Pa.), February 
13, 1834. He received a public school education, and made his living 
in the mercantile and lumbering business. 

In 1855, he was united in marriage with Catherine, daughter of 
Martin and Mary (nee Long) Hoover. To them were born six chil- 

485 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 



dren, Frances, Martin L., Elizabeth H.. married to Jacob H. Beeghly, 
a deacon in the Church of the Brethren; Elias H., Benjamin F., and 

Mary Ann, married to Joseph W. 
Garland. 

He united with the Church of the 
Brethren, by baptism administered 
by Daniel M. Holsinger, in the Clover 
Creek mill dam, February 22, 1856. 
In the Clover Creek congregation he 
was called to the ministry, in Novem- 
ber, 1865. Shortly after, he moved 
within the bounds of the Snake 
Spring Valley congregation, for, on 
March 28, 1868, he was advanced to 
the second degree. Those present at 
the occasion, one of whom officiated, 
were Jacob Steele, Andrew Snow- 
berger, Isaac Ritchey, and Henry 
Clapper. During his labors he solemnized 366 marriages and bap- 
tized 334 members into the Church of the Brethren. He died Sep- 
tember 22, 1899. Interment in Utahville Cemetery, Utahville, (Pa.). 
His wife, who was also a member of the Church of the Brethren, 
died September 13, 1 900. 




MORRIS, James Henry, third of six children of William J. and 
Elizabeth Morris, members of the Church of the Brethren, was born 
near Everett, (Pa.), August 31, 1876. He was reared on the farm 
and received common school training until he reached his maturity. 
After being called to the ministry, he went west, put himself through 
college in the following manner: Valparaiso, (Ind.), 1902-03; Man- 
chester College, (Ind.), Bible, 1904-06, B.S.L.; Valparaiso, (Ind.), 
1908-09, B.Pd., B.S., A.B,; Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, 
(Ky.), 1910-12, Th.B.; Bethanv Bible School, Chicago, Philosophy 
and Bible, 1910, 1912, 1916-18, M.A. In this time he taught in 
the public schools of Pennsylvania, 1898-01 ; assistant teacher of 
Mathematics, Manchester College, (Ind.). 1904-05; Bridgewater 
College, (Va.), 1906-08; Principal Herrin, (111.), High School, 
1909-10. 

He united with the Church of the Brethren in the Yellow Creek 
congregation, baptism being administered by Samuel Ritchey, in 
1893. This congregation called him to the ministry, June 21, 1902; 
the Cordell congregation, (Okla.), had him ordained, through the 

laying on of hands by David E. Cripe and A L. Boyd, December 

28, 1913. He has represented his congregation twice at District 
Meeting. From May 31, 1912, to January 1, 1917, he was District 
Sunday-school secretary and evangelist for Oklahoma, Texas and 
New Mexico. From September, 1910, to May 30, 1912, he was mis- 
sionary pastor in Harrison County, (Ind.). From January 1, 1917, 
to 1923 he was registrar and Church History teacher at Bethany 
Bible School. He is author of three pamphlets, — Forty Lessons in 
Acts and Epistles, The Story of Redemption, and Historical Facts of 
Church and State, and of a book, History of the Church of the 



486 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Brethren in Oklahoma. At present he is pastor at Carthage, (Mo.), 
his present address. 

MURPHY, Ross D., oldest of four children of Scott and Mary 
Jane (nee Rummel) Murphy, members of the Church of the Breth- 
ren, and he a deacon, was born near Salix, Cambria County, (Pa.), 
September 6, 1882. As student, he has earned the following: Juni- 
ata College, Normal, 1902-06, B.E. ; Juniata College, 1907-12, A.B.; 
University of Pennsylvania, 1917, and summer of 1921 ; graduate 
student in Psychology and Assistant in Psychology, 1922-24. 

He was united in marriage with Sara Florence, daughter of Wen- 
dell M. and Elizabeth (nee Newcomer) Fogelsanger, of Shippens- 
burg, (Pa.), the union being solemnized by John H. Cassady, Decem- 
ber 22, 1918. The bride had united with the Church of the Brethren 
in the First Church of Philadelphia, March 31, 1907. From Juniata 
College she received B.S.L., 1911; A.B., 1912; from the University 
of Pennsylvania, A.M., in 1916; Ph.D., 1917. As far as known, she 
enjoys the distinction of being the only woman of the Church of the 
Brethren to have the Doctor of Philosophy degree. She has held 
professorship in English in La Verne (Calif.) College, Cumberland 
Valley State Normal School, (Pa.), and Blue Ridge College, (Md.). 

He united with the Church of the Brethren, in the Rummel con- 
gregation, baptism being administered by Joseph J. Shaffer, on 
August 13, 1900. The Shade Creek congregation (W. Pa.) called 
him to the ministry, November 24, 1904. The Pipe Creek congrega- 
tion (M. Md.), through the laying on of hands by A. P. Snader and 
George Hoke, had him ordained, November 4, 1921. He has repre- 
sented his congregation at District Meeting, twice ; at General Con- 
ference, five times. He was pastor at Roaring Spring, (Pa.), 1912; 
vSunday-school Secretary for Western Pennsylvania District, 1913 ; 
Field Secretary for the General Mission Board, 1914-15; pastor at 
Shippensburg, (S. Pa.), 1916-19; Acting President of Blue Ridge 
College, (Md.), 1920-22; supply pastor, First Church of Philadelphia, 
1923-24; pastor since September 1, 1924. He has been a regular con- 
tributor to the Teachers' Monthly, published at Elgin, (111.), since 
1919. Address, 2260 North Park Ave., Philadelphia, (Pa.). 

MUSSER, Samuel, was born in Lancaster County, (Pa.). His was 
but a common school training, and he made his living by farming. 
While living in Stone Valley, he attended a lovefeast in Spring Run. 
He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, when living in 
Stone Valley. After attending a lovefeast in Spring Run congrega- 
tion, at a later meeting held near his home, he united with the 
Church of the Brethren. He was called to the ministry in later 
years. In 1867, he was united in marriage with Sarah McAuley. He 
died August 4, 1891, and is buried in Spring Run Cemetery. 

MYERS, Bruce L, son of Ephraim and Fannie C. Myers, members 
of the Church of the Brethren, was born in McAlistersville, Juniata 
County, (Pa.), October 30, 1872. While living on the farm, he re- 
ceived a common school education. In 1895, he graduated from the 
Normal English course of Juniata College. 

487 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 

In 1912, he married Ermyn L., daughter of James H. France, of 
Philipsburg, (Pa.), the union being solemnized by G. M. Glenn, of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which she is a member. To 
them are born three children, James France, Jean Corinne, and 
Doris Irene. 

In his youth he united with the Church of the Brethren, in the 
Huntingdon congregation. The Aughwick congregation called him 
to the ministry, in April, 1895, Henry B. Brumbaugh officiating at the 
installation. After spending nineteen years as a teacher, supervisor 
and superintendent of schools, he became engaged in business. At 
present he is manager of the Philadelphia office of the Laurel Book 
Company, Educational Publishers, with office at 603 Chestnut Street, 
Philadelphia. His residence is 1228 South Fifty-second Street. 




MYERS, George S., oldest of eight children of the family of Reuben 
and Catherine (nee Snyder) Myers, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, was born near Lewistown, 
Mifflin County, (Pa.), March 28, 
1842. He took advantage of the 
rural schools of his day, and kept 
abreast of the times through much 
reading. He was a well informed 
man. When old enough, he taught 
a few terms of country school ; 
turned his attention to farming for 
a number of years ; and then engaged 
in lumbering. 

He was united in marriage with 
Susan, daughter of Christian and 
Elizabeth (nee Titlow) Reiff, in 1867, 
and to them were born three children, 
Oscar R. Myers alone surviving. He 
was united in his second marriage, on February 14, 1889, with Rosie, 
daughter of Daniel and Catherine Snowberger, of New Enter- 
prise, (Pa.). 

In the Lewistown (now Dry Valley) congregation, he was united 
with the Church of the Brethren, July 5, 1863. This congregation 
called him to the deacon's office, October 26, 1867; to the ministry, 
May 22, 1869; and, while residing in the New Enterprise congrega- 
tion, through the laying on of hands by James A. Sell and Samuel 
J. Swigart, he was ordained, September 4, 1897. 

He represented his congregation at both District Meeting and Gen- 
eral Conference, a number of times. His favorite field of religious 
work was the Sunday-school. When a lad, he attended a union 
school, and his father was rather severely criticised for permitting 
his son to go. Then, when Clover Creek started a Sunday-school, 
and there was much agitation among the churches, in speaking of 
those "so completely absorbed with the subject of Sabbath-schools' 
as to miss " regular meetings," he concludes that " their zeal is not 
according to knowledge." Further, he says, "One very great objec- 
tion I have to Sabbath-schools is the predominance of a class of 
books in their libraries, for which I can find no better name than 



488 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 



religious novels." * Later in life, there was no more enthusiastic 
Sunday-school worker in the District than he. He served on the 
Home Mission Board seventeen years, and accepted nothing for it, 
not even his expenses. He was one of the three original committee 
appointed by the District to prepare this history. He went through 
the complete files of the Gospel Messenger, indexing all references to 
ministers living in the District. He closed his labors, July 27, 1919. 
His funeral services were conducted by David T. Detwiler. Inter- 
ment in the New Enterprise Cemetery. 

MYERS, Graybiu,, was born in Lancaster County, (Pa.), January 
6, 1808. His opportunities for education were extremely limited, yet 
all through his life he favored education. He made his living on 
the farm. 

He was united in marriage with Magdalena Weidler, in August, 
1831. To them were born four sons and four daughters. The fam- 
ily moved to Union County, in 1833, and the next year to Kishaco- 
quillas Valley, and in the Dry Valley congregation, both he and his 
wife, united with the Church of the Brethren. Here he was called 
to the deacon's office. In 1839 he moved within the bounds of the 
Aughwick congregation, and was called to the ministry in 1840. In 
1851, he located within the bounds of the Warriors Mark congrega- 
tion, in the extreme upper end, about three miles north of Altoona. 
Then, April 1, 1865, having sold his farm to Conrad Imler, he located 
at Eldorado, within the bounds of the Duncansville congregation. 
Here he resided till he died. From all the evidence available, one 
must conclude that after consulting a number of leading brethren, 
he called the first district meeting in Middle Pennsylvania. His 
notice of this meeting appeared in the Gospel Visitor, March 12, 1861, 
in which he set the bounds of the District as between the Susque- 
hanna River on the east, the Alleghany Mountains on the west, and 
the north and south boundaries of the State for the other two limita- 
tions. The impetus of this gathering no doubt did much to cause 
other portions of the Brotherhood to do likewise, and he lived to see 
the church fully organized into what is now known as State Districts. 
Once he served as moderator of District Meeting. He frequented 
these annual gatherings, but not to take part in the discussions. His 
wife died January 25, 1880. At a lovefeast in Clover Creek, he spoke 
on the Lord's Supper, his last public message. In the home of John 
W. Brumbaugh, where he went after the communion season, he took 
sick, and died, November 1, 1887. The funeral services were con- 
ducted by James Quinter and James A. Sell. Interment in the 
Carson Valley Cemetery. 

MYERS, J. AllSn, fifth of ten children born to Peter S. and Sarah 
(nee Graeff) Myers, members of the Church of the Brethren, and he 
a bishop, was born near McVeytown, Mifflin County, (Pa.), April 
13, 1858. He grew up on the farm, attended the common schools, 
took the Normal English course at Juniata College, graduating in 
1887, and spent two years in the University of Pennsylvania. From 

* Christian Family Companion, Vol. I, page 212. 

489 



A History of the Church of the Brethren 






1876 to 1915, he was engaged in educational work; since, he is the 
manager of the Juniata Subscription Agency. 

He was united in marriage with Viola, daughter of Alonzo and 
Elizabeth (nee Bender) Workman, members of the Church of the 

Brethren, near Loudenville, (O.), the 
union being solemnized by Ferdinand 
England, December 24, 1897. To them 
were born Lois, Doris, and Elizabeth 
reaching maturity, and one son dying in 
infancy. 

While living in the Spring Run congre- 
gation, (Pa.), perhaps in the year 1873, 
he united with the Church of the Breth- 
ren, his father administering baptism. 
When the Culver congregation (Kan.) 
was organized, he was teaching the Culver 
schools, and was there called to the office 
of deacon, in 1880. Later, he returned to 
his native State, and the Spring Run con- 
gregation called him to the ministry, 
October 19, 1883; also, through the laying on of hands by John C. 
Swigart and Walter S. Long, had him ordained. He has represented 
his congregation at District and General Conference a number of 
times ; was always deeply interested in Sunday-school, and, as a 
scholar, committed to memory as many as one thousand verses of 
Scripture in a summer. While a member of the Spring Run congre- 
gation, he carried his full share of the ministry, and made many long 
trips reaching the outposts. While teaching school, he also con- 
ducted singing schools at different places in the surrounding country. 
After entering upon his duties at Juniata College, his preaching took 
on a decidedly educational bias ; he has been very helpful to Juniata 
College, — raised the funds for Science building and gathering in con- 
siderable of its endowment. He has been a trustee of Juniata College 
since 1911; Secretary of the Board of Trustees since, 1912. His 
address is Huntingdon, (Pa.). 




MYERS, Oscar Rsiff, second of three children of George S. and 
Susan (nee Reiff) Myers, members of the Church of the Brethren, 
was born in Lewistown, Mifflin County, (Pa.), April 16, 1873. Be- 
cause his uncle, John G. Royer, was president of Mt. Morris College, 
he went there to pursue his school work, and graduated in the pre- 
paratory department, in 1894. Through attending the University of 
Michigan he was given his A.B. in 1898, and A.M. in 1899. From 
1899 to 1904 he was a member of the faculty of Mt. Morris College. 
He also spent two summers in Columbia University, and in this man- 
ner prepared himself for the teaching of English at Juniata College, 
where he was a member of the faculty from 1905 to June, 1924. At 
the urgent request of the trustees he accepted the treasurership and 
business management of Juniata College, and entered upon his dut*es 
June 15, 1924. 

He was united in marriage with Mabel E., daughter of Daniel R. 
and Salome Dooley, members of the Church of the Brethren, at New 



490 



in the Middle District of Pennsylvania 

Enterprise, (Pa.), the groom's father officiating, August 30, 1910. To 
them have been born two children, Mary Ruth living. 

While attending Mt. Morris College, he united with the Church of 
the Brethren, Tobias T. Myers administering baptism, in the Fall of 
1889. The Mt. Morris (111.) congregation called him to the ministry, 
in 1903 ; but he was not installed until, at Huntingdon, in 1908. 
Through the laying on of hands by John P. Harris and William 
Ulrich, he was ordained, July, 1920. He has represented his congre- 
gation at District Meeting a number of times ; succeeding his father 
as District Treasurer, in July, 1919, and continues in this office. He 
has always been an active Sunday-school worker. For fifteen years 
he has been in office of the Huntingdon County Sunday-school Asso- 
ciation, serving it five years as president ; he is one of the originators 
of the Mid-State Sunday-school Training Camp, near Spruce Creek, 
and a member of the Board of Directors of the Pennsylvania State 
Sabbath School Association. His address is Huntingdon, (Pa.). 



MYERS, PeTter S., first of ten children of the family of Samuel and 
Elizabeth (nee Shellenberger) Myers, members of the Church of the 
Brethren, was born near McVeytown. 
(Pa.), October 23, 1827. In his 
childhood, he had meagre privileges 
even in common school education, 
but later in life, through extensive 
reading, he became well informed 
and a keen reasoner. He